Des tarifs réduits toute l'année avec le Programme Best Western Rewards® !
Le Risley Hall Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western est un manoir classé « Grade II », niché dans le petit village de Risley, dans le comté du Derbyshire. Ce manoir datant du XIe siècle a été joliment restauré et agrandi au fil des années. Il se divise entre le manoir, le Baronial Hall et l’aile des chambres Willoughby Court. Son domaine au passé riche s’étend sur 6 hectares et comprend des jardins sublimes.
Sure Hotel Collection
Itinéraire vers cette adresse
We had our Wedding plan and found a perfect venue! Risley Hall Hotel! Not only are the gounds perfect but the hotel is stunning- a mix of classic and modern. The staff just bent over backwards to make us feel at home and cater for all we needed! Even last minute food changes during the Wedding breakfast were catered for with ease! The food choices are wide ranging and the portions generous, while the food itself left empty plates all round!. The later checkout time was also appreciated after an exhausting day! I cannot thank the staff enough for all their help!
I wasn't sure what to expect but the location was right and so we booked. After a little problem locating the entrance - we saw it as we actually drove past and this had to turn round (you need a bigger sign guys!) Overall I was very pleasantly surprised - the hotel was absolutely excellent. The bar was comfortable and reasonably priced, dinner was good, albeit from a very traditional menu, and breakfast was quite excellent. It is true that there is no air conditioning but the rooms were cool enough with the windows open and, besides what do you expect from a Sixteenth Century House ???? The staff were universally friendly and efficient and the whole atmosphere was relaxed and luxurious (my colleague's room was SO big he actually had two armchairs in it!) This is most definitely a hotel that I will return to for a relaxing couple of days - its well located, easy to find/get to, with lovely gardens (I haven't even mentioned these before). If you want a modern soulless hotel, then yes avoid this - BUT if you want a comfortable traditional country house hotel then you won't find much better.
I took my mother here for afternoon tea and it was lovely! Although we dont live far we had never been before, when we saw the building from the outside it looked tranquil. Then we were greeted by a friendly lady at reception which was nice. The food and tea were wonderful overall really enjoyed our time out it was relaxing and just what we both needed.
On arrival the hotel is very impressive and the staff on reception were friendly. We were in one of the rooms on the top floor; the room itself was nice, however as soon as you opended the door the heat hit you, it was like a sauna! There was a large fan in the room so we plugged it in, hoping to take the edge off the heat, however it was broken. The room had no windows, and the heat was ridiculous, just not bearable! We complained to reception who were very apologetic and gave us an alternative room - which was much much coolier; windows, a working fan! However the bathroom light was broken, again another trip to reception where we were told the maintainence man had gone home but they would send someone up first thing. Next day we left the hotel at 8:30am again checking that the light would be fixed before we were back at lunchtime as we'd need the shower as we were competing in an OCR. On return to the hotel we were told the maintainence guy wasn't in so they couldn't fix the light. (the bathroom is pitch black with no light) However they did offer us use of another room for the shower facilities. The hotel has HUGE potential, just needs a bit of a refurb. It was certainly worth what we paid and the staff were all friendly and helpful!
On arrival receptionist knew I had requested soya milk. We were seated and a jug of milk arrived, a few minutes later a tea pot arrived. 5 minuted later the sandwiches and cakes arrived. I asked if the the milk was soya, she said no she had forgotten, I said it didn't matter I had bought my own. There were three varieties of sandwiches, egg, cream cheese/salmon and beef smothered in horseradish sauce. The cakes were lovely but we couldn't eat them all and asked to take them home. The cakes were wrapped in silver foil but the three scones were missing. I do hope the staff enjoyed what we paid for. Service and attention very poor.
We have stopped here a few times and it's still our favourite place. There's just something about this place ??. Our room was very nice and had everything we wanted and needed and we had a bath in this room as well as a shower which was unusual. We had a great view overlooking the garden and we couldn't of asked for more. There was a wedding underway when we arrived and a lot of guests but the place was still quiet and peaceful. . For the first time we actually had our evening meal here and we were not disappointed. The food was delicious and we didn't wait to long. I'll be booking again shortly.
