Room 1
Room 2
Room 3
Promotion code

Best Western Hotel La Gentilhommiere, Satillieu

BP 11 Route De Lalouvesc, 07290, Satillieu, France - See on a map
Best Western La Gentilhommiere - Exterior view The Best Western La Gentilhommiere is ideally located in the center of Satillieu. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

The Best Western La Gentilhommiere is located in the natural, unspoiled countryside, midway between Auvergne and Ardeche. close to the Cote Du Rhone vineyards and the Regional Parc du Pilat. You can enjoy a wide range of sport activities and marked footpaths for walking. Annonay, with its famous hot-air balloons Mongolfieres and attractive safari park, is only 15 kilometers away. La Gentilhommiere is set in an extensively wooded park, bordered by a river. Our hotel has a heated indoor pool (open all-the-year), a heated outdoor pool as well as a wellness area with sauna, steam bath and hydrojet massage beds. We also propose a fitness room, a playground and babysitting services. Our rooms have cable television, AM/FM alarm clock radio, coffee maker, hairdryer and dataports. Iron and ironing board are avaible upon request at the front desk.

Best Western

Hotel La Gentilhommiere




Hotel advantages

  • Restaurant
  • Indoor pool
    Indoor pool
  • Lounges/bars
  • Free parking
    Free parking
  • Safe deposit box
    Safe deposit box
  • Steam bath
    Steam bath
  • Onsite laundry
    Onsite laundry
  • Tennis court
    Tennis court
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
based on 247 guest reviews
Very Good
Business Business
Couples Couples
Family Family
Friends getaway Friends getaway
Solo travel Solo travel
Sleep Quality

"Nimes Best Western"

locher4fun, Los Angeles, California 24/05/2019

English speaking receptionists were lovely and very helpful! Located just outside of city centre, wiith an easy walk to Arena, Temple, Fort, Jardin Fontaine thru old part of town. Hotel is nice, though the interior hall carpets should be replaced due to stains. The internet was tricky to get connected, though once connected it worked quite well. Breakfast is not included as in the US. Good value.

jean a, Propriétaire at Best Western La Gentilhommiere, responded to this review
i think you mistake , we are not in NIMES but in ARDECHE REGARDS

"Blissful Countryside Haven"

User 06/01/2019

Upon arrival I was blown away by the idillic surroundings. The hotel itself is nestled on a pathway leading up to the mountains , with further beautiful hidden grounds within. The bedroom was clean, cosy and comfortable. Breakfast was filling and traditional. This is my second visit to this hotel and I would definitely recommend it. My last visit was in the summer , filled with riverside walks and swims in the river itself as well as the hotel swimming pool. I also explored the local town. This time around we completed a 10k hike up to Lalouvesc ( which was a quaint little french town on the mountain top ) , returning to unwind in the hotel sauna and swimming pool. Evenings were a chance to relax in the hotel lounge areas.

jean A, Propriétaire at Best Western La Gentilhommiere, responded to this review
thank's a lot for your nice comments . we are very happy youn enjoy your stay in our hotel hope to see you again and just let us know your next coming kind regards

"A green Paradise!"

User 28/06/2018

I often come to rest and relax at La Gentilhommiere, staff is very friendly and the hotel is located in the heart of nature! There is 2 pools, a brand new spa, a river... Definitely a place to go and recommend for people who love countryside!

jean A, Propriétaire at Best Western La Gentilhommiere, responded to this review
hi thank's for your very nice comments . i do understand that you know yhe place , please next time you come just inform us , you will have a personnalize wellcoming. regards jean astic

"Great value, beautiful location, fantastic staff!"

User 06/09/2017

My wife, son and I stayed here for two nights last month for a family reunion. There are two pools, one indoor and one outdoor, sauna and gym. The grounds are gorgeous and a sort of botanical garden with 100+ different species of trees. These California visitors were pleased to see 2 very large sequoias there! I went jogging on mountains/hills you can see across the stream which goes through the property through forests, fields and small villages. It was memorable part of the visit for me. Last day we have a very economical and fantastic catered outdoor lunch for my Aunt and Uncle's 50'th anniversary. Very beautiful region of France (Ardeche) and highly recommended.

