habitación 1
habitación 2
habitación 3
Código ventaja

Best Western Plus Hotel Zanzibar, Zanzibar City

4.0/5  - basé sur 56 notations.
Kinu Cha Taa, Malindi, 00000, Zanzibar City, Tanzania - Ver el mapa

Con una estratégica ubicación en la costa de la antigua ciudad de piedra y junto al puerto de ferris, el Best Western Plus® Zanzibar está flanqueado por una exótica mezcla de fusión cultural y arquitectónica en este enclave Patrimonio de la Humanidad por la UNESCO. Nuestro hotel se ubica a poca distancia a pie de los principales enclaves locales, algunos de los cuales se remontan al siglo XVII y que en otros tiempos recibieron la visita del mundialmente famoso explorador Dr. Livingstone y la conocida estrella de rock Freddy Mercury del grupo Queen. Nuestro hotel ofrece unas modernas instalaciones con un encantador aire suajili y una hospitalidad verdaderamente única. Nuestras habitaciones cuentan con un exclusivo y moderno mobiliario de primera calidad en un entorno que refleja la tradición de los refinados viajes de otras épocas. El bar situado en la planta ático cuenta con vistas panorámicas al puerto y el mar y le permite disfrutar de un cóctel al atardecer mientras contempla las embarcaciones navegar majestuosamente por las aguas del puerto. Nuestro personal está a su disposición en todo momento para ofrecerle un sofisticado servicio con un toque de la amable hospitalidad suajili. Nuestro hotel se enorgullece especialmente de prestar una gran atención al detalle.

Best Western Plus

Hotel Zanzibar

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Los puntos fuertes del hotel

  • Cafetería-restaurante
    Cafetería-restaurante
  • Aire acondicionado
    Aire acondicionado
  • Bar-salón
    Bar-salón
  • Recepción 24 horas 24
    Recepción 24 horas 24
  • Seguro
    Seguro
Ver más Ver menos

Opinión de nuestros clientes

en asociación con tripadvisor fr
Certificate of Excellence 2018
Basado en la opinión de 52 huéspedes
NOTA EMITIDA
Excelente
23
Muy bueno
18
Normal
5
Malo
2
Pésimo
4
CONSULTAR LA OPINIONES PARA
Con amigos Con amigos
5
De negocios De negocios
2
En familia En familia
7
En pareja En pareja
27
En solitario En solitario
8
NOTAS RESUMEN
Limpieza
Ubicación
Habitaciones
Servicio
Calidad del sueño
Relación calidad-precio

"Not Up to Best Western Standards!!"

2
04/09/2018

We had made 2 bookings at this hotel - a 4 night stay on arrival in Zanzibar and a 1 night stop over before leaving Zanzibar. The hotel is situated on a small dirt road behind the ferry crossing and harbor and although unsightly is safe at night. THE POSITIVES: Security at both gates entering the hotel grounds. The reception staff are very friendly and go out of their way to help whenever they can. The rooms are small and clean. Centrally located and with in walking distance to all tourist attractions. The room we stayed in for 4 days was awesome. Huge bathroom and well maintained. THE NEGATIVES: The room we stayed in for 1 night was in desperate need of maintenance - tiles missing in shower, electrical socket behind desk falling out of wall with exposed wires, toilet seat was not attached and moved every time you sat on it! Breakfast was not the best - not much choice, pastries and bread were not fresh and the menu promised is not what you get or they have run out. Wi-fi works now and then. TV reception (if you wish to watch) is appalling and not properly tuned in. Lack of a swimming pool - after strolling around Stone Town and going on one of the many excursions in the searing heat it would be awesome to be able to cool off with a swim.

Best Western Pl... Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar, responded to this review
Dear Debby Van Der Heever, Thank you for providing us with feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at +255772114400. Kind Regards, Edna

"Great place with room for improvement"

4
02/09/2018

Staff were very friendly. Thumbs up to Khelef. The rooms are very small, hardly any room to move around for 2 people. Breakfast selection was very poor. Half done potatoes. There should be a better selection of hot breakfast. The rooftop bar was good but it took 50 minutes on one occasion to wait for our food to be served. Overall good location, great staff but more room for improvement.

Best Western Pl... Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar, responded to this review
Dear FranBob2, Thank you for your feedback, and for choosing to stay with us. We have passed your compliments to Khelef and the rest of he staff. We are glad you enjoyed our location as well. We have also noted your recommendations and will make sure to implement them. We look forward to welcoming you back once again. Kind Regards, Edna

"Dont stay here"

1
13/08/2018

I dont understand any of the positive reviews. This hotel is super basic and not nice at all. There are better, nicer and even more affordable options like the Tembo Hotel. I cannot recommend anyone to stay here. This is more like a 1 or 2 star Hotel experience.

