Promotion code

SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Susanville, Susanville

2785 Main Street, 96130-4741, Susanville, United States - See on a map
SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Susanville - Welcome to the SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Susanville! The SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Susanville is ideally located in the center of Susanville. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

Every day is an adventure when you choose the SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Susanville, with many wonderful nearby places to explore. Named one of the top towns in which to live in Outdoor Life Magazine, Susanville is an outdoor lovers? dream - and this Susanville hotel is the perfect place to call home while exploring the area. From hiking at Lassen Volcanic National Park to fishing at Honey Lake, Eagle Lake or Lake Almanor, there is something for everyone in this picturesque town. The Bizz Johnson Trail, stretching 30 miles, offers world-class mountain biking, hiking, annual marathons and other events. Bird watchers and nature photographers can observe osprey and more in the grounds surrounding the property. You can also enjoy visiting Lassen County Parks and Susanville Ranch. The SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Susanville is within walking distance to dining and shopping, as well as the local fairgrounds. Business travelers will appreciate easy access to offices of the US Forest Service, BLM and CAL Fire. This Susanville hotel also provides a convenient lodging option for visitors to the California Corrections High Desert Facility. Our spacious, comfortable and clean rooms - come with a view of the Sierra Mountains and our sparkling outdoor pool(open in season only) - enhance the relaxation of the business and leisure traveler alike. Our tastefully decorated rooms include luxurious new beds, free wireless Internet access and HD cable television. Our guests start their day off right with a complimentary made to order hot breakfast at our on-site Lumberjacks restaurant. This pet-friendly hotel in Susanville also features exterior corridor access for added convenience. Ensure a memorable stay during your next visit to northern California. Contact the friendly staff at the SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Susanville in Susanville today to save! Enjoy your stay.

SureStay Plus

Hotel by Best Western Susanville




Hotel advantages

  • Coffee shop / restaurant
    Coffee shop / restaurant
  • Free parking
    Free parking
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
based on 499 guest reviews
Very Good
Business Business
Couples Couples
Family Family
Friends getaway Friends getaway
Solo travel Solo travel
Sleep Quality

"Very nice stay in Susanville, CA"

Joyce O, United States 14/06/2019

Very nice place. Clean room, smell was pleasant & clean. Very comfy bed, nice coffee pot & toiletries. Loved the separate toilet/shower room. Double sink outside the shower room is nice extra. The breakfast voucher for restaurant nextdoor very nice. Staff was friendly and professional. No complaints at all.

"Great staff"

tdsjjd, Bromyard, United Kingdom 01/06/2019

Helpful pleasant professional front desk staff. Room was clean and spacious. Very comfortable beds. Breakfast is served in restaurant across from reception. Hotel very convenient for nearby shops. Reasonable prices.

"Really good price"

User 22/05/2019

The motel is not fancy but it is clean. And is very reasonably priced. The satellite T.V wasn't working in my first room but the desk clerk moved me to a new room. The beds were comfortable and the shower had really good water pressure. The breakfast was complimentary and offered at the restaurant next door.

"Clean. Clean. Clean!!"

470elizabeth_, Reno, Nevada 21/05/2019

Very nice place! Stay there often. The free breakfast is awesome at the restaurant next door!! It is always clean and nice staff. Would highly recommend this hotel!! It is close to fairgrounds! 4th of July is awesome. Just put your chair out in parking lot!!

"Not a "True" Best Western - Don't bother to stop"

User 20/05/2019

Very disappointing stay at this BW facility. Looked fine on the outside but quality definitely what we expected. Grounds were old and not well kept. Sidewalks were cracked and difficult to maneuver. Bathroom and vanity space were small. Staff always seemed to appear preoccupied and bothered whenever we needed assistance. WiFi was not what we expected and heating unit did not work properly.

