Room 1
Room 2
Room 3
Promotion code

Best Western Hotel Le Guilhem, Montpellier

18 Rue Jean Jacques Rousseau, 34000, Montpellier, France - See on a map
Best Western Hotel Le Guilhem - Exterior The Best Western Hotel Le Guilhem is ideally located in the center of Montpellier. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

The Best Western Hotel Le Guilhem is a hotel that has succeeded in preserving the charm of its 16th century architecture. Renovated with great care, this establishment is well-appointed with each room having its very own character. The rooms and large terrace provide fine views of Montpellier's small secretive gardens as well as the faculty of medicine founded in the 12th century. After this, you will be eager to set off and discover the city's heritage and the streets brimming over with history.

Best Western

Hotel Le Guilhem




Hotel advantages

  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
  • Safe deposit box
    Safe deposit box
  • Multilingual staff
    Multilingual staff
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
Certificate of Excellence 2019
Travelers Choice 2021
based on 441 guest reviews
Very Good
Business Business
Couples Couples
Family Family
Friends getaway Friends getaway
Solo travel Solo travel
Sleep Quality

"Terrible and a rip off. Avoid"

User 30/04/2022

Best Western Hotel Le Guilhem Overview Best Western Hotel Le Guilhem Overview Prices Reviews Location Photos About Google review summary ? Write a review 4.0 Very good 228 reviews Rooms3.3Location4.5Service4.8 Couples3.8 Solo3.8 Families3.8 Business3.8 Reviews People often mention All Location Breakfast Property Service Parking Restaurant Amenities Sleep Cleanliness + 2 more Most helpful P W1/5a minute ago on  Google I used to stay here alot a few years ago. It's clearly declined hugely since then, very poor management in evidence. Firstly BEWARE the claim to have king beds, they don't. It's two single pushed together which makes it impossible to sleep anywhere but in the single so in effect that's what you're paying for. I complained about this was was shown two more beds exactly the same (one in an occupied room!!?!) and then suggestion for me to go to a hotel nearby, this was at 11.30pm.. They resolutely refused to give a discount of more than 10%. Even though they had patently failed to provide something they promised to. I asked if there were any double beds at all and was, given no reply. This is all such a con for them to make more money offering twin rooms when needed. The room itself had a really bad smell of something going off. It was also full of mosquitoes.. The decor was shabby and dirty (see photos). The shower was from the 1950s, weak and didn't stay in place. The breakfast used up be superb now its just sad. A tiny buffet table where one person takes up the room, poor quality food, bad coffee and a deathly silent room where you can hear people swallowing. This was in short a nightmare from the dream it all used to be.. I didn't sleep at all well and couldn't wait to leave, I checked out ASAP. Avoid avoid avoid Prices Reviews Location Photos About Google review summary ? Write a review 4.0 Very good 228 reviews Rooms3.3Location4.5Service4.8 Couples3.8 Solo3.8 Families3.8 Business3.8 Reviews People often mention All Location Breakfast Property Service Parking Restaurant Amenities Sleep Cleanliness + 2 more Most helpful P W1/5a minute ago on  Google I used to stay here alot a

Cyrille CHARPENTIER, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Le Guilhem, responded to this review
Dear pw643, All your comments on the different websites (and in your e-mail) have been taken very seriously by my staff and myself. You booked a « CONFORT » room with a large bed. Thus, we gave you one of our « CONFORT » rooms with a large bed (180cm) which, indeed can be transformed in twin beds if needs be. To maximise the comfort of our guests, our team put a mattress topper on those 180cm (king size) beds. Also, our night auditor offered you the possibility to be upgraded in an EXECUTIVE room which you refused. Finally, we would like to remind you that a discount on the price of your stay has been offered to you during check-out. Our rooms have different themes and styles depending on the room category chosen. Please, know that the room you were in is on the list of our renovation program. We are sorry your stay with us was not the one you were expecting. Regards. Cyrille CHARPENTIER Directeur

"Good hotel in old Montpellier"

Chip1701, Plymouth, Minnesota 18/04/2022

We stayed two nights here on a trip. It is located in two or three remodeled buildings in the heart of old Montpellier. First, the staff, especially Sophie who worked at the desk, could not have been friendlier or more helpful. Sophie spoke excellent English and was very helpful with directions (ask for a city map) ,and restaurant recommendations. Our room size was typical of a European hotel, smaller than US standards. The view was terrific. Breakfast (extra $) had lots of options and was plentiful. You cannot drive to the hotel as it is located on a pedestrian street, so plan luggage accordingly. Although this hotel does not have its own parking, we were directed to a nearby lot and given a coupon that saved us 50% on parking there.


calihearts, County Wicklow, Ireland 28/11/2021

A beautiful, small hotel, on a lovely quiet street in the heart of L'Écusson. We spent two wonderful nights here, waking up to a perfect window view of Montpellier cathedral. A superb spot to explore the city from! The room was peaceful, (we never heard a thing), with a huge comfortable bed, spacious and well equipped (tv, fridge, table). The layout of the hotel adds to its authenticity. We opted not to have breakfast but instead enjoy the wonderful boulangerie on the same street and coffee on the stunning Pl de la Canourgue.

