Room 1
Room 2
Room 3
Promotion code

Best Western Plus Turnhout City Hotel, Turnhout

Stationstraat 5, 2300, Turnhout, Belgium - See on a map
Best Western Plus Turnhout City Hotel - Hotel Exterior The Best Western Plus Turnhout City Hotel is ideally located in the center of Turnhout. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

Never far away from home. The Best Western Plus Turnhout City Hotel is located in the heart of Turnhout, close to the market square. The hotel has it's a restaurant and casino, and is surrounded by multiple parking facilities. Spending the night in this historical, fully renovated four-star hotel feels like coming home, for both business and leisure stays. The hotel rooms are decorated with attention for details. All rooms are equipped with delightful beds, and a luxurious bathroom. All the rooms offer solutions for the most contemporary needs, such as a spacious terrace or air conditioning, a flat screen TV and free high-speed wireless Internet. We also provide every guest with a little welcome gift, because the smallest details make the biggest differences. The hotel was honored with an "International Quality Award" in 2011. The award reflects the standard of cleaning, maintenance, hospitality and service the hotel (and its staff) offers every single day, 24 hours a day. As our guest, every morning you can enjoy a delicious hot and cold breakfast buffet which is served in our atmospheric breakfast area. If you choose to, you can even have your breakfast served in your room! The adjacent restaurant is more than suitable for lunch or dinner. Turnhout has, as "capital" of the Kempen, a lot to offer! Burgundians can find what their looking for in the many restaurants of the city, culture vultures can visit museums such as Cultural Centre `de Warande, the Taxandria museum. We recommend the authentic beguinage in Turnhout! The green countryside in which the city has developed is great for fans of nature, with a variety of paths for hiking and biking. Enjoy your stay.

Best Western Plus

Turnhout City Hotel




Hotel advantages

  • Restaurant
  • Lounges/bars
  • Free parking
    Free parking
  • Safe deposit box
    Safe deposit box
  • Multilingual staff
    Multilingual staff
  • Onsite laundry
    Onsite laundry
  • Game room
    Game room
  • Tennis court
    Tennis court
  • Casino
  • Golf
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
Certificate of Excellence 2015
based on 161 guest reviews
Very Good
Business Business
Couples Couples
Family Family
Friends getaway Friends getaway
Solo travel Solo travel
Sleep Quality

"Overnight stay for business"

lanzadreamer, Nottingham, United Kingdom 01/11/2019

Location excellent, right on the train platform. Chantel on reception couldn't have been more helpful. The room was very clean & big enough for what I needed. The bathroom was also clean and tidy. The hotel itself was more than adequate and one of the better ones I've stayed in while being in Belgium. The value for money was excellent. Breakfast was also very comprehensive with everything you could want. Every member of staff I came across were helpful and had a smile. If I'm ever back in Turnhout I will be staying here.

Turnhout_City_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Turnhout City Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Lanzadreamer, It was and is a pleasure to welcome you in our hotel! Thank you very much for staying with us and for your nice words regarding the room, the breakfast buffet and the service and hospitality of our staff members. Always welcome! Kind regards, Turnhout City Hotel - team

"Horrible Experience"

User 14/10/2019

Upon checking in was given the key to someone else's room. Went down to the front desk and they gave me another room. When I opened the curtains there was a wall with a window at the floor level. When crouched down, you could see the train tracks behind the hotel. The room was very dirty and moldy. Fortunately I brought Benedryl with me and by 3 AM had to take one. Every time I have left the room, my key card deactivates and I need to go back down to have it reactivated. The lighting in the outside hallway comes on with motion but my room is 3/4 down the hall so if I enter the hallway after dark, the motion sensor doesn't pick up until I am a good ways down the hall so it is pitch black. As a woman traveling alone, I was not thrilled with this aspect for safety reasons. The hotel staff is so wonderful but other than that, I would absolutely NEVER stay here again. Even as a last resort.

"Good Hotel close to the station and main bus terminus"

andysutherland2018, Barnet, United Kingdom 16/09/2019

Good Hotel close to the station and main bus terminus. The staff are very friendly and helpful, Buffet breakfast was good with a varied choice. Ask for a room at the front of the hotel as these are quieter.

"Excellent service, but some rooms need to be renovated."

