ROOM 1
ROOM 2
ROOM 3
Promotion code

Best Western Hotel Carlia, Uddevalla

3.5/5  - basé sur 171 notations.
Norra Drottninggatan 26, 451 31, Uddevalla, Sweden - See map

In the heart of Bohuslan, right in the city center of Uddevalla you will find the Best Western Hotel Carlia, a modern business and conference hotel. We offer tastefully decorated rooms and also the individually furnished Evert Taube-rooms, each one inspired by the works of the great singer and writer. We have a hotel bar, parking for 55 SEK per night and a relaxing area with sauna in Roman style. We are within walking distance from shopping, restaurants, pubs, entertainment, museums and public transportation. Not far away you will find several golf courses and beaches. Enjoy your stay.

Best Western

Hotel Carlia

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Hotel advantages

  • Restaurant
    Restaurant
  • Safe deposit box
    Safe deposit box
  • Sauna
    Sauna
  • Onsite laundry
    Onsite laundry
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
based on 171 guest reviews
NOTE ISSUED
Excellent
37
Very Good
60
Average
58
Poor
12
Terrible
4
REFER TO NOTICE
Business Business
61
Couples Couples
38
Family Family
32
Friends getaway Friends getaway
15
Solo travel Solo travel
10
SUMMARY NOTES
Cleanliness
Location
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Value

"Interesting bathroom experience..."

2
28/02/2018

I stayed for only one night with my family, and we found the hotel just fine aside from one major detail. This was the fact that there was a large window between the bathroom and the rest of the room. A person sitting on the bed would basically have eye contact with anyone sitting on the toilet, and a large mirror on the bathroom wall ensured a clear view of anyone taking a shower or bath to all the other residents of the room. Getting up to use the bathroom during the night and turning on the light would have been impossible without waking everyone. We asked the staff about this, and they simply said that the rooms were old and that this was how hotel rooms were built in the 80s. It is just so puzzling to me that they have left it like this! A simple set of blinds of curtains on the inside of the window would have solved the problem. The hotel is perfectly fine apart from this, but arriving to your hotel room after a day of travel to find a bathroom without any privacy is not a great experience.

"Sort of OK hotel with OK service"

3
30/08/2017

Hotel is very clean, quite, breakfast are acceptable, but nothing WOW. I would say the cost is a bit higher comparing with other hotels European countries. Cost should be around 75-85 EUR / night not more without breakfast. Hotel is on other hand located in the center of Uddavella.

"Basic"

2
11/08/2017

OK hotel. OK location. OK breakfast. Front desk/reception area shuts down and is locked up with a 20 plus foot long drop down metal garage door thing and opens at 7 when breakfast is available. You are basically locked in your room until breakfast unless you use the emergency exit.

"Great breakfast and service"

5
05/08/2017

I was suprised by the great breakfast, it was amazing! The service was great and the room was clean and cosy. It was especially nice that the parking is free and right next to the elevator. The only bad thing is the missing minibar and the lack of a restaurant. We stayed there for 5 nights and we had a great time.

"Good hotel till breakfast..."

3
01/08/2017

The hotel is closely located to the commercial center and restaurants. Room was quiet and large enough. Up to this point the stay was worth 4 stars but then I went for the "best" breakfast. Food wise it was good with a lot of choice. The problem is that the architect of the hotel forgot to provide adequate space for seated breakfast. So I ate my breakfast standing at the reception counter as many other were trying to eat standing or in the sofas in the reception hall.

"lovely staff, view and wifi bad, rooms nice enough"

3
07/06/2017

I came here on business but was disappointed by the wifi as I could not conduct a skype call because of the lack of wifi signal in my room. the view was straight on to a car park which had a street lamp less than 5m from my window. there were no curtains only transparent thin net curtains so everyone outside could see in although i could not see out and i was kept up all night by the extremely bright light. the room itself was basic but quaintly decorated and really quite nice. the staff were great.

"Evert Taube extra plus"

5
29/09/2016

Nice and friendly staff. Excellent breakfast.. The rooms decorated with motives from Evert Taubes songs extra interresting to stay in. Can akso recommend the restaurant Meetings with buffe meals in the evening.

"Average stay"

3
13/09/2016

Rooms are terribly outdated, but you still pay well over 100 euro per night. However the rooms and hotel are clean and the staff willing to assist. Breakfast features a broad selection, only the breakfast room is too small for the number of rooms. If your looking for a basic hotel and can get a better price then us, this hotel is fine

"Two nights "

4
25/07/2016

The rooms are very nice, rather small but very comfortable bed. Clean and excellent bathroom. Excellent breakfast, very nice and service minded staff daytime! The night staff needs quite a bit of training. To run away from the front disk when a guest is approaching the locked entrance door, to assume that everyone has a phone to call the hotel after hours and to take 1/2 hr to open the door is not on par with this hotels otherwise excellent service and quality! Otherwise 5 but till the training of the night staff I can only justify 4!

"Convenient Hotel in Uddevalla"

3
10/06/2016

Well appointed hotel with the space and facilities required for a business trip. Very good buffet breakfast. Attentive and helpful staff. There is a fitness room, but I was not aware of it pre-visit so did not use it.

"A good surprise"

5
21/04/2016

Booked this hotel and expected very little. Great surprise, friendly efficient check in, lovely large room, good wifi, quiet, great beds and clean. Breakfast had something for everyone and a good selection lactose free products. Well Done, it was a real gem of a place.

