habitación 1
habitación 2
habitación 3
Código ventaja

SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Blue Springs, Blue Springs

701 NW South Outer Road, 64015-3063, Blue Springs, United States - Ver en un mapa
SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Blue Springs - Vista exterior El SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Blue Springs se encuentra en el centro de Blue Springs. Venga y disfrute de las mejores atracciónes turísticas cerca de nuestro hotel. Precios bajos garantizados y ofertas exclusivas.

Con una excelente ubicación junto a las principales empresas y atracciones de Kansas City, el SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Blue Springs es un revolucionario establecimiento orientado a las familias y los huéspedes en viaje de placer o de negocios. Situado a menos de 1,5 kilómetros de restaurantes y tiendas, nuestro hotel ofrece instalaciones de última generación, el servicio de un personal de primera clase y un fantástico acceso al conocido como "corazón de Estados Unidos" Nuestro hotel le proporciona el enclave idóneo para disfrutar de la mayor comodidad durante su estancia en Kansas City.

SureStay Plus

Hotel by Best Western Blue Springs

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Los puntos fuertes del hotel

  • Desayuno americano completo
    Desayuno americano completo
  • Piscina cubierta
    Piscina cubierta
  • Aire acondicionado
    Aire acondicionado
  • Aparcamiento gratuito
    Aparcamiento gratuito
  • Estacionamiento al aire libre
    Estacionamiento al aire libre
  • Recepción 24 horas 24
    Recepción 24 horas 24
  • Personal multilingüe
    Personal multilingüe
  • Servicio de lavandería en el hotel
    Servicio de lavandería en el hotel
Ver más Ver menos

Opinión de nuestros clientes

en asociación con tripadvisor fr
Basado en la opinión de 15 huéspedes
NOTA EMITIDA
Excelente
3
Muy bueno
5
Normal
3
Malo
0
Pésimo
4
CONSULTAR LA OPINIONES PARA
Con amigos Con amigos
0
De negocios De negocios
4
En familia En familia
6
En pareja En pareja
2
En solitario En solitario
2
NOTAS RESUMEN
Limpieza
Ubicación
Habitaciones
Servicio
Calidad del sueño
Relación calidad-precio

"Too many problems"

1
Debra P, Marshall, United States 16/11/2019

Manager asked, you alone & expecting guests, he was obsessed w/watching cameras, he saw me at the desk, took 10 min to come check me out early, then charged 1 day early check out fee. Was uncomfortable

SophiaGSM, Guest Relations Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Blue Springs, responded to this review
Hello, We are sad to see this rating. We apologize for your experience. Kindly let me know about your disappointments in more detail to we serve you better for the rest of your stay and in the future.

"Business trip"

4
wcarroll48, Rolla, Missouri 13/11/2019

Late night stay. Was traveling, needed a place to stay for a few hours before driving back to Rolla. Rates were great. Ground floor, parking was awesome. Aaron did a great job getting me a room. Thanks!

SophiaGSM, Guest Relations Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Blue Springs, responded to this review
Hello, I appreciate your positive feedback about our hotel. We do take pride in catering to our guests' needs the best way we can. If you're travelling to our area again, keep staying with us!

"Terrible"

1
Ratdog1957, Glen Carbon, Illinois 04/11/2019

1st was not aware of pet fee until we had arrived. Room was dirty, curtain had a large burn in it. Lamp in desk did not work. Lamp shade on night stand broke. Bathroom door looked liked it had been kicked in.

SophiaGSM, Guest Relations Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Blue Springs, responded to this review
Hello, Thank you for posting your feedback and for letting us know about your encounters. Your feedback is very significant as it helps us identify the area we can improve the guest experience. We apologize for your experience, and we are confident that you will see the change on your next visit.

"Game day weekend"

4
Corey G, Canton 02/11/2019

Staff was great, breakfast was hot and fresh, and our rooms were all clean. Located close to the stadiums and lots of restaurants nearby. Vending options limited, otherwise it's a great place and good value.