"Paradise in France- Jones family"

Bet J, London, United Kingdom 14/09/2016

Every child dreams of finding hidden treasure and every grown up looks forward to one day enjoying that perfect holiday in paradise. For our young family of five, this was truly a dream holiday which surpassed all our expectations. Everything was perfect: from the picturesque setting with beautiful chalets to the wonderful experience of blending in with nature; to enjoying a good nights sleep in true comfort and endless opportunities and activities for the children to play in a secure environment; excellent facilities for tennis, swimming, mini-golf just to name a few; delicious cuisine and customer service that goes above and beyond what we have experienced in our previous holidays as a family; to the warm and friendly inhabitants of Satillieu. The children definitely found their hidden treasure and we found this family-friendly hotel to be priceless gem in paradise and extremely good value for money. So wonderful and perfect was our experience that we have decided to make this hotel a permanent fixture for our future holidays.

"The most welcoming and friendly hotel I have been to for a long time"

Isabel S, London, United Kingdom 14/09/2016

My son and I had the pleasure of attending a wedding on the 27th August at this beautiful family run country hotel. The whole experience was unforgettable, the manager and the staff were all friendly and very helpful. The room was modern,clean and the views from the balcony made our stay the more relaxing. The food at the restaurant was of the highest standard! I am certainly planning to return again in the near future to enjoy the hospitality of the hotel and what the area around has to offer, Isabel ,

"La Gentilhommiere ..... Where do I begin?"

Jocelyn C, Silver Spring, Maryland 09/09/2016

Nestled in a wooded area high up in the foothills of a mountain range sits this haven bordered by a river. Romantic, eclectic, peaceful yet exciting, spectacular scenery.... I could go on about this hotel. First impression is that it is quaint or rustic. The warm welcome and the personal touch make you think you are in a small family- operated inn. Walk past the indoor pool, and the adventure begins. You step into one of many gardens and you quickly realize that it is a big hotel. There is a well equipped playground, and there are buildings neatly tucked away so you still have the notion that you're in a small and special place. The buildings each offer something unusual – a stately piano room, fitness room, sauna, a yoga studio of sorts, and so on. There were different areas to dine in. On one occasion, dinner was served in a cocktail lounge that rivals many upscale clubs. It looks like it was hewn out of stone and is truly enchanting. A bar area on the lower level and the adjoining patio doubled as a dance floor. The hotel has an outdoor pool, a trail, a ravine, mini golf course, tennis courts and a lake. There is so much to see and do, and you constantly make new discoveries! The air is crisp in the mornings and ideal for a refreshing swim or a long morning walk. If you set out early enough, you can see the sun peeping from the side of the mountain and you see roosters and geese strutting about. I looked forward to breakfast in the mornings; it was a treat! French pastries, a variety of cheeses, fresh cuts of meat, fresh fruit, and different juices! The bread was oooo so good! We were there for a wedding, and the location, the hotel, and the staff made it a spectacular event and one that we will be talking about for many years. Jean and Elizabeth are the best hosts anyone could ask for! The hotel lends itself to creativity. A bride or event planner can let their imagination run wild on the grounds of this enchanting place. Brightly colored paper mache lamps, a photo booth, an ice-cream stand, and pelicans were just a few of the things we were treated to. The wedding reception was held in a garden that comfortably held over two hundred people, a live band, and a hot air balloon! We then moved into a beautiful banquet hall directly above the garden. It was a 5 star setting that added an elegant touch to the affair! The food was incredible! The wedding cake and desserts were out of this world….. I still can't find the right words to aptly describe that dinner or the brunch that followed the next day! This hotel offers both rooms and chalets. My room was very clean and comfortable and came with a balcony and free wifi. I was really impressed with the chalet I visited. It had a bedroom, living area, and a kitchen on the lower level. Up in the loft, there was a large room with three beds and a second bathroom. It is the perfect setting for families. I have traveled extensively and stayed in some luxurious hotels, and none of them offer as much as this hotel does. I will trade a 5 star hotel for Best Western La Gentilhommiere any day. It is the right place for someone who wants an escape from a hectic life. It is perfect for a romantic getaway, and it would be an ideal place for family vacations or reunions. It has large conference rooms and a business center and is great for corporate team building exercises, conferences, and church retreats. Given the party that we had with two DJs and all, it would be a great place for spring break and school reunions. The French party hard, and luckily, the hotel has just the place to do that without disturbing other guests. Pictures can tell a much better story than I can about this place, so I am attaching this link.

jean A, Propriétaire at BEST WESTERN La Gentilhommiere, responded to this review
nous comprenons que le mariage auquel vous avez assisté vous a laissé d'excellents souvenirs. cependant nous voudrions dire aux internautes que les éloges transmises par Jocelyn doivent être tempérés car; bien que nous nous efforçons d'apporter le maximum a nos clients et que nous apprécions les commentaires valorisants ,le verre n 'est jamais totalement plein. en tous cas un grand merci et au plaisir de vous revoir jean astic