Gareth R, General Manager at Risley Hall Hotel & Spa, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay here at Risley Hall. I was very pleased to read that you had a great stay and we look very much forward in welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Gareth Richards
We went here for Sunday lunch. Well we loved the old building. This place as really got character. We had dinner in one of the rooms that was so quaint. Our meal was very nice. We had a starter & then lunch with a glass of wine. The staff was really nice, leaving us alone to eat but checking that everything was OK every now & then. We would definitely go again.
If you stay in a 400+ year old listed Manor House in 2018 for less than £100 per night it is not going to be fresh and modern with perfectly straight walls and landscaped gardens. If you stay in this Manor House you get beautiful grounds, large rooms, amazing original features and a sense of faded glory which only adds to the enjoyment. If you want clean lines and modern head to Travelodge you'll be much happier. If you treat tired staff badly or are off hand with them then they will be not as friendly as they were to say a couple who asked for a room change to a room they had stayed in before and were very quickly accommodated, or who chatted with the staff and found them to be polite and courteous at all times. If you want to eat in a place where the food is the same every time you eat then McDonald's or Burger King can usually meet these requirements. If you want fresh home cooked food where no ask was too much to meet dietary requirements then you might prefer Risley. This is a gorgeous place with so much to offer. It's old it feels old it's faded but still glorious...You're staying in a piece of history. Enjoy! PS stayed in room 12 and no ghosts sorry folks ?? 4 not 5 because the Spa is closed for a refurb.
Gareth R, General Manager at Risley Hall Hotel & Spa, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay here at the Risley Hall. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again very soon. Kind regards, Gareth Richards
This was a visit by my wife and I as a birthday present. The hotel is set in lovely grounds with a peaceful feeling to it. The registration was friendly and seamless and we were pointed in the direction of the bar where we could peruse the menu. I must admit I did baulk at the £5 charged for two small cokes but hey ho what the hell. Our orders were duly taken and we were shown into the restaurant. I had the pate which was excellent and my wife had the prawn cocktail which did not to her taste with all the extra salad but that's a personal choice. We both decided to have the roast beef and well it was a disaster. I can only fairly comment on mine. The plated meal arrived, the slice of beef on top of the potatoes and the large yorkshire perched on top with a miniscule amount of gravy and a thimbleful of horseradish to share. The roast potatoes had been cooked that long they had an almost impenetrable outer skin akin to armour. The beef had suffered a similar fate being almost burnt on one end and not to be unkind could have been used as a frisbee as it was that dry. We did request additional gravy which the staff were happy to provide. The set vegetables had either been over cooked or had been out for a long time and kept warm under lights. The staff were excellent but let down by the terrible quality of the food they had to serve that day. My wife was equally disappointed with the terrible quality of the food especially at £17.95 per person. Perhaps we were just unlucky but on the day this was without question the worst Sunday Lunch we have ever experienced.
Just returned from an overnight stay at Risley Hall. There is no spa at the moment and I was a little worried given some of the reviews recently, but did not feel let down at all. Yes, there are some issues. Some areas need attention, but plenty of areas don't. We stayed in a room in the main house. It was clean, bathroom was spacious, towels white and fluffy. Toiletries not great, but I took my preferred products anyway. Bed linen white and crisp, comfortable bed, which is really important. Curtains could benefit from being replaced, but they did the job. Lack of electrical points , but it's a Grade 2 listed building, not that easy to update. Grounds, pleasant to walk around. Would need a team of gardners to keep them immaculate, but they were fine. Food. Could not fault it. Fresh and tasty. Evening meal choice limited, but what we had was well cooked and the fish fresh. Breakfast was exceptional. The best poached eggs I have had for a long time. Tasty bacon, fresh fruit, juices, cold meats, pastries, yogurts, nuts, cereal, ample juices, tea and coffee. You could order scrambled eggs with salmon, porridge, and other specifically prepared options. The main breakfast was cooked to order. The staff. Exceptional. Every member of staff could not have been more accommodating and welcoming. Yes, the hotel is run on a minimal level of staff, with staff doing more than one role, but that is probably because they are struggling to break even. There is dust down the inside of some radiators and some general maintenance is not done to the best standard, but don't be put off by this. All things considered, price, food, staff, location, it's well worth a visit.
