Room 1
Room 2
Room 3
Promotion code

The Olde Barn, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, Marston

Toll Bar Road, NG32 2HT, Marston, Great Britain - See on a map
The Olde Barn, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western - The Olde Barn, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western The The Olde Barn, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western is ideally located in the center of Marston. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

Bask in the peace and tranquility of The Olde Barn, Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western, set in the rolling countryside surrounding Grantham in the Heart of England. Situated about a mile from the A1, the hotel is conveniently located for a short break, business meeting or special celebration. Our 103 tastefully decorated guest rooms are in the newer wings of the hotel that are connected to the original barn, and all have tea and coffee-making facilities, free Wi-Fi and a work desk. Our most luxurious rooms have four-poster beds and spa baths, so you can live like a king or queen here! The hotel is a 15-minute walk from the charming village of Marston and 10 minutes by car from the center of Grantham. If you want to explore further, there are lots of interesting places to visit in the area, including several stately homes. Grade I-listed Belvoir Castle is about a 20-minute drive away, while Grimsthorpe Castle has exquisite gardens and family activities to enjoy. Nature lovers can explore the reed beds and rare bird species at Grantham Canal, while history buffs will discover King John's links to Newark Castle. After a busy day of activities, why not unwind in our health club and spa? It has an indoor pool, sauna and gym. If you have kids with you, we can keep them entertained on our PlayStation while you relax. Dinner is served in our rustic restaurant, while our contemporary bar offers a range of beverages and light meals.

Sure Hotel Collection

The Olde Barn




Hotel advantages

  • Lounges/bars
  • Free parking
    Free parking
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
based on 2368 guest reviews
Very Good
Business Business
Couples Couples
Family Family
Friends getaway Friends getaway
Solo travel Solo travel
Sleep Quality

"Pleasant stay after changing rooms"

christine s, Potters Bar, United Kingdom 16/09/2020

Arrived at the Olde Barn Hotel on a 2 day break from buy a gift. Nice hotel but a bit remote. Room we were given we had to change as when I checked the bed there was a very large stain on it and also a hole in the side. Our room was changed straight away without any fuss. The new room was very nice, clean and quite big. The hotel was very good with the spacing for COVID with sanitisers everywhere. One disappointment was that when we arrived the bar wasn't open and the receptionist had to serve a drink but she couldn't use the pumps so we had to have bottled beer at extra cost! The restaurant was ok but I had the gammon which was very overcooked as was the bacon for breakfast. Didn't eat there the second night as found a restaurant in the small town which was a 10 minute walk away.

Andrew Borland, General Manager at The Olde Barn Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to feedback your experience. I am sorry that you had some issues with your initial bedroom, but pleased the team resolved the issue quickly and effectively. I am also sorry that the food did not meet your expectation an dwill raise your comments with our kitchens. thank you agin for sharing your experience with us

"Lovely weekend away"

MoragFT, Coventry, United Kingdom 14/09/2020

Weekend break. Definitely covid friendly. One way system in operation. Everywhere really clean. Food in restaurant amazing . Rooms clean. Lovely area. Lovely local walks. Friendly staff very helpful. Would stay there again

Andrew Borland, General Manager at The Olde Barn Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am very pleased we met your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

"Software and stitch retreat"

User 12/09/2020

Just arrived home from a software and stitch retreat at The Olde Barn. This retreat should have happened in April but as lots of things it was cancelled until this weekend. Our group was apprehensive about visiting a hotel at this time but we couldn't have felt safer. All the staff were very attentive and our health and safety was their top priority. We could move about the hotel without any worries about having too many people around and all our meals were served in a small dining room. If anyone is considering visiting this hotel I can highly recommend it.

