Best Western The Garden Executive Hotel,  South Plainfield

3.5/5  - based on 207 guest reviews.
101 New World Way, 07080-1104, South Plainfield, United States - See map
+1 908 561 4488 +1 732 200 8505



Your room

> Room 1

1 adult


Hotel advantages

  • Free parking
    Free parking
  • Safe deposit box
    Safe deposit box
TripAdvisor Traveler Rating
based on 207 traveler reviews
See more comments >>
Photo gallery :
Close to Rutgers University, Verizon and AT&T Corporate offices and the PSE&G headquarters, this South Plainfield, New Jersey hotel is in the center of it all. Ideally located by both exciting big-city and comfortable rural attractions, The Best Western The Garden Executive Hotel is the perfect destination for relaxation after a long day of work or play. Business travelers from the Raritan Center, Garden State Convention Center, PSE&G, Motorola, AT&T, Chanel and Colgate, or nearby Muhlenberg Hospital and Rutgers University will enjoy easy access to nearby Middlesex Mall, Woodbridge Mall and Menlo Park Mall, all located less than one mile from the hotel. Travel a bit further, and you'll find outdoor activities including golf, hiking trails, fishing, ice-skating, horseback riding and more - perfect for enjoying a bit of fun after exploring the area or travelling to nearby New York City. When it's time to rest, there's no better place to call home than this plush South Plainfield hotel. Boasting 100 well-appointed guest rooms, each featuring cable satellite television and high-speed Internet access, the Best Western The Garden Executive Hotel has all the quiet comforts you've come to expect from a Best Western hotel. Also containing an array of amenities for the savvy traveler, such as complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, a 24-hour fitness facility, guest laundry, free parking, limited business services and cocktail lounge, you'll find everything you need for a relaxing stay. The friendly, helpful staff at the Best Western The Garden Executive Hotel is ready to ensure a fun-filled memorable trip to South Plainfield, New Jersey. Make a reservation today and save!

See rates and availability

Room 1

Guest reviews

in partnership withtrip advisor img
based on 207 guest reviews
Business Business 82
Couples Couples 38
Family Family 43
Friends getaway Friends getaway 11
Solo travel Solo travel 23
Sleep Quality
Best Western The Garden Executive Hotel,South Plainfield
  • 1
    « Avoid this like the plague »

    The room was disgusting. The sheets were clean, but nothing else was. It didn't look like they every dusted. There were odd substances on the chair, walls in the bathroom, and bedroom carpet. It is clear no one cares about this place. There are other options that are very close at the same price point. There is no need to stay there. The only good thing is that the restaurant that is right there, Pho Today, is fantastic.

    « Above average for a budget room »

    Nice place, right off of the highway, but far enough so that there isn't any noise. Also close to many restaurants, shopping, etc. Rooms were clean and somewhat updated. Bed was comfortable, bathroom updated (one odd thing - the new toilet was installed about 10 inches away from the wall - almost in the middle of the floor. I guess do to plumbing/drain lines?), shower was clean. Breakfast was decent - waffles, cereal, fresh fruit, eggs, sausage, juices and coffee - although very busy on a Sunday morning. However, there was a staff member in the area cleaning, etc. - a real plus. The desk staff was very courteous. I wouldn't hesitate staying here again.

    « One night stay »

    There was no microwave in the room, but there was one in the dining area. So that is an offset. Would be nice to have the breakfast meats there when breakfast starts at 6. A heavier comforter would be nice. The family in the next room was very noisy so it kept us up late, the sound carried as there is a shared door between ours and their room which was locked. ?We had a double bed room - rooms were large. The bathroom was a touch small, but was nice, shower worked well - hot water. Bed was a bit firm, but pillows were nice and supportive. Blanket was rather thin, but I always bring my own fleece blanket. WiFi was OK. Spotty at times. TV was Samsung, on the smaller side but a plus was they actually provided a channel guide (BRAVO!). The fitness room was better than some-treadmill that worked, an eliptical, and bike, bench and an assortment of free weights. Good location, albeit Google Maps will take you onto the highway and down and around to get to Burger King which is literally across the street. Breakfast was an assortment of baked goods (muffins were on the dry side, bagels, premade french toast, english muffins, do-it-yourself waffles, a juice machine with OJ, apple juice, cranberry juice, fruit punch, a coffee machine that serves anything from plain coffee to espresso. Hard boiled eggs, and some very nice bananas and oranges as well as the usual yogurts. The meats/hash browns are cooked off-site and are normally NOT there at 6-7 (which is when we ate). The employees were all very pleasant.

    « Perfect location... »

    Needed a night to stay for a last minute trip... this place was perfect. Cheap, conveniently located, good breakfast and no loud noise. Near many restaurants, gyms, fast food and highway. Great 1-2 night stay.