Best Western Pl... Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar, responded to this review
Dear Kukua, Thank you for taking time to post a review. We are sorry you feel that way about our hotel. Thank you once again. Kind Regards, Edna

"Mosquitos and Poor Management"

1
27/07/2018

Stayed for 2 nights. Starting with the good, the front desk staff were very friendly, and the rooms are clean. However, the breakfast was atrocious. One of the worst I had anywhere in Tanzania. Dried out fruit, stale bread and pastries, and a few menu items were missing entirely our whole stay. I also got absolutely eaten alive by mosquitoes in my room. At least two dozen bites all over. The first night, I thought I might have gotten them walking around in town, but the second night it happened again and we brought the concern to a manager. This is where the problems really started. The manager was dismissive and rude (also an hour late in the morning), and claimed all sorts of nonsense about how we should have requested a spray of our room, and how mosquitoes couldn't bite if you use sheets etc... It got so absurd and heated that at one point we just demanded our money back. He eventually agreed and said he would email Expedia to request the refund. He never did this, as he had promised and we had to do it ourselves. By the time we heard a response we had already left the hotel and he then went back on his promise and tried to refund only half our stay. We held firm and he eventually honored his agreement after several more emails. Bad breakfast, even mosquitoes might be forgiven. But dishonest, poor management can ruin a stay very quickly. Also the bathroom doors are fully transparent glass which is just odd and uncomfortable if you're sharing a room.

Best Western Pl... Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar, responded to this review
Dear Jonah, Greetings from Zanzibar, Thank you for your feedback and for having chosen to stay with us in the first place. We are glad you think highly of our staff and rooms. We would however like to take this time to apologize for any discomfort you might have experienced whilst staying with us. We are grateful that you brought this to our attention and we hope the same will never happen again. A refund was already executed to your travel agent via Expedia, and we hope that this will serve as a show of good will on our side. We hope to welcome you back anytime you are in Zanzibar, and promise a complimentary upgrade and VIP status. Kind Regards, Edna

"Lovely hotel in a great location."

5
25/07/2018

My husband and I just got back from a dream vacation to Tanzania. We stayed at this hotel for one night in Zanzibar. The hotel is just a few steps away from the harbor. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the bathroom likewise, and the service was excellent, particularly the duo who provide day trips to Prison Island. The trip was customized for what we preferred, and we enjoyed it thoroughly. I recommend this hotel.. a lot!

Best Western Pl... Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar, responded to this review
Dear Zeenat, Jambo! Thank you for staying with us and for posting such a wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your time both in the hotel and on the excursions. We hope to welcome you back anytime you are on the Island. Kind Regards, Edna

"Lovely clean modern rooms. Great location. Delight to stay in."

5
24/07/2018

Very enjoyable experience here. Clean modern rooms. No mosquitos or other creepy crawly. Breakfast was lovely. Location is superb! 2 minutes walk from the Ferry Terminal and 5 minutes walk from Forodhani Gardents/ Market and Darajani market. Staff were so friendly and helpful. There was one chap at reception who seemed to be in a bit of a mood at all times, but all the others were very nice.

Best Western Pl... Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar, responded to this review
Greetings from Zanzibar! Thank you for a most amazing review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and our staff. We hope to welcome you back with your friends and family next time you are on the Island. Kind Regards, Edna

"One night was enough"

3
23/06/2018

Things to like: 2 min walk to ferry Short walk to many other Stone Town Rooms clean Bed comfortable Bathroom enormous, especially compared with the room size Things I didn't love: Room pretty small No thought given to noise reduction - from streets and hall ways and construction next door (can hear absolutely everything - need earplugs) Food - often don't have things on the menu Service a bit average Reception could do with a makeover - it's a bit tacky - colour, stuff everywhere, crowded, lacking personality and welcoming feel Check in - too busy answering the phone to give appropriate attention No hot water in bathroom, despite leaving switch on Gardens need grass cutting Wouldn't stay again - too noisy and not great value for money

Best Western Pl... Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar, responded to this review
Jambo! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking time out of your busy schedule to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you visit us again in the future. We take all reviews seriously and have already had a small meeting with all staff concerned to remedy the suggestions that you made. Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Kind Regards, Edna

"good location"

3
19/06/2018

very comfortable beds and a great location .. the breakfast was lovely and staff are friendly ... rooms are a tad small but the balcony makes up for it .. great place to stay before you head out to the beach resorts ..

