Nestled in the heart of Vientiane, the charming capital of Laos, Best Western Vientiane Hotel is a boutique hotel that provides a full range of facilities for both business and leisure travelers. Guestrooms are all modern and comfortable, with wooden floors, working desks, flat-screen TVs and complimentary Wi-Fi, while the hotel's restaurant, Cafe Indochine, serves a tempting menu of Asian and Western dishes throughout the day. Guests can unwind in the outdoor pool or work out in the fitness center, and corporate guests can make use of the hotel's modern meeting rooms and business center. For guests who wish to explore this enchanting city, Vientiane's Mekong riverfront area is just a short stroll away and features a selection of restaurants and bars. Whether you are visiting for business or pleasure, Best Western Vientiane offers a perfect combination of comfort and convenience for all travelers. The renovation of the bathrooms in some of our guestrooms has now commenced, with completion expected on July, 15, 2018. These renovations will allow us to provide you with the very best hotel experience, we thank you for your patience and support.
First visit to Vientiane. The Best Western was ideally located. Good bars and restaurants nearby. The staff were ultra friendly and the breakfast was a great start to the day. The room was comfortable but no view.
We stayed 3 nights in the hotel, in a room on the 3rd floor giving on F. Nginn Street. No problem with the street noise, but big problem with the air conditioning system in the room; impossible to tune to a comfortable 18-20°C range, the room stayed very cold (got a cold), and the noise of the compressor was unbelievable (no double glass isolation), and there is almost a half cm gap between the window door window and its frame. Nice breakfasts and helpful staff. The room was unfortunately not very clean; some marks on one tile in the bathroom like an eye liner mark, along with a large stain on the wooden door of the bathroom, like shampoo or soap were never cleaned during our stay. Our room was also close to the loud 3rd floor, room service telephone used by the room- service staff.
Deputy manager Sarah Dane Lim and her staff go out of their way to make you feel like you are one of the family. Breakfast is included and not just the traditional continental breakfast either. Will definitely stay here the next time we visit. Great location to the river walk and numerous restaurants to suit all tastes. The hotel is exactly as described in the pictures. Language wasn't a problem. Going through some remodeling but never was a bother, in fact the only way we knew there was remodeling going on was the notice posted in the elevators.
Sarah Dane L, Manager at Best Western Vientiane Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Mr. Ron F. All of us here strive to do our best for every guest, and your kind words about your experience mean a lot to us. We thank you for taking the time to post them online, We'd be honored to welcome you back again.
Myself and two friends stayed at the Best Western for 5 days in February 2018 and we were very happy with our stay. We were met in the lobby by the manager Sarah Dane Ancog who went out of her way to make our stay comfortable. She was incredibly friendly and made it enjoyable to arrive back at the hotel each day. The rooms are quite spacious and well appointed and very clean. The bathrooms contain a bathtub/shower and appear to have been remodeled recently. One half of the hotel faces the wall of an ajorning property and one has a view of some temples and the river so be sure to ask for that side when booking. Sarah accomodated my two friends and changed their rooms to one with a view. We didn't eat any meals at the restaurant but we did enjoy the free breakfast every morning. You got to choose between a western breakfast with eggs, bacon or ham and an asian breakfast with rice and meat. There is also a nice spread of fresh baguettes and bread, jam, croissants, fruit, cereal, yogurt, juice and coffee. The hotel also offers free airport pickup and dropoff if you give them at least 24 hours notice. The last time I stayed in Vientiane, I stayed at an AIRBNB that was 20 minutes outside of town so this definitely was more convenient for us as we were staying near the center of town and the location of this hotel is right next to the night market and a lot of western style restaurants and massage places so it is ideal. The only thing that I would like to see improved would be the beds, they were quite hard and you could feel the springs. I slept on top of a blanket and that helped but I think softer beds would be a good improvement. All in all for the price we paid (about $65 US dollars per night), this was a great place to stay and I was very happy. Sarah and her staff were well trained, very polite and really added a special touch to our stay. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.
Sarah Dane L, Manager at Best Western Vientiane Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Mr. Sir, Thank you for the kind and detailed review. We're grateful for it and are sure it will help others as they navigate through their many choices. We appreciate your taking the time to write about us online and we are looking forward to see you here again in your next visit.
Standard best western type of hotel with lots of wood everywhere. Staff all keen to help. Excellent breakfast although the juices routinely run out before the end. Local taxi fares are unusually high and our rooms air conditioning thermostat was malfunctioning producing the effect of sleeping in a fridge. It's a nice hotel though.
If you want fancy probably look at Saldana in a similar location or Crown Plaza a bit further out. But if you're lookin for reliable, clean, friendly this is it. Great location. Decent pool, though it could use some inspiration. Deluxe rooms are a good size but sparse with furniture. They are just finishing up some renovation so be sure to inquire about that.
