ROOM 1
ROOM 2
ROOM 3
Promotion code

Best Western Hotel Mannheim City, Mannheim

C 7, 9 - 11, 68159, Mannheim, Germany - See on a map
Best Western Hotel Mannheim City - Exterior The Best Western Hotel Mannheim City is ideally located in the center of Mannheim. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

The Best Western® Hotel Mannheim City is located in the center of Mannheim, which is an important economic and university site between Frankfurt and Stuttgart. Every year the city attracts more tourists. The main station is reachable in five minutes by car. The Mannheim City Airport takes 15 minutes by car. Stuttgart or Frankfurt Airports are reachable within a half hour. Our centrally located hotel offers 162 comfortable rooms of the 3 Star category with three different room types. All rooms are equipped with a shower and toilet, hairdryer, desk, direct dial telephone, cable television with Skye, safe and a furnished kitchenette upon request as well as free Wi-Fi access.

Best Western

Hotel Mannheim City

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Hotel advantages

  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
based on 205 guest reviews
NOTE ISSUED
Excellent
21
Very Good
57
Average
86
Poor
31
Terrible
10
REFER TO NOTICE
Business Business
82
Couples Couples
57
Family Family
17
Friends getaway Friends getaway
23
Solo travel Solo travel
21
SUMMARY NOTES
Cleanliness
Location
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Value

"Fair price"

4
User 11/07/2019

A nice hotel fairly priced. A short walk from the city centre and a little bit further to the railway station. There were a couple of pubs / restaurants within walking distance. Good sized room. Very clean and staff friendly.

Getaway55537757950, FO at Best Western Hotel Mannheim City, responded to this review
Dear guest Thank you for your kind rating. We are looking forward to your next visit. kind regards Linda Staudt Front Office

"Good"

4
Explorer28059616459, Stadtallendorf, Germany 13/06/2019

The staff is absolutely kind, welcoming and present. The room, although small, rational and well-equipped as well as aesthetically pretty. The bathroom, though clean, smelled of poor ventilation and is a real shame.

Getaway55537757950, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel Mannheim City, responded to this review
Dear guest, Thank you for positive rating your last stay in our hotel. We look forward to your positive feedback and hope to welcome you back soon. Greetings from Mannheim Alisa Schütz Front Office Team

"Western Hotel"

3
User 11/06/2019

The staff was nice Room was clean...buut it was on the 5 th floor(last) the elevator was out of service and in the room was very hot.The air conditionner system was not able to compensate and it was very very noisy.The windows could not be opened and there were no blinds.The bathroom was small but ok

Getaway55537757950, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel Mannheim City, responded to this review
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to evaluate your stay in our house. We are sorry that you did not have a pleasant stay. Nevertheless, we would look forward to a second chance and hope to welcome you again soon Kind regards Marija Knezovic & team

"Poor in terms of prix - quality relation"

2
User 11/06/2019

The room was very small & the hotel quite old, therefore the price was expensive for what it is. Great location and beds are super confortable. Lift was broken the whole 3 days & no compesation for it was offered.

Getaway55537757950, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel Mannheim City, responded to this review
Dear guest, thank you very much for your rating. It is very nice that like the lovation and our beds. We are very sorry about the elevator. Unfortunately, larger spare parts for an elevator can not be delivered as quickly. Kind regards Marija Knezovic & team

"satisfatory"

3
pippinho76, Lisbon, Portugal 10/06/2019

The room was clean but the bed was very tiny. The WC was also clean and functional but a little old. The elevator doesn't worked and the receptionist wasn't born with sympathy. On the other hand, breakfast was very good and diverse.

Getaway55537757950, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel Mannheim City, responded to this review
Dear guest, thank you very much for your rating. We are very sorry about the Elevator. We will be glad to welcome you again. Best regards Marija Knezovic & team

"Good value"

4
omare828, Antwerp, Belgium 05/06/2019

It was a good stay for 3 days. The room was big and clean. The bathroom was clean. The furniture was good. Service is not very good and not fast. But overall my stay was fine, I enjoyed it. This review is for when i stayed in Feb. 2019.