SophiaGSM, Guest Relations Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Blue Springs, responded to this review
Hello, We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

"should of looked else where"

1
Jared H, North Platte, Nebraska 18/10/2019

Ready to stop for night and went here pretty much a bad idea. stayed in hotels 20 plus nights the last year. weird smell in hotel room towel holder in bathroom was about to fall off the wall floor was pieced together looked like crap hair dryer was yuk dirty. got in bed had to kill a spider that ran out from under my pillow. looked along the wall behind the head board that was a bad idea. in my opinion this property is worth about $79 a night maybe.

SophiaGSM, Guest Relations Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Blue Springs, responded to this review
Hello, We are distressed to see you unhappy. We never want our guests to go back with an unpleasant experience. Our main goal is to make our guests smile and happy, and for this, we strive each day. We regret we failed this time in your case. Thank you for your elaborate comments on your stay, and this is certainly helpful as we wish to improve the areas you found unsatisfactory. Your thorough comments will help us improve our services as we genuinely value our guest's review.

"Quiet stay at SureStay . . ."

4
Conditioned-Traveler, Murfreesboro, Tennessee 31/08/2019

Reasonably priced rooms in clean, well-maintained hotel. Breakfast items are adequate and tasty. WiFi is a bit slow at times but is adequate for most work required on the computer. Front desk was helpful in answering questions and in providing a quiet room.

SophiaGSM, Guest Relations Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Blue Springs, responded to this review
Hello, Glad to see your review. We every day strive to maintain our hotel clean and pleasant more than what our guests come to expect from us. We will surely forward you valuable feedback to our team for improvements. We hope to serve you better next time.

"Great stay"

5
User 26/08/2019

The night manager was awesome. Gave us a room on the first floor and was friendly. Breakfast host was great. She kept the food coming out fresh and was constantly cleaning the counters and tables off...very friendly

SophiaGSM, Guest Relations Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Blue Springs, responded to this review
Hello, Thank you for your awesome review! Reviews like yours are what keep us going the extra mile to deliver our best. We are happy that you are enjoying our services. We will always ensure that we keep delighting you with our facilities and services. Keep exploring, Happy staying!!

"Great place to stay for a weary traveler"

5
WNC2500, Asheville, North Carolina 14/08/2019

My wife and I checked in around 830 pm. Great value for the money. Property is well lit. Continental breakfast was great. Check in and check out was fine. Totally worth the price!! i would recommend this for anyone passing through.

Tina M, Guest Relations Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Blue Springs, responded to this review
WNC2500, It's good to hear from you and we greatly appreciate that you've taken the time to share your five star experience at our hotel! We only wish to give nothing but the best service to our guests, and to know that we have accomplished such goal gives us great joy. Thank you for your recommendation, and we certainly hope that we can be of service to you and your family again on your next trip. Kind regards, From the general manager of SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Blue Springs

"Good place but outdated"

4
User 13/08/2019

Check in was great, very accommodating however whoever was above us decided to stay up walking around to 4am. The shower was coming out of the wall and sink in bed area could use some TLC. Water pressure was horrible and air conditioning took awhile to get room cool. Overall good stay though.

SophiaGSM, Guest Relations Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Blue Springs, responded to this review
Hello, Thank you for your stay. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the check-in and accommodations. However, we do apologize for the issues regarding noise coming from above your floor. Further, the shower was coming out of the wall and sink in the bed area could use some TLC. Moreover, you encountered water pressure issues, and ac took time to cool your room. Thank you for highlighting all the maintenance issues, and we will certainly take appropriate measures.

"Very poor condition and cleanliness"

1
Jason A, Salt Lake City, Utah 12/08/2019

The room was relatively middle of the line in price as far as rooms go for this area. However, the room had a strong perfumed moldy smell from obvious attempts to cover up the humidity problems in the building. The bedding was damp and gross. The sprinkler above one of the beds was actually duct taped together. The shower safety rod was falling off the wall in the bathroom. The towel rack was rusted and would collapse if you touched it. The faucet in the tub was falling off the wall and will soon go shooting across the tub. The elevator floor squished when you stepped on it and there were numerous air fresheners tossed above the light covers to help with the smell. All in all this hotel was in very poor condition

SophiaGSM, Guest Relations Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Blue Springs, responded to this review
Mr.Jason, Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor survey. I would like to personally apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us. We continually try to do our very best for all of our guests, but unfortunately, sometimes we do fail. I will look into each issue that you have noted, in an attempt to correct and improve these concerns.

