ROOM 1
ROOM 2
ROOM 3
Promotion code

SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport, San Jose

1488 N 1st Street, 95112-4818, San Jose, United States - See on a map
SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport - Welcome to the SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport. The SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport is ideally located in the center of San Jose. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

Located in the heart of Silicon Valley, this recently renovated property provides guests easy access to local attractions such as San Jose Airport, San Jose Convention Center, area museums and universities. Free parking is available at the property. The SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport offers a daily complimentary cold continental breakfast for a great start to the day. After a day of sightseeing or working, take a refreshing swim in the outdoor pool or relax in our gazebo seating area. The Winchester Mystery House, California's Great America, local wineries and corporate headquarters are within a short drive from the SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport.

SureStay

Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Hotel advantages

  • Restaurant
    Restaurant
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
    Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Outdoor pool
    Outdoor pool
  • Free parking
    Free parking
  • Outdoor parking
    Outdoor parking
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
  • Multilingual staff
    Multilingual staff
  • Onsite laundry
    Onsite laundry
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
based on 147 guest reviews
NOTE ISSUED
Excellent
23
Very Good
37
Average
33
Poor
24
Terrible
31
REFER TO NOTICE
Business Business
53
Couples Couples
20
Family Family
22
Friends getaway Friends getaway
11
Solo travel Solo travel
31
SUMMARY NOTES
Cleanliness
Location
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Value

"Thank nick!"

5
User 15/11/2019

Shout out to nick at the front desk! The staff here is awesome they really are personable and friendly. Definitely would stay here again! Check in was super easy, we were there for the luke combs concert.

"Never staying here again"

1
thwaka82, Lincoln, California 18/10/2019

Where to start, the door was so warped I could see daylight out of the bottom third of the door jam, the wifi never worked, the plumbing is so loud any time someone flushed a toilet or washed their hands it was loud enough to wake me up.

00gc, Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport, responded to this review
Thank you for being our guest. We are sorry for the difficulties you had in your room and regret the inconvenience it caused. Your feedback has been discussed with our maintenance team to improve our accommodations moving forward. Meanwhile, we are working with our internet service provider to make sure there are no ongoing problems. We hope you will consider giving us a second chance to provide the hospitality you deserve. Thank you, Management team

"Two nights at Sure Stay San Jose Airport"

3
ANGELO V, Milan, Italy 16/10/2019

I was here for two nights - The location is very good, close to SJ airport and to I-101, yet in a quiet area and with plenty of parking space. My room was OK, although there was a musty smell when I arrived, as if it was not aereated for several days. The bathroom was OK, too. Breakfast was good but very basic with few choices. Wi-fi was incredibly slow and actually unusable.

00gc, Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport, responded to this review
Angelo, Thank you for being our guest. We are happy to know you had a peaceful stay and that you liked our location as well as our parking facility. However, we regret the musty smell you experienced in your room. Your feedback has been shared with our housekeeping team to improve our accommodations moving forward. We have also alerted our internet service provider to address the issue and to make sure there are no ongoing problems. We value your business and hope to welcome you back soon to provide you with a perfect visit. Thank you, Management team

"Location Location Location !"

4
edwinl228, Keller, United States 28/09/2019

I only stay here for 1 night, so not much to write about. The location is fantastic though, especially if you are going to 49ers games at Levi's because the light rail stop is right in front of the hotel, save a lot of $$$ on parking at the stadium ! Very close to the SJC airport also ! Love the privacy due to the parking lot layout.

00gc, Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport, responded to this review
Thank you for the excellent review of your time at the SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport. We appreciate you pointing out our convenient location to the airport and other points of interest. It is a pleasure knowing you enjoyed your visit, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another outstanding experience. Thank you, Management team

"Old motel poor condition"

1
User 27/09/2019

Really poor condition, facility is way past its useful life. It's probably depreciated down to zero. Recommend tearing it down and building a nice new place. It did have a new toilet so at least that wasn't decades-old

00gc, Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport, responded to this review
Peter, Thank you for the detailed evaluation. We apologize for anything other than a completely satisfying stay, and we appreciate the feedback. Your honest comments will be shared with our team, and we will use them for future improvements. We hope you will give us another opportunity to prove we can do better. Thank you, Management team

"My suggestion is to avoid this place!"