"Noise, nasty coffee and snippy staff"

Talerya, Washington 18/05/2019

a difficult experience started with the front desk staff informing me very clearly that every bestwestern property is independently owned and operated and therefore can make their own rules, like the one where they're going to hold $75 on your credit card because they don't trust you not to trash their room. Then they sent me the restaurant next door for breakfast on a very very limited menu. Unfortunately the coffee was so foul we left immediately after tasting it. chili too bad because dinner the night before was lovely and so was the dinner waitstaff. Noise in the parking lot unmanaged by hotel staff make sleeping a bit difficult. Shutters and no curtains on the Windows meant that all of the exterior light poured into the room all night long. And then there's the placement of the television in front of the beds instead of in front of the couch when one rents a suite.

"Fun place to stay for a night."

Carl B, Valley Springs 05/05/2019

Recently remodeled and very clean. Great breakfast at the cafe next door. Not much to do in Susanville, but the surrounding area great to explore. The young girl at check-in was very helpful; ran to collect missing towels, etc. in our room. Brought the towels with a smile. Made other folks checking wait until she took care of our problem first... appreciated the special care.

"Simple but cute."

User 01/05/2019

I try to stay at BW because I feel the price can be good, I get rewards for staying there, and usually I can expect the rooms to be clean. I liked the fact that thus BW had wood flooring, no carpets. The dacor was simple yet cute! I did have a clogged tub drain which was not good. Made my stay not as pleasant.

"Great Value"

mckims2018, Roseville, California 28/04/2019

This hotel is exceptionally clean and dog friendly! Staff very pleasant and accommodating. Our room was toward the back of the hotel. Quiet! Beds are very comfortable and the room seems to have been renovated recently with laminate flooring, plantation shutters and tile tub surround. Large television and direct TV. Microwave and small refrigerator in ea h room. Complimentary Breakfast was excellent, cooked to order at the adjacent restaurant. Swimming pool not yet open for the season because weather this year has been rather unpredictable. Only suggestion would be a small table in the room so we could snack in the room. Good value, and we will visit again on our next trip

"Best hotel in Susanville"

Farkles66, California 27/04/2019

The hotel is clean and up to date. The front desk personnel are extremely friendly, Esmeralda and Christina always brighten my day or night. They know me by name since we go up there so often for work. Been there last year for pleasure on the motorcycle. Great hotel

"Nice stay, hot breakfast was great! Room perfect"

sandboy1960, San Mateo, California 24/04/2019

We have begun looking for hotels that serve a good breakfast, my partner and I are carb free, so carb party hotels have nothing for us in the morning. This hotel has a restaurant next door and they prepare you your eggs, sausage and bacon to order. With juice and coffee. We opted out of eating the potatoes and toast. Breakfast was as good as one could ask. The room has new, plush carpet. There is no elevator, but the stairs were not daunting to the second floor. Staff is friendly, towels are soft, and I like the idea they have shampoo and body was dispensers in the room instead of filling landfills with tiny plastic bottles of same. They were remodeling the lobby so the business center was not operating and the pool had a scum on the surface, but it's April - no one is going swimming. It is April and the trees all have blossoms and the mountains still have snow on them. If you are here this time of year take a minute to enjoy this juxtaposition. What a beautiful valley. Exquisite.

"Home in Susanville"

Trek45563664045, Oakland, California 23/04/2019

Not familiar with the area but this is one of the best properties to stay at. I had my kids with me so having a drive and microwave was perfect. Continental breakfast is at Lumber Jacks next door, breakfast choices are good and we even off the regular menu.

"Terrible Mattress"

Dennis E, Shady Cove, United States 14/04/2019

We stayed here in 2018 and thought it was wonderful. This year we noticed the whole place seemed dirty and run down. And then there was the mattress; during the night I felt something poking me; a wire. When I investigated I discovered a stained and dirty mattress I wouldn't let my dog sleep on. Plus the dirty hardwood floors. We were so disappointed because we looked forward to staying there.

"The bed and the linens were outstanding!"