My partner and I stayed over the Download 2018 weekend, as we'd left it a bit too long we were stuck with where to stay that wasn't too far via taxi/car journey. When we pulled up the grounds were stunning, or ‘posh' in my partners words. However, on arrival the decor seemed very old fashioned but in theme. The receptionist was pleasant and we checked in, the price was £189 ROOM ONLY, understandably it's a competitive rate when a festival is on, however, room only for a 3 star rated hotel is extremely steep, for what we got. We were in room 6, which we walked up the stairs to. When we opened the door there were a few steps up to the room itself. It had character to say the least. To the right the wooden door was laced with spiders webs, the decor was old, the window was open which was nice, but there was Ivy (or similar) scailing the outside wall which was perhaps where the spiders were coming in. The bed seemed okay, was lumpy but was a lot comfier than sitting on a camping chair at the festival. The bed side table and dressing table were a mirrored gold theme, unusual and didn't go with the overall theme of the hotel. The bathroom had an old suite fitted, the toilet flushed after a few pulls on the chain, the cold tap in the sink did NOT work, the shower over the bath had its hose had the metal cover falling off, and when removing the shower head from the holder the water supply shut off. On our departure I mentioned this to one of the receptionists (a blonde young male) and he didn't comment on it or do anything about it which was disappointing, someone else was also making a complaint which appeared to be taken more seriously. Another note, we ordered drinks at the bar and the female receptionist was also the bar maid, interesting set up! The hotel needs a re-vamp, I told my Mum and she said that it did used to be of a good standard, it must be that the ownership/management has changed and it's being neglected. I shall not be visiting the hotel again and I would think that the rating of the hotel needs to be re-evaluated I wasn't expecting a 5 star experience, but it was extremely poor I would have rated it a 1 star not 3.
Having tried it twice in the last 8 weeks its clear the hotel will not be getting an injection of cash from Best Western, newly associated with the Risley Hall Hotel. Basic standards such as ensuring that rooms are cleaned, with toiletries replenished properly seems to be a problem. A 'Z' bed for families is provided - and it was damn uncomfortable for my 8 year old daughter. This is totally unacceptable in the hotel trade these days - the hotel rooms are not set up for families at all. The shower unit is rusty (in room 3) and proved to be difficult to get a constant temperature set when in use. Breakfast is standard affair, hot breakfasts are plated up for you and not buffet style, however the quality of food was good. Its difficult to justify the cost of staying here as a family based on the 'put me up' bed provided, which incidentally customers are not aware of in advance, decoration in the bedroom was a mismatch of furniture and furnishings (light bulbs missing or not working), carpets are well worn too. We like the old buildings charm but it isn't worth £80-100 per night based on the prices being charged during April - May 2018. Please, whoever owns this hotel, buck your ideas up and make this old majestic building a place people will want to return to. For us though, for the time being, our custom will be back with the Holiday Inn or Novotel 5 minutes away in Sandiacre.
Business trip for 15 staff with overnight accommodation and evening meal. Hotel has great location and v close to Jct25 of M1 and on arrival looks pleasant as attractive old building and nice front lawn. However the decor, staff and general condition is very tired - it is lacking investment and there is no pride from the staff: litter and glasses outside for the two days we were there, generally unloved, very large and odd rooms with no privacy curtains. Food okay but not great. If you have a choice - avoid it
I've resisted the temptation to stick a dismal review on this place after my first few stays, becmause it ha recently joined the ‘Best Western' chain, but I simply can't ignore this omission any longer. It is a really strange hotel. The outside facade is beautiful and some of the rooms are beautiful.....but....It really needs a lot of money spent on it! Every5hing is ....well, .....just missing the grade really. The staff are really helpful, apart from the barman/waiter/receptionist. The Manager/receptionist/ dogsbody is excellent as are the receptionist and .....are you getting the drift? The food could be good if the chef was allowed to do his job. The waiter/receptionist/barman has an unfortunate attitude and if you ask for something even slightly off menu.....he decides what you are having....not the chef, which defeats the Chefs attempts to shine. The rooms are lovely but old fashioned which is great, but some of the stuff doesn't work too well and this is where they need to spend the money. It is never busy, and for a nice hotel, just 5 mins off the M1 it surprises me. I don't know what the local reputation is, and maybe this is what let's it down. It has such fabulous potential it's such a shame it just doesn't hit the mark
We did not stay at the hotel so I cannot comment on the accommodation, we were at a reception in the Baronial Hall, ordered drinks at the bar but there was only one person serving so it took a while. The food in the Baronial Hall was very basic, sandwiches looked very tired, the chips were ok, but the Pizza looked like Tesco basic. We looked around the hotel and it looked like it needed tlc and some money spending on it.
