Room 1
Room 2
Room 3
Promotion code

The Moonraker Hotel, BW Signature Collection, Trowbridge

Trowle Common, BA14 9BL, Trowbridge, Great Britain - See on a map
The Moonraker Hotel, BW Signature Collection - The Moonraker Hotel, BW Signature Collection The The Moonraker Hotel, BW Signature Collection is ideally located in the center of Trowbridge. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

Old world home-away-from-home in the Cotswolds. Dating back to the 1500’s The Moonraker Hotel, BW Signature Collection is a charming Grade II listed manor house less than 10 miles from the historic city of Bath. Over the years, the house has been lovingly renovated, with the old farm buildings incorporated into the hotel design. It expertly combines original features with home comforts to provide you with a relaxing place to stay away from the stresses of modern life. Within the grounds are a walled garden, ponds and secret paths that you can explore at your leisure. The food served in our restaurant is exceptional, with dishes based around local produce from the hotel’s kitchen garden and onsite smokery. Our 23 en suite bedrooms, which are furnished with antiques and rich fabrics, are split across the main house and outbuildings. All come with free fiber-optic broadband, a flat-screen television with Freeview and White Company toiletries. Our 4 Poster Bed rooms are perfect for a romantic getaway, while our deluxe rooms offer an extra slice of luxury. Some are on the ground floor, ideal for guests with mobility issues or those who want to bring their dog with them. The Moonraker Hotel, BW Signature Collection is close to some of the UK’s top attractions, including Longleat Safari and Adventure Park and the Westbury White Horse. If you don’t fancy driving into Bath, there’s a regular bus service that stops directly outside the hotel, so you can be seeing the sights in no time, including the Roman Baths and Royal Crescent. The attractive market town of Bradford-on-Avon is less than two miles from the hotel, with its ancient bridge and river running through its heart.

BW Signature Collection

The Moonraker Hotel

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Hotel advantages

  • Restaurant
    Restaurant
  • Lounges/bars
    Lounges/bars
  • Free parking
    Free parking
  • Outdoor parking
    Outdoor parking
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
Certificate of Excellence 2020
based on 1377 guest reviews
NOTE ISSUED
Excellent
841
Very Good
364
Average
118
Poor
35
Terrible
19
REFER TO NOTICE
Business Business
140
Couples Couples
784
Family Family
235
Friends getaway Friends getaway
111
Solo travel Solo travel
20
SUMMARY NOTES
Cleanliness
Location
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Value

"Midweek break "

3
kuga2008, Longfield, United Kingdom 09/09/2020

Beautiful location and building. Welcomed by very friendly staff. Room ok nice big bed but the cleanliness was poor, smeary mirrors, very dirty dusty radiator, lumpy old carpets, dirty settee . I think the attention to detail in the room was quite poor for the cost of the room. Bring charged full price for a continental breakfast was disappointing. We could hear every noise from the room above even when they visited the toilet. Evening meals extremely well cooked and we couldn't fault that. Overall please just deep clean and keep on top of it

"Outstanding Customer Service and Food"

4
User 04/09/2020

My husband and I stayed for two nights at the hotel whilst attending a family funeral. On arrival after a lengthy 6 hour drive from our home, we received a very warm welcome from Thom, and free tea and cake! The cake was delicious, very fresh and moist, and there was a wide range of herbal teas I could choose from. In the evening we ate in the restaurant. The food was outstanding! There was an excellent choice, made with fresh and extremely appetizing products and delightfully presented. It was also nice to see that the hotel and the staff were strictly observing all Covid-19 regulations, and that the staff were wearing disposable gloves whilst serving the meal and social distancing was in place. As a healthcare worker, I was especially impressed. The restaurant was already fully booked the following evening, however on speaking to chef the hotel kindly fitted us in for a table of five. However the main attraction of the Moonraker, as well as its quiet location, were the outstanding and tireless efforts of the staff to ensure their guests were happy. During our stay we were looked after by Thom. He was extremely professional, friendly and courteous, and went 'the extra mile' to ensure our happiness at what was a sad occasion for our visit. Thom was always cheerful and appeared to work all hours and tirelessly doing everything. He manned reception, attended to the bar, served in the restaurant in the evening, and made tea and cake for arriving guests, as well as a host of other duties. He was always available if needed. To come across someone with such a cheerful, strong and professional work ethic is rare. On one occasion I was also served by Lauren, who displayed the same wonderful helpfullness. We enjoyed seeing the rescue chickens and the two rescue turkeys, all of whom appeared very happy! and we hope the piggies might soon return! We would definately return to this hotel, if only for the truly outstanding customer service and way above excellent cuisine which surely should be awarded some Michelin stars. Thank you Thom, Lauren and the wonderful chefs.

"A few areas need to be worked on . "

3
FifiD_london, London, United Kingdom 31/08/2020

This is a really attractive hotel , and while the main reason for choosing this hotel was their dog friendly policy , which is very good, I was disappointed at the standard of cleanliness, our bathroom floor definitely looked liked it hadn't been cleaned before our arrival , the room looked in need of a lick of paint, and the cobwebs in reception were impressive in their size. On the plus side our bed and pillows were comfy and the dinner was enjoyable even with a very reduced menu, due to Covid. The bar and wine list were well stocked and the staff were friendly enough. The breakfast was another matter, I don't understand why it was put outside our door at 11pm , on one occasion a croissants had been taken from the bag by a passing animal who gave it a good nibble.