Andrew Borland, General Manager at The Olde Barn Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for sharing your experience at the hotel. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again in the near future

"Sewing Retreat"

User 12/09/2020

We were a group of 5 ladies on a sewing weekend. All of us are in the older age group & some of the group were concerned about our vulnerability to Covid but the hotel coped really well & we always felt completely safe. The food was excellent & we even had to ask for smaller portions. The rooms were clean , spacious very nice. We were made very welcome & nothing was too much trouble. It is difficult times for businesses , this is my third visit to this hotel but without a doubt will be booking again. For the price we paid it was excellent value for money

Andrew Borland, General Manager at The Olde Barn Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for sharing your experience at the hotel. I am pleased you felt safe and secure and had a comfortable stay. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

"Short break"

User 30/08/2020

Great value stay this hotel was great value for money the public areas could do with an update but the superior rooms were presented to a very high standard. The hotel copped well with the covid restrictions. But the bar menu was a little limited.

Andrew Borland, General Manager at The Olde Barn Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that we met your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay. I hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future

"Excellent value"

sassyjem, Stafford 28/08/2020

A one night stop over for us on the way to kings lynn. Extremely good value for a one nights stay. Our room was a great size with a fabulous bed and great shower room. The one way COVID safe route seems to work well. Overall though sadly the hotel does look very tired and a good bit of money would need spending. Loved the artwork on the walls though! We did pay for breakfast which at £20 for us both is a lot of money so I expected great things. Sadly the cold selection was poor and the cooked breakfast nothing special. Very disappointed with this but would stay at the hotel again.

"Not great"

happyincumbria, carlisle 26/08/2020

My husband and myself were gifted a 2 night stay with afternoon tea. We were travelling to visit our son and his family in Norfolk, so stopped hereto break the long journey. When checking in we arranged for the afternoon tea the next day. Room was big but very basic, really could do with updating. But it was clean. That night we had a meal in our he bar, yes it was just pub grub, but it was ok. The next day we decided to check out a day early, reason we were board, the hotel was in the middle of nowhere, the hotel ground were over grown and full of fag ends, and to top it off the pool was closed. We went down for our afternoon tea, which we were looking forward to as we had not had breakfast, the lady on reception said we didn't have one booked, on showing her our receipt, she mad a phone call then started rushing around. Then another couple turn up for there tea. Nothing for them as well. In the end we told the lady to box it up for us and we checked out early. Would I go back, sadly no. I do know they needed a refurbished and more staff but I guess that's all down to money.

"Lovely and clean"

User 24/08/2020

We have just got back from our stay at the olde barn and had a lovely time food was lovely and staff Jack/lexie were very friendly and welcoming. Would happily go back My only criticism was that could do with a fresh lick of paint here and there.

"Lovely Hotel"

Chaz35661, Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom 24/08/2020

I recently stayed here as part of a Buyagift Voucher. We had a 2 Course Meal included in our stay and a full English breakfast. The food was lovely and we had a really nice room. The Staff at this Hotel are all super friendly and we really enjoyed our stay here. It's situated in the quiet and relaxing Village of Marsden. Nice for walking, the Village has a nice Pub which we visited about 10 minutes walk away. I would recommend staying here.

"Lovely mini break "

shazpin, Boston, United Kingdom 21/08/2020

We are quite local to the area but needed a break away as husband been working very long hours during lock down . We chose the hotel as looked nice on the website and very conveniently located. On arrival ,friendly welcome explained the guide lines re vivid and had to wear mask on entry as expected . Was upgraded to a lovely super room (201) really clean , huge bathroom his and her sink units too . Loads of storage space. Iron and full size ironing board , tea coffee making facilities fully stocked . Although be side of vivid no room cleaning during our stay but totally understood this and thought as no problem . Hotel is running with Skelton staff but all are so lovely the young man and young lady working in the bar and breakfast room were so helpful and friendly and another lady on our 2nd night was also lovely . Restaurant not open for dinner , but we're offering a reduced menu in the bar and both nights was really nice food. Breakfast was continental help yourself to drinks , cereal, toast and pastries then also full English hot breakfast , or what ever your preferred choice of hot food and was really good . Yes it was quiet and spa not open yet but every precaution taken to make you feel safe, lovely staff, food and fab clean room . Just what the doctor ordered for husband not having a full day off since February , perfect . And thankyou to all at the olde Barn

