ROOM 1
ROOM 2
ROOM 3
Promotion code

SureStay Hotel by Best Western Sonora, Sonora

270 Highway 277 N, 76950-2200, Sonora, United States - See on a map
SureStay Hotel by Best Western Sonora - The SureStay Hotel Sonora is the first in the city and a sure stay when traveling through West Texas. The SureStay Hotel by Best Western Sonora is ideally located in the center of Sonora. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

This hotel in Sonora, Texas offers free continental breakfast with eggs made to order, free Internet access, seasonal outdoor pool, large truck parking area, a true, southwest Texas Favorite! This is the ideal lodging for both leisure and business travelers. Hotel guests will experience superior customer service and graceful accommodations while traveling along the Interstate 10 corridor between El Paso and Houston. Popular local attractions near the hotel include the famous Caverns of Sonora, Lake Amistad, Devil's River State Natural Area and Ft. McKavett State Historic Park. Each guest room at the SureStay Hotel Sonora features cable television with four HBO® channels, free high-speed Internet access, as well as a microwave and refrigerator for in room snacks. A complimentary continental breakfast with eggs made to order is offered each morning. Additional amenities include a seasonal outdoor swimming pool, exercise facility and free parking. Come see why this hotel is a winner of Best Western's Director's Award. Make a reservation today at the SureStay Hotel Sonora!

SureStay

Hotel by Best Western Sonora

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Hotel advantages

  • Air conditioning
    Air conditioning
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
  • Safe deposit box
    Safe deposit box
  • Onsite laundry
    Onsite laundry
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
Certificate of Excellence 2017
based on 315 guest reviews
NOTE ISSUED
Excellent
108
Very Good
93
Average
69
Poor
32
Terrible
13
REFER TO NOTICE
Business Business
38
Couples Couples
94
Family Family
123
Friends getaway Friends getaway
13
Solo travel Solo travel
31
SUMMARY NOTES
Cleanliness
Location
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Value

"Over priced and below standards"

2
User 29/05/2019

Good location is the only positive thing I can say. The carpet was dirty with stains. Dirty towels were hanging as if they were clean. Trash can from previous guests was left in room. Refrigerator did not work.

Ronnie S, General Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western Sonora, responded to this review
Dear Fran S, On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

"Not Best Western Quality"

5
User 01/05/2019

Very low quality rooms, dirty, old, bad smelling. They are charging a premium for the room using the Best Western brand yet way under delivering. Breakfast was terrible, not even continental standards

Ronnie S, General Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western Sonora, responded to this review
Dear Trip18831954987, I'm so sorry you had a bad experience during your recent stay. Had we known you had any issues in your room we would fixed it or moved you to another room. As for breakfast we have a full hot breakfast where you get get fresh eggs made to order as well as omelettes or breakfast burritos along with a continental breakfast that includes waffles,cereal, oatmeal , danishes,muffins coffee and juice we are so sorry you missed it. We hope you give another chance if you are ever in our area.

"Average "

3
roberts_david, Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom 19/04/2019

We stayed at the best western for 3 nights as a midway stop from Fort Davis to Austin. The room was basic only 2 coffees and 3 cups, however when I sad the front staff had the extra coffee, all staff were friendly and the breakfast was a basic continental, a bonus was that a fresh omelet was made to order, we do not have housekeeping service and pick up the soap and towels every morning. This we now do because a couple of years ago our cases had been opened whilst we were out.

"visiting the cave"

5
dclaes46, Marble Falls, Texas 13/04/2019

Sonora is small, we were pleased they had a Best Western and were very satisfied with SureStay in Sonora. The check in was quick and friendly, the room was clean and well appointed, the AC/Heat worked fine and quietly, plenty of hot water with OK water pressure, bed was comfortable and the breakfast with the eggs cooked to order was great. Everyone there was friendly. Enjoyed the stay.

