Stay at this 3. 5 Star Port Campbell motel, a short drive to the spectacular Twelve Apostles and the Great Ocean Road. The motel is five minute walk to restaurants, the beach, jetty and shops. Welcome to the Best Western Great Ocean Road Motor Inn, a Port Campbell motel boasting comfortable, tastefully decorated, non-smoking rooms with decks. All accommodation has been individually furnished and decorated and has high-speed Internet access, Austar cable television and light kitchen facilities. Stay in one of five spa units or there are interconnecting and two-bedroom units for larger groups and families. For superior customer service and a convenient location in Port Campbell, make a reservation at the Best Western Great Ocean Road Motor Inn today and save! Enjoy your stay.
Parking isn't allocated to specific rooms so it's a bit of a free-for-all and we had to park on the street outside more than once. Room specifics didn't match when we got there: the online listing had images of bunk beds (which our kids were really excited about) but we arrived to find that the bedding configuration was different with no bunks at all and two kids had to share a bed. Be sure to call and confirm any details in the property's online listings if those aspects are important to you.
Poor Service when arriving and leaving. Call the phone number and no one answers. Room was alright for what was required. Booked in with mobile number in details, yet had to disturb and knock on the door to inform that water was being dis-connected. Claims could not send a message.
We stayed in the deluxe king room for one night whilst travelling. The motel was okay, but we felt the overall vibe was that they expect people to be coming and going on their travels a lot, therefore there didn't need to be much effort with regards to the rooms/customer service. Pros: The room was a good size. The bed was large and comfortable. It was quiet. There were drinks/snacks in the fridge if we needed (at a price) Cons: The room and bathroom were so dark - even with all the lights on, it was incredibly dark. It wasn't the cleanest place we have stayed - there was dust on the TV/sides and hairs round the bath. The room didn't heat very well. It is in need of renovation. Overall, considering the price, service and room compared to other places on our travels, it was average at best, and I wouldn't consider the room 'deluxe'. However it did the job and allowed us to rest our heads for the night, but we wouldn't rush back.
The room was clean, but the shower was over the spa tub and very difficult to use. The manager was NOT helpful at all when asked about local sites, restaurants, or anything else her response was "just follow the road to the beach". She could at least have been friendly.
Pro: The location was quiet and the beds were OK. Cons: The place is getting a little old and worn out. Definitely needs a renovation. The distance from the beach is a little to far for walking. Prices are way too high during Christmas time.
Pros: Great location, very close to the 12 Apostles, walking distance to restaurants, food and drink. Nice owner checked us in and gave us milk for coffee in the morning. Cons: No heat in our unit, no shower curtain, (water went all over the floor in the bathroom). Mold on the wall due to water running down the drywall from the tub/shower. Dated motel, needing some renovations, thin walls. Glad we were only staying one night. Would not recommend or stay again. Pocket picked. Not up to Best Western quality.
Perfect hotel for this level of accommodation. Our room had a queen bed and a single for our child and a small kitchenette as well. Very clean, quiet, and spacious. Bathroom renovated. Liz, the hotel manager, was very kind and helpful. We arrived late and she kept the room warm with lights on ready for our arrival.
This is my second stay in Port Campbell and decided to try the Best Western. Arrived around 2.00pm and was met by a very nice lady who gave us all the info required to stay and what to see in the area. The room was big enough with a kitchenette which had a fridge and microwave. The bed was very comfy, and the heating worked great. Only small complaint is about the TV, its a little small and reception was average. But I would certainly go back and stay when I'm back in the area.
I stayed here for one night with my boyfriend whilst touring the Great Ocean Road. The room was booked as part of a package with Eagle Riders. We had booked a motorcycle and one night's accommodation through the hire company so had no idea where we would be sleeping for the night. We were advised that it was a 'motel' and to be honest at first I was dubious. Being from the UK, motels aren't really a thing so I had no idea what to expect. We arrived around 6pm and were greeted by a friendly and helpful receptionist who checked us in. She gave us a fresh carton of milk for the morning, which was a really nice touch and change from the usual long life milk you get in a hotel. We found our room and were both shocked at the size. There was a fantastic queen size bed, which was really comfortable. There was a small kitchen/area, sofa and tv and a spacious bathroom/wetroom. The kitchen also has a microwave and a mini bar. We only stayed the one night, but you could comfortably stay there for much longer. I was worried that it might be noisy as the rooms are close together, however despite other guests nearby, I didn't hear a sound and slept well. The motel is only a few minutes walk from bars and restaurants so is in a great location. If I was visiting Port Campbell again, I would stay here again.