"A little of this, a little of that. #Mixed emotions"

3
28/03/2016

A bit hard to rate this hotel. On the one hand I want to be nice for all the good things and give 4 points. On the other hand... There was too many small things that adds up and makes me land on 3 points. 3 strong points though... The hotel is a strange blend of old and new. New and worn that is. A strange combination. Quite spacious rooms, good beds, flatscreen and water boiler. Nice. Not too good cleaning, loose doorhandle and stuff on the minus side. Bad/no fresh air system, not so nice. Makes you need to open the window, and if you are facing the street, that's a problem. I caved in at 04 o'clock and shut it. It's more quiet on the back side of the hotel, except for the lower floors. The are some big fans or stuff making a lot of noise, so you want to go as high as possible if you want some sleep. Hardworking girls in the reception and breakfast. Maybe too much to do? Efficient and nice, but no time for smiles or hello's. And cleaning tables at the same time could be too much, was hard to find a clean one when we came down to have breakfast. We had to start cleaning the table ourselves. Good selection at breakfast, cold & hot dishes, yoghurt and some fruit. Could have been more healthy choices though. Free coffee & tea all day in the reception area, very nice. We had a very nice buffet dinner in the adjacent restaurant. Not sure if it belonged to the hotel, but there was a walk-through to get in there. The chef sliced lamb and beef, both delicious and tender. Summary: ok hotel in the town centre, traffic/city noise, no fresh air system in the room, not possible to adjust temperature, no floor heating in the bathroom, big rooms, good beds, water boiler, ok breakfast, poor service due to low staffing, mediocre service, very nice reception area with sofas & lounges, free very good wifi, good parking @55 SEK/day.

"Not the best service but an okay experience"

3
10/03/2016

The hotel had a really small breakfast room for the breakfast considering the number of guest staying at the hotel. The buffet was pretty small but sursprisingy good for a small one! Even had two sorts of melon and fresh pineapple! A lack of white bread though and i heard a man getting disappointed when the serrano ham was finished on the buffef and he didnt get any..In the room the lighting was inadequate, or I never found the right switches. Front Desk was a little bit short with me and didnt really take the time to explain and smile. Dinner was not good, we ordered a buffet but it was finished almost immediately and the "buffet" was over. They also lacked basic cutlery so we had to ask many times for knives and forks. They seemed a little overworked since the hotel was fully booked this week end. Right in the middle of the city.

Carlia H, Receptionschef at BEST WESTERN Hotel Carlia, responded to this review
Hello Brunkmaster We apologize if we didn't meet your expectations when you were accommodated here. Our service is our most important asset here at the hotel so I was sad when I read you thought the service wasn't to your pleasing. Please accept my apologise from all of us and know that we will do our best to meet all of our customers request. Hopefully we will see you next year at the SM so that we can show you that we are better then you have experienced before. Have a great day Best regards Jény Meira Front desk manager

"Decent hotel"

4
14/01/2016

Good location really close to the city centre and easily accessible from the main road. Rooms are ok, adjacent restaurant is really nice and so is the lobby. The hotel parking is quite small and you might not always find room to park, there are however other parking spots in the vicinity. Breakfast is good.

"A nice hotel in the centre of the town."

4
25/03/2015

This is a nice hotel in the middle of the town. The breakfast was fantastic in a very nice area. You can have anything you like, however no fresh omelettes or scramled eggs. There should be free parking!

"Excellent breakfast."

5
07/09/2014

Hotel Carlia was a pleasant surprice. Convinient parking on the back of the hotel, with entrance from the third floor. Nice big and clean room. We really enjoyed the breakfast, varied and healthy. Excellent staff.

"A bad hotel "

1
17/08/2014

Stayed here 1 night. We were 4 persons and had booked two nonsmoking rooms. One room given to us was nonsmoking and the other was not. The breakfast was just average with very few selections. The bathroom doors didn't have lock. The reception was very cold. There is no free parking.

"Good location for a night's stay, but?"

3
15/11/2013

Have stayed at this hotel before, good location if travelling on the E20 through Sweden. The staff are helpful and friendly, food Ok. However made a bad mistake in booking my room, single rooms are very small so I upgraded to a double room, fine but room very cold very little heating andin Sweden in the winter after a long journey you need comfort. Enquired about staying a second nightbnightbut because of this moved-on the next day. Brought it to the receptions attention, thanked me but no offer of a reduction in room rate. So maybe not next time, who's loss?

"Nice hotel to stay in while on your way to/from Norway/Denmark!"

4
20/08/2013

We stayed 1 night here in August. The staff were very professional. The rooms were clean. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was included in the price of the hotel. Uddevalla is a small town with lots of small shops and restaurants. Nice place to walk around in. I'm not sure I would use this hotel for a longer-term vacation, however it would be good for business and conferences; or like we used it, a nice place to overnight while driving through Sweden and Norway on our summer vacation. The location is good and is in the town. There is parking in the back of the hotel for 55 Swedish Crowns per night. Tell them you need parking when you check in - don't pay for parking in the city pay-lots. (As a general note and not concerning this particular hotel: Please do remember though while in Scandinavia, the prices are higher than in the USA and Canada - so expensive doesn't always mean 5 star; it is just that the cost of living is higher here asnd that is reflected in the hotel prices.)