DPaolo55, Burlington, Canada 24/07/2019

I stayed here for 6 night on a business trip. I had 2 room types, one on the second floor and one on the first with balcony, including breakfast. Pros: Service was very good as the font desk staff were fast, helpful and provided answers to all my questions. 2nd floor room was clean and well maintained. The 2nd floor room had a small air conditioning unit above the door, controlled by a remote. 1st floor room was clean and had a nice large window, which doubled as a door to the balcony. The balcony was at street level which mad it nice to have a coffee or drink and eat while people watching. Everyone I encountered spoke English very well. No communication issues. Breakfast was adequate. Nothing terrible and nothing outstanding. Cons: The 2nd floor room only has windows at the ground level and a skylight. This made me feel a bit claustrophobic. May not be for everyone. The 1st floor room did not have air conditioning, therefore in the humidity of the summer, mold was growing behind the wall paper in my room. I noticed the mold due to the slight mildew smell and due to the wallpaper peeling from the walls. One thing to note is that hotel parking is across the street in an alleyway behind the buildings across from the hotel. You could also parking in the public spaces in front and beside the hotel, however you are left up to chance if you can find a spot of not.

Turnhout_City_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Turnhout City Hotel, responded to this review
Dear guest, Thank you very much for staying with us, for the time you took to write down your detailled review, for your nice words regarding the service and the cleanliness and for your constructive feedback. We will definitely share your positive points with our motivated staff members and we will definitely as well integrate your feedback into our working strategy for the future. Please note that we reguraly organise room updates (a new update round is foreseen on a very short term notice from now) in order to meet the standards that our guests expect from us. This is why your feedback is more than welcome. We hope to welcome you again during your next visit to Turnhout! Kind regards,

"Rundown; Inaccurate Property Description"

TBDWorldTraveler, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 21/06/2019

The hotel's description says that all rooms have either a/c or a terrace (i.e. a door for ventilation). This is NOT correct. Rooms on the ground floor facing west have neither, which means they get very warm with the evening summer sun and there's nothing you can do about it. Further, the hotel has only an all-you-can-eat Asian restaurant, which serves food below a standard for Chinese fast-food takeout. It's awful and I believe the hotel is intentionally misleading it's customers by claiming to be a 4-star standard. They are more accurately 3-stars (at best). The staff is very friendly, but can only do so much with a run-down property. Wallpaper is peeling. Carpets are stained. Furniture is worn. Shower has no lighting. Beds are not comfortable. Rooms on the second floor have tiny windows from the floor to knee-level. Safe didn't work. Iron had unknown material burned on the surface (not good for white shirts). The area felt unsafe at night. I hate to give low hotel ratings, but this property truly deserves it. I can't believe the 4 and 5 dot ratings they've received so far.

"Good Hotel with ideal location for short trip as lone female business traveller."

SQTaylor, Barnard Castle, United Kingdom 16/05/2019

Excellent Customer Service form all staff, including speaking English. Small rooms but adequate for short business trip. Furniture and bathroom floor a bit worn and shabby, but whole room very clean. Great provision of free (good quality) toiletries, chocolate, biscuits, water, drinks and Wine in the room, with fresh coffee available a self serve in the reception area. There were multiple issues with my trip (adjacent restaurant not open on Mondays, door lock not working, no hot water in the morning) but the staff all worked quickly to rectify the issues and even ordered me takeout food on the evening.

Turnhout_City_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Turnhout City Hotel, responded to this review
Dear guest, Thank you very much for the nice words regarding your stay. We are very happy that we were able to provide you a Turnhout City Hotel worth service and that our staff members quickly responded to all issues/demands! Looking forward to welcome you again very soon. Kind regards, Turnhout City Hotel - team

"Good for short stay"

rkaratab, Marrakech, Morocco 07/02/2019

In the city center, clean rooms, good breakfast, friendly staff.. Not luxiuorus, It is ok.. However the rooms are part of the train station, If you are comfortable with the noise while you are sleeping, you can stay.Good price / benefit mixture.

