Rooms 12 Adults, 0 Child
Our new hotel is located right on the beautiful Ostorfer Lake. The famous Schwerin attractions such as Schwerin Castle, the Mecklenburg State Theatre and the historic center are within walking distance. Equipment: 114 air conditioned rooms with land and sea view, complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel, summer terrace, underground car park, Restaurant AMADEUS, 10 modern equipped meeting rooms with daylight.
Sure Hotel Collection
"No sleep due to fakir bad experience, renovation and care is needed"
I had stayed in this house before, even a few times, but a long time ago. Now I was shocked, because the way the property is run down is very scary and also very disappointing. What is fine as before: the location in the city is good and the Wi-Fi worked. But that was unfortunately already the positive experiences this time. The reception is only staffed until 22:00, so the concierge came right away also with the saying: I'm out of here, it's time to go home. Room card and bye. In the room, which at first superficial glance seemed fine, there were then the really disappointing surprises. And: A room change was now no longer possible because of the missing concierge. The main defect was the bed: Apparently the mattress is broken, because about 1000 nylon rods with a length of about 1mm pecked through the sheet when you sat or lay on it. That's how a fakir must feel. A pincushion of the finest. Every time I turned around I was awake with pain, so after two hours I decided to sleep the rest of the night in an armchair. Next to it, the facade spotlights shone into the room, and the darkening with blinds and curtains, which were not wide enough, worked only partially. Some of the furniture was really broken and the smoke detector was only visible as a socket on the ceiling. Next to it a lively cable tangle, which was obviously not built to the end. Also in the area of the corridors everywhere a considerable renovation backlog: letters of the lettering were missing, scuffs on the walls. The next morning at the reception, I complained about the night in the seating to the lady, who also tried to appease that problem, but could not or would not respond to my request for a 50% discount on the room rate. I also could not accept a free breakfast due to the upcoming customer appointment. My colleagues thought that I should have been fully reimbursed for the "night". A subsequent mail to the administration resulted in a 10% discount on the price. In summary: I think a new owner or management that will make the Plaza into one again, an it is urgently advised. It used to be a good hotel, but now it feels like the old GDR: no one cares anymore because no one owns it.
"OK hotel, but service needs work"
I wanted to give this hotel a good review, but I simply can't because of the poor service my husband and I received. It started even before we arrived when we called ahead to inquire about the room. The employee on the other line was short and unhelpful and our questions weren't adequately answered. The day of our arrival went smoothly, however, as we were checked in quickly and efficiently by a friendly woman at reception. This all changed the next day though, when we discovered our mini bar wasn't working and we requested to have it fixed or replaced. Granted it was late in the day, but nonetheless when we finally got reception on the phone, after trying several times, we were told that she would look into it. It was unclear. however, if she would get back to us or not, due to her poor communication skills. Finally, we had to go downstairs and ask her in person since again she wasn't answering the phone. She finally told us that no one could fix the mini bar, continued apologizing, and offered the only option of moving to another room. We were already leaving the next day so this didn't make much sense. At no time did she offer us a cold drink from another mini bar, or even offer ice in a glass. When I asked for ice, she went to look and quickly retuned saying there was none left!! More confusion ensued concerning breakfast. We understand that in times covid 19, hotels are run differently. There was no buffet, for example, and the hotel did offer us a discount on breakfast. But both days, we had to remind them we ate vegetarian, even though we had explicitly explained that already at check-in. Furthermore, the so-called 'maxi breakfast' was nothing more then several sad slices of cheese, some bead with the typical spreads....and liverwurst! Finally, we wanted to sit a lager table in the mostly empty restaurant. The waiter refused to let us, clumsily explaining that those tables were reserved for four and that was the end of it. On the plus side, the room was spacious and clean with a decent view of the water, hence an extra star. But still, one of the tables in the reading area was broken and wobbly, thus rendering it unusable. We brought this to the attention of reception, again to no avail. So for a 4 star hotel, this is at best best 2 star service. We won't recommend it.