Best Western Pl... Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar, responded to this review
Dear Al-Karim, Greetings! Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking time t post a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to exceed your expectations. We really hope to welcome you back to our hotel together with your family and friends. Kind Regards, Edna

"Comfortable Stay"

4
29/05/2018

Clean, convenient, comfortable stay. The hotel and rooms are nice and clean. The included breakfast is good, along with the other meal options. The staff is helpful and friendly and I appreciate the added touch of being greeted by name. My only disappointment was the rooftop terrace/ bar was not completed although their website indicated it would be.

Best Western Pl... Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar, responded to this review
Dear Sakinah, Jambo! Thank you for staying with us and for taking your time to post a most wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon when the rooftop will be officially open to enjoy the most amazing sunset stone town has to offer. Kind Regards, Edna

"$310 charge for no reason"

3
06/04/2018

I recently visited this hotel on my vacation in stone town zanzibar for a vacation,they have good services and even met the owner of the hotel who was nice but when checking out after my 5 days stay I was charged $310 for no reason which the receptionist said was for tax and charges they couldn't account for,I had to reason but to pay,if the owner is reading this I would like to know why

Best Western Pl... Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar, responded to this review
Greetings from Zanzibar! Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for posting a review regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. At Best Western we strive every day to provide superior customer service. I am sorry we were not able to do that for you. We will use the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we provide a better experience in the future. Because we did not provide you with the service you deserve, I have authorized an immediate credit to your credit card account in the amount of $ 310 I hope you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with exceptional service. Sincerely, Edna Deya

"Very very convenient position "

4
21/03/2018

Booked this to stay for first 2 Nights in Stone Town and must say very impressive property. Literally less than 5mins walk from Ferry Terminal. So walking distance to all restaurants, town centre and beach as well. Happy with rooms as well, very clean. Staff very friendly. Only one restaurant on sight but very good menu. Drinks are good prices. Hopefully swimming pool will be ready by this year. So would love to go back.

Best Western Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar, responded to this review
Good Day, Thank you for your wonderful review and for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Zanzibar. We are glad that you enjoyed our services and facility, and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back soon.

"Close to Ferry, Airport & Stone Town Promenade "

4
11/03/2018

Great hotel, one street back from the ferry terminal, that leads to the Stone Town promenade. The Airport is only 15-30min drive away, depending on traffic, costing about USD10. Set behind a covered outdoor dining garden, it has nice rooms and a good breakfast is provided. The friendly staff can organize day trips. Two bits of current construction that would make things nicer once completed are the hotel's rooftop conversion into a bar, and the road works between Mercury's Bar and the hotel.

Best Western Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar, responded to this review
Dear Jason, Jambo! Thank you for your wonderful review and for staying with us. We are glad you enjoyed our location and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to enjoy the finished roof top bar in a months time. Kind Regards, Edna

"Pleasant Stay"

4
06/03/2018

I spent 4 nights in the hotel located quite close to the ferry jetty. Being a UNESCO world heritage building, the original look of the building had to be maintained while modernizing the facilities inside. The room I stayed in was quite small compared to all the other Best Western Hotels I have stayed in but nevertheless I had a very pleasant stay. The complimentary breakfast was on point. The only challenge I had was with the house keeping staff who couldn't communicate in English, even though English is the official language of Tanzania which was formerly part of the British Empire. Apparently Swahili is the national language of Tanzania and more emphasis is placed on it. The roof top bar was not functioning during my stay as it had recently been renovated, but the view from there was fantastic and I recommend viewing and snapping a picture of sunset and sunrise with the Ocean in the background from this vintage spot.

Best Western Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar, responded to this review
Jambo! Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us during your visit to our magical island. We are glad you enjoyed our facilities and meals. We hope you will honor us with your visit next time you are in the vicinity. We have also noted your comment on the language barrier and can assure you this is a continuous exercise that we undertake with all our employees. Kind Regards, Edna

"Great bed, clean room and good shower"

4
26/02/2018

The room was brilliant in this hotel, even if a little small. The bed was fantastically comfortable and had beautiful linens on it. The room was spotless and the bathroom was lovely, brilliant shower. It also has a great location, being right on the edge of stone town, very near the ferry terminal and a short walk from lots of good bars and restaurants.

Best Western Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar, responded to this review
Dear Abiround, Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to post such a wonderful review. We appreciate the vote of confidence and can assure you that we will strive to maintain the standards. We look forward to welcoming you and your family and friends back anytime you are in Zanzibar. Kind Regards, Edna

"Excellent"

5
04/01/2018

Party of six, we stayed 5th and 6th December 2017. Very good location, just few paces from Zanzibar-Daresalaam Ferry terminal. Very friendly and Professional staff. Rooms were very clean, and nice decor. Food was very good as well.