2
User 13/09/2019

I stayed in this hotel for 3 days. It has a reasonably good location near the airport and there are a couple of good Asian restaurants a block away. Plenty of parking and hotel staff was friendly although at 7 p.m. in the evening when I called nobody answered. Immediately next door is a Denny's which is also convenient. The hotel serves typical boring continental breakfast. My room was a king-size and reasonably nice in size. The toilet was intermittently running and the handle had to be played with to get it to stop. The room had ants and, and the walls near light switches and doors were dirty with fingerprints and repairs that had not been completed.

00gc, Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport, responded to this review
Thank you for being our guest and for letting us know you liked our convenient location. However, we are very sorry for the inconvenience you had with the cleanliness of your accommodations. Your feedback has been shared with our Executive Housekeeper, and steps are being taken to ensure that this does not happen again. We hope you will give us another chance to prove ourselves on a future visit. Thank you, Management team

"Unclean unfriendly"

1
509phillips, Modesto, California 23/08/2019

The manager kicks my wife out she had to change rules because the first room was very dirty and stinky then after changing room she realized she had misplaced her wedding rings so she wanted to check the other room that she was in before they went missing when she went to the front desk no one was there she reached over the desk to see if the card sitting there was the one from her other room to see if somebody was already up there cleaning it because she was worried about her rings and the manager came out and said what are you doing snatched her new room key out of her hand pretty much accusing her and then she told him why she was there they kind of got into it because they were both accusing each other and then he just kicked her out this is all within 3 hours two and a half of which she was eating at a restaurant and he still made us pay for the room that's what I don't understand she went right down the street and say it another Best Western surestay and said it was way way better not scary to be there like this one

00gc, Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport, responded to this review
Dear 509phillips, We appreciate your honest feedback, and we were disappointed in the unfortunate event that occurred during your wife's stay. Our hotel strictly enforces our policies regarding these types of situations, which applies to every guest. Thank you for your business, and we wish you all the best in your future travels. Thank you, Management Team

"Disgusting...."

1
User 21/08/2019

This place is absolutely horrible. The area is pretty sketchy, but the lobby and grounds were clean and clerk checking me in friendly. The room was pretty gross and at first I was going to stay, but my family and I book a lot of Best Westerns and it was pretty bad. I sent pics toy Mom and Husband and they said, go ask for another room. Well, at first they did, but when I went back to office to ask about checking in the previous room for a lost belonging. They had a be back in 5 min sign, so I peered over the counter to see if it was my old key and if he was potentially at old room to ask. Some scary man, apparently the owner jumps out and screams, "What are you doing? Can't you see the sign" I explain, I'm just looking if that's the old to key I had and he snatches my current key out of my hand. He says he doesn't care if I forgot something I can wait til the other guy gets back. He was so rude, I cannot even believe I was being treated this way. I left and booked a to at the one on the Alameda. Blessing in disguise because that one much safer and clean. This hotel should definitely NOT be able to call themselves a Best Western of any kind and the owner was such a spiteful angry person; to the nice deal guy, go work at a better hotel you deserve more.

00gc, Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport, responded to this review
Kristina, Thank you for choosing our hotel and for sharing your review. We are sorry for your disappointing experience and the unpleasant encounter with one of our associates. We are extremely concerned with this behavior, and we apologize for this disrespect. Our staff genuinely cares about providing an enjoyable stay to all of our guests, and this isolated incident is not a reflection of our usual service standards. Our leadership team has spoken with this associate to remind him our main goal is to provide outstanding customer care to our guests. It is unfortunate that you had to leave us earlier than anticipated, but we hope you will consider giving us another chance to regain your trust. Thank you, Management team

"Convenient location and clean"

4
quim_chaler, Barcelona, Spain 19/08/2019

Very conveniently located hotel near the Airport. Staff was friendly and beds so comfortable. Breakfast was OK but rather basic. We did not use it but there's swimming pool in the facility. We would recommend it.

