ROOM 1
ROOM 2
ROOM 3
Promotion code

Best Western Hotel du Mucem, Marseille

4.0/5  - basé sur 296 notations.
22 Rue Mazenod, 13002, Marseille, France - See map

The Best Western Hotel du Mucem is a 15 minute walk from the old port and across from the docks with ferries going to Corsica. You can browse the free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel or explore the city from Joliette Metro Station, 302m away. The rooms are contemporary in style and offer free toiletries in the modern private bathroom. Each one is air-conditioned and also has an iPod docking station and an LCD TV. The hotel serves a buffet breakfast every morning in the breakfast room. You can also ask for breakfast to be delivered to your guest room. A 24-hour front desk, luggage storage and newspapers are some of the other facilities at this hotel

Best Western

Hotel du Mucem

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Hotel advantages

  • Air conditioning
    Air conditioning
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
  • Onsite laundry
    Onsite laundry
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
Certificate of Excellence 2018
based on 295 guest reviews
NOTE ISSUED
Excellent
66
Very Good
150
Average
63
Poor
10
Terrible
6
REFER TO NOTICE
Business Business
80
Couples Couples
126
Family Family
26
Friends getaway Friends getaway
21
Solo travel Solo travel
30
SUMMARY NOTES
Cleanliness
Location
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Value

"Amazing people "

5
24/02/2018

Phone contact amazing, arrived late and left early. Adrien made everything possible to make sure we got breakfast at 5:45 am. Great people that work with there heart. Really recommend its very close to the Mucem

BWMucem, Responsable réception at Best Western Hotel Du Mucem, responded to this review
Dear GegeSunnyIslesBeach, Thank you for your nice comment on Trip Advisor. All our team will be glad to welcome you again in Best Western Hotel du Mucem***. Adrien and Melina are really pleased to read your comment and thank you again for your happiness during your stay. We hope to see you soon. Kind regards. Audrey Front Desk Manager

"Good room, if used only as a room"

3
21/01/2018

The room was fair for the price paid, and most of the receptionists could speak English which really helped at times given my limited French. The midday checkout and willingness to hold bags until 18:00 was also good for evening flights. However, there were some things to watch out for. We ordered room service one night (because most restaurants close in Marseille at 17:00 apparently), and the cheese burger resembled the small 1 minute microwave kind, not to mention at 8.00 euros, it also arrived without chips. The other meal was about the same in portion lacking. After ringing back and asking for the chips which were in the menu, we were told there weren't any chips included (which there was), after the receptionist checked the menu herself, she agreed to send some up. This took in excess of an hour and they weren't particularly cooked and at stages were like raw potato. However, they apologised and gave us the fruit salad we ordered for free, so I can't complain at the service. Finally, we asked for a taxi back to the airport to be booked by the hotel, the receptionist advised it would be 55 euro. Expensive for the 20-minute journey but hey, we were on holiday. Assuming the fixed fee, we went to the airport and the driver asked for 76 euros. He was charging 10 cent a second. So it's a nice place, just don't ask for any of the other features and you will be alright!

BWMucem, Responsable réception at Best Western Hotel Du Mucem, responded to this review
Dear Denise, thank you for your comment on Trip Advisor. I am very sorry to read your stay was not as expected. Restaurants in Marseille closed at 21:30.... either the nearest restaurant from the hotel, named "la Palestine". Please note that we do not have any restaurant, by consequences either kitchen. We propose a room service, served directly in your room, the title "homemade" is not mentionned on the room service menu. About the potatoes, we bake them in an oven, it takes normaly 30minutes. I do not know what happend during the evening and i'll ask more precisions from the receptionnist directly. About the taxi, we do not have prices from the taxi' company. I don't know where the receptionnist found these and i'm really sorry for the misunderstanding. All our team will be glad to welcome you again in Best Western Hotel du Mucem***. We hope to see you soon. Kind regards. Audrey

"Cozy budget hotel in Marseille"