Everything about the Best Western is top notch. First impressions were very good, the reception area was spotless and the staff were very welcoming. Our room was big, again very clean with a couple of comfortable chairs and a writing table. WiFi in our bedroom was good but needed a code every day from reception. My only complaint about the room was the light switches on the bed head - I kept bumping them with my head when I was asleep and turning the lights on! Breakfast was OK, nothing special but the coffee was good! We were given a free airport transfer when we left- very handy.
The room is spacious and situated at less busy street. The location is near to the night market, eating places and massage parlor. The complimentary breakfast is always the same except paid breakfast that will change everyday. The staff is friendly and helpfull too. The sign to the pool was not directing guest to the pool and pool looks not attractive. My water hole in the bathroom makes funny sound at night.
The hotel is situated very near the river, in one of the side streets to the road along the river. The area is full of restaurants and night market is just a few meters away. The hotel seems fairly newly renovated and rooms are clean and nice and staff very friendly. View from the room I had was not all the good.(see picture). Breakfast was quite limited but eggs was made according to your wish and coffee was very good. The reception areas is nice kind of old style. I really liked the floors in the reception and in the room. The hotel also has a small swimming pool in the back as well a a small fitness centre.
Stayed there for a month , staff service is very good great location ! when friends or business partners visit sent them there and they all have good experience !! The food is also very good , morning breakfast is fast and good
We received such an amazing reception when we arrived at the Best Western. We don't normally stay in 'chain' hotels but are so glad we did. The room was large, comfortable and very clean. But the best thing about this place is the staff. Nothing is too much trouble and their openess and helpfulness just makes you want to smile ??
The positives: Lovely tiled lobby, spacious rooms with nice furniture and comfy beds, unbeatable location surrounded by restaurants and steps from the riverfront road, and, above all, first-rate (mostly Filipina) staff. Breakfast was good, though if you are bored there are many options close by. Negatives: the blazing white LED lights in the hallway and bathroom cheapen the atmosphere (though the latter make shaving a breeze). And my bathroom was pretty utilitarian and about a star lower than the hotel itself.
3rd time here, recommended. Can't beat the location and the staf f, rooms and pool should satisfy most travellers. Go past Wat turn right to 3 Sisters cafe (no English, look for "3 on awning" and order a pho ("fur")
Sarah Dane L, Manager at Best Western Vientiane Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Mr. Peter K. We love it when you're here and always look forward to welcoming you back. Thanks for your kind words--and your continued patronage.
- Location is the best spot for this hotel - Food is everywhere surrounding the area - Staffs are friendly and helpful - Limited breakfast choice (set breakfast) and no refill - No lighting in wardrobe
First abroad stay and most memorable stay. Located near the Mekong river and lot of restaurants near by. Happening place. I was quite happy with their customer service and decent compliment break fast. Evening the street will be flooded with tourists and good TukTuk experience.....
What a perfect location , great for market , restaurants etc , the front desk staff as with all staff where exceptional , genuinely interested in your day , lovely little pool but should not have to hunt for towels , maybe a few on a shelf , rooms a bit dated but trade off is nice n big n spacious , some have described as a little past its prime , if you just arrived from a big glass bankok hotel maybe it looks a bit that way , clean n central so who cares , breakfast basic (rainy season maybe when hotel is fuller it has more choice ) but very nice and well presented , hope to stay again , thanks
, Sarah Lim- Deputy General Manager at Best Western Vientiane Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor, We are indeed delighted to note your experiences with us were very positive and your time with us memorable. We are happy to read that overall you were most contended with us and found it to be an awesome stay.
Spent two nights here after leaving another property that was totally unacceptable. The room here was large and spotless. Great bathroom,fantastic front dest service. Sarah at the front desk could not have been nicer, more helpful and pleasant. The man on days was also great ( dont know his name) but he went out of his way to help us with a malfunctioning safe. Pool was nice but could use a little more ambiance like plants or trees but we had it to ourselves so no complaiint there. Location is very good. Walkiing or short ride to most places. Compared to the other place we stayed this was such a welcome site!!
BWVTE_Hotel, Sarah Dane Lim - Deputy General Manager at Best Western Vientiane Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Mr. Aguido, Thank you for staying at Best Western Vientiane Hotel and taking time to post a review with the perfect rating which is very encouraging. I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed friendly service from Front Desk team during your stay. Please rest assured that I have shared your comments with the team and we will continue with our best endeavours in providing quality service to our guests. May we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
What a disappointment, we had to move to 3 different rooms to get what we had prebooked, staff were rude and disinterested until we asked to see a manager. The advertising promises clean bright rooms with a welcoming fruit basket. No such thing existed, the rooms are old and tired with poor maintenance After finally getting the room we had paid for, no offer of compensation was made, to rub salt in the wound, we got charge double for the taxi transfer to the airport, the driver blaming the commisssion he had tray to the hotel This is a sad old run down property with little appeal and no class, you would do well to avoid
BWVTE_Hotel, Sarah Dane Lim - Deputy General Manager at Best Western Vientiane Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Mr. & Mrs. Jameson, Thank you for sharing your opinion concerning your stay; it is always a pleasure to receive feedback. We are really sorry for all of the inconvenience you experienced during your stay specially for moving you to 3 different rooms to get what you pre-booked, NO fresh fruit Basket, and staff behavior. I have already forwarded your remarks regarding the service issue to the department concern as we treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness. Once again, we apologies for the inconvenience. We will definitely reflect on all your comments and rectify any short comings when necessary. Once again, thank you for your feedback and staying with us.