Arrived around 12:30. Could not check in as no one around. Nearly froze - room has no heating. Buttons to flush toilet so dirty had to cover with cloth. Fridge won't close. The only good thing is that it is in a good location for seeing some great sights. It is certainly not "best" of anything
We love Port Campbell and this is our second visit to the above Motel. We were made welcome from when we arrived until we left. Our room was very comfortable both times we stayed in a deluxe room. They provide a great laundry if needed. I love being able to walk down to the beach and around shops. Amazing place to relax.
Huge room, huge bathroom, nice little kitchenette, comfortable bed - what's not to like? Best Western is always easy and this one is no different. The woman at reception was very nice, helpful and friendly. Best of all, there are washing machines and dryers for guests to use at no extra cost, including clothes soap. I would not hesitate to recommend this Best Western. A very pleasant place to stay in Port Campbell.
Booked via Booking.com and were very pleased with our room. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bedding was of high standard. Reception was friendly and efficient. Short stroll to centre of town. TV picture not great but after a busy day it did not make a difference.
It is only a 5 minute walk to town centre. The bed was very comfortable and everything was nice and clean. We were welcomed very warmly when checking in and given any information we needed. This was ideal for us after a long day of driving.
Loved our stay here... In a quiet part of town (PC is only a few blocks, but the central strip gets a bit loud). Service was lovely and we wished we could have stayed another night. 10 min drive to 12 apostles
Location was extremely convenient. Only like 10 mind drive from twelve apostles. We booked a triple room. The room had coffee and milk and the minibar items were reasonably priced. The toilet was very spacious. Clean towels and sanitized toilet seat. All in all a very good experience. Except there's like a room on top of the one we booked and we could constantly hear footsteps. I was tired so I just slept through it.
The entrance to the motel is at the rear of the motel. Reception at the end of the driveway. We booked the Cottage. Not stand alone but group of units. Car park not outside the door. Large combined room. No minibar that was advertised. A very small TV on the wall , no good for us old folks. 5 minute walk to the town area
Accommodation made for a quick family visit to great ocean road. Close to attractions and most importantly the Twelve Apostles, the Grotto, London arch ect. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would recommend spending the night to catch the attraction morning, late afternoon or evening.
Had a cottage, but actually a small studio in a group of 4 so a bit of a disappointment. Mismatching wine glasses, a bug bear of mine, TV channels had lines across the majority of them and the heater took ages to warm the place up. No one around when we left to tell them the problems. Good points was an easy walk into town and plenty of parking close to your unit.
My wife and I stayed for one night here after our day driving the Great Ocean Road. It is within walking distance to the town center (or an even shorter drive when it's colder and darker and windy). Check-in was quick and simple. Our room was clean and comfortable. There is a small kitchen in the room, which would be convenient for those making longer stays. Can easily recommend choosing this inn for your stay.
I wasn't sure what this motel would be like as in the UK and US the Best Western brand is decidedly 'down-market'. But this was a real find. On the western edge of Port Campbell, just a 5 minute walk to shops, restaurants and the beach, it's a quiet, flower-lined oasis at the edge of town. Huge room (I was in #2) with sofa and desk, a large bathroom and kitchenette, and super great value (less than GBP£100 booked direct online). Nothing special, just very basic, but clean and comfortable. I spent just one night here on my drive along the Great Ocean Road and it was just right.
We stayed one night at this very comfy motel situated in an idea location on the Great Ocean road. We booked quite late, got a great deal and were impressed with the super comfortable king size bed. We wished we had stayed longer!
Stayed here for 1 night in April 2018. Great location with a few minutes walk into the small town centre. We had a double room, the bed was comfy and the room was spacious with a small kitchen area, meant we could have breakfast before we left. The staff were really friendly and we really enjoyed our night here. Would definitely stay again and recommend
Good spot to stop in Port Campbell. We stayed in a family room which had bunk beds and small pull out couch in one room and Queen bed in main living area. Room was clean and reasonably sized. Bed was comfortable and could use laundry facilities which was convenient. Entrance isn't the most obvious since you need to drive in off of a side street.
We stayed for 1 night on our way along Great Ocean Road. Check in was easy, room was clean and comfortable and what you'd expect for price. Short, easy walk to the town centre. I stayed with my partner but I'd be happy and comfortable staying there as a female on my own too. Would stay again.