PLAZA SCHWERIN, Gästeservice/Empfang at PLAZA Schwerin, responded to this review
Dear Guest, Thank you for your honest and detailed feedback. We understand your disappointment and apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay with us. Our service standards have been under review and we are starting now with a new concept to ensure all our guests enjoy the experience they expect. In addition to this, as the restrictions due to the Corona virus have been lifted in our federal state, we can now offer our full breakfast buffet again. However, we still have to seat our guests at designated tables in order to copoly with desinfection rules. We hope that despite this experience, you enjoyed your time in Schwerin. Best regards B. Peters PLAZA Hotelgroup
"Could have been so much better"
I must say this was quite a strange experience. The location is quite good - just about 20 min walk to the town hall. Parking in the garage beneath is very reasonably priced. The Check-in was efficient. The room however brought back memories of eastern Europe. Our room was very large - and felt rather empty. There was a lot of floor space but just one comfortable chair..? There was a TV on the desk placed right in front of a mirror - and a chair at the desk right in front of the screen... there were very few electric points, and if you wanted to charge your mobile, you have to disconnect a lamp. Same if you want to use the kettle, you have to unplug a lamp. There was a fridge, but no minibar. The waterpressure was good, and the bathroom rather spacious, but the shower would not keep in place so you had to hand hold it if you wanted any sort of control on where the water went. The Wifi functioned well, but the AC was useless. When I still give the place 3 stars it Is because the price was very reasonable
"Poor service "
During the current situation, the hotel is functioning without any service (no restaurant, bar, reception at night, which means, after 12 am you can't enter the hotel). Our room was spacious with a common balcony along all the rooms on our floor. The location is also ok, walking distance to the castle (approx.15 min).But there were no proper service at the reception and no willingness to pay the customers the correct attention.
"Once is enough"
While the hotel per se is fine, room is clean and spacious, and location is a bit far from schwerin castle, we unfortunately faced a poor service with our booked parking got cancelled when we arrived due to the unexpected cleaning the next morning at 5am. Hence even there is a large covered parking space underground of the hotel building the staff told us that our parking booking is cancelled and we have to drive to find our own parking around town. We spent 1.5-2 hours driving around at night to find the parking which eventually we found at the Schlosspark center shopping mall, costing €20 a night and have to walk around 15 mins back to hotel in the dark. While we think the reason for uninformed cancellation is worse the worst part is the hotel irresponsibility to the problem. Let's luck be on your side but not ours.
SonjaZ227, Manager at PLAZA Schwerin, responded to this review
Dear guests. thanks for your review. We apologize for the big inconvenience. Unfortunately, it is inexplicable why you arrived so handled. You can be assured that we will not be tolerated this things and that appropriate action will be taken by the respective personnel. Once again we apologize and hope, able to convince you of our service and our quality during your next stay. Your team of Plaza BW Schwerin
Friends were staying at the hotel and we met them here for dinner. Coming in for a weekday dinner on a busy evening, we got drinks from the bar but were seated quickly. The menu is small and doesn't offer a great deal of choice. Everybody in the group opted for the schnitzel. Unfortunately, it wasn't a good choice. The meat was tough and didn't seem to be fresh. The potatoes were undercooked and the small amount of veg was overcooked. The beer was good, service was ok, but the food was terrible.
"Unfortunately just so-so"
The good points.Garage parking (fee) ,before 15.00 check in (fee) ,rooms big and comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities. And not so good: Breakfast (15 Euros) of very limited choice,evening buffet of even more limited choice(one fish and one meat ,one dessert) .Totally understaffed:one waiter for evening and bar,difficult to get drinks.Reception:speaks(with one or two exceptions) insufficient German or English and is not really familiar with Schwerin .And:all windows are badly in need of cleaning and in case of hot summer nights:you can`t open the windows ,too much traffic noise and...the airconditioning is completely inaffective.
"hotel atmosphere, with some weaknesses"
Difficult to review this hotel. The interior is like a typical 4 stars hotel from the 80s/90s. It is clean and the service is friendly but you notice a bit that this hotel cannot make a lot profit. You could say everything which is immobile is good quality but mobile values are weak. In other words, the interior is good quality and clean, the rooms are big etc. But in the bar we had difficulties to get a cold draft beer (both days). And the evening buffet was very poor. (one meat dish, one fish dish). Almost a bit cheeky that they offered goulasch soup as starter and veal goulasch as main dish, What to say, it is a good but sad hotel. Perfect for 2-3 days.
"The photo presentaition isn't fair"
I have to agree that my expectations wasn't too high mostly because the price was low. But I was impressed. The reception area was spacious and nice. The rooms were very large and nice. You get what you need and more. The hotel is situated some 15 minutes walk from the city center. If the weather permits it will be a nice stroll along a nice lake. The breakfast wasn't cheap but you get a good selection to choose from. The personnel didn't seems to have finish all the courtesy training. Some were very boring while others were quite nice. If they all would have been nice the overall rating would have been a five. Real value for money!
Great hotel with great staff. The only downside is its proximity to town. You can walk it but it is around 20minutes. The castle is around 15minutes away and the hotel s on a beautiful lake so the walk is pleasant. The restaurant/bar is very good but breakfast, if not included, is a little pricey at 15€ per person. Very large rooms and very comfortable beds.