Room 1
Room 2
Room 3
Promotion code

St James Hotel, BW Premier Collection, Nottingham

1 Rutland Street, NG1 6FL, Nottingham, Great Britain - See on a map
St James Hotel, BW Premier Collection - St. James Hotel The St James Hotel, BW Premier Collection is ideally located in the center of Nottingham. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

Hidden-gem luxury in Nottingham city center. With an unassuming location in the heart of one of the country's most vibrant city centers, St James Hotel BW Premier Collection by Best Western is a home away from home for those who like more than a touch of character. Handy for Nottingham train station and surrounded by local talking points – museums, historical sites, thriving venues and first-rate shopping – our little slice of boutique luxury places you right where you need to be for exploring the 'Queen of the Midlands'. Leisure and business guests alike will revel in the unique charm, quality and personality of a contemporary setting – our room layouts and designs combined with quirky decor to create the warmest of welcomes. With Nottingham Castle, Ye Olde Trip to Jerusalem and the Caves of Nottingham practically on our doorstep, you won't be short on storied histories, while the nearby Nottingham Playhouse, Theatre Royal & Concert Hall, Nottingham Arena and Victoria Shopping Centre provide entertainment for all tastes. From Classic Doubles and Four Poster rooms to the Penthouse Suite and our innovative Crash Pads – all with complimentary WiFi and other extras – we've a range of accommodation options to make your stay work for you. And you won't want to leave the unique atmosphere of our No/6 Bar & Lounge, offering round-the-clock service and one of Nottingham’s finest cocktail bars. Together with our luxury wedding and honeymoon offerings, plus state-of-the-art business hosting facilities, come and see for yourself why St James Hotel BW Premier Collection by Best Western is the talk of the town.

BW Premier Collection

St James Hotel

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Hotel advantages

  • Air conditioning
    Air conditioning
  • Lounges/bars
    Lounges/bars
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
  • Safe deposit box
    Safe deposit box
  • Multilingual staff
    Multilingual staff
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
based on 29 guest reviews
NOTE ISSUED
Excellent
10
Very Good
9
Average
4
Poor
2
Terrible
4
REFER TO NOTICE
Business Business
1
Couples Couples
1
Family Family
1
Friends getaway Friends getaway
0
Solo travel Solo travel
1
SUMMARY NOTES
Cleanliness
Location
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Value

"LEISURE BREAK"

4
Allen B, Chorley, United Kingdom 16/05/2022

Excellent facilities in a good location. Breakfast was varied, however the area was a little tight on space when busy. The hotel's event organiser is very efficient and has incredible customer service skills.

"Lovely relaxing hotel"

4
Nezcassee, Brighton, United Kingdom 15/05/2022

Stayed here for one night in a standard double - great value. Hotel is hidden away so very little noise. Staff were friendly and (mostly) efficient, although after being shown and charged the correct bill I found I had been given someone else's invoice to take away. Good spread of hot and cold food for breakfast. My review has lost a star because the standard of maintenance in the rooms needs to be improved. Paint is chipped in places, also my washbasin had a crack in the surround - see photos. It just lacks the smooth, bland perfection of a Premier Inn or Holiday Inn, but makes up for it in character.

"Nice and eclectic"

4
BoleynMom, Longmont, Colorado 12/05/2022

Nice hotel. Located close to Nottingham Castle and good restaurants. The room was nice too. The hotel is eclectic. It was our first night in the UK and we were exhausted or we would have drinks in the bar which looked like a cozy library. Parking is confusing as you must park in garage next door. They do validate though.

"Great Value Hotel"

4
robmM8161TJ, Witney, United Kingdom 11/05/2022

Fabulous service from a really friendly and helpful team. We stayed in a small double (crash pad) and a standrd double - both adequate for a short stay, but as the name suggests, the small double, is very compact. Overall cleanliness was fine, with a modern TV and tea and coffee (and biscuits!) in the room. Good all-you-can-eat cooked breakfast, with lots of pastry and cold options as well.

"Avoid"

1
R2493AEannas, Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom 09/05/2022

Really strange set up. I booked through expedia and contacted expedia to rearrange my booking due to a friend having Covid. Hotel said no one was available who could authorise the change but someone would be in touch in 7 to 10 days. No one was. My rooms were never cancelled and we were recorded as a no show. Expedia again contacted hotel who said no one works there who can authorise room change or refund and gave an email address. It's now 4 weeks since we were meant to stay and still nothing from the hotel.