Comfortable accommodation on the outskirts of Port Campbell (short walk to shops/restaurants). The room was clean and reasonably spacious with a small kitchenette and separate bathroom/toilet. There was a fridge, microwave and electric kettle in the kitchen. Complimentary tea, coffee and milk were provided. The nights were very cold, but the reverse cycle air con worked well. WiFi access was available, but it was very slow and kept cutting out all the time. Free parking available on site.
I was really impressed with our room as it was big and spacious for a motel. It was also clean and looks like it was recently renovated but one thing impressed me is the bed quality. It was such a relief knowing the bed is comfortable after a day of sight seeing. This place is a great value for money and not to mention the location is perfect. Close to touristy spots but yet not too close to the main road where all the restaurants are located where there would be noise and foot traffic.
We stayed at the Best Western off the recommendation of a traveler's blog and we were very glad we did. The staff was so friendly and directed us right to our room. Rooms have a porch with a wooden rocking chair- so quaint! Our room was the larger one with a king bed and large jacuzzi tub. A real treat after a long day on the road. It was also nice to fix ourselves a quick breakfast in the kitchenette before taking off in the morning. We had an issue with the air conditioner and someone came immediately to show us how to work it. Great service! We would stay here again in a heartbeat.
Unpretentious, it was. We had a very comfortable, clean and large room, including kettle, toaster and microwave for this who wish to self - cater. Situated in a quiet street, it was a very pleasant place to stay after the crowds on the Great Ocean Road, The reception was very helpful and guided us to see the mutton birds and the penguins
Clean and basic accommodation with a breakfast option (which we did not take) close to Port Campbell and near the 12 Apostles . Reception not open all the time and so need to establish their hours before checking in. Well run motel
This Best Western Inn met our needs very well. It was quiet and peaceful. A short walk to the downtown to find restaurants was good. Easy checkin and the room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Wifi was provided but we found it a bit sporadic. Overall good.
• Worst Hotel we stayed in a long while. We stayed 24 Dec left 25th. not only was it the most expensive hotel over the xmas break $$215 a night really!!!. Service non existent - staff unhelpful and rude. No Pool no spa restaurant if indeed one existed closed. Arrived 24th no one there took 10 mins before saw a bunch of envelopes attached to door which you didn't see till closed screen (someone else turned up after same issue same length time) No idea where to park, had to go looking around to find our room Rang to see what happening and as desp for coffee no milk in fridge GREAT. When woman turned up we had to get milk ourselves & carton cert not fresh. As someone stated they received. When asked re local area no interest or help given obv disturbing her quite abrupt. We then had to rush Info centre 10 mins before closed. Left next day. Considering charges for the room there should have been 1 person at reception and as xmas the next day would have been a nice gesture to have free breakfast for the guests or at least have been open!!! Wouldn't ever go back & certainly wouldn't recommend I do not know if this is standard price for that area but we didn't even pay that in melb city hotel where had pool spa gym restaurant etc etc & was on New years eve NOT IMPRESSED - DRIVE ON
Eliz M, General Manager at Best Western Great Ocean Road Inn, responded to this review
Thank you for your review, we are sorry that your expectations we not met. We are sorry that We did not have a pool, spa, gym or an on site restaurant to cater for your needs, we are sorry you missed the way finding signs located on the external wall to help find your room. All contact we had with you was of a polite, respectful and professional manner, we offer correct information of the area and suggested a visit to the local information centre was a must. We hoped that you had excepted our offering of an explanation, and we apologized for the remote check in on your arrival. We trust your room was comfortable, clean and in good working order, and you enjoyed the sites of Port Campbell along the Great Ocean Road.
Our visit to The Best Western was highlighted by Liz's outstanding customer service. We booked through an external internet booking site that didn't confirm our booking with the motel. As post xmas is a very busy time on the Great ocean road rooms are in extremely high demand. As we were on our way to Port Campbell and couldn't change our plans Liz went to great lengths to make sure we had accommodation for our night in Port Campbell.
Whilst the address is Great Ocean Road, access is via a side street - this is not noted on the website. Very dated furniture, poor bathroom facilities and I think that the Best Western brand is not one I would recommend.
Comfortable and clean with friendly staff close to the town Centre a pleasant place to stay after a long drive.. was expensive for what is on offer, but expected at peak times. Close to all local attractions
Nice quiet cabins just on the outskirts of Port Campbell. Spotlessly clean, comfortable bed and good wifi. What stood out for us was the service - after a very stressful day full of problems with car hire and traffic jams the woman at the front desk made a very kind gesture which made all the difference to our day!