"such a great location!"

Jean H, New York City, New York 18/09/2021

Lovely hotel in old city center. Helpful staff. Not huge rooms, but worth the small sacrifice to be able to walk everywhere. Parking is nearby - important to pay attention to the instructions that are given about it's location, and how to pay to get the reduced rate when leaving.


walterp285, Guelph, Canada 08/01/2020

This is not a fancy hotel. Nor is it like most of the Best Westerns you've encountered. The furnishings and finishings are dated (definitely) and maybe even a very tiny bit threadbare here and there. BUT ... I loved staying here. It was clean, quiet; the people are nice, and it's small enough that you absolutely will get treated as a human being and not an account number. The building is charming. The street is charming. The nearby restaurants and other businesses are great (Visit Le Panier D'Aimé around the corner). And there is nothing but good things to say about Montpellier's old city centre. We would not stay anywhere but here while in this city. We are here frequently and have tried apartment rentals etc. This is the best. BTW, if you arrive by car, the public parking, a few steps away on Rue Foch and opposite the enormous Cour d'Appel, is not only convenient but reasonably priced (be aware (1) that the pedestrian entrance to the garage is tricky to find if you don't realize that you must take the stairs which are located across the street (Rue Foch) from the automobile access. The stairs descend into an opening in the plaza in front of the Cour d'Appel. Down those stairs there is an elevator to the garage, and (2) when you exit with your car, you will find yourself popping out in an underpass, below the Rue Foch and Arc de Triomphe and onto the underpass section of Blvd Prof Louis Valleton--disorienting if you aren't expecting it, because your nav system will not wake up until you get out from all of underground and underpass environment. I would rate this hotel a '5' except that I realize it gives an impression of being a bit 'down-market.' On the other hand, the rates are very reasonable; Voilå! An extra dinner out! Another 'BTW': our room was on the back, overlooking the courtyard and Cathédrale Saint-Pierre, which was nice ... you could ask.

"Location Location Location"

Bruce L, Sydney, Australia 12/10/2019

It clearly is an ideal location given timing getting in and out the front door during our stay was partly dictated by a film crew shooting a Christmas themed movie. We thought it odd on approach that the lane was decorated already for Christmas. Nice room, slightly musty smelling bathroom (normal given most hotels have zero or minimal ventilation) and very quiet. Low key breakfast. Lots of great local dining in the vicinity of which we took advantage. Despite their site advertising parking there is none - just the usual discount at a local carpark. If using GPS dial in 2 Rue Foch for the nearest car park. But be careful - in this pedestrianised city the GPS will try and take you up streets no longer open to cars.

"Lovely Boutique Hotel"

User 21/09/2019

We had a room with a overlooking a church. Very clean with good service. Reasonably priced. Great breakfasts on the outdoor patio. Staff was wonderful! We speak English only and they were very very helpful. Walking distance to excellent restaurants and shops. Had a wonderful time.

"Quiet, central, very good hotel"

Zenita, Lund, Sweden 15/08/2019

The hotel is in a narrow street in the old town, so there is hardly any traffic, and the quiet location means that you can get a good nights' sleep. It's only a few minutes' walk to restaurants and shops. We arrived before the official check-in time and our room was not ready, so we stored our bags by the reception for a few hours until we could check in. The staff were very nice and patient when I spoke French with them. We got a large room on the upper floor, it was even larger than we had expected (perhaps we were upgraded, but I'm not sure). It even had a jacuzzi in the bathroom, which was very large and had a proper shower cubicle. There was a separate toilet, which was quite practical. We found the room clean, however the floors had wall to wall carpets, except for the bathroom. There was a fridge and a small table with chairs, so you could buy some breakfast food and eat in the room. We had some trouble connecting to the wifi network, but when we asked for new codes at the reception it worked better, however on a few occasions we had to go out to the stairwell to get a better connection.

"Perfect Stay"

User 07/08/2019

Friendly proactive staff. Good value for room and breakfast. Room 134 very spacious and well appointed. Excellent location for visiting centre of Montpellier. Close to shops, monuments and restaurants. Will return!

"Pleasant Room"

Jonathan M, Charlotte, North Carolina 28/05/2019

The great location and attentive staff made the stay pleasant. My only complaint is that the breakfast offerings are miniscule and expensive. At 12 EUR per person, I expected more than Carrefour-boxed croissants, some Danone yogurt, and a few slices of cheese and ham. Much better and less expensive breakfast options are available all around the hotel (Coldrip Food and Coffee is an outstanding example--quality food and beverages for less than you'll pay at the hotel).

