Des tarifs réduits toute l'année avec le Programme Best Western Rewards® !

Jusqu’à -10% de réduction avec le Club de fidélité en renseignant votre email

gift-icon

Vous avez accès aux meilleurs prix avec le Club de fidélité. Si vous ne souhaitez pas vous inscrire gratuitement au Club, vous pouvez accéder aux tarifs non membres.

gift-icon
close dark

Chambre 1
Chambre 2
Chambre 3
Codes Avantages

The George Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, Penrith

Devonshire Street, CA11 7SU, Penrith, Great Britain - Voir sur une carte
The George Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western - Façade The George Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western est idéalement situé dans le centre de Penrith. Venez découvrir et profiter de notre hôtel à côté des principaux sites touristiques. Réservation au meilleur prix et offres exclusives toute l'année.

Le George Hotel, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western vous captivera dès que vous passerez nos portes tournantes, avec sa décoration nostalgique et son charme d'autrefois. L’association des poutres en chêne, des meubles anciens et des tapisseries locales d’antan crée une atmosphère chaleureuse et accueillante qui explique pourquoi un grand nombre de nos clients reviennent année après année. Cet hôtel vieux de 300 ans classé « Grade II » est même réputé pour avoir accueilli un hôte royal célèbre en son temps, Bonnie Prince Charlie, qui est dit y avoir passé une nuit en 1745. Cet hôtel majestueux dans le centre de la charmante ville marchande de Penrith est un point de départ fantastique pour visiter la région époustouflante de Lake District et Eden Valley, avec le lac Ullswater à seulement 6 km. Profitez d'une croisière sur un bateau à vapeur ou marchez sur plusieurs kilomètres. Toutes les chambres sont élégamment meublées avec de grands lits confortables et un plateau de bienvenue. Si vous voulez mettre la barre un peu plus haut, pourquoi ne pas opter pour un surclassement dans l'une de nos chambres club ou suites signature, pourvues de peignoirs, d'eau minérale et autres détails de luxe ?Vous pourrez déguster un repas au coin du feu dans notre restaurant 2 rosettes AA, tandis que notre bar sert toute la journée des déjeuners légers et des plats classiques de pub. Un parking sécurisé gratuit est également disponible, de même que le Wi-Fi haut-débit dans toutes les parties communes.

Sure Hotel Collection

The George Hotel

Itinéraire vers cette adresse

Départ:

Arrivée:

Les points forts de l'hôtel

  • Internet haut débit gratuit
    Internet haut débit gratuit
  • Réception 24 heures sur 24
    Réception 24 heures sur 24

Avis de nos clients

En partenariat avec tripadvisor fr
Certificate of Excellence 2019
Basé sur l'avis de 1198 voyageurs
Note attribuée
Excellent
536
Très bon
431
Moyen
126
Médiocre
70
Horrible
36
CONSULTEZ LES AVIS POUR
En couple En couple
681
En famille En famille
146
Escapade entre amis Escapade entre amis
141
Professionnel Professionnel
101
Voyage solo Voyage solo
37
RÉSUMÉ DES NOTES
Propreté
Emplacement
Chambres
Service
Literie
Rapport qualité / prix

"Brilliant nights sleep"

4
smiletravels, Maidenhead, United Kingdom 16/08/2019

What a quaint old fashioned hotel.. staff were lovely and very friendly and the room no.5 was nicely decorated with a modern bathroom.. so very quiet - it was wonderful Had dinner in the bar which wasn't up to much - fish pie which was rather bland and lacking in fish, and hubby had burger which he left not because it was bad but they put a relish on which was too sweet. Breakfast was very nice- vegetarian and full Cumbrian. Overall a nice old fashioned stopover

"Brilliant pit stop"

4
sammibmcg, Swindon, United Kingdom 14/08/2019

We stopped at The George for one night on our way to the Highlands, having booked pretty last minute. The first thing to mention is that it's in a brilliant location, and there's plenty of private parking. It's easy to find from the motorway and is very central to the town. The room was very comfortable, and the bathroom was huge! We even had robes in the wardrobe which was a nice touch and made us feel pampered after a long car journey. We arrived too late for dinner and ended up having breakfast in a lovely cafe, so can't comment on the food but I'm sure it was lovely!