    « You get what you pay for... »

    and the prices at this motel are very reasonable for the area. This is our second time staying here We stayed in Nov. 2016 and then they were doing renovations. I was surprised how much wear & tear there was since then. I'm not sure that the room was not clean exactly, but there was a definite, permeating smell of smoke and the walls & furniture were scuffed and chipped, contributing to a general dinginess. Some things were broken, including the showerhead (which was very hard to adjust & wanted to spray at the ceiling &/or come off in your hand). The beds are too hard for my taste. The breakfast is ok, but without much variety.

    « Good for pot smokers »

    First night was okay. Second night, pot smoke filled our room from someone smoking in the laundry room. Notifying the front desk did no good at all. Lay awake listening for footsteps (supposedly the hotel has "security" that would go tell the pot smoker to stop. Nothing. No noise at all. More second hand pot smoke filled out room. Worse yet was the response from the hotel management after we arrived home. "(It) was investigated immediately. No one was there. It is possible the person returned to their room." LIES. Yeah, no one was there, alright, because someone probably went to have a look the next afternoon. However, if you enjoy a blunt (or two), this may be just the place for you! No one will tell you to stop smoking anywhere on the property (as long as it isn't in your room).

    « Old and plain »

    I spent two night for work at this hotel. The staff was very nice and helpful. The rooms looked clean and it was fine but dated and I could smell the chemical hotels put on carpet to freshen them. I could smell the hotel laundry room drain. The breakfast was small and basic but was told it would be a full hot breakfast and then found out the hot portion didn't start until 7am and breakfast started at 6am. This place could use some re-modeling.

    « Truly a good value »

    I honestly have to say, that while looking for an inexpensive alternative to the hotels in and around the I287 corridor, this hotel truly surprised me. The room was meticulously clean and spacious- although the bathroom was a bit tight, the noise was at a minimum, the bed was comfortable and the temperature of the room was easily changed to meet my needs. While there is no microwave in the room, there is a fridge along with coffee service in the room. There are a number of places to eat around the hotel, many of them in walking distance. The complimentary breakfast while not as extensive as other hotels was fresh and the selection included fresh fruit, bagels, bread, waffles, hard boiled eggs, cereal, coffee and juices. I would definitely stay again and would recommend to anyone looking for a place to stay.

    « Good for the money »

    I stay here because it's convenient to park my 18 wheeler in the parking lot across the street. Had problems with the heating staying warm consistently, but it was very cold when I stayed there during new years 2018.

    « Still a Good Value »

    Still a good value since last visit two years ago. King room on first level was updated, clean and comfortable. Included breakfast with a good variety of selections was just right for an overnight stay, and the eating area was clean and well-serviced. A recent snowfall was cleared from the walkways quickly and they were treated with ice melting material. WIFI was good, HVAC was quiet and effective; reception on large flat screen TV was good on all channels and comfy reading chair and hassock resulted in a relaxed stay. Reception and checkout was efficient and cheerful. Linens and carpet were in clean, good condition. The exercise equipment looked to be standard and in good condition. Nearby shopping and restaurants make this locale very convenient.

  • 2
    « Booked for business, disappointed. »

    I booked this for two of our Employees who were training nearby. The Training Center suggested the Woodspring Suites and this property. I chose this one due to the daily Continental Breakfast as they were of similar cost. The two Technicians complained of an unappetizing Continental Breakfast and inadequate Heaters in the rooms. They left to have Breakfast every day.

    « Nice room! Great value! »

    Room was comfortable and clean. Price was fair for a fully equipped and spacious room like this. What surprised me the most is that the reservation comes with complimentary breakfast. Super! The waffle and the coffee were refreshing! Great value, good deal!

    « a good value for money for the bedroom »

    The room I stayed was excellent in terms of quality-price ratio. No doubt. Very good bedding, standard functional whole But for the rest, better to like to be isolated : nothing much to do in the neighbourhood, c. 5 miles away from the train station. For the rest better to like an ugly, terrible 80's decoration and certainly as old as 1980, awful breakfast

    « Best Western New Jersey »

    I was very pleased with the cost and availability of this hotel. The breakfast was warm and tasty. The room was clean and without smoke smell. The staff was friendly and helpful. I was very pleased with my stay and would stay again in the future.

    « convenient location, near lots of restaurants »

    Hotel is clean and the bed is huge and comfortable. The price was fair. Alan at the front desk is very professional and friendly. We booked two rooms for 3 nights and he always greeted us with a smile and remember our names! The hotel is in a very convenient neighbourhood, Dunkin donuts is right next door and lots of restaurants nearby.

    « A Cold Stay »

    I usually stay at this BW for one to two nights when visiting family in a nearby town. The hotel is clean, updated and provides breakfast in the morning included in the stay. However, this particular stay, I had a very cold room, despite my efforts to turn the heat all the way up. There was a crack/space between the wall and the air conditioner which let in a terrible draft. I called down to the front desk and they were very apologetic and accommodating of my initial request to switch rooms. They offered me a choice of two available rooms on my floor, unfortunately one had the same issue and the other seemed to be in the process of warming up. It was a bit late so we decided to stay in the room and the receptionist brought up some extra fleece blankets which helped a lot. He checked on us several times to make sure we were okay. It was a nice stay despite that single mishap. I would suggest management go around and winterize all rooms to avoid future issues.