"Fantastic service as always"

5
User 01/05/2022

This was our 5th visit for an annual conference locally. We were not disappointed. The staff were friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed an executive room which I highly recommend as we had brought our two small children. The entire hotel was very clean. Good breakfast, very high standard of room housekeeping. Particularly mention to the welcoming reception staff (including the nighttime reception staff who provided me with additional tea bags - very important!) and very accommodating bar staff. We were there as part of a large group and felt so welcome in the hotel. Excellent value for money. We are all looking forward to returning again.

Julian Saunders, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Imogen F Thank you so much for your lovely feedback and we as a team are so pleased that you enjoyed your 5th visit at St James Hotel, looking forward to your 6th already. Kind regards

"Excellent Hidden Gem"

5
funnello13, Grimsby, United Kingdom 30/04/2022

I cannot understand the negativity of some of the reviews for this hotel. I found it very clean, comfortable, with reasonably priced, good food and very polite and friendly staff. The location is great, close enough to the centre but out the way of the crowds at night. With secure car parking for an extra few pounds it is excellent value for a city hotel. Would definitely use this hidden gem again.

"Good, quiet location"

4
sparty328, United Kingdom 28/04/2022

Good location within the city centre and a minutes walk to the castle and Robin Hood statue. Check in was efficient. I booked a ‘crash pad' which by definition is small but suited my needs but would probably go for a bigger room if staying any longer. The room itself was clean and had everything I needed there's a power socket by the bed, tea/coffee facility, the mattress is very soft. Breakfast was very good with a nice choice set in a nice setting which includes the bar area and has a very relaxing evening ambience. WiFi signal was excellent. Only negative was the hideous 70's style carpet in the lift :-)

Julian Saunders, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Sparty328 Thank you for your feedback, I'm pleased you had a good stay and enjoyed the facilities of St James Hotel. The funky carpet in the lift is indeed in hand for a 'face lift' hopefully next time you visit you will see a difference. Please book directly when you return to Nottingham for our best available rates and we can discuss room options should you wish to stay for longer. Kind regards

"Disappointing stay"

2
MeganB357, London, United Kingdom 19/04/2022

The location is excellent. It is near Nottingham Castle and some nice bars near Ye Olde Trip to Jerusalem. I would recommend a walk around the Park Estate as well. Disliked · Room was tiny and extremely warm. There was an air con unit but it was not letting out much cold air at all. The television didn't work. The toilet was dirty and there was chipped paintwork. Having stayed at this hotel numerous times around 4 years ago, it has gone rapidly down hill. We paid £157 and it was not worth that by any standard. Receptionist at front of house was extremely rude and condescending. When we arrived, with heavy bags having walked from our car parking spot, we had to wait for him to finish a phone call with no apology for the wait. When we returned downstairs, I mentioned the fact that we were unable to tune to TV (having tried multiple times) and he claimed we should not be watching the TV and should "be out". This was completely unnecessary for him to comment on how I spend my stay. He then told us that the network was down across the hotel which would have been useful to know when we checked in to avoid spending a significant amount of time trying to fix it. Not impressed.

Julian Saunders, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review
Dear MeganB357 Thank you for your most valued feedback and my apologies for not exceeding your expectations, communication is king and I have already spoken with the team as things out of our control must be mentioned to our guests. We are investigating the air conditioning as its only just been serviced so I'm not sure what the issue is. I suggest you contact me to discuss further when you have a moment to talk about a return visit.

"Very enjoyable stay"

5
User 08/04/2022

Great hotel, well appointed, clean, quiet room, in a central location. The breakfast was very good, with some special touches on how it is presented, served by a Vicky, who was very attentive. Thank you.

"This is a great hotel!"

5
Minty81, Pateley Bridge, United Kingdom 07/04/2022

I first came here for afternoon tea on a wowcher deal but decided to return to actually stay. Was just here for one night but efficient check in and friendly staff, clean warm room with White Company products, lovely peaceful breakfast and afternoon tea. I can only say good things! Great location too.