"One night only"

3
User 12/08/2019

I was in town for the Chiefs game.It was a great location, right off the highway.The bathroom could have been cleaner. The floor was uneven causing me to lose my balance and fall into the wall. Room was too dark for my liking.

SophiaGSM, Guest Relations Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Blue Springs, responded to this review
Hello, Thank you for completing the Trip Advisor survey. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the game at our location. However, apologize for the uneven floor which caused to lose your balance, and you fall into the wall. We also apologize that the cleanliness of the bathroom was not at par. Moreover, the room was dark, and it was not to your liking. We will take appropriate steps for all these issues you have mentioned above. We would love to serve you again soon!

"Good sleep. Truck stolen."

3
djames934335, Wichita, Kansas 02/08/2019

Solid room. Clean, good a/c, comfortable bed/sheets. Work truck was stolen very early in the morning. Morning desk clerk seemed like they did not want to be cooperative when asked about security footage.

SophiaGSM, Guest Relations Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Blue Springs, responded to this review
Hello, We are glad to know that you had a nice stay with us. We apologize for the inconvenience you faced.Your feedback is taken very seriously and has been forwarded to management so that appropriate steps may be taken. Thank you again for your feedback.You can contact on this no- (816) 220-7400.

"Stay at Surestay"

5
Robert P, Campbellsburg, United States 13/07/2019

We had to move quickly--this was to help take care of a family matter; we didn't have a reservation. But the staff treated us kindly, as if they had seen us day-in and day-out. Room was clean; had all we need.

Tina M, Guest Relations Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Blue Springs, responded to this review
Hello Robert P, Good day ! Thank you for taking the time to share this five star experience with our management, staff, and future guests. I'm glad that our services, hospitality, and accommodations exceeded your expectations and hope that you experience the same comfortable stay during your next visit! We're glad you had a great time with us and we look forward to serving you again. Kind regards, From the general manager of SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Blue Springs

"Good hotel for budget"

3
Nathan B, Scottsville, Kentucky 14/06/2019

The room was nice, right off the interstate, has a TV, microwave, coffeemaker ironing board, large bathroom, minor issues baseboards, clean bed (we turned it back in pics, it was made) would stay here again.

Tina M, Guest Relations Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Blue Springs, responded to this review
Nathan B, Thank you very much for the compliments you give to our hotel! We value our customer's experience that is why we always make sure that our facilities are in good shape to provide our customers the best we can offer in a reasonable price. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

"Decent 1 night"

4
seniortvlr, colorado 08/06/2019

The checkin person was great. Room was quiet, smoke free with extra easy chair micro and refrig . I was able to use cpap medical machine without extra cords. There were a few chips in tub... but no big deal. Breakfast was above avg for 2 star with egg and sausage patties and biscuits and gravy. 3 cereals 3 juices bananas and apples and more Only downer was coffee its instant and machine was on fritz so some cups were strong and some watery It happened as I was getting my last cup no one at desk so I didn't report

Tina M, Guest Relations Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Blue Springs, responded to this review
seniortvlr, Thank you for your high rating of our SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Blue Springs hotel and for taking the time to share your experience! It is heartwarming to hear of how our efforts to give you a great experience, filled with hospitality, comfort and convenience have been successful. Your comments regarding the ways we can still improve are just as important, and we can't wait to show you how we have taken them to heart.

"Sure stay blue springs"

5
Travel22570954237, Blue Springs, Missouri 31/05/2019

Awesome service and clean rooms! Def where I book everytime. Breakfast is always ready early and the pool and hot tub are a huge bonus! Spacious rooms and beautiful windows!!!! Lots of local places to check out as well!

Tina M, Guest Relations Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Blue Springs, responded to this review
Hi Travel22570954237, A big THANK YOU for leaving your five star rating of our hotel. It means a lot to us that you've taken the time to share the many positive features of your most recent stay with us. Hope you were able to explore the area! We value our customers well and we are happy that you stayed with us! Thank you very much.