    « Not bad on a budget »

    My company put me up here because the price was right. Everything was clean, they have free weights in the fitness center, and it's in walking distance to food. Not too bad if you're trying to save some money.

    « Good & Tasty Food »

    I stayed in this hotel twice in the month of October'17 and I found this hotel is good to stay. Breakfast is ok. Rooms & toilets are good in size. Staffs are also helpful. All the good food joints and bank is also nearby in a walk able distance. Bad thing is tat there is no elevator in the hotel and its a challenge

    « Great stay all around. Thank you. »

    1. Breakfast was awesome with hot food and fruits. Coffee/tea 24/7 2. Room was very good. Initially it was connecting,but asked to be transferred due to noise from the connecting room and the kind staff did that promptly, resulting in a quiet night. THANK YOU. 3. Free parking, lots of options to eat nearby 4. Fast check-in/out 5. Welcome bag for Diamond levels was great too :) 6. Room was of a good size and spotless. Comfortable bed. Every stay at Best Western hotels was always pleasurable.

    « Genral comment »

    There is no elevator in the hotel. If you need one, do not stay here. The breakfast is literally not much choice. There were boiled eggs, yogurt, banana, oranges, apples, waffles, breads, juice, coffee, sausage.

  • 5
    « Needed sleep, got it! »

    Needed sleep, got it. I was due to attend a few meetings the next day and got into the area the night before. I had been not feeling great and was run down. I really needed a hassle free stay and this Best Western provided that. Thank you.

    « The room was okay, but they entered the room while we were out and had the Do Not Disturb sign on the door. »

    They entered our room while we were out and we had the Do Not Disturb sign on the door. This was upsetting and I believe illegal. The room was clean, but could use some updating/remodeling. The bathroom was probably the smallest hotel bathroom I've ever had.

    « Convenient location. »

    When I visit my friends and family in New Jersey, I always stay here. It is conveniently located in Middlesex County. It has nearby access to major highways which allows for easy travelling throughout the state.

    « Great Location »

    The hotel was located close to the freeway, stores and multiple eateries. The breakfast had more options than I anticipated. The rooms could use some updates and paint and a pool would be nice. Would recommend

    « Piscataway trip »

    I selected Best Western to accumulate points on my membership. Of course, it is sometimes difficult to determine how big or small a hotel is when looking on the web. I think if I were to head in this direction again, I would look for a larger hotel which would have more amenities within. The room was fine, WiFi was good, bed comfortable, and breakfast was okay. Access to highways was good and it was convenient to the office I was working.

    « Roach Motel »

    Bathroom was a mess, in-room HVAC filter was disgusting, Hallway was a wonderful combination of smells. Breakfast bar was okay and so was the 24 hr coffee maker. Other than that, spend your money elsewhere..

    « Hotel Stay at Best Western South Plainfield »

    To say the least I was very Surprised since I saw some not so good reviews but The room looked to be newly decorated and freshly painted. The staff was great, they made me feel welcomed at check in. The room was better than expected and the breakfast was typical of the free breakfast given at other hotels. I will be staying here again if in the area for business. Price was right!

    « Excellent cozy hotel »

    I liked the stay at Best Western, The Garden Executive Hotel, very relaxing, quiet and clean also comfortable. The staff were very friendly too.I would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting NJ or NY, conveniently located of I287.

    « Best Stay for Me »

    For a good price, I had a great night at Best Western. I love staying at Best Western and will continue to choose this hotel in the future. I do recommend that others stay here because there are so many places to eat around and the rooms are so clean.

    « Great stay for the price! »

    This hotel had a very decent room with a king sized bed. For the price, it was great value. The breakfast was quite good though the eating area was sometimes a little tight when a few patrons showed up at the same time.

  • 3
    « Not In A Garden »

    Best Western Executive Garden Inn In South Plainfield is none of the above. Not for executives unless of the 18 wheel sort. Not in or near a garden, although the shrubbery looked nice. WARNING!!! This property has NO ELEVATOR. The plus is that it is right off of exit 4 of I287. And there are restaurants within walking distance, something you should consider if you are thinking of breakfast. THere is a Dunkin' and a Diner close by. Beds are ok, sheets and towels are thin, and there is no pool. Staying more than one night is not something we would do.

    « No elevator »

    If you have a lot of luggage, make sure you get a room on the first floor as there is no elevator in this hotel and you have to carry it up yourself. The beds were very high. Not good for short people if you want your feet to touch the floor when getting off the bed. Nice restaurant next door - The Lobster Pub. A little on the pricey side; but the food is very good and well worth it.