Catherine N, Olympia, Washington 03/04/2019

The bed and the linens were exceptionally comfortable and very nice quality. The room was also nice and quiet. It was a very restful night. I would recommend this property to anyone seeking a nice place to spend the night.

"Great stay"

Pickledball, Port Alberni, Canada 02/04/2019

We were tired when we arrived at the front desk. Had prompt, friendly service. We requested a ground floor room, after a moment of computer work we were offered one. To our delight he upgraded our room as it was on the ground floor. Thank you. Room large and clean with a comfortable bed. The breakfast that was offered was at the Lumberjack Restraunt next door. We had supper, large portions, and a limited choice breakfast, both good.

"Beware if you have pets"

User 05/03/2019

We were charged $150 for a lamp, that our dog supposedly chewed on the cord. Then they changed the price ^ amount of lamps they were charging us for when I demanded that if they were going to charge me for the lamps, I wanted them. I don't think they have ever had anyone question them on that. Motel does not have a spot to take pets for a walk. Motel was very nice, & close to restaurant.

susanvillehotel19, Front Office Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western Susanville, responded to this review
Hi Debbie, I'm sorry that you were charged for the damages done but if your dog chewed on the cord of a lamp then we HAVE TO charge you for it. There's unfortunately no way around it. Conversely, I'm incredibly pleased that you had a pleasureable stay with us while you were here with us. Being a Pet-friendly hotel has upsides and downsides as everything else in life - but that don't mean that we can allow for damages to be done without getting reimbursed. And we certainly do have a spot to walk your dog; behind our hotel - a nice corridor of green grass where your dog can go about his/her business. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Sean Front Desk Manager Surestay Plus Hotel by Best Western - Susanville, CA


stonedarklyastir, Worcester, Massachusetts 20/01/2019

I had booked a room for my mother who was traveling alone and very scared. The manager Sean was so accommodating and went above and beyond to make her feel safe. She even lost her cats while she was there and he spent hours working with her to find them and make sure she was OK. I have never wanted to travel to hotel more than I do this one just to thank him personally. The entire staff was amazing and my mother felt truly taken care of. I work in hospitality myself and was shocked at how much involvement the manager has with his property. He is a gem and should be treasured. Thank you Sean for everything, you'll never truly know how much you saved my heart from breaking during her stay. Keep on keeping on, you have a prominent and long future in hospitality I hope you get recognized for this review because you deserve it! The room was beautiful, bed was comfy and breakfast was great. Happy mom = happy daughter.

Jim M, Front Office Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western Susanville, responded to this review
Hello! I thank you very much for the kind words - It was my pleasure assisting your mother during her stay with us. I do try to make sure every guest is taken care of with any means necessary - and so do all of my co-workers here at our hotel. Yes! Do come by if you're ever in the area, it would be wonderful to meet you in real life. The love you have for your mother is truly admirable and her love for her cats is heart-warming. I wish you and your lovely mother all the best in life! Safe travels! Sean Manager Surestay Plus Hotel by

"Great value"

benmT5810UQ, Redding, California 19/01/2019

I stay here for business every month. This hotel is a great value. The rooms are nice, breakfast is at the Lumber Jack restraunt and the staff is always nice! I would recommend this for nyone traveling the Susanville area

susanvillehotel19, Front Office Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western Susanville, responded to this review
Hi there! Thanks for this wonderful review. Every good review for us is a sign that we're growing in the right direction. Thanks again! Have a great day! Sean Front Office Manager Surestay Plus Hotel by Best Western

"On a Road-trip Passing Through"

User 13/11/2018

Quick friendly check-in, vouchers for breakfast available at the nearby restaurant available at the office in the AM, as we were going to get breakfast in Reno we didn't bother. Clean, Spacious, Quiet room. Got a good nights sleep. Like the fact they're using laminate floors instead of carpet, easy to see the floor is clean. If coming through Susanville again, I would not hesitate to stay here. For an old school motel, where you practically park your car in front of your door, I was impressed.