00gc, Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport, responded to this review
Thank you for the wonderful review of the SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport. We are happy to know you had a comfortable stay with us and that our location was convenient for your needs. It is also nice to know you appreciated our friendly team and comfortable beds. We are grateful for your recommendation and look forward to your next visit. Thank you, Management team

"Nice hotel in San Jose"

5
User 14/08/2019

SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport made me comfortable. The stuff was friendly and kind for me while I was staying. The outdoor swimming pool is great and the washing machine is convenient for me. The location is convenient. The Light Rail station (Gish), a 7-11 market and a diner (Dennys) are very close to the hotel. Easy to access downtown San Jose by the Light Rail.

00gc, Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport, responded to this review
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport. We are pleased you had an enjoyable experience with us and that you loved our proximity to the airport and a variety of dining as well as the shopping options. It is also nice to read you liked the excellent service provided by our staff and had a great time at our fabulous pool. It was a pleasure accommodating you, and we hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you, Management team

"Not best western quality"

2
jamarin916, Sacramento, California 02/08/2019

The room contained moths and other bugs, the bathroom had stains and build up. The toilet made a constant noise due to the valve not closing properly. Worst of all, our room carf did not work properly and left us spending 5 mins and multiple tedious tries to get the door open. On our last night it wouldnt open at all and the front desk had to be called.

00gc, Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport, responded to this review
Thank you for being our guest. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you had due to the maintenance and cleanliness issues you had in your room. We are also sorry for the difficulties you had with your key cards. We will share your feedback with the appropriate team members to ensure corrective actions are taken, and that we are more diligent in our efforts going further. We value your business and hope you will consider giving us another chance to provide you with a much better experience. Danny Ahir General Manager

"Ok for the price."

3
wizzy54166, Wisconsin 25/06/2019

It was the best price $151/day includes tax. It was clean and Denny's was very close. 7/11 was 1 block away. Airport 2 miles from nhotel. Being a Best Western breakfast was the worst ever, nothing much to eat. Room was very hot at check-in, took 4 hours to cool down.

00gc, General Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are glad our central location worked well for you. Our job is to provide a clean, comfortable hotel experience to our guests and we are happy we accomplished just that. However, we are sorry you were unhappy with our breakfast offerings. We will discuss your concerns with our food and beverage team to see where we can do better. Your feedback is appreciated, and we hope you will revisit us back soon.  Danny Ahir General Manager

"Motel type"

3
weisiongn, Hong Kong, China 24/06/2019

It's basically a stop-by one day stay. Most of my travel is staying with Best Western Hotel so compare to what Best Western usually have for breakfast, this is by far the simplest. There's no hot or warm food for breakfast. What you see while check-in is what you get for breakfast as the breakfast room is just beside the reception.

00gc, General Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We always want to exceed the expectations of our guests, and we genuinely apologize for not doing so during your time with us. We value your feedback as it helps us improve future guests experience. Thank you again for choosing our hotel, and we hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you to the excellent stay you deserve. Danny Ahir, General Manager

"Nice motel"

5
Sherpa51666064660, Weatherford, Texas 21/06/2019

Very friendly staff. This is a motel so dont expect hotel amenities. For a motel, we were pleased with the room. Clean. Pool clean. Everything we asked for was given to us . The area was not great. Nothing good to eat close by.

00gc, General Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport, responded to this review
We greatly appreciate your review of the SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport. It is a pleasure to learn how happy you were with our excellent rooms, friendly service, and excellent pools. Please know that our knowledgeable associates will be happy to recommend restaurants, shopping, and local area attractions to make your experience here the best that it can be. Thank you for being our guest, and we hope you are already planning another visit our way. Danny Ahir General Manager

"This hotel is a nightmare!"