Ronnie S, General Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western Sonora, responded to this review
Dear dclaes46, Thank your for taking the time to leave a us a great review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

"Downhill Journey"

1
User 08/04/2019

We have stayed here for several years on our way to South Texas. The accommodations have been on a downhill trajectory for a few years but this year was absolutely the worst. Property is unkept. Rooms are not clean and do not have proper amount of towels, toiletries. Very noisy location next to the highway. Will not stay there again.

Ronnie S, General Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western Sonora, responded to this review
Dear BarbaraB8065, On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

"Clean, quiet, comfortable "

5
dixiepeach, Kansas City, Missouri 27/03/2019

This little hotel is near Interstate 10 and is a convenient place to stay if you're just passing through. Microwave and refrigerator are in the room. TV and WiFi service are great. Breakfast is included.

"Nice hotel in Sonora"

4
User 24/01/2019

This property is a surprisingly good option in Sonora, TX. Not many options in this area for lodging, but I would recommend this hotel if you're in the area and need a decent hotel. Great breakfast, made to order omelets or burritos is an especially nice option when you're tired of most hotels standard offerings of hockey puck sausage and runny gravy. It's not a high end hotel, has outdoor entrances to the rooms and an interesting parking lot, but it is clean, well maintained and a very convenient option when traveling through this ar3a. I will definitely add this to the list of hotels worth staying at again.

"Nice breakfast!"

3
SW1975, Tallassee, Alabama 16/01/2019

This is an older property conveniently located off I-10. The area was under a winter weather advisory so we were glad to have a place to stay while traveling to Houston. After checking in around 9:30 pm, we walked to the 7-Eleven next door and got snacks. Our king room was basic but very large, and we slept very well. Breakfast was comprised of the usual cereal, waffles and pastries, plus made-to-order eggs, omelets and burritos. Very good!

"Picture is deceiving!"

1
meaveg, boynton beach, florida 11/01/2019

This place was terrible! The people that rated it higher than average must stay at some pretty bad places. Check-in was a pain. The girl acted like we were doing her a favor by being there and wasn't friendly at all. Then she told me I didn't have a reservation. I had to go out to the van and get my laptop and look up the email. I brought it in to tell her the confirm. # and then she said she found it. She then told us that we were on the 2nd floor after requesting a bottom floor. We were sent to the old location down the hill. Yuck! There were lots of workers staying here. When I went to unload I had to pass a guy standing outside his door yelling at who ever was on the opposite side of his phone call. The room was gross. Hair all over the bathroom. Lights were fickle. Furniture old. The bathroom shampoo and soaps (I don't use them) were the tiniest I've ever seen. Outside, what little grass there was had poop all over the place (thanks inconsiderate dog owners) so you had to be cautious of where you walked. One of the workers below us had set out a trash can with vomit in it. The breakfast bar (if that's what you want to call it) was out of everything. Not even a banana. This place is so nasty the next time I need a place to stay in the area I will choose my van instead.

Ronnie S, General Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western Sonora, responded to this review
Dear meaveg, Thank your for leaving us a review and letting us know where we need to improve. I'd like to apologize for not meeting your expectations.I'm sorry for the misunderstanding during check in and even though you requested a downstairs room it is a request and is not always guaranteed. If we would have a room on the first floor we have gladly accommodated you.I apologize if the soaps were to small however we are using brand standard amenities and we are using the correct size if you need extras again we would have given you extras. Yes we do have several rooms that are occupied by workers but we've never had any issues with them where we've had to call them to quiet down.I apologize for the grassy area not being maintained and we have talked to our maintenance staff to make sure they are up keeping but we can not control what other guest are doing when we are not around ie the trash can outside their room but as soon as housekeeping saw it the next morning they removed it.We would have gladly moved you to the opposite side of the building had we known you were having these issues. Sincerely, Ronnie

"Ugggggg"

1
Sightseer68395314578, Houston, Texas 08/01/2019

Hotel has gone downhill since our last stay in Nov 2015. Dead flies in cracked light fixture. Bed lamps did not work. Carpet stains. Odor in room employee children runnng around screaming in and near lobby. Old stained pillows.

