Room 1
Room 2
Room 3
Promotion code

Best Western Hotel Gobi's Kelso, Ulaanbaatar

Bayangol 4-th Khoroo, Jasrai Street, 27/1, 16051, Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia - See on a map
The Best Western Gobi's Kelso is ideally located in the center of Ulaanbaatar. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

Welcome to the Best Western Gobi's Kelso! Select this great Best Western hotel in Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia and enjoy a host of convenient amenities at a great value while traveling. The Best Western Gobi's Kelso is conveniently located with easy access to key area business locations and shopping. Hotel guests will appreciate onsite dining and the exercise facility. Each well-appointed room features high-speed Internet access, iron/ironing board, air-conditioning and hairdryer. Make an online reservation today and save at this Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia hotel! Free Wi-Fi and Breakfast. In a walking distance from the Central Train Station. Enjoy your stay.

Best Western

Hotel Gobi's Kelso




Hotel advantages

  • Restaurant
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
    Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Air conditioning
    Air conditioning
  • Lounges/bars
  • Free parking
    Free parking
  • Outdoor parking
    Outdoor parking
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
  • Multilingual staff
    Multilingual staff
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
Certificate of Excellence 2018
based on 102 guest reviews
Very Good
Business Business
Couples Couples
Family Family
Friends getaway Friends getaway
Solo travel Solo travel
Sleep Quality

"Very friendly people"

huo2019, San Diego, California 03/10/2019

The front desk girls were so friendly and helpful, it made our stay in Ulaanbaator very pleasant. We don't speak a word of Mongolian and we relied on them for arranging tours and getting vegetarian meals.

kelsobw, Manager at Best Western Gobi's Kelso, responded to this review
Thank you for taking your time for the review. we love to hear about our staff and services. we really appreciate it and hope to see you soon, take care!

"Great Budget hotel"

Laurabelle03, Portland, Oregon 23/09/2019

Pros: excellent service from the staff, closer to airport than the cbd hotels, the 3 of us had a room with 3 single beds (yes!) that was basically a suite with separate living area, great WiFi, decent breakfast, hot shower. Cons: a bit dated, but what do you expect from budget hotel? This was a great place to flop, before starting our Mongolian adventure and after traveling 25 hours. And truly the staff are excellent!

kelsobw, Manager at Best Western Gobi's Kelso, responded to this review
Thank you for taking your time for the review. we love to hear about our staff and services. we really appreciate it and hope to see you soon, take care!

"thumbs up"

GoPlaces600910, Mongolia 06/09/2019

Best service ever. Friendly staff.The receptionist was fluent in English.They are willing to help you at anytime. They offered 3 times breakfast even we stayed 2days. Close to train station,convenient hotel, clean and comfortable.

kelsobw, Manager at Best Western Gobi's Kelso, responded to this review
Thank you for taking your time for the review. we love to hear about our staff and services. we really appreciate it and hope to see you soon, take care!

"Good but...can improve"

RickardMussla, Formigine, Italy 13/07/2019

The hotel is pretty ok for a budget place. The location is good but not excellent as about 4 km from the city center, however the cost of a taxi is affordable, about 6000T to the main square. Breakfast is average; the annoying part was the credit card reader that didn't work in and I had to go for an external atm and pay cash.

kelsobw, Manager at Best Western Gobi's Kelso, responded to this review
Thank you for taking your time for the review.


CieEves, Tokyo Prefecture, Japan 15/10/2018

My husband and I arrived in Mongolia at 11:40pm and were picked up by hotel staff. The cost was $15 and was simple, fast, and much easier than dealing with the taxi drivers. When we arrived we were informed that we had gotten a free upgrade and we were given the key to our suite! The woman at the check in desk spoke perfect English as well which was very helpful for us. The next day she also helped to call us a taxi and provided us with a map of the city. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone but especially if you're arriving late at night! Walking distance to the train station and a super simple airport pickup.

"Basic budget hotel with good food"

Chelenb33, Melbourne, Australia 13/09/2018

This no frills hotel is a good choice for the budget price range. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The breakfast and dinner were large portions and surprisingly tasty and good quality considering the overall sub-standard food quality in UB. It's a little bit out of the way of the central CBD but no problem if you like walking.