1
User 17/06/2019

If you're looking for a movie set where someone gets killed during the night in a crappy motel: here you are. I paid $140 per night for a place which made me puke first time I entered the room (true story - never happened to me before). I stayed there for 6 nights, I got: - a terrible smoking smell (it sticks to you in just a minute) / I had to buy a whole bottle of Febreze and spray it everywhere while I kept the door open but it didn't change much - a very dirty floor: you just cross the room in socks and you're good to trash them - stains, scratches, blood, fluids (I don't want to know more) on the walls and the furnitures - the blanket was disgusting and burnt with smoke holes - I will not mention the sheets with stains on it... Not clean at all, I had to sleep with my clothes - a whole dump on the floor in the bathroom: toothpick, hair, rubbish... - bedbugs and plenty of other bugs: from the sink where bugs were flying as soon as you open water to the “window” in the bathroom - the desk and the chair were equally disgusting and covered with stains - a disgusting AC, noisy enough to prevent you using it I barely slept and the smell covered all my clothes (even if closed in my luggage). People tried to enter in my room in the middle of the night. The police stood there with a car on the last day I spent there and no need to wonder why... I travel a lot and it was my worst experience ever in the US. The desk told me the hotel was full and no other room was available. I was in town for a conference and all hotels / motels were full so I had no other choice than stay there. I left one day earlier, I preferred to lose money than stay another night there: I moved to San Francisco and paid for a real hotel room. Run away except if you're going to sleep on the street and have other choice. PS : “cleaning service” did my room two times in 6 nights. Don't even think it made a difference: it remained horrible.

00gc, Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport, responded to this review
Dear 497damieng, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We take your concerns very seriously, as we never wish to cause our guests' any inconvenience. We invite you to contact us directly at the hotel so we can fully solve this matter. Thanks! Management Sure Stay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport.

"Clean but! Old."

2
OnAir65302516603, Palm Desert, California 17/06/2019

Room was old but clean. Remote to the television did not work .Linen and towels were very old and thin. Blanket needs to be washed. Breakfast was awful. Staff was nice and courteous. I asked for directions and they were prompt to help .

00gc, General Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport, responded to this review
Thank you for choosing our hotel. Although you liked our courteous associates, we apologize for the condition of your room, and the inconvenience it caused to you. We have shared your comments with the team to ensure we are well poised to serve you better on your next visit. Also, we regret our breakfast was not to your liking. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know about your experience, and we hope to have a future opportunity to restore your confidence in us. Danny Ahir General Manager

"Good budget motel"

4
bcseeati, Xindian, New Taipei 14/06/2019

The room is clean, the bed is comfortable. It's quiet in the night. Near a 7-11 and VTA light rail. A/C is loud but that's tolerable since the weather here is still cool in June. I would stay here again.

00gc, General Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport, responded to this review
Thank you for being our guest at the SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport. We are happy to read you liked our well-maintained and soundproof accommodations, while our comfortable beds provided you with a great night's sleep. It is also nice to know you found us a good value. Thank you again for your generous comments. We look forward to your next visit! Danny Ahir General Manager

"Quick detour"

5
OnAir58459122612, Wauconda, Illinois 01/06/2019

From San Francisco to Three Rivers, had a pit stop in San Jose. Staff was great in directing us to get a car rental. Breakfast was good. Rooms were clean and so was the pool! If we are ever in the area again, will make this our go-to. Great value for the price!

00gc, General Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport, responded to this review
Thank you for the terrific review of SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport. We enjoy providing good value through our excellent service, delicious breakfast, and well-appointed accommodations. It was a pleasure to host you, and we hope you are already planning another visit our way. Danny Ahir General Manager

"Not up to best western usual standards"

2
User 01/06/2019

We requested an accessible room, and while we were assigned one, we found that it was not suitable for our needs. There was no table nor chair in the room and the television screen could not be seen from our bed. We asked for a different room and were given one immediately. Breakfast the next morning was basically cold cereal and cold packaged rolls. Breakfast was minimal at best. We did not Find this location to meet the usual standards of a best Western property.

00gc, General Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport, responded to this review
We appreciate you choosing our hotel. Our goal is to maintain the highest standards, and we apologize for falling short of this. We have shared your feedback with the respective members of our team to see where we can make improvements. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have the opportunity to make your next stay perfect in every respect. Danny Ahir General Manager

"Comfortable stay"

4
User 20/05/2019

Danny & Victor were very hospitable and nice. The place has a 7-Eleven, Denny's, Sports bar and a liquor store nearby. Public transportation is just across the street. Close to downtown San Jose. Overall a good experience.