Ronnie S, General Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western Sonora, responded to this review
Dear Sightseer68395314578 I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations.I'm working with our housekeeping staff and doing some retraining so they do not become common issues.Our employees are not allowed to bring their children to work for this exact reason so thank you for bringing it to our attention so we can take of this issue as well. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. Sincerely, Ronnie

"Not What It Used To Be"

2
User 06/01/2019

The quality has gone down quite a bit. The room was clean, smelled good, but the towels were obviously not replaced, no coffee cups for the coffee maker, no sugar packets or stirrers. They had 1 shampoo and 1 soap only. The toilet paper wasn't even loaded to the roll. The food is very limited. The one omelet you get is nothing to brag about. The desk clerks in evening and daytime, plus the cook were not friendly. Last stay the cook left early, so we were left without a hot breakfast. We stay at this hotel about twice a year. Time to find a new location.

Ronnie S, General Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western Sonora, responded to this review
Dear Sandy, I'd like to apologize for not meeting your expectations. I've spoken with our housekeeping staff about your stay and we have gone thru some retraining with our newest staff members to make sure this doesn't become a constant issue. As for breakfast we serve breakfast from 6A-9A everyday our cook has her station up everyday until 9:10A depending how busy she is. She never stops cooking before 9 until she has finished all her orders. We usually leave our continental breakfast out until 9:30 in case we have last minute coming in looking fro breakfast.We apologize if there was a miss communication on breakfast hours. Sincerely, Ronnie S.

"Should I just build a fire?"

2
Tim G, Amarillo, Texas 15/11/2018

I stayed here on a recent business trip to Sonora. I had stayed here several years ago without problems. However it has gone downhill since I was here last in 2012. The room was decent but no hot water. At first I was told they were really full so their hot water heater was taking a little longer to recover. They said just wait 30 minutes and it will be fine. I tried for 1.5 hours and never got any hot water. I cleaned up best I could, which I was not happy about as I need to be clean and professional for my job. When I returned in the afternoon I tried to see if there was hot water. Still no dice. I called the front desk and now they say the hot water heater is broken and they were waiting on the plumber. I asked if it would be fixed today. They said probably not since the plumber was supposed to be there earlier but still had not shown up. They said I could take a shower in the swimming pool bathroom as it has it's own water heater. I decided to do this. Scary was an understatement. It was not very clean at all. There is no telling what I may catch. Upon check in I was asked to initial the usual no pets , no smoking statements. The last one was no "loud partying". I thought this was odd until that evening I encountered loud music from the room either above or next to mine. Loud voices went along with the music. It finally quieted down by the time I went to bed. And then finally ...Should I just build a fire to heat my own water??

Ronnie S, General Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western Sonora, responded to this review
Dear Tim G, I would like to apologize for the experience you encountered during your recent stay. Yes we had issues with our water heater as soon as we guest calling about no hot water a few rooms called to let us know I was on the phone trying to get a plumber here ASAP unfortunately we have to have someone from San Angelo come because we have to have someone licensed to work on a commercial water heater and we were told Wednesday morning was the only option we had so we had no control over that then come Wednesday we are being told they are running behind so I make some calls see if we get someone here sooner come Thursday morning we are still waiting on a plumber so we cleaned and opened our pool showers to be available to our guest because that was our only option at this point we tried our best but we were at the mercy of the plumbing company and unfortunately they were not able to make it to Sonora until today and they have fixed the issue and we have hot water again. I truly am sorry that you had to experience that and as for the partying we were not aware of anyone playing loud music as it was never reported to the front desk had we known we would have put a stop to it. I hope you give us another chance to make it up to you, Kind Regards, Ronnie

"Reasonably priced but kinda old"

3
SusanM622, Fernandina Beach, Florida 10/11/2018

Stayed here on our way out west. Easy located off I-10. Quiet - no traffic noise. Rooms are located in separate building downhill of check-in. Kinda old and outdated. However, great breakfast in the morning with freshly cooked orders right there for your asking!

"Oscar at check in was a life saver!"