A "typical" average Best Western hotel. You know what you are going to get. Well located near the western end of the Great Ocean Road. Easy to do the Arch, Grotto, Bay of Islands, and London Bridge. Room is "deco" or faux deco and has a funky feel, but otherwise comfortable and clean,
A short walk from the centre of Port Campbell, this motel is fine for a short stay. The room is quite large and includes a well-equipped kitchenette. The room is clean and very quiet at night. The staff is pleasant. The car is parked nearby, the only problem being that it had to be parked under a tree and got subsequently quite dirty. Overall, an okay motel to stop over.
The room is nice but some lights could not be turned on and we could not find any heating... it was really cold at night and in the morning. It was fine for one night but we would not have stayed any longer there event though the Apostles are worth a longer stay
I am so pleased to recommend this motel, as the staff were extremely pleasant and the room was huge. It was more like a one bedroom apartment. Well appointed bathroom. Good wifi. REAL milk with my morning coffee - none of this long life nonsense!! Plenty of parking and a short walk from town.
Enjoyed my stay here. Room very clean, nicely set up, great bed, kitchenette had all I needed. Pleased they had a laundry, which I needed by then. Good base for exploring. Tip: don't park under the tree, birds will use your car for target practice ;)
If you're looking for accommodation in Port Campbell, look no further, this is IT! It has everything. Close proximity to the shops, cafes, restaurants, foreshore and brewery. Our room was just lovely with a super comfortable king size bed and a spa. It is situated in a quiet pocket with no traffic other than the odd guest car. I think this accommodation deserves a much higher rating than it has. I would go there again without hesitation and would highly recommend. The staff were always courteous, cheerful and helpful. Thank you for a wonderful three night stay.
We only stayed one night but were happy with the room and would happily make a return visit. We had a king room with a spa which was reasonably priced, the bed was super comfy and sleeping was not a problem. The room will need a freshen up at some point as it did seem a little dated, noise could be a problem for light sleepers with the close proximity of the other rooms and the internal road only a metre and a half away from the window. Having said all that we would recommend a stay here.
We stayed here after driving the Great Ocean Road from Torquay. Our room was clean and very spacious. However the bathroom had no heating and was very cold. Additionally there was a very bad smell in the bathroom which was not pleasant. The WiFi was good for smartphone usage. The location is in walking distance from local restaurants. Port Campbell is nothing special.
We arrived after dark and it was difficult to find the place. The address had the place on the main road but the entrance is actually around the back. The receptionist looked as if she would rather be somewhere else. Not friendly at all. The room was adequate but rather costly. We would not be staying at this place again.
Eliz M, Manager at Best Western Great Ocean Road Inn, responded to this review
Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear you had difficulty locating the Motel and the car park entry due to it being dark. We were glad that you thought the room facilities were adequate. We hope that your trip along the Great Ocean Road was excellent.
Not the Best hotel for its brand. Just serviced a cold night with limited heating. Old building and not to the BW standards in my opinion. May be surrounding newer hotel/Motels may have better insulation and condition for comfortable stay.
Eliz M, General Manager at Best Western Great Ocean Road Inn, responded to this review
Thank you for your review, we are sorry that your stay was not as you expected, we have all felt the very cold winter here in Port Campbell, we hope you found warmer weather further on in your trip. We appreciate your comments and will be forwarding these onto hotel management.
I called and booked this motel with Liz over the phone whom booked us in and text messaged me the confirmation which was amazing customer service! Travelling along the Great Ocean Rd took longer than expected coming from Melbourne and I can't stress enough how good it felt to book accomodation instead of driving back! This motel was more than I expected since I usually stay in hotel or resorts, but this motel provided more than I anticipated. We stayed in a king size bedroom with spa and the bed was so comfortable and soft, if I could I would take it with me! The chairs and TV were comfortable aswell. The spa was perfect sized and large. The bar fridge was equiped with snacks and drinks and even breakfast was offered in the morning which we took advantage of. The wifi was fast and awesome!! Can't rave enough on how convenient it was! Was a wonderful stay and will definitely recommended to family and friends and will be back again!
Stayed here for one night on road trip.room was extremely clean.very spacious room. Comfy bed and lovely hot shower.Great that their was a microwave and toaster in the room even though I didn't actually use it.Very close to restaurants that serve great food. Extremely friendly.If in the area again would definitely stay here.