5
11/12/2017

While booking, I had my doubts about this hotel which is located next to Marseille's massive ferry terminal to Africa, in the typical "cheap hotel" area. However I turned out to be much better than expected: - The area is indeed quite cool. The seaside front (2 streets from the hotel) has been completely refurbished with the new museums (including the MuCEM which gives name to the hotel), a massive and very nice mall (Les Terrasses du Port) and two cool leisure areas with nice cafés and eateries (Les Docks de la Joliette and Les Halles de la Major). So while the area looks like probably it was a bit dodgy 10 years ago (and there are still cheap and run-down hotels here and there), it is being gentrified at the speed of light and feels safe and interesting. - Accessibility is good. Metro and tramway next to the door. Main train station is a 20 minute walk (without heavy luggage), otherwise the metro is there. An easy 10 minute walk to the Vieux Port. - The hotel has also been refurbished. My single room was clean, looked like new, Wifi worked perfectly, as well as heating (it was a chilly day in Marseille). Single bed was reasonably confortable. - Staff is friendly and attentive. A perfectly convenient budget option in an interesting area in Marseille.

BWMucem, Responsable réception at Best Western Hotel Du Mucem, responded to this review
Dear Danudanu, Thank you for your nice comment on Trip Advisor. All our team will be glad to welcome you again in Best Western Hotel du MuCEM***. We hope to see you soon. Kind regards. Audrey

"Well situated, clean and modern rooms, helpful staff"

5
13/11/2017

If you're looking for a no fuss hotel, affordable, with very clean, comfortable and modern rooms, a short walk away from the old port and the Panier district, this is the way to go. Good restaurants all around. We were very satisfied!

BWMucem, Responsable réception at Best Western Hotel Du Mucem, responded to this review
Dear Marc_Proprio_Owner, Thank you for your nice comment on Trip Advisor. All our team will be glad to welcome you again in Best Western Hotel du MuCEM***. We hope to see you soon. Kind regards. Audrey

"very clean and friendly hotel"

5
02/10/2017

we visited Marseille on passing thru to a other location so just stayed one night the staff is very friendly and our room was very clean with a small but appropiate bathroom the bed was an in between but comfortable we had nothing to complain the hotel is situated near the big cathedral and there are a lot of nice restaurants in the neighbourhood this is a perfect hotel for a weekend and we will visit again

BWMucem, Responsable réception at Best Western Hotel Du Mucem, responded to this review
Dear Albert V, Thank you for your nice comment ! All our team will be glad to welcome you again ! We hope to see you soon. Kind regards. Audrey

"Nice hotel"

5
21/05/2017

Nice hotel in the great location, everything easily reachable by foot. Metro is 5 min away, bus/train station 20 min away. Very helpful and friendly staff. Breakfast buffet for 11€ was good as well. Definitely worth the money.

BWMucem, Responsable réception at Best Western Hotel Du Mucem, responded to this review
Dear Jan, Thank you for your nice comment ! All our team will be glad to welcome you again ! We hope to see you soon. Kind regards. Audrey

"Things that make me say "meh""

3
08/12/2016

Although very clean and pleasant, including a very helpful staff and great location, there are two items that make my latest visit to this hotel underwhelming. First, my room was a sauna that resisted all attempts at temperature regulation. This stay was in winter, so it was a heater/boiler issue. Had to leave a window open all night. Next, Wi-Fi was intermittent at best. If your hotel has me questioning whether or not I have violated some maximum data allowance and shut me off for the evening while I am trying to manage an ongoing construction project on the other side of the globe, chances are I won't be staying with you again.