4
TexasTornado, Beaumont, Texas 22/10/2018

We had originally booked at a different hotel that was found on Booking.com. Supposedly they did not send our reservation through to the other hotel and to our dismay and after driving all day, we found ourselves without a room! Other hotel was booked solid. Oscar was working the front desk when i walked in exhausted and he was able to find us a room that had been recently cancelled. Yay! What a relief! The room was spacious, clean, and totally acceptable. No problems resting that night.. and the bed was comfortable. In room single serve coffee as well as a fridge and I think microwave. Nice size TV and other amenities in the bathroom area. Oscar told us about breakfast for the next morning but we were headed out early and didn't have time to stop in. Thank you, SureStay in Sonora, for fitting us in that night. We would stay here again if passing through the area.

Ronnie S, General Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western Sonora, responded to this review
Dear TexasTornado, Thank you for the great review! I'm glad Oscar was of great help to you. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and sad to hear you missed out on breakfast but we hope you stop and give it a try next time you're in our area again.

"Good bang for the buck!"

4
qv09vvp, La Vernia, Texas 21/07/2018

Check in was good with a very helpful gentleman. Room was in a 2nd building. All doors are outside facing in this section. Room was BIG, clean, comfortable and super quiet. We had a great night's sleep. The breakfast was good with a unique omelet made to order option. I do have to say I ordered bacon in my omelet & they litterally put the bacon strips! Sorry...a little effort into chopping up the ingrediants would be in order. Got a great rate on priceline.

"Great Little Motel"

5
Marian5522, Sugar Land, TX 26/06/2018

Rooms were clean. Nice refrigerator in the room, even had a little freezer on top. We stayed right across from the pool. Pool was nice. They even put towels out there for you. I would stay here again. Not a Hilton or anything, but a nice place to stop for the night without spending a fortune.

"Some good, some not"

3
GardaGal0912, Huntington Beach, California 03/06/2018

The room was big, quiet and comfortable. It was located in a separate building from the main lobby where breakfast was served. The ice machine did not work but the one in the lobby did. The breakfast was very good for this kind of motel with eggs made to order. Good coffee. However, FOX news was playing in the dining room and that was really unpleasant. The shower was poor, poor drainage and thin towels. Frig, microwave and one cup-coffeemaker. We were on a 2nd floor; there was no elevator. Used AAA rate. Cheap gas station next door and easy access to I-10.

"Great value"

4
Carla K, Fort Davis, TX 12/05/2018

This is a well-maintained older property just off of I-10, but you never hear any traffic. The rooms are located in a gentle downward slope behind the lobby, shielding them from noise. Clean room, nice pool, comfortable beds. The hotel is hiding in plain sight; I have driven past it many times, not even realizing it was there! The night clerk was friendly and helpful, in spite of our late-hour check-in. The price is very affordable and reasonable. Good choice.

"Just an average, well used, motel....nothing fancy."

3
Scott S, Houston, United States 17/04/2018

The very nice woman who checked me in, MJ, should be given a medal for well she treated myself and the person on the phone, and the other guest in the lobby when it was obvious her patience was being put to the test. I retired as a customer service manager at a large supermarket, and MJ is golden. Now.... The room I had was clean, and tidy. There were no real issues other than the lack of a plug in at the bedside for my phone charger. It is obvious that this motel is an old Best Western and its well used by the oilfield people working in the area. I know that that must be difficult for the service staff.

"Nice place, nice staff"

4
Danny A, Midland, Texas, United States 01/04/2018

I can't give it a 5 star because it did not have a hot tub. Seriously though, it was real nice for weary travelers. They offer breakfast but I did not take them up. For Sonora? This place should get a 5 Star. Again, to me- relationships are everything. The desk ladies were wonderful. The rooms were clean. It was good- just no hot tub.

"Nice Hotel Conveniently Located on IH-10"

5
Daytexas, Georgetown, Texas 25/03/2018

Pleasant, well maintained hotel on I-10 in west Texas. Courteous and helpful staff. Great complimentary breakfast, eggs are prepared to order, scrambled, omelets, etc. Free Wi-Fi will keep you connected, very important for travelers these days.

