Room 1
Room 2
Room 3
Promotion code

Best Western Rochester Hotel Mayo Clinic Area/St. Mary's, Rochester

1517 16th Street SW, 55902-1075, Rochester, United States - See on a map
Best Western Rochester Hotel Mayo Clinic Area/St. Mary's - Exterior The Best Western Rochester Hotel Mayo Clinic Area/St. Mary's is ideally located in the center of Rochester. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

Ideally located within minutes of the world-renowned Mayo Clinic and Mayo Clinic Hospital Saint Mary's Campus, the Best Western Rochester Hotel Mayo Clinic Area/St. Mary's is a family friendly home base for leisure and business travelers alike. A premier choice among Rochester hotels, Best Western Rochester Hotel Mayo Clinic Area/ St. Mary's offers 149 comfortable guest rooms and suites, and over 8500 square feet of banquet space. Families love our onsite water park, spacious suites, complimentary Wi-Fi, easy access to downtown businesses, and an array of family activities in Rochester. When staying at Best Western Rochester Hotel Mayo Clinic Area/ St. Mary's take advantage of our proximity to area attractions including Apache Mall, Mayo Civic Center, Mayowood Mansion, Olmsted County Fairgrounds, Plummer House, and Graham Arena. For Added convenience, Rochester International Airport (RST) is just eight miles away. Our guests also enjoy the locally owned and independently operated, Wildwood Sports Bar and Grill that's connected to the hotel. We look forward to your stay!

Best Western

Rochester Hotel Mayo Clinic Area/St. Mary's

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Hotel advantages

  • Restaurant
    Restaurant
  • Complimentary full american breakfast
    Complimentary full american breakfast
  • Indoor pool
    Indoor pool
  • Air conditioning
    Air conditioning
  • Free parking
    Free parking
  • Outdoor parking
    Outdoor parking
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
based on 29 guest reviews
NOTE ISSUED
Excellent
17
Very Good
6
Average
2
Poor
1
Terrible
3
REFER TO NOTICE
Business Business
3
Couples Couples
2
Family Family
6
Friends getaway Friends getaway
0
Solo travel Solo travel
0
SUMMARY NOTES
Cleanliness
Location
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Value

"Disappointed "

1
pink_capybara, Madison, Wisconsin 10/05/2021

I was really looking forward to staying here. My kid loves to swim, and we are used to the chaos of staying at a Waterpark but this place is something else. First, I want to say that all of the employees were WONDERFUL. The hotel needs more of them. It is severely under staffed. We stayed in a 2 room suite poolside. The room was not very clean, spiders in corners, hairs in bathrooms. One toilet did not function properly and we called maintenance. Now for the pool area, it's nice but it is an adult party zone. People do not follow any of the rules. One guest dumped a full beer in the hot tub, kids were eating powdered donuts in the pool. Drunk grownups lying in the kiddie pool. Glass containers everywhere. I could go on and on.. This hotel needs staff in the pool area. If you like a rowdy, drunken, adult party, then this is the place for you. It pains me to leave such a negative review, but wow.

"Only Choice!"

5
User 08/05/2021

My daughter and I stayed here as she had appointments with Mayo. The staff was very caring and helpful. The hot tub and pool area was an added bonus. This should be your only choice for accommodations.

Richard Bernik, General Manager at Best Western Rochester Hotel Mayo Clinic Area/St. Mary's, responded to this review
Thank you for the kind review. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with the Best Western Rochester and look forward to seeing you again when visiting the area!

"ADA Rooms"

3
User 03/05/2021

This Best Western is great clean hotel but really needs to be educated on what a fully accessible wheelchair room needs to be. They have great staff and prices but to be considered the best stay for the Mayo clinic, there needs to be criteria met for ADA wheelchair rooms

Richard Bernik, General Manager at Best Western Rochester Hotel Mayo Clinic Area/St. Mary's, responded to this review
We appreciate you taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay. Best Western Rochester will be immediately addressing the issue outlined above to better serve our guests in the future. Richard, the General Manager will be contacting you directly to learn more and express our sincere apologies.