"A trip to Satillieu, Ardeche France"

mondakoji, Greater London, United Kingdom 05/09/2016

After travelling in a taxi from Valence Ville train station through the most magnificently beautiful scenery, we arrived at our destination hotel in Satillieu, Best Western La Gentilhommiere, about an hour later, to be met by this Eden like surroundings. A tranquil and relaxing hotel with everything you could want for a holiday. This family run hotel by proprietors Jean and Elizabeth, has a friendly and welcoming feel about it. It boasts of a well kept flood lit tennis court, a 'crazy golf' course, a table tennis table and even a billiards table for anyone interested in this classic game. If you are one to just take it easy and relax, you can seat by on of two swimming pools and read, seat by the river and listen to the sound of nature or take a walk in the woods or up the mountains for an unforgettable adventure.

jean A, Propriétaire at Best Western La Gentilhommiere, responded to this review
Thank you for your nice comments. Hope to see you again in Ardèche. Regards. Jean

"Beautiful warming hotel in the French countryside"

jamaln29, London, United Kingdom 05/09/2016

My experience at this hotel was a lovely one. The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful in an even more beautiful location. There are many facilities and the chalet I stayed in with my cousins was amazing (the beds are really comfy). The staff are friendly and very helpful with any problems I had (which was not many) and overall I had a magnificent time and would love to go back soon.

jean A, Propriétaire at Best Western La Gentilhommiere, responded to this review
Thank you very much for you nice comments. We are pleased you appreciate our hotel and hope to see you again soon. Regards. Jean

"Family wedding"

User 03/09/2016

Just attended the most glorious Ghanaian/ French wedding in the beautiful grounds of this family run hotel. I have stayed in many hotels across the world but the staff here are some of the most attentive and gracious people I have come across. Nothing was to much for them. Theodore & Laurence are two of the shining stars amongst many. I had a lovely clean room with a balcony & wifi. A choice of two pools or a river to swim!! A play area for the little ones??. The peace and tranquility of the hotel means I will be there again for a holiday with my family. Easy drive from Lyon 1hr:20mins well worth it.

jean A, Propriétaire at BEST WESTERN La Gentilhommiere, responded to this review
Hello, Thank you for your very nice comments; we are happy you appeciate this wedding and hope we will see you again for another occasion. Jean

"The charming Astic family's hotel ina lovely with its own park in the tranquil, beautiful Ardecche countryside."

malcolm566, London, United Kingdom 02/09/2016

The whole experience was of charming, helpful and hands-on owners,excellent meals, friendly efficient staff, lovely surroundings, a comfortable room with balcony, drinks on the terrace by the lovely hotel park, swimming in the inside and outside pools,good walks(and cycling) nearby: a perfect holiday experience. Rustic exterior but modern internally. Local roads not a problem at all; about 1.5 hours from centre of Lyon, less from Valence.

jean A, Propriétaire at BEST WESTERN La Gentilhommiere, responded to this review
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. Regards. Jean ASTIC

"Service quality not acceptable and fake advertising!"

Jean-michael D, Lausanne, Switzerland 29/07/2016

Just arriving in the hotel with my family and my week end is starting very badly. - The baby bed that we ordered isn't set up and is not available (without notice) - there is no boiler in the room whereas I need to prepare a bottle for my kid so I called the reception and got explained that I can't have a boiler! Seriously? No boiler? No coffee machine??? Even a 1 star hotel provides this to anybody! - the kitchenette closets were closed with a locker so I ask for the key and the receptionist explained me that it was normal because I was staying a week end and not a week so the kitchenette (including the ustensils) isn't included... You have to be kidding me! So at the end, the kitchenette advertised on the brochure is just a big lie! A bit more: - the entrance light was broken - no wifi signal in our room - the table was dirty That's already too much whereas I arrived less than 2h ago! If it wouldn't be prepaid I would have run away, so don't make the same mistake than me and book somewhere else! L

jean A, Propriétaire at BEST WESTERN La Gentilhommiere, responded to this review
Thank you for your comments which will improve our hotel we have been owning for nearly 100 years. People who will read your comments must know that the kitchenette is never mentionned in any advert on the web because when we provide the kitchenette it'is only in self catering and we don't sell this product on the web. Sorry, but your are lying too, you could'nt know that there was a kitchenette in your room. The reception proposed you and gave you everything you needed for your baby (hot water, bed, micro wave) as soon you asked. You lie because your room was not prepaid (you just gave us your credit card number and we never charge before the departure, to leave the customer the possibility to cancel if he does not like the product) and you had the possibility to run away. The truth is that you came specially for a wedding in the area. We hope you enjoyed the wedding you were invited to. Regards .