00gc, General Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport, responded to this review
Thank you for the generous review of SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport. We love knowing how pleased you were with our location and appreciated the easy access to many restaurants, stores, and public transportation. We are also glad Victor took good care of you while you were here. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the area. Danny Ahir General Manager

"Great Service"

5
Inshyra, Preston, United Kingdom 09/05/2019

We were treated by Danny and his staff really well! Excellent service & hospitality. I would highly recommend and if I'm in the area I'd definitely come each time! He said he has more locations around the state so don't hesitate to ask him if you're traveling like we were.

00gc, General Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport, responded to this review
Inshyra, Thank you for the excellent review of SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport. We appreciate you letting us know our team went over and above in handling your requests. It is nice to read you loved our friendly service and outstanding hospitality. Thank you once more for recommending our hotel to future guests, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Danny Ahir General Manager

"Not Bad, But..."

3
thomasdJ4405UN, San Francisco, California 18/04/2019

I chose to stay here. Once I got here, there were a few things that needed to be said. Pluses... close to the airport, Denny's across the parking lot, price. Negatives... see the pictures. View out of the bathroom window, ceiling above the bed and what I cleaned off of the television. The room was relatively clean. The blanket on the bed was almost nonexistent. Thin is the word that comes to mind. Would I stay here again?? Probably, but more for the Denny's than anything else.

00gc, General Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport, responded to this review
ThomasdJ4405UN, Thank you for posting a review of your stay. It is good to know that you liked our ideal location and affordable rates. However, it seems we overlooked a few issues in preparation of your room before your arrival, and we apologize for the inconvenience. We have discussed this with our housekeeping manager, and steps are being taken to ensure this is not repeated. We hope you will revisit and give us the opportunity to provide you with a better experience. Danny Ahir General Manager

"Only the price made me stay here"

2
Leddy215, Cairo, Egypt 12/04/2019

I needed a place to stay for less than 24 hours before making a connecting flight. Due to the price and close proximity to the airport I chose to stay here. This Best Western is a Motel Style set up. The rooms are rough/worn down, but clean, cracked tile in the shower but, plenty of hot water, no shuttle to the airport.

00gc, General Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport, responded to this review
Thank you for the detailed evaluation. We apologize for anything other than a completely satisfying stay, and we appreciate the feedback. Your honest comments will be shared with our team, and we will use them for future improvements. We hope you will give us another opportunity to prove we can do better. Danny Ahir General Manager

"Weekend for basketball"

4
Sightseer50949085639, Selma, California 26/03/2019

I stayed at this motel during a weekend of attending basketball games with friends. The location was within an easy drive to the sports arena. There is a nationwide restaurant within the property for convenience. The accommodations were comfortable, and the staff was friendly.

00gc, General Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport, responded to this review
Thank you for the generous review of SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport. We are pleased you found our location near most popular landmarks to be perfect for your plans. We are also glad that you enjoyed our friendly services and accommodations. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the area. Danny Ahir General Manager

"Dont stay here"

1
User 17/02/2019

This BW property does NOT meet BW standards. The toilet in bathroom didnt work Rooms were not kept well. Person who checked me in was rude. I travel a lot and stay in many Best western properties and this property did NOT meet the normal standards I normally expect from a BW

00gc, General Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport, responded to this review
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for being a loyal customer and for taking the time to evaluate your stay. We are truly sorry we did not live up to the standards you should expect from us. We have made a note of the issues you outlined, and we will be working with our team to improve these areas. We are committed to providing exceptional accommodations and service, so we want to thank you for your valuable feedback. We hope you will give us another chance whenever your travels bring you back to the area. Danny Ahir General Manager

"Pretty good value for the money"

4
Guide39218841244, Palm Springs, California 15/02/2019

Good location (close to the airport) ! Rooms were clean; bed was comfortable; neighbors were a little noisy, but overall a pretty good value considering how much rooms go for in San Jose! Staff was friendly and very helpful! They also have smoking rooms!

00gc, General Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport, responded to this review
Thank you for reviewing the SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport. We are glad you found us to be a good value and that you were impressed with our comfortable accommodations and courteous associates. We appreciate you highlighting our location and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Danny Ahir General Manager

"Cleanliness is next to..."