Getaway55537757950, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel Mannheim City, responded to this review
Dear guest, thank you very much for your good rating. We are happy about this. We will be also happy to welcome you again. Kind regards Marija Knezovic & team

"Very pleasant"

5
User 26/05/2019

The room had a perfect bed and all the furniture was perfectly installed. I had a very pleasant stay and the stuff was also very kind to me. The shower was nice. I also really liked the balcony. The desk worked also perfect.

Getaway55537757950, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel Mannheim City, responded to this review
Dear guest, thank you very much for your good rating. We are very happay about this. We will be glad to welcome you again. Kind regards Marija Knezovic & team

"no good"

1
Odyssey58772063061, Kiev, Ukraine 14/05/2019

I have an opinion that the person who responds to emails does not communicate with those who work at the reception. I asked to accept a letter for me, 2 twin beds. I was confirmed this opportunity. But, in fact, they did nothing. This is extremely unpleasant.

Getaway55537757950, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel Mannheim City, responded to this review
Dear Guest, Thank you for your rating. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at ++49 (0) 621 15920. Sincerely, Alisa Schütz Front Office Team Best Western Hotel Mannheim City

"Value for money but poor service"

3
Paradise61941792531, Hamburg, Germany 05/05/2019

Elevator out of service. Sheets were not changed although stained. When I asked the receptionist for the fees for using the phone she answered she does not know and it would not be possible to get the information.

Getaway55537757950, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel Mannheim City, responded to this review
Dear Guest thank you for rating our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at ++49 (0) 621 15920. Sincerely Alisa Schütz Front Office Team

"Very nice stay"

4
SilvioD D, Rome, Italy 18/04/2019

The hotel is conveniently located close to the University and at at 20 minutes walk from the railway station. Rooms are small but very confortable. I haven't had breakfast , so I cannot judge this service. Despite its proximity to a high-frequency higway, the rooms are very quiet.

Getaway55537757950, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel Mannheim City, responded to this review
Dear Guest, thank you for your rating. We lookig forward to see you next time in our house :-) kind regards Alisa Schütz Front Office Team

"I do not recommend"

1
User 09/04/2019

The staff tricked me - I booked two rooms: € 107.72 STANDARD, € 123.56 SUPERIOR - it turned out that both rooms are the same, OSHOSIS AND LIES, ... lie to people and rob people. There were no rooms at the reception desk. I am asking for a refund of the difference ... Rooms smelled, rude service. Photographs lie to people

Getaway55537757950, FO at Best Western Hotel Mannheim City, responded to this review
Dear Guest, many of our superior rooms are located on the inside of our yard and most have a balcony. The size of the room is not crucial, especially since all bathrooms in each room the same size. In addition, 90% of the rooms have the same design, only other colors. Linda Staudt Front office

"Good but not perfect."

4
Sunshine54672207615, Izmir, Turkey 06/04/2019

+ Central and quiet location. + 10min walking distance to city centre. +Breakfast is more than enough. - No ammenities like slippers and toothbrush. I don't know what more I can write to fulfill the 200.

Getaway55537757950, Front Office at Best Western Hotel Mannheim City, responded to this review
Dear Guest, Thanks for your review. You will find our ammenities at the reception. We are looking forward to your next visit. Kind regards Linda Staudt

"Terrible old, smelly, and dirty rooms"

1
User 18/02/2019

There was a lot of dust hanging on the ceiling that you look at when laying in bed. The toilet smelled every time you flush and the entire rooms smells then. The decor is very old, rooms are very small. Would never go there again. The Rolladen on the window was broken.

Getaway55537757950, Front Office Team at Best Western Hotel Mannheim City, responded to this review
Dear Stephanie, thank you very much for taking the time to rate us. We are sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations. It would be nice if you give us a second chance, so we can inspire you again. Greetings from Mannheim Linda Staudt & Team

"Never do it again"

1
User 08/02/2019

I have stayed in Hostels all over europe and i say HOSTELS not hotels even Bestwestern Hotels in England and found them better than this 3 stars hotel in a big city like Mannheim. Even I had to kill some spiders in my room just not to let them sleep with us. It was a catastrophy. It was too loud, and the room service in the morning they open the door without asking if someone still inside. I am very disappointed

Getaway55537757950, Leiter Front Office at Best Western Hotel Mannheim City, responded to this review
Dear guest, thank you very much for your review. We are very sorry that your stay was not nice. This is really not our standard. We hope for a second chance and will be glad to welcome you again. Kind regards Marija Knezovic & team

"Worn and outdated room,good breakfast"

2
arnsch, Frankfurt 02/02/2019

I stayed for 2 nights. Location is okay. Room was worn and in need of renovation. Stains on the carpet, broken window, light bulb missing, cracked sink. They need to invest some money ! Room was on 5th floor and still loud due to an old window. Breakfast was surpringly good. Will avoid in the future.