    « College Tour Stop »

    College tour stop to Rutgers University. Quick access to highways. Clean and comfortable. Breakfast with variety and tasty foods. I would definitely stay again. WiFi in the room, excellent the entire stay

    « Good place »

    Good place near by shoping markets and foods are available. Hotel staff are good , supportive and polite to customer. Nice time spend at hotel best Western. Quality of bed and room. We can enjoy the start.

    « definite improvement since last visit.. easy on, easy off 287 »

    New beds were put in, much more comfortable. the noise levels are a lot quieter due to their renovations.. no complaints. fre internet... bathroom was clean .. room was clean. staff very helpful..its right off 287 and there are restaurants and shopping centers in the immediate area.....

    « Nice Hotel for the price »

    I stayed here over the weekend on a recent business trip. Great location right off the interstate. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Well lite parking lot at night. I was not impressed with the breakfast but there were a lot of places to eat close by. The lobster pub was awesome with lots of beer choices and the pizza place across the street was some of the best pizza I've ever had.

    « Nice Place to Stay on a Weekend »

    Since we were visiting NJ, we wanted a hotel in walking distance of the Middlesex Mall and a bunch of restaurants. It was quite nice with a full continental breakfast that most Best Westerns give. The staff was friendly and it was quite low key. It didn't have a pool, but we were just looking to be out in the business section of town that was closed. The fitness room is nice and quiet and very clean. The room was nice. It was a little noisy since our room was on the street near big rigs putting on their generators at night. But since it rained, we had our windows closed and it was quiet. A nice affordable getaway near our event.

    « Best Western South Plainfield NJ »

    Fairly priced hotel for a good night sleep. Stayed here before as it is close to two vendors i visit. A couple of food options (restaurants) next door, more a 1/4 mile away. No elevators to 2nd floor.

    « Nice room »

    I would stay here again. The room was quiet, the bed was comfortable, and the staff was friendly. Price was great also. I booked this on Priceline which saved me money! Easy on and off the exit with plenty of restaurants around.

    « Survey »

    If rate didn't change, I would have stayed another 10 days. Managers shouldn't be so stubborn. Unless there hotel is sold out all the time. First room air conditioner made to much noise. I had to switch rooms. Hot breakfast starts at 7:00 when regular breakfast starts at 6:00. Not fair for your working customers

  • 5
    « Decent Hotel »

    The staff is pretty professional. The only draw back was I was kind of rushed out at 11:50, when check out is at 12:00. I've been staying there for years and that is the first time that has happened to me. I would however go back to stay because the good experience overcame the bad this time. Desk staff is always nice as well. :)

    « Right place at the right price »

    I drove to NJ for a family event and needed someplace to stay in the vicinity that would welcome my well-behaved little dog and NOT charge me an arm and a leg. This place was perfect in that regard - pet-friendly and reasonable, with breakfast included, which was simple but perfectly adequate. I would stay here again.

    « Not bad for an older hotel »

    My wife and I stayed there for 2 nights in May. It is an older hotel, but the room was very nice and clean. The bed must have been brand new as it was very nice. The breakfast area is woefully small and on the second day didn't even bother to go there as it was so crowded the day before. Front desk were very nice.

    « Date night »

    My fiancé and I both live with family and occasionally like a Date night getaway. We are pretty much pleased with Best Western hotel, as the location is convenient, the price somewhat reasonable, the service satisfactory.

    « Average Hotel »

    Stayed for two nights. Room had nice décor, bathroom lighting was good, new tiles in tub area. Internet was excellent. This is a basic hotel, nothing fancy, but met my needs for 2 nights. Bed was a bit hard for my liking, and there was some noise in the hallway, room probably not very well sound proofed. Staff was helpful. Decent breakfast choices for a modest hotel.

    « Great hotel »

    Wonderful service. Friendly receptionist, great first impression of hotel, parking in car park and facilitating an early check in. We left with a good impression. Everything about the hotel was exceptional, and I don't give praise lightly. It was clean, roomy with excellent service. Breakfast was beyond good and great value for money;service attentive and efficient. Room itself was well equipped and comfortable. I could go on but suffice it to say I was very pleased with my stay, and although short and sweet this time, I hope to be back for a longer visit in the future.

    « Nice Place For the Price »

    The motel was a good value for the price. The hallways were a little bit musty but the room was wonderful. The decor was nice, the bathroom, the TV, the internet, and the entire room was very nice and comfortable. Everyone was enjoying the breakfast and it smelled great. Nice place to stay. I will be back.

    « Not Bad »

    Stayed for business staff is great, very friendly and helpful. Property is maintained well though not new. Sound does travel a bit though it was very quiet for sleeping. Rooms are a bit dated but again well maintained and clean. All in all good value for the money.

    « Staycation »

    This was a great staycation. The staff accommodated all our request to the best of their ability. They were helpful and a delight to work with. I would be telling all my friends and family about the wonderful time at this Hotel.