"Dirty Budget Hotel"

2
User 27/05/2019

The hotel was generally unclean. Our first room reeked of cigarettes and smoke even though the hotel is supposed to be smoke-free. The front desk lady graciously put us in a new, clean room even though the hotel was nearly booked. The general cleanliness of the hotel was also poor. There was drywall dust ground into the carpets, and the stairwells smelled like dogs. The third floor was dimly lit and smelled very strongly of cigarettes. The pool area was grimy, and there were used bandaids and clumps of hair scattered about. The pool was ice cold instead of being "heated" as it should have been. The hot tub felt like it had far too much chlorine. Breakfast was average. The selection of food was decent, but the food tasted okay. For what we paid to stay at this hotel, we expected more quality. The bed was clean and comfortable. There were not many complaints with the second room aside from food wrappers behind the bed and terrible water pressure in the bathroom faucet. In general, this hotel is not worth the money. The staff was very helpful and friendly, and they worked well to enrich our experience. However, their service is wasted on a filthy building. A budget motel would likely be a better use of your money.

BestWesternHotels, Corporate at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Blue Springs, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your recent stay, and we are sorry to hear that it did not exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we hope you will give us another chance and stay with us again. -Best Western Hotels & Resorts

"Served the purpose"

3
User 16/04/2019

Our group was looking for a place to sleep at the end of a long day of driving. Basically needing a bed and a bite to eat before leaving the next morning. I slept well and the room was comfortable. The hot breakfast items were lukewarm. The halls were poorly vacuumed, which was a turnoff. For a first visit to a SureStay, I was unimpressed.

Nerissa M, Guest Relations Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Blue Springs, responded to this review
Stay79691, Thank you so much for staying with us Stay79691! I am glad that you slept well, though I want to apologize for the housekeeping issue that you experienced in the hallways so that they can be quickly addressed. We are also forever working to improve upon the guest experience and I hope you will remember our attributes and return to see how we have improved to impress you even more.

"Ok for the money"

3
jmorga3, Omaha 08/04/2019

Ok hotel for the price. Beds were comfy, staff was nice. Only complaint is that the pool closes at 9pm. Couldn't even enjoy it after returning from dinner. Family was disappointed! We NEVER stay at a hotel unless there us a pool and hot tub.

Nerissa M, Guest Relations Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Blue Springs, responded to this review
jmorga3, Your review and rating of our hotel mean a lot to us, and we thank you for taking the time to share this experience. We are sorry to hear about your concerns. It has been our policy ever since to end our breakfast meal at 9 pm, but for the good of our customers, we will be checking on possibilities in extending it longer than what we used to. We thank you for staying with us!

"Everything for a good value"

4
Travel01273154955, Los Angeles, California 07/04/2019

The king suite was very nice spacious. It was upgraded and the bed was very comfortable. The room was on the bottom floor and close to all the amenities. The pool and hot tub were a plus and the lobby was beautiful decorated. The water pressure was just low with the faucet and shower.

Nerissa M, Guest Relations Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Blue Springs, responded to this review
Travel01273154955, Thank you for your high rating of our hotel and for taking the time to share your experience! I am glad that you enjoyed the value and we were able to provide a comfortable and convenient experience. Meanwhile, we will notify maintenance about the water pressure. We look forward to serving you again!

"Horrible Front Desk Staff"

1
User 31/03/2019

Blood on our hotel wall. Told front staff she told me to clean it. Refused to move our room. We had a one year old running around and did not want him touching the blood on the wall. I was fine staying in the room or even moving to a different room but she told me no and said I have to clean it its my room for the night. the pool was ICE cold. The breakfast was ICE cold. DO NOT STAY HERE IF YOU HAVE KIDS

Nerissa M, Guest Relations Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Blue Springs, responded to this review
Culture23567866142, Thank you for sharing your experience, and I am very sorry for the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay. It is distressing to hear that you encountered a number of issues with our housekeeping and guest services and I want you to know that we take your comments very seriously and are working hard and fast to address these problems in hopes of improving upon the guest experience. Please keep us in mind for your next stay in the area.

"This is a wonderful hotel!"