"Don't go here at present"

1
Grandadseaside, Woodbridge, United Kingdom 06/04/2022

Literally the worst hotel anyone who works here must feel sorry for them selves Awful staff awful rooms so hot unbearable clearly the worst experience I have ever had Room 105 hated it every minute Phoned booking . Com whilst staying as e hated it so much

"Nice hotel with good location"

5
128JT, Helsinki, Finland 02/04/2022

If you are looking for a nice hotel to stay in Nottingham St James Hotel is a good choice. The hotel is right next to the city center and everything is within walking distance. The staff is friendly and the rooms are quiet

"Shocking!"

1
User 02/04/2022

Very disappointed in stay. Checked in online but on arrival at hotel it could not be found. Was a assigned a terrible room, very small, stale, noisy and extremely cold. Breakfast was no better was buffet style but once food had gone no replenishment. Therefore even though breakfast was still running for a further 30 minutes when we arrived there was nt much to choose from. The pastries were as stale as our room.

"Cheap and Cheerful"

4
User 24/03/2022

Paid £120 for two nights in a small double room at St. James' and was very impressed with the quality. The room was spacious considering it was only a small and the bathroom included a bath and decent shower. Staff were welcoming on arrival and were happy to help when I had an issue with my key card and when I asked for extra tea and milk. Room was cleaned and restocked whilst I was out the first day which was nice. Only niggle was that the mattress wasn't the best quality but still slept well as it is in a quiet location.

Julian Saunders, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Thrash27 Thank you for your feedback and I'm so pleased that you had a lovely experience with us and I will pass this on to the team, they will be delighted. Please do contact us directly should you wish to revisit Nottingham. Kind regards Julian Saunders

"Great location, that's about it."

3
lornasman, Highlands, Scotland 21/03/2022

Great location, breakfast was excellent, friendly staff, unfortunately that's all this Hotel has going for it. This a very NOISY Hotel, don't expect a great nights sleep, it won't happen. Drunk loud people in the corridor at night, and the doors are not a snug fit, the corridors are narrow and no ventilation, means all that shouting and yelling has nowhere to go but through your door. The décor is very dark indeed, making those corridors oppressive, even the lifts are poorly lit. The hum from the electric panel in my room was awful, I had to pull my card at night just to sleep, but then you have no power in your room. I won't stay here again, there is way to much going against it.

"Nice Hotel Very Close To Nottingham Castle"

4
Julie M, Stockport, United Kingdom 06/03/2022

A pleasant comfortable hotel in a good central location. The breakfast consisted of a good choice of both hot and cold food. The room was comfortable. Pleasant staff. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

"Disappointed"

2
Trishaf71, Norwich, United Kingdom 24/02/2022

Unfortunately the hotel although looking grand on the outside wasn't so pleasant inside room we had the penthouse 612 dirty sheets came and changed it for another stained sheet which was then changed again but left in the room… thick dust under the units in lounge ….. breakfast no mushrooms cold bacon cold sausage and cold tomatoes asked if more was coming out said yes but nothing came out . We got free breakfast as the sheets were filthy but breakfast wasn't great ! Definitely a miss for this hotel in future shame as best westerns are our favourite places to stay

Julian Saunders, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Trishaf71 Thank you for your feedback, we have already corresponded so I see no point in repeating our conversation but as always thank you for your feedback. Kind regards Julian Saunders

"No heating"

1
User 21/02/2022

Zero no heating in the room I left a review on there site of zero to find it published as 10. It will not allow me to alter it. I want people to know that the room wasn't heated and ruined our stay. The company hasn't even acknowledged the fact and published my review as a 10

"Pleasant stay"

4
User 08/01/2022

Excellent service and a nice, professional but welcoming feel. The bar tender was very attentive and friendly and ai noticed that he was cleaning covid screens and public areas whilst not serving guests. Parking is in the ncp right by the door and town is a stones throw away

Julian Saunders, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Josantq Thank you so much for your lovely feed back and we do hope to be able to welcome you back to St James Hotel very soon, my bar tender will certainly be recognised for your comments which again I thank you for. Kind regards Julian Saunders General Manager

"Great hotel some negatives easily remedied"