dave061081, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review
hey Sammithanks for the great review. I hope you can stay again where you can try the food and can give us 5 stars!!! Dave and team George

"Lovely stop over"

5
User 10/08/2019

Spotlessly clean, modern hotel in an old building. Lovely rooms, clean, presentable, modern & very comfortable beds. I love that you could still open the window to let in fresh air. Soft towels & hot bath

dave061081, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review
Thanks Shamil for that great review. Much appreciated. Dave and team George

"A good nights sleep at an affordable price"

4
User 08/08/2019

Check-in was quick and efficient, the car park at the rear of the hotel, has an electric barrier, with a code to input when leaving. The room was clean, tidy and warm (three requisites for any hotel) The hotel had a nice cosy looking bar, and the hotel was ideal for exploring Penrith, with bars, restaurants, cinema,and takeaways, within walking distance.Overall I had a pleaseant experience and I am staying there again tonight, and I will find out if my pleasant last stay was a one off.

dave061081, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review
Thanks jshark.

"If you like an antiquated bathing experience this is the place for you."

2
Northernmonkey68, Gillingham, United Kingdom 07/08/2019

We get that this building is very old BUT the facilities shouldn't be. We had NO hot water the whole 2 night stay ! When I approached reception ( twice ) I was told to just "run the taps for 15 minutes" so I did this in anticipation for a nice hot shower after a 7 hour drive. Well what I was greeted with was a cough/splutter from the shower head and a rumble of pipes followed by what I can only describe as lukewarm rain water so I began to wash only to find the water go from the temperature of a baby's bath water to water more suited to a pregnant penguin ( bloody freezing ) after a while I though ( sod this ) and gave up having a shower and when it came to having a shave I didn't fancy the facial complexion of looking like I'd shaved with a jagged broken bottle. So I boiled the kettle instead. I get that this is a very old hotel BUT surely your company are not still employing small children to stoke the obsolete steam powered boiler you must be using to heat the water system. You also need to employ taller room cleaners as anything above 6 ft off the floor had a liberal coating of dust.

""An overnight stay""

4
MaryElizabethBeds, Shefford, United Kingdom 06/08/2019

We had an overnight stay to break the journey to Scotland. A lovely old hotel in the high street. The room and the bathroom were extremely clean. We had a fixed price dinner in the evening, only managed 2 courses which was £17.95 a head, the wine and coffees were extra. A lovely meal which we thoroughly enjoyed. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Would stay there again.

"What a beautiful hotel."

5
Hefhoover2014, Aberystwyth, United Kingdom 05/08/2019

We called for a bar meal and were really impressed with the beautiful interior, cleanliness and excellent customer service, oh and the food was delicious too. We would definitely consider staying in this hotel on a return trip to this beautiful area. Thank you all for your lovely and professional service.

dave061081, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review
thank you very much We are working hard to move forward at the moment. Hope you can return Dave and team George

"Homely and dog friendly "

4
527sallyannep, Great Wyrley, United Kingdom 03/08/2019

A four night stay in this town centre hotel proved to be a lot more homely and relaxed than I imagined with two dogs and a husband who was working for 2 of the days of our stay. We were greeted with dog beds and bowls already in our room. We were in room 26, lots of stairs and overlooking a courtyard but this really didn't detract from the immaculately clean room with very comfortable bed. Very roomy and all facilities available including excellent room service. Staff are really attentive and efficient. Breakfasts superb. Although there isn't a garden or outdoor area the church yard and small park is just around the corner so making the dogs comfortable wasn't an issue at all. We were made to feel very welcome which isn't always the case when you have dogs with you. We were sad to leave!

dave061081, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review
We are very doggy friendly here and we enjoy looking after our guests pooches as much as the guests themselves!! I appreciate the lovely detail in the review. I hope you return Dave and team George

"overnight stay"

3
User 26/07/2019

Booked an overnight stay through Groupon after reading reviews. Staff are the best part of this hotel they are very polite and work very but when you see a stairlift you then realise this hotel is for the older person the bedrooms half modern half dated but this is a old building so don't expect a boutique hotel, the a la carte meal which was in with the price which we had high hopes for but when arrived the chicken was very dry and the steak which should have been medium was well done so we left our meal the best part of the meal was the cheese and cracker ,not worth a £129.

