Nos services

Lamb & Lion Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western,  York

4.0/5  - basé sur 981 notations.
2-4 High Petergate, YO1 7EH, York, Great Britain - Voir la carte
+44 01904 654112

Votre destination

Vos dates

Votre chambre

> Chambre 1

1 adulte


Les points forts de l'hôtel

  • Internet haut débit gratuit
    Internet haut débit gratuit
  • Réception 24 heures sur 24
    Réception 24 heures sur 24
Note des voyageurs TripAdvisor
Sur la base de 981 avis de voyageur
Voir d'autres commentaires >>
Galerie photo :
L'hôtel Lamb & Lion Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western propose des chambres avec salle de bains attenante, Wi-Fi gratuit, télévision à écran plat et un restaurant primé (rosette AA). Les douze chambres ont été décorées individuellement dans un style ancien. Elles disposent d'une théière/cafetière et d'articles de toilette gratuits. Certaines chambres bénéficient également d'une vue d'exception. L'auberge propose des bières traditionnelles de brasseries locales et sert une cuisine de type pub britannique moderne. Un parking à tarif réduit est également disponible à proximité.

Voir les tarifs et les disponibilités

Arrivée le
Départ le
Chambre 1

Avis de nos clients

trip advisor img
Basé sur l'avis de 981 voyageurs
Certificate of Excellence
Très bon
En couple En couple 644
En famille En famille 93
Escapade entre amis Escapade entre amis 95
Professionnel Professionnel 33
Voyage solo Voyage solo 43
Rapport qualité / prix
Lamb & Lion Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western,York
  • 5
    « Friday lunch »

    We called in on a walk round York for lunch and were pleased with the welcome, the customer service was excellent as was the comfort and the general ambience. Our steaks were well cooked and the chips were delicious. Definitely worth a visit

    « What a place »

    This hotel was not what we expected at all but never the less it was an amazing experience. I feel like it would make you feel at home even if the theam is not what you where looking for in the first place.

    « Excellent lunch - really recommended »

    We dropped in for lunch during the recent cold snowy conditions - and it was a really warm cosy place to have lunch with a great ambience. I can recommend the sausage & mash and the salads. Excellent friendly service especially from Debbie.

    « Marmadukes Town... H, Front Office Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this review »
    Hello, Thank you very much for your kind review. It certainly has been a little unpleasant weather-wise recently, and we're glad that were able to provide some respite from it and some hot grub to warm you up! Do come again soon - we're also a perfect spring/summer pub; our large beer garden has a beautiful view of the Minster. Thanks again! Best wishes, The Lamb and Lion

    « Great friendly quirky place »

    Visited for one night for a birthday celebration. There had been a mix up with the booking, which we discovered upon arrival, but the fantastic lady on reception dealt with the whole thing so pleasantly and professionally that disafter was averted! We had a delightful quirky attic room which was supremely comfortable. The veggie breakfast next morning was delicious. Altogether excellent!

    « Marmadukes Town... H, Front Office Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this review »
    Hi Gillian, Thank you very much for a perfect score! We really appreciate it, and are glad that we were able to sort out any mix ups and ensure that you had a wonderful time. We hope to see you again soon, for a birthday or simply for a weekend away. Best wishes, The Lamb and Lion

    « Cozy, serviceminded and good food! »

    The location is perfect for exploring the old City centre and getting the vibe of the historic place. York Minster in the backyard just adds to the authenticity. The lovely and serviceminded staff made the Lamb and Lion Inn my ?home away?.

    « Marmadukes Town... H, Front Office Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this review »
    Hello, Thanks for such an excellent review! We're so glad you felt at home with us, and that we were a good starting place from which to explore the beautiful city of York. We hope to see you again soon! Best wishes, The Lamb and Lion

    « Over priced »