    « Field Manager »

    Was working in the area 2 miles away. Poor customer service from the front desk. Smoking smell in the hallways that sometimes came into my room. No express check out. Not familiar with the general area for eating recommendations form the front desk.

  • 1
    « Never stay at this hotel! »

    Music from Lobster Restaurant is too LOUD until 2am!!! Front desk told us: no another room available sorry!! Midnight and I take my reservation for this hotel this morning. No solution for the MUSIC??? Move on!! It's terrible!!!!

    « Descent stay for the price »

    I always look at the carpet and cleanliness of the room. So a very nice stay for the price. No problems with the room and the service. The rooms are clean, the decor was nice, the rooms are spacious, but the bathroom was small. No elevator...

    « 90/100 points »

    very good. honestly! nice food for the morning. internet is mostly good, which is most important for a IT guy. AC could be more powerful for heat If there is smaller room for one business person will be great!

    « Neat clean friendly »

    Stayed here a couple nights and was very pleased.. Room was large, neat , clean , well maintained... Staff was very friendly... Just off 287... Multiple restaurants within walking distance... I will def stay again

    « First time visit »

    Excellent value for the money and the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Room was clean and comfortable, will definitely stay here again. Conveniently located right off the highway and close to many restaurants and shopping.

    « Great Value »

    I would stay here again for sure! The hotel is very conveniently located right off 287 and close to shopping, eateries and so forth. I will keep using it for sure now that I will be working down there often.

    « Room service could be better »

    I stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks. Several of those days room service skipped my room, and cleaned every other room on my floor. They would forget to replace ice tray bags, and other stuff. Bedding: The beds were very stiff. I was looking forward to the soft and comfy hotel beds, but the sheets were hard and the bed didn't give. My sheets were changed (when room service came...I'll give them that). Breakfast: I looked forward to this. Although it was not a buffet full of variety, the waffle maker, and hot seasoned potatoes were enough for me. The bacon and sausage on alternate days also was nice.

    « easy on, easy off 287.. some changes but still good »

    easy on, easy off 287.. some changes but still good ... first thing is for some reason the mattreesses are high in all the best westerns i have stayed in since january.. i mean i need a ladder.. i dont know if its the room itself.. or its standard practice. This place is nice but books up fast..lots of events within 30 miles of this place...The only change that caught me was no microwaves in the rooms anymore BUT they have one in the eating areas by the lobby. Also, there is NO elevator... its two levels.. so let them know ahead of time

    « Leisure »

    I stayed here recently for the first time and i was impressed. Its best to book online cause a lot of traffic comes thru from people out of state when they come to visit Nj/NY. The rooms are nice and clean plus WiFi is very good. I recommend this hotel.

    « Nice hotel »

    Was upset about the amount of shampoo and conditioner they put in the rooms, being My fiancé and I just got back from the beach and their was 1 shampoo nothing else. How are we supposed to wash ourselves? The bed was rock hard and the pillows were so small compared to the size of the bed. Otherwise it was very very clean and the breakfast was phenomenal. I would recommend this hotel to any other person.

  • 4
    « Best Western hotel a convenient , there are many choices of places to eat within walking well located and friendly hotel »

    I was satisfied with the services overall,pretty clean,.The front person was very nice and helpful.,very good location ,there are a lot of choices of places to eat.,Red lobster,Chipotles,taco bell,etc

    « Hotel impossible »

    Clothes washer, treadmill, hair dryer all didn't work. Staff were pleasant, though checking in took a long time because only one person was there, and they didn't seem too troubled by broken appliances. Had to stay here because of a group thing for my son's soccer team. Very disappointing - stay away! Lots of other options nearby.

    « Value for money Stay »

    The stay was correct. just 2 issues to report about : the fitness room was not Ok, no item working. I was told that the items will be replaced ! the second is that for the continental breakfast, the sausage and potatoes were made ready around 7 am, when the breakfast starts at 6 am (breakfast of sunday 26 june)

    « Glad It Was Not My First Stay At A Best Western »

    There was only one desk clerk when we checked in and there were eight people ahead of us. The TV in the room had fuzzy reception and we could not get any of the lower numbered channels. The selections at breakfast were not as varied as other Best Westerns I have stayed at. The breakfast room was too small to handle the number of people who came in.

    « Never Again! »

    The only bright spot about the visit was Delmy, of housekeeping. She was friendly and assisted us in finding what we needed. Other than that, all I heard were excuses... Our key card did not function properly from the start. When I took it to the front desk I was told that I probably demagnetized it by putting it next to credit cards. Of course it was my fault. I held it in my hand from the front desk to the room. Next, when we got to the room, it smelled like stale cigarettes. To that, I was told that it was probably because our room was so close to the exit, we must be smelling the smoke that was coming inside from people smiling near the doorway. However, I never saw anyone smoking near the doorway. Finally, and most disturbing, was the incessant bass thumping through the the hallway and our room. It continued well past midnight. When I spoke to the front desk about it, they told me that it was from the restaurant. Because I booked on Expedia, the front desk clerk did tell me that he was unable to credit my account but he would work out a deal for a future visit...??. I think not!