Turnhout_City_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Turnhout City Hotel, responded to this review
Dear guest, Thank you for your review! We are happy to read that you enjoyed the central location of the hotel and the friendliness of our staff members. Regarding the noise: it is true (due to our central location near the train station), that slowly passing buses and trains can sometimes be heared during rush hour. Our hotel is continously looking for ways to improve the acoustic experience inside the hotel in order to avoid noise as much as possible. Looking forward to welcome you again. Kind regards, Turnhout City Hotel - guest relations manager

"Good short stay"

User 30/01/2019

I was for my business trip in the city and this hotel was convenient for me because of the location. Hotel is fine and quiet itself. I would like to note perfect service from reception team. Everyone was extremely helpful. Thanks to all! Hady

"Worse experience"

tkoshka, Old Bridge, New Jersey 24/12/2018

Last week of November I traveled for business in Belgium and stayed in Best Western Plus Hotel in Turnhout. This was my worse experience ever, and I traveled in different countries and stayed in different hotels. The cleaning personnel are not train at all. They do not know what are their responsibilities and that they are not supposed to take or move client's personal things. One night I came to the room and did find bag with my chocolates we made in one of the chocolate places, which were beautiful and I was so excited to bring them home and treat my family for the Holidays. I also left jar with nuts on the table in the room, and it was also gone. They took my chocolates from the table, and, to my understanding, trashed them. I went to the reception desk and reported this. In some time the guy came to my room and brought bags with broken chocolates, and he justified it that the back on the table looked like trash (I guess how the cleaning person tell him). And the guy was very pushy and sound angry with me as it was my fault. I never experienced anything like this in any hotel, when you leave something on the table and it's gone. Next morning when I checked out they offered me apology card and flowers, but this couldn't replace my chocolates. In addition, my colleague forgot his headphones in his room when checked out, and when I asked on the front desk to check, it was never reported to the “lost & found”, and I am not surprised if it was also trashed. I will never stay in this hotel and will not recommend to anyone. I also report this to my company travel department do not use this hotel for employees business travel arrangements

"In the city center but noisy"

martinj386, Levice, Slovakia 06/10/2018

Room is big but beds are very soft. Free parking is also available on place. Place is little bit of noisy because is so close to the rail. Friendly staff. WiFi signal could be a stronger. Good breakfast with many varietes to chose.

Turnhout_City_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Turnhout City Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Martin, Thank you ver y much for the time you took to review your stay! We are happy to read that you enjoyed the friendliness of the staff members and the large warm and cold breakfast. For your next stay: please communicate all questions to our 24h/24 reception (extra pillows, noise, Wifi, other Internet options,...) Our staff members are very happy to look for the best solution possible for every question! Looking forward to welcome you again. Kind regards, Bart

"Central locatoin if visiting Beerse or Geel"

User 30/08/2018

I use this hotel a lot when visiting this area. The rooms are a bit on the small side but they are clean and very comfortable. Staff are very professional and could not be more helpful.I would recoomend that you ask for a room facing the street, rather than one facing the railway line.

"Comfortable, good breakfast"

PlumPudding99, Basingstoke, United Kingdom 03/08/2018

Stayed for a couple days for business. Thee hotel is very convenient for the train station. My room was on the opposite side of the hotel from passing trains so not an issue for me - ask for a room ok the street side if you don't want bothered by the trains. The rooms were clean, comfortable beds and generally well appointed. Only downside was no air conditioning but a fan was provided in the room. The breakfast selection was very good, and tasty. Staff were friendly and accommodating.

Turnhout_City_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Turnhout City Hotel, responded to this review
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your detailled review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay, the room and the breakfast. Looking forward to welcome you again during your next stay in Turnhout! Kind regards, Turnhout City Hotel - guest relations manager

"Two night stay"

User 09/07/2018

Consistently good hotel so long as you have the rooms at the front of the hotel and not the rear which backs on to the railway station. The hotel does not serve evening meals, on a Monday a lot of eateries are closed during the winter months making it difficult to find somewhere to eat. The hotel is close to the town centre.

Turnhout_City_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Turnhout City Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Stuart, Thank you very much for the time you took to review your stay. We are happy that you enjoyed the hotel and the location. Looking forward to welcome you again very soon. Kind regards, Best Western Plus Turnhout City Hotel Guest Relations Manager

"If you like hearing loud trains every hour..."

TeafankneePillow, Taipei, Taiwan 07/06/2018

Hotel is basically a part of the train station. Every hour starting VERY EARLY IN THE MORNING, you hear the LOUD SQUEAK of trains screeching and opening their doors. Nice hotel, but the constant rumbling from the trains next door was a nuisance. Pros: very close to city center. A short and pleasant walk. Turnhout is a quaint little town. It was not difficult finding the hotel after disembarking the train.

