ROOM 1
ROOM 2
ROOM 3
Promotion code

Best Western Plus Victoria Hotel, Stavanger

3.5/5  - basé sur 271 notations.
Skansegaten 1, 4002, Stavanger, Norway - See map
Best Western Plus Victoria Hotel - Best Western Plus® Victoria Hotel The Best Western Plus Victoria Hotel is ideally located in the center of Stavanger. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

Best Western Plus® Victoria Hotel, is Stavanger oldest hotel. Therefore, the hotel was the first to choose its location. The inner harbor was chosen, which gives guests beautiful views from many of the hotel rooms. Best Western Plus® Victoria Hotel is built in Victorian style and is over 100 years old. There are eight meeting rooms in different sizes and unique look, which can hold from 10 to 200 people. The hotel has two restaurants, a steak house and a fine dining restaurant. In addition, there is also a popular bar located in the same building. Holmen Bar is known for the biggest collection of single malt whisky in the Stavanger region. With a central location, guest have easy access to restaurant, bars, and short distance to many of Stavanger’s tourist attractions. Museums, harbor, culture, nature are some of the attractions in Stavanger. Public transportation is within a short distance from the hotel. There is no parking at the hotel, but the nearest parking house is 60 meters away. The cost per 24 hours is for NOK 180.

Best Western Plus

Victoria Hotel

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Hotel advantages

  • Cocktail lounge
    Cocktail lounge
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
based on 271 guest reviews
NOTE ISSUED
Excellent
47
Very Good
106
Average
79
Poor
28
Terrible
11
REFER TO NOTICE
Business Business
119
Couples Couples
57
Family Family
25
Friends getaway Friends getaway
31
Solo travel Solo travel
33
SUMMARY NOTES
Cleanliness
Location
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Value

"Room with a view"

4
01/10/2018

This hotel was awesome! Very centrally located! A short walk to the airport bus station and walking distance to many sites! The complimentary breakfast was the best I've ever had with a ton of options and beverage choices! The room was nice but the walls were a little thin as I could hear the people next door talking through the walls and even snoring. That's the only complaint I have though! The room had a great view of the marina. Staff was was very accommodating and polite and watched my bags two times even after I checked out. Highly recommend!

Catrine V, General Manager at Best Western Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear tfortney11 Thank you for the fantastisc review. We are glad you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope to see you again next time you visit Stavanger. Regards Catrine and team Victoria

"Very good location and nice staff"

4
06/09/2018

Very good location and nice staff. Walking to all the sites and food spots. Information office is 7 minute walk and self parking is close 200nok per night. The staff was very helpful with directions and breakfast was great. I would stay here again.

"Perfect hotel, but noisy seagulls!!!"

5
31/08/2018

Fabulous stay in this hotel with my 2 kids on my own. Our expectations were low as we were on an ‘economy' hotel tour, but economy in Stavanger is different to other places!! It was great. Friendly staff, great breakfast, really comfy befs, great view .... but very noisy seagulls! Unfortunately, street noise was loud on occasion too (even though we we were on the 5th floor). My window catch broke on the second evening, but the handyman had left for the day, so I borrowed a screwdriver from the lovely receptionist and fixed it myself! The handyman knocked on the nect morning with profuse apologies for my inconvenience! Such nice people. Great location .. so close to everything!! Fell in love with Stavanger too and if I ever go back, I'll book into this hotel.

Catrine V, General Manager at Best Western Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Laura Thank you for taking your time to write such a wonderful review. We hope you are able to visit Stavanger again sometime. Regards Catrine and team Victoria

"Great stay"

5
21/08/2018

we loved our stay and enjoyed every minute. the rooms are quite nice and clean. we had a view to the see and that was very relaxing. the breakfast was really good and staffs were helpful as well. the only thing we lacked was parking.