"Transfer hotel for Transsiberian railway adventure"

WineGiant, Soestduinen, The Netherlands 04/08/2018

We used this hotel as a transfer hotel on our Transsiberian Railway trip. In which we took a 7 days trip in Mongolia. Reasonable hotel. Not super high class. But good enough. It is Near the railwaystation. That's why we booked it. They offer ‘take away breakfast'. That's perfect for the train travelers.

"Lovely Stay, Good Location"

Healzontour, Sydney, Australia 29/07/2018

What a delightful hotel. Didn't know what to expect on our first time Mongolia- the Best Western was a great surprise. Check in staff were extremely helpful, rooms very nice and restaurant had a good variety for breakfast and dinner. Couldn't complain at all. Laundry was very fast and reasonably priced. Would stay here again.

"Okay if you are on a budget"

LaurelM123, Hartford, Connecticut 16/07/2018

The good: very nice staff, very good free breakfast. The room seemed clean. But definitely needs a spruce. So much so that I didn't want to be barefoot in the room or put my belongings on the floor. The bad: the hangers are attached to the rod and are too big for the closet. A sure sign of a low-grade hotel. The towels were all damp. Like they had been folded while hot out of the dryer and the staff didn't realize they were still wet. The water needs to run for about 10 minutes to get hot. There are no decent restaurants within walking distance. Other than the security guard and the desk manager, the entire staff went camping so we could not get our second morning of free breakfast. claims that they have free shuttle service, but they don't. This might be a glitch. I told the staff though so that they can try to fix that. View of a construction site strewn with garbage. Bottom line, we opted to stay elsewhere and forego our non-refundable rate here.

"Excellent service and good and clean rooms at a decent location"

gtchap, New York City 25/06/2018

Hi there. Stayed here during my last visit to Ulaanbaatar. The staff at the front desk were the friendliest and most eager to help that I have ever seen. The location is closed to the train station but this is not exactly the most happening neighborhood in the evening. There is also a supermarket right next to the hotel. Overall a great place at a very reasonable rate.

"Great service and near the train station"

jack_buckland, Manchester, United Kingdom 16/06/2018

Had a one night stay here before heading to the train state the next morning. Easy walk from the station and best customer service in Mongolia. The bar had run out of beer which was the only down side.

"Superb customer service!"

User 24/05/2018

Gobi's Kelso is located about 10 minutes Walk from the Train station. We got a room good for three persons and the room is huge! The bedroom is separated from the living room. Aside from that, the breakfast is also huge and is not the same every day. Plus, internet speed is really fast. From the four countries I've been to recently (China, Mongolia, Russia and Vietnam), this was by far the fastest! And the best thing about this hotel is their customer service! Their receptionists (I forgot their names) and most especially their manager who drove us to get the pictures from the studio and to the train station in one go. We really had a blast staying in this hotel and and in Mongolia in general.

"Excellent choice for being near train station"

PeteD_London, London 21/04/2018

I think this was one of the warmest welcomes I have ever received in a hotel. Both the man on the front desk, who was great to chat with, and the lady heading up the restaurant spoke perfect English. It is about 10 minutes walk from the train station and maybe 30 minutes walk into the centre of UB, although there are plenty of buses into town if you don't fancy the walk. Apart from the fact that the water never ran hot however long I let it run for, and that the sink was in a very tight space due to the large shower cubicle, everything was perfect. Clean, quiet, comfortable and warm room. I was there off season and was actually the only guest staying there. Really appreciated the free upgrade to a suite. There is a restaurant and a bar. I chose to eat in the bar (it has a more cozy atmosphere and the same menu). The food was OK but probably would not eat there again, but the beer was very nice. Breakfast was great and very filling.

"Great Place to Stay in Ulaanbaatar"

swickwire2017, Sacramento, California 11/04/2018

I stayed in this hotel 2 nights and found it to be very pleasant. The breakfast was great, the hotel had fast internet and a business area for guest use. I stayed in another hotel on my way out of the city and was sorry I didn't stay at this hotel again.

"Nice place"

M J B, Milwaukee, Wisconsin 10/10/2017

Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms are fine and showers hot. Sheets were nice. Great breakfast with both Mongolian and western food. Convenient location. ATM in lobby. I'd certainly stay here again if/when I return to Mongolia.