    We had booked a night away to celebrate an anniversary and were willing to pay a little more than we would usually pay for something special. We thought this was a boutique hotel -- its not . I requested a room at the back of the hotel as I had read the reviews from others about the front rooms being noisy ( they were right). Didn't get the requested room got a front room in the attic .... up 7 flights of narrow stairs . Requested early check in at 1pm which we got . I was told that we would get a permit for the car park at Marygate which is absolutely safe and within 5 minutes walk to hotel - didn't realise we had to pay for permit as this wasn't explained. Here are the positives of the hotel:- Bar and food excellent Staff friendly and helpful Negatives :- Room far too small Desperately in need of a refresh Lamp didn't work Wardrobe pole about to detach from wall Window catch broken Bit smelly Tv worked intermittently No mirror near plug sockets for drying hair Breakfast was lacking any finesse In summary - £160 Is extortionate for the room we stayed in. You would get better quality at a more affordable price at Premier Inn . I would advise if your willing to pay this sort of money then look to book something cheaper slightly outside of the city which would be better quality and use the money you save on a taxi into city . Bar and restaurant well worth a visit. If you do decide to stay ... ask for a room on lower floors at the back of the hotel .

    « Marmadukes Town... H, General Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this review »
    Dear Karen, Firstly, thank you for taking the time to leave such detailed feedback - we appreciate it all and always take it on board to try and improve. I'm glad you enjoyed our selection of food and ale; and very sorry to hear about the problems with your room. It seems that there were several maintenance/convenience issues which I can assure you will be addressed straight away. It sounds like there have also been a couple of errors of communication on our part, both about the carpark and the location of your room. Both these issues are uncommon, though that of course does not excuse them; steps will be taken to ensure they don't recur! Some of the other issues you raised are less straightforward. The size of the rooms and the steepness of the staircase are difficult to change due to the building's historical and protected status - and in fact are part of what gives the place its character! As for our breakfast, although may not be gourmet cooking per se, we do offer an excellent selection from a full english to kippers to a continental selection of cold meats and cheeses. This being said, it's clear that we were not up to standard on the occasion of your visit - we hope you will stay with us again and allow us to show you that we can do better! Best wishes, Debbie Watts, General Manager

    « Great location to eat, drink and sleep in centre of York »

    We had visited the pub a few times as it has a comfy feel inside with a fabulous beer garden underneath the city wall ( which is where we first saw the place). We decided to visit York overnight and realised they had rooms too. We stayed there, had a lovely choice of drinks in the bar, a fabulous meal in the restaurant, a nice comfortable room and finished with a first class breakfast. Helpful and friendly staff at every part of the stay. Looking forward to going back

    « Marmadukes Town... H, Front Office Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this review »
    Hi John, Thank you for the 5* review! We're glad everything was on top form for your stay. Do come back when the weather is a bit warmer to experience the beer garden in its prime. See you again soon! Best wishes, The Lamb and Lion

    « Lovely night away »

    We stayed here last month as a bit of a little getaway after the stress of Christmas. We were top floor which was a bit of a mountain climb but we didn't mind as top floor is always preferred to us. The room was small but lovely and quirky with the wobbly floors and low ceilings which is very York style. My boyfriend had a laugh at this since he is 6ft 1! The only issue we had was that with it being such an old building the windows didn't close fully which meant the room was pretty cold with it being January. There was a radiator and the bedding was very cosy but there was still a bit of a chill. We were also woken by the traffic in the street early but again this was fine as it got us up for breakfast - which was really really good by the way! We loved our night away with you and look forward to coming back in the summer to enjoy the beer garden.

    « Marmadukes Town... H, Front Office Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this review »
    Hello, Thanks very much for taking the time to leave us such a positive review! We're glad that you had a good stay - next time if you do have any issues with the room, e.g. with the windows, then there's a member of staff on-site 24/7 who will always be happy to help out. Hope to see you again soon! Best wishes, The Lamb and Lion

    « Overnight stay theatre visit »

    Me and a friend had a one night stay as we were going to the opera house , we arrived about 2.15 , to be greeted warmly by Debbie the manager , she asked a member of staff to take our cases to our room while she showed us round , what a lovely pub , the restaurant looked lovely and we would have had our evening meal there but we needed to be out early so we had a bar meal instead which was excellent !! Our room was very clean and warm and beautifully furnished in keeping with the pub , the breakfast couldn't be faulted , the drinks were top form and Debbie and her staff were so nice , it was a pleasure to stay there , and as we behaved ourselves we are allowed back !! Thanks Debbie and team for a lovely stay in a beautiful historical pub

