ROOM 1
ROOM 2
ROOM 3
Promotion code

New Hobbit Hotel, BW Signature Collection, Sowerby Bridge

Hob Lane, HX6 3QL, Sowerby Bridge, Great Britain - See on a map
New Hobbit Hotel, BW Signature Collection - New Hobbit Hotel, BW Signature Collection The New Hobbit Hotel, BW Signature Collection is ideally located in the center of Sowerby Bridge. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

With stunning panoramic views across the Calder Valley, the enchanting New Hobbit Hotel, BW Signature Collection, is the perfect base for exploring the rugged beauty of Yorkshire. Located in the market town of Sowerby Bridge, this traditional Yorkshire stone building has all the home comforts you'd expect from a 4-star country inn. Our bar and grill restaurant is at the heart of everything we do, providing warm hospitality for families, walkers and sightseers from far and wide. The wood burning stove and oak-topped bar are always a welcome sight. We have 30 sumptuous bedrooms complete with handcrafted solid ash furniture, wool throws, flat-screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities. And each has a table masterfully cut from the trunk of a tree! We're ideally situated for seeing all that West Yorkshire has to offer, from the bustling towns of Halifax and Huddersfield to the windswept moors that surround Sowerby Bridge.

Best Western Plus

New Hobbit Hotel, BW Signature Collection

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Hotel advantages

  • Coffee shop / restaurant
    Coffee shop / restaurant
  • Cocktail lounge
    Cocktail lounge
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
based on 410 guest reviews
NOTE ISSUED
Excellent
227
Very Good
110
Average
41
Poor
22
Terrible
10
REFER TO NOTICE
Business Business
35
Couples Couples
185
Family Family
98
Friends getaway Friends getaway
39
Solo travel Solo travel
10
SUMMARY NOTES
Cleanliness
Location
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Value

"Fantastic"

5
User 12/05/2019

We stayed for one night... The room was excellent and beautifully designed.... We ate in the restaurant and the food was first rate, all of the staff were warm and welcoming... We were not rushed from the table or made to feel we had to stop relaxing and chatting... We had a great nights sleep topped off with a perfect buffet style breakfast... Top rate would recommend to anyone and if we are visiting again we will certainly return to this hotel.

TeamHobbit123, Manager at New Hobbit Hotel, by Best Western, responded to this review
Hi Julie, Thank you for such lovely feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at The New Hobbit. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your experience and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Team Hobbit

"2nd visit"

5
joe q, Milton Keynes, United Kingdom 07/05/2019

Having stayed at this hotel before had no problem booking again and made the right choice, the room was well fitted out and quite all said I will be booking again soon. The staff are all excellent and helpful on all local issues you may have and it is a good place to get away from it all and nice views of the valley

TeamHobbit123, Manager at New Hobbit Hotel, by Best Western, responded to this review
Hi, Thank you for such lovely feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at The New Hobbit Hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your experience and hope to see you once again in the near future. Kind Regards, Team Hobbit

"Surprisingly wonderful"

5
Clair262, Chester, United Kingdom 01/05/2019

Excellent value. Friendly, attentive staff. Choice of dishes at dinner and breakfast was wonderful and freshly cooked. Catered extremely well for dietary requirements. Clean, well appointed rooms with comfortable beds.

TeamHobbit123, Manager at New Hobbit Hotel, by Best Western, responded to this review
Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at The New Hobbit Hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your experience and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Team Hobbit

"Very good"

4
Andrew B, Northumberland, United Kingdom 29/04/2019

Situated on a hill overlooking Sowerby Bridge and only a few minutes away from Halifax. Room was very comfortable. Evening meal and breakfast were both very good. The choice on the menu was really good.

TeamHobbit123, Manager at New Hobbit Hotel, by Best Western, responded to this review
Hi Andrew, Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at The New Hobbit Hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Team Hobbit

"Wedding "

5
Scramblegirl, Wigan, United Kingdom 23/04/2019

Our daughter got married at the hotel and we stayed for two nights. It provided a wonderful setting and I would totally recommend it as a wedding venue. The food and service was brilliant and nothing was too much trouble whilst we prepared the room prior to the service, and throughout the day. We'd booked out the hotel and everyone seemed very happy with their rooms. Ours was great - very comfortable and spacious. Thanks to Claire and her staff for an excellent day!