Best Western Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar, responded to this review
Dear Tim, Happy New Year from Zanzibar! Thank you for staying with us and for your reviewing our property. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you and your family and friends back soon. Kind Regards, Edna

"Good location, fresh room but some bad sides"

4
27/12/2017

Hotel is well placed and has very clean rooms. Problem is that as it is originally an old building, sound proofing is not the best and we could hear everything from the corridor and from the street. Please note that this hotel is non-smoking. Problem is that some of the clients don't respect that and try to smoke in their room. This will set off smoke alarms around the hotel. We for instance woke up to this alarm at 6h30 AM. I'd hope that hotel would inform its' customers about the non-smoking policy and charge fines on the caused smoke alarms.

Best Western Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar, responded to this review
Dear MakkiVakki, Greetings from Best Western Plus Zanzibar! Thank you for staying with us, and for taking your time to review our property. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again. We sincerely apologize for the smoke detector going off. We inform the guests of the non smoking policy, and even have the signs in the rooms. We shall be more vigilant with the policy. Happy New Year to you and your loved ones! Kind Regards, Edna

"A Splendid Stay"

5
04/12/2017

I and my partner stayed 6 nights at this hotel to explore stonetown and we enjoyed every single one of it. The hotel is located close to the Azam ferry (if you're traveling by ferry it's just across the road). It's centrally located! Just a few minutes walk to Shangani beach and the town, making it really easy to explore the town on foot. An airport pickup was pre-arranged for us for $15 (we made a return trip for the same price). Check-in was easy and we were greeted with fresh water melon juice and tons of smiles from the staff. Earlier during booking, I had requested for a room with a good view and I got it! (Rm 503/4th floor- perfect). The room's balcony had a view of the boats on the ocean and a neighbour hotel. Although the room was quite compact but clean, with modern decor and the bathroom is spacious (the bathroom had a wooden door, not glass). The room was air conditioned, and comfortable. The room did have wifi but it was quite unstable, the best connection is in the main entrance. Even though there were no mosquitoes in the room, a staff came most evenings to spray the room with insecticide. The breakfast was excellent and exceptional, just enough options to choose from. The quality of food provided was high and was made fresh to order (try the Zanzibar special). We enjoyed relaxing at the terrace lounge, having dinners while we watched the boats come and go and watched the sun set beautifully. The staff were always so nice and warm, The manager Edna, Tima, Sadiki and crew were always available to help. Once, I had sea urchins spines in my feet, they provided me with complimentary vinegar and candles. They also helped organise a dolphin tour at Kizimkazi for us (a bit pricey but okay). Enough said, I recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Stonetown! All in all, I would stay here again as it is a very good place to stay and it provided a lot of value for us.

Best Western Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar, responded to this review
Jambo and Greetings from Zanzibar! It was a pleasure hosting you and we are grateful that you chose to stay with us. We are also delighted by the wonderful review and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back and hope next time you will come with your friends and family too. Happy Holidays! Edna

"Mediocre"

2
16/11/2017

The hotel is mediocre. Their staff are friendly and try. Breakfast is supposed to be ready at 07h00 but was not. The rooms are clean but no hot water. Reception service was terrible on the day of check out. The receptionist was not well, did not smile and was not interested in serving professionally. Laundry service is available but you only get your clothes back the next day.

Best Western Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar, responded to this review
Dear Asad, Jambo! Thank you for you recent patronage and for your review of the property. We are glad the staff had a positive impact on you, and have passed on the praise to the whole team. Laundry is an outsourced service and guests are advised during check in that the delivery is the next day. Should you require same day service, it is also available upon request. Hot water is available in all rooms. All you need to do is turn the shower handle clockwise gently until you get your desired temperature. This is also covered in the welcome briefing done at the reception during check in. If the two were not made clear upon arrival, then we apologize sincerely and only regret that you did not bring it to our attention while in-house as we would have sorted both out instantly. We would also like to apologize for the service you received upon departure. We always strive to be helpful, friendly and professional at all times. We shall arrange a refresher training for all our staff with an emphasis on the above. We look forward to welcoming you and your colleagues back anytime you are in town to witness our improved service delivery. Kind Regards, Edna

"Amazing Location/Great Food/Friendly Staff"

5
07/11/2017

The Best Western Plus Zanzibar holds its name to high standards! Located near the Azam ferry, This Hotel is perfectly situated! Just walks away to the beach and town. When picking a hotel I make sure of a few things like cleanliness, location and most importantly SAFTY! This hotel has exceeded my expectations in all three. The rooms are clean and the washroom is large! Clean towels and beautiful smelling soap. The food is delicious, with spices and flavours to make your taste buds run wild! You MUST try the spicy Masala fries!! Staff was kind and helpful, always had a smile and greeted us every time we entered from a long hot afternoon of exploring. All and all I recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Zanzibar! Thanks for a rememberable stay Best Western plus.