Lauren Harding, General Manager at The Moonraker, responded to this review
Good afternoon FifiD_london, Thank you for leaving your feedback with us. We do enjoy welcoming Four Legged Friends and their owners to the Moonraker Hotel and we always hope they have the opportunity to meet with Camber the hotel dog whilst on a walk through our paddock! I am sorry to hear you felt your room was not cleaned to the highest of standards which we would usually expect. I can confirm since your review, your comments have been passed onto our Head Housekeeper and a further review of our cleaning standards has been carried out to ensure all staff are fully trained to our expected standard. I'm pleased however you enjoyed other aspects of your stay with us including our comfortable beds and our dinner service and offerings. If you would like to discuss your feedback any further, please do feel free to contact me directly lauren@sleepingbearhotels.com With kind regards, Lauren Harding General Manager

"Covid as an excuse"

4
petera718, Thorpe Bay, United Kingdom 30/08/2020

Agree with last two comments. A handsome building and very helpful junior staff, but no host or manager, nobody around to help. Delivering a cold bag of meagre provisions for breakfast - after we had paid for it in the room rate - was an insult. If they had said 'we can't do breakfast, but here's a small bag of stuff for free to keep you going', that would have at least been understandable. I agree too that the room was not particularly clean - the basin stained, the sofa arms slick with greasy dirt of ages, nowhere to hang a towel (and an announcement that because of Covid nobody would be cleaning the room or making the bed). Funny how all the Covid arrangements made life easier and cheaper for the management. It's a handsome hotel, with very friendly young staff, and it's dog-friendly too. But somebody is not making an effort here.

Lauren Harding, General Manager at The Moonraker, responded to this review
Good afternoon Petera718, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback with us. As mentioned in previous reviews, we are now changing the way in which we offer breakfast following feedback from our guests. We hope this will allow a greater offering to our guests to enjoy with fresh tea and coffee in the morning. Our Head Housekeeper has been notified on your above comments with regards to the cleanliness and I can confirm further training has been provided to our team which is on-going into this week to ensure our standards are met. We have always believed that cleanliness is always of high importance, and now more than ever we want to reassure our guests of our standards. As outlined in our letters provided to our guests on arrival, we are not currently servicing our guest bedrooms who stay more than one night, this is to keep both our guests and staff safe during this time. However, guests are more than welcome to request room service or additional items from our Duty Manager team based at Reception. Please do feel free to contact me directly if you would like to discuss your feedback any further lauren@sleepingbearhotels.com Kindest regards, Lauren Harding General Manager

"A disappointing experience"

2
Anirbassilem, London, United Kingdom 28/08/2020

This has been a disappointing experience at the Moonraker hotel. Surely the property has very positive aspects (beautiful main building and walled garden) as well as a very kind team (the receptionist was very helpful) but the beauty of the hotel seems to be a thing of the past, unfortunately. Our room (one of the Deluxe rooms) wasn't clean, and clearly needs to be renewed (stains on the carpet, walls, a very old mattress and furniture). The bathroom, as well as not been properly cleaned, is old and needs work done (bath, tiles with mold). The food was average and the breakfast (in this time of Covid) in a bag and not of any quality I'm afraid. Again, it's such an shame because it could be a gem, but it's not (anymore?).

"Potential to be good"

2
19francis57, Hampshire, United Kingdom 28/08/2020

This was not a great stay. The room was OK but wrinkled old carpet and very basic. Noisy at night, every sound came through from the room above.This was supposed to be a superior room but had no hospitality tray, just a tatty corner shelf with 2 mugs stuffed with the bare minimum sachets and a kettle.. wooden sticks for spoons. Small crooked shelf in the bathroom was wonky and loose with 2 plastic cups and a tiny shampoo and conditioner to last 2 people for 2 days.Stained plastic suction mat on the floor of the bath. Nice shower..It all functioned well enough. The breakfast was dire. A paper bag left outside the room containing for 2 people 2 cold tasteless muffins, 2 cold croissant, 2 little boxes of orange juice, an apple and cereal bar each. Packet of butter and jam but no knife to spread it, no plates and no serviettes. Crumbs ended up on the bed as nowhere else to sit to have it. On complaining to management we were told we could sit in the restaurant to eat it so did this next day. However it was the same meal. We asked for another croissant but were told there were no more. . When we complained they said they couldn't seat everyone for breakfast with 23 rooms and about 12-13 tables. Why not have 2 sittings..Covid seemed to be the excuse for everything . We did complain and they offered to email us a voucher for a free night when everything had "settled down" which was OK but it never happened! All the things I've mentioned are easy to remedy so I hope they do because it is a picturesque old building which has potential to be a charming,quirky hotel.