"Late arrival but a good stay"

4
garybgomez, Tucson, Arizona 25/03/2018

I tried to cancel as I realized the 2 hour time difference. Booking.com may have been the issue. I was treated well and the room was fine. Breakfast was good as well. I would stay again. Slept hard. No elevator but easy access to stairs. A long drive from Tucson unless you get away early.

"Vacation"

5
sshouston1, Houston, Texas 20/03/2018

We were on our way to Los Alamos, NM for a family event and stayed the night here. Room was clean, front desk staff was nice, breakfast was great. You could order a omelet or eggs cooked your way, your breakfast burrito. With your choice of ham, bacon, sausage. They also had a waffle maker, and then the other normal foods you get at hotels. We would stay again when traveling.

"Excellent stay, excellent breakfast"

5
642rose, Tucson, Arizona 17/02/2018

On long roadtrip to Orlando from Tucson, this was our first hotel and second stay in a Best Western property. By the end of our trip, Best Western is now our go to hotel. The room was comfortable with a quiet fan and nice beds. The location of the rooms vs the office/lobby is a bit odd. The rooms are in a separate building and down a little hill from the lobby. This makes getting ice a bit challenging, but not enough to knock down the rating. The breakfast was a highlight. They have made to order eggs that you can get as either an omelette, burrito or eggs made your way. We had two omelettes and a burrito among my group and there were no complaints. Juice, coffee, pastries and the usual waffle maker were also provided, but the eggs were plenty enough to leave us all full.

"Good Value for the Price"

5
Gonzalezgang, Wittmann, Arizona 18/01/2018

We stay here on our way to visit family in Texas. Easy off, easy on to the freeway. The staff is very friendly and professional. The rooms are clean and have a microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, good beds and good WIFI. We arrived a little early and our room wasn't ready so they gave us another room. We chatted with the housekeeper and she was very polite and helpful with giving us suggestions on places to eat, within walking distance. We chose to eat at La Mexicana, which is right next to the hotel. There is a Pizza Hut across the street, Dairy Queen, Sonic down the road. We did not want to get back into our car. The rooms are to the outside (not an indoor corridor), the middle stairs to the second floor, feel a little safer then the one on the end. The breakfast in the morning is a "cooked to your order" - when you enter the lobby, on the left side is a counter with menus for you to fill out as to how you would want your eggs cooked. You can have an omelet, burrito or just eggs - with side meats. You just fill out the menu and they will cook it and bring it to you. They do accept tips as well. They also have waffles, cereal, etc - what most other hotels have. For the price that you pay for a nights stay, this is a great bonus! We will continue to stay at this hotel when we go through this area.

"Just Passing Through"

4
Rebecca L, Atlanta, GA 04/01/2018

We stopped here as we were just passing through from Big Bend NP to Houston. The hotel met and exceeded our expectations as it was clean, the room was spacious and the staff were friendly - especially about touring the nearby Caverns of Sonora. The walls are a bit thin as we could here the alarm clock in the room next to us, but other than that, it was a great place for the price. Breakfast was good and the waffles are shaped like the state of Texas!

"Poor mans best western"

3
hezbri, Edmonton, Canada 03/01/2018

Linens and towels have seen better days, all rooms exterior corridors. Not what was expected from a best western. No family style restaurants, steakhouse was only so-so. Breakfast was good with custom made omelettes.

Ronnie S, General Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western Sonora, responded to this review
Dear hezbri, Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay. I apologize if you felt misleaded by our online photo into thinking we were an interior property. Yes we are on older property but we keep it well maintained and as for our linen we apologize for the mishap but I can assure you that the issue has been resolved. There is a couple of restaurants within in walking distance that are family oriented as well as a Pizza Hut across the street from us.We hope you give us another chance when you're in our area again.