"Great location, comfortable rooms, clean, will come back."

kifarutwiga, Dar es Salaam, Tanzania 02/04/2019

The location is so quiet, and within walking distance to literally everything. I love the church right there, the restaurants on that street, the arc de triomphe and jardin des plantes... Room was good size and clean, non smoking, mattress was comfortable. Breakfast choice was good, with fresh and tasty french viennoiseries. Will definitely come back and highly recommend.

"Charming and super convenient"

User 13/03/2019

I was a little apprehensive about staying at a chain hotel, but the Hotel de Guilhem was completely charming, clean and comfortable, and could not have been in a better location. I had a breathtaking view of the cathedral from my window, and was a stone's throw from the historic center. My only little quibble was with the WiFi, which dropped from time to time. But I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

"Lovely hotel in an excellent location "

raemondodo, Nottingham, United Kingdom 10/10/2018

It may be a chain but this hotel feels nice and unique! A charming, quaint building and wonderful staff make this hotel a must stay. Although I arrived late (after 11pm) I was warmly greeted at reception and provided with maps for the next morning! The room was small but adequate for just me. Breakfast was perhaps a little expensive at €12 but again came with friendly service! The location is brilliant - right next to the Arc de triomphe where parking can be found. Highly recommend this hotel to everyone!

Cyrille C, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Le Guilhem, responded to this review
Dear RAELARDER1976, We thank you for your feedback regarding your last stay in our Best Western hotel Le Guilhem. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is something our staff takes great pride in, so, we value your feedback. We hope to see you soon. Sincerely, Cyrille CHARPENTIER Directeur général

"Comfortable Room, Fantastic Location."

Walter S, Land O Lakes, Florida 05/10/2018

We booked the king room and asked for the room with the private garden, which we got. The garden area itself was somewhat shabby, overrun with weeds, and needed some cleaning up. The room however had an attractive illuminated arch stone ceiling, very pleasant. The rest of the room was nicely decorated and comfortable. A good breakfast was available in a pleasant area with indoor and outdoor seating. The convenient location of this hotel allows you to walk to any part of old Montpellier and tourist sites. Just an alert for anyone who is mobility limited. This room has 5 steps with no railing from the entry/bathroom area to the main room and 4 steps with no railing to the garden area.

Cyrille C, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Le Guilhem, responded to this review
Dear Walter S, We would like to thank you for your king comment regarding your last stay in our Best Western hotel Le Guilhem. Your feedback is very important for us, it help us to improve our services. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would be pleased to welcome you back to Best Western Hotel Le Guilhem. Sincerely, Cyrille CHARPENTIER Directeur général.

"Fantastic location, historical buildings but could improve considerably"

Frequenttraveller076, Japan 25/09/2018

This hotel, inside lovely Montpellier's centuries-old walls and fortifications, is exceptionally well-located. No parking, but a nearby public underground lot (requiring considerable dexterity and favouring very small cars) has an agreement to provide a discount to hotel guests. The top (3rd floor) rooms offer beautiful views of the cathedral towers, and much daylight. The bathrooms are modern and adequate. Anywhere else, though, this slightly shabby hotel would not warrant anything near the rating above. The staff can be helpful, when they're in the mood. During the summer, a basic but adequate breakfast is served on a lovely terrace overlooking town gardens. And the hotel is closely to restaurants and shops, indeed very close to the city's busiest neighborhoods. My rating above is in many ways over-generous, due almost entirely to the location. With a little more effort and some modest expense, this hotel could be an excellent one. As it is, it comes off as one step up from a nice student hostel. And the lower-floor rooms must be very dark indeed. So, anyone looking for a full-service high-end establishment should be searching elsewhere.

"Comfortable charming"

User 28/08/2018

A hidden gem! The staff was accommodating and efficient. The breakfast was outstanding and ample. No rush. The location was ideal. Close to public transit and walking distance to many must-see locations. And several quality dinner locations within walking distance. I will be back!

"Incredible stay"

kwil14, San Diego, California 25/08/2018

This was the dream stay. Our only issue was that we appeared to have a spider or something in our sheets, as both my wife and I woke up with multiple bites on our feet/legs. After some struggling between my attempt at French and the staff's attempt to help through their own English knowledge (which was actually kind of fun and a great learning experience for both of us), they changed the sheets immediately and we no longer had the problem. The staff was incredible, the room was amazing (ask for the room on the bottom floor with the beautiful patio. Room 100), and they even made up our son's crib (AKA pack-and-play) with a little miniature pillow, which was adorable. Absolutely amazing stay.