    « Marmadukes Town... H, Front Office Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this review »
    Hi Jackie, Thank you very much for your kind review! We're glad you had such a good time with us. You certainly are allowed back - hopefully for a little longer so you can enjoy our restaurant and award-winning Signature Menu! See you again soon. Best wishes, The Lamb and Lion

    « Drinks good, staff great, management less so »

    We recently visited the lamb and lion pub. The staff were very friendly, I'm a real ale drinker and I thought selection of drinks was quite good. The only down side however was that me and my group felt uncomfortable as we witnessed an older lady with glasses (who we assumed to be the landlady) speaking very poorly to the staff, and using bad language in front of customers. I'm glad I hadn't brought my kids with me on this occasion! We felt very awkward witnessing it all and I can't believe this is how she speaks to the staff. We probably won't return for this reason which is a shame because other than this member of staff we had a pleasant experience. Menu looked good although we didn't have any food and the pub is cosy and a short walk from the cathedral. Pub is also dog friendly which is good.

  • 4
    « Lovely stay »

    We stayed for one night and we had a lovely time. The hotel was lovely and clean, the staff couldn't do enough to help, breakfast was very good and a good size portion. It was nice and quiet, we didn't get disturbed sleeping. Very good all round - the car park was 5 mins walk and we got a pass from the hotel so it cost £9.50 rather that £12.

    « Marmadukes Town... H, Front Office Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this review »
    Thanks so much for your kind review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in York soon. Best wishes, Will

    « Swift pint »

    The 4 of us popped into the Lamb and Lion, the bar was staffed well with whom I presume was the land lady. She took our order was polite with fun banter. The girls choose warm drinks whilst the boys sampled the great selection of cask ales. Whilst seated the land lady would chat as she passed us making polite conversation. Whilst there I logged on to Trip Advisor to look at the rooms and whilst doing so she came over and took the girls on a tour. Our short time there was really nice and will go back.

    « Marmadukes Town... H, Front Office Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this review »
    Dear Stephen, Thanks very much for your 5* rating for taking the time to leave us a review as well! We're glad you had a good time with us - if you liked our ales then do stop in again soon to sample our two new guest beers - Golden Pippin by Copper Dragon and Saltaire Brewery's Triple Chocoholic Stout! Thanks again and hope to see you soon. Best wishes, Will

    « Full of character »

    We booked the Lamb & Lion in the hope of staying somewhere with some character and it didn't disappoint. It's a million miles away from the chain hotel offering. It's well situated just a short walk from the Cathedral. The food is decent - wholesome breakfast. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff friendly. An issue we had with our room on arrival was satisfactorily dealt with. On a slightly less positive note, we had booked for two nights but were called away urgently on the morning of the second day for a family illness and had to check out early. Having paid on arrival we assumed one night would be refunded but that was sadly refused for a reason that wasn't clear - after all the room could be re-let.

    « Marmadukes Town... H, Front Office Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this review »
    Dear aragon-11, Thank you very much for taking the time to review us and leave a rating - we appreciate any feedback and always try and adapt accordingly. Firstly, best wishes to you and your family - we hope that your family member has made a swift recovery. Equally, we hope that you appreciate our position - it is difficult to re-let rooms at short notice, particularly at this time of year, hence our 3-day cancellation-window policy. We hope that this hasn't put you off visiting again - we'd love to see you again soon and provide you with a warm welcome and a springboard from which to see and explore York. Best wishes, The Lamb and Lion

    « Excellent food and drink from a welcoming bar staff! »

    Very quirky pub with a choice of quaint rooms to eat and drink in. Food was varied and really excellent. Stout No 5 was outstanding. Really looking forward to repeating our visit! It is interesting to note that the beer garden would be a popular space in summer, with ample seating for many patrons.

