Room 1
Room 2
Room 3
Promotion code

Hotel 52, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, Whitley Bay

52 South Parade, NE26 2RQ, Whitley Bay, Great Britain - See on a map
Hotel 52, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western - Hotel 52, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western The Hotel 52, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western is ideally located in the center of Whitley Bay. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

Steps from the beachfront for traditional seaside fun. Hotel 52, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western is just a short stroll from the beach and bustling town center. Bask on golden sands, tuck into fish and chips and enjoy long walks along the seafront. If you’re feeling energetic, you could climb the 137 steps to the top of St Mary's Lighthouse, while families can enjoy an undersea adventure at the Blue Reef Aquarium. For shopping and nightlife, head to Newcastle city center, just 9 miles away. Simply hop on the Metro if you don't want to take the car. When your day is done, fall asleep as soon as your head hits the pillow. Each of our 32 light and airy bedrooms has a super-comfy bed, with a choice of single, double/twin, triple or family rooms. Rooms located in the East Wing are above the bar and come with complimentary earplugs. We also have secure off-street parking and free Wi-Fi to make your stay as hassle-free as possible. So, whether you're a family looking for an affordable seaside break or a contractor staying in town for a few nights, Hotel 52, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western fits the bill perfectly.

Sure Hotel Collection

Hotel 52

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Hotel advantages

  • Lounges/bars
    Lounges/bars
  • Free parking
    Free parking
  • Outdoor parking
    Outdoor parking
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
based on 189 guest reviews
NOTE ISSUED
Excellent
57
Very Good
57
Average
29
Poor
20
Terrible
26
REFER TO NOTICE
Business Business
13
Couples Couples
69
Family Family
41
Friends getaway Friends getaway
33
Solo travel Solo travel
8
SUMMARY NOTES
Cleanliness
Location
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Value

"Not what we paid for"

1
robert040582, North Shields, United Kingdom 13/09/2020

We booked the suite through hotels.com after seeing what looked like amazing photos. It boasted things like separate living area, full kitchen/dining room & free bottled water amongst other things. We paid extra for the suite based on this, rather than a basic hotel room with a cheap sofa in it. Sadly when we arrived we got the basic hotel room with cheap sofa anyway, rather than the grand suite we paid for. Apparently the photos of the room featured are at their sister hotel & I had to take it up with hotels.com if I wanted to complain. As way of apology, the lady offered us both a free breakfast in the morning. Obviously things are a lot different in the covid world, but while we were offered tea & coffee to take up to the room, the free bottled water wasn't offered. Instead there was a printed sign saying we could buy bottles (as well as cans of coke) for £1 each. We instead opted to drive to the local supermarket. The room itself was comfortable, just a bit dirty & not well thought out. For example the desk where the kettle was put was too low to be able to plug the kettle in. We had to put the kettle on the floor to use the lower plug points instead. The “king size” bed was actually 2 beds pushed together with a very noticeable join up the middle under the bedsheet. The bathroom window looks like it once opened, but is now screwed shut. There was loo roll jammed in a gap behind the toilet & the bath panel was filthy. And let's not forget the dirty towels too. While I tried to make the best of the night away, we couldn't get away from the fact that it wasn't the room we booked (regardless of who was at fault for the misleading photos). To end the review on a positive note, the lady who was on the reception desk was absolutely lovely. She was apologetic about the room being different to the one we saw online & seemed to want to help. We won't be returning to this hotel though for the dirty room & lack of advertised facilities.

"Weeks break in Whitley bay"

4
Mikepeel32, Greater Manchester, United Kingdom 09/09/2020

Great hotel for the price breakfast was lovely lots of options to try room comfortable & clean Covid rules adhered to good reception staff very helpful Buddha lounge next door was excellent had 2 evening meals during our 4 night stay food was just lovely

"Excellent COVID Secure"

5
Toffees80, Liverpool, United Kingdom 26/08/2020

Can't rate this hotel enough. COVID 19 Secure very observant and professional service from Day and Night Staff. Stayed on a Weekend, Extra biscuits and coffee gave when asked. Rooms nice and clean, breakfast was nice and plentiful. The Bar was very busy but we couldn't get a table sadly. Would stay again and highly recommend this place.