Near the river and good position for restaurants, but the hotel was old and needed upgrading. One big problem was no car park - had to park in the road but was a small one way street and so cause congestion.
Conveniently located and very comfortable. Not a 5 star comfort but very good value for the price. Good air conditioning and shower was hot. Good selection of fresh food for the Buffett breakfast. The staff are very friendly and professional. The concierge was very helpful and organised a good English speaking driver to drive us to Vang Vieng.
The staff is very friendly and will do their best to help you. everything in the hotel is old and needs to be changed. They try their best to keep it clean and functional but there is just so much that can be done.
Centrally located to great restaurants night markets friendly helpful staff and nice pool. Breakfast was good. Hotel is immaculate in cleaniness and good size rooms. Would definitely recommend and stay there again. Dave and Cherie from Australia
The hotel is located very much in the central area near to the market. The rooms are big and clean. The food was fine with good breakfast. I enjoyed my stay here as pool was also available. The staff is also very good and supportive.
May new hotels offer rooms not much larger than a show box, not here at Best Western, the rooms may be slightly older however they are large. The hotel is very conveniently located with the night market at the end of the road and many good places to eat in the area. The breakfast, which is included in the room price, has limited options however there are enough choices to satisfy most tastes. I have the congee both morning and it was delicious. The wifi is very reliable and good connectivity, so included in the room price. Wonderful friendly staff are always on hand to assist whenever you need them.
Hotel very clean ,good size bed room with fridge ,bathroom hot water ,WiFi excellent, enjoyed breakfasts good selection, enjoyed the fruit staff pleasant and helpful, Nice size swimming pool, Good location in the city.
Hotel is in the centre of the city and within walking dostance of most attractions The room was comfortably and had the necessary toiletries Breakfast was good with a selection of 3 breakfasts Desk staff very helpful Very nice pool
The hotel is situated in the town area next to the night market. This has made it very convenient for tourists. The hotel has a nice ambience and the people we met are friendly. The hotel lobby is well maintained with many comfortable seats. The restaurant where we had our breakfast is also well maintained and the food served is good. The rooms are clean but the bed and the pillow are too soft and not so comfortable.
Very clean hotel with super friendly staff. The pool is excellent however a few more deck chairs would not go astray.great location and just near some great bars and restaurants.overall very good value for money
Located in a road with many restaurants and eateries and very close to the Mekong River where the night market is situated. Hotel also offers complimentary airport transfers. Rooms are big and comfy with a balcony. Smoking rooms are available upon request. What I really appreciate most is the fast internet connection. There is also a small garden and pool at the back and tables out front so you can sit and watch the world go by. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly and are willing to go an extra mile for you. The only downside is the breakfast...considering the price of their rooms. Buffet breakfast was a choice of continental, american or asian and it included bakery products, baguettes and croissants. A year and it has remained the same...Cable TV was the other...Very limited English Channels and not even Channel News Asia... Housekeeping needs more training. I would definitely recommend this hotel for someone staying in Vientiane for a couple of days because of its excellent location and service though.
First time to Lao Vientiane for business trip! Decide to stay near night market so we checked in here for two nights! Friendly staffs and fast checked in! Breakfast with set menu in American style or Asian style ! Great pizza resturant and eateries right opposite the hotel! Spacious room and clean bath room! Wifi is great too
This is a a fairly old hotel (formally called the Taipan) that I used to frequent regularly in the "olden days." It was bought a few years ago by Best Western. They have renovated it nicely (hence I was slightly confused because they moved the location of the gym) - giving it a much needed modern upgrade while not losing any of the old charm. Rooms have wooden floors, are clean and have the expected facilities (wifi, TV etc.). Air conditioning is set to sub-arctic, so you may wake up with ice in your beard. Breakfast is tasty - but nothing special - just what you'd expect for an international hotel. Coffee isn't great though. The pool and gym are small - but do the job. Perhaps the best thing about this hotel is its position, which is very convenient. it is located right across from the best bar in Vientiane (Sticky Fingers) and a short stroll to the river and other bars and restaurants. Vientiane is a small place - but there are lots of good places to eat and drink in the CBD - and they are all a short stagger home to the BW.
Great Hotel. We went to check out one before this, but this one was clean and toilet was better. Overall great location, staff was friendly and price was not too expensive. Not the biggest hotel in Laos, Vientiane, but good enough a stay.