Best Western Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar, responded to this review
Dear Rahim, Jambo! It was a pleasure meeting and hosting you recently. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay and are hoping to welcome you back as promised. I have passed on your sentiments regarding restaurant and rooms to the respective staff. We all look ofrward to welcoming you back together with your family and friends. Kind Regards, Edna

"Worst location in stone town !!!"

1
05/11/2017

has the worst location in town, given the name and brand it represents should update the photos near the location, the staff is ok, the breakfast ok, the location is disaster !!!!! If YOU want to come here think again

Best Western Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar, responded to this review
Greetings from Zanzibar, Thank you for having stayed with us recently, and for taking time to write a review on our hotel. We are glad that everything was ok and will strive hard to make things better as is our motto. We have noted your concern on the location which unfortunately is not something we can change. We however hope that the location was convenient for you to get around town as we are conveniently placed in the middle of the renown historical world heritage site of stone town and within walking distance of all the major museums and sites. Kind Regards, Edna

"Comfortable and conveniently located "

5
03/11/2017

We stayed here for 4 nights to explore Stonetown after ending our wildlife safari journey. The hotel's location is perfect as a base to explore what is in and around Stonetown. We came with our car rental and parking is available at the premise. The rooms are small but has everything for a comfortable stay. There was even a fridge in the room and a kettle. The breakfast was excellent. We thought the choices were plenty and the quality of food provided was high. The staff at the restaurant were always happy to see us and were very attentive. We had a lot of passing by interactions with Tima and she is really wonderful and engaging. We did not give the tours a try since we self drive and, therefore, self explore but there was always a nice gentleman available and ready to arrange something for you. All in all, a very good place to stay and it provided a lot of value for us!

Best Western Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar, responded to this review
Greetings from Best Western, Zanzibar! Thank you for having chosen to stay with us recently, and for taking time out of your busy schedule to post a review on our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and Zanzibar in general. We have passed on your appreciation to all the staff mentioned, and we all look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel anytime you are in the vicinity together with your family and friends. Kind Regards, Edna

"Simply amazing!"

5
25/10/2017

We chose the Best Western Plus Zanzibar because it had one of the best rates of hotels near the Azam Ferry. We will never stay anywhere in Zanzibar other than the BWP from now on. The rooms are compact but clean and comfortable. The beds and bedding were heavenly. And the staff was second to none. My son thought there was a problem with the air conditioning in his room so Tima (working the front desk) arranged for him to change rooms. Our 17 year old wanted to stay in his current room so Tima came to the room and determined that the air conditioning wasn't working because my son was not operating it properly. She spent a few minutes showing him how to adjust the temperature in his room. We were all very happy with her service and from that point on his room was cool and comfortable. Mr. Salam Abdallah, the front desk manager, arranged two excursions for us. One was to a Spice farm and the other was to Prison Island. The tours were good and very affordable. The front desk check in was fast and easy (even with two rooms) and they even printed our boarding passes for us when we checked out. The location is excellent and is a very short walk to all of the sights in Stone Town. Everything about the hotel, from the super cool and comfortable rooms to the hot tasty breakfasts, exceeded our expectations.

Best Western Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar, responded to this review
Dear Afton Amy, Jambo! Thank you so much for having stayed with us during your last vacation. We are trully humbled also by your wonderful review of the property, and the praise heaped on the staff. On behalf of all the staff i say thank you. We look forward to welcoming you and your family and friends back to our hotel should you ever be in Zanzibar again. Kind Regards, Edna

"Best western hotel zanzibar"

5
16/10/2017

Nice hotel very confortable not very big rooms but enough for 2 especially the bed is amazing, price is fair enough hotel is located near all tourism places hotel staff very friendly especially the manager in total i strongly recomend this hotel is good.