"Stavanger"

5
06/08/2018

We stayed here for 2 nights in July. It was over 80 deg., the hotel had no AC but were offering fans. This is a good location to catch the bus to Sverd I Fell monument. Its about 10 min. walk to the harbor for the ferry to Tau to catch the bus to Preikestolen for the hike. The front desk had ferry/bus time tables which was helpful for planning or day. The desk personnel were friendly and helpful. I would recommend

Catrine V, General Manager at Best Western Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear guest Thank you for the nice review. We are sorry for the inconvenience the unusual hot weather brought you. A temperature of 80 degrees is rare in our region. We hope the fans cooled you down enough to have a comfortable night sleep. We hope to see you again if you revisit Stavanger. Regards Catrine and team Victoria

"One week visit "

4
21/07/2018

Everything I look for in a hotel. A really good location right on the side of the harbour. Nice food at the hotel but no need to eat there because it's surrounded by bars and restaurants. My room is a bit small but I'm on my own on this trip so it's not a problem. The room is always clean. Breakfast is great too. The staff are very polite and helpful. All in all its a great place to stay.

"Well restored and maintained old steamer hotel"

5
16/07/2018

This hotel is lovely - wide corridors and doors and big rooms built in the age when people travelled with trunks instead of luggage that fits in the overhead locker. Good location in the centre of town for business and pleasure. Short walk up from the station across the park in the old town. The staff were very helpful and professional. Breakfast is excellent with a good choice.

Catrine V, General Manager at Best Western Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear guest Thank you very much for taking the time to write a nice review. We are proud of working in this historical hotel which opened in year 1900. It is always nice to hear from guests who appreciate the history. We are GLAD that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you visit again Regards Catrine and team Victoria

"Very good"

5
28/06/2018

Visited with my toddler & husband. Got bigger room. Breakfast, staff were good. Reception staff helped a lot regarding Stavanger city & map. I appreciate it. Cleaning staff is also helpful. I Highly reccomed.

"Great location "

3
10/06/2018

Over 100 year old! Victoria Hotel have much history in her walls. Great location in the city harbor and walking distance to everything in small and cozy Stavanger. We tried the junior suite for only one night and it was ok. Don't expect grand decor and fresh painted wall, it has seen better days! Great friendly staff and a plentiful breakfast!

"Quick one -night stay"

4
10/05/2018

Nice hotel, great location and friendly staff. We stayed only one night while exploring Norway, but would totally stay there again and for longer when back to Stavanger! Comfortable bed and all the necessary little bits and bobs we needed to return to civilization after a few days out with the vikings :)

Catrine V, General Manager at Best Western Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Emunka Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We hope to see you again at Victoria Hotel. Regards Catrine and team Victoria

"Ok"

4
08/04/2018

Staff is nice and welcoming. Room are “ok” but the TV cannot be turned off. Breakfast is nice, not extra. Location is very good being in the front of the little harbour and close to the shops, in the middle of a nice part of the town. Around 10mn walking distance from the station.

Catrine V, General Manager at Best Western Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Paul Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are GLAD that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regards Catrine and team Victoria

"Nice place to stay"

4
27/02/2018

Been there the first time after 13 years, the renovation of the house makes it definitely much nicer than back then. Friendly staff, large rooms and a perfect location, worth to stay there. Generous breakfast buffet, nice bar and the Big Horn steakhouse makes it a nice place to choose for your stay. It actually is one of the oldest Hotels in Norway and Stavanger, it dates back to 1900.... Downside, like most Stavanger Hotels no free parking for guests.

Catrine V, General Manager at Best Western Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Jafischer Thank you for the great review. We are planning further upgrades on the hotel and hope to see you again next time you visit Stavanger. Regards Catrine and team Victoria

"Central Hotel. "

4
16/02/2018

Stayed here for four nights on a business trip. POSITIVES: - Great location, right in the middle of cental Stavanger. - Great view, overlooking the harbour - Great breakfast, loads of choice including a range of fish, cereal, fruits, veg. - Helpful staff. NEGATIVES: - The walls are very thin. On my first night I could hear the loud snorer in the room next to me. It was not pleasant. - The room was lacking some essential features - drawers and tea /coffee making facilities. The carpet on the stairs was being replaced when I stayed, but this wasn't an issue for me: everywhere needs to have maintenence on occasions! Overall: good but room for refinement.

