Promotion code

SureStay Hotel by Best Western Tehachapi, Tehachapi

418 W Tehachapi Boulevard, 93561-1638, Tehachapi, United States - See on a map
SureStay Hotel by Best Western Tehachapi - Welcome to the SureStay Hotel by Best Western Tehachapi! The SureStay Hotel by Best Western Tehachapi is ideally located in the center of Tehachapi. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

Welcome to SureStay Hotel by Best Western Tehachapi! A visit to the nearby Woodward Skate Park provides an exciting outing for the whole family, and it's just minutes from this Tehachapi hotel. However, more traditional athletes can find their stride at the local Stallion Springs Golf Course, a favorite destination for locals and travelers alike. The Tehachapi Museum is a must for history buffs and families vacationing in this idyllic California town. Whether you're here for a family reunion, just passing through or have business with a local agency or organization such as the Tehachapi State Prison, staying close to the best destinations and amenities makes your stay that much better. The outdoor pool and hot tub is a big draw for many guests, and you'll feel right at home with pet rooms and smoking rooms as options. However, there are also many pet-free rooms and non-smoking rooms for your comfort. Choose the accommodation that best suits you. There's free Wi-Fi in every room and throughout the hotel, making your stay the best it can be. When it comes time to discover the local town, friendly staff members are available for recommendations. This Tehachapi hotel is close to the famous Jake's Steakhouse, and we're located along the Tehachapi Loop for your convenience. Head to the Red House BBQ for a real treat, or tour the GE Windmill Farm and discover just how green this part of California can be. We're minutes from the Tehachapi Airport for frequent fliers and close to clean campgrounds for outdoor lovers. Whether hiking or swimming is on the agenda, it's all within easy reach. The right Tehachapi hotel can make all the difference. Discover what's waiting for you. Reserve a relaxing stay at the SureStay Hotel by Best Western Tehachapi now!


Hotel by Best Western Tehachapi




Hotel advantages

  • Free parking
    Free parking
  • Outdoor parking
    Outdoor parking
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
based on 204 guest reviews
Very Good
Business Business
Couples Couples
Family Family
Friends getaway Friends getaway
Solo travel Solo travel
Sleep Quality

"Nice, but wrong bed size"

ESTHER M, SHAFTER 19/08/2019

We've stayed here before. It's nice and cozy. Except for the Gardner blowing stuff all over my vehicle, and we reserved a king suite. The bed was by no means a king size bed. Said something to staff and tried to tell me that's why it was discounted. It was discounted when I reserved it... Duh

SureStay-Tehachapi, Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western Tehachapi, responded to this review
ESTHER M, Thank you for your review We are sorry that you were dissatisfied with the size of the bed. Your comments have been shared with the appropriate hotel team.

"Good low budget place"

User 20/07/2019

Worth it for the money. Easy to get to and plenty of parking. My room smelled of stale cigarette smoke. Also, some of the paint was peeling off in the bathroom. Its only two stories tall which is nice

SureStay-Tehachapi, Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western Tehachapi, responded to this review
STEVE P, Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear your stay was worth it and easy t get to. Come visit us again when travels bring you through the Tehachapi area.

"My stay at sure stay was surely what the dr ordered!."

User 07/07/2019

The hotel had fantastic breakfast. Most friendly people. Everything I needed. The environment was clean. Tasty food all around. Beautiful scenery. Lots of antic shops around. Was a hotel with standards.

SureStayTehachapi, Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western Tehachapi, responded to this review
Curious02923957602, SureStay by Best Western Tehachapi Staff thank you for the feedback. We are overjoyed to hear your stay was everything you needed; from the hotel, complimentary breakfast, friendly staff, cleanliness, and scenery. WE hope you choose to stay with us again when the Dr. orders.

"excellent for an overnight stay"

joemontana16, Mission Viejo, California 07/07/2019

Moved out of our home 2 days prior to leaving so we needed a place to stay in town (no beds in the house anymore). This place was perfect – it's a motel so you drive right up to your room if you are lucky enough to have a 1st floor room. I've been staying in hotels forever and forgot how convenient a motel can be for a one or two night stay. Clean and quiet. Within walking distance of some restaurants, others less than a mile away. Breakfast wasn't bad either.