"Easy stay in Sunanville"

DarioTuT1, Piacenza, Italy 12/11/2018

Very good standard hotel. Easy stay in Sunville for travelers. Clean and neat room. The breakfast is served just infront of the reception in a partner restaurant and the front desk personnel has professional standards.

"This is not a Best Western"

kelly053, Valparaiso, Florida 02/10/2018

The reviews are telling: They are mixed. That means that there are not good standards for this motel. As a previous reviewer said (3 weeks ago) "As far as I am concerned, Sure Stays by Best Western are a detriment to the BW name. If these properties want to charge BW prices then they need to be inspected more frequently and be held to a BW quality standard." I completely agree. We did not realize that we would have to physically go to the motel office each morning to get "vouchers" for a breakfast in a restaurant close by. At the restaurant, you have 2 choices for breakfast, nothing like the wonderful options at a 'real' BW. And should you also leave a tip for the waitress? There is a small pool in full sun; no shade, no hot tub. Wifi in the room was very slow. The room was clean, comfortable enough, and everything seemed to work. It is a basic motel.

"Clean, quiet, could use some refurbishment"

Peter K, Hurricane, Utah 13/09/2018

This was our first stay at a Surestay. Typically we stay at Best Westerns and Hamptons and that's what I'm rating this hotel against.. The hotel is similar to the basic Best western. Our room was mostly clean (some breakfast cereal was on the desk), good sized, the bath was clean and updated and a couple of the lampshades were broken. Overall, OK but not the same as a BW. Parking was tight because there were lots of CA DOT and railroad trucks and trailers in the lot and a couple of spots were being used for what appeared to be an after work BBQ and beer-fest. Breakfast was very good, it was at the Lumberjack restaurant which is just on the edge of the hotels parking lot. While the hotel was OK it seemed a bit pricey for what you go and I'm not sure if we will stay at another Surestay.

"Beware Not A Best Western!"

Elizabeth W, Cedar City, Utah 09/09/2018

This was my first experience with a BW Sure Stay and it will be my last! I have come to expect a certain level of quality with BW hotels and they have always delivered...until this experience. The quality of this hotel is more what I would expect from a small Mom & Pop motel not a Best Western property. The only thing I can say good about this hotel was that the beds were comfortable and the room was clean. The first problem we encountered was a first floor room that required us to climb a flight of 8 stairs. Sorry, that is not a first floor room in my book. The general maintenance of the room was not up to the BW standards that I have been accustomed to. The air conditioner filters were so dirty that the A/C unit froze up. After we cleaned the filters and turned on the heat to melt the iced up unit, the A/C worked fine...but that is not something a guest should have to take care of! The soap dispenser near the sink did not function. It seemed to have soap in it, but it would not dispense when pushed. The bathtub faucet was obviously not the right size, but was installed anyway. The grout around bathtub base was crumbling. The bathroom door was dinged, bent, and damaged on the bottom. The towels were shabby and thin. And the breakfast was the real deal breaker when we were offered merely yogurt or oatmeal...not the usual full hot breakfast that BW provides everywhere else I have stayed. I was hoping that a good breakfast would redeem this hotel. Alas, it made my stay even more disappointing. As far as I am concerned, Sure Stays by Best Western are a detriment to the BW name. If these properties want to charge BW prices then they need to be inspected more frequently and be held to a BW quality standard. Sorry, but I have a problem paying BW rates for a substandard hotel.

"Nice and clean place"

470elizabeth_, Reno, Nevada 03/09/2018

Our stay was winderful. Very comfortable and clean. We stay her often and every time we do the staff is wondwrful. It is nice to have a restaurant right near the hotel. And the food is awesome!! I recommend this hotel to everyone!!