Lauren Harding, General Manager at The Moonraker, responded to this review
Good afternoon 19francis57, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback with us and I do hope my email reached you well. In line with advise we did make the decision to remove some of our 'home comforts' from our bedrooms to reduce the risk of any potential 'hot spots'. As mentioned to you, the room you stayed within was a standard room type in line with your offer which you booked with us, if we can ever upgrade our guests we always try to ensure we do however we were fully booked on the dates during which you stayed with us. I can also confirm the maintenance points you have mentioned on check out and here have already been addressed with regards to the shelf and the bath mat has been replaced. Our guest rooms aren't currently cleaned by our Housekeeping team as standard to ensure the safety of our guests and staff, guests are more than welcome to request this however and additional items for their rooms. Our team would have been more than happy to offer additional toiletries upon request. With regards to breakfast, we understand this isn't our usual cooked breakfast at the moment, however we feel this was a good precaution for us to reopen. We have now reviewed this and are changing the way in which we offer our breakfast. Kindest regards, Lauren Harding General Manager

"Good but not great"

3
User 27/08/2020

Recently stayed for one night for my birthday. Check in and check out was smooth and the hotel was set up for social distancing which was reassuring. We were asked if we wanted breakfast which we did and was told it would be delivered to our rooms at 11pm in preparation for the morning. We did question this as it was gale force winds and raining but was told there was a porch outside our room so it would be ok. We stayed in one of the rooms in the separate building with it own front door. That was a nice touch. The room had seen better days and does need a really really good clean. There was cobwebs and spiders. The drawers had previous guests hair in them and the carpet needed a good hoover. We put it down to the place being rustic and we that hadn't booked a modern hotel. While the bed was huge the mattress was in desperate need of replacing as was so soft and I could feel every spring, not the best night sleep when you are pregnant! The room was supposedly sound proofed but I could hear next doors TV and toilet and our door banged with the wind. We did not have breakfast delivered at 11pm as promised. In the morning we tried to call reception but it was closed, we tired to go to reception but it was closed. We tried to call the duty manager but no answer. If we had had to checkout early we wouldn't have had a breakfast but we i spotted a lady delivering brown bagged breakfasts at around 0900 but she missed us out. We had to shout over to her to ask for one. The continental breakfast consisted of an Alpen bar, crossiant, blueberry muffin, apple, box of orange juice, butter and apricot jam but no knife. I really wouldn't say that this was worth the cost of a breakfast at all. Luckily I had birthday cake for breakfast instead but I shared it with a dead spider that fell from the roof.

"What's happened"

2
williamseaman1, Swaffham, United Kingdom 26/08/2020

Not like previous stays, Forgot our breakfast to be delivered to our door, took over an hour to find someone. to let them know and this had to be done by using our mobile phone as could not find a staff member, it arrived in bag smelling badly of fish They did not have us booked in for our reserved evening meal , did manage to give us a table after proving our reservation via our email. Reported light fitting hanging above shower head ,not fixed during our two day stay. When I asked member of staff if shower was safe to use was told , should be but don't use it if you don't feel safe!, . Staff seemed to be struggling, really don't know what has happened at this hotel since our last stay. Totally understand that some things needed to change because of Covid-19 it this visit was like staying at a different hotel. Very disappointing.

"Overnight stay"

5
Elizabeth M, Bromley, United Kingdom 23/08/2020

Last minute trip so not many places left in August but we weren't disappointed by the Moonraker hotel. Beautiful old manor house - we had a room in the original building which was very comfortable, spacious and clean - we just had to watch our heads on the beams! We had a very good dinner - limited menu due to Covid but good selection and my daughter particularly enjoyed the chocolate. Highly recommended

"Outstanding "

5
E1321XEdebbieg, Lewes, United Kingdom 14/08/2020

We stayed at The Moonraker for a break from ‘normal life'. The hotel was absolutely beautiful, very easy to socially distance in the lovely grounds and gardens. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Although the menu was limited the food was of superior quality. We had an ‘outside' room which was clean and spacious! Many thanks for making our stay memorable. We'll be back!

"Not Good at all"

2
Giles c, Peterborough, United Kingdom 12/08/2020

I am really not sure where this hotel gets all it's rave 5 star reviews from. We have recently stayed here and found the hotel very much in a run done state, the room that we had was really pokey and the bed was very uncomfortable, the continental breakfast was was served up in a carry bag outside your room was of a very bad standard with poor ingredients in fact one morning they forgot to leave it outside and we had to go and get it, we had booked two evening meals but after the first we cancelled the next evening, as it was so bad, and went else where to eat In a nut shell I really don't know how they get away with charging the price that they do, so if you read this beware!! as this was very nearly a one star

"HIGH JINKS for pensioners"

5
kenf727, Totton, United Kingdom 06/03/2020

On booking was offered a superior room on payment of a small supplement Arrived to a welcoming reception and quickly shown to our suite. Impressive room containing a large four poster bed. Unfortunately the bed was set on a dais needing a 5 step climb to reach its level. Another problem was that the height of the mattress was above my wife's waist soimpossible for her to climb in and I had to make a bit of a running dive at it. Back to reception for a stool which flummoxed them but came up with the solution of putting a chair beside the bed to climb on. It gave us quite a laugh. The steps to the bed made things awkward as apart from a chest of drawers everything else was on the lower level, ie wardrobe bathroom and tea making facilities, so it was a constant walk up and down whilst we were in occupation. Huge bathroom but bath projected diagonally into the room so was unable to enjoy a bath as I knew I would be unable to get myself out without some supporting handles. Also towel rail was out of reach of the bath. It was a fantastic room for honeymooners and younger people of greater ability and height than we have. We are 72 & 80, The hotel was arranged and designed sympathetically and we enjoyed a well presented evening 5 course taster meal. Breakfast was also plentiful and brought by a most amiable and attentive lady. All staff that we met were of the same ilk. All in all, a lovely place to stay -recommended - and would stay again but would request a more conventional room.