    « Marmadukes Town... H, Front Office Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this review »
    Dear Jaryed, Thank you so much for your lovely review! Glad you liked the food and especially the Stout No. 5; it's one of my favourites too. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Best wishes, Will

    « Smelly and compact »

    We go to York every new year and on this occasion booked this thinking it was luxurious and a kind of boutique pub for our honeymoon on the way back from Scotland. We arrived not knowing where to park it is on a no entry road! We telephoned for ages no-one answered, so I ran to the pub to ask what to do. The staff were uninterested and hard-work most times to talk to. We took the car to nearby carpark. We had room 3 which was compact, only the bedroom radiator worked, the floors were sticky and there was a smell which I could only assume was an overdose of floor cleaner. The bathroom radiator didn't work and you had to squeeze through the shower doors to get in it. The staff outside woke us up around 6 both mornings. I would imagine it to be noisy and very hot in Summer as beer garden one-side, road the other. We booked a year in advance so it was cheap, it certainly is not worth full price. The only positive was comfy bed, location, cheap parking voucher on check out and breakfast was nice. We went to another hotel for our last night. Sorry wouldn't stay again.

    « Marmadukes Town... H, Front Office Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this review »
    Dear Joanna, Firstly, thank you for taking the time to leave a review - it helps us improve our service and to ensure that our guests have as positive an experience as possible with us. I'm sorry that you didn't feel that way when you stayed with us earlier this month. It's certainly true that we're not located right next to a carpark and, although check-in is indeed at the (sometimes busy) bar, these features come with being a vibrant inn located in a historic and, as you said yourself, convenient location. The same goes our rooms - although they might not always be laid out as one might expect, this results from our building's status as a Grade II listed building. And even if we could change it, we feel that quirks such as these are what gives our inn character. This being said, we're sorry that you were bothered by the noise; we do all we can to keep it to a minimum but we will certainly try and do more. We're glad you found the bed and breakfast to your liking; notwithstanding your issues with your stay, we'd love to see you again and try and do better! Best wishes, Will

    « Lovely »

    Had two lovely nights at the Lamb and Lion room was great but in the attic found the stairs a bit steep but a very nice room and bathroom once we got up there. Excellent breakfast and we had one evening meal which was good. Staff very friendly and helpful. Very quirky place to stay definitely not run of the mill.

    « Marmadukes Town... H, Front Office Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this review »
    Dear Ann, Thank you so much for your lovely review! We're glad you had a good stay with us. The attic stairs certainly are a challenge, especially when bringing bags up! The price one pays for such a quirky and old building I suppose... We hope to see you again soon! Best wishes, Will

    « Perfect location, nice food, comfortable room and friendly stuffs »

    The room is clean and comfortable, even though I think it is a little small for us. All stuffs of this hotel are very friendly, and the foods in the bar are very delicious, you can try different kinds of foods. The location is also very good, 2 minutes to York Minster, 5 minutes to the shopping area (Stonegate). I think this hotel is a good place for the tourists to stay in York.

    « Marmadukes Town... H, Front Office Manager at Lamb & Lion Inn, responded to this review »
    Dear Brant, Thank you so much for your kind review! We're glad you enjoyed our different seasonal menus and had a comfortable stay with us. We hope to see you again soon! Best wishes, Will

    « Poor accommodation »

    The food was good and the location was fine but the Superior room we had was massively overpriced and unsatisfactory. On third floor, narrow steep staircase, poor facilities in en suite. We won't be returning.

    « Great place to stay centrally! »

    Very busy when we arrived due to the time of year! Very clean, warm and friendly staff. Breakfast looked lovely but we were not hungry so only had the cereal and fruit. We will definitely stay again if we go back to York, next time it will be in the summer so can make use of the fabulous beer garden.

    « Always a pleasure »

    Perfectly located old traditional English hotel just on the old city wall. Great bar (quite lively) with a good selection of beers and drinks. Old style bedrooms with comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast each morning. Just a short walk to the main shopping, pub and restaurant areas of York i.e. Stonegate etc. Friendly and attentive staff especially Debbie at breakfast time and her young colleague (sorry didn't get her name) who run a very slick breakfast service. Will be back again!

  • 4
    « Lovely Little British Lunch »

    We have visited this pub for lunch a few times now and I have always been impressed. The place has a very cosy British feel and the pub is right under the city walls. A lovely place to stop off for lunch or a quick drink.