5
User 15/03/2019

The beds were so comfortable, and everyone was so nice! The pool was warm, and the location is great. It's right by Denny's, McDonald's, and down the street from jack in the box! They were so nice and professional. We had left a phone in the pool room and a janitor turned it in to the front desk. We left a jacket in the hotel room after we checked out and they kindly let us go back up and get it! We would definitely stay here again!

Nerissa M, Guest Relations Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Blue Springs, responded to this review
Madison D, Thank you for taking the time to share this five star experience with our management, staff, and future guests of SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Blue Springs. I'm glad that our services, hospitality, and accommodations exceeded your expectations and hope that you experience the same comfortable stay during your next visit! We are all looking forward to your next visit and hope it will be just as enjoyable.

"Customer Service Fail"

1
User 12/02/2019

Arrived at Sure Stay with two of my friends and wanted to rent two rooms for two nights. I specifically said two rooms for two nights and had to repeat myself several times for the gentleman working did not speak nor understood English very well. Finally, was able to get the gentleman to understand what I wanted and agreed on a price for everything. I paid for my rooms signed the papers and was given only a key for one room. I asked him where is the key for the other room? The look on his face I could tell that he just realized he had made a mistake. Knowing this was going to take a while I told my friends to go on up to the room and get some sleep since it was late. Turning back to the gentleman he then started telling me I had to pay double for another room. I told him that we had already agreed on a price I paid for it and signed already all I need is a key for the second room that I have already paid for. He insisted that I pay double, seeing that I wasn't getting anywhere I asked for him to call his manager, at first, he did not want to call his manager then finally he did, and I asked him to please put the call on speaker. He calls his manager but instead of putting his phone on speaker, so I can hear he left it so only he could hear and also talked in a different language, so I would not know the content of the conversation he was having with his manager. Finally after he finished talking he put the phone on speaker and the manager told me I had to pay double, I explained what happened again and he said yes his employee had made a mistake but you have to pay double for his mistake or he was going to call the police and have me escorted since I told him I would not pay double it was late I already paid for a room here I just want a key for my second room. So not to have trouble with the lay I left to find another hotel and before I could check in my friends called me and asked me to come get them for the room was horrible. I did not see the room, but my friends did take pictures. In the pictures you can see where they stepped on the floor for they were sticking to the floor every time they took a step. Holes was in the sheets and could clearly see the room was not cleaned other than the beds made, and new towels placed in the bathroom. You could look out of the room from the cracks around the door of the room and the bathroom door was the same. I went back to the hotel and asked for a refund which they printed off a paper for a full refund. After returning home I checked my account and found I only received half of my refund. I would strongly urge anyone to find a different place to stay.

Nerissa M, Guest Relations Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Blue Springs, responded to this review
Citytraveler12, Thank you for sharing your experience, and I am very sorry to hear that you encountered such unusual circumstances and inconveniences during your most recent experience with us, especially that we were not able to address the issues right away. We will look into this matter and speak with our staff a and how they are treating our guest, this is unacceptable behavior and will not be tolerated. We hope that you would consider us again in the future so we may change your views about our hotel and management.

"Good value"

4
Jana628, Brighton, Missouri 29/01/2019

Checking in and out was quick. Room was clean, beds very comfortable. Battered lampshades need replaced. Plenty of bathroom amenities. Cheap toilet paper. Hot breakfast was included and presented well. All in all, it was a safe and clean place to stay the night. It is not fancy by no means, but it was economical and comfortable.

Nerissa M, Guest Relations Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Blue Springs, responded to this review
Jana628, Thank you for your kind comments regarding our high standards of cleanliness and were able to provide you a comfortable experience. We are overjoyed to discover the positive impression we made with our breakfast service and and you enjoyed the value as well. We also appreciate your suggestions for improvement to our lamp shade, toilet paper and look forward to impressing you during future stays.

"Bring your earplugs"

2
Guide61633797435, Springfield, Missouri 15/01/2019

Walls are very thin. Can hear the conversations of people in adjoining rooms. Comfortable bed, good tv and room amenities, however; very difficult to sleep when you clearly hear people in the hallways and in the adjoining rooms.