"Great value, excellent service"

5
nikki0909, cheshire 24/08/2020

Checked in went to room but the tv wasn't working so went back to reception and they changed rooms for us and gave us a suite. Room fantastic , great layout , decor good and very clean. Will definitely book the suite room again. Breakfast was very good , great choice and service. Staff very helpful, friendly and welcoming. I have stayed in a lot of 4/5 star hotels not as good and great value for money. Yes there are a few bits that could be done to improve the property like paint touch ups and marks on carpet but this doesn't detract from a great stay. Will definitely stay again if I am in the area.

"4 night stay"

3
nicearrey, Colchester, United Kingdom 20/08/2020

staff were very helpful Hotel was situated well Hotel was a bit rundown Breakfast was not great Plug was a 4way as beds were all in front of sockets - kettle was the other side of the room Tele was above one of the beds so I couldn't watch it from the bed - just didn't make sense Strange hotel!!

"Do not come here and if you do please do not accept room 25 or 29."

1
juliel311, Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom 19/08/2020

We booked in and were allocated room 25, it was totally unacceptable. The area around the window which was very close to the bed was wet with damp and the paint was peeling off. We were then given room 29, which looked fine until we went to bed, the noise from the restaurant below was horrendous, boom boom book until midnight and that was midweek. Do not come here if you would like a good sleep.

"Very noisy"

3
annies137, Scarborough, United Kingdom 15/08/2020

The actual hotel room was clean enough Clean white bedding and towels Lovely ensuite The noise from the pub next door was horrendous ! This went on until 12.30ish Which is no use when u have kids It really spoilt our days there as we were exhausted

"David king"

1
User 11/08/2020

Got there shower blocked reported it day after fixed it left it full of muck didn't clean it never cleaned room once from sat until tue no remote for tv booked breakfast got a cold bacon n egg or sausage outside or in your room on a tray never again will we stay there wouldn't recommend it to anyone

"Poor. You get what you pay for!"

2
User 08/08/2020

Rooms look lovely as per internet photos. Hotel in a run down area. Parking available but only 3 spaces on the car park. We did have a few issues though.. dirty towel left in our bathroom and no clean towels on check in. Didn't have towels for the first 24 hours of our stay. Luckily we had taken a towel which we intended to use on the beach so we could still shower. Staff not helpful, promised to sort things but didn't. Corridors very noisy. Our bed moved when people walked past outside. Blinds not thick enough and bright sunshine in the room by 5:30am Comfortable bed. An ok stay but wouldn't return

"I'd rather stay at the Premier Inn"

2
L4711RTjoanneh, Durham, United Kingdom 04/08/2020

We booked this for a two night break with family. Pros: the hotel is decorated nice and modern, rooms are a good size, price is nice and cheap. Location is ok for walking into Whitley Bay, although I would think it could be noisy when the pubs are busier. Cons: we didn't have any towels for the first 24hrs as the linen van had broken down, and the staff didn't really seem that bothered. Even when the towels had arrived we only got them on the third time of asking. Cleanliness wasn't great, a dirty towel left hanging on a door from the previous client, tea spilt on a bedside table and mould on the bottom of the shower. Once we actually got towels we realised the mould was from a leaky shower tray! One half of our zip-locked double bed was on a slant as well due to a wonky floor so I felt like I was falling out all night. And the bathroom paint has been touched up with a different shade of grey so it just looked a bit uncared for. This could be a very nice hotel if only they paid a bit more attention to detail and cared a bit more. It is decent value for what we paid (£86 for two nights) but I would book the premier inn next time.

Peter Auld, General Manager at Hotel 52, responded to this review
Hello, I'm disappointed to read the problems you had during your stay with is. Can I kindly ask you to send me your contact details so I can discuss this direct with you. My email address is pauld@highstreethospitality.co.uk. Kind regards Peter

"Brilliant, given the circumstances...."