"Clean, quiet and comfortable."

5
Rob B, Saint Cloud, Minnesota 02/05/2021

I really like Best Western Hotels. Our room was spacious, clean, quiet, with comfy beds. The staff was courteous and helpful. The building was orderly with an excellent water park. Lots of parking. Could use another elevator and a bar.

Richard Bernik, General Manager at Best Western Rochester Hotel Mayo Clinic Area/St. Mary's, responded to this review
Dear Rob B, Thank you for the great review! We really appreciate your feedback and will share this with the team. We would love to welcome you back next time you are in the area. Thank you for your loyalty to our brand!

"Kind of a dump"

2
highwaterjane60, Santa Fe, New Mexico 28/04/2021

When we travel BW is always our first choice.. this one was the worst we've ever stayed in. It felt worn out and prideless. Plus we felt duped that it was so far from The Mayo Clinic. In their defense it did seem work was being done on some rooms on another floor but none of that makes up for the fact that it sits between two noisy highways, our bathroom floor was dirty, and the decor in our room would have pleased the Munsters.

Richard Bernik, General Manager at Best Western Rochester Hotel Mayo Clinic Area/St. Mary's, responded to this review
Dear highwaterjane60, Thank you for being loyal to the Best Western Band. I am so sorry to hear you did not like our hotel. We are located 2.2 miles away from Mayo Clinic and offer a free shuttle to and from Monday - Friday. We do take your review seriously and I have discussed your concerns with our team to implement improvements. I hope if you are ever in the area again you would be willing to give us another chance.

"Legit waste of money"

1
demonicas555, Chatfield, Minnesota 16/04/2021

They told me my stay was 254 with all taxes and fees included then when I check my card after checking in they charged me 310$ not just that but the staff don't do their job and in the public bathroom by the pool there was Sh*t all in there for hours after I reported like I said waste of money disgusting hotel

Richard Bernik, General Manager at Best Western Rochester Hotel Mayo Clinic Area/St. Mary's, responded to this review
Dear demonicaas555, We pride ourselves in maintaining guest satisfaction and cleanliness. We apologize if we did not exceed your expectations. Please know that the rate quoted might have been $254 with taxes and fees but that we do authorize all guest credit or debit cards at check in for incidentals. This is what I believe the difference is in what you are seeing after checking in. This is an authorization that is released back to you at checkout pending there is no damages or other fees occurred during your stay. Depending on your financial institution and if you used a debit card it can take longer before you see the incidentals returned to your account. Our pool bathrooms are checked and cleaned daily. Any reports of the restroom needing service are addressed in a timely manor. I am sorry to hear you didn't find value in your stay with free pool/water park access to guest staying with us, free parking, free wifi, free grab & go breakfast and clean comfortable rooms. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel if you have any further questions or concerns. We hope you come back and give us another chance.

"Awesome hotel!"

5
PMWalker, Ormond Beach, Florida 14/04/2021

Very nicely decorated guest room...very comfortable bed. Quiet room, great breakfast selections, awesome pool area, which we did not use, but still looked fun! Staff extremely professional and personable.

Richard Bernik, General Manager at Best Western Rochester Hotel Mayo Clinic Area/St. Mary's, responded to this review
Dear PMWalker, Thank you for your great review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed our hotel and its amenity's. Your feedback is important to us and we hope you will come back and see us again soon!

"Clean rooms, close to a lot of shopping"

4
cjsherman90, Elmer, Missouri 14/04/2021

The pool area gets extremely loud! The pool area is wonderful for children. Hotel is clean with updated furnishings. Very conveniently located with a lot of shopping. Mayo Clinic is easily accessible from this location. The bar and Grill on this property was not good, but there is a lot of great eating places near by.