Andrew Borland, General Manager at The Olde Barn Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to feedback your experience. I am very please you enjoyed your break with us. I hope to welcome you back in the near future, when our health club facilities should also be open again


User 19/08/2020

I arrived, and although check in was a quick process, I found the lady to be quite dismissive in her attitude, whether that was only to me or not, I'm unsure. I had a large, spacious room, but the problem was, there were bugs in the corners of the room, a black beetle scrurried across my floor, so I actually had to hit it with a shoe, the also appeared to be some daddy long legs type of bug in the corner of my bathroom, next to where the bath meets the corner of the wall. There was a large chip in the bath, the shower wasn't fitted to the system it came with so I had to lift it down and shower, rather than stand under it, there seemed to be a forgotten cotton bud behind the cabinet next to the bed and the matching one in the bin in the bathroom. There was also a ceiling repair that had been done what looked to be recently because the patchwork paint was a telltale sign. I heard from other members of the hotel at the time that a fire alarm went off in the middle of the night also, which broke their sleep, and then prohibited them from sleeping again. I overall think the place needs a little TLC towards the back of the building, whereas the front is in tip top shape. It's what the eye can't see that they need to upgrade.

"Olde room and Olde food"

lucyCza, Maidstone, United Kingdom 16/08/2020

Visited post COVID midweek in August. First point of notice is that we were definitely in the old part of the Olde barn hotel, as our room was nothing like the lovely photos on the website, which was disappointing, yet did the job. Minimal enforcement of a one way system, when staff don't even follow it themselves which again is not impressive. Much like the food in the bar which looked and tasted defrosted and with minimal effort, along with little to none vegetarian options, would recommend eating elsewhere. Bar staff were really nice especially under the current circumstances and during the hot weather. Limited space to dine and not really worth the price when leisure facilities are not available.

"Software and Stitch Retreat"

User 16/08/2020

Well what can I say....not enough really. I have just stayed here from Thursday through Sunday on a sewing retreat. The hotel is open and running on fewer staff and amenities, however we could not have been more well looked after. There are sanitisers everywhere, the staff who are currently working are doing everything necessary to make the guests feel at ease in this current climate, observing social distance etc. I never once felt any risk! The food was from the bar menu and was very nice indeed, with plenty to choose from, we had all refreshments brought to our rooms as required. Andrew the hotel manager and Charlie the hotel deputy manager went out of their way to accommodate our little group, giving a lovely personal touch. I cannot say how much I have enjoyed my weekend here, a massive well done to all staff you are doing an amazing job to get us back to ‘normal' in these unprecedented times. Thank you all for a great weekend.

"Honest review from my second visit"

HPowell00, Clitheroe, United Kingdom 16/08/2020

I've been here Thursday till Sunday on a sewing retreat. Usually these retreats have 15 people but the hotel kindly let it run this time with just 4 of us. This is my second visit, I was last here in February. I enjoyed my stay then but this is about this visit. These are difficult times and I must admit, I was a little apprehensive. I need not have worried. There are sanitising stations everywhere, social distancing is very well organised. There are less staff as there are less customers but the service has been exemplary. The food this time has been off the bar menu but there is plenty of choice and it has been excellent. 2 of the ladies have had steak each night! Andrew, the Manager and Charlie (Deputy Manager) have made sure we have everything we need and lovely Lexi our waitress is great too. I highly recommend The Olde Barn and have felt safe but had a great time.

"Horrible weekend"

TraceyKeyingham, Keyingham 12/08/2020

The Old Barn is not ready to open after lockdown. The pool is not open, there was only one staff serving the whole hotel all weekend and the food is poor pub grub. The outside seating areas are filthy and overgrown. I would not have stayed the second night if we did not have plans in the area. The aircon did not work in our room and no maintenance on site or offer of an alternative room although the hotel was half empty. Soulless is my conclusion to the stay.