Best Western Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar, responded to this review
Dear Muhsin, Greetings from Zanzibar. Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your last visit to Zanzibar. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we truly appreciate your wonderful review on trip advisor. It is always our aim to exceed our guests expectations and to help create wonderful memories. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you, your family and friends back to our resort. Kind Regards, Edna

"Amazing hotel"

5
16/10/2017

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and there are no words to describe the service that we got in this hotel. From welcome to see off. We had the best time and the staff members are superb offering good services. To my surprise i was upgraded to a deluxe room and they were neat and clean. I will definitely stay at best western if i got a chance to visit znz. Keep up the good work BEST WESTERN

Best Western Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar, responded to this review
Dear Pawan, Greetings from Zanzibar! Thank you for your visit to our hotel in the recent past. We are delighted that you chose to stay with us and that we exceeded your expectations. Thank you also for the very kind comments and review. We believe there is always room for improvement and will keep working towards being the best that we can possibly be. We look forward to welcoming you, your family and friends back to our hotel anytime you are in the vicinity. Kind Regards, Edna

"Mr"

4
25/09/2017

Really enjoyed stay at the hotel , very good location in stonetown. Right next to azam ferry and mercury hotel. Breakfast was made fresh to order. Hotel staff very helpful and they even helped to arrange dolphin experience,spice garden , prison island with sandbanks at very reasonable prices.

Best Western Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar, responded to this review
Dear Abeezar, Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and look forward to welcoming you back whenever you are in Zanzibar. Kind Regards, Edna

"Good hotel "

4
16/09/2017

I came to this hotel with my brother for vacation to discover Zanzibar island , the check-in was fast and the Receptionniste welcome us with a big smile he's really helpful , I want to mention that food provided on the breakfast was tasty more over special thanks to the two waters which gave us a very quick and efficient service , the rooms are clean and the hotel is well located because we were enjoying going to the beach which is close . I also want to thanks the guide mohamed who really take care of us during our stay .

Best Western Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar, responded to this review
Dear Oulamine, Greetings from Zanzibar. Thank you so much for your much appreciated review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will definitely pass your appreciation to the staff that you have mentioned who made your stay worthwhile. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you together with your family and friends back one day. Kind Regards, Edna

"Great little oasis in the heart of stonetown"

5
07/09/2017

We had a wonderful stay at the Best Western Plus! It's a great little western oasis after a long month of exploring Africa, we highly recommend it! Within 5 minutes to all the main attractions and restaurants and it had the best bed we have slept in our whole month traveling Africa. Everything about this hotel was much better than the $400 a night Zanzibar resort we stayed at before heading to stone town. Staff were fantastic, as was the food. Highly recommend booking the 3hr walking tour of stone town, through reception, it was very interesting and the guide was fantastic!

Best Western Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar, responded to this review
Good Day to you. Greetings from Zanzibar. Thank you so much for your review, and for visiting us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and that we managed to exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you, your family and friends back anytime you are in Zanzibar. Kind Regards, Edna

"excellent"

5
25/08/2017

beautiful property, clean and staff were very friendly location is next to the beach, and one of the beach beach location in zanzibar, i like almost everything here, many trees and greenery in the hotel and completely comfortable

Best Western Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar, responded to this review
Dear Muhhamad, Greetings from Zanzibar. Thank you for visiting us and for taking your time to post a review on our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you, your family and friends back anytime you are in Zanzibar. Kind Regards, Edna

"Nice stay and very good breakfast"

5
25/08/2017

The hotel is nice and rooms are very comfortable. We stayed for one night and had a corner room which had a nice balcony. Location is great, very close to the famous Forodhani Gardens and 5-7 minute walk away from the downtown Stone Town. The best of all was the breakfast. It was a la carte and included: cereals or porridge, fruits, eggs or omelette, toasts and coffee or tea. We found it really varied for being included in the price! Our server was over the top and veeery nice, cant remember her name though! The only thing that surprised us was that, once we couldn't find our key ( a typical plastic card) and asked for a replacement at reception, the receptionist told us that if we didn't find it there was a charge of 5$ for the key! Thankfully we found the key card... but I just thought it was abusive to charge that amount for a key.

Best Western Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar, responded to this review
Dear Sara, Greetings from Zanzibar. Thank you for your response, and for visiting our hotel. We are also grateful for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the service and facilities. We will use your response to further better our hotel for a memorable experience for our guests and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Edna

"Excellent Staff and Comfortable Stay "

5
20/08/2017

What an excellent stay! I spent three nights at this lovely hotel and was greeted and welcomed by friendly and warm staff, from the front desk to the restaurant. Tima, one of the front desk staff members, made sure my stay was comfortable, arranged my tours, transportation, and even arranged to have my breakfast delivered to my room prior to my early morning flight. The breakfast buffet and dinners are great--much to choose from. My favorite dinner choices were the red snapper, king fish, and Greek salad. The rooms are air conditioned, clean, and comfortable. I would definitely stay here again. The staff are wonderful and the attention to detail is excellent!

Best Western Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar, responded to this review
Jambo, Greetings from Zanzibar. Thank you for visiting us, and for posting a review on our hotel. We are glad we managed to exceed your expectations as is our aim always. On behalf of the entire team we would like to say thank you once again and to welcome you back to our hotel anytime you are in Tanzania. Kind Regards, Edna Deya

"Great hotel in perfect location!"