Risley Hall hosted a super wedding last Friday. Everything ran as smooth as silk. The Baronial Hall was ideal, The service was exemplary and the manager was flexible and accommodating. The guests who stayed overnight all enjoyed their stay. Thanks Laura and staff - the day was perfect. Very pleased. Great value for money.
I received a groupon voucher for my birthday for afternoon tea. The service was ok but I found it a bit odd that we weren't offered a choice of sandwiches just got given ham, tuna and egg. We were offered a choice of tea or coffee and they very kindly swapped the prosecco for juice as we seee driving. The cakes were very disappointing. I don't know if my expectations were too high but I was expecting something a bit posh what we received was very ordinary to say the least. This is not somewhere to rush back to and I am very glad we didn't pay full price.
Myself and partner attended a wedding here june 2017 and on writing a negative review about the cleanliness of our room we stayed in, i was offered a complimentary stay which we used in November 2017. We were given the main suite in the main part of the hotel which on arrival looked nice until i started looking further. Again cleanliness doesn't seem to be a priority for this hotel for some reason. I wrote a personal message regarding this to which i have been ignored. The grounds are beautiful and food waa average but will not be staying here again... even for free.
I stayed in this hotel about 18 months ago - and I swore I would not return. 18 months ago the my sheets were dirty and had the worse meal ever in a hotel. I'd obviously forgotten the name of the hotel when i booked there again a few weeks ago. It was only when driving through the gates I remembered i had stayed here before. Was it any better the second time - nope! Risley is a very old manner house and it is clearly not being maintained. I noticed some of the windows on the ground floor are falling apart. I opened the window in my room and came away with a handful of white paint chips. The bathrooms looks like they have been put in my a 10 year old. I would have thought this would be a listed building and as such would have to be maintained at a reasonable level. I grew up in a similar hotel which had to shut down for 4 weeks a year to keep it in a good state. Shame on the owners who have let it get into such a state of disrepair. There are some plus points. The bed was big and comfortable AND clean this time. The wifi was very good and allowed me to log into a remote server with no issues.
Fantastic venue for our perfect day. The baronial hall was absolutely stunning to accommodate our day and evening guests. Laura the planner was sensational from start to finish. This woman made our dreams come true nothing was too much trouble. All guests commented upon the beautiful grounds and history of the hall. The wedding sit down meal was so tasty and so was the ordered breakfast the morning after. The bridal suite was stunning. All in all perfect!
We arrived on bank holiday Sunday, for one night stay. The grounds were beautiful and so was outside of Risley Hall Hotel. When we arrived, it was a cold welcome from a man who clearly didn't want to be working bank holiday Sunday! Wasn't very polite... Just outside the enterance of our room, were two dirty glasses that had been left by someone previously however luckily the room was okay. I think the outside chairs and tables need updating, there eroding away! The whole place needs some love, there was no atmosphere, it felt very cold and unwelcoming. The staff were miserable, couldn't be bothered to be there. When we sat down for dinner, we had to cut it short the sound of gem radios dance anthems were blasting out salt and pepper push it! Not want I want to listen to in a stately home in a room that could of been filled with a much calmer atmosphere. We didn't even have our glass of wine that came with our meal because we just couldn't relax. The food was basic pub food easy & simple, I've had nicer food at a 2 for 1 pub, again the menu didn't really go with the tradition of a old stately home surrounded by beautiful grounds and filled with character. Could do with stocking up on the drinks behind the bar, couldn't order what we wanted because you didn't have any left. Fortunately breakfast was nice, the staff were friendly the service was the complete opposite to last night. I actually felt like I could sit and dine rather than rush my food and get out of there! The management need to look at the place and realise how amazing it could be, a warm welcome on reception and a little love and care around the whole entire building. Consider what staff are working front of house, and NEVER blast gem radio dance anthems when customers are trying to relax and unwind on a Sunday evening !!!!!!!! I've read previous reviews, and all the response seems to be is I will pass the message on. I can see myself that previous complaints no action has taken place, sort it out.