This hotel is located in a great location, just steps from the night market, the river, and the Watchan temple. It is also a short taxi ride to and from the airport. The staff are excellent and very friendly. They are very helpful and respond to requests immediately. The fitness centre and pool area were both clean and well maintained. The rooms were clean and orderly. The breakfasts were also well prepared and the staff there were also more than accommodating.
We have recently had a lovely stay in Vientiane, Sarah in reception is brilliant and nothing is too much problem for her. The hotel is very near to the river and a lot of the sights can be walked to from this hotel. The room was fine and breakfast although not excellent was fine to start our day. There are plenty of bars and restaurants in very close proximity. The hotel arranged transport at a good price to Vieng Vang for the next leg of our trip and they also do free airport pickup. The only downside was because of some construction work behind the hotel it's noisy around the pool. All in all this is a good place to stay in Vientiane.
Very nice, comfortable place with a good breakfast buffet. The staff was very good and responded to every inquiry. They even alerted me as I was checked out and leaving about a small item that I had accidentally left, quickly bringing it to me. It's an American based hotel chain, it doesn't disappoint. Close to the riverside market, convenience stores, good restaurants, temples and other places of interest. There is an abundance of Tuk Tuks and taxis so getting around is not an issue. Plenty of places to go to, eat etc. on foot however.
Upon observations of this place, what stands out the most is the professionalism of the staff. It's obvious they have been trained well in their field to provide a quality service to its clients. The Hotel for the most part is clean and well maintained and seems to primarily focus on attracting wealthy tourists from abroad. In no way shape or form this hotel is for the locals in that the daily rate is so expensive even to Western standards. At 80usd per day, it's definitely just an overnighter for the average bloak from the UK or average Joe from the US. Definitely not my cup of tea, but for one day stay, it is okay.
Within meters of The Night Market, and easy walking distance to the commercial hub, The Best Western offers simple rooms; sparse in the amenities department, but more than satisfactory in all necessary areas. The living space is bereft of furniture, and the bathroom is a bit cramped, but this is not a luxury facility. The weight room was exactly what we needed, and the pool afforded privacy and quiet in the afternoon. Breakfast was fine, and numerous eateries abound outside. Tyson's, right across the street, was a perfect place for pub food and beer. Sara at the front desk was sweet, and knowledgeable about other restaurants and points of interest. Her associates were all very attentive. We stayed 3 nights, and then arranged a 4th upon our return from The Plains des Jarres. I'd not hesitate to return.
This is a very good hotel that ticks all the boxes. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean. The location is very good. The staff are excellent and friendly. The Wi-Fi works well. The worst thing I can say is that the breakfast is good without being outstanding. The price verges on the high side for this class of hotel, but I certainly have no complaints and would be happy to return there.
Quiet room on the first floor, close to the gym if that floats your boat! Comfortable bed as you'd expect in Best Western Hotel. Excellent choice for breakfast with buffet and menu options in a bright, air conditioned restaurant. TV, Wifi, fridge and safe in the room. Great staff at the reception desk who at lightening speed arranged for an iron, ironing board and converter socket to be sent to our room. The staff are also a great source of information for eateries and places to visit. Free transportation was arranged back to Vientiane Airport for our departure!
I have been staying here for many years . I have tried others in Vientiane , but come back here because of the location. You can walk to most places and it is just off the river front. The rooms are spacious , not luxurious but a good size with polished floors and good big bathrooms. The breakfast is good and you can watch the world go by outside. The problem is the Internet. It goes down a fair bit and is also slow. The management say it is the same elsewhere, but I don't have that problem in offices I visit or in the bars and restaurants that give free wifi. Most people who stay are on business and need the internet, but the owners seem to be in denial and don't do anything to fix it.
Vientiane delivers a relaxing riverside break where one of the best things you can do is grab a drink and enjoy the sun's spectacular show as it sets over the Mekong. Despite being the largest city in Laos and the hub of commerce and administration, Vientiane is still refreshingly laid back. The city offers a great choice of accommodation, restaurants and pavement cafes some adding a French air with their style of architecture which contrasts pleasingly with the old Buddhist temples dotted around. There are plenty of things to do after dark and bars cater to all tastes from backpacker beer haunts to elegant cocktail lounges. Navigating Vientiane is relatively simple due to its size and sightseeing can be done either on foot, by bike or by hiring a song-teow. Reasons to visit Laos: The beauty of World Heritage listed Luangprabang. The impressive mountain scenery Spectacular waterfalls The humbling early morning ritual of alms giving to the monks· Historic temples and ancient ruins About That Luang: That Luang, or the Great Stupa, in Vientiane is a national symbol (its image is on Laos' official seal) and also the most sacred monument in the country. From the outside That Luang looks more like a fortress surrounded by high walls and it features two temples with the main stupa, the top of which is covered with gold leaf, standing 148 feet tall. The beautiful architecture is in Lao style, influenced by Buddhist beliefs – these include finely-gilded, red-lacquer doors, pointed lesser stupas, many Buddha images and beautiful flower and animal images. Locals say that it was originally built as early as the third century to house a breastbone of the Lord Buddha brought to Laos by an Indian missionary. However, the current structure was built by King Setthathirat in 1566 on the site of a 13th century Khmer ruin. He named Vientiane the capital after Luang Prabang in the mid-sixteenth century. An elegantly crafted statue of him stands in front of the main entrance to That Luang. That Luang was greatly damaged by the Burmese, Chinese and Siamese during invasions in the 18th and 19th centuries then was basically left alone until French colonial times. Restoration work was completed in 1900 by the French and for a second time in 1930, again with the help of the French. Every November when the Boun That Luang Festival is held in Vientiane, a large crowd of followers and tourists come to town from all over Laos and neighbouring countries. The festival is considered the most important Buddhist celebration in Laos with many activities going on for three days and three nights. The main event is always held at That Luang and thousands of people come to pay respect to the stupa and to enjoy the colourful event that includes parades, live music and religious ceremonies....