"Nice traditional hotel."

4
garyfm1972, Lincoln, United Kingdom 26/07/2019

Just had a four night stay at the George Hotel in Penrith. It is a lovely old building with many traditional features. The communal areas are nicely furnished and cosy. We spent the first two nights in a lovely suite with a four poster bed. The decor and fixtures were a little dated but it was nice nonetheless. However the room was so noisy at night. Greggs bakery across the road get a delivery between 3/4am every day. This is a huge lorry that doesn't turn it's engine off and you hear clattering and banging on and off for a good hour. We were moved to room number 10 for the last two nights which was much better. Can't praise the staff enough. Very friendly and attentive. Nothing was too much trouble and they moved everything for us when we moved rooms. The only downside for us was the amount of flies in and around the dining areas. Especially around the breakfast buffet. The pastries need covering over. I did this myself with napkins. The waitress said they are waiting for a cover!! It really was a put off. The hotel really needs to invest in air conditioned accommodation too. Other than that we had a great time and would definitely recommend this hotel.

"Another lovely stay"

5
polibrit, greece 24/07/2019

Have stayed at this hotel several times and have never had a bad experience. Have just returend from a two night break with friends feeling stress free and relaxed. The staff couldn't do enough for us we felt really pampered and special. Rooms were great as was the food and service. Can't wait to go back

"Great Hotel"

4
Lesley N, South Shields, United Kingdom 13/07/2019

Stayed at this hotel while visiting Lakes. Great location. Got a dinner, bed and breakfast deal with a glass of Prosecco each. Was impressed with the evening meal. Good choices from A la Carte menu. Did wait a while for food though. Breakfast was lovely as well. Good size room and bed was comfortable. Great lounge area. Staff friendly as well. Will definitely be returning.

dave061081, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review
thank you Lesley N Pleased you had a great stay. Call us on 01768 862696 to rebook. kind regards Dave and team George

"Nice Stay"

4
User 10/07/2019

The George Hotel is nicely placed in the Town for shops and eating out. The hotel is also conveniently places for good access to the Lakes. The service levels were high with helpful staff throughout. The only issues being there is no lift and it is a long way to the top floor with or without carrying a suit case! The internet service is not very good.

dave061081, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review
Thanks for the great review Comet1001. Hope to see you again Dave and team George

"Excellent base for exploring Westmoreland and Ullswater"

5
kewfan, London, United Kingdom 10/07/2019

We had 2 very comfortable nights at the George and having booked well in advance got an excellent bed and breakfast rate. Very good value for money and a lovely friendly atmosphere. Dinner on the first night was good and as we were quite late and hadn't booked, they laid a special table for us in the lounge bay window, the restaurant being full. An excellent combination of a traditional hotel downstairs and a very modern bathroom in our bedroom upstairs.

dave061081, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review
Thanks Kewfan We do always try our best to accomodate even when we're under pressure. Fortunately we have an extraordinarily good team here as previous reviews would support which helps us greatly in this respect. I will pass your comments onto the team and thanks again for the great review. Dave and team George

"Lovely hotel in excellent location"

5
JoyjoyH, Freckleton, United Kingdom 07/07/2019

We stayed here after a long days walking in the lakes, the hotel is in a fantastic location right in the centre of Penrith. We called enroute and were given the postcode for the secure car park at the back of the hotel. The staff were really friendly and we were checked in in seconds, we stayed in a small double room on the 3rd floor which was bright, spacious and clean. We were lucky to have spotted the travel zoo offer for the restaurant so we had booked a table and had a three course meal which was delicious and a bargain using the voucher. Would happily recommend this hotel we will definitely stay again.

dave061081, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review
Thats a great review JoyjoyH We do have some great deals on at the moment so give us a ring on 01768 862696 and ask what we can do! all the best Dave and team George

"Very pleasant evening at a very nice hotel"