"Very handy for town and office"

Rob L, Maidenhead 23/05/2018

I stay here several times a year for business. Whilst not the most luxurious hotel I have stayed in it certainly does everything it needs to. The location is great for getting to the office for the day and walking into the town for the evening. The complementary wine is a nice touch too!

"My trip to Turnhout March 6 through March 10 of 2018."

User 23/03/2018

Next to train station with destinations to Brussels and Antwerp (both destinations within 1 & 1/2 hour reach and very inexpensive train tickets). Within 10 minute walk to the Main Square (great restaurants, shops, bars and cafes all within that 10 minute walk). Clean hotel, great Bfast with great decor and presentation. Wonderful and sweet people eager to help. Just about everyone speaks English. Front staff is the best because: 1.) They speak perfect English, 2.) They will phone places on your behalf (i.e. change a reservation, call a taxi, etc.), 3.) They will give you the best suggestions for Restaurants and Bars to visit (also phone restaurant reservations on your behalf), and 4.) they happen to be super friendly and super nice. I'm thinking of an excuse, so powerful, that it can convince my wife for us to go back.

Turnhout_City_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Turnhout City Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Luis, It was a great pleasure welcoming you in our hotel! Looking forward to welcome you back again soon! Kind regards, The entire Turnhout City Hotel team

"Loved it"

Martin J, Swansea, United Kingdom 05/02/2018

Stayed there for one night on a recent business trip. Hotel is unique, reception staff incredible, lots of free goodies in the room. Room was so comfortable and welcomingly (is that a word?) furnished. Would definitely stay there again.

Turnhout_City_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Turnhout City Hotel, responded to this review
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind words and review. The entire hotel team is already looking forward to welcome you again. Kind regards, Turnhout City Hotel team


RockingJohnnie, Leeds, Yorkshire 15/01/2018

Well furnished, quiet double room on ground floor. Comfy beds and pillows. Complimentary wine and snacks. Good location next to railway station. Approximately 10 minutes walk to main church square. Excellent reception staff. Good value, would recommend!

Turnhout_City_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Turnhout City Hotel, responded to this review
Dear guest, Your compliments really motivate us to continue to provide the same kind of service to our guests! We highly appreciate all your positive thoughts on your stay and are waiting impatiently to welcome you back again! Kind regards, Guest Relations Manager - Turnhout City Hotel

"one night"

AFRopglabbeek, Opglabbeek, Belgium 16/12/2017

we booked this hotel as we had a party in the neigborhood. hotel was fine at the station not much parking spots, but de breakfast could be better. They had a lot of things but I don't believe everything was fresh. eggs were absolutely not OK. but for 1 night it was OK.

Turnhout_City_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Turnhout City Hotel, responded to this review
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback on your stay and the breakfast buffet. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your short time in our hotel. The entire staff puts high standards when it comes to freshness of the breakfast products. For your next stay: do not hesitate to immediately contact any of the staff members in case there would be any doubt about that. Our employees will do anything possible to guarantee the freshness and the good taste of the products. Looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel. Kind regards, Turnhout City Hotel Guest Relations Manager

"A wonderful experience"

TimotiusFinn, Amsterdam, The Netherlands 03/11/2017

The Hotel is located in Turnhout at the railway station. It is a long hotel with one upperfloor. Very easy to access and to find your way. Reception/check-in We were not really welcomed. But we were helped. Though we missed the info of where to find the breakfast room. The rooms were easy to find. The staff very friendly. They though asked for every groupmember a copy of their identitycard and creditcard. We refused the creditcard and we didn't feel all very comfortable about our ID cards being copied. Room The Rooms was very cosy and specially very clean. Some sweets were layed down in the room and there was complimentary waterbottles, red and white wine. Tea, coffee and cookies and a waterboiler were there. Which was really nice, enjoyed having some tea at night! The bed was heavenly!! Like laying in the clouds such soft, warm and clean. Feeling very cosy. I haven't slept so well in a hotel before! My compliments for the bed! The only minus of the room was being next to the traintracks and the passengers boarding and disembarking the trains. From 5 in the morning. If you are a light sleeper you get easily waked. The rooms could have been more isolated to noise. Dinner For a 4 star hotel it is strange there is no restaurant, only a breakfast room. Nextdoor we had in the Chinese restaurant some good dinner which was nice! But the service was a bit slow. Breakfast Breakfast was amazing! Really so many choices from bread to yoghurts to cereals to pancakes to boiled eggs! There is candy everywhere to be found. But aswell fruits, drinks, milk, strawberry milk, chocolate milk, tea, coffee. Fresh made croissants, good bread and a big choice of ham and cheeses. Really good and amazing tastes! Check-out Check-out was done quickly, we were thanked and asked if we had enjoyed. Really warm goodbye. CONCLUSION A very very good 3 star hotel. Even it is 4 stars, but due to the restaurant missing, no roomservice, and some other things missing, not 4 star. But a very very good 3 star hotel, which stays absolutely in mind. Good breakfast, tasty, very good beds, friendly staff. ADVICE: A joy to stay. Worth the money. 8 out of 10