"cause to complain"

ang578, Sheffield 25/08/2018

We were given an outstanding room, the best one we thought that we had ever stayed in at this hotel. Unfortunately it was to turn out the worst one. We left the hotel after checking in and sorting out our bags and returned late afternoon. We rested that prepared for a shower. However we found that there was not any hot water, either from the bath taps, sink or the shower. In addition the fridge did not work and did not have anything inside it. We informed the receptionist who said he would get it fixed. We understand he had found someone to look at it. It was an hour later that he came to our room and still no hot water. He looked in the toilet and apparently there were taps in there which switched on the hot water. However, as it was early evening when we had access to hot water we had had to wash in cold water earlier as we were meeting people and had to go out. We asked him about the minibar, or, really the lack of one. He said that we had now to order any drinks we wanted from reception. We asked if he could get the empty fridge to work. He looked at it and said that it would now become cold and ready for our use. However on your website it does state that all rooms are equipped with a minibar! The next day we tried the shower but could not regulate the water which was coming out far too hot. We both had to use the shower in the bath. We told the staff at reception about this but they appeared disinterested. The fridge either did not go cold this too was brought to the attention of the reception staff. Regarding the internet connection. We found it difficult to connect our device to the internet and asked the person on reception for help. This had happened on a previous occasion and the person at reception helped and we were connected. However the person we spoke to this time on reception could not help and he said it our device which prevented us connecting. This was the same device we had used on the previous occasion we visited! Another odd occurrence was that the bathroom door handle fell off! Equally odd was that there were two cups in the room but only one saucer, which was too small for the cup! The manager w was told was on holiday in the French high season! In my experience rooms have to be checked by someone in charge of housekeeping before guests arrive. This room was not, otherwise we would not have had the problems and inconvenience of a lack of hot water, a fridge that was not working and no temperature control for the shower. If the receptionist had been helpful he would have helped us to connect to the internet. When we checked out we told the person on reception again about the above and how this had an effect on our stay. We thought he was writing this complaint on his computer, but when we had finished he looked up and said that we owed 6 euros tax! He was not even listening and had no concerns about our difficulties whatsoever. The staff come across as disinterested in the guests stay and do not show any understanding or even apologise! We had asked to speak to the manager but was told he was on holiday. We have previously enjoyed our stays at the Guilhem hotel . We have found it a quiet and convenient place to stay. However we have now lost confidence in this hotel and would now look elsewhere when we return to Montpelier. We complained to the Hotel and Still haven't received a reply no reply from best western .....bad show.

"overnight stay in Montpellier city centre"

Ian L, Herault, France 21/06/2018

Although we live only an hour's drive away, we decided to spend a Friday night in Montpellier city centre so we could sample the night-life (bars, restaurants) and pretend to be 'tourists'. This hotel was recommended by friends - and it did not disappoint. we were upgraded (free of charge) as the hotel had several empty rooms. The service was quiet and efficient. We did not sample the dining / breakfast facilities.

"A hotel with character"

John B, Caloundra, Australia 18/06/2018

It was not the easiest of hotels to find, but once I'd arrived I realised that I'd made a good choice. The hotel is located in the old part of the city and combines character with comfort! It is close to a variety of good restaurants and cafes, not to mention many interesting landmarks (including one of the oldest medical schools in Europe).

"Historical Charm, Great Location, but the terrace no longer had panoramic views because of a big tree"

Lenore R, Boynton Beach, Florida 05/06/2018

The hotel was built in the 16th century and had character. It felt historic and was located along old, narrow, cobbled streets. There was no street entrance we could drive to and no parking located on site (which was the reason we parked 7 minutes away). We dragged our stuff along the narrow pedestrian streets to our hotel. We selected the hotel because it was located in the heart of Montpellier and just a 3 minute walk from the Saint Pierre Cathedral. The location of the hotel was perfect for our purposes. Another reason we selected the hotel was because the hotel boasted that it featured a spacious terrace with panoramic views that included views of the St. Peter's Cathedral. We were a little disappointed with the terrace. While the terrace area was lovely, it did not have panoramic views. A big tree blocked the view of the cathedral and most everything else. We could just barely see parts of the cathedral through the trees. We enjoyed our mini stay at our historic hotel. It was an older hotel (that was built in the 16th century), which was part of what made it special. We were in room no. 11 on the first floor. While the room had been modernized, it still contained its historic charm. Everything felt old. The floors creaked. The doors and door knobs were old. The furniture looked like antiques. It felt historic, which was part of its charm. The room was clean. The bed and pillows were ok. The room was more spacious than I imagined. The bathroom was spacious. All in all, we enjoyed our stay.

"Execptional Hotel"

soumjkt, Jakarta, Indonesia 21/04/2018

Staying just 1 night is doing injustice to the Hotel, One should atleast stay for 2 nights and enjoy the hotel, Underground suite looks very interesting with access to a small garden,. History connected to the hotel. This is one of the best hotel I have ever stayed. Staff was very helpful, They helped us to carry our luggage to our room. I would recommend this hotel. Only challenge, if you are carrying luggage with infant, if taxis don't know the small road access to the hotel, they can leave you in main road, and it's a long walk.

"Just what we hoped for"

User 28/02/2018

We like traditional hotels that have character. This hotel, although modernised for comfort has retained the charm of the old building. It is in a medieval street, near the center but quiet and peaceful. There are old pieces of furniture which were attractive in our room and in the public places. All the staff we met were polite and helpful. Breakfast was in a room with big windows overlooking the garden and cathedral. Small criticisms could be made but I will not make them as the hotel was really as nice as we could have wished.