5
bassetdog, Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom 03/07/2019

One night stay when up in Penrith for an evening out. I as given a very nice room , with a nice selection of tea/coffee and biscuits. Room was spotlessly clean as was the spacious bathroom. Quaint small bar for a nice drink. Very friendly staff in the lounge area and a special mention for Emma in housekeeping who was very friendly and willing to offer assistance to any guests she could help.

dave061081, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review
Emma has recently achieved a legendary status here at the George. She is helpful and fun!! Thanks for the mention, I will let her know. Hope you can return Dave and team George

"A very pleasant stay"

4
Carolyne D, Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom 03/07/2019

A characterful country town hotel with plenty of history. The 4 course evening meal was excellent, as was the service. Very comfortable bed in large room at the front, free parking to the rear. Would highly recommend. We stayed on a Sunday using a special deal and it was great value. We would definitely stay here again.

dave061081, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review
Thanks for the great review Carolyne D Sundays are a great day to stay with us as we leave our usual a la carte menu and serve a large selection of traditional roasts. There are cracking deals to be had too. thanks again Dave and team George

"Very good night"

5
SusanC4019, North West England, United Kingdom 25/06/2019

This night was bought for my husband for a father's day present..We booked in at 3pm the staff gave us instructions for the car park. We were able to book a table for the evening meal at the time we requested. The food was excellent along with the service

dave061081, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review
Thanks a lot for that great review. I hope to see you again Dave and team George

"Great value"

4
russell m, Middlesbrough, United Kingdom 25/06/2019

Superb hotel,really well situated,staff were very good,food was excellent,only issues was the view from the room was a fire escape and internal roofing,the hotel was right in the centre with its own car park

dave061081, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review
Hi Russell Thanks for taking the time to write such a positive review. We do struggle for rooms with a good view as stunning vistas are not commonplace in Penrith town centre and many of our rooms look across the rooftops. There are amazing views to be had just a short drive away at Ullswater, really is a great day out! Please do return All the best Dave and team George

"Friendly hotel, good service and lovely food"

5
Sheila J, Lincoln 24/06/2019

Booked to stop one night to break a journey north because my husband had stopped here last year and been impressed. The room we were given was large with a sitting room as well as the bedroom. It was all well equipped, quiet and clean. The food in the restaurant was lovely and the staff helpful and friendly. Breakfast next morning continued in this vein. Also stopped on the return journey a week later, this time just for a meal which we had in the bar. Again friendly, efficient service with good food and good portion size. The beer isnt bad either. Would happily stop here again. For those with dog they are welcome in the bar and lounge areas.,

dave061081, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review
Thankyou Sheila J Thats great of you to leave us such a lovely review covering most aspects of what we do here. I look forward to your next visit Dave and team George 01768 862696

"Great visit"

4
Ad_1a_2m, London, United Kingdom 19/06/2019

Visited here for a 3rd time staying here and again was really impressed. The staff here always make us feel welcome in the hotel. The food as well in both the pub and restaurant. The rooms are always clean and tidy and always a good night stay here. The only reason why I gave 4 stars not 5 is cause I think the prices are a little expensive for what you get and for the fact there is no lift in the entire hotel.

dave061081, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review
Thanks for the great review Ad, Your lovely comments are much appreciated regarding the team and the quality of the food. We have been and still are working hard and with a genuine passion to constantly improve our offering. The George is excellent value for money, we have been running a nights dinner, bed and breakfast for two in an upgraded room for £129!!!!!!!!! This is as great a deal as you will find in Cumbria!!!!! In future give us a call on 01768 862696 and simply ask us what our best deal is and we will gladly share this with you. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for a great stay and a great deal!! Dave and team George

"JD is an absolute star!!"