SureStayTehachapi, Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western Tehachapi, responded to this review
joemontana16, SureStay by Best Western Tehachapi Staff thank you for your review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us during your move and the convenience of the hotel layout and room location worked perfectly for you. We wish you safe travels on your new journey. Come visit us again when in the Tehachapi area.

"Horrible customer service"

User 27/06/2019

Rude front desk person/room had horrible odor/terrible breakfast options~was well within my cancellation time and realized immediately after my card was charged that I had booked the wrong hotel. They refused to refund my card even after they told me to call corporate Best Western and they could call and request the refund-their reason was “it is not our problem you booked the wrong hotel”. Tried to get to at least give me a room that did not have a foul odor and was told rudely “no”!

SureStay-Tehachapi, Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western Tehachapi, responded to this review
Thank you for your review. After we check someone in there is no longer a cancellation time. We had already collected the money and you had already been in the room. If you would like to talk about this further you can email us directly. Thank you again.

"Better than home!"

Diana C, Lancaster, California, USA 17/06/2019

Staff is awesome! They were very helpful and friendly. The handicapped room is truly designed for wheel-chair bound person. Even though full breakfast isn't ready to 7am, we were able to get morning service (limited) at 6am. Was very satisfied with complete experience.

SureStay-Tehachapi, General Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western Tehachapi, responded to this review
Diana C, SureStay by Best Western Tehachapi Staff thank you for your review! From our entire team, we are glad that you found your stay better than home; from the room, our staff, and the complimentary breakfast. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again when travels bring you through the Tehachapi area

"Rude and stinky"

Traveler33675874027, Bakersfield, California 03/06/2019

The front dest staff was very rude and the lobby smelled horrible. We called ahead the day before to get an early check in and when we arrived were treated very rudely. We had to stay at a different hotel. We drove in from out of town for a wedding and needed to get ready.

SureStay-Tehachapi, General Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western Tehachapi, responded to this review
We are sorry that you feel this way. We don't guarantee early check ins. If we have it available we are more than happy to accommodate the day of arrival. We can't promise it before had as we don't know when we will sell out. We will look further into the smell that you are talking about. Thank you for reviewing the motel. This will help us know where to improve for our future guest.

"Happy with our stay here"

alstnpt, Las Vegas, Nevada 30/05/2019

Not fancy but good value for the money. Safe, clean, quiet, right in the center of town with access to everything. Provides a very nice full breakfast free of charge. Has a coffee machine, microwave and small refrigerator in the room which is convenient.

SureStay-Tehachapi, General Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western Tehachapi, responded to this review
alstnpt, SureStay by Best Western Tehachapi thank you for wonderful review and our glad to hear you had a happy stay with us.

"All a PCT Hiker needs"

bonequinha_sf, San Francisco, CA 24/05/2019

I was providing support to my husband during his 2019 PCT hiking adventure, and he likes Best Westerns since they usually all have: (1) self-service laundry; and (2) a hot tub to soak aching muscles. This particular BW was also pet friendly (extra pet fee per night) so extra points for being able to bring our pup along. There is a hiker box near the front desk as well. The larger, up-to-date rooms near W Tehachapi Blvd have faux wood-laminate flooring and seem to be a bit cleaner than the rooms parallel to W F Street in the back. We had to switch rooms mid-stay and the second room nearer to W F Street smelled quite musty. However, Yoli at the front desk and her staff were always very quick and responsive to our requests. The sound of the trains can be an issue - especially nearer to the front where rooms face Tehachapi Blvd.

SureStay-Tehachapi, General Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western Tehachapi, responded to this review
bonequinha_sf, SureStay by Best Western Tehachapi thank you for your great review! We are thrilled that we were able to meet all the PCT needs while providing support to your husband. We wish him the best of luck on the Trail.