"Long weekend"

Maureen D, Plymouth, United Kingdom 26/01/2018

The hotel was situated close to the centre, bars and restaurants. It's in a quiet side street - pedestrian access. Lovely quite traditional spacious room overlooking the cathedral and garden so nice and quiet. Continental breakfast is good with a pretty good selection. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Would not bother to get a taxi from the station as they will drop you about 150 metres from the hotel and the tram is about the same distance and costs a lot less!

"Great stay... once we found it!"

AGuide, South West England, United Kingdom 10/11/2017

Nice hotel just away from the heart of the old city to be in a quiet area. Our room, in the side extension (you entered through the old shopfront of a butchers shop) had a wonderful view of the cathedral and the surrounding city. We didn't eat at the hotel as there were so many good restaurants and cafes nearby and a bakery a few doors up the street that always had a queue. The hotel does not have parking but there area couple of car parks nearby and you get a special rate if you ask at reception. BUT....we don't have sat-nav, and finding our way into the heart of the city was a nightmare. We thought we knew the way having studied maps etc..but no.

"Spacious room and great breakfast in good location"

BaguetteLady, Florida 29/10/2017

Close to Montpellier's own Arc de Triomph, Le Guilhelm is old-world feel complemented by modern amenities. Enjoy breakfast overlooking the inner courtyard! The hotel is an easy walk to the Arc de Triomph and several shops and restaurants, or hop on the trolley to access the museums, shops and restaurants at Place du Comedie or the newer section in the port district.

"Very nice and friendly staff"

Penthousesitges, Province of Barcelona, Spain 16/10/2017

We stayed over a weekend to visit and discover the city. It was a great experience. The room was wide. Very calm. The staff was very friendly polite and helpful We really enjoyed it and will recommend it. Thnx

"Comfortable stay in good location"

Nikhil K, Malden, Massachusetts 03/10/2017

In Montpellier for a conference and staying at the conference venue was prohibitively expensive so I found this place 1km across the city center. Its right around the corner from Montpellier's Arc de Triomphe and the Promenade du Peyrou, and the local botanical gardens. The location right on one edge of the compact city center makes it well-situation from which to explore the medieval old down, where everything's within about a 20 minute walk. The room was comfortable, with a desk and couch in our room (although it's in an old building so I think all room configurations are different), and a large, spacious bathroom. The staff was helpful with check in and ordering a cab for us at check out, and very patient with our (particularly my) very bad French. They did not replenish the bottles of water in the in-room fridge everyday but were happy to fetch more for us upon request. Wireless is free, but the setup is a little unusual as you need to get a unique login for each device. I'd brought a bunch of devices and demo hardware for my work event so this was a bit of a hassle but only due to my specific circumstances. Breakfast is available for a fee (per person so this can add up). It's got solid continental breakfast options (great jams), and the breakfast room is nice and picturesque. I took advantage of this quite a bit since I could expense the breakfast and I was in a hurry in the mornings, but for the casual traveler, allow me to recommend the boulangerie next door, which is much cheaper, and has incredible bread, cheese, sandwiches, and quiches. It's only open in the morning and a line forms quickly, but it's well worth it. Finally, let me just say a word about the Best Western brand: I've stayed in BWs in, say, California, where you pay $200+/night for a generic room with heat-lamped breakfasts and surly desk attendants. Here, it's still kind of a BW budget feel but actually at a budget price, the service is good French service and they actually make an effort to make your stay comfortable. If I ever come back to Montpellier I would certainly consider staying here again.

"Wobbly service"

SallyBettyMary, London, United Kingdom 21/09/2017

When we arrive mid afternoon the room was made up for one rather than two people. We pointed this out requesting more towels and extra water glasses (there was just one plastic cup) this was greeted with apologies and assurances of immediate action. However when we got back from dinner nothing had been done. The following morning the repeated request for towels resulted in immediate action but the cleaners then removed the one plastic cup and didn't replace it. We eventually got glasses and plastic cups but ... Another niggle was that the tea cups did not fit the saucers provided almost guaranteeing spillage (this hotel offers breakfast so surely they mist have matching cups and saucers). As with pretty much all hotels the shower fitting was a bit naff - not high enough for anyone above low average height. On the positive side the hotel is in a good quiet location, near the cathedral and within easy walking distance from pretty much anywhere you might wish to go with the old part of the city. It's also easy to reach by public transport from the airport. The staff were all polite and friendly - just a shame that they let themselves down with the initial lack of service.

"Overvalued hotel"

User 26/08/2017

Location of the hotel is very good-the old town center, but all other things made us disappointed. First of all, the room had a strong specific smell of dampness, the furniture was old and in bad condition-creaking doors and dust on the surfaces. The place itself is quiet noisy at night because of the drunk people which are usually wandering nearby after night parties in the old town center-room window on the street side, no soundproof window glass.The main strange thing for a hotel of this category was that Wi-Fi was not working! Moreover, we have asked reception guys about the status of solving this problem, but they looked very indifferent not even tried to apologize for a such inconvenience.