5
Griffithslaura, Durham, United Kingdom 16/06/2019

We booked a table for 22 people (12 adults 8 children) for lunch this weekend, which was for our surprise wedding that we'd told our guests about only the night before. On booking the table JD was fantastic, made the process so easy. We got married at the register office round the corner and misjudged how long it would take so arrived at the George an hour early, this was no issue to JD and he welcomed us all. The children had a table of their own and he quickly took their orders and brought them colouring sheets so they were happy and settled while the adults could toast the day and order our food. Nothing was a problem to JD, he was so lovely and patient with the children, bringing them desert as when each one was finished and if any of us adults wanted changes from the set menu this too was no problem at all. JD is definitely a massive asset to the George, he made our wedding so much more relaxed and special so thank you very much!

dave061081, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review
Thanks Laura Griffiths, That's a great shout out! JD or "John of the George" is somewhat of a treasure here. He certainly is special! It was nice to meet you all and my wrists have now recovered from sharpening all those coloured pencils!!! Until next time Dave and team George

"The George Hotel"

1
sffirmani, Riccall, United Kingdom 15/06/2019

We stayed here for 2 nights in May. Never again shall we revisit. The staff were very rude and they really do not know how to apologise. Before we arrived we rang the hotel asking for directions to the car park, a man at reception just gave us a postcode and did not think to tell us that the car park was hidden behind a gate in quite an obscure place. Hence why we parked outside the hotel. On checking in they told us that we couldn't park outside and they eventually explained where the car park was. I explained to reception that it was not very helpful to just provide us with a postcode and no other information, the man at reception replied with nothing and showed no acknowledgement. The cost was £300 for 2 nights including breakfast. The room was very dated,1980s decor and very run down. It was in need of much TLC. The carpet was stained and the floors were very creaky also. The room had a strange damp odour too. The morning when we checked out we took to the dining area and ordered our breakfast, we were waiting over half an hour before it was served and the tea had gone cold obviously. In the meantime we asked what was happening the waitress said “we are very busy” and no apology at all! I would recommend the staff to inform guests to expect delays with breakfasts etc if this is going to be the case. The breakfast itself was the only positive thing about this hotel, cooked well and very tasty. Expensive hotel relative to the poor service we received. The state of the hotel room made us feel quite deflated, I felt far from being in holiday mode. Overall very disappointed.

dave061081, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review
Dear sffirmani, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We always get great reviews especially concerning the team here so I was a little surprised to read your comments. We do have a remarkably friendly bunch here. Please see the last x number of posts. We do give out the postcode for the car park which is a different post code than that of the hotel. This is simply because the hotel is on a one way system and having its own post code makes life remarkably easy for those people who have a sat nav. Unsure what the problem here was as you state you were provided with a post code AND an explanation of where the car park was so both options covered. Not sure what else we could do to make this easier to find. ??? We have a rolling refurbishment program at the hotel and are anticipating a further 6 rooms to be upgraded in the not too distant future. The floors are creaky in places, the building is 400 years old. I do wish you all the best with your future travels Dave and team George

"Traditional, old style hotel"

3
ColinCJC, Storrington, United Kingdom 14/06/2019

Old style hotel in central Penrith.Good for a stopover. Good lounge area near reception although bar area itself fairly narrow. Good full cooked breakfast, but buffet options limited. Fairly basic bedroom and shower.

"Disappointing Service"

3
thehigsta, Peterborough, United Kingdom 11/06/2019

Whilst the food we were served was very nice, the service did leave a lot to be desired. We chose a window table which we were aware needed clearing - this was done quickly but then the waiter asked if he could take our order - no pad, no pen. We placed the order for the meal and drinks. The drinks arrived first but the server disappeared before we could say they were incorrect. We had to go and find someone to correct the error. The bill was also presented to us before the meal even arrived.

dave061081, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Thehigsta, I have investigated......... I'm sorry you felt it necessary to write such a negative review because there was a slice of lemon in your drink. Please be aware that such reviews can have a negative impact on small, hard working business's and the jobs of the people working there. It is our standard to keep a rolling tab on every table. The dirty table you chose was cleared quickly, and you enjoyed your meals of that I'm glad. I wish you all the best Dave and team George

"Enjoyable stay in the GeogeHotel, Penrith"

5
Evelyn B, Belfast, United Kingdom 10/06/2019

The accommodation is excellent - very comfortable beds which guarantee a good night's sleep. All amenities are included and the rooms are very clean. The whole building is full of character and the food is of the highest standard. Also, situated in central location - convenient for shops!

dave061081, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review
Thanks Evelyn B for that great review. We do work hard to give our guests an exceptional experience so thanks for the mention. Hope to see you again Dave and team George 01768 862696

"Recommended"