Getaway55537757950, Leiter Front Office at Best Western Hotel Mannheim City, responded to this review
Dear guest, thank you very much for your review. We are very sorry about your bad experience which is not our standard. We already informed the responsible departments. We hope to welcome you again. We wish you a nice week. Kind regards Marija Knezovic & team

"Business Trip"

2
Departure11935272969, Cairo, Egypt 27/01/2019

The location is very good and the priceThe service is ok and breakfast is goodDo not like the rooms quality and cleanlinessthe lift was not working twice and WI was not working a hole dayThere was a fire alarms buzz twice a nigh with no real reason where there was a guess a guest is smoking at his room which is not acceptable

Getaway55537757950, Leiter Front Office at Best Western Hotel Mannheim City, responded to this review
Dear guest, thank you very much for your review. We are very sorry about your bad experience which is not our standard. We work on it. We look forward to a second chance. Kind regards Marija Knezovic & Team

"Exploring Mannheim in comfort."

5
Oktopia74, Fetsund, Norway 13/01/2019

In December 2018 I and my daughter went to Mannheim for a guild meet with my fellow gamer friends. We arrived late but having alerted the hotel to this fact it was no problem at all. The room was clean, bed comfortable and the breakfast buffet excellent. Walking to the city center was no problem at all. It took me 10 minutes of brisk walk to the Paradeplatz, with all manner of public transport options. But be aware that the hotel lies in a quiet part of Mannheim and you might feel unsafe walking alone back to the hotel at night. I, however, had no issues and our two nights at the hotel was comfortable and very nice. Adding to this, we had forgotten our toothbrushes the hotel provided this free of charge. The staff was friendly and I can easily recommend this hotel for travelers wishing to explore Mannheim.

Getaway55537757950, Leiter Front Office at Best Western Hotel Mannheim City, responded to this review
Dear guest, thank you very much for your good review. It is nice to hear that your stay was nice. We will be glad to welcome you again and send Many regards Marija Knezovic & team

"Holidays in Mannheim"

2
danilafossati, Genoa, Italy 03/01/2019

The hotel is very old style. It needs urgent refurbishment especially in the bathrooms.The cleaning serivce has been very poor: they forgot a pair of dirty socks in the closet and even we advised the recpetion, the socks remained there during the whole stay.

Getaway55537757950, Leiter Front Office at Best Western Hotel Mannheim City, responded to this review
Dear guest, thank you very much for your review. We are happy about every feedback from our gusts because we want to be better every day. We are really sorry about your bad experience. We will be happy for a second chance. Many regards Marija Knezovic & team

"Slow reception"

3
Mustafa C, Istanbul, Turkey 20/05/2018

I was not signed in the system so receptionist kept me 30 mins in the lobby despite i had voucher. besides and the most important wifi was not working at my room, not even too slow. it was totally out of connection area.

Wyndham_Mannheim, Manager at Best Western Hotel Mannheim City, responded to this review
Dear Mustafacan, sorry for the Problems with your Reservation. We are working on teh Wifi Problem. We will have an signal check for every room this week and will find the Problem.

"Business trip"

4
779tobias, Karlskrona, Sweden 15/05/2018

Well located hotel in city center. Room quality is ok and the beds are very comfortable. Breakfast is a little bit below average since the range of variaty is quit poor. Request a room towards the garden since the traffic is a little bit disturbing.