"Great rooms and location but noisy"

User 02/10/2017

Excellent location next to main railway station. 15 minute walk to Market Square. Rooms and bathrooms are well appointed and spotlessly clean. Nice buffet breakfast with hot & cold selection. Honesty cold cabinet stocked with reasonable selection of wines, beers, soft drinks. Front desk staff very pleasant and efficient. Unfortunately the hotel is sandwiched between a busy road, bus station and railway lines so suffers from vehicle noise from early morning to late evening.

"Take your own soap"

HoneyBeeLondon, London 11/09/2017

This was my second visit to the hotel but I was very disappointed this time. The reception staff were very pleasant and helpful but the hotel itself could do with an overhaul. I asked for a quiet room but it was anything but. Constant noise of traffic through the night and music going on somewhere until after 4.00 am. My room was on the first floor but it was so dark as the only real light came from the skylight. The other window only came up to knee level and made the room very claustrophobic. It didn't help that the decor is fifty shades of brown as is the rest of the hotel with some really tacky artefacts. It was looking very tired. The bathroom was also very poorly lit and the room was very hot. Wine, coffee, tea, biscuits (water missing) was supplied but no soap. I asked for this at reception but it appears that Best Western no longer supplies bars of soap so I had to use shower gel in the basin. Smart TV on wall but the room safe was in the bottom of the wardrobe so I had to get down on my hands and knees to use it. The lights in the common areas are motion sensitive but I found myself walking along the corridor and up stairs in pitch darkness before any lights came on. Breakfast was OK - a reasonable choice. I had a very poor night's sleep due to the noise so was not very happy. It could be a good hotel but needs a massive upgrade.

"Always pleasure to stay here"

User 01/08/2017

it is always a pleasure to stay at the BW + Turnhout City Hotel. It is a nice clean hotel and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is on walking distance from city center with lots of nice restaurants.

"Ask for the en suite apartments!"

CMPeg, Lewes, United Kingdom 02/05/2017

I was there for 2 nights and was given the en suite apartment accross the street from the hotel entrance. It was relatively quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was good as well and the staff were very polite and helpful with a couple of things I had requested.

Turnhout_City_Hotel, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus Turnhout City Hotel, responded to this review
Dear guest, Happy! That's what we are. Happy that our staff members provided a polite and good service and happy that you enjoyed the studio and the breakfast. We are looking forward to welcome you again soon! Thank you for your review. Kind regards, Turnhout City Hotel team

"Close to where I need to be"

User 02/04/2017

Have stayed here twice and most people in my company stay here when traveling to Turnhout for work. The hotel is a converted train station and located next to train tracks. The trains and busses go through this location so it can be slightly busy during certain times of the day. There are two floors and you have to ask for the remote to air-conditioning in the summer months if you are lucky to have a unit. First floor has some rooms with a walkout door to the patio (I use this term loosely) where there is a small table for two. It is not private and faces the street. Bathrooms are super small and have tiny standing shower units that would not fit a large person easily. Beds are decent but have traditional heavy comforter which can be really hot at night. Standard toiletries are provided. Hotel is within walking distance to many restaurants and sites. Breakfast was good and serves a large variety of food including eggs and bacon. Front desk Staff is friendly and speak English. If you're looking for a large hotel with a grand front lobby and gathering space, this is not it. But the hotel works for what I needed it for.