4
User 30/12/2021

The hotel reception and bar interior are amazing and the staff fantastic especially the gentleman who showed us to the car park. Noise by housekeeping woke us in the morning and sofa was a dirty sofa bed, not worth additional cost for seating area in the room

"Amazing service"

5
citytovillage, Nottingham, United Kingdom 28/12/2021

We stayed in the penthouse for my 30th birthday. From start to finish I could not fault anything. The receptionist Daniela was lovely and professional. The room was stunning, immaculately clean, lots of mod cons. Shower was amazing jacuzzi bath was lovely. Free toiletries were great too. Breakfast staff in the morning were lovely nothing too much trouble and cooked me fresh hash browns and eggs when I asked. All in all 10/10 stay and will definitely be back!

"Christmas hotel break"

5
User 21/12/2021

Third stay here and as always an enjoyable stay. This hotel is close enough to the city center but far enough out so is quiet at night. Right next to the castle and 5 minutes walk to the ‘trip' the oldest pub in Britain makes the hotel an ideal choice. Will be back again next year.

"Unique boutique hotel"

5
275jacih, Rayleigh, United Kingdom 15/12/2021

A fabulous hotel in the heart of Nottingham, just a few minutes walk from the Castle and the Roundhouse restaurant. Great decor, not the usual bland magnolia or grey, but an eclectic mix of styles. Lovely restaurant area with a mezzanine floor full of natural light. Breakfast is a must with a great menu to suit all palates. Friendly staff.

Julian Saunders, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review
Dear 275jacih Thank you so much for your lovely feedback and we do hope that you will visit St James Hotel and continue to explore Nottingham. Kind regards Julian Saunders General Manager

"Unique boutique hotel"

5
275jacih, Rayleigh, United Kingdom 15/12/2021

A great hotel in the heart of Nottingham just minutes from the Castle and the Roundhouse restaurant. The decor is not your run of the mill bland magnolia or grey, it has real charm and character and has a unique atmosphere. Breakfast is good, a wide choice for every palate. A fabulous choice of wines and spirits. Friendly staff.

"It's a hard pass for me like please don't go At least find somewhere like clean"

1
User 04/12/2021

They don't know what a vac is as the carpets where absolutely disgusting,the decor is all over the shop but each to there own I guess,they refused to serve us drinks as we were too ‘drunk' at 10 pm as we only just walked in and weren't disturbing or being rude to anyone It was really dusty especially the weird lamp lights things as if someone knocked that would gone all in are drink just vile really,the receptionist was really slow,the breakfast was just vile,just don't go

Julian Saunders, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review
Dear sofiasR1813JQ Thank you for your feedback, my bar tender is currently taking advice from the police to see whether he can press charges against your party for your dreadful behaviour, which quite frankly was threatening, bullying and illegal, having watched and listened to the CCTV footage its quite disappointing that you still believe that you are in the right. There were many other guests in the No/6 who have also contacted me to complain about your outburst but commending my team for how they handled the situation. When one of your party had to be carried in to the bar its kind of a give away but you probably won't conveniently remember that. Luckily there was a sensible gentleman in your group and had that not been the case you would all have been asked to leave as we won't tolerate such behaviour and you certainly won't be welcome at the hotel again, you are on the hall of fame which is our refusal log along with the images of you and the rest of the party for future reference as we run a safe and responsible establishment as the licensing law dictates.

"Lovely hotel in a great location"

5
User 17/10/2021

A lovely room in a great hotel with a stunning view of the castle. Good breakfast with good selections of continental and cooked. Very friendly and helpful staff who couldn't do enough. Great prices for a lovely hotel.

Julian Saunders, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review
Dear ScottA9501 Thank you for your lovely feedback which I will share with the team, they will be delighted. We do hope that we can welcome you back again very soon. Kind regards Julian Saunders General Manager

"Good location Lumpy Mattress "

3
Gezzerboy, Braintree, United Kingdom 17/10/2021

Stayed here on a Saturday night with the missus and we had a room on the 6th floor.. Room cost was £122 The room was small but clean but the mattress was one of the hardest and lumpiest I have ever had the misfortune to sleep on.. Breakfast at £12 a head was ok but nothing special

Julian Saunders, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Gezzerboy Thank you for your most valued feed back. We are almost at the end of replacing every mattress in the hotel and I can only apologise that you found your bed to be hard but worst of all lumpy. I will certainly investigate this and ensure it is highlighted in the next delivery of new ones. May I suggest that you contact me directly when you wish to stay with us again and I will deal with your booking directly. Kind regards Julian Saunders General Manager

"No problems"

4
HabLeaf, Larne, United Kingdom 27/09/2021

An overnight stay in order to see the football, there was no problems here. Usually I stay in Jurys but this time tried St James for the first time. Comfortable and clean and the food was okay {lasagne} Would stay here again, not overly plush but fine for the purpose.