We managed to get the last queen sized room, small but all we needed, the bed was comfy and the room was warm. The tv wasn't the best but we managed to see the show we wanted to see. Clean and tidy with tea and coffee facilities plus fridge.
We only stayed here one night on our road trip along Australia's Great Ocean Road. I cannot overstate the perfect location of this accommodation. I used points for this stay and we were greeted at check-in and offered milk for our tea and coffee. We also were directed into town where we could find restaurants, pubs, and shops. Check-out was 10 (a bit early for off-season) but we wanted to get site-seeing anyway. The hotel is quaint but clean and comfortable. It was winter so we used the heater which worlked well. Room was large, bed was comfortable, WiFi worked well, tea & coffee provided in room. Perfect for type of activities in the area.
Arrived early - no problem for Lisa in office. Even got upgraded to nice upstairs unit. Super clean and very comfortable. The place is well maintained has solid wifi and offers a fully stocked kitchen if eating out is getting a bit much. Would strongly recommend to anyone coming to this end of the Great Ocean Road.
Stayed one night during road trip of Great Ocean Road on the way to Adelaide. Clean and comfortable accommodation. Staff at the reception were friendly and knowledgable of the local area. The motel is in a great location not too far from the 12 apostles, Loch Ard Gorge and close to the town for eateries. Overall a pleasant stay.
Good accommodation,booked based on the reviews in tripadvisor, didn't disappoint. cosy , clean accommodation, no frills. only issue was with the airconditioner on heating mode, as the weather was a bit cold the room wouldn"t warm beyond a certain limit .otherwise enjoyed the stay.
Proximity to fish & chips for two: $20 Decent but mediocre accommodation: $140 Proximity to "12" Apostles & Loch And Gorge: $140/night Decent parking: $140/night Spotting a koala outside reception: PRICELESS
The room and the bathroom both generously proportioned, bed and pillows fabulous, shower great despite being over a spa bath, equipped kitchenette would facilitate self catering if desired. Reception helpful and efficient. Thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay
This motel is ok. Nothing more. Rooms are good size, comfortable with old fashioned bathrooms. A 5 minute walk to cafes/restaurants. Parking good. 5 min drive to London Bridge and Twelve Apostles so great location.
Booked 2 rooms at this Motor Inn friendly informative welcome, rooms spacious and clean with everything you need for a short stay. Plenty of onsite parking, motel away from main road so lovely and quiet. Waking distance to shops and restaurants. Nice touch being offered fresh milk at reception upon check in.
arrived and found the property to be very "spartan".....that is minimalist. The Great Ocean Road trip has wonderful places to visit. But this hotel/motel was not a fancy as we were hoping. The main unfortunate thing was that the temperatures were dropping at night and we discovered after the office was closed that the heat apparently was not available at this time of year. Well, the temperature last night was 47F and the room this morning was 47F....so we left well before the ? "continental" breakfast.
Eliz M, Manager at Best Western Great Ocean Road Inn, responded to this review
Thank you for your review, we were surprised that you left early and missed your breakfast of beautiful hot croissants & jam. All the rooms have split system heating and cooling controlled by a remote on the bedside table, I am sorry that we missed you before 9pm, this would have been an easy fix to rectify this for you in your room. We trust you enjoyed the sights along the Great Ocean Road while in Port Campbell Australia.
Solid, very friendly and very comfortable beds. Cold, but warmed up quickly. Really good location only five minutes from the main city. Nice to have chocolate bars in the mini-bar. Parking and internet were free!
Eliz M, Manager at Best Western Great Ocean Road Inn, responded to this review
Thank you for your review of your recent stay, we are glad that your stay was good and the bed was comfortable for you (recently up graded to wonderful pillow top mattress). Its great to hear the location was close enough to the town center and you enjoyed the mini bar facilities.
The rooms are set off the road and the rooms are quite pleasant. Not much parking on premises. The facility is just a bit too far from the center of town to walk. Staff very pleasant. Check-in/out easy.