"Needs cleaning "

3
27/09/2016

The hotel is good for a low budget trip. I went on a cultural trip with my university and the rooms spacing is great to share. (I stayed in the double bedroom). The breakfast was only breads, ham, canned fruit, cheese and scrambled egg. I wished I could've found something more natural and healthy. At least boiled egg instead of scrambled. The people in the fronk desk were very nice, thought the women at breakfast only asked for a room number in an annoying way and offered something to drink but after wouldn't provide any kind of service, they rather sat and spoke to each other. Watch out for the cups, it was very hard to find a cup or glass that was not stained, even the coffee cups at the room. There is not a nice view in this hotel. But I repeat, if you go for a low budget it is probably one of the best options.

"Hidden hide away"

4
19/09/2016

We spent two nights in this small boutique hotel on the edge of the Panier, the Vieux port and the Docks . It is a 5minute walk from the Jolliette metro station great for independent travellers and comfortable rooms. Staff were excellent and really good when some of our party were taken ill. Comfortable functional rooms and a great location add up to a good deal.

"Very modern - close to public transport"

3
10/08/2016

Pro: - Very modern - Close to public transport - Clean hotel - Near Joliet square with some terraces - Con - We got a room on the sixth floor. That was quiet tiny and not for claustrophobic people, as there were only windows at the inclining roof. - Try to avoid fifth floor.

"Value for Money"

4
04/05/2016

Stayed here 1 night before joining cruise - I agree hotel much better inside than out. Staff on Reception desk very helpful. Breakfast was okay - plenty of choice and staff friendly. Walking distance to the old port etc. Approx cost of taxi from here to Bus/Train Station Euro 15. Rooms small however adequate and clean.

"Better inside than the look from outside."

4
29/04/2016

Friendly persons working in front desk and the breakfast. Breakfast was good and fresh, typical food from the local area of Marseille/Provance. The room is not big but okay size, simple and clean. I was alone, so for me it was perfect size. View from balcony was street view, cruising ship and the church nearby. Entrance had two sofa's and some refreshments. I would stay there again and the price was cheap.

"Very good value for money"

5
07/04/2016

The room was small but functional, clean and had a comfortable bed with two cushions. The bathroom was nice, clean with a comfortable shower. The breakfast was very good with a variety of bread and beverages. Very friendly and helpful service at the reception and in the breakfast room.

"Great place, reasonable price"

4
09/03/2016

Good location, near to the cathedral ("la Major"), the Mucem and the Vieux Port which are all easily reachable by foot. Walking in the other direction, a brand new shopping area ("les docks") and just a few hundred meters, the sea is in front of you. The hotel has an agreement with a public secured car park just a block away with an interesting fare. Tramcare to Cannebière is just another block from the parking. Staff is friendly and breakfast (11€) is great with a number of local products with an explanation in English in the menu. Our room was rather small with a view on a courtyard, not that great, but it was very tidy and the bathroom was of reasonable dimensions. No noise at all.... The hotel opened in 2012 and seems well maintained, all floors and wall are neat. We'l probably come back !

"Hotel OK, situation awful"

3
21/02/2016

This Hotel was exactly what expected, yes the rooms were small and we hated the saloon bar doors to the bathroom, but it was adequate for our 2 night stay. The staff all spoke English and were extremely helpful. There was an empty fridge so you can keep food in there, you need too as a Continental breakfast is 11Euros each. There was coffee and tea and a kettle and a small TV with a couple of English Channels, but that's par for the course. Free Wifi in the room as well. The nearest supermarket is very good for croissants and pastries which we had with coffee for breakfast. Marseille is an industrial town and although the Hotel is situated near the Beautiful Cathedral and the Museum, there is not a lot else to do. The metro is less than 5 minutes walk and you can buy tickets in reception which is very useful as there is no ticket kiosk in the station. Do not expect to eat out in the evening as all the bars and restaurants close by about 7. We were lucky to find a bar that still had people talking at the bar and they prepared a burger and chips on our first night and Lasagne on our last night. Also forget about EU regulations here. The barman and clients were all smoking in the bar and there are no bins for dog poop, so watch your step. Would we go back. A sounding NO.

"Never Again!!"