Catrine V, General Manager at Best Western Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We will improve the walls when upgrading the hotel beginning at the end of 2018. There are coffee/tea making facilities in each room. We are sorry if this was missing in your room. We hope to welcome you back to Victoria Hotel. Regards Catrine and team Victoria

"The oldest hotel in Stavanger "

4
14/01/2018

I stayed two nights in the beginning of the year. The hotel has a wonderful position, close to the main centre of the city and at a few minutes from airport. Lonely negative points are the old structure and the empty frigobar (I was hungry due to the Travel). Nice place to stay, I hope to come again (for Holiday next time).

Catrine V, General Manager at Best Western Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Roberto Thank you for your review. We now sell minibar items and snacks at the front desk. There is also a store around the corner of the hotel. We hope to see you next time you visit Stavanger Regards Catrine and team Victoria

"All around you"

5
19/12/2017

The good value of this hotel, is the fact that being a visitor, you have everything you need around you. The hotel is located seaside, has a bar and a restaurant, and is at the end of the famous “color road”, where are all the bars and restaurants, and walking around is plenty of nice shops as well. Nothing to say about the room, I was perfect to me. Other good points are the breakfast, the staff and cheaper price during the weekend. Recommended!

Catrine V, General Manager at Best Western Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Dante Thank you for the fantastic review. We hope to see you again soon. Regards Catrine and team Victoria

"Work confetence"

5
14/12/2017

I came here to deliver a workshop. The hotel is one of the oldest in Stavanger. The staff are exceptionally helpful, the breakfast is one of the best I have had at any hotel. I slept well, although I could hear noise from the street one night. It's very clean and right near the train station.So if you want a basic hotel that does the job. It's well worth the stay.

Catrine V, General Manager at Best Western Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you Merriwell for the fantastic review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back next time you visit Stavanger. Regards Catrine and team Victoria

"Worst night´s sleep ever"

1
23/11/2017

Walls are made of paper, I had to listen to a drunk couple next door go at it half the night from arguing to sex and back again, truly awful. To make matters worse, the usual Stavanger stormy wind blowing all night rattling some metalwork right outside may window. Unfriendly & vacant desk staff. Never again.

"Limited gym access, thin walls, power went out in the room multiple times"

3
17/11/2017

The staff is very nice here, and the location is good-- but the hotel has a issues that would leave me seeking another hotel next time I'm in Stavanger. There is no gym, but they have an agreement with GYM Stavanger which is about a 2 minute jog away. The issue is that they only have a certain amount of gym keys, and when they are being used, you are out of luck. Gym access, especially in a city where the inclement weather makes outdoor workout challenging), is a big factor for me. The beds are comfortable and there is instant coffee and an empty fridge in the room, but whenever the kettle or the (provided) hair dryer was used, all of the electricity went out in my room. There were several times where I was happy to have the flashlight on my phone so I could shower and see what I was doing while getting ready early and later in the day. Also the walls are very thin- easy to hear what's going on just on the other side of your bed.

Catrine V, General Manager at Best Western Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Catatonia Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We are changing gympasses to vouchers with unlimited access to the gym. There has been an issue with the power in some rooms, an electrician is working on this. We are upgrading the hotel rooms in 2018 and the walls will be improved. We therefore hope that you will give us another chance and visit us NeXT time you come to Stavanger. Regards Catrine and team Victoria

"Sub Standard"

2
15/11/2017

Basic, lacks any attention to detail. Poor customer service. Breakfast very average staff seemed rushed. Five straight days no black tea on offer despite constant reminding they never restocked! No body wash on bathroom, restock of tea and coffee is very hit and miss..they just lack that supervisory function that could make this a decent hotel. Think twice if considering to stay here

"Very good location"

3
23/08/2017

The hotel i situated in the harbour, and you are only a 100 meter away from almost anything. The hotel does appear a little bit worn-down, but the price pr. night compensates for this. The Hotel-Chain has engaged famous swedish chef Tina Nordstrøm to design the hotel-breakfast. I do not think she has put a lot of effort in it, as the breakfast is completely average and boring.

Catrine V, General Manager at Best Western Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear guest Thank you for your feedback. We are continously working on improving our breakfast and on introducing new and healthy items. We hope to see you again. Regards Catrine

"Short visit 2 days"

5
09/08/2017

The hotel is not extremely luxurious but good quality. The staff is friendly. The rooms are well cleaned and furnished. You have all basic needs. Also Wi-Fi. At the time there was a special offer on the dinner.