"Poor customer service"

User 09/05/2019

Poor customer service from Yoli. Tried to cancel reservation and she said it was up to expedia to cancel. She had me arguing with them until i came to find out that it is completely up to this hotel to cancel. Yoli then argues with me until she admits it is her decision and shes not cancelling the reservation. Then she refused to give me anyone else to talk to. She said her only boss is the owner. Very rude and dishonest from the first phone call. She could have just said its her decision and she's not cancelling it instead of having me call back expedia and getting into an argument with them.

BestWesternHotels, Corporate at SureStay Hotel by Best Western Tehachapi, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your recent stay, and we are sorry to hear that it did not exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we hope you will give us another chance and stay with us again. -Best Western Hotels & Resorts

"Don't stay at the Sure Stay"

Dan U, Sonora, United States 08/05/2019

This is the worst Best Western we have visited, and we have been gold members for over 15 years. Lukewarm, shower, weak internet signal, bad breakfast, smoking odors in room and around the hotel and unfriendly staff. This was way below the standards that we normally expect from Best Western. I am surprised that they allow their name to be associated with this property.

BestWesternHotels, Corporate at SureStay Hotel by Best Western Tehachapi, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your recent stay, and we are sorry to hear that it did not exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we hope you will give us another chance and stay with us again. -Best Western Hotels & Resorts

"Senior Couple w/ Cat"

alangm, Yuma 13/04/2019

Seems like it's the only place in Tehachapi that will take pets. Pet room has laminate floor and Motel 6 mattresses. $30 pet fee is ridiculous. Breakfast is low rent. train tracks across the street. Clean sparse room, nice staff though. I hate to slag a property but this is overpriced for what it is. In the future when back and forth to our winter home in Az we will give this town a pass simply due to hotels not being cat friendly.

"Tehachapi overnight"

Sightseer27541099034, Davis, California 04/04/2019

This is a travelers hotel, so people come and go at all hours. Also it's next to the railroad tracks, so it's not quiet.But it's the lowest priced on that strip, clean, roomy, comfortable, great serv.

"Clean, quiet and decent breakfast"

gdr23, Tollhouse, California 20/10/2018

Looks to have been recently upgraded. Smelled clean and fresh when we walked in. Room and bathroom were spacious. Close to the train tracks which can be annoying for some folks. Willing to accommodate parking our tear drop trailer in a safe area( + security cameras thru out property). Many in room safety features and energy conserving features. Would stay here again.

"Clean and quiet. Priced a bit high."

ljalbs908, Bear River City, Utah 19/10/2018

We were happy they had rooms. Nothing fancy, "free breakfast" was marginal, it was mostly boxed cereal and sugary foods; coffee was appreciated. Rooms were clean and quiet. Host was cordial and helpful.

"Fraudulent Behavior, Do not stay here."

danile666, Tehachapi, California 14/10/2018

I rented a room from this hotel the morning of 10-13-18. My reciept from them states 10-13. I rented the room for two nights, leaving on the 15th of October. On the 14th I recieved a call that I had missed checkout. I told them I rented the room for two nights, and they agreed to hold the room for me. I showed up to correct the issue which i believe was clerical at the time. My room was locked, and they forced me to pay for another night in order to obtain my belongings. So I wound up paying for 3 total nights and staying only 2 because they recorded the information incorrectly, and stuck to their guns. My reciept reflects 2 nights purchased at 109 per night on the 13th. When I spoke with the hotel they claimed I checked in an reserved the room as of the 12th...I was not even in the town specifically on the 12th, had no reservations, and walked in on the 13th and requested a room/paid. They basically stole money from me

"Very Pleasant"

bigbearbilly, Big Bear Region, California 17/08/2018

Have stayed here many times. Best rates, clean, nice room, free coffee and breakfast, great location right in the heart of town. All you can ask for. Will be back soon. Tehachipi is a great town to visit. Love the atmosphere there.