2
05/01/2016

Bathroom and room too small, not equipped for 2 guests. If I had an extra towel (only one towel available) I would not have fallen (tooth ruined) . I intend to assess any responsibility of the structure. Ruined holiday. It saves only the courtesy and kindness of Mrs. Aurelia, whom I thank . Never again!!

"No frills city hotel"

4
11/12/2015

The location may be is not the best for tourists at the first moment, but I it`s very close to new MUCEM, and from there, just a stroll from the city centre alongside the port area. A little intimidating at night, but I feel secure, very close to the metro, just two stops from the train station and the centre ville. Shops and a huge commercial center nearby. And handy for the ferries, too ! My single room was tiny, with a roof window, but modern, very well laid and extremely clean. Excellent wifi and very good heating system. Helpful staff

"Passing Strangers"

3
12/11/2015

Good hotel for business people, very clean rooms and bathroom. We stayed for 5 nights in October but it doesn't cater for people who would like to come back from a day sightseeing and have a drink at the bar or a chat with fellow guests. Tea and coffee in the room is a nice touch . Room was small but functional. Receptionists were quite polite but not overly friendly or helpful.

"Tiny room; well located"

3
09/11/2015

Suited in an industrial zone, dark when walked back at night. It's modern and right next to MUCEM but other than that, I don't think the value is great for the breakfast is not provided , other hotels offer cheaper rooms and with breakfast, and the bed is really small, i only measure 171 cm. No parking place, only public parking is possible nearby.

"Awful hotel in a bad neighbourhood!"

1
03/11/2015

What an awful hotel, I don't know how Best Western put their name to this kind of poor quality. We had originally booked to stay 3 nights but left after one and paid for a room elsewhere even though we were not able to get a refund. The street that the hotel is on does not feel safe at night and is pretty grotty. The hotel did not have the air conditioning on despite having A/C advertised on the website, it got up to 28 degrees overnight even with the window open. The smell, noise and mosquitoes from the open window were a problem. The view from our room was absolutely disgusting, as shown in the photo. Would not recommend this hotel!

"Good hotel and good service"

4
01/10/2015

The staff was very friendly, they helped us a lot, they made a reservation to a restaurant for dinner, they explained how to get to the city centre. Also, the rooms were clean and everything was good. The view of the room was not spectacular (we saw roof tops full of garbage), but if you kept your eyes away, everything was good. We definitely recommend this hotel.

"Good hotel"

4
29/07/2015

Good hotel situated not far from the main port of marseille.. we stayed there for 4nights, The buffet breakfast menu its quiet good. The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpfull. The room itself was kept clean at all times and spacious. We had room service *dinner sent to our room* and well we cant complaint the food was lovely and beautifully presented.. Worth the prize range.

"Nice stay"

5
07/07/2015

Stayed 2 nights It's well located and close to the metro and transport but also 5 minutes from the Terrasses Du Port shopping Centre. Superior room was good with a huge bed and well decorated. Really friendly staff as well. Will return.

"OK Hotel near center"

3
01/06/2015

Room was nice, clean but a little small. Had all amenities and mini bar. Bathroom was a little small for us. Quite and AC works great! Parking is one block away, and kind of expensive. Let them know you are going to need one.

"Best value for money"

4
22/05/2015

I travel regularly to Marseilles for business and this is my second stay at this hotel due to Ibis hotel being sold out. However, I think I will do it again from now on. The rooms are very clean and spacious. The stuff are just amazing, we had to leave at 5:30 am to the airport and didn't have time for breakfasts, on the check out at the reception some fresh coffee with couples of pastries were waiting for us FREE of charge. The street of the hotel is the only downsize, but still the general location is just perfect 2 minutes walking from terrace du port or the tramway, and 15 min of a very nice walk to the old port.

"Close to the station and a good location to move around."

4
16/05/2015

Stayed here for two nights as I moved around in Marseille. The hotel is less than 5 mins from the metro which can connect you to the main train station. The staff is friendly and nice. Close enough to walk everywhere.