Arrived at the hotel and our first words were wow looks amazing. We had upgraded to a suite and were sent across the courtyard to a building dated 1908 (converted barn?). Was expecting it to be oldy worldly inside but was quite modern. When you looked closer though it definitely needed some tlc. The room we were first allocated was 22 on the ground floor. Lovely and large with massive bathroom and very peaceful. Did have to laugh at the painting as it looked as though someone was in a hurry as the door handles were covered in paint. Also noticed that there were quite a few stains on the carpet that I'm sure a carpet cleaner would remove. After a peaceful nights sleep we had a really lovely breakfast and went out for the day. On our return we noticed that the housekeeping was not the best as the cups had not been washed and the bed was hurriedly thrown back together not neat and tidy. We also noticed that a wedding was being held right next to our room so asked at reception what time the music would end. They said 12.30 to which we were a little shocked. They did offer to move us which we accepted and ended up in room 37. This new room was still a suite but on a smaller scale but completely away from the noise. The rooms were clean and tidy. My only gripe was that the curtains were torn in the bedroom but they shut okay so no worries. All in all the hotel was fab, would stay again but definitely needs some attention in places.
Had a great weekend at Risley Hall Hotel. Nice rooms but bathroom could do with a bit of work. Knobs on radiators off and had hot water out both taps in hand basin other than those points everything else was fine. The cleaner made bed only didn't go in bathroom as towels still left to dry where we left them - not folded up as with other places we have stayed. Staff friendly and good selection for breakfast. Lovely grounds, car park could do with a bit of attention - leaves still piled up at edges and a delivery bag of stones left as you walk up main path.
This was a gift for my birthday. The tea was in a teapot so large it took two hands to hold it. The tea bags were removed before serving and we had to ask for extra to be added as it was so weak. The sandwiches were covered in icing sugar which had been sieved across the cakes. Not good quality at all and embarrassing having to thank my friend and pretend it was a wonderful gift.
My partner and I just spent a well needed weekend overnight stay at Risley Hall. The suite we stayed in was clean, had the most comfortable four poster bed, and the room itself had a lovely view. The staff were lovely, courteous and very helpful, which made our weekend just perfect. The food was fantastic, both evening meal and followed by a hearty breakfast, we'll definitely be returning again soon!
So the outside is lovely..inside it is lovely too but has some of the problems of a very very old ( built in about 16th Century) house . Yes the water temperate can take a while to heat up...it can be warm in summer and cold in winter (fans provided) but the house is amazing and the duty manager only too happy to show you the mysterious window indicating a secret floor. He can talk to you about the ghosts in room 12 ..friendly but active and felt by some of the staff. He also showed us the headmasters office from the times when the hotel was a school/borstall. We stayed for a night in May and went for a nighttime walk through the secret mysterious garden and around the walled moat that flanks the hotel. We saw tiny bats and intricate iron gates on our twilight walk. The food isn't amazing...but nice and not too expensive ...but the actual property is worth twice the groupon we paid for it. Yes the owners need to do some work to improve standards a bit but it was a real pleasure...
Pros: comfy bed. Cons: all the taps in the room poured hot water, lack of proper shower was inconvenient, furniture in the room was strangely all spray painted slightly different shades of gold, glasses and mugs in the room weren't clean, toilet didn't flush. As I was checking out, others were sorting out complaints about cleanliness as well.
All the staff were very nice and helpful.We were given a complimentary bottle of wine for our anniversary which was lovely.The full English breakfast was amazing and choice of cereal,fresh fruits and cakes were great.The only negatives are the manager needs to have a word with maintenance as lack of light bulbs everywhere,and the cleaners need supplying with a long handled feather duster so they can reach cobwebs on the very high ceilings,And they need to make a note that no one taller than 5'8” to be allocated room 16 due to low wooden beam.Otherwise a very pleasant stay.
A birthday present of afternoon tea at Risley Hall awful, nothing like the photo they advertise, I wish now I had taken a photo of it myself to show what we actually received. Also the long wait between coffee and the tea itself. the man on reception had to serve us and we seem to have been fitted in between jobs. Being old school we didn't make a fuss but really we should have done. Then the worst part, having to tell the relative who paid for it not to do it for anyone else, this is the first time in 79 years I have felt I must say something, what a disappointment.