4
Paul J, Essex UK 02/08/2020

My wife and I needed a break and, as soon as it became possible to book an hotel room, I looked at what was probably going to be available in Whitley Bay, around the end of July. I spoke with the bookings team at Hotel 52 and they confirmed that they would be open but that there may be restrictions on whether they could serve breakfast / meals. That wasn't a problem for us as we intended to be up and out early anyway. The location of the hotel is really good - being just a few yards from the Promenade and a 5 minute walk to the town centre. There's limited parking space at the hotel (enough for 3 cars) but there's free street parking or there's plenty of parking available at Spanish City (£3 all day) which is just a five minute walk down the Promenade. We were greeted warmly by the staff and told that they were doing a pre-packed breakfast (hot bacon / sausage / egg roll + croissant, fruit, fruit juice / tea / coffee). You arrange the time to collect it from Reception and take it back to your room. You also ask for /collect things like toilet roll and tea / coffee brewing necessities from reception. As at the end of July, there is no room service - e.g. if you want replacement towels / sheets, you have to ask for them and take them to your room, etc. If this isn't something you're prepared to do, then you'll be disappointed. However, we had no issue with this and the staff were extremely good and helpful whenever we asked for / needed something. The bed was one of the most comfortable we've ever slept in at an hotel. The room and the shower room were very clean and spacious. There isn't a lift, so be prepared to carry your stuff up a flight of stairs and along corridors. It isn't a modern and "soul-less / antiseptic" hotel like some of the chains but we would definitely book to stay there again. We were there for 6 nights and we regard it as great value for money and the staff as being some of the nicest and most helpful we've met. They treated us very well in a period when businesses are struggling to get back to full functionality and trading and we will definitely be back when we return to Whitley Bay.

Peter Auld, General Manager at Hotel 52, responded to this review
Hello Paul, Many thanks for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with is and thank you for your detailed notes. We are currently in uncharted times and the team is doing everything they can to make our guests safe and comfortable. We hope to see you again for another stay with us. Kind regards Peter

"Decent place to stay"

4
Bethmiller1997, Whitley Bay, United Kingdom 26/07/2020

Only booked for one night, price was good. The room was nice and clean but the mattress was a little hard and the rooms were really warm but overall its a nice stay, staff are absolutely lovely and the breakfast is nice.

Peter Auld, General Manager at Hotel 52, responded to this review
Hello Beth, Many thanks for your comments regarding your stay with us. We are pleased you had a pleasant stay with us. I have noted your comment regarding the mattress and this will be looked at. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Peter

"Very disappointed"

1
Coolgranpat, Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom 22/07/2020

Stayed at hotel 52 for 2 nights. Room clean and bright but tv on side wall above childs bed so get crick in neck watching. Blind at window that let's daylight in so awake 5am. Granddaughter refused to sleep in her bed on 2and night so I did and found mattress very uncomfortable. Was told on arrival to order breakfast (dining room was closeddue to covid) which is fairenough. .either bacon, sausage or egg t.cake..not a chance of 2 items. Collected in morning in melted polystyrene trays and it was inedible. Such a shame as staff are lovely.

"Short break away"

3
User 19/07/2020

Booked this due to the reasonable price and location, didn't realise however that the area is a bit rundown and in desperate need of regeneration. The hotel itself was ok. Positive point Is the staff, very helpful and trying their best. Well done to them. Negatives - place wasn't overly clean. Carpets look filthy going upstairs. Our room was comfy enough but the bathroom floor was dirty, found that after having to dry the floor after the radiator leak, the second room we had this problem in. A bit more tlc would have this addressed but I do appreciate things are difficult at this time. Would I stay again, maybe leave it a while to see what happens in the area but at the moment I wouldn't.

"Coronavirus affects staffing"

3
User 21/03/2020

Room wasn't cleaned during the 3 night stay and Breakfast was limited to a choice of cereal and beverage and this was served by the Front Desk staff. So staff availabilty for Room cleaning and preparing the cooked breakfasts was lacking.