We are travelling for 1 month all Best Western Hotels, and on my way to Beaunne France I needed an overnight hotel near Valence France, Best Western Reservation offer me this hotel which is supposed to be 19 miles northwest of Valence France..... It took us 2 hours of mountain driving and winding roads to arrive to the hotel, and when we finally got there, the front desk Reception agent or owner was not very welcoming, and after all that driving thru the mountains to get to his hotel, he should be more welcoming and friendly.... The next morning when we asked for directions, we were given very vague instructions and went the wrong way for 1 extra hour, and our check out was not very friendly either.. The room was very nice, mattress probably the best we had in 30 days, but it needs a friendlier attitude to people that drive thru mountains to get to this hotel.

Le-chef A, Propriétaire at BEST WESTERN La Gentilhommiere, responded to this review
Good morning, I apologize for not given us 100% satisfaction. Naturaly i am quite welcoming, but you were so bad tempered when you arrive ( because of the roads) that i do understand that what ever i said you were not in capacity to listen to me . at the check out i give you proper instructions to get the motor way easily , as i use to do , perhaps because you have no meal and no breakfast you were still bad tempered... i did my best i can't do more . Next time keep your way by the motor way, roads of the deep france are not done for you . Regards.

"A truly relaxing break, taking in the countryside air"

Ecosurvivor, London, United Kingdom 06/12/2014

I have now had two lovely trips to this hotel and enjoyed my stay both in the summer and winter, each for a long weekend. The staff are fantastic; being family run this hotel exudes a warm and friendly atmosphere. All are keen to help and kindly encourage my poor French. The rooms each have their own individual charm and are spacious and clean with all the amenities you could need. In particular I thoroughly enjoyed the pool and walks around the grounds and surrounding areas. I very much look forward to returning.

"Relaxing spot during business trip"

Ant0Ga, Lyon, France 23/11/2014

BW La Gentilhommière is a nice and quiet spot for a night while travelling in the Rhone Valley. Although it may seem a bit far from the main road, the detour is really worth it if you need to spend a relaxing night and recharge batteries. The staff is both professional and friendly.

"Wonderful place"

Aga B, London, United Kingdom 29/04/2014

We organized a christening party for our daughter there. Well situated place, by a river in the countryside. Breathtaking views. Amazing, charming place! Food was extremaly good. Our guests stayed in the hotel. Rooms are cosy, well equiped and modern. Nice swimming pool, not cold so our little one could go there as well. Owners extremaly nice and helpful. We would really recommend this place, either for a night stay, holidays or organizing any venue, especially if you travel with children.

"Great restaurant but need to be renovated"

yannteste, Brussels 03/09/2013

We stayed there 4 nights this summer in a Duplex apartement, basically wood bungalow, they are seperated from the historical buildings of the place. They are are OK comfortable and spacious for 4 but you can hear very well the neighbours. Consequently the first night until 11:30 pm we could not sleep at all. Other than that very quiet place. The hotel needs renovation, the pool has screws getting out of the wood floor, quite dangereous, the water was kind of blur, the tennis courts are not useable, the sauna was not working and neither the hamam, the bridges to cross the small river are either not useable or dangerously cracked. the gim is kind of ridiculous and outdated. I do not think all of this is acceptable and do not understand how the hotel can let this happen. There is an OK place for the kids with toys. Apreciated. The food was great and also the food place itself. Ok the way the meat was cooked once was too much, I think they forgot to ask how I wanted it. the food place is very cosy, quiet, nicelly setted-up. The leader of the restaurant is nice and helpfull. One particular waiter, also working first hours in the morning is really really great. Very polite, always hard working, so nice. We told the woner and the leader of the restaurant. Other waitresses are a bit lost...The owner and his wife are nice and helpfull. The breakfast is really good. Around the hotel are not too many things to do beside the goat milking at 5:30 pm.ut take the car and less than 1 hour around are great things to do: The palais ideal du facteur Cheval the great zoo, the velo rail,etc....

"Surprising !"

Russianteam, Oyonnax, France 01/05/2012

We've been in this hotel at 7 including 2 children. It is situated in the deep countryside. If you want to be in a calm place...this is the place to be. The hotel is composed of several buildings and rooms are mostly well decorated and modern except few rooms still. But old and modern style are well mixed. The garden is quite big but not well gardened when we've been there. There are 2 swimming pools including 1 inside, fitness room and games. So this was great to take a rest a occupy children. I recommend the restaurant and the bar which is super well decorated. Check the comments for the restaurant also. Breakfast was also nice and quite complete.

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.