"Nice hotel staff"

Steve R, Orlando, Florida 25/07/2017

Stayed there one night last week and really couldn't complain too much about anything. I'd highly recommend taking a taxi there and the going rate is 24,000 or $10USD. If you're paying in US dollars, they only accept new bills. The hotel itself is very clean and the staff very friendly and spoke great English. We even had a breakfast to go since we left before it started. The room was spacious and clean and the bathroom very nice. The bed mattress is extremely hard and pillows very thin. The shower pressure is good, but it takes at least 5 minutes for the hot water to come through. Definitely a good option while in Ulaanbaataar, but not for more then a night or two.

"Amazing Experience in Mongolia"

snowrabbit2001, San Diego, CA 19/07/2017

We flew in from Beijing China and arrived at 4am at the Best Western. We were tired and worn out and our trip started with a smile from Sarah the desk Clerk as we entered and she issued us the keys to the room and off the sleep we went. The room was clean and in great repair and the beds comfortable. We woke up and enjoyed a lovely simple breakfast in the dining room and again met the rest of the staff on duty. Most of the staff speaks Mongolian and very little English but they are very friendly and make the attempt to communicate. We finished out our trip a week later and looking forward to booking with them on our next trip. If you go to Mongolia use this hotel, it is small and not in downtown but is relaxed and the staff was amazing.

"Decent Location with Great Staff"

Cayne A, Emerald, Australia 02/07/2017

We had a group of 6 friends stay here before heading off on a mountain bike trek and the staff really looked after us. On arrival we had a "taxi" driver try and rip us off but the person on the front desk went into bat for us and ensured we only paid a fair and reasonable amount. I then had issues with my bank cards and needed to make an international call. The hotel doesn't allow international calls, so the front desk person allowed me to use their personal phone. The day of our train ride north for the bike trek we wanted to keep a room so we could store our bags and have a shower before leaving on the evening train. When we asked about keeping a room they allowed us to keep all the rooms until late afternoon and didn't charge us extra. They sourced outdoor shops, eating places, local sites and even chased up pricing to have a hit of golf at the local club, all without a fuss. The staff were excellent! The rooms were fine, with wifi access and a hot shower. My bed was very rigid and not the most comfortable but considering the service we received I was able to easily get passed that. Breakfast was included in the accommodation with the food being decent and plentiful. There are laundry facilities available. I didn't use them so not 100% sure on cost or if detergent was available but I know one of the boys did use the facility and I didn't hear any complaints. The hotel is in walking distance to the train station and a money exchange for exchanging foreign currency into local. Although we were a bit daunted about walking down town from the hotel, once we worked out the direct route it was only about 10-15 minutes walk and we always felt safe both during day and night. Once you got into town there were plenty of choices for a meal and a drink. If you want to be based in the middle of town and have everything on your doorstep, then maybe this hotel isn't for you but if you are happy for a 10 minute stroll either way then this place will be more than adequate. If you intend to catch a train, then it is ideal. I'd stay here again.

"Barely Decent"

koolkat808, Honolulu, Hawaii 25/06/2017

We checked in very late at night and left early the next morning… so this review is based on my "first impressions." Our room was very small and the beds were hard, with mediocre linens. What I did not like was the fact that the bathroom did not appear to be super clean, and the sink drain was partially clogged. Too short a stay to complain, though. Best thing about this property was that the staff was nice and spoke English. I would personally not opt to stay here again, as we had a much better experience for a lower price at Hotel Nine (on our way back).

Erdenebayar B, General Manager at Best Western Gobi's Kelso, responded to this review
Dear koolkat808, Thank you for taking your precious time to review our hotel. We are sorry not to meet your expectations. If you want to discuss more about our hotel feel free to contact us at Best regards,

"5* Service"

Roger D, Oxford, United Kingdom 14/06/2017

We stayed here as part of our train journey through the country. From start to finish the staff could not have done more to help us with every aspect of our journey. Nothing was too much problem for them. The manager, Erdenebayar, arranged a driver to give us a city tour of the outlying attractions by email before we visited. When we had problems with a taxi they hunted them down to sort the problem. They made us a breakfast to take away when we had to leave early, and we enjoyed a long chat with Erdenebayar one evening in the restaurant about Mongolia's history. All of the other staff also go out of their way to help you and most of them speak excellent English which we appreciated. The rooms were smart and well equipped. The shower was hot and powerful. We were on the fifth floor and while there was a loud party in the bar one day, it had finished by early evening so we could sleep in peace. The restaurant was good - we ate here one evening and there was plenty of choice and plenty of quantity. Breakfast was fine - a few hot options and continental too. The only downside is the location which is somewhat removed from the city centre but for us didn't matter due to our taxi tour and having a pickup booked the next day also. It is so close to the train station that it is excellent for that purpose.