5
16/08/2017

I usually do the selecting of the hotel and my husband chose this option. They arranged before we arrived for a driver to pick us up at the airport. He had our name on a board and was waiting for us. The manager called the driver on our way to the hotel and he welcomed us to Zanzibar. The check in was flawless and we were taken to our room with our luggage. The location is perfect if you are interested in walking to the night market- which I highly recommend doing. In the morning we went to breakfast and had a delicious African meal. It ended up being one of our favorite meals in Tanzania. If you are traveling to the ferry it is literally across the street so you have an easy walk. The room did have wifi but it was very limited, the best connection is in the main entrance.

Best Western Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar, responded to this review
Dear Laurlue3, Greetings from Zanzibar. Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent stay in Zanzibar. We are also grateful for your kind review on our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed our facilities and hope to welcome you back anytime you are in Tanzania. Kind Regards, Edna

"Centrally places "

4
06/08/2017

A city hotel right in the heart of Stone a Town, I spent a night only and had a very nice stay, the rooms are nice and clean, you get all the amenities you need when on holiday. It's just minutes walk to the famous forodhani park and the the seaport. The price is right and it's value for money.

Best Western Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar, responded to this review
Dear Jabs, Greetings from Zanzibar. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you, your family and friends back to our hotel. Kind Regards, Edna

"Glad we went with a name."

5
31/07/2017

We chose this hotel after a disappointing experience in a different one an hour away. At this point in our travels, we needed the basics and we didn't want to leave it to chance. We figured going with a brand would guarantee this, and it did. Internet fine. Easy, fast check in/out. Rooms are new and clean. No stains on pillows. No dark colored mattresses (seem to be the norm there!), white and clean. Quality bedding. Comfortable bed. Good hot shower with good pressure. Modern decor. Breakfast was really good compared to our other hotel experiences in Africa. Delicious cinnamon rolls, freshly brewed coffee. Really enjoyed the breakfast. Service in all departments was always efficient and with a smile. The welcome man on the gate was a nice touch! Overall, we felt comfortable and welcome at this hotel. The location is great. Few minutes to everything. We never once felt unsafe at night. Make sure to eat at The Mercury restaurant. The food was awesome and at night there's a great atmosphere. There isn't a pool but after staying in a hotel previously with a pool we were glad. The hotels there all seem to be built around the pool and that makes for a noisy time. There's so much to see in Stone Town that we didn't miss a pool. Thanks for making our last days in Stone Town great!!! We loved the people of Zanzibar!

Best Western Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar, responded to this review
Greetings from Zanzibar, Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us, and for taking your time to post a most wonderful review of our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed our services, and that we managed to meet and exceed your expectations which is always our aim. We hope to welcome you back anytime you are in Zanzibar, and hope to welcome your friends and family too. Kind Regards, Edna Deya

"Great hotel at great location"

5
21/07/2017

Great hospitality, great staff (both at the reception and the restaurant). Nice and clean rooms, comfortable beds and good breakfast. The hotel is near everything and easy to find! We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel!

Best Western Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar, responded to this review
Dear Yusuf, Greetings from Zanzibar. Thank you for visiting us, and taking time to review our hotel. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed your gratitude to the staff who have appreciated your accolades. We look forward to welcoming you back anytime you are in Tanzania. Kind Regards, Edna Deya

"Good Service"

5
16/07/2017

I visited the hotel in June 2017. Service was excellent. I liked the room set up. “The location was very good and easy to get around stone town! Winni on reception was amazing and really helped arrange trips, taxis etc and explained how to get to all of the famous landmarks.”

Best Western Z, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar, responded to this review
Greetings from Zanzibar, Thank you so much for visiting us, and for taking your time to write such a wonderful review of our property. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back. With Kind Regards, Edna

"Holiday"

5
23/06/2017

Made Zanzibar my home. I made an online booking not sure of the place I was visiting. When I checked inn I was please with the ambience, the FO team and a lady (Ms Deya ) I met as a marketing manager who made a promise to ensure I'll have a safe stay. I liked the rooms and especially the cleanliness. The variety of food was awesome. Trully Ms Deya and the rest of the staff kept their promise of best service delivery. Next time I'll be visiting Zanzibar, I'll be your guest. Kuddos.