We checked in the afternoon. We see a swarm of flies in the room. We can't call the front desk to let them know if your difficulties or anything as the phones in the room don't work. We were getting late thus left for sightseeing. We came back to only find out that now the wifi is not working. It's staggering in and out. And again you can't complain as the phones don't work. I can't be going out at the FD in my pajamas.....!!! Horrible stay as we will face the flies all night long.
reception_11, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Port Campbell Great Ocean Road Motor Inn, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are sorry to hear that your stay was not as you had hoped. Our policy is to give guests a room change if we are notified at time of check in if there are any issues in regards to the room or location, we are sorry we could not provide this service for you. We apologise and thank you for bringing to our attention in regards to contacting the front desk due to the phone in your room not connecting to reception, we are in the process of having this checked. The Wi Fi is usually reliable, we can not guarantee 100% connection all of the time, but we do offer a hot line for guest to call in times when experiencing connection difficulties, our front desk staff are also happy to call and do this for the guest.
We stayed for one night when visiting the 12 Apostles and had a very pleasantnight here. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. All we needed was a hot shower and a place to sleep and this accommodation more than fitted the bill. Lovely big towels and a gushy shower! I picked it from another TripAdvisor review and it didn't disappoint.
Compared with some of the motel like properties on offer in the area this place was quite nicely laid out. The rooms were adequate with kitchen facilities enabling us to self cater on the electric BBQ in the common area. Very clean, comfortable beds, although the pillows left room for improvement! Wifi excellent, parking easy. All round not a bad place to stay while touring the GOR.
This property has so much character and a dash of luxury, that I was surprised to find at a best western. The rooms almost feel like little cabins. It has high, peaked Apex style ceilings, and the decor was charming and neat. We also appreciated the big bathroom, and comfy bed. The location was good as well, it is only a short walk into town. A great overnight stay on the Great Ocean Road!
We stayed one night here allowing us to do sunset and sunrise at the 12 apostles. Worked well - BUT. Be aware that Port Campbell eateries largely close at 9pm so get food sorted before sunset, Room was spacious , clean and a good kitchenette. Had a minibar that wasn't over expensive. Good size fridge and free milk. Overall, recommended
We were greeted upon arrival by an exceptionally friendly lady who was more than happy to chat about the local attractions. Family room is excellent with the kids area separated as second bedroom and has the option to interconnect with another room. Kitchenette is well appointed with microwave, kettle, toaster and crockery/cutlery. We have stayed here before & will stay again. Great rates too. Highly recommend.
We had a great night stay at Best Western Port Campbell. The grounds are very well maintained, our room are just lovely, cosy and very clean.. The beds are great and Liz, the receptionist kindly put our heater on prior to arriving around 7pm in the evening after our 2.5 hr Harley ride from Geelong. Highly recommended for all who go travel down the great ocean road. Thank you again.
this hotel should stay shut during the winter upon our arrival the windows to the room had been left open on a cold and very windy da the in room heater was insufficient to warm the room up. when i asked for additional heating i was initially told i couldnt have any because it would blow a fuse. however staff did give us a heater but that too was pathetic at heating such a large room there was no heating at all in the bathroom that was freezing. despite leaving the heaters on my wife had to put some clothes on in order to feel warm in bed there was no draft excluder around the door so on a windy night such as we stayed on the wind coming in from the door could be felt a good 5 feet away and was blowing the curtains im sure on a hot summers day the room might be alright, but if you cant heat the rooms up stay shut in winter and invest in draft excluder
, Owner at BEST WESTERN Port Campbell Great Ocean Road Motor Inn, responded to this review
Thank you for your review, I'm sorry to hear that your stay was not satisfactory. Unfortunately you experience one of Port Campbell coldest winter days. Management has taken your review concerns very seriously and in result of this we have had a professional installer inspect and carry out all checks of the heating/cooling system. Thank you for expressing your concerns and bringing these issues to our attention, this feed back will allow management to provide a much better service to all our valued guest in the future.
We choose this motel based on port Campbell's close proximity to the 12 apostles as we wanted to visit the 12 apostles for sunrise, which was fantastic if you can drag yourself out of bed that early! Only 15 minutes drive. The motel was as expected. Comfy bed, clean. We had s small issue with the hot water in the bathroom in the morning, but it wasn't anything major. The receptionist was extremely apologetic when we went to check out.
, Owner at BEST WESTERN Port Campbell Great Ocean Road Motor Inn, responded to this review
Thank you for your review, and choosing to stay with us. Its lovely to hear your stay and visit to the 12 Apostle was a positive one, well done getting out of bed for sunrise! It is well worth it! Thank you for your feedback and bringing to our attention the issue with the hot water in the bathroom we appreciate that you made the effort let us know at check out.