2
User 15/02/2019

The bedding had stains over all. The linens clean (i guess) however they still showed staining...disgusting.. Instead of trying to wash out the stains, the Hotel should have just thrown the sheets away..

00gc, General Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent visit. We are very sorry you experienced some housekeeping issues during your stay. We missed some essential steps in our inspection procedures, and we have addressed this with our team. We hope you will consider giving us a second chance the next time you are in the area. We would love the opportunity to provide you with the hospitality you should have experienced during this stay. Thank you again, and we wish you all the best with your travels. Danny Ahir General Manager

"Stay somewhere else"

2
User 25/01/2019

Staff was nice but wasnt willing to fix problems right away. Room was not worth $170 a night. My door lock got stuck. The staff didnt offer a new room. Instead, we had to get a staff member to let us in our room as needed, very inconvenient. A couple.of dead bugs in the room and Mark's on bathroom door appeared to be blood.

00gc, General Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport, responded to this review
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate your honest feedback and apologize for not meeting your expectations. We have shared your comments with our management team to ensure these issues are not repeated. We hope you will consider a return visit so we can provide you with the hospitality you deserve. Thank you again for being our guest. Danny Ahir General Manager

"West Coast/College Football National Championship"

1
Navigate35753712683, Prosperity, South Carolina 11/01/2019

There was a strong odor(old/musky) in the room. W/in 30 minutes of being in the room, my son began to itch uncontrollably. We immediately checked out but were still charged for the full 3 night reservation. Very disappointed and could have potentially impacted our visit to the West Coast if we were not able to find another hotel.

00gc, General Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport, responded to this review
Dear Navigate35753712683, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay during the West Coast/College Football National Championship. We work hard to provide a clean and comfortable environment, and we apologize for the smell you experienced that compromised your stay. With that being said, we're disappointed to learn about the reaction your son had and that you checked out of our hotel earlier than planned. Please know we take these types of situations seriously, and we offer our sincere apologies for the inconvenience this caused you. Your review has been shared with our management team for further review. We hope this does not hinder your opinion of our hotel, as we would love to welcome you back in the future. Danny Ahir, General Manager

"Stay any place but here!"

1
User 05/01/2019

This is the grossest hotel that I have ever stayed at! In looking at previous reviews, it used to be a Vagabond Inn. I am really surprised anyone from Best Western corporate found this property to be even close to their standards. This truly looks looks like a hotel that you'd see on an episode of Forensic Files. My room included the following amenities: -Dirty bed sheets that were not washed -No fitted sheet - Blood on the walls, ceiling and door -Disgusting toilet seat -Urine and feces on toilet -Throw up chunks in the shower -Cockroaches -Coffee pot that looks like it's cooked more than coffee -Chipped Furniture -Dirty/Scratched walks -People walking by the doors all hours -Broken dead locks -Empty drug bags behind TV Hopefully you get the chance to read this before you book this hotel. You're better off, safer, and is more sanitary to sleep in your car in a Walmart parking lot!

00gc, General Manager at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport, responded to this review
Josh, Thank you for writing a detailed review. We apologize for anything other than a completely satisfying stay, and we appreciate the feedback. Your honest comments will be shared with our team, and we will use them for future improvements. We hope you will give us another opportunity to prove we can do better. Danny Ahir General Manager

"Rooms Lacking Care"

2
Alan C, Bishop, California 18/11/2018

I stayed here one night on a recent trip and selected this hotel as it is located next to the airport where I was headed to the next morning. The room I was given was extremely tired and not well cared for. There was a strange smell my entire stay that I never identified the source of. The shower curtain was torn and not a lot of care went into cleaning the bathroom. To top it off, I was awakened in the middle of the night due to certain physical activities taking place between the couple upstairs. It was loud enough that I almost felt I was in the same room. Thin walls I guess. If you are thinking of spending your vacation here, this is the wrong place. If you are just passing through and want the convenience of location and less cost, this place my work for you. I will not be back.

"Leave All Ye Even Fathoming Entering This DIVE!!"