Julian Saunders, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review
Dear HabLeaf Thank you for your feedback and we do hope to welcome you back very soon. Kind regards Julian Saunders General Manager

"Impressive hotel "

5
User 24/09/2021

Stayed at this hotel for two nights very impressed with everything from the friendly reception staff and the comfy rooms with all amenities large bed and bathroom with powerful shower even provided bottled water with the usual tea and coffee in a central location with handy carpark just beside hotel will definitely stay again and highly recommend

Julian Saunders, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review
Dear 904tanyar Thank you for your lovely feedback and we do look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Please contact the hotel for our best available rates. Kind regards Julian Saunders General Manager

"An absolute dump"

1
Jim B, Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom 05/09/2021

Stayed in this hovel last night as we were in Nottingham for the National Karate championships at the University. Looks quite swish in the lobby at night until you scratch the surface and delve deeper… The hotel in daylight is run down and dirty. We went down for breakfast on Sunday morning and none of the carpets in the bar, lounge or reception had been vacuumed. Photo below to back that up as I'm sure they'll deny that. The room itself is very tired and run down in general. The bathroom is ancient, the ceiling cracked and peeling and the toilet seat won't go all the way up, or stay up, because of the sink. I could probably live with all that for the price were it not just plain dirty. The worst is yet to come. I got into bed late, very tired, and discovered what I can only describe as a huge crater in the middle of the mattress from left to right at about where my hips lay. Incredibly uncomfortable! It was so deep I could lay a bottle of water in it and the bottle was level with the rest of the mattress. This made sleep an impossibility for me so I removed the sheets to see if I could stuff the hole with a blanket I found in the wardrobe. Big mistake. What I uncovered was the most utterly sickening and disgusting mattress I have ever seen in my life (see pictures). I'm not naive enough to think that all hotel mattresses are pristine but, there is a line and this crossed it by a country mile. The wafer thin, ancient mattress cover also looked rotten. When we checked in the receptionist said the hotel was fully booked so complaining at 2am would have been futile. This makes you wonder what goes on in other ‘unseen' areas such as the kitchen if the staff deem this acceptable. I complained at the desk in the morning to receive the usual platitudes of ‘I'm sorry Sir, I will report this to the manager'. The staff were generally fine and friendly enough and this place was quite cheap. Cheap or not, that mattress is beyond human use to me and is absolutely disgusting and unacceptable on any level. If you're on a stag/hen do and intend to collapse into bed so drunk you can't even remember your own name, then this place will probably suit you, if you're willing to sleep on a mattress like this. I'm not and I won't be back.

Julian Saunders, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Jim B Thank you very much for your most valued feedback. We are just picking up our bed replacement program having been closed for such a long time due to Covid closures of our hotels bars and restaurants across the wider country, which I'm sure you will be aware of. That said we have replaced prior to lock down two thirds of the beds and mattresses and it does upset me that we don't have a bottomless financial pit to replace the said beds and mattresses in one operation but we are on schedule for the whole hotel to have new beds/mattresses very shortly. I do hope you were successful at the National Karate Championships and I would really like to welcome you back to the hotel in the future and would probably suggest calling me directly and I will deal with your booking personally. Kind regards Julian Saunders General Manager

"A good stay but didn't live up to expectations from the website"

3
alyssat694, Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom 05/09/2021

1 night stay for a midweek couples getaway. We booked this hotel via booking.com and then later we're invited to pay what we could for an upgrade. Our executive room came in at £62 for the night which seemed reasonable. The hotel has secure parking nearby at £9 a night which was a bonus and we felt much better leaving the car there than in the public car parks. The foyer of the hotel was stunning but sadly it doesn't translate to the rooms. Bed was comfy and big! Bathroom however was dated and the door was somewhat hanging off. The room itself was shabby. Lots of marks on the walls and it was tired. With a bit of extra care it could have been a lovely lovely room! I'm pleased we upgraded as the room wasn't huge so I fear the standard rooms would have been very very small! Hotels location was fantastic and the staff were lovely so we would stay again just don't expect the grandeur you see online!