Have been traveling around Vic and NSW and staying in various motels. This was the most expensive, though was their cheapest room. This probably reflects the popularity of the destination. It was clean tidy and did the job, but compared to others I stayed in on this trip it gets an average score as was small and tired in decor. If I was back in Port Campbell I would look to the other motels near the water to test them out.
I have stayed here before with just my husband so I decided to return with my brother, his wife, and my sister. I booked into an accommodation that said 2 bedrooms. That was not exactly the case. There was one bedroom with two beds, and then the living area that had a double bed, sitting chairs and the kitchen. This was misleading and not really 2 bedrooms. The rooms were very nice, clean, and suited our purposes but with that one issue. The receptionist was helpful and friendly. One bed in the living area does not a bedroom make.
We were on an overnight trip seeing all the "GOR" has to offer when we thought we should find somewhere to stay the night! Best Western catered for our needs, 2 families on such short notice. Rooms comfortable, clean and warm and Liz in reception was very helpful in all aspects of our short stay.
We phoned ahead to organise accommodation for the 24 April 2016. We were offered a room and told how to find the place and where the parking was. We were also quoted a price of $185 for the night. On arrival we told the woman at reception who we were and that we had a booking. After a few minutes we were told very abruptly that there was no booking in our name. We produced the paper where we had written down the details we were quoted but we still were told nothing in our name. After about ten minutes the receptionist rang another accommodation place and made a booking in our name and told the other operator that we were to pay the quoted price and the extra was to be billed to the Best Western Motel. We were not happy that an apparent booking was not recorded and we were put through the stress of being told we were not telling the truth. As we were about to leave this woman picked up a piece of paper and quoted our credit card number and told us when and where the Anzac Parade was to be held the next day. We really think that this operator is a little underhanded as we had not mentioned the Credit Card or the Anzac Service except over the phone the day before. We can honestly say that this motel and operator will not be being recommended to any one at all.
We had travelled the Great Ocean Rd all day before arriving at Port Campbell Best Western. The innkeeper was a lovely, very engaging person who made us completely comfortable. The unit was large, clean, quiet, and well-appointed. The bathroom was large with a great shower; a small kitchen area was well-equipped. The innkeeper encouraged us to use the washer and dryer to refresh our clothes, and gave us some ideas and suggestions about the local area. I hated leaving. It was so ;lovely and so calming...a perfect stop along the road.
Wonderful motel. Very close to everything. We loved our stay there. It's stated that check-out is on 10.00, but you can arrange to stay 1 hour more. Though quite expensive. wi-fi is very poor. ????????????? ?????. ???????? ????????????. ? ???????? ???????, ??? ????? ?? 10 ????, ?? ????? ???????????? ? ?????????? ?? ??? ????? ??? ??????. ??? ?? ????? ????? ?????????? ???????. Wi-fi ????? ?????????.
Stayed for two nights during a visit to the sights of the Great Ocean Road between Christmas & new year 2015. Initially turned up at the very similarly named motel next door, but were directed to the correct entrance. Lady on check in was very helpful, giving us plenty of tips on getting the best photographs of the 12 Apostles and confirming when sunrise was the next morning. Room was decent enough - clean with everything we needed whilst being a little tired looking. There was free wifi and also a laundry room with free use of washing machine and tumble drier which was very handy. Given the time of year the place was full, so was a little difficult to find a parking space in the evening when arriving back late after sunset and the Little Penguin parade! We spent very little time in the room because the sights are truly spectacular!! Would recommend getting up very early and making the short drive to the 12 Apostles viewing area for sunrise. The crowds at that time were also far less which made it a memorable experience. The weather was beautiful during our visit - hot and sunny, so we also took the 15min helicopter ride over the Apostles, something I'd also recommend.
Great value for money, well appointed suite of bedroom, living, dining, kitchen, spacious bathroom with spa. Really quiet, and comfortable bed provided a great night sleep. Friendly, helpful staff. We will look out for for Best Western from now on.
Nice comfortable room with all needed for a short stay. 5 min walk to shops & cafes etc. We had Cottage Room which was compact but had Table & chairs, Tea and Coffee, TV and a good bed. Bar fridge stocked. Nice shared veranda with outside seating in quiet location. Nothing flash but totally okay. Treated like valued customer. Motel does have bar area. Wi Fi etc. Continental Breaky avaliable to my memory.
I expected more for the price. Furnishings were rather cheap, the shower was a bit grungy, and the linens were a little tired. On the plus side the desk lady was efficient and helpful and there were free laundry facilities.