"At least ok for one night. "

Travel_A_Lot_3000, Kassel, Germany 23/07/2018

The rooms are ok and big enough. Everything is in good conditions. Parking is free. The WiFi is working. The breakfast with its different kinds of bread, coffee, juice,... is ok. Only the check in woman (Chinese?) has too learn a lot about kindness. She had a long telephone call. Seemed private in Mandarin. And after this call she answered another call. So we were waiting and waiting. When she was ready and had started the check in, she did not apologize. And than she went away and told another colleague - a really kind one - to finish our check in. That was very unprofessionell and seemed all very arrogant.

"Very good stay!"

komori, Huntington Beach, California 18/07/2018

Spent 2 nights Rm 223 room was very clean, strong water pressure in the shower. No noise, direct TV, free internet and a great breakfast. Had no problem with management or staff. I would stay here if in the area.

"Bare bones basic"

User 01/07/2018

This is really a 2.5 rating. I can't really give it a two as our room was clean and in working order. The front desk employee was average. However, it was bare bones basic. You get a very plain, clean, yet quite spacious room for a decent price. There is a small pool and breakfast is included. I was afraid noise would be an issue as I'm a light sleeper and this hotel is across the street from railroad tracks. I did hear the trains, but only while I was awake. We tried to book a room in nearby Palmdale's BestWestern Plus through the motel's reservation system. I was told that the motel was full and I asked about the Tehachapi location. The lady said there was availability and we booked a room for two nights. When we arrived at the Tehachapi BWPlus, we were told that we didn't have a reservation and to check next door at the Sure Stay. Sure enough we were on the list. As it was super late and we were super tired, we did't try to change anything. The gal at the reservation office probably didn't realize what she had done. It wasn't the end of the world, but we probably would have had a nicer stay at the BWPlus next door.

"Not pet or customer friendly!"

Ashly U, Sedona, Arizona 01/07/2018

We had called Best Western member reservations looking for Dog-OK motel. The price was a bit more than desired, but when asked the reservation guy said "no extra fee for the dog". So we booked. Arrived check-in staff had reservation but wanted to charge $30 for dog. As I mention BW national said no, so she calls owner. Refused to make adjustment. During this time the "to late to cancel without charge" time arrived. Fortunately Best Western Customer Relations secured the free cancellation for me. But the Sure Stay owner was rude with her, so she opened a complaint file & gave me the ref. #. Motel owner has no integrity!


A_Rolling_stone_85, Los Angeles, California 06/06/2018

I stayed at the Surestay for a weekend in Tehachapi, the only thing that's "sure" about this place is the management's unprofessional behavior. I arrived late on a Friday night and didn't pay much attention to the room as I wanted to get to sleep. The room reeked of cigarettes even though I'd requested a non smoking room (and it was marked as such). When I woke on Saturday morning I immediately observed black mold covering the bathroom ceiling. I brought this to the attention of the manager, Yoli, who shrugged her shoulders and gave me a blank stare. I asked for a refund of the first night's stay and a new room. She replied that she wouldn't be discounting the room because I didn't complain when I arrived (At 12:30 am the previous night), as if complaining 10 hours earlier would have made my claim any more valid. When I asked what they were going to do about the mold, she said "nothing". I asked if she cared about the safety of her guests, to which she responded "no". When I asked if there was a supervisor, she said she was the manager and there was no one else to speak to, and that I should take my complaint "to the website I booked with" (which was Best Western's website). At this point I again demanded a refund since SureStay is independently owned, and the Best Western website wouldn't have given me a refund. It was then that Yoli threatened to call the police if I wouldn't leave "her lobby", claiming I was driving away her customers (they were friends of mine who had to walk outside to contain their laughter). I then called Best Western's customer service line, who told me they'd be directing Yoli to issue me a refund, after she verified the mold. I waited 30 minutes for someone to come to the room to verify the mold was there. When no one showed up, I walked to the lobby to ask for some extra towels. On the way into the lobby I passed a maid who was going out the door. One minute later she came back to the lobby and on my way out, I overheard her tell Yoli in Spanish she couldn't get into the room. I stood at the doorway staring at them waiting for Yoli to tell the maid to go back to the room with me, but she didn't. I had to say "Was she trying to get into my room?" to get the maid to come out with me. Once in the room, the maid verified the mold was covering the bathroom ceiling. Still, Yoli did nothing and issued no kind of refund at all. This is all still on Saturday. On Sunday morning I woke up with ants on my face. I immediately checked the room and found ants in the bedsheets as well as in the bathroom. There were no ants near the food we had in the room, they were only on the beds and in the bathroom. I went to the lobby to complain once more, and Yoli rudely asked if I was eating in bed. I replied "no" as I hadn't been, and that the ants weren't near our food, they were only around the bed. She then suggested that had I allowed housekeeping into my room, that they would have changed the sheets, as if new sheets would have all of a sudden gotten rid of the very obvious ant problem in the room. I've never heard something more ridiculous in my life. I asked what she was going to do to fix the problem, and she said "nothing". I also asked about the refund I was promised from Best Western's Customer Care line and she looked at me and just blinked. At this point I gave up on trying to get a refund and just resigned to the fact that I will NEVER stay at this dump again. To treat paying customers with such disrespect is unfair, unprofessional, and flat out disappointing. Shame on the management for hiring such careless employees who don't flinch when faced with legitimate health concerns. The mold issue was brought to the management's attention immediately, and the only person who came to verify it's existence was a member of the housekeeping staff who covered her mouth and ran out of the bathroom. I followed up with Best Western corporate the day I checked out, and was told the management stated there was no black mold. Photo evidence is hard to refute. I was also put on a list prohibiting me from ever booking at this hotel again, as if I would put myself through that! Stay away from this flophouse at all costs.