TeamHobbit123, Manager at New Hobbit Hotel, by Best Western, responded to this review
Hi, Thank you for such lovely feedback regarding your recent stay with us and experience here at The New Hobbit Hotel. We are glad to hear the wedding held here for your daughter was what you expected and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Team Hobbit

"Excellent "

5
wvlmstuart, manchester 21/04/2019

The second time we've stayed here and will definitely be returning The hotel is situated on hillside overlooking stowerby bridge with great views it's as plenty of free parking and WiFi The staff are exceptional and friendly nothing is to much trouble The pub is also excellent with a great menu and very reasonably priced with a great outside seating area The rooms are modern and clean with W you would expect from a 4 star hotel and are very comfortable, and some of the rooms have balconies with great views of the valley The breakfast is also spot on and is a buffet style set up with everything you would want All in all it's a little gem and is always well priced

TeamHobbit123, Manager at New Hobbit Hotel, by Best Western, responded to this review
Hi, Thank you for such positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at The New Hobbit Hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your tine and experience with us and hope to see you once again in the near future. Kind Regards, Team Hobbit

"Perfect getaway ... just as we planned!"

5
Mark P, Brighouse 15/04/2019

We booked the hotel after a previous visit to the venue through work. It was intended to give my new wife and I a stayover following our wedding in Halifax that afternoon. The hotel looks quaint and homely but don't think that it's old fashioned by any means - the decor was clean and well maintained and staff offered a warm welcome on arrival. Our room was well positioned, albeit up some quite steep, narrow, stairs. We hadn't really made any specific requests for the room as the intention was to just drop our overnight gear before heading to our evening celebration but we were instantly taken by the quality of the room with ample space in the bathroom which is rare for a smaller hotel. Comfort was, without a doubt, the experience we had and a lovely freshed cooked breakfast the next day was perfect for the beginnings of our married life together.

TeamHobbit123, Manager at New Hobbit Hotel, by Best Western, responded to this review
Hi Mark, Thank you for such lovely feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at The New Hobbit Hotel. We are very glad to hear it was what you expected for the start of your married life together. We hope to see you both again in the near future. Kind Regards, Team Hobbit

"Excellent Stay"

5
User 12/04/2019

Fantastic hotel, friendly staff, food superb, nice atmosphere. if you are getting public transport don't try to walk from station - uphill all the way! cab office along from station (i found out after I walked)

TeamHobbit123, Manager at New Hobbit Hotel, by Best Western, responded to this review
Hi, Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at The New Hobbit Hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Team Hobbit

"You won't be disappointed!"

5
MCMEL, Ipswich, Suffolk 10/04/2019

I can't recommend this place enough! Love staying here (am in Halifax a lot for work) and there's only one place I want to book when I'm in the area. Rooms are great value and very comfortable. Wonderful views of the countryside. The menu choice is vast and the food extremely tasty. The staff are second to none and simply cannot do enough for you. It's extremely dog friendly too (always a bonus for me). Give it a look, you won't be disappointed

TeamHobbit123, Manager at New Hobbit Hotel, by Best Western, responded to this review
Hi, Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at The New Hobbit Hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Team Hobbit

"A little disappointing "

4
MMP4216, Norwich, United Kingdom 09/04/2019

This is a beautiful pub with great decor but the rooms are disappointing. Superior room was tiny space and not worth the extra money. No face clothes No tissues No cotton buds Room wasted services one day when we went out at 8.30 popped back at 12 to get changed left again at 13.30 and didn't return till after midnight. Sunday breakfast was a buffet and they ran out of sausages! No black pudding. With all this said staff with very nice especially Derick the night-man. Fabulous weekend overall.

TeamHobbit123, Manager at New Hobbit Hotel, by Best Western, responded to this review
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to supply us with some feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at The New Hobbit Hotel. We do take all comments on board to improve where we feel is necessary meeting guest overall needs. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Team Hobbit

"Good spot"

4
GCall, Ramsbottom, United Kingdom 05/04/2019

We stopped here whilst visiting the nearby Moorcock Inn. We had one of the new rooms outside the main building. It was very nicely done, comfortable and a lovely shower. My only quibble would be that it seemed a little chilly and there was no room thermostat. Suspect it may be underfloor heated. To be fair we were only in the room for under an hour before we met friends in the bar and so never felt the need to contact reception. By the time we came back later that night it seemed fine. Breakfast was good.