    « Inconvenient »

    The rooms were spacious but the wifi was very slow. There was no elevator so we had to haul up our luggages. Totally a hassle. The breakfast room was very small. it could seat maybe just 12 people. The choice of food was also very limited. The area around was neat but not picturesque. The beds were comfortable and neat. There were few staff .

    « Not a Business Traveler Hotel »

    The property is outdated with no elevator and services such as vending and Ice located on only one floor. The rooms are small as is the bathroom. TV was very small and reception cut out a lot. Extensive use of air freshener to cover the smell of sewage. Internet slows to a crawl when people arrive in the evening. General area is difficult to navigate as most streets are divided. This is more of a trucker or "hookup" motel. Smell of guests smoking weed was very apparent in several parts of the hotel.

    « I left something behind »

    Check in was smooth. Hotel has a U shaped layout, and is pretty big to walk around. Housekeeping forgot to replenish the towels (I had none) and didnt take out the bathroom trash. I used the "business computer" and printed some things I needed out. TV is a flat screen, but reception kept going in and out due to poor signal. Seems like they have too many TVs off the cable taps. WiFi was good. Bed was comfy, pillows lumpy. AC in room worked well, water was nice and hot, good shower pressure, small sink. No issue with noise. Its close to food, a great diner and plenty of shopping, all within walking distance. I had left some items behind, and it took them 2 days to locate them even after a note was left. No offer to send them to me and lucky, I will pass through on my way back home to get them.

    « Served its purpose »

    On the surface the room was clean and the decor, inviting. However, once in there, pre-existing damages became aparent. The window was cracked, the fridge was dented inside and the cracked shelf broke. The sheets had big brown staining. The breakfast bar was very tight and it was dificult to maneuver with other guests attempting the same thing. The overnight lady, Michaela was dressed like she was home and has zero customer service. Although she was happy go lucky when a male person, who didn't seem to be a guest, was at the front desk talking to her. I ended up paying $91/night for a $65/night type room.

    « Good Hotel ,Breakfast not so good! »

    The Free Breakfast is just okey ,better than none. The Breakfast room was small . WE have an adjoining room since we are travelling with 7 people ,4 kids and 3 adults . The hotel was clean ,nice clean Bathroom ,full bed is kinda narrow for 2 people but it did work .The location is .too many traffic lights before you can get into,far away from the turn pike.

  • 2
    « Not what we expected. »

    We had drove over 5 hours to go to a game in New Jersey and on our way there called around 10 am to see to see if when we arrived around 1230 that there would be rooms available. The woman was very rude to us over the phone, scoffed at us and told us that no rooms were clean and to call back in two hours. When we arrived after our long trip hoping to get in, clean up and rest before dinner and the game we went up to the front desk and unfortunately came face to face with this rude woman. She was busy talking and flirting with guy and ignoring us standing there. When we finally spoke up and told her we had called earlier and were hoping to get in early, even just one of the two rooms we had reserved she completely dismissed us. Without even looking up at us or even checking her computer to see if anything was available she told us absolutely no rooms were available and to check back in two more hours. I worked at a hotel for years, most hotels have the cleaners in at 9 am, this was 1230 in the afternoon and not one room was clean and available? Really now. So we left and came back around 3. There was a new front desk person and he was much nicer and more helpful, however the guy in front of us was checking in with his wife and sleeping baby boys. He asked if he could have a crib for his boys and the guy at the front desk said all the house keepers and maintenance workers had gone for the evening and it was not going to be possible. So let's get this straight, if you need accommodations and only the house cleaners or maintenance workers can do that for you and they leave at 3 however you can't check in until 3 how's that supposed to workout? To make it even better there were two housekeepers chatting away and taking candy at the front desk just hanging out. You guys really could not have helped this man out and just gotten him a crib? We get to the room and only have 2 towels. Awesome. When we asked for me we got none. The tv channels were all blurry and working. You claim to have a gym which was a big reason we chose this hotel, we went down to use it and it was 3 pieces of equipment of which two were out of order. I've really got to say we were very disappointed for what we paid for. The only good thing about this hotel is that it's located in a good area and the lobster pub next door is fantastic.

    « Average at Best »

    CONS: They use a ridiculous voucher system for a free continental breakfast that the attendant makes a check mark when you go in. We travel alot and have never seen this. Asked the desk and housekeeping each day for extra towels and each day got none and had to go to desk to get them. Gym equipment not working, Washing machine out of order. TV is sattelite and went in and out every 5-8 minutes each night. Very small bathroom. Extra charge for each additional person over 2 even though the room sleeps 4. PROS: Average continental breakfast. Coffee was good (which is saying alot for hotel coffee). Close proximity to restaurants, shopping and major highway. Beds we very comfortable, air conditioning was always comfortable. Plenty of outlets

    « Cleanness and noise issue »

    I found fly(insect) in the rinse basin (with pictures). The fridge busted into loud noise frequently in the night. I only slept for 5 hours because of that. Really terrible experience at this hotel. Will not visit it again.