"I met good friends here"

Medith_H, United Kingdom 07/06/2017

We have no idea in this trip just want to take our daughter to adventure somewhere different. I booked this hotel because of the reviews. Everything going so well, we came on April 2017, Still cold. Hotel is good. Staff very nice and help us lots, She organize our trip wonderful 20 days happened. Cheaper than any tour agents. We got so many good friend here and i never forget, i'll be back again.

"Best Hotel Experience Ever!"

Espressogal, Orange, Australia 26/05/2017

Staying only one night, we were greeted with a room upgrade to a suite on arrival. Then when we were leaving too early to enjoy breakfast they offered a takeaway breakfast to have on the train. (the hotel is a hop skip and jump away from the station) They also helped with express laundry (back in 6 hours) and finally an lovely off duty manager offered us a ride into the centre of town on his way home when a taxi wouldn't be available for another 40 mins. The whole experience was above and beyond. Highly recommended.

"Great service and price"

silarem, Adjuntas, Puerto Rico 05/05/2017

We only stayed for 1 night but were able to do an early check in. I think we were the only ones in the floor, we never saw any other person around but it was low season. There was wifi in the room, and free bottled water. There is not much to do outside the hotel so we never ventured out. That was our last day in Mongolia so we just relaxed. I need to say that the front desk lady was really helpful, she ordered our pizza by phone so we could get a delivery to our room and her English was really good. Also, we were the only ones having breakfast and we got juice, tea, bread and a super tasty porridge. I thought that was it but suddenly a lady came up with the rest of the breakfast which included veggies and chicken. Very fresh and tasty. We paid less than $60usd, cant beat that price.

"48hour stay"

Sooboy22, Dubai, United Arab Emirates 09/04/2017

Very friendly staff, stayed for 1 night. Arrived early morning and they allowed us to get into our room early. Walking distance from the train station. Out of the train station start walking to the left. Once you get to the gas/petrol station cross there and walk up that road... hotel will be on your left hand side! Google it! Staff was friendly, not a lot of English but the people at the front desk. Wifi was very strong and great shower. 10 minutes from the city Center. Ate at the hotel and the portions are very large. And cheap. Mongolian food doesn't have much taste but it does fill the belly. Front desk girl helped in organizing a driver who took us to 3 different locations outside of the city for the day as well as transportation to the airport.

"mongol's hospitality"

Greenaska, Singapore, Singapore 11/03/2017

i was very satisfied for the customer service level of BW gobi's kelso. The receptionists are very friendly and helpful. They spoke excellent English and answered all my queries. The lady receptionist helped me to call the grocery store behind to check out their opening hours. The guy receptionist helped me to order pizza as there wasn't anything to eat during their lunar new year. When we wanted to call a cab to railway station, they offered us a ride on her car! (i know it's near to train station, but we have too many luggage to handle the walk) For the room, i will give average rating. Firstly, the entrance light and 2 standing lights were not working, left only 2 warm white light at night. Secondly and the main problem we face is the water. It was brownish when we use the hot water and smell of iron, we suspect the water tank is heavily rusty, it even made the pure white basin turn yellowish. So we cant help but using cold water to brush teeth. The brownish hot water lasted for first day & night, the next day close to noon time become better, still slight yellowish though. We were just staying for 1 and half day to catch up our train therefore we didn't ask to change a room.

"Superb service "

User 18/12/2016

I arrived at 7am and was given a room immediately. The receptionists are fantastic and eager to help. My baggage was delayed and they phoned the airport and sorted everything out for me. English is spoken extremely well, the room was clean, spacious and comfy, nice and warm, breakfast was good, the bar is cosy and the food delicious and reasonably priced. About 20-25 minute walk from centre, close to train station and supermarket behind to stock up on vodka and chocolate. I've been fortunate enough to stay in some of the best hotels in the world, the service here compares to some of the best. The only negative is the noise from the trains in the middle of the night, they seem to constantly sound there horns. But that obviously isn't the hotels fault. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone traveling to Ulaanbaatar.

"Five stars for a four-star hotel."