TeamHobbit123, Manager at New Hobbit Hotel, by Best Western, responded to this review
Hi, Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at The New Hobbit Hotel. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Team Hobbit

"Disappointing"

3
mrslister116, Durham, United Kingdom 26/03/2019

the room: First of all the room was tiny. Barely enough room to move around the bed never mind for our belongings. The cupboard space was not enough even for the 2 nights we stayed. When I got into bed in the evening I noticed some brown stains on the duvet cover. Our room looked out onto the rear car park. There were no net curtains or anything to block the view from the car park into our room so this meant that in the morning when we wanted to enjoy a cup of coffee in bed we had to keep the curtains closed. There was no shower mat. The bar/restaurant: I was pleased that there were some alcohol free choices that were not pop. Although there are vegan friendly choices on the main menu we did not have the vegan burger as it would have come without a bun as there was no vegan option for this. And no vegan dessert option. Also the mango chutney on the onion bhaji starter was more like Christmas sweet mince which was a bit odd. There was no food available for us when we returned on the Sunday night, even the crisps had milk in them. No vegan spread for breakfast although the lady on the Monday morning had thought that the flora was vegan but when we looked at the box it had milk in it. It is also so easy to buy vegan suitable sausages (Linda McCartney, Sainsbury shroomdogs etc) however the ones this hotel uses have had egg in them. All in all I was disappointed in our stay. This is not a cheap hotel and when we see 4 stars I would say people have certain expectations.

TeamHobbit123, General Manager at New Hobbit Hotel, by Best Western, responded to this review
Hi Kerry, Thank you very much for taking the time to review The New Hobbit Hotel. Input and feedback from all of guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met. I was disappointed to hear of your experience here at the New Hobbit Hotel. I would like to assure you that the issues you have raised were helpful to us and we have taken steps to ensure that these problems do not arise again. I sincerely hope that you will return and experience The New Hobbit Hotel in a better light. I would be pleased if you contact me directly in order to personally deal with your booking and any concerns that you may have. Kind Regards, Kevin

"Great "

5
Carsekel, Batley, United Kingdom 25/03/2019

Stayed here for one night and couldn't have asked for better. Room was ready early at 2pm when we arrived. We had a double room it was nice not much of a view but we went straight out when we got there. It's a 15 minute walk into the town centre down a few very very steep county lanes, we decided to get a taxi back after some food and a few drinks. Only cost £4 for the taxi. Overall a good stay would recommend

TeamHobbit123, Manager at New Hobbit Hotel, by Best Western, responded to this review
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at The New Hobbit hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Team Hobbit

"Amazing"

5
User 23/03/2019

This is the second time I have stayed here and will be returning. Staff are great. the atmosphere is very relaxing and we have always had a great trip. Food is amazing. A proper country inn would highly recommend

TeamHobbit123, Manager at New Hobbit Hotel, by Best Western, responded to this review
Hi, Thank you for your very positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at The New Hobbit hotel, we are glad to here you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you once again in the near future. Kind Regards, Team Hobbit

"Very nice country hotel"

5
JensHetzel, Karlsruhe, Germany 17/03/2019

Very quiet hotel in the Yorkshire countryside. Beautiful cozy Rooms and bar area. Everything is very clean and well kept. Friendly and helpful staff. When you stay here, try their restaurant, the food is very tasty. Great base for hikes in the Yorkshire dales, we´ll surly come back.

TeamHobbit123, Manager at New Hobbit Hotel, by Best Western, responded to this review
Hi, Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at The New Hobbit hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Team Hobbit

"Back to her roots"

4
User 15/03/2019

My partner came from the area and we could actually see her old house from the bedroom windows. The room was clean and tidy but a little small.As others have mentioned the bathrooms in this room are on the very small size.However the public rooms are excellent , the choice of beers very good and all the staff we met could not have been nicer.The breakfast choice was very good , well cooked and nicely presented.We ate in on the Thursday night and our food was delicious,.When we are back in the area we would definitely stay again.

TeamHobbit123, Manager at New Hobbit Hotel, by Best Western, responded to this review
Hi, Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at The New Hobbit hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Team Hobbit

"Visiting friends and Halifax"

5
kenneth d, Cottingham, United Kingdom 12/03/2019

It was fantastic, quality everything, parking, room, staff, meals evening and breakfast, very cold out side warm and welcoming inside. A massive range of quality we priced evening meals and breakfast, we will be back.