    « Great Location! Interesting Stay »

    The location could not be better to all the Christmas market, sights and shopping. Thankfully I read the reviews before I got there, because it was not clear prior to my arrival that when you walked in, you were at a pub and restaurant and they check you in at the bar. The stairs are steep and heavy so be prepared. The food and beverage here are out of this world AWESOME, so please take a moment to eat a meal (expensive) and the breakfast is great as well. The staff were..."meh". Generally uninterested in the guests and although, not rude, just not hospitable. I was bummed that I didn't get to schedule a dinner in advance as a resident of the hotel to ensure that my experience was complete.

    « Great atmosphere and food »

    Called in today for a beer and bite to eat. Had fish and chips and steak and ale pie. Both were magnificent probably my best pie ever. Lovely and worth s trip. Had a good selection of proper beer which is a bonus

    « 4 Star !! Joking surely !! »

    The good ... location, close to row centre, some decent beer. The bad ... where do I start !!? This is basically a pub that serves food with some rooms above Parking is 5-10 minutes away with nowhere to easily drop off baggage Reception is behind bar - try struggling through when all queuing for drinks !! Any of the bar staff appeared to be able to check you in but seemed more interested in getting you out of the way to serve more drinks than helping you !! Our room was ?executive' - really!!! - it was small and poky with noise all night from street outside , once people seemed to finally go to bed bin-men arrived and bottles were cleared noisily. Breakfast served up to 10 am - arrived 9.57 to be told stopped serving - I know I know - should have been earlier but never ever been turned away in the prescribed meal hours and done so with barely hidden glee!! Price was ridiculous but near Xmas and believed it would be 4 star !! 1, star service , 1 star accommodation but 4 star prices !! Very very poor !!

    « Food ok, service not so good »

    Four of us ate here for dinner. Fish and chips, rump steak, pizza. Nice fish and steak except the chips were soggy for all of us. It was a busy evening so expected some delay however we ordered desserts and 25 minutes later they still hadn't arrived. Looking for the staff and found quite a few behind the bar in another part of the establishment. Explained that we were still waiting for our desserts which was met with surprise as it seems they hadn't even been started. Cancelled the order and paid and had dessert at Cafe Concerto . One other slight annoyance were a number of loud drinkers (after all it is also a pub) sitting adjacent to us. Not sure why men need to scream at each other to be heard. Would I return when next in York, probably not.

    « Flight of Death »

    Room 12, appropriately enough, is named The Attic and guests other than those under 5 ft tall will be painfully aware of that. There is much head-banging in evidence in the very compact ensuite bathroom. But that's the least of it. The main challenge is ascending the heights to The Attic. A heavily sprung door opens out into the small landing on the first floor to reveal an extraordinarily steep set of stairs with a 90 degree turn at the foot of them. As if that's not enough to contend with, the heights have to be scaled in darkness with the switch for a light some 20 ft higher sited at the top of the stairs. While two-way switches may not have been readily available when the Lamb & Lion was built, surely when converted to add the Twelfth Room adding one might have been thought about. All this suggests that different rules must apply for Health & Safety in High Petergate than in the rest of the UK. Fire escape from The Attic is an exceedingly worrying prospect. Dinner was worthy of a 7/10 and was enjoyed, but the breakfast options were pretty limited although nicely cooked. The sign in the breakfast room/ bar advertised ?luxuriously appointed rooms?. That must only have applied to Rooms 1-11 because in this day and age there's no way the term was appropriate to The Attic which was comfortable enough (once you got there) but certainly not luxurious. All of this came at a hefty price for what was provided. There must be a very large premium charged for the location, which is convenient for exploring York as a visitor. Did the Lamb & Lion give value for money? Most certainly not, from our experience. Exceptionally disappointing.


Venir à l'hôtel ...

Toutes les directions

Depuis : la sortie A1 (J44) vers York, continuez jusqu'à l'A64 pour York. Prenez la sortie sur l'A1237. Prenez la sortie sur Shipton Road/A19. Continuez tout droit jusqu'à St Leonard's PlA1036. Tournez légèrement à gauche sur High Petergate. L'hôtel Lamb & Lion Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western se trouve sur la gauche.