Richard Bernik, General Manager at Best Western Rochester Hotel Mayo Clinic Area/St. Mary's, responded to this review
Dear cjsherman90, Thank you for taking the time to give us a good review! Your business is important to us and we are glad to hear you enjoyed our hotel, its amenity's, and location. I am sorry to hear the restaurant attached to us was not a good experience during your visit. We hope you will come back and see us again soon!

"Easy on and off highway. Close to mall."

5
standswithafish, New Richmond, United States 13/04/2021

We stayed here for an overnight because of mayo clinic appointments. The hotel was clean, comfortable, and staff were friendly. Swimming pool and hot tub were also maintained well. Good selection for a grab an go breakfast.

Richard Bernik, General Manager at Best Western Rochester Hotel Mayo Clinic Area/St. Mary's, responded to this review
Dear standswithafish, Thank you for taking your time to give us a great review! We strive to be a family friendly hotel that also caters to the needs of patients visiting. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our hotel, staff, pool facility and free grab and go breakfast. We also have free parking and a shuttle to and from Mayo Clinic & Saint Mary's Hospital. We really appreciate your business and hope next time you are in town you come back and stay with us again!

"comfortable and convenient"

4
sallyao, Galena 13/04/2021

We liked the location. The bed was comfortable. Not real quiet-could hear people in next room talking and their tv. No housekeeping for our multiple night stay. Nice to have a pool, but it was not a pool where you could swim laps.

Richard Bernik, General Manager at Best Western Rochester Hotel Mayo Clinic Area/St. Mary's, responded to this review
Dear sallyao, Thank you for taking your time to give us a good review! We really appreciate your feedback and will use it to make improvements. Due to Covid-19 we have had to make adjustments to housekeeping service where you have to request service in the morning. I apologize if this was not explained at check in or if there was a disconnect. We do hope you will come back and stay with us again.

"Visiting daughter"

4
User 30/03/2021

A nice hotel for families with children. The pool area was packed and the hallways were busy. Our children were that age once so it didn't bother us. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would consider staying here again.

"Great stay, friendly staff, but horrible guests"

4
victoriamilbrandt, Clear Lake, Iowa 22/03/2021

The hotel was great we enjoyed and had alot of fun. They had great options for the grab and go breakfast. Room was clean and hotel looks much better on inside compared to the outside. Staff was very friendly and pool was fun and always clean in the morning! No complaints about the hotel. Only complaint I had was the other guests at the hotel in the pool area. There was alot of little kids with no parents around watching them. Kids were not following the rules of the waterslide and I'm very surprised Noone got hurt with how busy it was. It was so packed one day that it wasn't even enjoyable, especially with covid. People would leave all their trash and used towels on the floor when they have trash bins and a place to put used towels. Just couldn't believe at how disrespectful some adults and kids can be. No fault of the hotels but maybe they could be more strict about the pool rules and go out to check and make sure people are following the rules so noone gets hurt.

"District Hockey Trip"

5
User 15/03/2021

The Best Western staff were very accommodating to our hockey team. They had a hockey hospitality room for us to congregate in for meals and after hours. We felt like we were on spring break with the glass dome top over the pool area. The boys enjoyed the water slide and pool basketball.

"7860"

5
User 14/03/2021

Had a great time. Kids all had fun in the pool. Staff was very nice and helpful. Rooms were very clean. Really enjoyed the breakfast- lots of choices and open long enough for even our late sleepers to get something. :)

"Awesome place"

5
User 14/03/2021

This is a very nice place to stay. Great help and very clean.many updates. . We also had a catered meal that was awesome. Staff went out of their way to take care of our large group. A must stay when in Rochester.

"Staycation "

5
EllieB934, Rochester, Minnesota 12/03/2021

I remembered this location as Kahler Apache, but since it has become Best Western it's clear the standard has been raised. The entire building has been wonderfully and beautifully renovated. The rooms have all been newly renovated and feel clean and luxurious. The staff is now so helpful (especially Richie- manager) and they all left us never wanting for a thing. The hotel is directly connected to a restaurant and a stone's throw to a shopping center as well as two grocery stores, as well as across the highway from the town mall. I couldn't recommend a better hotel if you're visiting Rochester.