what a beautiful place with an excellent location. very help full staff and the owner of the hotel too.. everything is easy to approach form the hotel. very nice swimming pool rooms interiors is so very well done ..highly recommended to all age group , business or personal tourist to Laos.....
The room have great size with aircondition. The staff was friendly and some of them speak good english. We choose this hotel because they have a pool. But it was closed :-( We didnt get any information before arriving. They just say sorry pool is closed when we checked in. The hotel was central. I hope I will be back and you have a open pool.
This hotel has all the necessary amenities and the rooms are very large. It is located near the Mekong river where there are lots of activities in the evening. There are plenty of restaurants nearby and next door is a Japanese Fuji restaurant that is in the same chain as the ones in Bangkok. Breakfast is either American or Asian, your choice. Highly recommended.
Rooms are spacious, clean and mine had a balcony (but without furniture). A/C worked very well, wifi was ok most of the times as well. Staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms have beautiful wooden floors and the reception / lobby has nice tiles and is spacious. Would be great to have a bar / café down there....perfect for a happy hour etc. but it is unused. The reception itself is an old-fashioned counter. It would need only a soft renovation, some contemporary layout and a breath of life and this could be fantastic! The breakfast. By all means, take those laminated menu cards away. This is maybe ok for a cheap guesthouse, but not a hotel in this price range. The breakfast is not bad, but needs a bit of a fresh concept and upgrade. The location is very good. Went for a seminar. If I went back privately I would probably book somewhere a bit more lively and passion for detail.
If you want a regular hotel then this is the place to stay. Really well located with restaurants and shops on your door step. The shopping and the restaurants are amongst the best the capital has to offer and the quality is really good Don't stay in the room above the kitchen as you can have some creepy crawly visitors.
The pivotal part of this hotel which keeps it running are the staff. From reception to restaurant waiters and security , these people are the workhorse of this dated hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable but the bathrooms need upgrading. Simply remove the baths and place shower units for today's travelers needs and expectations The wifi was poor on arrival and when this was pointed out to reception they were already aware and acknowledged the issue. From previous reviews it seems that this is an ongoing issue The building work outside is not in the control of the hotel but it was not possible to endure any chill out time by the courtyard swimming pool due to the overwhelming construction noise On my last evening a huge crane was operating after 11pm and it was driven away making considerable noise at about 5am. The biggest issue for me about this hotel is the breakfast I felt like I was in a hostel or school trip because immediately when you arrive a laminated menu card is thrust in front of you which tells you what you can or cannot have to eat To say that you can have this OR this OR this is totally off putting and makes you feel like the hotel is dishing out Army rations In my experience people would not necessarily take every choice but would like the option to choose items from a list if the breakfast is a la carte style. It took 4 days for me attempting to get eggs easy over before I actually got them with a runny yolk. The hotel should seriously review the breakfast and maybe the management take a breakfast as customers do and see if they think it is acceptable That said the staff do there very best to make this experience as pleasant as they can given the archaic menu choices and rationing Overall the location of the hotel is good and the price fair but I would go back to the Ibis in future and take a room rate without breakfast using the saving to take breakfast in the many cafes in the area Thank you to the staff but a message to management please review your breakfast or lose customers to other hotels
Stayed at this hotel for about 4 times. The room is acceptable clean but old style. Staff are nice and polite. Convenient place to find good food and brief shopping. Just few minutes to the river where a number of local street vendors offer local products. Hotel restaurant offer basic western and local food. Room rates generally include breakfast.
Lovely place to stay, really comfortable and spotlessly clean. Yes it does need a slight upgrade but the friendly atmosphere and clean environment make up for that. We ate at the restaurant one night, food was very tasty and well presented. Breakfast also really nice. Overall a great place to stay.