"A Nice out of the Way City Hotel"

philstreet2, Leeds, United Kingdom 25/08/2017

Firstly do not drive to this hotel. It is located down a flight of steps in an alley without vehicle access. The nearest car park is approx. 300 meters away. That said the hotel was very nice, it is in two separate but adjacent buildings. Our room was very nice with a great view of the cathedral over the trees. The area around the hotel is very nice too, with great architecture and formal gardens close by. The Place de la Comodie is only 15 mins walk away. The stand out feature for us was a lovely breakfast served on the sun terrace each morning. Wonderful.

"What a Treat"

ang578, Sheffield 14/08/2017

We stayed here about 10 years ago & returning the Hotel seems to of improved . Staff friendly...rooms a joy to stay in.. lovely view of the church spire & the restaurant next door....clean.....& a fridge in the room ......

"No need to ask for a better hotel"

norha, israel 02/05/2017

We have spent 2 nights at this nice hotel located at the heart of old Montpellier. The hotel is made of two old typical French buildings.It was nice to know that the entrance to our section was once the butcher's shop. Room very clean but not a big one. Staff very polite and ready to assist in any reasonable case. Breakfast rich and tasty. No knowledge about WIFI. There is nearby a parking lot with reduced prices/

"Very nice hotel in old city."

User 16/04/2017

Very good location. Nice size room. People at the front desk and at the bar were very nice and helpful. Bathroom was clean and confortable bed. Just one negative point, the bathtub was not draining properly. Otherwise it was perfect. We'll return to this hotel if we go back to Montpellier

"LE GuilHem - Hotel"

User 01/04/2017

Great Hotel in quiet street near the Arc De Triumph. Difficult to find. Park in the parking lot near the Arc de Triumph - walk down the street across the road from the parking lot. It is located a block over. It is quite a lovely old building and if you are lucky you might get a view of the church from your room. It is centrally located to the city and can walk right downtown to everything in the old city.

"Good for a 3 star hotel"

User 18/02/2017

This hotel near the Arc de Triomphe in the Historic part of Montpellier is a comfortable quaint place to stay. It lies in a narrow street where Rousseau is said to have lived for a year. Because the hotel is not purpose built but a conversion of old buildings it has some quirks. The bed rooms are of jaded classic heavy french style. Yet the beds are comfortable and the bathrooms clean and functional. If you like church bells disturbing your repose you will enjoy this hotel as it lies close to the Cathedral St Pierre. Breakfast was good, yet the breakfast room is rather cramped with uncomfortable garden furniture on an partly enclosed terrace. The restaurant next door has an extensive terrace running behind the hotel which could be disturbing to residents of the hotel in the summer when in full active use. However out of season this was a pleasant stay with easy access to the centre of Montpellier with all its restaurants, bars, and shopping. Wi-Fi is available but access is erratic.

"Charming old hotel"

User 07/10/2016

We really liked this hotel. It's located in an old building in the Old town of Montpellier, and it has lots of charm. It's nice and clea and, the staff is great (and speaks great english!). The only downside is that the Wifi signal was weak, and we had some problems with Internet access. But yes, we will be back next time in Montpellier

"Very good location, but a bit run down."

497june, Gisborne Region, New Zealand 30/09/2016

Staff at this hotel were helpful, although we did have a bit of a language problem as we speak virtually no French. The location was excellent close to restaurants & points of interest. The room was very small & the bed not particularly comfortable. The bathroom was also tiny, but adequate. There are two main problems with the building. One is that the lifts are so small that we could not both fit into one with our luggage. This meant that one of us had to use the stairs, which leads us to problem number two. They are spiral & extremely steep & narrow so anyone with a disability would find using them pretty much impossible. If you are a fit & active person, you would have no trouble at all.

"Good location but needs a revamp!"

Jude D, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia 10/09/2016

We stayed three nights at this hotel and although we were quiet comfortable in our room we felt the rooms and decor was dated and in need of a revamp! The bathroom and separate room toilet had been modernised recently, but the main room was a loud yellow with red velvet cushions, not sure from what era! The bed was comfortable and the room clean. The hotel is split between two buildings, a maze of corridors and steps leading to the dining area and reception. The breakfast is simple and perhaps a little too expensive for what is offered. There are no room safes but a bizarre "valuables in an envelope sealed with sticking tape" at reception, we felt very awkward with this system, especially when the receptionist didn't know how to open the safe! The hotel is in a great quiet location, close to public transport (trams) and a variety of eateries and bars. If we were to return to Montpellier I would look for a hotel with a little more pizazz.

"good location great room"

User 10/09/2016

The room was great, staff was helpful, great location by walk, nice view from the restaurant on the balcony. Just be careful if you like your taxi parks just front of the hotel, the street is too small for it. will go again.