"Great hotel. Nice amenities!"

5
User 12/03/2021

We stayed at the Best Western - Rochester for a basketball tournament. The hotel has been renovated. The rooms are nice and spacious. Pool area is great. Kids had a blast!! Handing Covid appropriately. Good value. Thank you!

"The Experience was Wonderful"

5
S446ZSdavidg, Devils Lake, North Dakota 02/03/2021

My wife and I are regulars at Best Western. For the last for years we have spend 2 nights each week at a Best Western Property due to our Jobs. Even though this stay was for medical reasons, My wife and I were amazed at many levels. The Pool area was set up nicely for Families with children. A small water slide and play area. Even though Hot tubs are fading out at many motels due to the cost of upkeep and cleanliness This motel did a great job of doing just that. It was spacious and clean. The Front Desk staff were all well trained and kind and helpful. the Lobby is clean and also very spacious. The Breakfast was very well stocked with many choices to choose from. Regarding the room, we were upgraded to a beautiful suite that had it all. Comfortable Beds, combination shower/Tub. and plenty of room to spread out and relax. I was also able to talk directly to the Manager who introduced himself to us. I learned that they recently joined the Best Western Motel Brand in August of 2020. I have to say I am impressed by how well they have adapted to the Corvid rules and regulations and how much effort it must have taken to turn this Motel into a very Wonderful addition to the Chain. We recommend this Motel to all looking for a quiet and comfortable stay in Rochester.

"Wonderful Experience"

5
User 22/02/2021

We arrived very late our first night, The guy at the desk was very friendly and helpful. I had my daughter and 5 grandbabies! We are quite the crew and he didn't waiver at all got us everything we needed to get the kiddos tucked in! I am very grateful for all of his willingness to help and kindness to the kids. The second day was just as great the staff was friendly and helpful they went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable and have a nice time. The staff also let us have a late check out! it was truly a nice time.

Richard Bernik, General Manager at Best Western Rochester Hotel Mayo Clinic Area/St. Mary's, responded to this review
Dear A1433LQtonyaw, Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Rochester. We are so glad that you enjoyed our hotel and really appreciate your feedback. We are a family friendly establishment that strives to ensure our guest are as comfortable as can be. Should you need to return to our area, we hope that you will choose to stay with us again!

"Glad we stayed!"

5
senins2019, Elk River, Minnesota 17/02/2021

We were impressed with the cleanliness of the motel from the front desk area, hallways, pool area and the room .We enjoyed the spacious room and comfortable beds. We will be staying with the Best Western on our return trips to Rochester!

Richard Bernik, General Manager at Best Western Rochester Hotel Mayo Clinic Area/St. Mary's, responded to this review
Dear senins2019, Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Rochester. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and its services. We look forward to having you as a return guest on your next visit to Rochester!

"Best Western, Best experience"

4
burds6470, Saint Paul, Minnesota 25/01/2021

Clearly this was a dated hotel, however it was clean with new paint, carpet. Everything worked, quickly checked in and overall experience was great with all staff. With a wonderful pool area, slide and a separate kiddie pool, I cant imagine a better family experience.

Richard Bernik, General Manager at Best Western Rochester Hotel Mayo Clinic Area/St. Mary's, responded to this review
Dear Burds6470, Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us while in Rochester and your kind feedback. We have made many updates and improvements to our hotel since rebranding as Best Western. We are very glad that you and your family enjoyed our hotel and hope that, should you return to our area, you will select us again.

"Jacuzzi Suite was great!"

5
beckers1888, Owatonna, Minnesota 21/12/2020

We opted to stay in the jacuzzi suite. It was great! The beds were comfortable, they've upgraded their tv service, and there were a lot of options for breakfast. The hotel has been fully remodeled and looks great!