TeamHobbit123, Manager at New Hobbit Hotel, by Best Western, responded to this review
Hi, Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at The New Hobbit hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Team Hobbit

"Off the beaten track but central to everywhere! Good hub"

4
Mike C, Eastbourne 02/03/2019

Comfortable room and bed with all that you would expect. However, to paraphrase the Genie in Aladdin "iddy-biddy" bathroom. Ridiculously small and frankly not appropriate Nevertheless I am happy to accept that that was my misfortune as others have praised the bathrooms. Remember to stipulate in your booking Public areas of a very comfortable and high standard. Beautiful in fact. Grand piano and double log burner. Heaven Breakfast provided buffet and cereals and a good range of menu options including vegetarian. Most important for me - good fresh ground coffee I woukd certainly consider staying here again but I would check the bathroom first

TeamHobbit123, Manager at New Hobbit Hotel, by Best Western, responded to this review
Hi Mike, Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay here with us at The New Hobbit hotel, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your experience. In terms of the bathroom size; as you booked a small double those bathrooms tend to be much smaller than the bathrooms in the bigger room types. We will consider allocating pictures of the different bathrooms we have next to the room type descriptions so that it gives guests a more visual representation of what they are going to expect. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Team Hobbit

"Fabulous place stunning views and excellent food"

5
Relax52754209082, Leeds, United Kingdom 02/03/2019

Very comfortable rooms excellent breakfast with plenty of choice. Restaurant meals exceptional. So many places to visit in a short distance. Great rail service from the station with free parking. Some very nice walks too

TeamHobbit123, Manager at New Hobbit Hotel, by Best Western, responded to this review
Hi, Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at The New Hobbit hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Team Hobbit

"Good, but could be better"

4
GlennOMadeira, Ashbourne, United Kingdom 29/01/2019

Friendly and efficient staff. Very pleasant and quiet location for the hotel (but don't book here if there is any chance of a heavy snowfall, as the tiny lanes are likely to be blocked). The hotel does "offer rooms with great views" but mine wasn't one of them, as it faced a rock cliff. Pleasingly spacious rooms with basic but adequate furnishing, not over-heated and the windows actually opened to permit some fresh air in the room.. Downside - only one clothes hanger in the wardrobe. Restaurant was OK but no more - the chef's special confit of rabbit was tasty but very over-cooked and the blunt table knife broke rather than cut it. The accompanying red wine jus was delicious, the croquettes were OK, but the green beans were not so much "al dente" as "ah'll need a new denture". The home-made cheesecake dessert was excellent. The wine by the glass was very good but rather over-priced at £7.60 for 250ml. Overall, pretty good and I would stay there again.

TeamHobbit123, Manager at New Hobbit Hotel, by Best Western, responded to this review
Hi, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at The New Hobbit hotel. We do strongly take all comments of your experience on board in order to improve in aspects where necessary. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Team Hobbit

"Ok room. Awful food"

3
Road31882829582, Bury, United Kingdom 28/01/2019

The room was fine. The bathroom was amazing but the bedroom had broken lamp shades and stains on the wall. The food was disgusting. Sweet chilli chicken so spicy (HOT) it made my partner unwell and unable to sleep. When I complained about the food I was told “really” then smiled at and a half hearted apology.All in all it was an ok visit, but the main reason we enjoyed it was because we enjoyed our own company. The room was small but acceptable, I've stayed in better value hotels. The breakfast was tiny compared to other hotels I've stayed in. The reviews that say “amazing breakfast” clearly haven't had a good British breakfast. The staff were all in all nice and friendly with the acception of one member of staff who barely spoke a word to us when we checked in, then spent over 15-20 minutes talking to other couples who were older than us. Maybe it was because we were young.

TeamHobbit123, Manager at New Hobbit Hotel, by Best Western, responded to this review
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at The New Hobbit hotel. We do take all comments on board in order for us to improve in aspects we may feel are lacking once looked into and can assure you as a hotel aim to give the best experience we can for guests that stay with us. Kind Regards, Team Hobbit

"Bristol Cars Sunday outing"

5
bristolbrig, Manchester, United Kingdom 28/01/2019

As the northern section of the Bristol Owners club we often have Sunday drives and meetings followed by lunch. We picked this venue by chance and I can wholeheartedly recommend it. The food was great, the staff very friendly and efficient and plenty of parking which is important for us!