Catrine V, General Manager at Best Western Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Jo Thank you for the nice review. We are currently refurbishing rooms and renovating bathrooms. We hope to see you next time you are in town. Regards Catrine and team Victoria

"If you want to stay in a rubbish hotel, look no further"

2
09/08/2017

The hotel is very outdated. Rooms are very small, no space for hanging up things. Not even in the bathroom. The breakfast is a very bad joke. It's tiny. 100 people must gather around a small breakfast isle. Advertised as "Breakfast by Tina", Tina must have been drunk. Do yourself a favour and book for example the Clarion Hotel in Stavanger. Much better choice with friendly staff. Nobody in the Best Western is welcoming. Just avoid it.

Catrine V, General Manager at Best Western Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Maria We regret to know that you did not enjoy your stay. Our hotel rooms are spacious, we have a handfull small rooms and we are sorry that you were not happy with that. When we have a full hotel and guests come for breakfast at the same time, it will queue at the buffet. Many of our guests "love" our breakfast. We are sorry that it not meet your standards. We can assure you that Tina was not drunk. Regards Catrine and team Victoria

"Not Bad, not good"

4
26/07/2017

This hotel is perfectly servicable. The rooms were of adequate size and the breakfast was essentially the same as most Norwegian hotels in this class (which is pretty good.) Problems: They gave us the wrong room at first, which was inferior for our needs. But when we complained, they readily fixed their error. As is fairly typical for such hotels, they don't have enough plus, so that they only way to charge phones and the like is to free a socket by unplugging a lamp. The shades covered the windows but didn't keep the light out. (It's Midsummer here now.) It interferes with getting a full night's rest. (This problem is common for Norwegian hotels.) The shower/bathtub lacks handholds and thus is dangerous.

Catrine V, General Manager at Best Western Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Macwilder Thank you for the review. We are aware that some of our bathrooms are lacking handholds and we are therefore working on this. We regret that we gave you the wrong room at first and hope you were happy after switching to another room. Best regards Catrine and team Victoria

"Beautiful place to stay"

4
12/06/2017

I had four nights at Best Western Plus Victoria Hotel, you can't beat the location as it is in the centre of town/the harbor. Easy walk from the hotel to catch the ferry to Preikestolen. Thankyou for upgrading my room from a single to queen sized, and also for the amazing view from the hotel room!! Big thanks to Hilde (I hope I got the name right) for answering my various questions (ranging from where to buy a good kanelsnurrer to where to find one of the nuart painted houses). I enjoyed the breakfast but did not eat any other meals at the hotel restaurant.

Catrine V, General Manager at Best Western Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Meg Than you for the great review. We hope you visit us again next time you are in town. Best Regards Catrine and team Victoria

"Business trip to Stavanger "

4
13/05/2017

Just have been a short week in Stavanger for some business and choose to stay at this hotel to gain more experience with the hotel near the harbour. This hotel has been here for some time and it's time for some upgrading of the room. When it comes to the staff they had a service attitude as expected and help full. Maybe I will come back next time I in town.

Catrine V, General Manager at Best Western Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Dag Thank for taking the time to write a review. We just finished refurbushing the bar and we are now refurbishing rooms and upgrading our corridors. We hope you visit us again next time you are in Stavanger. Regards Catrine and team Victoria

"Ok and quiet"

4
02/05/2017

The hotel is located by the harbour bay, near the active area of the city, with many bars, restaurants and some historical places. Rooms are pretty large, but some need fixing or renovation (e.g. bathrooms). Breakfast is ok, with lot of choice. Personnel is nice, sometime undermanned, especially at the reception where only one folk manages check-in/out, which is problematic with groups.

Catrine V, General Manager at Best Western Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Benoit Thank you for your review. We are upgrading rooms, corridors, bathrooms and the hotel bar. We hope to welcome you back next time you visit town. Regards Catrine and team Victoria

"Business but very pleasurable"

5
30/04/2017

Staff extremely pleasant especially Paul and bar staff. Big Horn Steak house has wonderful steaks, burgers, ribs and fish - highly recommnded. Room very large and bed extremely comfortable. Views of cruise ship docking jetty and harbour very nice. Only 1 small observation - instructions on room heating and underfloor heating could be clearer and tv channels are somewhat limited.