"More than meets the eye"

davidmZ7147SI, Yuba City 20/07/2018

My company booked this hotel, and at first glance it is somewhat underwhelming. The facility looks a bit dated and the numerous railroad trucks in the parking gives the impression that this might be a rowdy stopover. Nothing could be further from the truth, the rooms are big, clean, well appointed and comfortable (even if some of the furniture is reminiscent of chairs from Grandma's house). Good TV package and comfy bed makes it a great place to unwind, while the jet tub is an unexpected treat. The breakfast at the restaurant next door is ample, and its location right in the middle of town makes it a great choice to stay in Susanville.


f2titan, Chengdu, China 19/07/2018

Here for one night, just passing through on the way to Az. Nice place with good size double bed room. Very friendly staff, fixed our missing TV remote very fast. Had local pizza delivered with no problems. Also, the girl the check is in that night was very cute! Thanks!!!!!!

"Stay somewhere else"

susan7066, Corona 21/06/2018

Reserved a king room on first floor months in advance, but was given a key to a room with two queens. Went back to point this out, and was given a king room on the second floor. Did not want second floor, but was told it was the only one left. Room had no ice bucket and no waste basket. Front desk brought them up. Plastic drinking cups were unwrapped. Unsanitary! There was an office chair on wheels, but no desk. Strange. Bits of confetti still in carpet. Pillows were big and unyielding, forcing neck into unnatural position. Water pressure so strong that when sink faucet was turned on, even slightly, water sprayed all over. The good news: TV worked fine. Free breakfast at coffee shop next door was limited to very few choices. Worst Best Western I've ever been in. And overpriced!

BestWesternHotels, Corporate at SureStay Hotel by Best Western Susanville, responded to this review
We are sorry to hear that your recent stay with us did not exceed your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to make improvements to offer guests a better experience in the future. We hope you will give us another chance and stay with us again. -Best Western Hotels & Resorts

"Comfortable night"

jwdiii2017, Hansville, Washington 18/06/2018

Nothing special but bed was comfortable. Fresh remodel/update but sloppy work. New laminate floor had gaps. Bath had sloppy grout with gaps in new tile, etc. Everything worked OK though. Small fridge, microwave, TV and WI-FI for amenities. Pool "closed for maintenance" so no use of that amenity. Check in was a bit confusing as other folks checking in had issues so it took a bit to check in. Only one at counter and seemed to have computer problems or ???? Price was right and breakfast across parking lot at restaurant was good. Would stay again for same price.

"A comfortable stay"

Haselers, Maidenhead, United Kingdom 27/05/2018

Booked in after driving from Hawthorne, Nevada on our way to Oregon. Check in was quick and easy. Our room was clean and had a fresh smell of mint, which was very pleasant. Bed was comfortable and the room facilities were all good. Shower had good pressure. Restaurant next door for breakfast although we didn't try it. Would stay stay again.

"Actually 4.5 Stars"

Al and Valorie B, Flagstaff, Arizona 01/04/2018

The hotel is located right on the main drag through Susanville. Easy access with plenty of parking. The front staff was absolutely welcoming and made us feel right at home. We brought our 10# dog with us and they charge a $15 fee for pets. The room was spacious and the bed was absolutely one of the best we have slept in. Water pressure was excellent with plenty of hot water. The HVAC system was spot on. We slept well and woke up very, very rested for another day of driving! We were concerned about the previous reviews mentioning the noise. It is true that the walls are paper thin and if your neighbor has their TV up loud, you will get some of that coming through the walls (thus the 4.5 star rating). However, we did not have any issues and the noise we heard was minimal. The swimming pool was closed for the season but we could see where others might have had issues with the noise there if they were staying close by the pool. Just ask for a room away from the pool and you should be okay. You get a breakfast voucher for the Lumberjack restaurant across the parking lot. The get to choose from a variety of items and it is well worth it! The cost of the breakfast for 2 saves you at least $25, so this was a bonus for us! Of course you can add whatever you want for an additional fee. Bottom line...we would stay there again. The price is right and we had no issues with staff or noise. Give them a try!