1
User 29/10/2018

Day 1: Dirty Sheets & Covers & Cigarette Burns In a Non Smoking Room, Asked For Sheets To Be Replaced Before Leaving To Dinner. talked with younger receptionist at front desk. Came Back From Dinner. Bed was remade. top blanket has ink stains. thought mattress cover was replaced. inspected the sheets found the mattress cover was never replaced. went back again and complained. thought finally it was replaced. Day 2: In the morning before going for breakfast decided to inspect the dead bolt, noticed it was loose. upon fully extending the dead bolt, it DID NOT lock properly, meaning you could take a card of any sort and move the dead bolt to open easily. brought that up to the receptionist and asked him to inspect the lock as well. initial response was "They're All Like That". I said, "I hope they're not". this led me to question whether they actually changed the sheets. so i unraveled the sheets and the same exact sheet was there not replaced at all. when i was moving the sheets to see if they were replaced the receptionist was saying not to move the sheets. once i found out they haven't been replaced, i asked why wasn't this replaced for a third time, while this was happening the "lead" helper came up and asked what was the problem with the sheets. he said that they're stained. she said they're clean. as he was showing her, she said they're clean and basically put her foot down to what he was showing and saying to her. Right then and there I wanted to inspect the bed sheets again. found more than i wanted. we went to the next room to see if the locks were the same. they weren't, dead bolt in next room works as intended. Was Moved into next room. inspected the sheets after moving myself and my guests' items. inspected sheets. it was even worse than the previous rooms. so again, complained to the receptionist/person in charge atm. told them to have the sheets replaced by the time we get back. we arrived back at the hotel in the afternoon, first thing i did was check if they replaced said sheet. and it was not replaced. upon closer inspection of the room. there were scuff marks along the walls and the room seemed uncleaned. he said they'll have it replaced. Came back late and went to sleep. Day 3: Morning took a shower. noticed the shower curtain in shambles. torn and ripped. had to leave early, so didn't hit up the front desk until we got back in the afternoon. inspected the sheets. it was the same exact mattress cover that was asked to be replaced. i took pictures of everything went to the front desk and asked to have the sheets replaced by the time my guest and myself came back this evening. upon coming back late in the evening, came into the room with a fresh paint smell. noticed the the scuff marks were painted over and the shower curtain replaced. checked the sheets and that was a WTF?!?! the mattress cover was NOT replaced. i took off the mattress cover and brought it down to the front desk, by this time i have taken so many pictures of the hell my guest and myself had to stay in. asked to get a new mattress cover so i can put it on myself. was told they DID NOT have anymore or they are all stained. asked to speak with their boss. Was offered the my rest of my stay was free per the attendee / receptionist / person in charge (Two Days Free). Still asked to speak with their boss in the morning. (wanted it in writing). was not offered a replacement sheet. Day 4: Talked with the "Big Boss" over at SureStay around 7am. He declined what his employee said and only offered 1 day free. i was expecting at least 1/2 off the entire stay due to the accommodations, if I pay for a "Best Western" I should get an equivalent of "Best Western" not a "Vagabond Inn". was asked, "What do you want me to do?" in reply "have a clean room that doesn't look & feel like its a wh*re hotel or brothel." At that point he said, "If you don't like the room, Check OUT!" and pointed to the street. I said i would if I could but every hotel is booked. He said, "no, there is lots of rooms, I'll help you". so I said, "Then book me at another Best Western." In reply, "no, i can't do that". "I'm stuck, cause you already have my money". He said, "you find another hotel by 11, or I charge you another day". thats when i left and called Best Western Customer Care. Was asked to call when i checked out. Left the "DO NOT DISTURB" sign on the door. Later that evening noticed a charge on my card from Sure Stay By BestWestern. Day 5: Sunday Morning Check Out. Brought Up the extra charge. said it was for a refund and I wasn't there, and should be clarified by Tuesday. (is this in the realm of fraud? and should I notify the police?) Called Best Western Customer Care as I was asked to. Referenced other number then was issued a new number for the other things that were not listed on day 2-3, Due to the lack of customer support from this individually owned establishment I feel like I should get a full refund. No one should have to go thru what I've went thru to get adequate cleanliness First Room was Rented out with a non functioning dead bolt lock the day after my guest and myself switched rooms. No Thermostat in room whatsoever. No Emergency Plan Behind Door. Toilet Paper shoved in door viewer peep hole. Main Door to room not properly set in place, wide gaps. I'll See If It'll Let Me Upload the images Fair Warning They Are Gruesome.