First off, I would like to commend the friendly and helpful staff at the Best Western Vientiane (BWVTE) who work so hard to make sure guests are looked after and have a pleasant stay. The hotel, in many ways, is a microcosm of Vientiane itself - a city with soul and presence but in desperate need of investment in its infrastructure. That said, rooms are dated but perfectly functional. Communal areas are well-tended and presentable. The location is good, within touching distance of the Mekong and close to many restaurants and bars. It's just that it could all be so much better with a bit of investment and updating. The included breakfast is spartan by today's standards and of average quality. There is a lot of building work going on next door (April 2016) which means a fair amount of noise throughout the day, from early morning. But those staff. Working hard to please in the face of adversity. You'll remember those staff long after you've forgotten the hotel itself.
The room are spacious but need renovation. Because of the kindness of the staff and the very good location we rate excellent. We asked for a room away fräom the street and we receive it. You will get assistance for any activities. The breakfast is fair. The pool a bit small.
From the time this was the Taipan Hotel I have been coming here, and I am happy that in spite of the change to a Best Western Hotel nothing much has changed and the hotel still offers the same clean, simple and rather large rooms at a good price - their location is top, just off the Mekong river, with everything on walking distance. If only other things wouldn't change, but Vientiane is going through a building spree and at the city edge high rise appears on the horizon ... My only complaint is about the speed of the internet. It was so bad that I had to use the HTML version of gmail to send out email. I passed the complaint on the reception desk who assured me they would have this repaired and improved.
firstly many thanks to the excellent Sarah on The front desk who was helpful and professional throughout our stay. However we would have a few suggestions for management in order to improve the experience for guests and to build on the very friendly staff at BWVTE. 1. The Wifi has to work and work well in a capital city's hotel. This wasn't the case whilst we were there apart from a brief hour after Sarah had reset the router. 2. The Breakfast is unnacceptable and a wider range needs to be provided. 3. The gym needs refurbishing and provided with new equipment. 4. The rooms are quite large and a lot can be done with a lick of paint and new carpet...or even clean carpet. 5. Provide quality toiletries and perhaps a toothbrush in the bathroom for guests.
Clean, modern, but with a definite Lao style, this hotel met all our needs and more. It has excellent facilities, an amazing staff, and you simply can not beat the location; some of the best restaurants in town are literally a few steps away.
I only stayed here for one night but I was blown away after my stay at iHouse. This is by far the best place I have ever stayed in Laos. Location is right in the middle of the action. The food is top quality and normally priced. The pool is relaxed and almost private. The rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable. I would give this Best Western 9 out of 10 points. What a great hotel
Wife and I just finished attending trade show in town, stayed here for 5 nights. Treated and welcomed like family. Sara is the nicest and best host you could ask for. This location is right in the middle. Have over 100 restaurants to choose from in a 10 minute walk. If you want to just go out the front door, try Tyson's, GREAT place. The rooms at the Best Western are nice and big, most of the rooms have an outside patio, ours overlooked the Mekong river. Our next visit we will only stay at the Best Western. Good job Sara...
What more can gou want for the money. It delivers on all fronts. The rooms are huge, clean and comfortable. The best bit of Vientiane is on your doorstep and it is close to several good restaurants. Why pay more.
I have stayed in many hotels and guest houses over the years in Vientiane and this is by far the best one! The hotel is located near the riverfront and has many restaurants, bars and other businesses nearby. It is in the best location in Vientiane! The room is good sized and done to western standards. Comfortable bed, refrigerator with minibar, desk for work, good wifi and a balcony. Breakfast came with the room and the menu was different kinds of eggs to order or Asian breakfast soup. I had scrambled eggs and bacon and it was the best bacon I have had in Asia. There was serve yourself coffee from an actual coffee machine, lots of fruit and also bread products. There was a business center with computers and a printer adjacent to the lobby to print out boarding passes and vouchers. The staff were very courteous and helpful and the only issue during my stay was the elevator was being repaired and was out of service but they apologized when I checked in and it was to be back in service within a week. I HIGHLY recommend this hotel.
This hotel really make me impress. It is good hotel where locates in the central area of the city. It is really nice and clean with great service of staff. I(t has free Wi-Fi and free high speed internet to use in the room too. It is really convenient for business trip because this hotel locates in the great business area and it has free breakfast in the morning. It is reasonable price; not so cheap but not expensive as well. It is worth what you paid for it.
Will make it short Pros: *Great location (close to the river, night market, few bars around) *nice and helping staff *room was big *ac worked really good at my room Cons: *overpriced in my opinion *breakfast wasnt good Overall: I enjoyed my stay but i am not sure if will go again because of the price
Stayed for one night at BEST WESTERN in Vientiane/Laos. Very friendly and helpful staff, especially Sarah at reception. Central location, I was able to leave my car right outside the hotel, fantastic. Decent rooms, breakfast ok. Hotel currently under renovation (lift not working but no problem for us), but there was no noise that disturb us. Will stay there again!