Julian Saunders, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review
Dear alyssat694 Thank you for your most valued feedback, we are still working through our refurbishment programme which we started before lock down so catching up again with our maintenance schedule. Just for clarity the standard double rooms certainly aren't 'very very' small as you suggest without such knowledge or having seen one but a guess is all you can do I suppose but rest assured not so. My team are certainly one of the best in the city and I thank you for those comments which I will pass on and they will be delighted that you have mentioned them specifically. I do hope that you will visit St James Hotel again in the near future and perhaps I could deal with your booking personally? Please contact me directly at the hotel. Kind regards Julian Saunders General Manager

"Okay stay room not to standard "

3
314clivem, Rustington, United Kingdom 02/09/2021

The staff seemed nice and welcoming upon arriving. My room was small but that was not the issue with it. The toliet lid could not be fully raised as it hit the wall so i either had to holdnit up or sit with it resting on my back to use it. The double bed was short. I am 5ft 10 and my feet hung over the edge. I am not sure how a tall person would cope. Breakfast is okay. The fiod was basic but tasted good.

Julian Saunders, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review
Dear 314clivem Thank you so much for your most valued feedback Kind regards Julian Saunders General Manager

"Nice stay in good location"

4
51StephenB, Lancaster, United Kingdom 29/08/2021

Room was comfy and plenty big enough. The room had air con and fan which was a bonus. Not 5 star as a few elements were a touch dated but they didn't make the stay any less pleasant. Breakfast was good. Staff were all very nice and helpful. Got a tad lost finding the car park and it's a real tight squeeze!

Julian Saunders, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review
Dear 51StephenB Thank you for your feedback, we are are constantly reviewing and updating our bedrooms and bathrooms and we hope to pick up momentum on our schedule over the coming months. I have to say that my team are simply amazing and really want to engage with our guests and deliver the best service that they can, spread the word! We really do look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards Julian Saunders General Manager

"Lovely stay"

4
Kath J, Kettering, United Kingdom 21/08/2021

My fiend and I stayed here on Friday night as we were attending Bamalama Sing Song. This hotel is so nice and has everything you would need. I don't have anything bad to say at all-if I had to pick a fault, then our view of a car park is honestly all I can say (and I'm being really picky -it wasn't an issue for us). Staff were lovely, hotel is within walking distance from town and from everything we had planned. I would definitely stay here again. Already thinking about my return visit.

Julian Saunders, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Kath J Thank you for your most balanced and lovely feedback and we do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon, if I may please contact reservations at the hotel and we will ensure that we offer you the best available rate. Kind regards Julian Saunders General Manager

"Amazing room, Covid safe, great stay"

5
User 20/06/2021

Lovely stay at St. James in Nottingham. Stayed for a birthday celebration in the penthouse suite - wow! Room was stunning, spotless & had amazing views of the castle & across the city. Staff on check in were helpful & friendly. Lots of Covid information, regulations & sanitiser so felt really safe. We didn't eat or drink at the hotel as we were meeting friends but would love to stay again & try it out. Thanks so much for a great stay.

"Anniversary night away"

5
346MartinR, Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom 13/06/2021

We stayed for our wedding anniversary even though we are fairly local, great reception, very helpful lady there. We did have to change rooms due to the shower being loose and no maintenance on a weekend. But no issue with that. Breakfast was great and the morning waitress Zusanna was very accommodating despite us being at least an hour early to the booked time. In fact she was genuinely pleased when the chef agreed to cook early for us. Breakfast was tasty, presented well and again Zusanna very attentive. The coffee was hot and fresh too! All good - booked the penthouse for next year!