"Interesting small hotel on noisy train/bus station"

mraquila, Phillisburg, Nj 27/03/2017

This Best Western hotel is an interesting one because it is located right at the train/bus station. One row of the hotel rooms is facing the train track and the other row of the hotel rooms is facing the busy street. Room rate is very reasonable that includes free wifi and breakfast - I think it is a major plus. Room is small but sufficient. Bathroom is a bit too small - especially the shower stall. I can fit in just fine but I am a 5'3" petite woman. Breakfast is excellent. It is apparent that the hotel tries to satisfy customers with various diet requirements. It offers water, coffee, juices, toasts, pastries, hot breakfast items, home made breakfast items, fruits, cereals, yoghurts, and packaged goods (crackers, waffles, etc.) I am very impressed at the variety of the breakfast items. Overall, I found this hotel meet my expectations. I will definitely stay there again.

Turnhout_City_Hotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Turnhout City Hotel, responded to this review
Dear, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your review very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Sincerely, Best Western Plus Turnhout City Hotel -Team

"Ok hotel a little dated"

liveyourlifebefree, Sheffield 23/03/2017

I stayed at the hotel for just one night on a business trip in February. The hotel is a good location on the edge of the town about a 10 minute walk to the main square where there are a selection of bars and restaurants. Checking in was quick and the reception staff friendly and helpful. My room was right next to the railway station track, with a strange low level window overlooking a platform. I didn't get any noise at all from the trains. The room was a good size, and clean though the décor dated. The bedding was clean. There's a large wardrobe, a safe and a fridge which was empty for your own use. There was complimentary water, and also a small bottle of both red and white wine. The was a small shower room, with a shower cubicle, a sink and a toilet, with basic complimentary toiletries. The breakfast selection was ok, with both hot and cold items available, for me the quality wasn't great, but there was definitely something to get me started for the day. Overall the hotel was Ok, the staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel was clean!

"Upgraded slightly"

User 15/02/2017

This hotel has added some new bathroom amenities and more tv options, but the water pressure is still weak and the carpets are incredibly old. Any room on the train track side is noisy. The breakfast gets older as the week goes on. The beds are comfy and the bedding has improved, but they are still 2 twin beds pushed together.

"Nice looking hotel, staff tried hard to impress but very noisy!"

User 04/11/2016

Room lovely, staff very helpful and polite. Lots of nice touches in the room - free snacks, chocolate, water, wine. Noise is a major issue and I don't mean the railway line or the traffic noise! It's the people in the hotel. Banging and crashing late at night and early in the morning. At just after midnight, one of the hotel staff decided to clear a load of metal tables and chairs from the patio/terrace right outside my window. He definitely didn't care how much noise he made throwing the chairs from one side to the other and it lasted ages. Very inconsiderate and a very odd time to do this when there are guests trying to sleep right next to the terrace on the ground floor

Turnhout_City_Hotel, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Turnhout City Hotel, responded to this review
Dear guest, Thank you very much for the time you took to review your stay. We are happy to read that you appreciated the helpful and polite staff as well as the room facilities. Regarding the noise at night: thank you for mentioning us this issue. We will definitely sort out what happened in order to provide an even better service during your next visit. Looking forward to welcome you again. Kind regards, Turnhout City Hotel team

"Nice hotel in old station building"

Johnny O, Honefoss, Norway 17/08/2016

Best Western hotels are always good. Great service - great rooms - and good Food. And this in Turnhout is no exception. The old station building makes the atmosphere even better. Place very Strategic beside both Railway, main bus station and taxi, makes this Choice no 1 in Turnhout. Recommended!

"Not much plus"