Booked this hotel through Agodo because of the Best Western reputation and the positive reviews on a short business trip front Thailand to Laos. The hotel itself is quite tired and is situated in a run down one way street surrounded by construction sites. It is in a central locator and close to bars, restaurants and the night market. I'd booked a deluxe (?) Queen room,the room was quite spacious and clean but looks out onto the wall of another building that needs painting. Some staff do speak English but you need either Lao or Thai to be understood. Breakfast something of a surprise.. although 'adequate' you are restricted to either sausage or bacon with your eggs, I like both..? The swimming pool again is clean but just adequate and took a little finding as the signed directions appear to point you upstairs via the fitness centre. Having looked at some of the nearby accommodation alernatives we concluded that the BW was probably the best of a bad lot. The hotel also advertise transfer to the friendship bridge for $40 USD! Something we had arranged ourselves for just 300 THB ($9). Not a hotel I intend to rush back to...!
We arrived at Best Western after a long bustrip from Vang Vieng. The receptionist was really positive and checked us in really fast without hassle. The room was of great size and the aircondition was good in the Vientiane-heat. Non of the staff spoke very good english, and we needed to confirm some flighttickets. They had a hard time calling the airline, airport and so on - so we just went to the airport. Lucky for us, we made it :-) We chose this hotel because of the pool, but was really sorry to see that the pool was closed when we arrived. Best Western did not give us any information about this before arriving. We did not have time to try the breakfast - sad to say. The location of the hotel was central, and you will find a lot of places around to eat and drink. Wifi signal was good. I will not have any problems coming back to Best Western Vientiane.
Great location near lots of restaurants, great service from smiling staff, good breakfast and decent, clean bedroom. There is a small gym and an outdoor pool but the pool becomes very shaded from around 3pm onwards so go in the mornings if you want the sun.
I chose this hotel because of its central location and Best Western reputation. My room was spacious. The bed was firm but comfortable. The bathroom was adequate for my needs on this trip. Room cleaning was of a high standard. Breakfast was good with a decent selection of fruits. Wi fi was adequate. The staff were friendly and generally helpful. I had a problem with my air conditioner which they attended to very quickly. The restaurant was excellent with a very good selection of local cuisine cooked and presented to a high standard. The swimming pool and fitness centre were a welcome relief and well maintained as was the hotel in general. I liked the decor and ambiance of The Western especially the timber floors throughout the hotel. Check in and out was fast and efficient. The hotel also provided a free airport transfer which is to be applauded. Too many hotels either neglect or charge for this service. Laos is very much a developing nation that promises much for the future. The people are very friendly, conservative and laid back. Adequate English is going to be essential for the future especially if Laos wishes to attract tourists. The one major criticism of the hotel (actually Laos in general) was the poor level of spoken English. On two occasions the attendants on the front desk were unable to understand me. I realise that education standards in Laos may not be what we are accustomed to in modern industrial countries however in the hospitality industry there should always be at least one person on all hotel front desks with at a basic understanding of English. Overall I enjoyed my stay at The Best Western. I would not hesitate to stay here again.
Great staff, comfortable rooms, mediocre breakfast, great location and a welcoming general manager who could not do enough for us. Really enjoyed our stay. What it lacked in Food & Beverage, they made up for in many other ways.
My favorite part of staying here is that the staff always remembers us and knows what we like for breakfast. Every staff member feels like family because they are so helpful and interested in our happiness.
Excellent location close to all the restaurants and a short walk from the main wats and tourist attractions. Just rent a bike! Ask for a room in the back not facing the construction site and it's perfect. Big rooms, excellent service. The breakfast is kinda average but it's the same case even in the best hotels in Europe but the staff is kind and very serviable, they really make the difference. Check in/out flawless. Strongly recommend, very good value below 80$. Will come back for sure.
Stayed here for the night as we had an early morning flight the next day. When we arrived staff were very friendly. They booked our taxi for the next morning and pointed out to us where was good to have a look around at night. Room was clean and big, very accommodating. I would stay here again no problems
I spent two nights here and enjoyed my stay. Check in and out was fast and easy. The front desk staff were friendly and spoke excellent English. The lobby is clean and organized with free English newspapers. The room was clean, had comfortable bedding, good a/c and hot water. The room faced the street yet was very quiet for sleeping. The cable tv had CNN and the internet was fast and reliable. The stay included breakfast and you had options of western or Asian dishes. The outdoor pool was clean and refreshing. This was a great place to stay and is very close to restaurants and shops. I would recommend.
I stayed in Best Western Vientiane about two weeks ago. It is a small hotel in a good location. The deluxe rooms are 32 sq. m. in size, rather spacious. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. The downside was the weak wifi connection in my room. About two days before I checked out, the internet connection of the hotel conked out. The big pluses of the hotel is its proximity to the Mekong River on one end and Dongpaina Rd. on the other where Joma bakery cafe and other cafes and restaurants are located. I will stay in Best Western Vientiane again.