We were recently visit here for a business trip we stayed this hotel almost one weak..the staff was so nice and the food was so delicious overall am happy with that..thanku for giving us such a lovely experience.. ?
Confusion over our booking when we arrived, with only one of the two booked rooms actually on their system. Took them a while to sort out, but not full so we were given the second room - albeit on a different floor from our (teenage) kids. Unfortunately, being given a room in the eaves on the second floor meant my 6ft husband had to keep ducking under a beam when moving around! Initial impressions of the building, grounds and rooms were lovely, and the bed was comfortable. Much of the furniture in the bar area looked (at a glance) as if it was very nice and fairly new. But when we stopped to look around, we realised it was in desperate need of refurbishment. Our bathroom (room 16) clearly hasn't been updated for ages, the sink was cracked, paint on the tiles was peeling off, there were layers of badly applied sealant throughout, the shower (via the old taps) was such low pressure it was barely usable etc. In the dining room, there are tatty old curtains rails with no curtains etc etc. In addition, the usual brochure/folder that you get in a hotel room giving details of facilities, menus, how to use the phone etc was missing, so we couldn't use the hotel phone, for example. When I asked about this as we checked out, I was told this was because everything was being rebranded as Best Western had just bought it. I did suggest that an A4 sheet explaining this and with some basic info would be helpful, but I'm not sure that suggestion will get passed on. Service at reception was generally fine and the waitress at breakfast was trying her best (but I suspect was quite inexperienced). The cooked breakfast itself, though, was very good - better than a lot of other hotels at this price. We didn't spend enough time here for any of this to spoil our stay particularly. It is a lovely old building, so I really hope they do a sensitive refurbishment to make the most of it.
Unfortunately we have been given two Groupon vouchers for afternoon tea here recently. I say unfortunately as the first experience was not good (lack of service), the second, this week even worse. No welcome when we arrived, service not attentive and to top it all, ants crawling out of the sugar bowl! Just received a meek 'oh sorry' and changed the sugar and put the second lot into a cup, not even another sugar bowl. We killed 8 ants on the table!! Not a luxury occasion by any means, ordinary cups and saucers, no china as one would expect for afternoon tea, 9 finger sandwiches between 2 of us all in white bread, cakes which were obviously bought in. Will never be returning here again., Shame as 15 years ago it was a lovely place, so good that we got both engaged and then married there - certainly wouldn't be doing so now!
Stayed in a suit to see if we would like our wedding here. First thing we do is have a look around the room and then view the booklets that usually contain hotel menus and general information. There wasnt one. We decided to eat out after reading the online reviews. The rooms need a large refurb and a deep clean.the view from the back of the hotel is directly in the the care home windows. I dropped my earing under the bed so had to pull the bed over and it was filthy. The hotel seems to have a lightbulb shortage. The bathroom does not have the basics such as sanatry bags... The entrance to the suite block would benifit from a vending machine as although there is a mini fridge in the suite there is no water. The beds and pillows are comfortable and the breakfast was cooked to order and tasty. Staff we friendly.
Our room was very nice - overlooking the gardens and everything very clean and tidy. The staff very pleasant and welcoming. Breakfast was good on both mornings.We were asked if we wanted to eat in the restaurant on the day we arrived - we looked at the menu displayed in reception and as it looked good we decided we would. When we went to the restaurant we were given a completely different menu with alot less choice but decided we would still eat although we were disappointed that the menu was different. The food was average - not as good as the breakfasts and the service was very very slow - a disappointing meal. Pleased to say everything else was good.