"A beautifully quite retreat in which to chill"

5
User 29/02/2020

We were shown to our room which was room 4. A lovely room overlooking the garden & fields beyond. Warm & comfortable with a settee rather than the usual chairs which was welcome. The five course menu was delicious and well balanced. All the staff we met were friendly, helpful & efficient. I'm sure we'll be back.

"What a super stay"

5
Paul J, Derbyshire, United Kingdom 26/02/2020

My Wife and I have just returned from an overnight stay at the Moonraker. We were greeted at reception and told that we had been upgraded to a suite which was a lovely surprise. We had a nice room with a four poster bed and a super bathroom with a roll top bath. The 5 course taster menu last night was very tasty and well cooked. The breakfasts were equally of good quality with smoked salmon that had been smoked on site and the eggs came from the hens at the hotel. All of the staff were very pleasant and attentive and we were very well looked after. We will definitely stay there again in the future. Many thanks, Paul & Anne Johnson

"First class hotel"

5
susand882, Christchurch, United Kingdom 15/02/2020

This is a beautiful hotel with delightful staff and delicious food. It was very dog friendly with even a little dog bed in the room. The dog rooms are located across from the main hotel and would also be very suitable for disabled travellers. I hope to be able to return in the very near future.

"Food in this hotel is very good."

5
Flynn123bullys, Reading, United Kingdom 05/02/2020

I've stayed in this hotel numerous times due to working nearby. The hotel is always quiet midweek, the staff are very friendly and always helpful. But without a shadow of a doubt the quality of the food is always spot on every meal is quality at a great price. Keep it up.

"Quiet retreat required"

4
OliCox, Littlehampton 20/01/2020

Picked this hotel as we had previously stayed there. Work in retail and after a tough christmas/new year, just wanted somewhere quiet to stay. The hotel is very old worlde, which my partner and I love. Room was comfortable and clean. Unfortunately very squeecky floor boards in the room above disturbing our hopeful lye ins. Breakfast was to a high standard and kept us going through the day. Skipped lunch on all 3 days. Great base to visit Bath and Bristol. The staff are fantastic. On the first night a young chef took us to reception as it had moved from our last visit to the hotel. Linda at breakfast is an absolute joy. Funny, witty and cheerful. Not put off of visiting again, but would ask for a quieter room.

"Bigged themselves up in room portfolio - lots amis"

2
nanajohn2015, Hertfordshire, United Kingdom 11/01/2020

Stayed for five days recently. There had been a wedding the day before our arrival. Courtyard covered in confetti which progressively got more and more dangerous to walk on as it rained. Could have been swept up. Window cills in restaurant were covered with sticky glass marks and spilt soil from pot plants on arrival and still there five days later. Food spilt on floor by a baby second day of our break still on floor day we left. Carpet threadbare with dangerous slits in carpet to our room. Had I worn heels would have worried for my safety on the stairs. Various bits of paper etc noted on floor in communal areas still there from arrival to departure.Shower took two days to repair and toilet cistern drips 38 times after flushing and initial filling. Bit irritating in the night.. Needs a good renovation and a decent cleaner. No-one on reception for 20 minutes when we tried to book in. Menu is seasonal - changes every three months, no change in even soup flavour. If you don't eat fish gets a bit boring after four meals. Extremely salty meals - I usually put salt on my food. Large pot hole at entrance to hotel could be filled with something. Not the break we were expecting from their own write up or some other peoples views. Good point - lovely bed and linen - but bedroom carpet gradually got grubbier and grubbier with black sequins appearing ? where from - I didn't have anything with sequins on. So obviously not vaccumed during our stay - bit dubious if it was before our arrival even. We did not wear shoes inside the room and we are mid 60s so do not cause the sort of mess that gradually appeared. Bathroom bath panel exceptionally water stained, toilet brush rusty and damp patches noticeable in bathroom and bedroom window cill. No offer to carry suitcases up steep stairs to room until person showing us to room noted difficulty climbing stairs - (guest has two artificial knees). Property definitely needs a good paint, replacement carpets and attention to detail. If you write that you hand out home made museli bars on arrival - do so. Only minor point but if you pay hundreds of pounds to stay somewhere and is classed as AA starred with rosette food would have expected something better. Have photos to back up all above.

"Rubbish could not give our travelzoo voucher accommodation we wanted"

1
Travel605459, South Wales, United Kingdom 08/01/2020

We had a travelzoo voucher give us at christmas to stay at the moonraker trowbridge, but when I went to book for a Friday night we were told no rooms avalible. But when visited my booking .com site there were rooms avalible. Contacted hotel direct but they would not help us at all. Very poor.