Eric G, Los Angeles, California 16/11/2016

The Best Western Gobi's Kelso Hotel is located a short cab ride from downtown Ulaanbaatar in a quiet, mostly residential, area. The rooms are clean, the showers are hot with strong water pressure, and the internet is fast and reliable. They serve an excellent American breakfast, with some extra Mongol side dishes thrown in for good measure. The desk staff speak excellent English (though the restaurant staff is less fluent). The price is right. What more can you ask of a hotel in Ulaanbaatar?

"Customer care was excellent"

User 01/11/2016

I'm a local guy. I had been there 2 years ago. My business colleagues from China didn't follow their standard rule "Non smoking" and rejected their stay at Best western Kelso hotel. It was very ordinary rule. Of course they could smoke at outside freely. Really excited with hotel staff's good manner. One more good thing is, our chinese friends refunded back their money and stayed at another smoke free hotel. Have a safe journey and follow some ordinary rules!

"Great staff, great hotel"

Kent W, Missoula, Montana, United States 21/10/2016

After staying in hostels near and around Lake Baikal, then riding the Russian Railway-Mongolian Express two nights from Irkutsk, this was a most welcome stop on my long foreign trip, which had started nearly four weeks earlier. Though I only spent 36 hours in Ulan Bator on August 21-22, it was made most memorable by the personal tour I had from Uyanga Erdene, a hotel employee, who took me to the Genghis Khan statue and Terelji National Park, then around UB in her car. My room was ideal, the food was good, and the English speaking staff, in addition to Uyanga, was great. I'd recommend the Gobi Kelso in a heartbeat.


Irlantilainen, Helsinki, Finland 15/10/2016

Much better value than city centre hotels, the BW Gobi Kelso is tucked away in the quiet suburbs but close to the railway station and bus services. Friendly staff who had lived in the UK, and thus spoke perfect English. Airport shuttle, good bar and restaurant, clean comfortable rooms. A great welcome start for a first visit to Mongolia.

"Friendly and welcoming"

User 03/10/2016

I was delighted with this hotel. After two night onthe train from irkutsk it came as a welcome surprise to find directions myself in such a comfortable room and to get a hassle free early check in. It is less than 10 minutes from the station so no need for a taxi and the reception staff spoke good English. I ate in the bar in the evening and the food was reasonably priced and we'll prepared.

"Nice stay on first night in Mongolia"

User 09/08/2016

Gobi Kelso fit the bill for our brief stay when we arrived in Ulan Baatar. They were able to arrange a driver for us out to the Chinggis Khan statue on a day when most cars were banned from the city due to a state visit! Breakfast was complete and satisfying.

"World class service"

User 01/08/2016

If you're lucky, you will be greeted by the receptionist, Oyanga, officially the world's nicest hotel receptionist. She is a huge plus for the hotel. We (3 of us) had just finished our 4-day Ger to Ger trek and we're delighted to arrive at the BW Gobi and find a spacious and clean bedroom, and staff that were so nice and helpful. UB is quite expensive for hotels, so relatively speaking, we found BW Gobi to be very good value (USD100 a night for room with 3 beds and separate lounge). The food downstairs is good, but could be a lot better. The location is great if you want easy access to the Trans-Mongolian rail, but otherwise, you will need to take taxis to most places in UB (eg restaurants, tourist attractions, etc). For those reasons, I've given it 4 stars instead of 5.

"Great Stay much needed aftef 20 days in the wild"

Jasmine-Idaho, Idaho Falls, Idaho 26/07/2016

We were so happy to get a hot shower, bed and bug free room. Do t get me wrong the yurt stays were amazing, family hosting for Naadam was remarkable . But Thank You Best Western for providing this clean quiet space with great staff and the manager was extremely helpful as well!! Advice: IF you are looking for a downtown market Square location this is not for you- IF you are wanting to be closer to the community of Ulaanbaatar, with transportation options close, bus,train taxi ect. This is a good fit.

"The Staff make this place !!!!"

User 14/07/2016

From the manager Erdenebayar, whom could not do enough to help with any request! Front office lady Odgerel with her infectious smile , Odgerel took us in her own car on a trip to see a Gurt , and here English was far better than a guide we used !!! To Ariurbold the mane man in the bar , they are so polite , so ready to help , and both Erdenebayar and Odgerel had great recommendations for us , they made our stay so much more.,seriously good , well done and thank you .We were also invited for dinner to the owners own Gurt and shown his race horses very special !!!!!!!