TeamHobbit123, Manager at New Hobbit Hotel, by Best Western, responded to this review
Hi Bristolbrig, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some positive feedback regarding your recent experience with us here at The New Hobbit hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Team Hobbit

"Superb spot"

4
Kevin J, London, United Kingdom 28/01/2019

Lovely little hotel/restaurant with very cosy rooms, really welcoming after a brisk tramp over the moors. Typically friendly Yorkshire hospitality, welcoming, friendly & helpful. Would be a great venue for a wedding/celebration, as they can cater & sleep lots of guests. Dog friendly & Great value too.

TeamHobbit123, Front Office Manager at New Hobbit Hotel, by Best Western, responded to this review
Hi Kevin, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at The New Hobbit hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Team Hobbit

"A night at The Hobbit"

5
User 12/01/2019

I had a meal booked with friends at The Moorcock Inn (also excellent!) and stayed at The Hobbit as it is conveniently close by, within 15 mins walk. A warm welcome awaited me and I was quickly settling into my small double room. Everything was clean and warm and I had a wonderful and peaceful nights sleep. The food menu looked great but as I had a meal already booked I didn't eat here. Good value at £55 for the night. Would definitely stay again.

TeamHobbit123, Manager at New Hobbit Hotel, by Best Western, responded to this review
Hi Denise, Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at The New Hobbit hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Team Hobbit

"overnight stop in the area"

5
richtripadv, Poole, United Kingdom 19/12/2018

Can't fault the New Hobbit, very well presented hotel, warm, comfortable and welcoming. A minor problem with our room was dealt with immediately and efficiently to our total satisfaction and otherwise everything was excellent. We ate in the restaurant and the meal was first rate. Getting good directions to find the hotel, especially in the dark, is HIGHLY recommended, it's not easy and note that the location is outside of the town and not really walking distance to town and up VERY steep hills

TeamHobbit123, Manager at New Hobbit Hotel, by Best Western, responded to this review
Hi Rich, Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at The New Hobbit hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Team Hobbit

"Not for the nervous"

3
User 18/12/2018

Nice pub, old building with much modernisation, warm and welcoming. We had a decent room, only snag was the walk and steps outside to get to it on a rainy and windy evening. The approach from Sowerby Bridge can be daunting, steep and narrow, even perhaps impossible when snow or sleet around. All in all reasonable value except for breakfast, how can they serve poached eggs that were hard boiled accompanied by bacon cooked hours previously and the consistency of shoe leather. But they did and it rankled.

TeamHobbit123, Manager at New Hobbit Hotel, by Best Western, responded to this review
Hi Mel, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at The New Hobbit hotel. Apologies on behalf of the breakfast you were presented with as this is not the standards we aim to serve here at the venue. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Team Hobbit

"Disappointed by the finish of the room"

3
Collibosher, Wath-upon-Dearne, United Kingdom 16/12/2018

At first glance as we walked into the suite we had booked it looked very opulent, just what we were hoping for (given the pictures online). However, appearances were deceptive and despite the swank and swagger of the first impression it became apparent that the room was actually care-worn, more than a little shoddy and positively Baltic in temperature. Several of the spotlights in the ceiling didn't work and one of those that did kept flashing on/off, so we had to use the bedside lamps. The bathroom was absolutely freezing and water wasn't much hotter. We were freezing in bed so we took the throw off of the ottoman at the foot of the bed to reveal that the top of the ottoman was severely damaged. We found most of the staff to be pleasant, in a non-chalant, bare minimum, see-it-all-before kind of way The only saving grace of this establishment was the food. The food was delicious. Such a shame that the staff can't push themselves to be friendlier and more accommodating and it's unforgivable the state of the suite considering what we paid. This should have scored 5/5 but it let itself down.