We had been given a voucher by our Daughter for Sunday lunch at Christmas. We arranged and booked in advance. We were shown onto the bar which was empty apart from a bar person. No welcome by him just served us a drink and gave us the menu specifically for Groupon customers, should of guessed then how bad it would be. Only sat down five minutes and he asked us to follow him to the restaurant - well a room with 4 tables in it. Can't understand why they didn't direct us to our table first and then serve us drinks. The starters were served I had soup - potatoe and leek the wives had haddock fish cake. Both arrived cold, my soup was served in a good size dish but I guess they were short of soup it must have been 0.5 cm deep I could hardly get a full spoonful with tipping the dish. We didn't have any staff check it was ok so we ate what was served. It appeared that a manager came to take our plates and we told him the food was cold. He apologised and said he would tell the chef. Our main meals came mine roast beef my wife had salmon. I had one slice of beef on my plate good job I was not hungry. The roast potatoes looked great just how they should be however they were not crisp but very soggy obviously cooked well in advance and reheated. My wives salmon came with a hollandaise sauce that was so thick she could have cut it with a knife. The room was dead no atmosphere the staff were abrupt and not welcoming at all. One waitress had such a short skirt that ever time she bent over to place plates on the neighbouring tables I could see the band's on her tights at the top of legs and they also contain a huge ladder. Their presentation altogether is a problem for this sort of establishment. We did not stop for a sweet it was an awful experience one not to do again. The idea with offering Groupon vouchers is because you want more customers try your service and come back to pay full price. Not much chance of this happening. You don't have enough customers because the service is so poor - cheap vouchers won't cure that. I would not recommend this place to dine let alone to get married I would advise anyone not to buy Groupon vouchers for here. I guess the service in the other rooms for full paying customers must be better as it can't be worse. Sorry for such a poor review but really the place needs money spending on it. There is red carpet leading to reception from the car park it looks as though it's been left out all winter. 1st impressions are always right.
The wedding party apparently arrived more than half an hour earlier than expected but the staff coped beautifully. Cocktails appeared very speedily and were soon followed by very good hot canapes. The wedding breakfast was very good too and the service was excellent. There was a hog roast in the evening, extremely nice and beautifully cooked. The staff were all very pleasant and polite, led by their manager Laura. A very enjoyable afternoon and evening.
Venue could be lovely, but is very tired and in need of some tic. Our room was ok, the bathroom was very tatty with broken handle on shower door, poor diy - repaired sink repeated sealant throughout which looked dirty and messy. Staff were helpful and friendly and overall an average stay. With a bit of elbow grease and a decent handyman this hotel could be so much nicer.
The hotel could really do with a refurbishment, the rooms are looking in need of a coat of paint and cracked tiles on the bathroom floor need to be replaced. Hot water in the bathroom dangerously hot, cold water tap ran warm water - not ideal. Not many people in residence when we stayed, bar and restaurant menu were the same (limited selection) my wife had fish and chips (gluten free) which was good , I had the scampi which was nice. Really needs someone to look at the detail of what is being offered from our table in the dining room we saw: cobwebs on the curtain track, a broken sash rope, a wheelbarrow parked right outside the window. The hotel has a lot of potential (easy access from junction 25 M1) but needs some tlc. Breakfast was enjoyable.
We came across this venue from the Best Western site, it is a new addition to this brand. Unfortunately the brand changes have not gone well for the hotel and they deserve better support from Best Western. I was extremely disappointed that the Spa was closed and had been for some time. However this is not clear on many websites offering spa trips etc. to here, please be careful if you buy from voucher sites. However the way the staff dealt with my disappointment was extremely exemplary, as was the customer service throughout our stay. There is a fairly limited restaurant menu but this is well supplemented by the bar menu. The food was hot and very tasty, especially the Duck Roll starter. The hotel, and the rooms, are going through a refurbishment and those that have been completed have been done so to a very high level. We were in the building opposite the main house and we had the best hotel room ever in the UK and we travel at least twice a month. There was a problem paying the bill but again the was an issue between the hotel and Best Western which needs to be resolved. We will definitely return here.
The hotel was clean and tidy and comfortable, The staff were friendly and obliging. The dinner was good and we were allowed to take our time with our meal, Breakfast was also good. it would be nice in the summer when you could spend time in the grounds.
Service was dreadful as was the food, no none working there seemed to know what they were doing, i asked two servers what canapes they were serving and neither had a clue. Service was also very slow. Everything was grubby, even the plates and teapots at breakfast. The room was large but not very clean. Service at breakfast was better than the evening. Overall i would not recommend.