Nice People, clean and big rooms and very comfortable beds. Into the Town Center it Takes 5 min to Walk. Good bargain. You should See te Great Ocean Road and stay at the best Western in Port Campbell. I can recommend it to 100%. Tee and coffee making facilities Are also in the room.
It's possible to feel home at a hotel! Very welcoming friendly staff , we have a 2 year old but forgot our stroller but they offered one and didn't mind to change decor of the room for a "portacot" to fit. Located in a very convenient location close to rests, pubs, parks and beach a 2 minute walk will get you there.. In addition to this a yummy fulfilling brekkie :) Highly recommend it
Spent the last night of our holidays in this super motel. The location and facilities were outstanding and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. Great wifi and continental breakfast served to your room if requested. I would strongly recommend this motel.
Great place to stay, rooms were beautiful, clean and plenty of room, beds were very comfortable. The couple running it were very friendly and helpful. Good location only a short walk down to the Main Street and a short drive to 12 apostles. Highly recommend staying here
If you are driving from and to Melbourne along the Great Ocean Road in 2-3 days like my husband and I did last fall, Port Campbell is a nice place to spend a night, location-wise. This hotel was one of few lodging options in the town and I didn't expect much but the place was good enough to stay for a night after a long day of driving and sightseeing. The bed was big and comfy, the bathroom and the bathtub excessively large for two people... The whole town looked sort of dark and empty after about 8 pm, but the hotel staff gave us info on a couple of places to have a late dinner.
Family loft room is small but great for families with the kids having their own space. Great location, an easy walk from town without being caught up in the bustle. Great friendly staff - for a mid range highly recommended
The BW Motor Inn in Port Campbell is a good place to stay while exploring areas along the Great Ocean Road. The rooms are spacious, clean, and well maintained. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The overall facility is a little cramped (parking), but that did not detract from an enjoyable stay.
The rooms were clean as was the bath. They provided free coffee in the rooms and free wifi. I would recommended this motel. We had no reservations but they were very accommodating and gave us two rooms. Everyone was very friendly. My only negative was the hot water in the shower didn't last.
Most of the towns along the great ocean road do not have accomodations, so this is a great place to stay. The 12 apostles are close by, so you can see it on the way at afternoon or going back in the morning. Two other beautiful overviews are within a mile or two. We took a picnic dinner and stayed until sunset. The room included a small kitchen/dining area. There is a laundry on the grounds. The rooms were located along boardwalk with steps, so it might be difficult to access for some.
Not much out of average here. The room I was in had two beds one comfortable and one not. I had the not comfortable one. In the middle of the night it got very cold and when I tried to turn on the heat the thermostat did nothing. It wasn't connected to anything. Finally turned on the light and found another control over the bed that turned on the heat. Found the bathroom very sparse, with a flimsy plastic shower stall. At least the water heater was close, so there was hot water. Was dismayed by the ill fitting curtains on the large windows that looked across the court into another room. Not much in town to attract visitors except sunset viewing of the 12 Apostles, thus the poor tourist facilities.
The motel is a little off the centre of Port Campbell, next to a gas station. The motel feels a little old and rustic, but comfortable enough. The hostess was very friendly and helpful. We saw a kangaroo just when we were leaving the town early next morning. The town itself has many restaurants to choose from.
This is a perfectly adequate place to stay in Port Campbell but at $165 I think it's a bit overpriced and that's in spite of getting an upgrade. I didn't like the set up with the bed immediately in front of the outside door, the curtains left gaps you could look in on, the beige towels looked dirty and I positive hated the furry blanket with a thin bed-sheet between me and what everyone else get in contact with. The location (5 minutes walk to the town which is probably the motel furthest away from town) pulls it up from 2 stars.
Stayed here on Aug 30 as part of the Great Ocean Road trip. This is a small town with few attractions, and this is reflected in the general standard of accommodation available. The BW Motor Inn is a very average place. Although rooms are fairly sizeable with a kitchen area, the general décor and dim lighting make staying in this place a depressing experience. And breakfast is not included in the room rate !!
The bathroom was large but there was a smal problem with the drain. The room was basic. The room was large enough for two adults and two children. We did not take the breakfast but in the city itself.
I have stayed in this motel extensively while working in Port Campbell a few years ago and found the service terrific. Lately I revisited and was very disappointed with the service, it obviously has had a change of owners/manager and is in need of freshen up.
Wherever Life Takes You, Best Western Is There®
Each Best Western® branded hotel is independently owned and operated.