Catrine V, General Manager at Best Western Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Geoff Thank you for a fantastic review. We have printed new instructions for the room heating and hope these are clearer. Regards Catrine and team Victoria

"Great location . . . . gets outdated and can be noisy"

3
20/04/2017

The location is great near the harbour, pubs and restaurants. The actual hotel has a nice style however, needs investment as it is getting worn-out and outdated. Noisy both in-between rooms and from the outside. I reckon there are better ones in the area for a similar. Nice breakfast.

Catrine V, General Manager at Best Western Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Bart Thank for taking your time to give us a review. We are in the middle of refurbishing rooms and corridors and hope to see you with us again in the future. Regards Catrine and team Victoria

"Quaint, great location"

4
10/03/2017

Only stayed one night, so no experience with any hotel services. Location in town on the waterfront was great. Restaurants nearby. Easy walk to the in-town attractions. Friendly staff. My corner suite on the waterfront side was huge by anyone's standard. Old fashioned furnishings, but comfortable. Modern bathroom. Very clean.

Catrine V, General Manager at Best Western Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Tajar Thank you for your review. We are happy to know that you are pleased with your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back next time you are in Stavanger. Regards Catrine and team Victoria

"Location, location, location!"

4
27/02/2017

We stayed here for one night, business trip. Great breakfast, nice straff and perfect location. The hotel is right on the Norwegian hotel standard. Nothing more, nothing less. I would recommend this hotel, and probably visit here again.

Catrine V, General Manager at Best Western Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Pål Thank you for the nice review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to visit us again. Regards Catrine and team Victoria

"Nice old style, but to old room"

3
25/01/2017

Stayed one night at this hotel joining an oil related conference at the hotel. Conference facilities were ok. Food for breakfast, lunch and dinner was good too. The location was also good down-town in the harbour area of Stavanger. What I didn't like was the room given. Towards the backyard in the 3 floor where the window was towards a platform possible to access. Therefore, you could not open the window for security purposes, in addition to the sound from the hotel fans just outside. I had to sleep with closed window and air condition did not function properly. Room was old in style and had little space. Luckily I was staying only one night - if not I would have complained.

Catrine V, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear guest Thank you for your feedback. We regret to know that you were unhappy with your room. Send us an email so that we can make sure you get a nice room next time you stay with us. [email protected] Regards Catrine and team Victoria

"Very nice hotel and staff"

5
28/12/2016

Had to stay here one night because of a storm, but have to say i really enjoyed it. Had ordered a junior suite, but because they just opened after Christmas, we got a free upppgrade to a suite. Beatifull view from the room, so i could look how the storm hit the harbour. Also got breakfest to the room, as they had not started breakfest service yet. Very helpfull staff. Had some issued with the television, but that was because of the weather, so i wont count that as a bad experience.

Catrine V, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Olav Thank you for the great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Welcome back next time you visit Stavanger. Regards Catrine and team Victoria

"Lovely hotel with a great breakfast"

5
06/12/2016

Stayed a week here and this place is great. Salsa night on Thursday night was awesome. Great breakfast, very nice and responsive staff and the room was fine. Centrally located near nightlife hotspots and great restaurants. My room had a great view of the harbor as well. Cabs are right out front but most places you can walk to in a few seconds to minutes.

Catrine V, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Peleliu Thank you for the fantastic review. We hope to see you at Victoria Hotel again soon. Regards Catrine and team Victoria

"a Wonderful Place to Stay When You Visit the Pulpit Rock"

4
03/11/2016

Not only good location, reasonable price, excellent service, gorgeous breakfast but also clean & spacious room. We stayed two nights in August of 2016. And had a great dinner in the hotel. We enjoyed it very much. And hopefully we will come back in the near future. We strongly recommend all of you to stay here while you visit the Pulpit Rock.

Catrine V, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Mike Thank you so much for your great review. We are excited to know that you are very happy with your stay at Victoria Hotel. We hope to see you next time you visit Stavanger Regards Catrine

"in town senter by the harbor and close to many restaurants and bars"

5
02/11/2016

Stavanger's oldest hotel, opened in 1900. History in every wall. Check out Holmen Bar, with the famous collection of whisky's and their excellent cocktails, situated by the reception and the grill in 1rst floor, BigHorn restaurant.