TeamHobbit123, Manager at New Hobbit Hotel, by Best Western, responded to this review
Hi Collibosher, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at The New Hobbit hotel. We are sorry to hear your stay wasn't all what you was expecting as this is something we as a hotel don't want to discover when we are meeting guest requirements and making sure their overall stay is enjoyable. In regards to the heating within the room itself, if the overall climate was too cold for yourselves if mentioned to a member of staff or phoned down to our reception using the phone provided in the room we could have looked into this and increased the heat so that the temperature was much more satisfying. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the food within our restaurant, we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Team Hobbit

"Mr n brown"

5
nabcab49, Bradford, United Kingdom 12/12/2018

Spent two nights in this hotel with my wife and nothing was to much trouble for the staff Small minor detail was that the mirror could have been positioned a bit closer to the plug socket to allow for my wife to use the hair dryer coupled with the use of the mirror Small leak in radiator was seen to almost immediately other than this highly I would highly recommend

TeamHobbit123, Manager at New Hobbit Hotel, by Best Western, responded to this review
Hi Mr Brown, Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at The New Hobbit hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Team Hobbit

"Excellent Service"

5
Debbie P, Chester, United Kingdom 02/12/2018

Booked for an overnight stay with my dogs and was over the moon when what you saw was what you got.The room was one of the same beautiful rooms on the website..not some make do dog rooms. The dogs were allowed into the bar eating area where the staff couldn't do enough for you. The food was excellent with the breakfast bring a hearty buffet style...dogs allowed again. The views were superb from the hill and the dog walks to the rear were amazing..cant wait to go back in the summer and eat so fresco on their terrace. To sum up...beautiful,very clean room,good food,brilliant service and very dog friendly.

"Fabulous Find!"

5
JEGregory1966, Worcestershire, United Kingdom 26/11/2018

Needed a one night stopover in Halifax and found this little gem in Sowerby Bridge. The name attracted us in the first place but when we read the reviews, we went ahead and booked. So glad we did. It's a fabulous little place. Very tastefully decorated and furnished in a simple contemporary style. Super comfy beds and really clean everywhere. The hotel restaurant was beautifully laid out. Food and service were exceptional. The waitress was lovely. So friendly and accommodating... we asked for 'cremated bacon' for breakfast and that's exactly what we got - petfect! Just how we like it. Have booked again for this week. Would highly recommend.

"Lovely peaceful hotel"

5
29dcm, Dunfermline, United Kingdom 20/11/2018

We booked here as were unable to get Premier inn and glad we did. Only just found out it was a Best Western Signature Hotel. Stayed here for 3 nights and was extremely pleased with accommodation. The hotel has rooms within it and rooms in new block adjacent to main building. Our room was in adjacent block upstairs at end of corridor, it was a lovely clean room with a nice shower and wash area. Toiletries were provided and nice fresh white towels. Bed was comfy and room was warm and cozy. Tea, various types, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits were provided in the room. In Summer we would recommend going for room with balcony, there are seats on balcony so you can sit and enjoy fantastic views over the valley. Breakfasts were excellent with a real good selection available to suit all. We had Sunday Carvery and it was 1st class, very tasty and reasonable priced, would recommend. Even the children's menu was excellent. The location is excellent, just a short distance from Sowerby railway station, only down side is the roads to it are very narrow, not much room in certain parts. OK in daylight but can be a bit scary in darkness, as little to no street lighting. One thing would advise is don't rely on Sat Nav it can send you down a really difficult way, It is inclined to use shortest route. Use hotels written directions. Would also say location could be a problem in winter snow and ice. We would recommend the hotel to friends as our stay was excellent, the staff were very friendly and helpful.

"Cozy hotel with stunning views and good restaurant"

5
Robert M, Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom 13/11/2018

This is a compact hotel and the staff were very welcoming and relaxed. I loved the long main room which contained the lounge, restaurant/function room, carvery, bar and reception. The bedrooms were beautifully appointed and everywhere was warm and inviting.Fabulous shower! 5 stars to the restaurant, folks were arriving late and it had been a busy day but the carvery kept serving to try and feed everyone; great service. The food was plentiful and delicious. Very relaxing and astounding views over the dale to Sowerby Bridge. The hotel is quite a climb up the valley side and a good street map is worthwhile. Single person discount was given. Recommended!

"Lovely relaxing place"

4
User 05/11/2018

Great weekend. Lovely, well appointed room, outside the hotel with a balcony with great views of sowerby bridge and beyond. Two peaceful nights of sleep. Fab breakfast and lovely staff. Only thing that spoiled it for us was the meal in the restaurant. Gristly steak and anything fried like chips, very overcooked. Fat definitely needs changing. Think the kitchen may have been over run serving a function and a full restaurant. Quite reasonable prices if cooked right.