Liz T, Andover, Hampshire, United Kingdom 27/07/2016

Perhaps I expected too much of this for the price and the "plus" suggestion. Arrived late, after eleven pm, hauled bag to room at furthest end of hotel and discovered it was like a sauna. Was dependent upon the air conditioning unit, which i couldnt make work. Schlepped back to reception, as no one answered the phone from the room. Much dinging of bell presumably hauled the poor receptionist out of bed. As he was much taller than me the a/c unit worked first time for him... but having got room cooler, i wasnt able to turn the thing off - blame the tiredness and no way of identifying which button did what on the remote for those of ageing eyesight . Next morning woken at 5 am by dracula- killing blast of light to eyeballs. There was a small skylight, un noticed in the dark five hours earlier, half the shade not pulled across. That explained what i had thought was a left- behind crutch discreetly placed behind the bathroom door as well as the 100 degree heat. Clearly previous guests had savaged the shade with this pole, as it showed many signs of damage and needs replacing asap. The morning light also revealed that what i had thought to be a blind across the " normal" windows was actually a brick wall. You get two feet of low window to show your feet to the platform below, as its right over the train tracks. I never did find the remote control to the t.v. but this was not a loss, as downstairs my friend had a remote which never got the t.v to work. Discovered two safes when remote- hunting, maybe thats another mark of plus-ness. Wine x 2 small bottles presumably destroyed by the heat as the white we tried - why on earth south african, in Belgium(!) was vinegar. Decor throughout stuck in the eighties, wish i had enough charge in the camera to share the view of the dimly lit upstairs corridor punctuated by many, many pointless console tables and chairs with mirrors above. Who could do their make up in that light, i asked myself rhetorically, not that you would linger up there, too spooky. The stuff on the tables was clearly too obviously tat to ever get stolen. Not only no decaffeinated coffee but the waiting staff couldnt "get" the difference between this and de- caff tea when i asked for it. She did go looking, but drew a blank after her search. For me, this is an aggravating health/ allergy issue as caffeine makes me ill. Its not me trying to test out waitresses on a whim. Drank water. Best bit about the night was the comfy bed. My friend on the ground floor confirmed my own impression of the shower cubicles - there was no way to wash fully in there without applying a part of your anatomy to the back of the shower screen, and if you expect american style power jets, forget that idea. Too small for a size eight person as well as a size sixteen person. First time i have ever failed to find a bar of soap too, but it was nice to see a face cloth provided. I know i was tired and a lot of this is going to sound like little petulant niggles - but these niggles were enough to put me off returning to this hotel on my next trip in a week or so time. Sorry.

"Perfect hotel!"

DezzyDee, Amsterdam, The Netherlands 13/07/2016

We stayed here over the weekend so that we could attend the Sjock Festival - the location is perfect. Easy to get to with the public transport and a short taxi ride back. The hotel staff are wonderfully friendly and the rooms are great, we had a double with balcony, very nice and clean facilities. When we left I forgot a pair of trousers. Within an hour of leaving I received an email from their Lost and Found to let me know! Super impressed!! The only thing that I would say was not of great standard was the breakfast, but for the rest everything was perfect, we will definitely be back next year

"Good location but noisy"

User 21/06/2016

We stayed here and commuted every day to Dessel for Graspop Festival, location was convenient. We slept through the noise as many people commented before, the bus and the trains drive right behind the hotel. Ok breakfast, very clean room and helpful staff. Two things: in 4 days I could not get rid of the musty, humid smell of the room. We also had zero privacy, the room only had 1 set of dark curtains so if I wanted to have some daylight everyone could see into our room! My room also didn't have AC, just a fan, but this was ok because the weather was cold.

"The sound of silence"

Bernard C, St priest ligoure 17/06/2016

Hotel well located near city centre and in walking distance of restaurants and cafés. Next to a popular bar where young people enjoy themselves till the small hours of the days. And when they go to sleep, the birds take over. Breakfast at 07:30 if you like to wait till 08:00 when the bread arrives.

"BW Plus Turnhout City"

norske01, Honefoss, Norway 18/05/2016

Very central and friendly hotel in Turnhout. Excellent positioned, friendly staff and good breakfast. Good restaurants nearby and a short walk only to the city square. Will definitely use again when in this neighbourhood.

"Ok for the night"

scott1776, Chester Springs, Pennsylvania 08/05/2016

I stayed here one night on business and I thought it was ok. The room was very hot and the Windows do not open. I looked forever for the remote control to turn on the air conditioner only to find that you have to go to the front desk to get it. That was very annoying! The service and breakfast were nice. However it is right in front of the train station so it is loud.

"You'd Love: Clean Rooms, Amazing Service and Pleasant Staff"

trvler2016, Amsterdam, The Netherlands 01/04/2016

I have stayed here on different occasions. I like its convenient location to the market, train station and bus stops. I find rooms to be comfortable and clean with many amenities - tea, coffee, bottled water, cookies, and even 2 bottles of wine. And all complimentary. The beds are comfortable with clean sheets, and a utilitarian clean bath. Breakfast is also complimentary and includes different hot and cold beverages including fresh squeezed orange juice, a full buffet including fruits, bakery items, meats, scrambled/hard/soft boiled eggs, and cheeses. They were extremely accommodating to my vegetarian needs. The best thing I like about this place is their staff- professional, courteous, and always willing to help with a smile. I'm especially impressed by the energy of the two sisters, Chantalle and Susanne who run this place. I find them – kind, caring and always eager to help. I would highly recommend this place.