"Nice location, super breakfast and top service"

5
27/10/2016

Victorie Hotel is my favorite in Stavanger. And if you get the right room, you will have an excellent view. The Breakfast is superb. The service from the staff in the restaurtant and in the reseption top. A very happy guest left the hotel and will be back as soon as possible.

Catrine V, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Odd Karsten Thank you for taking your time to write a review. It is great to know that Victoria Hotel is your favorite hotel when staying in Stavanger, and that you appreciate our new breakfast. Welcome back next time you are in town. Regards Catrine

"Darkness"

3
19/10/2016

Dark and old hotell. Our room noisy outside because of kids/army festivies. Cozy feeling on the other hand. But with new ideas and some money this old castle can be something really heavy pieace. Friendly staff, and average food in the restaurang. Not so impressed, sorry!

Catrine V, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Daniel Thank you for your review. We are freshening up our cooridors and renovating bathrooms early 2017. We hope to welcome you back so we can give you a better experience. Rergards Catrine

"Great Stay in Stavanger"

4
12/10/2016

First time staying in the centre of Stavanger and this hotel is centrally located, with all the shops, restaurants and bars located fairly close by. Access to Sola airport bus in two close locations. Hotel was very quiet, even though a restaurant and bar are located on ground floor. Nothing heard up here on the fifth floor. Room clean and ample space. Breaksfast was a little cold today but then most food such a bacon etc. not freshly prepared will cool. I am sure if you ask they would prepare hot food if asked. No a biggy for the majority of people but the internet ask was flaky this far up and this far along the corridor. The question is would I stay here again, yes I would.

Catrine V, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Donna Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. The warm buffet is supposed to be warm at all times and we regret to hear that this was not the case during your visit. The speed of the Internet should be the same no matter what floor you are on, and this is rarely a problem. We hope to see you again at Victoria Hotel in the future. Regards Catrine

"Okay"

3
02/10/2016

The building is really historic but the rooms and facilities are a bit out dated. Breakfast is good and included. Unfortunately no gym or fitness available. The hotel is situated pretty nice close to the harbor.

Catrine V, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Robbert We regret to know that your stay was just Okay. We do ot have a gym in-house. but we do have membership access at a very low price at a well equipped gym and fitness center 100 meters down the street. When it comes to the hotels facilities, we are currently upgrading rooms and have plans for upgrading both corridors and rooms throughout year 2017. Regards Catrine

"Excellent"

4
26/09/2016

The facilities is good! My husband and I have not expected our room is big and our bed is perfect we love it??. Thanks to Jessie one of their staff for helping us and accommodating our room. Well done Jessie??. More power to all the staff!

Catrine V, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Hi Agnes Thank you very much for the great review. We are happy that you enjoyed your room and the service from one of our many great staff members. Regards

"Hotel by the seaside in Stavanger"

3
25/09/2016

Stayed there for a seminar of 2 days on one night . Most of the hotel areas and corridors was covered with carpets and I have an allergy, so my stay was not the best. Luckily in my room, no carpet. The hotel looked old and needed upgrading. The room was normal size with a single bed, view half to the street with a bit of sea view to the right. The elevator was small and slow. Breakfast was ok with choice of glutenfree bread, egg and fruit. The bathroom was old fashion and needed and upgrade, no shower floor blanket, so it was a risk of wet floor when coming out of the shower with slippery floor. The soap and shampoo dispensers were empty and replaced by couple of small bottles.This did not give a good impression. The hotel was situated in the middle of city center and easy to walk to shops and restaurant and the seaside is just outside the hotel. About 7 mins to walk to the airport bus terminal.

Catrine V, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Lalina Thank you for your review. Many hotel rooms have wooden floors. We have plans on upgrading parts of the hotel throughout the year 2017. We hope to welcome you back on another occassion. Regards

"Quite average"

3
08/09/2016

The breakfast is good. But otherwise this hotel is too expensive for the quality it provides. The room was tatty, not exactly clean and could use an update. At the same time the prices were quite high and certainly too high for me.