"A really nice hotel"

mikervet, Colac, Australia 13/08/2016

Once you have parked your car it is a challenge to find the hotel. Once found it is a really nice surprise. The room Isis conditioned which is rather nice after a day of 30C. We were welcomed with a great smile and a concierge that could not be more polite and enthusiastic. Just a nice hotel. Relax enjoy as everything in Montpellier is not more than five minutes away.

"Great hotel"

Petros V, Piraeus, Greece 07/08/2016

Atmospheric stay in a well preserved environment. Hotel is a few minutes walk to city centre and city park. Very kind and hospitable. Would certainly stay again when visiting Montpellier. Great back garden view constitutes the best place to have breakfast and start your day

"Comfortable hotel at top of old town"

JulieP80, Cheltenham, United Kingdom 16/07/2016

Clean and comfortable, breakfast is a bit pricey though. But lots of cafes around. Staff are very helpful. Montpellier has just had the pedestrian area increased - so it's quite difficult to find, it's also quite a challenge to get to the nearest car park if you dont know the area.

"A usual Best Western. "

david t, London, United Kingdom 15/07/2016

A great hotel in the old town of montpellier, in the food court area. Loads to see and do around and about. The hotel is the usual Best Western chain. Clean, comfortable and renovated whenever needed. Don't think I've ever been in a bad one. This one however has some picturesque views from the rooms. Massive plus for me. Great stay, enjoy.

"Expensive and poorly maintained"

John D, London, United Kingdom 07/07/2016

I stayed for 3 nights at a cost of around €150 per night. I was disappointed to find that the first room I stayed in had a faulty air conditioning unit which resulted water dripping from it onto the floor. I then had to be moved to a ground floor room (101) which was not at all pleasant as it sits above a septic tank meaning that the drain for the bathtub drains very slowly meaning that water collects in the tub while using the shower and there is a smell of sewage coming from the drain. I would therefore not recommend this room but try to get a room higher up in the building (hopefully with a functioning air conditioning unit). Breakfast was also rather overpriced.

"Unhelpful staff :-/"

ML-DK-21, Copenhagen 26/05/2016

The location is perfect and very picturesque in the beautiful old town of Montpellier. My room was very nice, the breakfast was OK. However, I had move hotel because of unavailability, and that was OK, I knew that. However, the hotel promised to help with finding another hotel for the last two nights, but that did not happen, and I had to struggle a lot myself with finding another hotel. If they had told me that I had to do it myself, that would be perfectly OK, but they should not promise to help and then not do it. That's why I give two stars, otherwise it would have been four.

Cyrille C, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel Le Guilhem, responded to this review
Dear Madam, Firstly, we would like to thank you for your kind comments about our hotel. Unfortunately, we apologize not have helped you find another hotel. There must have been a misunderstanding, and we're really sorry. Our priority is satisfaction of our guests. We would be happy to welcome you again to make you change your mind about our team. All the staff wishes you a wonderful day.

"Quaint hotel in Provencal style"

Nonrev_traveller737, Toronto, Canada 09/05/2016

Hotel is in an excellent location. Rooms are quiet, tastefully decorated in Provencal style (personally not my favourite) with updated bathrooms. I was afraid the church bells would be annoying but they only added to the ambience. I read several complaints about the WIFI however I did not experience any challenges. If driving park at the underground garage across from Palais des Guilhem and walk over. The hotel is located on a pedestrian only street. An EXCELLENT restaurant located next door - Le Jardin.

"montpellier downtown"

Nathaniel F, montpellier, France 25/01/2016

Great accommodation for the pleasure, and more... Great staff very convenient, gentle and more... Close to the downtown of Montpellier, restaurant, night life, you can use all the charm of Montpellier with the charm of a great 3 star hotel.

"Comfortable and quiet in the old town"

stellamAuckland, Auckland 02/11/2015

I was recommended this hotel by a friend, while I visited Montpelier for a week to attend French immersion classes. It was lovely. It is in a 16th century building, charming and friendly with a quiet room containing all that I needed for comfort. I enjoyed my stay immensely and definitely would return. Room 12 looked over a quiet garden and i could sleep with shutters open. There is also good AC, room for clothes, a comfortable bed, and a basic but sufficient bathroom. Getting there requires a little navigation as it in the old town where traffic is barely allowed. If you speak French, the receptionist will direct you, but the cab driver found it for me. Not far are shops ( surprisingly upmarket) and restaurants. Le Petit Jardin next door is highly recommended. I had breakfast in the hotel every day-inexpensive and a better option than the local boulangerie.