3
Walker1951, Derbyshire, United Kingdom 05/06/2019

The George is an upmarket Hotel in the centre of Penrith. I called in for a drink in the bar which is encouraged. The bar staff were friendly and helpful and there was an adequate range of drinks. I didn't eat so can't comment on the food. The clientele in the bar seemed to be residents who were on the elderley side and were there to enjoy a quiet drink and have a chat. With the type of customers in the bar I was very surprised when the background music changed to Iron Maiden's "Take Your Daughter to the Slaughter". This could have been for the bar tenders personal pleasure but his face didn't crack and he must have had no control over the music or he is a very good poker player. Music aside I would definitely recommend a visit to the George.

dave061081, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review
Thanks for the review, If I can explain how the George is laid out it may shed some light on why there is varying music..... Lounges-acoustic, chilled music for well lounging and relaxing. Bar- Rock music for people wanting a little bit more upbeat atmosphere. This widens our niche and hopefully brings more guests into the George. Thanks for your positive comments including the team here. I shall pass them on. Hope to see you again Dave and Team George 01768 862696

"If authentic antiquity is your goal..."

2
Margaret E, Los Altos Hills, California 05/06/2019

This picturesque hotel is right in the middle of Penrith, a good jumping off place for the Lake District. The bed and bath rooms were adequately supplied, clean and comfortable. We also had a third, sitting room. However, a Saturday night stay in Penrith put us right on the main drag, and the cars/motorcycles/groups went noisily by all night long! Ask for a room on the back of the hotel and you may be happier.

dave061081, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review
Thanks for your review Margaret E Thanks for the good comments about the hotel. Unfortunately on a bank holiday weekend in every town centre in the country there will be noise from revellers who are just a couple of units the happy side of hitting the gutter. Most rooms at the front of the hotel have been fitted with secondary glazing to reduce any noise in the rooms. Thanks for your otherwise positive review and I hope you can return and hopefully score us at 5 stars!!!! Dave and Team George 01768 862696

"Could have been wonderful !"

3
User 01/06/2019

This hotel is situated in the heart of Penrith . Its classic architecture and Victorian ambience is extremely welcoming and grand . Staff helpful and friendly and the dinner and breakfast excellent . Whilst the general decor and furnishings are a little tired with a slightly fusty odour the venue was good overall . However !! Retiring to bed in a room at the front of the hotel all was well till what sounded like world war three breaking out at the late night takeaway directly opposite our room . Loud, abusive and generally drunken noise woke us up shortly after midnight and carried on nearly all night . Closing the window did not prevent the noise and made the room intolerably hot . Worst night sleep ever . Such a shame that it ruined this short break which could have been so much better .

"Wedding Aniversay"

5
Claire B, Washington, United Kingdom 31/05/2019

Clean comfortable room. Hotel staff all polite, friendly and helpful.Good amenities. In the town centre with an absolutely amazing bakery close by selling everything from sausage rolls, pasties, cheese, chutney and cakes

"Mini break"

5
Dawn W, Banbury, United Kingdom 30/05/2019

Mini break for celebrating husbands special birthday year doing lots of exciting things around the UK and beyond. We had actually been here about 10yrs ago. The good was wonderful and staff all lovely

"Comfortable and luxurious stay - great breakfast!"

5
User 30/05/2019

We made an emergency booking in this hotel on the day of our arrival in Penrith. The BnB we were booked in (Ashberry Guest House) refused to check us in after our train was delayed so the welcome by reception staff was lovely! The room was large, clean and had a lovely modern bathroom and the breakfast was great!

"Satisfied"

4
Discover01728030096, Glasgow, United Kingdom 28/05/2019

I had a good stay at the George. It has the feeling of a welcoming hotel with attentive and friendly staff! I had a restful night's sleep and a hearty breakfast the following morning. I will be back to enjoy the hospitality of the The George!

"Reliable as ever"

4
172chrisj, Penrith, United Kingdom 28/05/2019

Went for a meal with my son and his fiance and her parents, the food was delicious and well presented , the service was good but when they brought the wine they just plonked the bottles on the table , didn't open them or offer a taste , very disappointing and not what I expect at a good restaurant .