Richard Bernik, General Manager at Best Western Rochester Hotel Mayo Clinic Area/St. Mary's, responded to this review
Beckers1888, Thank you for choosing Best Western Mayo Clinic/St. Mary's area hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your Jacuzzi in the room. Thank you for pointing out the remodel, it has been a working progress and we are very happy with the outcome so far. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and we had options to make your stay accommodating. Thanks,

"Wonderful Hotel"

5
User 09/11/2020

Our family was able to stay at this Best Western. As a newly remolded hotel they both cleanliness and affordability. Typically, you need to sacrifice one when staying at a hotel. To top it off, the pool was amazing and a lot of fun for all of the kids. They had a slide for the older ones and a shallow kiddie pool that is fun and safe for the toddlers. Finally, the staff was kind, professional, and very helpful.

Richard Bernik, General Manager at Best Western Rochester Hotel Mayo Clinic Area/St. Mary's, responded to this review
JonsBrother, Thank you for staying at Best Western Mayo Clinic/St. Mary's area hotel. I am so glad to hear that your stay was great. We have put a lot of time and work into the property so we wouldn't have to sacrifice any sort of cleanliness or affordability. We are pleased to hear that the staff on property was very pleasant to work with, we strive ourselves to make our stay with us a memorable one. Waterslide and kids pool are a plus on property allowing you to relax while the kids enjoy the water. Thanks again for the stay and your review. Thanks,

"Halloween Stay"

4
guany232020, Byron, Minnesota 06/11/2020

Nice hotel. Check in was easy. Staff was nice. Pool area was just right for the kids. Parking was free and easy. They doubled booked my room but made a very good accommodation to fix it. Check out was easy. Would recommend and stay again

Richard Bernik, General Manager at Best Western Rochester Hotel Mayo Clinic Area/St. Mary's, responded to this review
Guany232020, Thank you so much for choosing to stay at Best Western Mayo Clinic/St. Mary's area. We are pleased to hear that your stay was great and you would recommend staying again, we do appreciate the business. I want to personally apologize for the double booking of the room but also pleased to hear that my front desk staff was knowledgeable enough to make arrangements that worked for you. We'd love to see you back and don't forget the kids, the pool is waiting. Thanks,

"Did not receive requested room"

3
User 03/11/2020

I had booked a pool-side double queen suite directly through the Best Western website. Upon check-in, I was told the directions to my room, up the stairs and to the right. I was confused as I had booked poolside. The front desk woman was nice and explained that the hotel does not offer housekeeping services on weekends and that I had to switch rooms to a second floor pool view room or wing room. I booked pool-side because my kids would appreciate the distraction of actually being able to see the pool when we were not able to be in it. From the room, you could only see the very top of the waterslide. I was extremely disappointed that my request could not be fulfilled and was not offered the lower rate for the 'pool-view room'. I would have pushed the stay out to the following week had I known that my accommodations could not be met. We ended up leaving a few hours after arrival.

Richard Bernik, General Manager at Best Western Rochester Hotel Mayo Clinic Area/St. Mary's, responded to this review
Dear erikagamradt: Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Rochester, we greatly appreciate it. My apologies the original room booked wasn't ready for your stay which resulted in being moved. Next time you stay with us, please call me directly when making your reservation so we can make it up to you and your family!

"Family Friendly and Newly Remodeled"

5
beckers1888, Owatonna, Minnesota 11/08/2020

I stayed in a suite and loved it! I brought four teens who had a blast. The pool was perfect! The inside is fully remodeled, beautifully. Staff was friendly. Hotel was clean. And beds were super comfy!

Richard Bernik, General Manager at Best Western Rochester Hotel Mayo Clinic Area/St. Mary's, responded to this review
Dear beckers1888 Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us. Glad to hear you all had a blast! We have made many improvements to our hotel and are pleased to hear it is being well received. If your ever in the area we would love to welcome you back! Thank you for your review!