This hotel is a reasonable option for decent accommodation in a good location in Vientiane. We originally booked for 2 nights but extended to 4 as it let our needs. The location is very good, with instant access to bars, restaurants and shops. It is also not too far to walk to the river. We stayed there during the boat racing festival, and it was very noisy. However, all noise ends by 11.30pm so it was manageable. The room itself was really spacious, with a fairly comfortable bed. The bathroom was ok, with everything you needed. The room was reasonably clean, but bed sheets and towels are clearly worn as they have old stains on them. They should be replaced. The hotel itself is clean as well, and we didn't see any mosquitos during our stay there. The gym and pool looked ok, although we didn't use them. We had breakfast included in our price, and it was ok. There were some basic things available (toast, yoghurts, fruit) and you could order a hot breakfast. This would arrive with freshly cooked eggs, but with everything else on the plate cold or lukewarm, suggesting that the other items are left out for some time. The staff were mixed. The people in the restaurant were generally very helpful and friendly. Most of the staff on reception however, were not very helpful. We would often ask questions to them to which they didn't know the answer. However they didn't want to say that, so they would make an answer up which was incorrect. This included many sets of directions, which was a bit of a pain! I noticed that there were many trainees, so perhaps they just need more time for training. I do have to make a special mention however for Sarah from reception, who was the opposite of the experience mentioned above. She checked us in on arrival with a smiling face, and she could not have been more helpful during our stay. Without her, I would have scored this hotel a 3. All in all, I would stay here again.
Very friendly and helpful staff, great American breakfast, perfect location, and large rooms make this a great place to stay while in Vientiane. We have stayed here about 10 times for both business and pleasure.
It's best location where you can consider when travelling to visit in Vientiane city, Laos. It's a central place, I can say. It's near Night market, Mekong river, and other tourism interests. Check it out!
This is an older building that seems to have been partly renovated/updated so quality/presentation is variable through the building. Bedrooms are large and nice with decent beds and furniture and good AC, though the refurb on them has not extended to the ceiling light fittings or fitting the plastic blanking between the breakers in the fuse box to stop fingers getting to live wires if the lights trip... Bathrooms look like they had a basic update a while back, they are clean and functional but need some more money spending on them. The pool, though it looks good in the photographs, is in need of some repair/refurbishment to bring it up to standard, there's a lot of mould in the grout between the tiles below the waterline and one of the underwater lights is hanging off (as at 28/8/15.) Cleanliness generally excellent (apart from the mould in the pool grout). Breakfast uninspiring but OK. We have had breakfasts as good or better at £10/night guesthouses in Laos. Wifi is very good. Location and local amenities are excellent. Staff were excellent. Suspect Best Western have been doing a load of customer service training, we even had assistance with our bags - a first for Laos! For business use I would be happy to stay here and probably would have given it a 4 or 5. For a family stay it's a 3 at present but would not take much to get it to 4/5.
Large and spacious room with strong A/C (the best I've encountered in 6 weeks' touring of SE Asia). Mini-fridge and coffee/tea fixings. Prompt and efficient room cleaning. Front desk staff friendly, especially Sarah. Many good restaurants, an excellent Cafe Sinouk, ATMs, and a couple of 7-11 type convenience stores all just around the corner. A view of the Mekong and night market from the higher floor room balcony, within walking distance of major tourist sites in Vientiane, and very affordable. Pool and fitness center. Breakfast buffet disappointing , but many good cafes serving good breakfasts nearby. Book direct on the BW site for best rates. Their email address is uncontactable (mailbox exceeds quota error messages).
This hotel is in an excellent location - near the waterfront and surrounded by cafes and restaurants. Previously named the Tai Pan, it's a classy old hotel but shows her age, vestiges of faded glory. We kind of like this and found the place to be full of character.Heavy timbers, large rooms and reasonably quiet, given the location. The front rooms overlook the street and have glimpses of the Mekong. The staff were always helpful and polite. The new manager Sarah assisted us in any way she could . Our only difficulty was contacting them through email. An issue the're aware of and looking to rectify.
Best Western Vientiane provides an airport shuttle. The rooms are medium sized, comfortable, and nicely appointed - and have a decent desk to work at with internet. Hotel staff are accommodating and friendly. Business centre for printing adjacent to the lobby, and a meeting room available for bookings. The areas adjacent to the bar are convenient during the day for small, informal meetings and work. Staff can arrange a vehicle and driver where necessary. Breakfasts are complimentary with the room, and decent. Rue Francois Nginn is full of little restaurants and cafés, so it's very convenient to step out for a dinner or lunch, or drinks. Pool. Unless you're looking to rough it or enjoy a cozier guest house experience, Best Western is highly recommended for business and personal travel in Vientiane.
Wherever Life Takes You, Best Western Is There®
Each Best Western® branded hotel is independently owned and operated.