Catrine V, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Ed I see your review is from your stay in October last year. We have renovated many of our rooms and bathrooms since then. I hope you will stay with us again to see that our rooms have a fresher look. Regards Catrine

"Nice enough, but central location comes with noise"

3
02/09/2016

I got an excellent rate (for Norway) at the Victoria, an older hotel that could use with some updates, but overall, my stay was comfortable for a 4-day long-weekend. I had a larger room on the 5th floor with views over the harbor entrance. It was a pleasure to watch the cruise ships sail past my window every evening, but the weekend party noise wafting up from street level until very early in the morning was much less pleasant. (Colleagues staying on the 2nd floor requested to me moved after an initial sleepless night.) The white-tiled bathroom was large with a heated floor. The only problem was that the bathtub's moveable glass wall did not keep the shower from flooding the floor. The room's bed was quite comfortable with an additional sofa, chair and coffee table, side chair and a desk in front of the large window, which was perfect for me, since I needed to get some writing done while there on business. (The free wifi was very reliable.) The big disappointment was the included breakfast buffet, that initially seemed ample, BUT the cooked food was cold--there's nothing worse than cold fried eggs, bacon and potatoes. There were many other choices available--yoghurt, juices, fruit, breads and granola, but after two disappointing mornings, I went elsewhere for breakfast. The hotel is a bit worn in places, but it also has its charm. The desk staff were helpful and friendly. And the hotel is located in close proximity to cafes, restaurants and the old-town shopping district.

Catrine V, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear guest Thankj you for your feedback. We are glad tha you enjoyed our room on the 5th floor. We had som problems with our hot food buffet which we managed to solve. We are working on updating our hotel rooms and guest areas. We hope to welcome you back to Victoria Hotel in the future. Regards Catrine

"Great location, nice hotel"

5
30/08/2016

No complaints here. This hotel has an ideal location and is comfortable. The building's a bit old but that wasn't a problem for us. It was still nice enough. Beds were nice, shower was good. Has free, good wifi. Breakfast was ok. Had a selection of fruit, yogurt with toppings, juices, coffee, salmon, eggs sausages and bacon. Some items were cold. I would stay here again.

Catrine V, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear guest Thank you so much for the great review. Unforunately we had some problems with our warm food buffet for a couple of days, but this is taken care of. We hope too see you again soon. Best regards

"Old, charming."

4
04/08/2016

We escaped fom a dump in Jorpeland (avoid!) and booked a last minute here. Not bad! Right in the centre of town. Great view! When we woke up the next morning we found a cruise-ship towering over us. Had to change with curtains closed... Breakfast reasonable...

Catrine V, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear guest Thank you for your nice review. It is good to hear that you enjoyed the hotels location. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Regards Catrine

"Nice but worn"

3
30/07/2016

Welcoming staff took care of my request for a quieter room, no worries! The hotel is a bit worn, but the rooms are clean. Situated on the harbour in Stavanger it has a great location! Collaboration With Big Horn restaurant is a good solution. Here you get a full a-la carte menue for dinner and a nice breakfast buffet.

Catrine V, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear guest Thank you for your feedback. It is much appreciated. We are sorry to hear that the hotel appears a bit worn, but we are continously working on updating our rooms. On the other hand, we are glad to know that you enjoyed the hotels location which we are very proud of. We like to say that we were first in line to choose the hotels location as it opened for guests in year 1900. We hope you visit us again if you come back to Savanger. Regards Catrine

"Good location"

4
24/07/2016

An old style hotel building, nice for a short stay. Good location next to the quayside with the cruise ships towering above it. The breakfast was very good. Would stay again when in Stavanger. Good location for easy access to the ferries.

Catrine V, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear guest Thank you for your review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at Victoria Hotel. We hope to see you again next time you are in Stavanger.

"old but nice"

4
20/07/2016

This is an old building but well kept and clean. Even though there was a little hiccup with our booking it was very quickly fixed and we were given 2 rooms with views of the harbor (which was perfect) - staff was very helpful and informative. Hotel is near to shops and all the restaurants / bars The Ferry terminal is just around the corner (perfect for a trip to Pulpit Rock). The bus/train station is about 10 mins walk. Breakfast buffet was perfect. The only issue we had was not from the hotel, but on one of the mornings we woke up early to sound of the Captain of one of the cruise ships welcoming his guests to Bergen with a good 5 mins of information - it sounded as if he was right in the room with us. So maybe a room with a view of the harbor was not such a good idea !! Would recommend this hotel.