"There are problems"

bobburgess, Virginia 30/10/2015

First, the hotel is an older building. The rooms are clean and pleasant enough- I was in #25, a single. Bathroom was good with a very good shower. First problem: Do not try to drive to the front door. You must park in a nearby lot- I used the Arc de Triomphe lot. The hotel is on a tiny street so it is best to walk from the parking, 5 minutes away. Hotel will give you a voucher for a reduced rate. Be sure to give this and your ticket to the person as you walk down the entrance ramp . There is no one at the exit and your stuck. Second problem: No functioning wifi in my room. I spoke to 2 other people who had the same issue. Wifi is good in the breakfast room, however. The good news is that the people working there are terrific, breakfast is good and location allows easy access to the old part of town. You will be near the oldest garden in France and a cathedral. Cathedrals mean bells but these are gentle and handled nicely by the double glass windows. It's a nice little hotel once you learn the ropes. Montpellier is a great town worth a visit.

"Well located in the old part of the city"

ulysse5London, london 17/09/2015

A stone throw from the lovely Place de la Canourgue, Hotel Le Guilhem has visibly been recently renovated and modernised. Our comfort room in the annex right next door has a modern deco and a view on the garden. Although the bathroom was small but with a separate toilet, the room was indeed comfortable. The breakfast is OK and can be taken on a terrasse overlooking the garden, and there is a very good restaurant, la table du marché, right next to the hotel. Beware that the city center is not very accesible by car, which explains why the hotel has a preferred overnight rate of € 8 for the surrouding car parks. Very good base for business (in the city center) or leisure!

"Smelly and this walls"

John M, Santiago, Chile 13/09/2015

I thought it was a no smoking hotel but found that the smell of cigarette smoke was everywhere. I also didn't get a good nights sleep with the chap next door snoring all night, thin walls. Very small and average rooms, especially fro the price - but what do you expect in France..... Apart from that, the hotel is well located and the staff were friendly.

"Paul Cordwell"

User 11/09/2015

Absolutely excellent hotel and I would recommend it to anyone. On the basis of our stay here we have now stayed in two other Best Western's in France and they were both equally good. The location is good and the breakfast was good. For the price excellent value for money.

"A very warm welcome. "

Jonathon73, London, United Kingdom 27/08/2015

We booked in here late yesterday evening. We told the hotel we were travelling with two well behaved beagles and we were given a room (100) with our own private garden which the dogs loved! Helena at reception was incredibly helpful, efficient and super friendly which after a long journey on the road was a welcome relief. This is the second time we've stayed in a Best Western on this trip and we are beginning to see a positive pattern. Comfy beds, well appointed rooms in the heart of the historic centre all for a very reasonable price.

"Good place"

pascalmic, Monaco 23/08/2015

Great location in a quiet area of Montpellier. The staff is nice and friendly. The deco is a bit old but the rooms are comfortable. There is a parking nearby and you will get a discount but not included. Count about 10€ per day. Good value for money but nothing special.

"Great central location - lovely atmosphere."

Anya252, Brussels, Belgium 20/08/2015

We really enjoyed our stay and the location in the old town near the Peyrou Gardens cannot be beaten. Our room was at the back in the annex - the view over the garden and the cathedral was just perfect and it was beautifully quiet. We took a taxi to the hotel from the train station - a mistake with all the roadworks currently ongoing; in fact it is an easyish 15-20 minute walk through the historic town centre. We didn't breakfast in the hotel - there is a bakers shop three doors up (although it was closed when we were there) and another fabulous bakery just on the other side of the rue Foch. Alternatively a number of the nearby bars/bistros have a basic breakfast service. I would stay here again.

"Nice quiet hotel very close to parking garage"

HappyHiker85, Morristown New Jersey 22/07/2015

Great location on the edge of the historic area. Very helpful staff, elevator to each floor, buffet breakfast. A nice large room with great modern shower in a refurbished older building with character.

"'Rustic' return to Montpellier"

atholebrose, Perthshire 19/07/2015

We stayed here 19 years ago when our daughter studied at Montpellier University for a year as an exchange student. We loved this place then and always talked about coming back. Le Guilhem is in the 'old town quarter' and excellently placed for local historic attractions easily accessed on foot. We stayed here for two nights and were delighted with the modified changes to Le Guilhem which has taken nothing from the original 'quirky' rustic charm. Staff were very helpful and courteous at all times. Our room was well presented and spotlessly clean with a lovely view up the street. Breakfast on the terrace in the sunshine was sufficient and plentiful. If travelling here by car, there is no parking at the Hotel but they have an agreement with nearby secure underground parking within easy walking distance and a very reasonable rate (18 euros for 48 hours with access). In summing up, Le Guilhem is an excellent choice for any traveller coming to visit 'Historique' Montpellier. In my humble opinion, it far exceeds its 3* status. It was the perfect start of our trip to Provence.

"Old World Charm and Hospitality in Montpellier"

Michael V, Seattle, Washington 26/06/2015

Friendly and very helpful staff make a wonderful first impression from this small hotel in the heart of the center of old Montpellier. Minutes from parks, gardens and wonderful ancient churches and...


User 08/03/2015

This is a great Hotel! The rooms are very pretty and the view out of our room was wonderful (Cathedral St. Pierre). The Staff was very friendly. If you are in Montpellier and look for a place to stay I can highly recommend this hotel!

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.