    « 4star over5 »

    Staff was very helpfully and polite, rooms were clean and with new carpets & furniture. The location is great, close to Edison train station, many restaurant chains and malls. The AC was very noisy, not easy to sleep with AC on. The reception and surrounding items were old and dirty. Had too much empty parking lot.

    « Overall good »

    Overall stay was good in hotel. Hotel staff, service was also nice. Only need one improvement, microwave require in room. Breakfast area and room cleanness was nice. Fitness center having equipment but which are out of order since long.

    « Very good place to relax »

    During our 6 week trip to the USA we stayed 9 nights in hotels, altogether 8 nights in the Best Western hotels. We were very satisfied with the quality, good and pleasant service. We do not hesitate to recommend the BW to our friends. The BW The Garden Executive Hotel definitively ranks very high. GP

    « room review »

    room was clean.staff was great- however no hot breakfast was available 2 days. My room key keep going out and had to redone every day. The front desk clerk was every helpful. Clean linen and extra towels were fresh.

    « Good Value »

    This Best Western has undergone a remodel which is nearly done. The new decor of the rooms has been updated with a more modern taste. The new mattress are quite comfortable and are supportive without being overly firm. The breakfast is an expanded continental with hard boiled eggs, potatoes and a breakfast meat of either sausage link or bacon. This property is a good value for a nights rest and a quick bite to eat in the morning. It's not a resort or a full featured hotel but features wifi and basic cable and washing and drying machines. For less than an hour from New York City and less than a $100 dollars a night I recommend this Hotel.

    « Hotel Review »

    Was very nice , clean, friendly. Room rate was good, location was great, rooms were clean and comfortable. WIFI available, ...restaurants close by. Would stay again. Was a great stay over all Was there for business

    « Nice hotel with a good price »

    This hotel is very close to the highway and a very good option if you want to stop overnight on a long drive. The building is kind of old but the interiors are ok and the rooms are clean, all the rooms are non-smoking. Its a small hotel with only two floors and there is no elevator.There is a complimentary breakfast with fewer options but its filling. There are lot of restaurants around like Red Lobster, Mc donalds etc, and Walmart is at walkable distance. I recommend this hotel for a quick stop over or if you are on business travel and looking for a budget option in and around South Plainfield,NJ

  • 4
    « first stay »

    Loved the location of this hotel. Directly off of I287 with numerous restaurants within walking distance. Room was nice sized with microwave and fridge. Bed was a little hard. Would definitely stay here again, although I did not get my wake up call.

    « Average hotel »

    I would consider this average place to stay just to get by for a night. If you are paying more than $70/night then it is not worth it. Lot of restaurants close by and close to hwy. Breakfast seemed ok

    « Nice for the price »

    I paid 170 for two nights, which is sometimes the price of a motel, and it was a lovely experience. The room was nice, almost like a small apartment. I felt more comfortable there than I do at home. Check-in and check-out were brief and the breakfast was fine. Internet was a little slow.

    « Good Value »

    I stayed here one night while in town on business. I was happy with my stay and would stay here again. The hotel only has two floors and no elevator. It's a smoke free hotel which I appreciate. Even though this is an older building it was clean with no odd hotel smells. My room was comfortable and clean and included a refrigerator, computer desk and comfortable lounge type chair. The hotel is conveniently located to many restaurants and stores. I can not comment on the continental breakfast as the warm food isn't served until later than usual and I had to get to work. The front desk staff, while checking in and out, were friendly and helpful.

    « BW in South Plainfield NJ »

    Was in town for a family funeral, so just needed a place to sleep. Beds are very comfortable and rooms are clean. When we first pulled up, it seemed sketchy because the exterior is not very appealing. However, the interior was better. Overall, it was a good stay.

    « Clean »

    Front desk was helpful and friendly every time! Room clean. Comfy beds. Clean towels. Would've given "excellent" if it weren't for one of the maintenance crew (Betsy) who was rude to me for stepping outside my room barefoot.