Nerissa M, Guest Relations Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Blue Springs, responded to this review
Guide61633797435, Your review and rating of our hotel mean a lot to us, and we thank you for taking the time to share this experience. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest, and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the noise concerns you describe. Safety and security are high priorities within our hotel standards for quality and we regret you felt differently during your visit. We can't wait to show you how we continue to improve based on feedback like yours.

"Went elsewhere."

2
jimattheozarks, Laurie, Missouri 03/10/2018

My wife and I have spent a substatial number of nights in moderately priced chain hotels over our many years together. Last Friday was the first time we opted to leave after seeing the room. The bathroom sparkled. No problem there. But, the baseboards, corners and carpet were buried in thick layers of dust. The freezer was in dire need of defrosting. The freezer door was frozen open, and our cold packs would fit. Furniture, except the top surfaces were dust covered. These are all signs of on going neglect, not a one time poor cleaning. The front desk staff was gracious and cooperative when we discussed our issues, and refunded our payment without issue. We headed on down the road.

Nerissa M, Guest Relations Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Blue Springs, responded to this review
jimattheozarks, Thank you for pointing out the issues with housekeeping so that we can work to improve upon this aspect of the guest experience at our hotel. Our housekeeping staff is held to a very high standard and we appreciate that you've informed us of a need to address housekeeping policies and procedures. I am very sorry for the impression we left you with, and we hope you will return to experience our continuing improvements.

"Almost ok"

2
TravellingColoradans, Boulder, Colorado 07/06/2018

I was so tired when I finally pulled off I-70 for the night I could have slept just about anywhere - which was a good thing in this case. Check in was fine. The young man was professional and friendly which was also the case when I checked out. The room would probably have been ok but it had a bad smell and there was something noisy - not sure if it was an air conditioner or something outside. I had dinner across the street at an Irish Bar which called Clancy's which was actually an interesting experience. Breakfast was ok too. I guess this place would have been ok without the smelly room with the mysterious noise but, as I said, I was tired enough not to care at the time. One thing I need to learn is to book in advance (even on a road trip) because the "drop in" rate I get is usually 10% or so more than the on line sites - true here, at Econolodge and at Best Western during this road trip.

Nerissa M, Guest Relations Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Blue Springs, responded to this review
TravellingColoradans, I am so sorry that you smelled of mold in your room. In the future please address immediately so that our staff will clean and disinfecting to restore the clean smell of our accommodations. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention so that we can make sure no future guest experiences the same inconvenience.

"Clean and Comfortable"

3
Dennis M, Asheville, North Carolina 20/05/2018

Just a good clean and comfortable hotel along the highway. Breakfast was standard fare nothing special. Service friendly and helpful. Moderately priced and worth stopping overnight. Would return if in the area.

Nerissa M, Guest Relations Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Blue Springs, responded to this review
CrackerCat, We are so glad to know that you had a great time with us and thank you so much for appreciating our efforts of providing you with clean and comfortable accommodations in a reasonable cost. We would love to have you back and we do hope to see you again soon.

"Hard water and soft mattress"

3
GIVUS, Leavenworth, Kansas 08/05/2018

A clean and quiet hotel. Check-in was quick and easy. Easy access from I-70. Only two minor issues with my stay - the mattress was a little soft (I prefer a firmer one) and the water was a little hard. Price was fair and I slept well, despite the mattress being a little soft for my liking.

Nerissa M, Guest Relations Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Blue Springs, responded to this review
GIVUS, Your comfort and convenience are our top priorities, and we thank you letting us know how we have been successful in our efforts to impress you. We also appreciate your feedback regarding the mattress as this will help us to continue to improve upon the guest experience. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next stay in the area.

"Front desk clerk"

4
klrassi, Jenks, Oklahoma 17/04/2018

The stay was fantastic, the atmosphere was even better, the front desk clerk was the best part of the stay, she was in my opinion a remarkable person, had tons of conversations with her and was knowledgeable about the town

Tina M, Guest Relations Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Blue Springs, responded to this review
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you have rated our hospitality and accommodations so highly! Thank you for your kind words klrassi. We enjoy sharing these reviews with our staff and we all look forward to seeing you again here a the Quality Inn Blue Springs Hotel.

Estas opiniones son las opiniones subjetivas de viajeros individuales y no de TripAdvisor LLC ni de ninguno de sus socios comerciales.