Room 1
Room 2
Room 3
Promotion code

Hotel Bijou, WorldHotels Crafted, San Francisco

111 Mason Street, 94102-2713, San Francisco, United States - See on a map
Hotel Bijou, WorldHotels Crafted - Art Deco and shared plates never looked so good in San Francisco The Hotel Bijou, WorldHotels Crafted is ideally located in the center of San Francisco. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

Conde Nast 2021 Award Winner - Voted #3 for top hotels in the San Francisco area. Located near downtown San Francisco, moments from the Moscone Convention Center, public transportation, great shopping and nightlife, Hotel Bijou, WorldHotels Crafted brings together historic elegance, modern comfort, and eclectic style like few hotels near Union Square. With a unique spirit that reflects our personal energy, this landmark hotel was built in 1914. The result is an Art Deco design that transports you to the roaring 20s while offering all the contemporary amenities you expect from plush pillows, luxury linens, reliable high-speed Internet to high end toiletries. Relax in one of our guest rooms featuring a historic art deco design, high-end toiletries, and the necessary technology we all expect in today’s day and age. Unwind with an in-room spa massage, in the evening join us at Gibson restaurant featuring live-fire cooking, custom crafted cocktails, a pop art mural on the ceiling, nostalgic upbeat music, and for those seeking the full experience, a carefully curated tasting menu with a behind the scenes kitchen tour of how the unique experience is brought to life, a truly divine indulgence. After a day of traveling, having meetings or exploring San Francisco. Our central Union Square location puts the best of San Francisco at your doorstep. From shopping, dining, and strolling in the immediate neighborhood to visiting landmarks such as Fisherman’s Wharf, Alcatraz Island, Golden Gate Park, the Powell Street Cable Car Line, Oracle Park, and more, Hotel Bijou is the perfect home base for your California experience. We are also conveniently close to the Bay to Breakers race and San Francisco Pride. Come to Hotel Bijou, WorldHotels Crafted and experience timeless architectural beauty and vibrant ambiance amidst the colorful and innovative people who make San Francisco one of the most iconic cities in the world.

WorldHotels CRAFTED

Hotel Bijou




Hotel advantages

  • Restaurant
  • Lounges/bars
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
  • Massage services
    Massage services
  • Multilingual staff
    Multilingual staff
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
based on 951 guest reviews
Very Good
Business Business
Couples Couples
Family Family
Friends getaway Friends getaway
Solo travel Solo travel
Sleep Quality

"Charming Hotel, But the Noise! Oy! "

954ruthannep, Branson, Missouri 20/04/2022

I am going to be very honest here. I am writing this from my room at 1:30 am in the morning because I cannot sleep as the room next to mine is blaring their TV. These are the positives of the hotel: 1. Clean rooms 2. Location is close to city hub, shopping and things to do 3. Rooms are clean 4. Hotel staff are very nice 5. TV in room 6. Free internet 7. Nice restaurant and bar inside hotel (somewhat expensive) 8. Free coffee all day long 10. Old style feel to hotel like you've stepped back in time. Nice old fashioned clawfooted tub and a terry cloth robe. 11. There is a safe in room 12. The room rate was lower than other nearby hotels. These are some observations which you may not like: 1. Elevator was not working and I had to walk up the very steep and skinny staircase. I'm fat. It is good exercise tho. They said I could have a free breakfast to accommodate the elevator being out. My time hasn't coincided with breakfast, so I don't know what the breakfast is like. 2. There is no air conditioning. Fans are provided. There is heat though. Windows do open. 3. No microwave or fridge in rooms. Not a big deal if you don't have leftovers. 4. You will be charged a refundable deposit of $100.00. Negatives: 1. Omg! The noise. It will destroy you. There is a club nearby and the weekend was miserable. People screaming all night long. 2. Did I mention the noise? If it's not coming from the inside it's coming from the outside. Traffic, boom boxes, horns, the mentally ill, club goers - it is truly a nightmare. I'm sorry, but no amount of charm can overcome it. Today someone screamed under my window for a solid 6 hours. When they finally left another person filled the void with a boom box and more screaming and yelling. I really have no words. 4. They are doing construction across the street and they are using pneumatic drills and the noise sounds like it is in your room. 5. Did I mention the noise? The room next to mine has the television turned up full blast at (now 2:00) in the morning this minute. Maybe they are trying to drown out the street noise. Regardless, I am very tired. 6. Not really the hotel's fault, but there are a few homeless folks outside the door sleeping on a big mattress with their dog. One of them constructed a home out of plywood when I was there. He also has a boombox. (Yay!) They ask for cigarettes and money when you are getting your key out to gain entry. It's somewhat scary, especially at night. I feel sorry for the hotels and businesses in the area. Covid has harmed them and the homeless problem is doing even more harm. The noise is probably a construction issue and would require major construction and upgrades. So if you decide to stay here, probably bring your noise canceling headphones if you want some rest.