"Great if you are having a night out"

5
emma r, Liverpool, United Kingdom 09/03/2020

Stayed recently found it lovely. Night staff lee very kind and moved us as our room was a little noisy but new one perfect ... friendly warm clean spacious would stay again Doesn't look amazing from outside but inside it's been refurbed

Peter Auld, General Manager at Hotel 52, responded to this review
Hello Emma, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay we us. I'm sorry to read you had the inconvenience of moving bedrooms. I'm pleased Lee looked after you. We look forward to seeing you again soon. kind regards Peter

"Excellent Service "

5
Nick W, Chingford, United Kingdom 01/03/2020

Unfortunately had to visit Whitley Bay for a funeral. The service we received was exceptional. Allowed us to check in at 11 so we could change. Rooms basic but more than we expected for the price. Good bar. Recommended

Peter Auld, General Manager at Hotel 52, responded to this review
Hello Nick, Thank you very much for taking the time to complete a review. We are very pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Peter

"Value for money!"

3
User 21/02/2020

We stayed here for 4 nights and the staff were friendly and helpful. We had a large spacious room at the top of the building. The location was excellent for exploring the local area and only 2 minutes to the bay. The price was reflected in the overall service and standard of the breakfast. There were some general house keeping issues during our stay. However, the staff were able to resolve these effectively.

James Harkus, Marketing at Hotel 52, responded to this review
Thanks very much for the review. It's much appreciated. we hope to see you again soon!

"Hotel 52 (noisiest hotel I've ever stayed in)"

1
juliefrear, Bradford, United Kingdom 21/02/2020

Nice & clean hotel & approachable & friendly staff. BUT would NEVER stay at this hotel again. On Thursday night at 10pm extremely loud (base banging) music was played from the bar next door until 2am. I presume Friday & Saturday night will be the same. Sleep is definitely out of the question. The hotel did NOT mention this when we checked in. Would NOT recommend this hotel at all because of this.

Peter Auld, General Manager at Hotel 52, responded to this review
Hello Julie, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm so sorry to read of the issues you have had regarding your stay with us. We do have a small number of rooms located next to a music venue. All of the rooms are discounted and on all third party sites it is made clear that these rooms maybe inconvenienced by the noise. I apologise that you had not been notified about this. Kind regards Peter

"Overnight stay"

4
sallyd727, Hartlepool, United Kingdom 01/02/2020

We were attending the theatre and wanted a hotel close by. It was about a 10 min walk away so fab. The staff were all lovely and prior to arriving had a couple of emails and calls to check all ok-had some questions as son has health limitations which they catered very well for. The room itself was great , very spacious and comfy. The bathroom was very cold and not set up too good- no where to hang a towel for getting out the shower and whilst that was hot more cold water came out the back of the unit than hot came out of the showerhead. The breakfast was a good set up, help yourself and young lady helping was lovely. Would not hesitate to stop here again if visited the town, very well located for the area.

Peter Auld, General Manager at Hotel 52, responded to this review
Hello Sally, Thank you for you're review. We are please you had an enjoyable stay with us. I am sorry to read the heating and water issues you had. I have highlighted the point to be rectified with our maintenance staff. Kind regards Peter

"Hotel Stay at Hotel 52 in Whitley Bay"

5
jaybishop2019, Warrington, Pennsylvania 30/01/2020

Very good hotel with friendly staff and visitors. Would highly recommend. Nice town and City. 5/5 stars for Service and Help. We will defiantly come again. Thanks from Mr Jason Lee Bishop and Mr Leonard Hodgkinson from Warrington in Cheshire. P.s. We got home eventually in the Blue Fiat Pinto !!!!!!!!!!!!! We bought a Sat Nav in Newcastle town centre.

"lovely seaside stay"

5
User 26/01/2020

well placed for the seafront nice bar and excellent food wish we were staying for longer but will be back to enjoy the hospitality soon and stay longer with the value for the rooms and the staff is a must when visiting.

"Fantastic Hotel "

5
beffy50, Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom 02/01/2020

My partner and I stayed her on 21st to 22nd December Room 11 beautiful room hotel immaculate staff first class very friendly and helpful we will be back soon love the pub attached to the hotel. Breakfast was lovely chef could not do enough to help us even though I burnt my toast would recommend this hotel.