"decent room, poor customer service"

User 07/05/2018

The management, Yoli, has the worst customer service I've ever experienced. I've never had a problem getting a forgotten item shipped back home or to my next destination until now! I will not stay there again!

"Get what you pay for!"

patbean, Harrogate, United Kingdom 25/01/2018

The room was clean and comfortable and of an adequate size for our family of 3 for one night's stay. Decor was pretty basic but everything we needed was provided. A buffet breakfast was imcluded across the car park in the reception area and offered a good selection for all tastes. Hot/cold, vegetarian, yoghurts, fruits, cereals, toasts, waffles etc. and great coffee. Overall a good budget place to stopover. The proximity and disturbance from the nearby trains was a little distracting, but as I said earlier - you get what you pay for.

"Comfortable bed and clean"

Randal R, Jenks, United States 30/11/2017

Stopped here for one night. The staff were helpful and friendly and the room was clean. The bed was very comfortable, I slept like a baby until 0430 when a train blew it's horn right across the street. The lobby was tiny and there were no elevators but I didn't care about that. I'd stay here again.

"Comfortable Stay"

Mark P, West Covina, California 10/11/2017

I liked my midweek stay at this hotel while there for business. Staff was friendly and helpful. My room was clean and met all my needs. Having a warm, delicious breakfast there was convenient and satisfying.

kay y, Owner at SureStay Hotel by Best Western Tehachapi, responded to this review
Thank you for staying with us! We hope to see you again! Happy Holidays

"Value price, Value quality"

Melissa G, Bakersfield, United States 22/10/2017

Nice common areas and friendly staff. The hotel is in a good location with proximity to the downtown area and the freeway. The room itself was just ok. There was a musty smell and the sheets felt scratchy. There were lots of smokers staying at the hotel when I stayed and the smoke from their cigarettes crept into my room.

"Nightmare at bestwestern"

ricksX7993IY, Phoenix, Arizona 16/10/2017

Dirty rooms, threadbare sheets, squeaky floors above, super rude checking person, outside entry facing empty shopping center, gapes around door. I felt unsafe my entire stay. Not usual Bestwestern standards actually a dump.

"Typical in town chain motel"

Mike P, Watford, United Kingdom 10/10/2017

Close to town with good parking. Town is a short flat walk to restaurants etc so this place is a great location. Check in was fuss free and I could park right by the room. The room was comfortable and in good order. I slept well in a comfortable bed with nice linen. A good hot shower was always available. A good place to stay at a reasonable price. Yes I will use this place again.

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.