Sleeping_Bear_Hotels, Manager at The Moonraker, responded to this review
Dear Travel605459, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback with us and I am sorry that you feel you were unable to use your Travel Zoo voucher with us. As mentioned to you by our reservations team, the Travel Zoo voucher you were kindly bought for Christmas are subject to availability and the date which you wanted to book was unfortunately fully booked. The Travel Zoo website does advise guests to call ahead to the hotel before purchasing these vouchers to check that your desired dates are available, I can only apologise that we were fully booked for the particular date which you wished to book. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you to the Moonraker Hotel in the future. Kindest regards, Lauren Harding Deputy General Manager

"Travelzoo Offer - Fortunately"

3
Streethawk4, Yeovil, United Kingdom 06/01/2020

Location is easy to get too. The room (No 11) was in one of the outside converted stables. Big enough room but definitely showing signs of tiredness and everything could do with a refresh. Evening taster meal was included in the price - Although tasty, it is trying hard at being Michelin level through presentation but not succeeding. I have visited many country manor type hotels with tasting menus and this was lacking quite considerably. I have seen bigger sprats than the size of 'smoked mackerel' that was served on the fish course.I feel that the menu was certainly designed for the offer, which is somewhat disappointing. If the standard of the a la carte menu had better options then this also reflects on how this place is run. After retiring back to the room after a couple of drinks, I noticed the room getting cold. After checking the heating it transpired the heating had gone. After calling the out of hours mobile number (no reception after 11pm), they duly supplied an electric heater which did help to at least take the chill off. When going over to breakfast in the morning, another guest asked me if I had no heating over night. So it was never actually fixed for the rest of the rooms......Glad I called when I did. Breakfast again was average. The food itself was to a satisfactory standard but the service was absolutely terrible, many tables having to ask for service/orders. Cafetieres were of short supply, they had to wait for one to clean so I could have a coffee. Again this just re-emphasizes that the hotel is being run to a cost but attempting to supply a higher end experience. When checking out, the gentleman in front of me was also putting in several complaints about his room - shower not working and no TV remote. All in all, for the price I paid, it could have been worse. If I was paying full price then it would be a different story.

"Great stay! "

5
dcg091, Hereford, United Kingdom 15/12/2019

We stayed recently with the pooch and had a great time. We found all staff to be very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The room was a good size with a very comfy large double bed and had great facilities. We enjoyed a superb evening meal as part of the SE package and both thought the food was outstanding! Equally, breakfast was fantastic too and service was great. Will definitely return to the moonraker!

"Nice stay in a lovely hotel"

4
TravelwithR, Trier, Germany 21/11/2019

We enjoyed out stay. House and garden are beautifully set up and the rooms are clean. Staff was very nice Didn't give five stars since the house could need some love here and there concerning moldy windows and walls (It's an old building)

"Lovely place for a relaxing stay in the country"

5
User 20/11/2019

Faultless place, beautiful part of the country and an authentic boutique feel. Breakfast was particularly superb with their own smoked salmon and free range eggs to die for. Absolutely would stay again and will recommend to family

"Great One Night Stay"

5
Deafsardine, Bury, United Kingdom 11/11/2019

On arrival at the Moonraker my wife and I were met in reception by a very pleasant and efficient young lady who then personally escorted us to our room (and insisted on carrying our suitcase). The room was spotlessly clean and the large double bed was very comfortable. The good sized bathroom with bath and overhead shower was also immaculate and well equipped. Due to other commitments we did not have dinner at the hotel but we enjoyed an excellent full English breakfast the following morning. Thanks to the helpful and friendly staff we enjoyed an excellent short stay in this lovely hotel.

"So nice - best nights sleep in ages!!"

5
User 07/11/2019

I chose this hotel as it was near to where I was working and it had good reviews - they certainly lived up to that - I arrived late, I was welcomed and a real effort made to ensure that I got something to eat. There was water in the room which I really appreciated. I will be back!!

"Wonderful food and stay"

5
helenajackson, Broadstone, United Kingdom 07/11/2019

We stayed one night here as a treat for our parents' anniversary. We were very pleasantly surprised at the variety on the menu and were overwhelmed with just how good the food was. The sake cured salmon and steak particularly stood out, but everything was so good!! Lovely rooms and staff, thank you so much!

"Stunning"

5
elisewright1999, Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom 03/11/2019

Absolutely stunning place! Stayed here as a birthday present for the weekend and it was amazing. The room was lovely and clean, the food was also good. The staff, especially the woman at reception, were lovely and couldn't do enough.

MiraCampeanu, Food & Beverage Manager at The Moonraker, responded to this review
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for the lovely feedback. We are all happy you had such a great time here at The Moonraker Hotel and we hope you will celebrate every birthday with us . Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Kindest Regards, Mira Campeanu Food and Beverage Manager

"Avarage place for value"

3
User 03/11/2019

We booked this place in our trip to Bath and we stopped for one night. I have to say that for 1 night is ok but we regate we had dinner there because the location is nothing special and the food menu is limited with same prices as a cute and cosy pub. The room was nice and cleaned but definitely too warm and when we had breakfast they didm't have porridge and the coffe machine was broken. So overall it was ok but not a great experience.