"Some very dated areas and rooms"

ack33cat, Mainland, United Kingdom 28/07/2020

It was fairly cheap to stay but the room was dated and we have stayed in much better at this price point. They are still getting up and running after the corona virus so facilities are very limited. I was concerned that the bathroom hadn't been cleaned properly with dust, hairs and spiders in the corners. I'm not sure why we were given a dated room when the pictures on the website show they have much nicer. Personally if I wasn't fully booked, I would fill my refurbished rooms first to avoid negative reviews. I think this place could be very nice and some of the public areas have been refurbished already. I hope they manage to get this place up to the standard of other best westerns we have stayed in.

Andrew Borland, General Manager at The Olde Barn Hotel, responded to this review
Thank your for your feedback. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations but I do take on board your comments on areas for improvement and will discuss these with the team and the owners of the hotel. Thank you again for feeding back your experience

"Family break"

sharonwL4007PK, Dukinfield, United Kingdom 17/03/2020

Went to the old barn hotel with sister, Auntie, Uncle and cousin I had room 201 in some parts the hotel needs a bit of tic However our room was lovely and the pool area relaxing excellent value for money and friendly staff.

"Dated and old"

philiph2549, Kettering, United Kingdom 15/03/2020

We booked two night here after seeing the hotels website. As usual the website shows all the best bits, but unfortunately it's not quite like this. The restaurant is very dated and in need of redecoration. The set menu looked very dated and the bar menu was better and the food we had from this was well prepared and not over priced. Breakfast was good selection of self service food but at £10 each is about average price. The health club was ok, the pool a little cold the hot tub had too much chlorine causing me quite bad eye irritation and the mens changing room had a lake where the showers were not draining properly. Our room was nice, it was clean although the carpet did feel slightly sticky under foot. The bed was comfortable. We had afternoon tea and i give them a big thumbs up for as it was very tasty and generous and this is the main reason for an it's ok rating . If you want somewhere to sleep and a pool on is on your list then it would fit the bill, otherwise a premier inn etc would be a better choice.

abN9543KL, General Manager at The Olde Barn Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed the bar food and afternoon tea nd breakfast, and that your room was comfortable and clean. I note your comments on restaurant decor which i shall share with the owners. I also note your comments on the leisure club pool and spa bath and will take these up with the lesiure club team. I hope that you will consider returning to us when you are next in the area.

"Looking after disabled guests"

Hilmjones, Sleaford, United Kingdom 10/03/2020

My brother who has limited mobility recently visited the pool after purchasing a group on the staff were absolutely amazing with him. They allowed him to use the staff changing rooms as they were closer. They swapped the treatment rooms so they were nearer and made him feel so relaxed and welcomed. Well done guys not enough places show your consideration thank you.

abN9543KL, General Manager at The Olde Barn Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the hotel. I am very pleased that our leisure club staff provided a high level of customer service that made your family time with us relaxing and enjoyable. I shall pass your kind words to the team. Hopefully we can welcome you back for another visit in the near future

"Another Brilliant Mr Bridge Weekend"

Joan02, Stockport, Cheshire 10/03/2020

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit yet again to The Olde Barn where we have enjoyed many Mr Bridge weekends. We were greeted warmly on reception by Gwen who remembered us from previous visits. We had been upgraded to Executive rooms, which was a nice loyalty touch. Yes, the hotel could do with some financial investment in parts, but it was warm, friendly and very comfortable. The food in the restaurant was very good, with the sea bass excellent! All staff were most accommodating, helpful and friendly - special mention goes to Gwen and to Charlie and the lady cleaning our rooms. We have been coming here for over ten years and we are looking to book another bridge weekend there in the Autumn. All things considered, I recommend The Olde Barn as superb value for money. We will certainly be back again! Thank you!

abN9543KL, General Manager at The Olde Barn Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your feedbcak. I am very pleased you enjoyed your return visit to one of the Mr Bridge weekend events. I am slo pleased that the staff met and exceeded service expectations and will pass your kind comments on to the team. Look forward to welcoming you back later in the year

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.