"Value for money"

5
Temmer, Darlington, United Kingdom 02/01/2020

Booked a triple room for New Year's Day night so that we could have a walk down the coast to tynemouth and have a couple of drinks on the way. Room was immaculate with bay window, sea view. We arrived a little earlier than 2pm but that wasn't a problem for the staff. Every member of staff we spoke to was very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was decent, plenty of choice and again the staff polite and friendly. A little bit of noise but nothing to complain about, no different to any other b&b of this nature. Keep up the good work and we are looking forward to a return visit soon

"New Year's Day 2020"

5
User 02/01/2020

Lovely little hotel. Clean spacious rooms, very friendly staff and a cracking full English breakfast. Very reasonably priced and in a nice location. Bar next door which gives you 10% off if you show them your room key. Tynemouth is about a 40 mins walk along some of the UK's finest coastline. Highly recommended, we'll be back

"Very clean and comfortable. "

5
KatieMarty, Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom 06/11/2019

The room was immaculately clean. Bed was very comfortable. Staff were very friendly on front desk. Excellent value for money, wasn't expecting it to be as nice as it was. Would definitely stay again in future.

"Very nice hotel"

5
User 27/10/2019

I found this hotel very good, the location was just right, 5 minutes walk to the town & 2 minutes walk to the beach. The hotel is located next to and on top off a club/ pub. I stayed in the east wing (room 5) over the pub but didn't hear anything from the pub, there was a bit of noise off the other guests coming and going, but that was only at 9ish,, the room was very nice with plenty of condiments / towels, Breakfast was a buffet and plenty to choose from

"Great Hotel!"

5
Suemagoo59, Whitley Bay, United Kingdom 15/10/2019

We have stayed here on a number of occasions while our house is being renovated and we love it. All of the staff are really friendly and very helpful especially. Lynn and Kim and the guy with the dark hair and beard. It has a relaxed friendly atmosphere the beds are comfy and the rooms are light airy and clean. The breakfast is buffet style and delicious. Couldn't ask for more!

"Fantastic hotel"

5
User 29/09/2019

We have just left our overnight stay at Hotel 52. Passing through as we are visiting family in Hartlepool and we celebrated our 16th wedding anniversary. Hotel even put happy anniversary banners up and a card in our room. Very thoughtful of them. The hotel location is perfect near to loads of restaurants and the beach. Also the restaurant next door and bar are brilliant. Great cocktails -Loco food was good live entertainment and all members of the team there were polite, excellent service. Chef greets you -super friendly and breakfast this morning was beautiful. Loads to choose from, great selection. Room 11 was massive and funky and modern, very impressed!!! Most of all the lady at reception with lovely blonde hair sorry didn't catch your name. Gave us a lovely warm welcome, very helpful and super friendly, a great asset to Hotel 52, I hope they realize that. Good people in small businesses are hard to find. Thanks to you all for a great stay, we do live over 4 hours away but we will definitely be back when we venture up north again. Highly recommend to you all Thanks Zara & Ashley (Lichfield in Staffordshire)

"Don't recommend"

2
User 23/09/2019

I had originally booked 2 nights, I booked a double room with a bath. I was given a room with two single beds pushed together and no bath. The beds were extremely uncomfortable. To add to the poor night sleep the music and shouting from the bar is beyond ridiculous. Stay here if it's your intention not to sleep. You won't get it here. The only thing this place has going for it is the friendly staff. Not sure where the bedroom pics they used fir their advert were but my room certainly looked nothing like this. I stayed one night and found myself another hotel for the 2nd night

"Best bed ever"

5
User 10/09/2019

I loved this hotel. It was very clean and the room was huge. The bed was so comfortable I wanted to bring it home. We had bed and breakfast, there was plenty of choice and was cooked lovely. They put it on Really early on the Saturday to accommodate the great north runners. The staff were helpful and friendly. The only downside was the noise from the night club next door, but saying that they did provide ear plugs which did the job brilliant. I would highly recommend this Hotel.also as an added bonus you get 20% of the bar and the restaurant next door. I have already booked in for next year. Thank you for your hospitality and I'm looking forward to staying with you next great north run.

"Don't go by first impressions "

4
colint275, Katherine, Australia 10/09/2019

As the title suggests I was not initially impressed but it got better. Good friendly service, the beds were very soft and comfy. The rooms are clean and the hotel itself is in a convenient central location.

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.