"Convenient but noisy"

HoneyBeeLondon, London 17/03/2016

Good position next to station but don't bother asking for a quiet room. Rooms at the front overlook a busy road and rooms at the back face the railway line. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Tea, coffee, water, biscuits, chocolate and even wine were complimentary in the rooms. Small shower room which was adequate but a little dark. Breakfast was OK but laid out in a rather confusing way. Bacon was fried to a crisp, scrambled eggs were luke warm and the toaster wasn't very efficient. It was fine for an overnight stay but too noisy for anything longer. Staff were very pleasant.

"Reasonable hotel,but noisy"

2Mike2, Birmingham, United Kingdom 23/02/2016

Reasonable hotel situated in the heart of Turnhout right by the railway station and main bus station. There lies the problem. The buses run round the back of the hotel and pass within half a metre of the ground floor windows. On the other side of the bus lane is a busy railway. It is quiet between the hours of 11pm and 5:30am but if you expect a quiet lie in you will be disapponted. Otherwise breakfast was good, lots of choice. There is no dining room for evening meals or bar but there is plenty of choice in Turnhout

"On business near Turnhout"

James H, Matlock, United Kingdom 22/02/2016

Wonderful staff, very helpful, very friendly, and excellent customer service. We had a lovely room, with a comfortable bed on the 1st floor. The breakfast was excellent with a great choice. The hotel is near the centre of the town with a 5-10 minutes walk to the main square. A great place to stay and will stay the next time I am in the area.

"Business hotel"

Sanenwen, Leiden, The Netherlands 09/02/2016

Stayed here for business for several nights. A lot of other business travelers and it is not a special hotel. Rooms are fine, but can be noisy because of the train. Breakfast is OK, an extensive buffet is available. Very slow WiFi, not able to make a (conference) call via the internet.

"Worst Western in Turnhout Brussels"

j j, Manchester, United Kingdom 24/09/2015

Awful service. Staff took photocopy of our Credit card as security and refused to return the photocopy once we had paid and checked out. They did not tell us in advance they would keep our personal details. Three female staff members then argued with us, screaming at the top of their voices and making threats, became violent and attempted to throw us out. They refused to give us the name of their manager. They also stole our iPhone headphones. Complaints made later to their head office was futile and led to no customer satisfaction. Avoid this hotel like the plague.

"Small room "

cls112, Chichester, United Kingdom 11/09/2015

The room was small, but decent. There was no A/C and the latch for the window was about 2 feet out of my reach overhead. Also, there were busses and trains rattling past my window late at night and early in the morning. The lighting in the bathroom was horrible, the shower tiny, and the TV only had news channels.

"Reliable and affordable"

mario-voyager, Milan, Italy 30/07/2015

I have been several times on business trips at this small and tidy hotel, located right in the center of Turnhout. Its position allows to arrive easily by train or car. Parking at night is easy to find on the side of the train station. Rooms are very clean and price is affordable. Breakfast is at buffet, with good selection of fresh foods. An added value is represented by the ladies at the reception, who always offer a warm welcome. Last time I have been there, they have exceeded my expectations, by storing my mobile phone charger which I forgot in the room almost one month before : a big thank-you and applause for this customer orientation! I will definitely return.

"Nice, simple, complimentary chocolate, slight poor sleep"

AnnabelleC180, Reading, United Kingdom 13/07/2015

The staff were very friendly, spoke excellent English and there were complimentary chocolate on the pillow and two small bottles of wine which was very nice. The rooms were clean, a good size and very handy for the centre of town (say ten minutes walk from Grote Markt) but I can't vouch for breakfast as we ate out. The only draw back was that sleep was a little disturbed by cars on the road and trains but a pair of ear plugs sorts it out. Over all a good hotel for the price.

"Very good hotel"

Alberto163, Madrid, Spain 10/05/2015

This hotel is in the center of Turnhout. This is a small city but in any case the hotel is just right in the center, near to major restaurants. The architecture is very interesting and charming. Personnel very friendly. A negative point is that it has no parking, so if you need to park you are on your own. Another weak point is that some items in the breakfast are not replaced often enough when they are terminated.

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.