MiraCampeanu, Food & Beverage Manager at The Moonraker, responded to this review
Dear Gues, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us and we appreciate both positive and constructive comments. We are very sorry you had not enjoyed the dinner with us , we normally get very good feedback on chefs menu. Pubs food normally comes from frozen but All our ingredients are fresh , some from our kitchen garden, food it is cooked from scratch by our passionate chefs . Also , we are sorry for not having the porridge available that morning, but we have so many choices on the menu ( full breakfast, smoked salmon , smoked in our own smokery and scrambled eggs, eggs Benedict / Royale or Florentine, Vegetarian Breakfast, and a full buffet with cereals , ham and cheese, pastries and croissants, fresh fruits and dry fruits, prunes, jams, nutella, etc). The only coffee we can't serve it is espresso due our coffee machine problem but it will be fixed soon. We can do americano/ cappucinno/ cafetiere or cafe latte. Only coffee we serve for breakfast it is freshly brewed coffee in a caffetiere . We are changing the menu again and we hope you will give us another chance if ever in the area. In the summer is lovely here. Best Regards, Mira Campeanu Food and Beverage Manager

"Great small hotel, lovely staff."

5
dbb0603, Liverpool, United Kingdom 02/11/2019

Stayed here on business and really felt like a guest. Food and drink was lovely but a bit expensive . Rooms were nice and spacious. Will return again and explore the area when not on business. Hot water could be improved.

"My partner's birthday, we both loved it"

5
User 01/11/2019

Absolutely loved it, will be back in the spring or summer when the weather will be better, I bet it is glorious. The food in the restaurant was excellent, I would love to sample more dishes there. We both look forward to it.

"Great place to stay"

4
SS9Essex, Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom 31/10/2019

I stayed here on business trying to find something a little less sterile than the normal “business hotel” chains but still within my company overnight budget. The Moonraker is a grade 2 listed building with a lot of character and history going back over 500 years. I wasn't provided with a room within the main building itself but one of the rooms in the converted outbuildings. I was initially a little disappointed as the main house looked so interesting, but the converted rooms were very nice, oak beams, antique furniture and an extremely comfortable bed. TV reception a little dodgy, no BBC channels, but WiFi signal was good enough that I could use my laptop, so not really an issue. I did eat at the restaurant, great choice....set three course meal at £20.00 was fantastic value and really nice. All the staff at this hotel are really friendly and accommodating....a credit to the hotel. Would I stay here again....most definitely.

MiraCampeanu, Food & Beverage Manager at The Moonraker, responded to this review
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review about us. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay here at The Moonraker Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back if ever in the area. Our Set menu changes weekly and we are in a process to change the A La Carte Menu as well so you can have a good variety of dishes to choose from. Please book direct with our reservation team and ask for one of the Manor House Rooms so we can block it off for you. Best Regards, Mira Campeanu Food and Beverage Manager

"Hidden treasure"

5
User 24/10/2019

Wow, what a gorgeous hidden treasure. Having lived in the area for 4 years I was unaware of this wonderful hotel. Now back in the area for business I stumbled upon this hotel. A Grade II listed building bursting with character. Staff were very attentive. Food fresh and delicious. Being gluten intolerant is always an issue for me, reducing some menu choices to steak and chips. Not here, free complimentary bread, olive oil and balsamic vinigar, gluten free! Chef made my main course gluten free, nothing was too much trouble.I will certainly be back

MiraCampeanu, Food & Beverage Manager at The Moonraker, responded to this review
Dear Sue, Thank you very much for the lovely review. We are happy you have enjoyed the stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Chef and his team in the kitchen are trying their best to cater for all dietary requirements as all guests to feel welcomed in our restaurant. Kind Regards, Mira Campeanu Food and Beverage Manager

"First Time"

4
User 18/10/2019

This was our first time to the Moonraker myself and my colleague and we found the staff to be very welcoming. We booked in for a meal in the evening and found the food to be very good and the staff to be very welcoming and interested in you, thank you all.

MiraCampeanu, Food & Beverage Manager at The Moonraker, responded to this review
Dear Guest, We are glad you and your colleague enjoyed your dinner in the restaurant and you found the staff welcoming. Thank you very much for your feedback . We are all hoping you will stay with us if you ever in the area again. We are changing the menu and will be even more there for you to choose from. Best Regards, Mira Campeanu

"Weekend break"

4
User 17/10/2019

Nice Hotel in a convenient location A bit on the pricey side for the food, we chose one of the many local pubs for evening meal based on choice on the menu and price. The room was nice and cozy and the radiators were on max heat making the room stifling There were several cobwebs located on the lampshades and in the corner of the rooms. Breakfast was nice and fresh but again pricey for what you got. Nice stay shame about the weather but hey you cant book that

MiraCampeanu, Food & Beverage Manager at The Moonraker, responded to this review
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay with us. We are very sorry for the cobwebs situation, I had informed our housekeeping manager and she will discuss with the team to make sure this wont happen again. We hope you will visit us again if ever in the area. We are changing the menus and the prices are going down now , so we hope you will have dinner with us next time as no pub around the area will provide better food. Chef is cooking everything from scratch and all ingredients are fresh, some even from our garden. Please check our website for the best deals with breakfast / dinner or both included . Best Regards Mira Campeanu Food and Beverage Manager

"The Moonraker"

5
User 16/10/2019

Another visit to The Moonraker - a little gem of a hotel just a few minutes drive from beautiful Bradford-on-Avon. A super rural location that guarantees a peaceful night's sleep. A super breakfast every time with plenty of choice. Lovely staff that go out of their way to make your stay an enjoyable one.