Absolutely amazing value for money! The staff were very friendly! The food was delicious (compliments to the chef!!) lovely hotel, beautiful gardens.? Afternoon tea was a choice of drinks, good mixture of fresh sandwiches, large selection of cakes, yummmy warm scones with cream and jam! Fabulous
Awful! The person on reception was annoyed that we had booked because they were apparently busy catering a wedding reception. He took us into a poky little room with a few tables that were still dirty. He removed the tablecloth from one and asked us to sit down. The table cloth was never replaced. We began with a glass of prosecco and then 20 minutes later we all had a cup of instant coffee. The food arrived 30 minutes later, The sandwiches were a joke...cheese and pickle, ham and egg mayo. All on sliced white bread. Then there was a scone each and a selection of shop bought cakes,, We never saw anyone after the food was brought in. No one came and asked if we wanted more coffee or asked if we were ok. Avoid this place.
Afternoon tea, lacking to say the least , table cloth had stains , no sugar tongs , food was ok ( not special ) we asked if we could exchange the salmon sandwiches , what came was a egg sandwich that looked like a child had made it !, there was no check back , such a pity as we have been before and it was very nice .
was meant to stay over while at a wedding last year - booked one of the suite rooms, directed to our room and it was nothing like the photos and filthy, cobwebs and bugs everywhere. Went and asked if it was the right room and were told no but they had no other rooms, then when i said i was leaving they suddenly offered me the correct room and said they would downgrade the original occupants as they hadnt arrived yet, which i wasnt happy with as why should they be in the same position as us? eventually another room was plucked from thin air, and we walked through an unfinished building site and arrived at said room to find it had been painted that day, absolutely stunk and there were still spiders everywhere, including spiders that had been painted over! paint drips in the shower and sinks, and all over the floor. Told them it wasnt good enough and that we werent paying, and chose to drive the 2 hours home after the wedding instead. There were about three staff in the entire place, and it was like being on the set of Fawlty Towers! All the other wedding guests who were staying there said the same thing, and even the groomsaid the next day he was disgusted with the state of the room but there wasnt much he could do given that his first encounter with said room was in the early hours of the morning after the wedding had finished.
We like Risley and have been on many occasions, Finally the hotel is getting some much needed love and attention. As we stay regularly it is nice to see the on going improvements are gradually taking the quaint hotel slowly back to what it should be. On this occasion the spa was closed for refurbishments which are ongoing without a opening date as yet, However we were upgraded to a suite and for £50 was a bargain! Don't expect the Ritz for these prices! But we love the hotel and the staff are very friendly and welcoming.
Gareth R, Manager at Risley Hall Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay here at Risley Hall. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again very soon. Kind regards, Gareth Richards Hotel Manager
We stayed at this hotel for an evening while visiting friends Very quaint friendly staff but it is looking a bit tired in places Bedroom clean and had everything you need but curtains were frayed and could be updated Bathroom very dated and toilet very temperamental Would I stay again yes as it was convenient
Gareth R, Manager at Risley Hall Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to the (Hotel name). I'm delighted that you enjoyed elements of your stay and we have noted your comments, which we are addressing.Kind regards, Gareth Richards Hotel Manager
i stayed here on business with some colleagues, a day in meetings was topped with a nice meal and accommodation with a nights stay. allocated rooms with ensuite wash rooms and nice view of the gardens. its now a best western hotel.
Gareth R, Manager at Risley Hall Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay here at Risley Hall. I was very pleased to read that you had a great stay and we look very much forward in welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Gareth Richards Hotel Manager
A lovely old building. In need of some attention in places but, it's the little quirks of staying in old buildings that I actually enjoy. The Lady Sarah room was clean and very spacious, though a little hot on the first night which, contrasted with the bathroom which was pretty cold because the radiator didn't seem to be working but, I actually found the cool bathroom to be quite refreshing. The morning after the first night, both taps in the bathroom sink were giving out hot water. The morning after the second night this wasn't the case so I'm not sure if this was just a temporary glitch? The wife didn't like the fact that the radiator in the bathroom (which as mentioned, didn't seem to work), holding the towels, was so far away from the bath. A fridge in the room would have been very useful. It's a shame too that the Spa wasn't available as the wife would have appreciated that too. Overall, it was a very pleasant stay and I'd be very happy to stay again.
Gareth R, Manager at Risley Hall Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you very much for your recent review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed elements of your stay. I have taken note of the points you raised regarding your visit and have shared them with my team, to ensure that guests will not be inconvenienced in this way in the future. I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards Gareth Richards Hotel Manager
Où la vie vous mène, Best Western® est là.
Chaque hôtel Best Western® est individuellement exploité par un propriétaire indépendant.