Best Western P, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Zanzibar, responded to this review
Dear Oswald, Greetings from Zanzibar. Thank you for your kind review. We endeavor to always exceed our guest expectations and are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home. With Kind Regards, Ms Edna Deya

"3 nights in Stonetown "

4
26/04/2017

It's a very new hotel, the rooms and bathroom are great. The air conditioning was fine as well, no mosquitos in the room. The rooms were smaller than expected but sufficient for a short stay as one does not stay in Stonetown for more than 3 days. Also the view isn't really there or perhaps it's because of all the construction going on. The rooftop is cosy and gives a nice view of the hustle and bustle of the town. Staff was very helpful and provided us with whatever we needed. The breakfast service was slow but that's the case everywhere in zanzibar - they take their time when it comes to food service. Breakfast was delicious, I was especially happy about the local breakfast specials being offered too. The cute courtyard was perfect for having our morning breakfast. We did not really use the ferry, but it's right behind the hotel. Location wise, it's a five minute walk to fodhrani market and old fort. From there the winding streets of Stonetown begin. So we were satisfied with the location as we could easily explore the town on foot. Alternatively if you are only in town for a day perhaps staying right on top of the winding streets might be a better idea. We enjoyed this location, the walk along the sea to Fodhrani market and found ample food in the vicinity.

"Great accommodations near the water"

5
21/03/2017

I enjoyed my stay here. I picked this place on purpose because it offered a free breakfast plus free wifi. The complimentary breakfast was good, we had a choice between American Breakfast, Indian Breakfast, Zanzibar Special, and a few other items. The wifi good is pretty good and the signal was strong no matter where I went in the hotel. The rooms are rather small but I found it to be do-able. The bathroom were all glass so you can see your traveling companion shower. The one drawback I found was that the doors to the balcony had a huge gap at the bottom so that means mosquitoes could come in at night (staff did come in the early evenings to spray though). Also, the gap in the doors meant there was a massive loss of AC (not a problem for us but for the hotel). I found the staff to be friendly also, we didn't know how to get to the Forodhani Gardens, and the staff asked one of the security to walk us there at night. Overall, I enjoyed the stay and will come back here again.

"Good hotel close to ferry dock with exceptional staff"

4
05/03/2017

If you arrive by ferry and want to drop your bags before exploring Stone Town on foot, the location of this hotel is hard to beat. However, the downside of its proximity to the port is the noise generated by traffic around 6:00 in the morning. This could very well be a common problem for most hotels in town. The choices for the complimentary breakfast were adequate. What really stood out was the excellent service provided by hotel staff (Sadiki and Tima at front desk, and a female attendant in breakfast room).

"Standard Hotel Room"

4
26/02/2017

The hotel offers small but clean and modern standard rooms with a small balcony. I stayed on 5th floor and had a separate bathroom (not just glass wall). Air-condition works well and quietly so I got night rest during. Bed is comfortable. Big roof top terrace on 5th floor but no bar service. Hotel was recently opened and a few things seem to be still in the process of completion. High quality building material was used in the bathroom but not so skilled workers completed the job. So things are not perfect e. g. shower door does not close, drain is leaking, window does not close proper. Breakfast is served from a la cart menu but service is very slow (takes between 1 - 1.5 hrs for full breakfast). Hotel is convenient, staff friendly but impersonal.

"Great hotel - shame about the breakfast"

4
24/02/2017

We chose this hotel for its proximity to the port, since we took the ferry for a day trip to Dar, but this was still only about a 10-minute walk to the centre of Stone Town. The staff and facilities were excellent, but the breakfast was not good - the service was slow and the food unpalatable. Also, the door to the en-suite is glass, which gives no privacy.

"Best Western Stone Town"

3
20/02/2017

Handy hotel for the port. Rooms are small with glass door to the bathroom and toilet so be on good terms with your partner or travel companion! Staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is slow and really poor for the standard of this hotel.

"Royal"

5
03/11/2016

We had one night in Stone Town . I've been Zanzibar a couple of times so We decided to stay at BEST WESTERN PLUS we got the best view room and balcony with better price . we were greeted with fresh juice and tons of smiles from the staff. getting to the hotel is very easy than other hotels in stone town. My room had a giant covered balcony with a view of the boats on the ocean. We preferred the terrace lounge for relaxing as we watched the boats come and go and beautiful sunset We ordered fish and passion fruit juice were good. Seriously, a wonderful place! Wish we could have stayed more than one night! Housekeeper Susan is great

"Great hotel, good location"

4
24/10/2016

It is a very good hotel. Perfect if you don't want to be surprised and are looking for well known standard. I prefer non-chain hotels with local taste but I have to say it was nice to have a night on a good mattress :) The location is great (it may look on the map that it is a bit far from the center, but it is actually a 5 min walk) It's just in front of the ferry terminal. Staff is super nice, rooms are great, breakfast is delicious. Just be aware of the see through glass doors in the bathroom. It's a trend in some places, which I am not a big fan of.