"great hotel, great location"

5
User 12/10/2018

big room, good breakfast with choice of hot food and great waffles. its so close to everything, really recommend it! and even though it's close to the airport, you don't hear any noise. friendly staff and very helpful.

"Great spot!"

4
User 08/09/2018

We had a great time and found accommodations clean and quaint. The pool was a great place to relax. Victor was very helpful and quick to help make our stay great. We'd definitely come back in the future!

RonakA67, Customer Experience Team at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport, responded to this review
Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and your overall experience. We hope to welcome you again soon!

"Unsanitary Dump"

1
RasanBizTraveler, Seattle, Washington 05/08/2018

Found bloodstains on the blanket (not in a duvet cover) and called the office three times starting 5pm but they pretended I had not called before and said "someone will be over soon to check". There was no topsheet either so it had been resting directly on the bed sheet. After I insisted they fix it, it was after 8pm and someone did come over with another blanket and a top sheet. This person said they typically don't provide top sheet. I'm guessing they don't wash their blankets with any regularity either. The door had gaps about half an inch wide, and let in plenty light, smoke and noise. I would not stay at this hotel again. At a rate of 200 a night, it is a pricey dump with disease and infections thrown in for free.

Ronak A, Customer Experience Team at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport, responded to this review
Thank you for staying with us and for providing your feedback. We apologize we did not meet your expectations and appreciate you sharing your insights - we will convey your feedback to management to address.

"Very nice accommodations!"

4
User 24/06/2018

I had no idea what to expect when I booked this affordable (for Calif.) room right before an early morning flight out of San Jose Airport (SJC). I was pleasantly surprised when they offered me a King Suite at $100 off compared to their nearest competitor! Apparently, N 1st St. is "Hotel Row" for the airport. Most all brands and types of hotels are represented here. This King room was spotlessly clean & very spacious - almost exactly like a much more expensive hotel I had stayed at in a nearby town. I wish all hotels had microwaves and fridges in them. The staff was very friendly & helpful. They arranged to email me my receipt, since I was supposed to leave at 5 a.m. But my flight was delayed by 3 hours, so I was able to get a receipt in person. Aside from this facade of elegance, however, I noticed: Paper thin walls Sunlight at the bottom of the front door (lots of air escaping in & out) Fridge not appearing to be cold, but it was. Very meager continental breakfast (other hotels had full breakfast) I guess I was just ready to go home at that point. Since I noticed rave reviews about his hotel in general, I will give it another shot sometime.

Ronak A, Customer Experience Team at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport, responded to this review
Thank you for your review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel for the most part. We greatly appreciate your detailed feedback and are glad that you will consider us as your hotel of choice when you visit again.

"Mixed Review "

3
User 21/06/2018

I keep seeing management on other reviews comment about renovations for awhile now. Hmmmmm..... Bedroom had newer bedding and furniture -however rug (already coming off glued on cove base part) and bedspread were already ruined and it's a sad shame! I left my shoes on every time to walk on the stained rug. Bathroom needs major renovations—tile is speckled green and that would be ok if the paint job and fixtures were upgraded to match a renovation. Shower and sink handle are gross and need replacing. Toilet was running and had to keep giggling he handle. The front door had a 1” gap to the outside and you could hear every noise. I will say the king size bed was very comfortable and the tv was mounted nicely for laying down. In my opinion the hotel was worth under $100 per night. The pool was broken. Before checkout time front desk called to ask when we were leaving (??? Never had this happen before) and seeing as we arrived after 5pm and had to wait 30 minutes for them to clean our room I don't understand why the phone call before checkout time.

Ronak A, Customer Experience Team at SureStay Hotel by Best Western San Jose Airport, responded to this review
Thank you for staying with us and for providing your feedback. We apologize we did not meet your expectations regarding your stay, and we really appreciate you sharing your insights. The feedback is appreciated and we will work to address it. You are correct in that we have been recently performing renovations over the past few weeks, and are committed to hearing and acting on our customers' input. We hope you consider us when you are in town again.

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.