Catrine V, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear guest Thank you for the nice review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the service, location and breakfast at Victoria Hotel. We hope to see you next time you visit Stavanger. Regards Catrine

"Showing its wear, but still charming!"

3
08/07/2016

A traditional well located hotel that might use a little TLC is still charming with an old world feel. On the water in/near old Stavanger everything is within walking distance. If you are driving, the car park is a couple blocks away and not included with the room. The ferries are just around the corner, so also convenient for getting to The breakfast was fine, as long as don't find yourself in the middle of a swarming tour group.

Catrine V, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear guest Thank you for your review. We are currently updating our rooms and bathrooms. We hope to see you again at Victoria hotel next time you are in Stavanger. Regards Catrine

"Very nice location, old but nice."

3
27/06/2016

The hotel is located by the harbour, Close to the harbour area With a lot of Nice pubs and restaurants. It is an old hotel, but clean. The rooms are small but nicely kept and have everything i needed. The restaurant have a very good breakfast, and if you like meat a quite good restaurant.

Catrine V, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear guest Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed the hotels location and services. Regards Catrine

"Week end break "

4
19/06/2016

An old and good hotel. We just wanted an evening in Stavanger and a nice meal and booked in here and a table for two at the restaurant Big Horn inside the hotel. A good choise for a very windy evening. And after a very good meal, a comfortable seat in Holmen bar. This hotel has style and a history way back in time. Parking can be very expensive, but Valberget parking is the best.

Catrine V, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear guest Thank you for your nice review. We hope to see you again in the future. Regards Catrine

"Classic Value"

5
14/05/2016

Very nice and clean room with view in Stavanger Harbour.Service was very good,we had a nice welcome by the greek night receptionist, and breakfast was very tastefull. I did not needed a taxi as the hotel is close to everything. I would stay there again.

Catrine V, Daglig leder at BEST WESTERN Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear guest Thank you for the great review. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Best regards Catrine

"Great location but needs updating"

3
05/05/2016

An excellent location on the portside. Close to restaurants, coffee shops, bars and the town shops. The Fjord excursions are just five minutes away. The cruise liners arrive directly opposite the hotel, which was quite impressive. The hotel itself needs a full redecoration and a general update. The staff were friendly and attentive. We didn't eat here though, there was a strike of some hotel staff in Norway at the time, and the Big Horn steakhouse and bar were closed.

Catrine V, Leder  at BEST WESTERN Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear guest We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotels location. We are upgrading rooms and bathrooms throughout the year 2016. We hope to see you next time you are in Stavanger. Best regards

"Right in the Middle of it All"

4
01/05/2016

Perfect centrally located old school hotel! Comfortable, affordable and right in the middle of all the goodness Stavanger has to offer. The rooms were cozy yet more than enough for my wife and I, and the view from our room made up for any space we didn't have inside the room. The hotel staff easily catered to our needs during the 3 day stay at this wonderful hotel, including questions about the city and tips about some of the better local eateries around town. Although the hotel itself doesn't have parking, there is plenty near by. Restaurants, pubs and bars are located right outside around the corner but you wouldn't be able to tell from the quiet rooms. The breakfast was more than enough to satisfy every appetite and overall, I would definitely recommend anyone visiting Stavanger to experience this gem.

Catrine V, Leder  at BEST WESTERN Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear guest Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and its location and that our staff catered to all of your needs. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards

"Great location"

4
09/03/2016

The location is great. Close to everything, and sea view. Old fashion building with nice details. The room was large enough and with high roof and comfortable bed. The breakfast was OK. The service was also good. Very fast Internet bandwidth. The remote control for the TV didn't work, but I didn't bother tell the reception as I didn't need to watch TV.

Catrine V, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this review
Dear guest Thank you for your review. It is good to read that you enjoyed your stay at Victoria and that you appreciate the hotels location, bed and service. We hope to see you again next time you are in town. Best regards