"Wonderful Stay and return visit"

5
User 05/06/2021

St James has now become our number 1 hotel choice in Nottingham . We have visited several times both before COVID and since re opening for guest stays and find the staff and service both friendly and professional . Our room this stay was an executive , which was spacious and clean with robes , slippers and a very good coffee pod machine plus added extras of pillow spray , sewing kit and lovely toiletries . Our breakfast which was plated , pre ordered the night before , was both tasty and generous ! We had a very attentive breakfast waitress who was a delight ! On arriving and leaving the reception team were helpful and welcoming and we will definitely return and recommend this great value hotel .

"Nice hotel and central location"

4
GemmaPow, Chesterfield, United Kingdom 23/05/2021

We had a pleasant overnight stay in a executive suite for one night. The room was clean and tidy. Odd little room touch ups needed, door frame chipped away, shower tap handle loose, only two mini milks and English tea in the room. A couple more of each would of been more ideal if wanting more than one cup per guest. Overall the staff we very welcoming and friendly, clean hotel, great communication. Would come and stay again. Breakfast was a nice selection and again staff helpful and friendly. It's been a nice break away after lockdown.

"Great boutique hotel"

5
User 18/05/2021

Great hotel, in the bustle of city centre with a great bar and restaurant. Rooms well equipped & GM very welcoming. Would definitely return. This part is to fulfil the 200 character minimum review TA have!

"Overnight Stay"

3
betterthanwork, Nottingham, England 08/10/2020

I would have loved to have rated this hotel higher, as there were several positives. But unfortunately we did not have a good night's sleep which marred our stay Highlights were the excellent covid procedures; friendly and helpful staff; modern (if compact) bathroom with great walk in drench shower; and the delicious fresh cooked breakfast. The downside was our room (316) which was smaller than nearby rooms and due to the confines of the walls, only had a very small double bed in it which made it difficult turning in bed. Additionally there was an annoying internal noise, akin to a large boiler constantly running, which also disturbed us. If you ensure you do not get this room, you should enjoy your stay.

"Dirty, smelly, noisy hotel room. Do not stay here"

1
AmandaFisher000, Nottingham, United Kingdom 06/10/2020

I had a terrible stay at this hotel. The cleanliness of the room was appalling, crumbs and dirt on the chairs and carpet, it had obviously not been vacuumed or at least not very well. The decor was worn and scuffed. The room smelt bad, it was hard to distinguish if the smell was cigarette smoke possibly from nearby rooms although supposedly not allowed, or if it smelt of something like wet carpet, or both. It was noisy, noise from nearby rooms and outside it was hard to sleep. The view of a multi story car park from the window was ugly. The bathroom not pleasant, the air vent was very dusty, the shower head rusty, it was difficult to turn off the sink taps, the paint was peeling from the ceiling, there was some kind of dirty splash marks on the wall outside the bathroom door, and the modification where the sink surround was hacked away so that the toilet seat would stay up was unsightly and I imagine hygienic, after having a shower in this awful bathroom I felt less clean than when I went in. The room was also quite hot during the night making it hard to sleep. I left the hotel feeling exhausted and dirty from staying there. The lack of cleanliness is absolutely shocking, especially in times of covid. I will never stay at this hotel again and wold not recommend it at all.

"Comfy bed! Low customer service"

3
edwardsj226, Dublin, Ireland 15/03/2020

Very comfortable bed, nice White Company toiletries and generally very clean in public areas and in the room, apart from smears on the window. Close to city centre, castle and transport, including bus from airport. Reception staff generally professional, although the desk is generally not manned and you have to wait for someone to come from the office and in that setting I didn't particularly like being referred to as “lads” by the night receptionist. I emailed the property a week in advance of stay with a special request. I received no reply and was told there was no note of it on the booking The Mugs in room needed washing as there was some form of residue (possibly dishwasher salts). I took them to reception where I was told to go ask at the bar for new ones. To me that is poor customer service but also very disappointed for neither person that I dealt with to apologise. The decorating is very tired. Marks on wall, chipped paint, chipped bathroom tiles, loose seal on corner of bath, toilet roll holder fell off wall, shower temperature control came off in hand. All of these raised during Check Out where I was told that the manager would contact me during the day, but I heard nothing.