"The perfect stay"

5
sfa962, London, United Kingdom 15/10/2019

We chose this hotel as part of a weekend getaway where we could relax but have the chance to venture out if we wanted to. It's the perfect location for just that and only a 20 minute drive to Bath. Our room was beautifully decorated and had the most gorgeous bathroom with The White Company toiletries. The staff here go above and beyond to make sure you have everything you need and nothing is too much trouble for them. After one of my requests, one of the staff took the time and trouble to leave a personalised note for me which we were greeted with on our return to the room. It truly showed genuine care. Breakfast is cooked to order and was great and beyond filling. The staff at breakfast were all super friendly and caring. I would definitely go back again, but next time for longer. A huge thanks to the staff for a perfect stay. Our trip

"Lovely hotel, charming and professional staff"

4
User 14/10/2019

Perfect location for a visit to Bradford on Avon, Bath and Lacock. Room was cosy, double bed very comfortable and staff were very friendly, helpful and professional. My only criticism would be that we had requested a twin room at booking (via Booking.com) and were given a double that also had a sofa bed as the second bed. There was therefore quite a marked difference between the comfort of the two beds. Also only one vegetarian option on the menu hence we did not dine in the restaurant. Other than that a lovely stay thank you.

"Not as good as last time"

3
User 07/10/2019

Normally a great and quiet location for visiting Bath. Unfortunately this time due to other guests this was not the case. The room was not as good as the one stayed in previously - quite tired in areas and black dog hair on the carpet.

"wedding party"

3
User 07/10/2019

the location was excellent , the staff very good and polite,the room we had needed updating otherwise the overall stay and the wedding was excellent, really not much more to say would recommend this venue for a wedding

"Guest at a wedding at Moonraker Hotel: 2 night stay"

3
Vivienne1001, Hertfordshire 05/10/2019

We arrived Wednesday late afternoon, the day before the Wedding we were attending on Thursday. We were given Room 14 in the main (original) part of the hotel (above reception). A standard room apparently: cost - £92! First appearance: very ‘country hotel' style. Low beamed ceiling, quaint bathroom, creepy floorboards, etc. However, whilst unpacking: we realised you could not hang anything really except trousers over a hanger in the ‘minute/short' wardrobe. So: we were away for 3 days - we ended up with clothes everywhere (on curtain tracks, picture frames, even the ironing board). I returned to Reception and asked if we could be moved to another room. Told not possible: no rooms available. Advised it is a short wardrobe in our room as taller ones cannot be taken upstairs!!!??? Also: only one usable drawer at bottom of wardrobe for all flat clothes (jumpers, tops, etc..) During the evening... we visited friends in other rooms who had paid the same rate... we felt like the poor relatives! The comparison of rooms was like ‘night and day'. I was advised to send an email to The Manager, expressing my concerns. I did on Wednesday evening. We stayed in the room... The Wedding was fabulous ... The food excellent. The banqueting staff were brilliant... very efficient and friendly. Breakfast was great... lots of choice (and the same friendly staff who had been working the day before at the wedding). All a credit to the hotel. By Friday... I had no reply from The Manager. We checked out of the hotel with no contact from her. I resent my email. By Saturday morning I was quite angry at (in my opinion) the total lack of customer service as I still had not had a reply. I then wrote to the owner...copying in my previous mail. Only then did I get a response from the acting Manager. It contained... Reasons/excuses ... for not being in touch. I was advised she (the acting Manager) and Housekeeper would inspect Room 14 to check it out... with a view to considering improvements for storage. I do hope so, for the sake of future guests. I cannot believe I am the first person to mention this?! The hotel was altogether ok, albeit when we returned at about 1030 on Wednesday night after a meal out with fellow wedding guests... the bar was shut and in darkness?! The night before a wedding with (apparently) a hotel full of guests!!??!! As country hotels go: it's in a good location between Trowbridge and Bradford-on-Avon. Very clean. Good parking. Great restaurant staff. BUT: I simply cannot abide bad Customer Service. I was a customer who was very unhappy with our room. I wrote an email as requested (by the acting Manager who had been contacted at the time of my request to move). Then no response or any contact whatsoever. Not a note... a voicemail message on the phone - nothing)!? For this reason I have put my rating at just 3 stars. I stress though: this unfortunate experience did not spoil an otherwise fabulous friendly and happy event. It did however take the shine off our stay.

"Huge rooms!"

4
tripadict869, Chesham, United Kingdom 30/09/2019

Very comfortable large rooms. Plenty of hot water, but bed was 2 singles together.Having a sofa in the room was good. T.V. needed re - tuning. Good breakfast - plenty of choice, but too early! Dinner menu had choice, but fish and chips were disappointing. Building interesting and gardens were lovely, but the view out the back was rather neglected, which was a pity.