, General Manager at Hotel Bijou, responded to this review
Dear 954, Thank you for your review. I am sorry about the noise level around the hotel. It sounds like you were right in the middle of it all. Thank you for all of the nice things regarding the staff and the hotel charm, we do what we can but as mentioned some items are out of our control. I hope overall you have some nice memories of San Francisco.

"Great experience!"

lesleyygg, Buena Park, California 11/04/2022

Yohan was very sweet and was always ready to help us out! Made us feel very welcomed and comfortable. Thank you so much. I enjoyed my stay. Definitely recommend staying at this hotel. Also have complimentary water! It's also a clean hotel w a restaurant at the bottom near lobby.

, General Manager at Hotel Bijou, responded to this review
Dear Guest, thank you for the nice review, I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that Yohan was there for you.


WendiWindBlows, Jacksonville, Florida 31/03/2022

It was such a charming place. I was traveling from Georgia and they were so kind. It's older, which gives it charisma. All of the attendees were so helpful. I just as on the 5th floor and the elevator was out , so they made certain my bag was taken up. Breakfast was fabulous. They info was invaluable. The cleaning in the bathroom is why they did not get five stars. The previous guest's towel was on the back of the door and hair on the floor. I want to pretend no one was there before me!

, General Manager at Hotel Bijou, responded to this review
Dear Mrs. WendiWindBlows, Thank you for having stayed with us, I appreciate the feedback. I am sorry to hear that we failed to see this towel, we will certainly look into this.


User 24/02/2022

Service and customer service was very nice and if we needed anything the staff was always available . Our room was really clean and very comfortable. We also liked the Roku TV and the really nice bathroom. Ohhh and the cutest thing was that each room had its own movie name.

, General Manager at Hotel Bijou, responded to this review
Dear Guest thank you for the review, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

"mercedes was the best!!"

User 04/02/2022

We were absolutely satisfied with our stay. we felt safe and comfortable the whole time. we have to give a huge shoutout to mercedes she was absolutely hilarious and was so welcoming. she is the best and we loved seeing and talking to her every chance we had!!!

, General Manager at Hotel Bijou, responded to this review
Dear Guest, We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and received excellent customer service from Mercedes.

"Overnight stay, elegant hotel of a bygone era"

Sundncr, Washington DC, District of Columbia 28/12/2021

It was like going into a different era, with the furniture, the bar at the front and the individual names for rooms. Must have been an elegant hotel in the past. I had to stay stay overnight to catch a train the next day morning. The rooms were clean and the bedsheets were fresh. The reception was friendly. The hotel charges you a resort fee, which is called urban fee. So be aware of this. The location is downtown and a subway station is within a block. Lots of restaurants around. Beware of homeless people sleeping on the streets and they can get aggressive. The receptionist had to lock the front door as a homeless person was banging away at it.

"Quick overnight stay"

kellieg952, Sacramento, California 05/12/2021

We chose this hotel based on the photos & the discount price offered when we ended up in SF needing a last min room. We were happy with the entire stay! Friendly check in (Ali & didn't catch the name of the lady also working the desk, both were helpful & welcoming), nice bar with a refreshing drink menu, & easily accessed valet services. We were so happy to learn that the hotel is pet friendly! Super clean, nice decor, very comfortable! Will be staying here for all future planned trips & bringing our fur baby who had to stay at home this trip!

"Treated like a king and queen at Hotel Bijou"

Katiezanna, Kailua-Kona, Hawaii 05/11/2021

What a wonderful time at Hotel Bijou. They treated us like gold. The service from the staff was top notch. We were so impressed and very grateful. We would recommend Hotel Bijou to anyone and everyone. Thank you so much!

"This might be a nice hotel - one day?"

John M, Kelseyville, California 23/08/2021

LOL, I was going to include pictures of the homeless encampment twenty feet from the front door, which by the way was locked during the day! This hotel is in the Tenderloin so I certainly understand! HOWEVER, a photo was really not fair to the homeless - just know that you will be surrounded by down and out people/groups! I stay at A LOT of Best Westerns (Federal Law Enforcement) and I had $200.00 worth of vouchers to spend before the end of August, so a fun night out in San Francisco was in order! We usually stay at the Cartwright, but we thought we would try something new, BIG mistake! A few things to know before booking at the Hotel Bijou, it is advertised as "World Hotel Crafted", meaning this should be MUCH nicer than a Best Western Plus? LOL, nope! Note: 1. You are in the Tenderloin, look it up if you do not know what this means - my wife and I are LE, so we are always well armed, so we did not care. 2. You are going to pay a "resort" fee that is nowhere in the "advertisement" - but you will find out about this in the morning! Plus, all kinds of taxes and parking, but hey this is the big city, right? Resort fees however are bulls#@% (pardon my language). 3. There is no restaurant or bar like in their cool pictures (I was told maybe in the future?). 4. No air-conditioning in the rooms, there are fans and you can open the windows, but it will be VERY LOUD, the homeless come out at night and the Tenderloin is where you go to score drugs (again look it up if you do not believe me). Try to stay on the sixth floor if you can! 5. Our room looked like it was still being worked on? Whomever painted the place really did a poor job and there was visible patch work in the bathroom. 6. A cockroach fell out of the ceiling vent, I kid you not, my wife was laughing as I was chasing it around trying to get it's picture! I could go on, but suffice to say the Cartwright is about the same price and much nicer, we will be going back their after this little experiment!