Julian Saunders, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your feedback, which I will discuss with the team when they have returned from being furloughed, you might want to contact me directly at the hotel as I haven't been responding to such feedback due to the current situation and the build up to it which I'm sure you will respect? Kind regards Julian Saunders General Manager

"Excellent Stay and Good Value"

4
Mark_A_S700, Felixstowe, United Kingdom 11/03/2020

I Stayed for a long weekend with my wife and friends. Check-in was simple. Rooms, ours was of a good size and bed was bigger then a double. However, our friends bed was only a double, but same room price, perhaps we were lucky. The corridors are very dark and narrow, perhaps more lighting can be put in. Parking - The hotel doesn't really have any parking, so you must park at the multi-story right next to the hotel at a discounted price. Location - Close to the city center, about a 5-10 min walk, downhill. maybe not suitable for someone with walking difficulties. Breakfast: Very good with lots of choice, no complaints. Overall a good stay for a reasonable price. When I visit Nottingham again, if the price is right I will most likely stay again.

Julian Saunders, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Mark_A_S700 Thank you for your feedback, for future reference we do have a secure gated carpark just a short walk from the hotel which you should ask about when you decide to come back to Nottingham. We are open for food, serving full English plated breakfast and a slightly reduced dinner menu. Hope we can welcome you back very soon. Kind regards Julian Saunders General Manager

"Afternoon Tea"

4
Russ1470, Nottingham, United Kingdom 11/03/2020

We had a Groupon voucher, but there was no availability on line. I rang the hotel and they offered me several dates, which was great service. The afternoon tea was tasty and all of the sandwiches and cakes were fresh. The service was good too.

Julian Saunders, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Russ1470 Thank you for your feedback, I was pleased to read that the team were flexible and able to book you in for afternoon tea and that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience. Hope we can welcome you back very soon once restrictions have eased off. Kind regards Julian Saunders General Manager

"Perfect place for a short break"

5
Ali F, Hay-on-Wye, United Kingdom 10/03/2020

Great location, bonus to have the underground parking to save money at the NCP. All staff have been lovely, professional and helpful. No6 Bar is lovely, staff Ken, Tom and Ollie have been a pleasure to chat to, good choice of drinks and some very nice food too. Our room on the 6th floor was spotless and warm, maybe a little tired but totally fine. Comfy bed, huge television and plenty of space. We will definitely stay here again, well done team St James.

Julian Saunders, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Ali F Thank you for your lovely feedback, my team are amazing and I'm pleased you enjoyed your room experience, I have noted your comment on the room perhaps being tired but we as ever updating and enhancing the bedrooms. Hope to see you again very soon and as always book directly with the hotel for our best available rate. Kind regards Julian Saunders General Manager

"Concert stopover"

3
Laura J, Fakenham, United Kingdom 09/03/2020

We stayed one night following a concert. Very helpful receptionist when we checked in. Decor is very dark and doesn't look as nice as in pictures online. Room was small and bathroom needed some desperate TLC (shower controls broken). Hotel room looked out onto multi storey car park and it was very noisy not cars but people shouting and kids messing about. Staff member who saw us at breakfast was not very helpful and basically said sit where you like and didn't help much more than that. Staff didn't seem to be able to cope when a large hen party group came in. Breakfast was okay apart from scrambled egg it looked watery. I had to track a waitress down to get a refill of our coffee pot. Underground parking is fine but very tight getting in and out of. Won't be booking again but was okay rather than having to drive back to Norfolk. Feel we could have got much nicer hotel for similar price. Will do more research next time.

Julian Saunders, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Laura J Thank you for your most valued feedback and I'm sorry we didn't meet your expectations on this occasion. Kind regards Julian Saunders General Manager

"Afternoon brunch"

5
User 08/03/2020

Through wowcher i brought an afternoon bottomless brunch. We was great by a lovely hostess but our day was made by one of the wait staff Ken. He was fantastic polite and his service was second to none. We was served by other waitstaff that had is waiting for over an hour for food and 25 minutes for drink. Ken served us in minutes was attentive and very professional he even came back to see if we was happy with our food. Highly recommend the food it tated anazing and their processco tasted absolutely fantastic. Thanks to ken and the chef at st james hotel

Julian Saunders, General Manager at St James Hotel, responded to this review
Dear 323clareh Thank you for your feedback, Ken is amazing as are the rest of the food and beverage team. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. New dinner menu is about to be launched, check it out if you find yourselves in Nottingham again. Kind regards Julian Saunders General Manager

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.