"Stepping back in Time"

5
Anthony M, Wigan, United Kingdom 21/10/2018

After an enjoyable meeting up with friends in Hebden Bridge, l didn't want the fun to stop. So, l decided to stay overnight. Unfortunately, taking into account my spontaneous decision, l began to realise how expensive and limited the accommodation is in Hebden Bridge. I also had an additional "factor" to take into consideration ..... a West Highland terrier named Jasper. Once a pet is thrown into the equation, you're options become even more limited. After a stint on Google, I was lucky enough to find the New Hobbit hotel in Sowersby Bridge. Literally a couple of miles up the road. The accommodation was exceptional, reasonably priced, dog friendly, and served an amazing breakfast. 10 out of 10 all round. Will definitely be going back, and recommending friend's and family to do likewise. A real gem of a find.

"Our perfect day "

5
sheldont-hx, Halifax, United Kingdom 02/10/2018

Well where do we start... We booked our wedding here for 18/08/2018. We fell in love with the place once we had been shown around , it fitted with what we wanted with it having rooms for our guests who had to travel to spend our big day with us & also being able to hold the whole wedding here it just seemed the perfect venue. The hobbit has a lovely decor in both the bar and the reception room , the bedrooms are lovely too. The bridal suite is spectacular. We decided on a vintage theme wedding with traditional afternoon tea which we were assured could be done no problem. Not all of the venues we enquired about could do this on such a large scale. Every meeting had with claire & kevin was pretty much informal , effortless but pretty much to the point which made us feel relaxed & nothing seemed to phase either of them. Alot of hard work was put in creating our special day both beforehand and on the day. The timings and order of which everything was planned was done to perfection. We had a image in our minds of how the day would be and the team at the hobbit delivered a day far more than we could of ever imagined it too be like. The room was perfect... the ceremony went like clock work all the...the afternoon tea was a real success even catering for my wifes allergy was no problem at all for the chef and his team , all of the staff worked seamlessly throught the day. This was definately the best afternoon wev ever had and that was echoed by our guests who were so compliementry about the food & service... the whole team pulled together under claires leadership and delivered a day that our guests are still talking about now and will be for a long time to come, every one of our guests both from the day and the evening have said how much they enjoyed it. The whole of team at the hobbit made our day perfect one we shall never forget We cannot thank all of the people involved enough for the effort put in by the team on the day and special thanks must go to claire & kevin they are the nicest people you can hope to deal with. This place holds a special place for us now and we are so glad we chose to get married here. We shall be returning very soon ☺ Sheldon & Zara

"Nice base for visiting Calderdale"

4
KMLondon22, London, United Kingdom 30/09/2018

Nicely located and quiet on top of the valley above the town of Sowerby Bridge, and an ideal base for visiting local area. Very good homely food, rooms ok and overall excellent value for money (you get a better deal by booking direct). If cycling, be warned it's a challenging 20% ramp up from the town below!

"Disappointing, not up to standard expected!"