"Time Travel - A 60's Motel"

3
BoilerMakerBob, Greenwood, Indiana 01/01/2018

This motel is straight out of the 60's! Check in a the little building in the front and then pull round back to unload directly into your room from the curb. Then next morning (even though it is 16 degrees F!) Walk up the little hill (watching for ice patches) to breakfast. The rooms were spacious and nicely appointed but the carpet badly soiled. Queen size beds were comfortable but the bed linens were pretty thin, especially serious on a cold winter's night. The bath facilities were adequate but basic - vanity in the bedroom area with WC and tub/shower in a separate small room. Breakfast was good - they offered eggs to order including omelets, but we are simple breakfast people - oatmeal, etc. Since they have no elevator, we asked for a first floor room - getting too old to carry suitcases up stairs. Unfortunately, they put us under a family whose toddler liked to run. Fortunately, that stopped at 10PM. Highway noise was negligible. Overall, not bad, not good. An average motel in West Texas.

Ronnie S, General Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western Sonora, responded to this review
Dear BoilerMakerBob, On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

"A relative 5/5 "

5
Merrick B, Thousand Oaks, California 22/12/2017

It's worth saying that this is a small motel property. That said, the room was exceptionally clean, the bed was comfortable, staff was great, and the microwave/mini fridge are a nice convenience that you won't always get at a motel. The woman who checked us in also made us breakfast in the morning(she said she works 11pm-11am many nights) and still had a welcoming smile and fantastic attitude after working through the night. Breakfast was as expected & the made to order omelettes and burritos are a nice personal touch. One major drawback at no fault to hotel was we were in town on a Monday night at 9pm and there were only 2 restaurants open. We were forced to eat a lackluster “steakhouse” as I have dietary restrictions and couldn't eat at the only other option Pizza Hut. So don't expect a wealth of food options , but since there is a fridge and microwave in the room I'd recommend grabbing something on the way into town.

"Nice."

4
Kat S, El Paso, Texas 17/11/2017

Nice room. Comfortable. Easy check in. Friendly staff. Good location, a couple of restaurants nearby. Free breakfast with custom omelette and burritos. Nice touch. Easy on and off I-10. Grass around for pet.

"Some Good, Some Not"

3
Phoebe729, Corpus Christi, Texas 13/11/2017

Firstly...credit where credit is due... The room was clean and spacious. The bed was pretty comfortable. Those honestly are very important issues. The breakfast, and the young man who cooks your eggs to order, was GREAT! He was so sweet and friendly...to those who tipped him (like us) and to those who did not. He did his job with expertise, and took being stiffed (to his credit) with a grain of salt...never losing that winning smile. The not so good...our check in was scattered, as the person @ the front desk could not find our reservation. We were a very late night check in. The issue was resolved, but the entire ordeal took about 30 minutes or so. We are seniors who had been driving for over 13 hours that day, and were exhausted. It was a bit off putting. Secondly...the hot shower we were so craving was a joke, actually. Water just dribbled (and I'm not kidding) from the shower head. It took us both forever to get clean. We would have asked for another room, but we were wiped out, and had already lugged all our stuff to an upstairs room.The towels were another disappointment, as they were worn, stained, and had obvious threads hanging from some of them. They did smell and appear laundered, so we used them. I went to use the room's blow dryer, and it was literally falling off the wall. Upon our arrival the toilet was not flushing, so first thing in the morning my husband went to the office and got a plunger to fix the problem...IT WAS NOT US! When I went to charge my phone and tablet I found the outlets were very mushy in the wall...not at all stable. The batteries in the the television remote were completely dead. It was unusable. Luckily we were too tired to let it bother us too much. In conclusion I would say improvement was needed, but the stay was not a terrible one. Considering the rooms (including the carpet) were so clean, and the bed was comfy we would try this location again.

"Driving home from Big Bend"

5
Janice H, Houston, Texas 10/11/2017

This is a clean, friendly branch of Best Western. Reasonably priced below $90/night. Eggs are cooked to order at breakfast: omelets, burritos, etc. with different meats and vegetables. Bacon was crisp. Highly recommended.