"Clean room, bad location "

User 11/07/2016

The room was large and clean, with a great shower. The bed was pretty hard- not my style. The service was good and the breakfast was yummy- they even threw in an extra breakfast for us after we landed on an early flight. Biggest issue was location. It's too far from the central square to walk there, and the neighborhood is icky. We ended up taking lots of cabs and though they were cheap the drivers didn't know the hotel. We often had to show them on the map. But if you're not needing to be downtown its a nice place to stay.

"Excellent Hotel and Great for three travellers"

WMBandit, Shanghai, China 01/07/2016

News, clean, safe and located in a quiet neighborhood, this is the only hotel that offered great prices (reasonable!) for three travellers - the other hotels are too outrageous in price! Room is very modern ( there is only ONE room with THREE beds). Bathroom offered great hot shower much welcomed after 3 days without taking any showers during our road trip. All toothbrush, gel, towels are provided. The beds are comfortable- great air-con, thick curtains to ensure good night sleep and love the full length mirror and wardrobe as well as the big sofas in the living room! It is close to the train station so this is good for those who arrive by train - it is also walkable to the ULB main square and winter palace as well a currency exchange places, restaurants and bus stops etc ( basically, a great convenient spot)! Our window faces some local's apartment and it was an awkward hi to the locals who accidentally saw me waving at them! Great breakfast free and great food- also a popular place for locals since their bar is quite well-known. Taxi to airport around 20,000 - 30,000 - ask them to book taxis for you! Great staff who are willing to help you out and they store luggage for free


Kate789Melbourne, Melbourne 06/05/2016

Arrived in Mongolia around 4pm on Trans Sib, and taken straight on tour by incredibly knowledgeable hotel staff. Enjoyed Ghenghis statue and National Park but surprised by wall to wall ger camps! Extremely happy staying in UB for 2 nights at this hotel - staff were all so friendly and helpful, good great and rooms had everything. UB a fascinating place - enjoyed walking around, museums etc. Don't miss it and stay at this fabulous hotel - Kate and Julia

"Would stay there again!"

Quitzau, København, Danmark 21/04/2016

We arrived with the transsiberian train early in the morning. Not only did we get a room this early, they also served breakfast for us! We got a huge suite with a living room and a sleeping room. Bed was comfy, pillows good. Food quality on the hotel was above average for Mongolia. Only got 2 minor comments for the owners: Cleaning could have been better, and get rid of that spotlight, which lights up the hotel. It lights up some of the rooms as well. :(

"Best Experience!"

trippertrouper, Santa Monica, California 16/10/2015

This review is long overdue...we got back from our trip a couple of months ago and the Best Western Gobi's Kelso Hotel was truly one of the highlights. Denga the Manager, and his crew were a goldmine of hospitality. Nothing else on our trip through Asia compared. They were accommodating, honest, sincere and went out of their way to make sure we were satisfied. They helped us solve a mixup with an airline ticket at the Mongolian ticket office, took us to the phone district to purchase a sim card, which was an experience in and of itself, and even secured tickets to the Naadam festival. Denga no doubt is a special person to begin with, but his staff which he handpicks, resembles his qualities investing in the patron to ensure their stay is memorable. He has a knack for selecting individuals who are well poised, intelligent, personable and friendly. They satisfied every request made. They will hire drivers and/or guides and recommend excursions and sending you off with an excellent boxed lunch. Every one of the desk managers was knowledgeable, fluent in several languages and versatile. You will see them at the front desk or serving breakfast or maybe pouring you a cold glass of chinggis khan beer in the bar . No question was left unanswered, no situation left unattended, only solutions. I felt like they wanted us to really enjoy our experience in Ulaanbatar, and how could we not? Thank you Denga, Oyanga, Tsengel, Gerel, Oyungerel, Baagii, and Moogi.

"Hotel very near to the main train station"

Wilfred P, Hong Kong, China 24/09/2015

I shall really like to thank you for the manager and the staff of this hotel who were so kind and nice to give me support and help during my stay in this hotel. First of all, the room was very large and comfort even though I only did only pay MNT153000 (less thank USD100). Besides, the manager also let me stay in the room and check out latest by 4:00pm because I would take the train to Irkutsk by 4:25pm. Although the hotel is not located in the city center but it is very near to the train station (I could even walk from train station by less than 5 minutes).