2
Mpagedesign, Leeds, United Kingdom 30/09/2018

We stayed at The New Hobbit recently for a friends wedding and whilst the wedding was lovely and we throughly enjoyed it, we felt disappointed by the standard of accommodation & food provided at The New Hobbit. We paid £75 for a double room per night including breakfast. The meal we had privately on the first night was nice, however both of us spent much of the night then ill on the toilet & again the following morning, which could only have been what we had eaten in the restaurant however we put this down to being a one off. The room itself was small, the bathroom ridiculous, anyone slightly above a ladies size 16 would have struggled to fit in the shower cubicle. The furnishings were well worn and not in keeping with the style of the main part of the pub, our high hopes for the quality of the room based on the main decoration in the pub were quashed as soon as we entered the room which was very basic and if I'm honest a bit dark & depressing. We found the rooms to have no sound proofing whatsoever, we could hear conversations of those stopping next door and we didn't want to watch our TV late as we knew those staying next door to us had small children that we didn't want to wake, that's how thin the walls were. The main door leading to the corridor didn't feel adequate, you could hear the constant creaking of the floorboards everytime someone walked past not to mention that none of the doors have soft closers on them so they constantly banged loudly when anyone left or came back to their room. It's a basic expectation that hotels no matter what their size would have thought about sound proofing their rooms to ensure guests privacy and little things like soft closers on doors should really be a given. Our room was absolutely unbearably stifling hot, the floor in the bathroom was red hot to walk on, we slept with the window wide open and it was still uncomfortable. In fact the whole hotel was uncomfortably warm all weekend and we mentioned it a number of times to staff who obviously had heard this complaint many times, and this is consistent with previous reviews of the same complaint, however the management replies advise any heating issue has been rectified, it hasn't. Our room was uncomfortably warm, as was the whole hotel. The bed was rock hard and uncomfortable to say the least. Not at all the standard we expected. Breakfast on the first morning was to order, and when my eggs arrived they were undercooked the white of the egg still raw. The second morning it was buffet and we found everything to be dripping in oil or butter, it was inedible and they ran out of sausages so some guests were told they had to wait 25 mins for some more. We left hungry. Strangely, the 'hotel' locks the doors to the main reception area between certain hours, and if you have an emergency there is an A4 sheet of paper cello taped to every entrance/exit with a phone number to call clearly for emergency only. This is not something we have ever experienced in a 'hotel' before. We found this out in the early hours when our room was unbearably hot and we wanted to speak to reception to see if there was a reason for this and to possibly get some water as both our hot and cold tap in our bathroom were providing red hot water. We found this unacceptable and as other guests might have experienced we didn't feel we could ring the our of hours number for assistance other than absolute emergency. We knew the hotel was fully booked for the wedding so although we reported issues to reception, we knew there was little they could do about the room so we just got on with it, needless to say we wouldn't return as hotel guests again. Lastly, something others have mentioned in reviews is the lack of organisation and management, the staff seemed inexperienced and flustered all the time. The bar/kitchen/wedding co-ordinator seemed to all be the same few people rushed off their feet, only one older gentleman (presumably owner) seemed to be floating about not really being helpful. Often people waiting for drinks as no one serving behind the bar and people queuing to check in. It felt at times, a bit chaotic. It's a real shame as it's a lovely venue with lots of potential just poorly run and standards not kept upto parr. I knew the previous owner who originally developed the property and you can see the difference in the quality and standard. Sadly we won't be booking to eat or stay again.

"Loved it"

5
User 09/09/2018

Great view on top of hill. Superior double room was like it was new it was so clean. Food great we had evening meals as well as breakfast. Only dust we could find was on top of large shower head because we were doing a " 4 in the bed style" look over. Everything as spot on and we stay away every weekend in different hotels,.

"What a great weekend break find"

5
Shumphreys8, Wigan, United Kingdom 09/09/2018

We where looking for something a bit different from our usual weekend break favourite and came across The New Hobbit. We where not disappointed from the moment we checked in till the time we checked out . The staff and service was 2nd to none. The room was lovely a cozy , comfortable and well equipped . The bathroom was great with a smashing power shower with piping hot water. Food was amazing , the range would suit everyone I am sure,from the unusual via the specials menu to the usual steaks , burgers , pasta dishes. All beautifully cooked freash with each order . Great range of wines , spirits and beers to accompany the meal . Breakfast was interesting on the Saturday we had a breakfast menus that had a huge range of breakfast fair which was lovely and Sunday because it was full ( I am assuming) we had a hot buffet . Everything on the hot buffet was piping hot and was of high quality , my husband even went back for seconds on the sausages. Would we come again , definitely and we are going to tell our friends about this great find.

"Top of steep hill"

4
freespirityorkshire, Pocklington, United Kingdom 06/09/2018

This hotel is on top of a very steep hill, so if your thinking of walking into town, then probably think again. However said that, room was clean and comfortable, food was decent and reception staff wonderful. The big question is would you stay again? The answer is yes and perfect for walkers.

"Relaxing Country Inn "

5
kazlee88, Lancashire 28/08/2018

We've been visiting the Hobbit for years, just for a drink. So when it closed years ago I was shocked. Luckily its back open again. First time staying over and you won't be disappointed. The rooms are lovely. We stayed in the new rooms with a balcony view. Super comfy beds. Breakfast was lovely. We got chatting to the new owner Kevin, it was fascinating to hear about the history of The New Hobbit. A delightful place to stay if you're planning on a night out in the town, or a relaxing break away. Great value for money too.

"Just The Job"

4
Brian C, Lanark, United Kingdom 22/08/2018

Enjoyed my stay. Good value. Lovely views from the beer garden. Nice people. Very good breakfast. Hairy drive up to the hotel on very narrow road. Facilities all in good condition. Bar looked good and would be cosy in the winter.

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.