"Great Stop Over/Rest Spot - Pet Friendly!"

4
CreateSF, Houston, Texas 23/10/2017

Surestay is perfect for an overnighter for those longer drives. I got in late afternoon, and although I had sent an email indicating I had a dog, they weren't aware, but it was NO problem. All they needed to do was switch to a pet friendly room, i.e. simulated wood floors. I arrived on a Sunday, so unfortunately many of the dining possibilities were closed. If you have a dog, especially one who's been cooped up in a car for an entire day, there is a softball park just a couple of blocks away. It is unlocked and fully enclosed. It was perfect for my dog to run around and get that excess energy out! The hotel has a pretty impressive self serve breakfast as well as an "eggs" bar. You have pretty much everything you need. The staff is super friendly and check out is at 11. Great place!

"Good short visit"

5
travels2014653, New Smyrna Beach, Florida 10/09/2017

The staff is super friendly and customer service is their priority. The manger and his wife and their staff are lawyers couteous and professional. We had 8 to 9 rooms for wedding. Morning breakfast Eggs made to order is plus. I understand highway property and not having elevator, but it's only two floors. Big parking area open back side of two stories building.!!!!!

"Ugh"

2
Zep2014, Caracas, Venezuela 10/09/2017

Room is ok, smelled funny but not terrible, the mini fridge was nice but was off and also had a old bleach smell. Worse part is getting woken up at 4 by the fire alarm and now can't sleep because I couldn't find a way to block out the light's from the street. It's going to be a long drive home, so tired.

"Good stay, Best Breakfast "

5
dry2111, Alice, Texas 09/09/2017

This second visit to this property because of Hurricane Harvey. As always the staff at this location awesome. Jess went out of her way to get us checked in early and met us with a warm smile n can do attitude. The hotel was clean and nicely kept. Breakfast Eggs made to order make our morning very special.

"Friendly staff, pet friendly, clean room"

5
User 20/08/2017

We had a pleasant one night stay. Room was clean, staff was helpful and plus is they are pet friendly ( but does have a $15.00 non-refundable fee) breakfast was perfect 10 out of 10. Egg made to order, we had never seen that any hotel we stayed. We did enjoy our stay.

"Great breakfast, clean room, friendly service for the price"

5
User 07/07/2017

We just checked out after a late night last minute stay. After the terrible late night drive of the never ending I-10 from El Paso to San Antonio, we stopped part way in Sonora and we are so glad we chose Best Western. The room was a little humid, but did not have that smelly, musty stink that usually accompanies 2star budget stays. The pool was beautiful at night. The a/c was great. The beds were comfy. The room was clean and quiet and dark. The breakfast was the best part - texas shaped waffles and freshly made to order delicious omelettes, burritos, or eggs (tips accepted). It was over the top great - definitely exceeded our expectations. The kids took a dip in the pool before check out. A significant amount of dirt had settled at the bottom of the pool, but I'm pretty sure it was due to recent windstorms, because it was otherwise clean/clear water. We usually stay at Holiday Inn Express and pay the extra $40/$50 for a better breakfast and pool, but we would definitely stay here again. You can tell it is well managed and run by content, competent employees.

Danny J, General Manager at SureStay Hotel Sonora, responded to this review
Dear Lavenia R, Thank you for your five star rating and review of the Sonora Inn in Sonora. It brings me great pleasure to hear what a positive impact my professional and friendly staff. I'm thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your visit with us in our clean and quiet facility. I hope we can host you again the next time your travels bring you our way! Warm regards, Danny J. General Manager

"The Suite is not suite and the pool is dirty."