"Front Desk Clerk is a stalker"

1
User 08/08/2020

If I could give less than a one dot rating I would. We found this property on the Best Western website and reserved a room for the night of Saturday, August 1, 2020. In the reservation section entitled “Special Requests,” we stated, “We will be bringing one small dog.” Upon our arrival, the front desk clerk asked for my driver's license and credit card. What was unusual about that is she wanted me to hand both items over for her to physically examine. In the age of the COVID-19 virus, no other hotelier on my trip asked, nor wanted, to touch my ID cards. The clerk wasn't wearing protective gloves and I don't recall there being any disinfection products nearby for her, or me, to use. I found the situation to be dangerous. But my main concern is what happened after she checked me in. While my family was bringing our luggage to the room, I went outside the hotel to join one of my daughters who was walking our dog. As I did so, I noticed that the employee had left her post and was following us, skulking inside the hallways and stalking us at every entrance to the building. Before I re-entered the hotel, I encountered my family returning to our vehicle and reloading our belongings. My wife said she was approached by the clerk and told we would be charged $250 if we brought our dog inside the hotel room. My wife explained to her that we had notified the hotel in advance that we'd be bringing a pet, but the clerk responded by saying the hotel hasn't allowed animals for two years. So we left. In reviewing our experience, Best Western needs to do the following: -Update its web site. On August 1, 2020 its pet policy said it allowed animals. Also, the address listed is wrong. It reads 1517 16th Avenue SW but should be 1517 16th Street SW. When you use the avenue address in a GPS device, you're routed to a residential neighborhood. -To minimize the potential spread of COVID-19, employees need to be trained not to touch a customer's personal effects such as ID cards. -The female employee who worked the evening shift that night needs to be fired. She stalked me, frightened my daughter, and was rude to my wife. I counted only five or six other vehicles in the hotel parking lot that night. At a time when it can't afford to have such a low occupancy rate, this employee failed to put the “Best” in Best Western.

Richard Bernik, General Manager at Best Western Rochester Hotel Mayo Clinic Area/St. Mary's, responded to this review
Dear Ziggy: Thank you for booking your stay with us. I am sorry to hear about your check in experience and that our hotel did not fit the needs of your stay. My apologies regarding the incorrect address and pet policy. We are a newly branded hotel with a website that is still being updated, so at the time of booking these were incorrect but have been updated since. Best Western Rochester is brand compliant and utilizes the "We Care Clean" program which ensures the highest level of cleaning standards and operations. Hand sanitizer is also available at our front desk for guests and employees to utilize as well. We do appreciate your feedback and hope you give us another chance in the future!

"Great Fun!"

5
User 29/07/2020

I had a week of medical treatment at Mayo clinic July 20-24 so the day before my wife left for Mayo, our daughter in-law said she would drive us and we could spend time with our 3 and 5 year old granddaughters on the trip, we loved the idea but we didn't know how to keep them entertained. We were in a mess if we couldn't find something that would help entertain them. We called Best Western Rochester and their pool was open and they had rooms that adjoined, Wow, we were shocked! The pools are perfect for granddaughters, they played on the slide in the kiddy pool and played with their Barbie dolls in the water. In the big pool they went down with mom and grandma which was all the better laughing and squealing going down the big slide. Our rooms had mostly new furnishings and clean and nice. The staff was great and helpful and checked up on us to see if you needed anything. We did walk through the mall across the highway from us and our granddaughters rode the motorized animals. We ate at the restaurant Wildwood that adjoins the motel, very good. With or without our family we will stay at Best Western Rochester, it was like a vacation

Richard Bernik, General Manager at Best Western Rochester Hotel Mayo Clinic Area/St. Mary's, responded to this review
Dear timfC8498LL: Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us! Our pool area is very popular and we're happy to hear it worked out so well for your trip and fun was had by all. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.