"got no sleep"

Penny F, Willows, California 22/01/2018

Well First of all the the walls are so thin you can hear everything we had an ajoining room with one of those doors that goes to another room well they were closed and the person inthat room was up all night and here cell phone was ringing all night we could hear her whole conversation and she slammed her door all night and then the person above us stomped on the floor all night and checked out of his room at 4am and left his tv on after he left with it blaring we didnt get ant sleep that nite and to top it off we didnt look at our receipt until we got home and they charged us for a pet fee when we didnt have any pet with us in the room we will not recommend or stay there ever again

Amra W, Director of Sales at SureStay Hotel by Best Western Susanville, responded to this review
I'm truly sorry your stay wasn't to your liking. I honestly will use this feedback to help myself and my Team grow and improve as a Hotel so, that we offer the superior customer service we have always strived to deliver to all of our Guest.

"Decent, but Noisy"

Joanne M, Templeton, California 04/01/2018

Check in was quick and easy, staff was polite. Decent price and the room was clean. Plenty of parking and there is a restaurant right across the lot from the front office. We were tired from a long day of driving hence we were ready to rest. A large group of very loud, drunk, obnoxiously swearing people were at the pool. You could hear them all through the parking area and all the way from the office to the back corner where our room was. While unloading luggage I heard another guest, from a room near the pool, nicely ask them to quiet down to which they yelled some things including "I work here!" The noise continued for a while. Hoping that was a random incident, otherwise it was a good place for a quick overnight.

Amra W, General Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western Susanville, responded to this review
Thank you so much for your feedback. We truly value and appreciate your stay with us. Your words will be used to help us continue to grow and improve as a Hote and Team. Really appreciate everything and I hope if your in the area again you will continue to join us for our customer service and as your home away from home

"Reasonable & Comfotable"

conniep69, Astoria, Oregon 24/12/2017

Value priced, clean & comfotable. Breakfast vouchers for the excellent restaurant across the way made our day. Pleasantly surprised at the quality of food & service. Front desk service was awesome. Only problem was awful noise late at night from neighbor hauling items on a dolly!!!

Amra W, Front Office Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western Susanville, responded to this review
Thank you so much for your feedback. We truly value and appreciate your stay with us. Your words will be used to help us continue to grow and improve as a Hote and Team. Really appreciate everything and I hope if your in the area again you will continue to join us for our customer service and as your home away from home

"Horrible place"

ambercA3029QN, Elk Grove, California 18/12/2017

Heater dint work management sucked it was so cold in the room it was to cold to shower imagine that management only offered 50% off one of the 2 nights come on front desk lady couldn't leave to help me do u know how cold susanville is in December freezing.i don't think I can say more

Amra W, Front Office Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western Susanville, responded to this review
I'm truly sorry your stay wasn't to your liking. You didn't report problems with your room until check out time which doesn't allow my Team to be able to fix or correct the problem. However, I honestly will use this feedback to help myself and my Team grow and improve as a Hotel so, that we offer the superior customer service we have always strived to deliver to all of our Guest.

"Pretty decent hotel IMO."

CheapJustinFromSac, Sacramento, California 15/12/2017

This hotel seemed pretty decent for the area. I'd stay there again. Probably not the very best hotel in town, but definitely on the better end of the spectrum. The staff was friendly helpful and all that. And the lobby was pretty nice. The room looked like it'd been updated fairly recently and everything worked. And for breakfast, instead of doing the continental thing they give out vouchers for the Lumberjack's restaurant next door. I would gladly stay here again. Especially if work is paying for it.

Amra W, Front Office Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western Susanville, responded to this review
Thank you so much for your feedback. We truly value and appreciate your stay with us. Your words will be used to help us continue to grow and improve as a Hote and Team. Really appreciate everything and I hope if your in the area again you will continue to join us for our customer service and as your home away from home

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.