2
ChicRoadTripper, Houston, Texas 29/06/2017

In the interest of full disclosure I will say that my platinum membership was acknowledged and he gave me a goodie bag which was awesome and unexpected. The first room I checked into, which I booked, was a king suite. This particular room was in the back and very dark and uncomfortable. I decided on the site so my Son and I could sleep in separate rooms and he could have the pull-out couch; when we pulled out the couch in couldn't pull out all the way due to the TV cabinet in the way so when I moved the couch we found a used band-aid AND a mattress that was all spring - no way a human could sleep on that AND there were no linens to go with in anywhere. So when I asked to move he told me he would still charge me the king suite price of $122.00 total if he moved me to a double because a double can sleep 5 people! ??? What? I still only had me and my son, this made no sense. This hotel was extremely unrelaxing after a long drive. There in not much of interest in Sonora Texas and they are expensive and taking advantage that is one of the few stops on interstate 10. Never again thank you.

Danny J, General Manager at SureStay Hotel Sonora, responded to this review
Dear ChikRoadTripper, Thank you taking time and leave a feedback for your recent stay with us here at Best Western Sonora Inn. It is our primary goal to provide all of our guest with the best service and I am sorry we fell short. I would like you to give us another chance to show you that what you experience is not a norm of our service. Please contact me at 325.387.9111 and I will personally take care of your reservation. Sincerely, Danny J.

"Happy staff=Happy stay"

5
User 28/06/2017

I was very impressed with the cleanliness of the room the upkeep of the facility the family feel that the amenities bring to this hotel. Most of all I would have to say this hotel was worth staying at because of the very genuinely happy staff especially Denny at the front desk very friendly and genuinely happy. Happy staff=very well kept hotel.

Danny J, General Manager at SureStay Hotel Sonora, responded to this review
Dear Cyndi A, Thank you for the 5 Star rating and giving us your feedback of the wonderful hotel experience you received while you stayed with us and complimenting our star team. Our team and I look forward to seeing you again in the near future again. Sincerely Danny J.

"Back to Super"

5
Melecio M, Fort Stockton, Texas, United States 17/06/2017

The hotel continued to meet / exceed our normal requirements. It returned to super with return of Omlete bar. The staff was always there to assist. Our special requirements were met as always with a smile.

Danny J, General Manager at SureStay Hotel Sonora, responded to this review
Dear Melecio M, We are pleased to read about your enjoyable experience at the Best Western Sonora. Thank you for your feedback regarding each point of your experience! Our team works diligently to make sure no small details are missed. We hope to have you visit again soon for your next trip to Sonora! General Manager Danny J.

"MY HUSBAND GOT ECOLI...."

1
Bobbi C, Cave Creek, Arizona 08/06/2017

I was not going to complain about the inappropriate chat with the workers at the front desk, on stating she was moving out and leaving some man and other people where giving her money to help her. Excuse me....inappropriate behavior at check in, My husband was so upset. Nor the fact that there where 13 children of the employees in the pool. The kids were great but I saw another couple in the pool, and I feel that the kids should have been wiser about staying out of the pool or not jumping in while guests are present. Now I have to say the kids where good children but really free pool for the employees kids!!!!! I'm actually ok with that, but 13 of all employees! My husband got ecoli from the sausage he ate the next morning at breakfast. I originally thought what I ordered was good however wondered about how they should cook the sausage in the lobby! He was so sick and we had just started our fun with another couple we picked up in New Orleans, LA. He was sick until June 6, 2017. We came upon another best western that we stayed in in El Paso, they let us come very early because he was so sick...at the lobby he was in the bathroom lobby for a very long time. This is unacceptable and the Best Western in Sonora, Tx needs to change the employees and how they handle the food. I had complained and the manager sent me a generic letter of my problems..wow I wonder if this complaint will be posted. Haven't heard from the manager yet.

Danny J, General Manager at SureStay Hotel Sonora, responded to this review
Dear Bobbi C, Thank you for time and leave feedback for your recent stay with Best Western Sonora Inn. Accept our apology for not able to meet your expectation. We apologize for experience at checking. We do take guest reviews with utmost sincerity. Your review will be utilized to look into the shortcomings that occurred during your stay. As I have been unable to locate your records in our property management system, I would like you to reach out to me directly, so that I can get additional details from you. Please call the hotel at (325) 387 9111 and ask for me. Thank you, Danny J.

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.