"England Hotel with awesome personality"

5
FictionLover29, Atlanta, Georgia 29/09/2019

This hotel was an amazing find. While my dad was with me I loved that they had free parking and then when it was just me I was glad that they were so near to the local bus stops and the train stations as I utilized both! I even booked a taxi through the hotel which was very easy and convenient to do. The hotel has a nice feel to it. I love that it's somewhat isolated in the sense that it's not completely surrounded by other building and such if a big city but also not so far removed that I couldn't navigate it without a car. I felt that the hotel was a very nice mix of a cabin rustic and hotel luxury. Upscale but not snooty. The bed was super comfy and plenty big. The staff were all very kind, knowledgeable and helpful and available all day if needed. The option to eat breakfast and dinner as well as as a bar on property was very nice and convenient as some public transportation is trickier or more nerve wracking for a girl unused to using transit options at night. Loved the room—definitely wasn't just a little shoebox sized space as many places are for the same price or more. Great trip. Great hotel. Great experience. We went to Bath, Stonehenge, Lacock Village, Castle Combe Village and the Heathrow Airport from the hotel and none of them were too far. The airport being the furthest at 2 hours given the traffic at the time.

"Comfortable, spacious rooms"

4
woodssally82, Chesham, United Kingdom 27/09/2019

The rooms round the courtyard, at the Moonraker are comfortable and very spacious. Good beds and I think there mattress toppers on them. Interesting and suitable decor for an old building - the bed posts come from an old hotel's staircase and have been used to great effect. Lots of hot water and tea and coffee - making facilities were very welcome after busy days out sightseeing. Good breakfasts and very cheerful, friendly staff. Pretty gardens at the front and in the courtyard.

"Brilliant hotel"

5
U6633EYwaynec, Northampton 26/09/2019

I stay in a lot of hotels with the job I do. This hotel is by far one of the nicest. I was shown to my well decorated and spacious room with amazing views and the given some home made flapjack as a welcome. The restaurant for an evening meal was very lovely and relaxed. The host “Jo” made our evening. She was so friendly and had a good conversations with us. Just a very good host and made us feel so welcomed and at home. The menu is a bit pricey for how it reads (ie fish & chips £17) But! The portions are generous and the food is very high quality and to be honest very tasty. The chef made an amazing creme Brule also (highly recommend) An over all fantastic stay and I will be back!

"A fine hotel with exceptional staff"

5
580keithl, Wellingborough, United Kingdom 25/09/2019

Our weekend break at The Moonraker got off to a promising start when we entered the reception area and were greeted by a very friendly and welcoming lady, who showed us round and then accompanied us to our room. This was room 17, which was a deluxe room. The room was large and light and airy with a view over the gardens and had a lot of character. The staff in the restaurant were excellent, as was the food at dinner, which was prepared with flair and imagination, utilising top-quality ingredients. Breakfast was also excellent with plenty of choice and was again prepared with very fine ingredients.

"Great location to enjoy the local area"

5
Roy B, East Grinstead, United Kingdom 25/09/2019

A quiet hotel with a nice atmosphere. The hotel is located back from the road and overlooks the countryside. We were in the smallest room (6) in the main part of the hotel, but found it perfectly fine for our stay. Plenty of parking.

"Lovely experience"

5
Mikey L, Devon, United Kingdom 24/09/2019

Our second visit was as good as the first and we look forward to our next stay Our Deluxe room was large enough for our friends, another couple to join us to socialise and play board games although we did need to move 2 comfy chairs from one room to the other. The food was really good both the evening and breakfast meals. The wine seemed a little expensive however.

"Absolutely wonderful"

5
User 16/09/2019

Stayed overnight on our way to Wales. Beautiful, very comfy rooms, especially comfy bed, very nice and very very helpful staff, great dinner and breakfast, nice dog-walking area nearby, beautiful garden, and a relaxed athmosphere.

"Enjoyable stay"

5
cnoble857436, Stanley, United Kingdom 13/09/2019

Had a 3 night stay and found staff very polite and helpful. First night I had a poor sleep due to other guests, the staff moved my belongings to another room with my agreement whilst I was away all day.Had a great sleep the next two nights. Thanks go to Linda,Donna and the two girls on reception.

"2nd stay at the moonraker"

5
User 12/09/2019

We stayed overnight on our way back from our wedding in cornwall 2 years ago and loved it so much we returned for our anniversary for a long weekend. The building is beautiful and lovely decorated. Very dog friendly too!

"Ideal for a short getaway."

5
ABrumAbroad, Sheffield, United Kingdom 11/09/2019

Very nice and relaxing couple of days. Will be going again when down south again. Ideally placed for West Wilts. Room clean, bed very comfy. As was the sofa, which is unusual, Dogs appear to be welcome too.

"Amazing lovely hotel with fine food"

5
tyrakatrin23, Bremerhaven, Germany 09/09/2019

This hotel is a secret tip. It is so lovely with its old but wonderful rooms. The staff is great and so friendly. And if you will be in this hotel don't miss the really fine food. Both, breakfast and diner, were exzellent.

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.