"Night out"

4
User 22/05/2019

Although I live in Penrith we decided to have a meal there as we've not been for a meal before I had the George burger absolutely yummy my plate was clean recommend it hubby had the steak pie I wasn't impressed with it it looked burned but he ate it We go to the George most Saturday's there's some good turns on well worth a look

"Ideal place to stay in Penrith"

5
purdybunny, Glos 21/05/2019

Ideal place to stay on our trip up to Scotland. Perfect location and hotel. Food and accommodation excellent and made a lovely start to our holiday. I can highly recommend anyone wishing to stay in Penrith

"Fabulous short break"

5
User 21/05/2019

Just returned from a wonderful short break at this lovely old hotel. All the staff we're fantastic and really made our stay memorable. Food and service first class. Rooms very comfortable and had everything you need. Comfortable bed. No elevator but you can access the floors with a stair lift. Parking at the rear of the hotel. Yes some areas need updating but for me everything is still 5 Stars ⭐️ Looking forward to our next visit and I can honestly say this was one of the best places we have stayed. Thank you for a great weekend Ann Blair xx

"Short break"

5
kingststudios5a, Lancaster, United Kingdom 12/05/2019

Really enjoyable short break; helpful staff, comfortable room and food in the restaurant and a breakfast that gave a great start to the day. There were plenty of spaces to simply sit, relax and unwind.

dave061081, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review
Thanks for that super review!! We are lucky enough to have a really friendly bunch of staff here and the lounges are a great place to simply chill out. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back Dave and team George

"Short Groupon break"

5
cefncoedjess, Almeria, Spain 02/05/2019

lovely old building with many original features, our room was huge with superking bed, large bathroom and lounge area. However we were situated above the reception toilet so we heard the hand dryer blowing away. We had the DBB package which was great value. Would definitely recommend.

dave061081, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review
Hi cefncoedjess, So glad that you had a good time. We do have some great deals available at the moment. I look forward to welcoming you back. Dave and team George

"George Hotel Penrith"

5
User 29/04/2019

I have been staying at the George Hotel for over 8yrs now and have enjoyed each occasion. Every visit is perfect and staff are always there to assist you should you need it. Rooms are excellent and very clean. Meals are of a high standard and cooked to perfection. Can't wait for my next visit, love this Hotel with all its friendly staff.

dave061081, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review
Hi Scenic74221, Thanks for leaving such a great review. I really appreciate your kind comments about the hotel and the team. Dave and team George

"The George Hotel"

5
Billy G, Northampton, United Kingdom 09/04/2019

The hotel is a very impressive grade 2 listed building. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable, the staff are very friendly nothing seems to be to much for them and the food was superb. I don't normally rate hotels that well but credit where it is due. Looking forward to my next visit

dave061081, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review
Thanks Billy G Thats a great review and I appreciate you taking the time to leave it. I will pass on your kind comments to the team. Dave and team George

"Attractive and characterful old hotel"

4
Paul F, Chesterfield, United Kingdom 30/03/2019

The George is an iconic Penrith institution and I always come back to stay here if in the area. The charm and relaxed atmosphere is wonderful. The decor is just how you would wish, cosy snugs, well maintained, the bedrooms I have stayed in all good and comfy. Stairs are a bit of a mountain and slope in odd places as do the floors, walls and everything! Which adds to its charm and appeal. Staff always on hand and always helpful.

dave061081, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review
Hi Paul, Thanks for those great words of praise. We are certainly working hard to take the George to the next level and the team and I appreciate the recognition. Hope to see you soon Dave and team George

"Traditional but modern and the staff are great."

5
AdiPLancashire, Lancashire 27/03/2019

Stayed here for two nights following a few days at Centre Parcs. My wife had injured her ankle and the staff couldn't be more helpful. Food was excellent and the restaurant is lovely. Overall a really relaxing stay. Access for wheelchairs and less mobile people is from the car park at the rear.

dave061081, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this review
Thanks Adip, I chuffed that you enjoyed your stay. I hope your wife's ankle has fully recovered. Dave and team George

Ces avis expriment l'opinion subjective de voyageurs individuels et non pas celle de TripAdvisor LLC ou de ses partenaires.