"The human touch"

User 16/09/2015

Conveniently situated near the main train station (approximate 10 mins walk), the hotel is behind a block of old apartments (which has a supermarket). It is rather old, but the rooms are well maintained and most importantly kept clean. The best part of the hotel is the extremely friendly staff, plus a yummy breakfast to boot! One of them actually recognised us as we got off a dishonest cab and ensured we got back on a honest one. Talk about a small world!

"Best hotel ever"

Lars S, Skanderborg 14/09/2015

The staff at this hotel makes a difference. I have never been to a hotel with a friendlier staff than this. When we arrived by train early in the morning, the room was ready and we were invited for breakfast. That was really nice. Rooms are spacy and nice. Wifi was not working properly which would normally make me rate a hotel badly but the staff did everything to make it work and I am sure that they will do what they can to improve this as soon as possible. On each floor there is a space with pc and from where the wifi was always working. Breakfast was very good. All kind of yummy stuff served at the table. There is a bar which also served food. We had dinner there and it was very good. The hotel can be a bit difficult to find. We arrived on the Trans Mongolian Railway and walked left from the station. We couldn't find the hotel even though we had a map. But there is a gas station on the right side of the street. Turn right there and the hotel will show up on your left hand. Walking distance is 600 m from the station which is fine if you don't have too much luggage. Thank you, Gobi Kelso, for a great experience.

"Useful location close to station"

User 04/09/2015

Stayed there in Sept 2015. The hotel is ok, nothing special, probably just worth the $100 we paid. Pros: -Comfortable hotel room -Location good if using train station -Staff are helpful (packed our breakfast up for us) Cons -Breakfast choice is v poor. Consisted of a tuna sandwich, egg and sausage. Only instant coffee as machine was broken. Staff managed to find croissants for us on second day -Unreliable wifi. Did not work second day

"Great value for money with free wifi & kind helpful staff. Requires taxi though to get to centre of UB."

docdot, London, England 31/08/2015

Location About 30 minutes drive & about 25,000mnt by taxi to airport. 10 minutes walk is main city railway station, of which hotel offers free transport to/from. The main city centre such as Chinggis square/Peace avenue is about 5-10 minutes by taxi depending on traffic and about 6000mnt by taxi. Within the area is a few supermarkets, pharmacy and pub. A very residential apartment complex area but was quiet at night. Room Nice size room in conservative furniture but clean offering a king size bed, quite firm though but nice bed frame, two of the four pillows have rice inside or beads- but comfortable. Bedside lamps on each of the bed side tables and modern alarm clock that projects clock to ceiling (if you touch it so don't worry not on all the time). One plugs is located close by the bed by sacrificing a bed side lamp. The room offers a nice wooden desk to work from and some international plug socket exists plus a simple chair to work from. There is also a kettle on top with tea/coffee making facilities. A TV is located above which is fairly confusing to use without instructions as two remotes required but once figured out (instruction in the brown folder) it does have plenty of channels from Mongolia, Russia, US, France, China, Italy etc even Turkmenistan. There are also two arm chairs in the room. A nice size wooden luggage rack is offered by entrance with a small fridge underneath that includes some soft drinks and chocolate bar. There are large wardrobes in which include a large laptop size safe, iron and ironing board. The bathroom is quite compact and offers a shower in a circular cubicle with full hotel branded amenities including toothbrushes. Toilet rolls are a bit slim but they do give you three. A separate remote control A/C unit exists and works well plus central heating radiators for winter. Overall room was nice, clean and comfortable and excellent value for money for UB. Facilities WIFI is secure and can be used for multiple devices, worked well without any issues. The hotel has a pub/restaurant but did not use this. Left too early before breakfast started (8am onwards) but staff did offer, during check-in, a takeaway compact breakfast but declined. According to directory there is a fitness room, billiards room and business centre but did not use/see. Staff Staff very nice, a lady at reception spoke English very well. I was sick with food poisoning and staff did assist me by coming to nearby pharmacy and helping me getting right medicine, since pharmacist did not speak English. Overall very helpful and every time i came in and out, staff acknowledge you. More personal service than at 5 Star blue sky that i just stayed at prior. For the value, this hotel is excellent and for my 3 days in UB, I wished this hotel was available over the weekend as its half the price of Blue sky which although is nice & better located, Best western is better value for money. It gets 5 stars because of this and how kind the staff were.

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Hotels nearby