"Comfortable bed, affordable stay in San Francisco"

TravelingJenny, NJ 18/08/2021

My friend and I chose Hotel Bijou for our first stay in San Francisco. It's located in Union Square / edge of the Tenderloin district. There were homeless people lining the street, but we had no problems with them aside from the noise. The decor is a decadent 1920s style, old Hollywood Art Deco. Check-in was easy. the staff was accommodating and friendly. There's complimentary coffee in the lobby. The bar and dining room are gorgeous. Grab a drink at the bar before heading out to explore the city - you wont' be sorry. The bartender (didn't catch his name) takes pride in making high quality craft cocktails, a true mixologist. It was enjoyable to watch his creative process. He also gave us excellent suggestions on where to go to dinner and the best places to see for our short stay in the city. The room itself was small, but it seems to be the norm for San Francisco. The King bed we shared was really comfortable. The room, including the bathroom, were very clean. A few issues with the room, however - if you have a room facing Mason Street, the homeless people were loud well into the night and first thing in the morning. There are earplugs but they do little to dampen the noise. There was no AC but there was a box fan, which helped to both cool the room down and drown out the noise from the street. Without the fan it would have been rough. The coffee maker in the room was broken but there was free coffee for the taking in the lobby. No fridge or microwave in the room so we couldn't enjoy leftovers. The location is convenient to the BART as well as the cable car. Super easy to get around. Lots of diverse options for dining within walking distance. There was a breakfast buffet for $12/person which is pretty cheap compared to other places we saw, but it's not much. Fruit, cereal, bacon, eggs, juice and coffee. Parking is $35/day for valet - they were quick to bring the car around whenever we needed it. All in all a good stay.

, General Manager at Hotel Bijou, responded to this review
Dear Traveling Jenny, thank you for sharing your experience with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

"Great stay"

User 06/07/2021

Location is excellent room was up to Our standards and front desk very nice and helpful. Cool Art Deco/old Hollywood feel to the aesthetic. It seems to be an old building but they've done a good job of renovating. Bathrooms were great which is my biggest priority.

Blanca Rivera , General Manager at Hotel Bijou, responded to this review
Dear stephensI7167NL, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were happy to have had you stay with us and we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

"good hotel"

User 10/05/2020

hotel has great deco, nice onsite restaurant, great bar, good size room staff friendly ,free coffee in reception very close to bart staion (20 yards ) - 20 minutes to san Francisco airport ( ticket $8 to airport ) close to union square area no best - edge of tenlion region

"Excelent hotel"

RicardoAxe, Lisbon, Portugal 22/03/2020

Great experience in this hotel. We actually visited this hotel to make our reservation since we were in the area. The staff couldn't be more helpful. They showed us different rooms and let us choose. They also did a better price than the one on booking platforms. The room we got was clean and very comfortable. They have a good selection of food for breakfast. After We traveled to L.A. and then back to San Francisco to get your flight home and ended up staying there a second time. The reception staff kept offering tips for places to see and answering our questions about the city. If we come back to S.F., we'll try to stay there again! I totally recommend it.

"Satisfactory stay!"

deminadineh, Rhondda Cynon Taf, United Kingdom 03/03/2020

The hotel itself was lovely, small but comfortable. Staff were helpful. The hotel was 100m away from the nearest tram stop which was a bonus! No complaints in regards to the hotel however the location was the only downside. The hotel was situated at the edge of the tenderloin district which is known for being full of homeless people. Absolutely no problems by day. However by night a lot of drug users and homeless people seem to gather nearby and made us feel very unsafe! Although not on any occasion did anyone approach us, they kept themselves to themselves. Overall I would have stayed in a hotel closer to the coast.. i.e Pier 39, Fisherman's Wharf. I would rate the hotel 3/5.


805stub, Stowmarket, United Kingdom 25/02/2020

All I can say is the hotel is clean & the staff friendly. The room was small & hot Aircon non existent so you have to open the window, homeless shout & fight until 5am & even with the earplugs provided you will not sleep & we were on the top floor!

HotelBijou111, General Manager at Hotel Bijou, responded to this review
Dear Guest thank you for the feed back, yes the hotel does not have A/C all rooms have fans in them stored in the closet. I am happy to hear that the staff was friendly. There are street people and they can be loud, we do have rooms that face away from Eddy. Please ask the front desk for a room move and we can try a quieter room in the back of the hotel. Thank you for having stayed.

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.