    « good and cheap »

    the beds were firm..i think these are new temperpedics..Seems everytime I go, they must have a few bus loads of students or something. BUT I have to say.. these kids go OUT and party. and come back late and fall asleep..refrig and a small flatscreen in the rooms.. I don't remember if there was a microwave... book early in advance as this place seems to fill up and sell out a lot...easy on easy off I287

    « Good Value »

    Our overnight stay was satisfactory in most respects - nice reception, efficient check-in, clean room, comfortable bed, good included breakfast and attention to our request for a king room on the first level (this is a two story building requiring stair climbing if staying on the second floor). Parking was no problem and the room rate was quite attractive.The location was near shopping and restaurants, adding to the convenience. The free WiFi lived up to its advertised high speed. The only annoyances were an HVAC that had a thermostat that gave loud clicks all night long, requiring us to shut the unit off, and the TV had reception problems on some channels. The front desk responded very positively when informed of these minor problems and promised to look into them. We noted that some rooms were being renovated on the first floor, which will make them very attractive for future visitors. This older property seems to be trying very hard to stay updated and to make itself attractive for travelers looking for a clean room at modest cost. We will be back.

    « Nice hotel, convenient location! »

    Very nice hotel with recently renovated rooms. Staff was very friendly and our room was large and clean. They are undergoing renovations but it did not bother us during our two nights there. Breakfast is what you would expect, waffles, cereal, eggs, sausages, toast, and some fruit. Good way to start off the day! Located right beside I 287, making trips into NY city very easy. Many shops and malls nearby. Would stay again when in the area.

    « Cheap »

    Good place for cheap. Hotel rooms surprised us but no elevator. Access to major street to get to Watchung mountains from the plains. Shopping galore in neighborhood. Very commercial area; would have preferred other locale as I have stayed at restful Best Westerns before. This place was all out there in high traffic area with vehicles passing all night long.

  • 4
    « Great value, great quality! »

    We had a King room and were very pleased with the overall quality of the hotel especially for the value paid. Granted it was a quick one night stay for us, but I can certainly do more than a couple of nights here (as long as you have a car to commute). Lobby was very pleasant, overall was what I'd expect from a BW quality hotel. Not your 5-star outfit, but great comfort for a 3.5 or 4-star hotel definitely. The room was well-furnished and clean, sufficient amenities with ample space for luggage etc, definitely recommended for the area!

    « Do not stay here »

    Hotel is small, outdated, noisy and staff has attitude. This is worst hotel I have stayed at in my lifetime. I've had better at the Jersey Shore and that's saying something. Do not stay here at all. Stay somewhere else at all costs.

    « Ok for the $ »

    Breakfast was a little disappointing. We've stayed at more than a few Best Westerns over the past year and this was the smallest dinning area and kitchen. The eggs came only boiled (good for you) but I really enjoy scrambled like in the other BW's. I guess if room is limited scrambled are the first to go. The staff was very good and it was clean and safe. I liked the matress but my wife didn't.

    « Being renovated »

    We arrived in our non-smoking room only to find that it was stuffy and smelled like paint/putty. They were gracious about changing our rooms but that required an extra up and down on the stairs. There is no elevator - so don't pack a heavy suitcase! Breakfast was hot, the coffee was weak even though the machine was serviced before my coup was poured.

    « Not Good! »

    Too Many pages... Need Short and sweet for review. I already said everything on another page... What's UP? WiFi didn't work at all! Electricity at breakfast bar kept tripping the barker. The AC had a hard time keeping the temp constant. I could go on but I have other things I need to do.

    « Good for the money, plain for the show »

    This Best Western property is a good deal for what is offered. An expanded continental breakfast, wide selection of basic cable and always clean rooms are the highlights of my stays. I have stayed here many times and can't remember if I have ever had a problem. The beds are comfortable and the baths are spotless. This is not a resort or luxury hotel, but for the price it is a good value for the accomodations offered.

    « pleasant trip »

    Very nice, reasonable, comfortable, safe, and breakfast was excellent. We visit that part of New Jersey frequent and we believe we have finally found Best Western to be OUR place to stay. Easy to also connect with New York City as we have many friends there.

    « Not the nicest hotel out there »

    The appearnce of the hotel on arrival was not the best. The rooms ddi not look the cleanest. The A/C did not really keep the room that cold. The room and hallwayss smell of smoke even though it is non smoking. The TV and phone did not work in the room upon arrival. Beds were less than comfortable Positive is that the hotel staff was very friendly and accomodating

    « Excellent value for vacationing family »

    Rooms are large and clean, very reasonably priced. Good complimentary breakfast - tight eating area but good food with coffee, milk and juice. Other restaurants & shopping within walking distance. Free wireless access& fitness center (no pool though). Employees are courteous. Overall a great value for travelers.


Getting to the hotel ...

All directions
·From: North. Take the New Jersey Turnpike onto 95 South and take Exit 10. Take Highway 287 North to Exit 5, to the Best Western Garden Executive Hotel. ·From: South. Take the New Jersey Turnpike North on 95 North and take Exit 10. Next, take Highway 287 North to Exit 5, to the Best Western Garden Executive Hotel. ·From: East. Take 78 West to the New Jersey Turnpike South and take Exit 10, then take Highway 287 North to Exit 5, to the Best Western Garden Executive Hotel. ·From: West. Take the 78 East to Hightway 287 South and take Exit 5, to the Best Western Garden Executive Hotel.