Wyndham_Mannheim, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Mannheim City, responded to this review
Dear tobias thanks allot for your Review and comments. Please visit us again soon. Sven Beek

"Convenient hotel in good location"

4
User 10/05/2018

The hotel room was comfortable, bed was good, and the wifi was adequate. A little minus was the small bathroom/shower and the breakfast. Breakfast quality was ok but the price of 15 euro is a little high for it. Further the staff is very friendly and helpful. I would certainly consider to return to this hotel at my next stay in Mannheim

Wyndham_Mannheim, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Mannheim City, responded to this review
Thanks allot for your review and the positiv Feedback for our staff. Please come again soon. Sven Beek

"Not the best service"

3
User 03/05/2018

It took over 15 minutes for the receptionist to come down to reception and only did when the housekeeper went to fetch him. He gave us a room even though we were there one hour before the standard check in time, but apparently he didn't let know the staff and someone came in the room while we were there to leave a brochure and no apologies were given. Next morning, at around 8:50 the housekeeping service rang our door bell and tried to enter the room (he had learned and locked the door before bed), obviously the check out time is not 9am, so ringing the bell that early and they to enter the room without consent was (for the second time) outrageous.

Wyndham_Mannheim, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Mannheim City, responded to this review
Dear Guest, thanks allot for your Review and comments. Sorry for the lot`s of Problems you had douring your stay. Thats not our Standard and i am really sorry for that. Sven Beek

"Well siuated"

3
Joshua P, Johannesburg, South Africa 23/04/2018

Over all, my stay was ok. The guy in Reception was a very good host and helpful. So was the bartender. Wish they had a restaurant for dinner. Bar was closed for the whole week last week that wasn't good. Room wasn't not cleaned everyday either.

Wyndham_Mannheim, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Mannheim City, responded to this review
Dear guest thanks allot for your Review and your positiv Feedback to our staff. Sorry for the closed Bar.

"Excellent service"

5
User 26/03/2018

The personal was really kind and helped us with everything we needed, excellent rooms, really clean and spacious. The hotel is located close to the main points of the city, would definitely stay again

Isabel L, Manager at Best Western Hotel Mannheim City, responded to this review
Dear kmarquezprado, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Best regards Isabel Lagatie

"Broken shower tube."

2
User 03/03/2018

I stayed just for one night, the room was incredibly hot when I arrived despite several 'environment awareness' messages. Bathroom was smelly and the next mornig I found out that the shower tube was completely warn out and broken wchich resulted in water everywhere but out of the shower head.

Isabel L, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel Mannheim City, responded to this review
Dear Mattijs, thank you very much for your time and your rating. We are sorry about your not so nice experience. This is not our standard. We will be glad to welcome you again.Many regards, Marija Knezovic & Team

"Nice Hotel in the center of Mannheim"

4
massimoswitz, Zurich, Switzerland 09/01/2018

We stayed for only one night in this nice central city hotel. The room was little but clean with a nice balcony and bath room. The hotel is near public transport and the quality/preis is good for Mannheim.

Isabel L, Manager at Best Western Hotel Mannheim City, responded to this review
Dear Massimowitz, Thank you very much for your good rating, which you have given our hotel. We are glad that you liked it so much. Greetings from Mannheim Your Isabel Lagatie with team

"Small but adequate"

4
User 10/10/2017

Small room (very small bathroom) but adequate for a short stay. Clean with friendly staff. Good location - about a five minute cab ride from the main train station. This town is very easy to get around, we went everywhere on foot. Lots of restaurant and beer garden options nearby.

Isabel L, Manager at Best Western Hotel Mannheim City, responded to this review
Dear Guest, Thank you for your good rating. We are pleased that you enjoyed it so much and we are looking forward to welcoming you again. Greetings from Mannheim Your Isabel Lagatie

"Nicely central but beware of the carpark"

3
haggiskebab, Arlon, Belgium 17/09/2017

Good central location. Room perfectly adequate for an overnight although we had selected the hotel because of the possibility of 2 twin rooms - we were given 2 doubles and no twins available to change. If you are driving in anything other than a tiny car, I don't advise venturing into the underground car park. It has an almost sharp right turn at the bottom of a narrow slope. Apparently there's an intercom at the top of the ramp but we missed that, squeezed all the way down (in a BMW X6!!) to be met with a closed grille as car park full. Wild horses wouldn't see us attempting to reverse back up the slope. One of us got the hotel to open the grille so we could get in, turn around and then face the even more tricky drive back out again. After several attempts, we got out unscathed, nerves in shatters.

Isabel L, Manager at Best Western Hotel Mannheim City, responded to this review
Dear Guest, thank you so much for taking the time to evaluate us. As an alternative to our underground car park, which is really narrow for big cars, you can use the parking lot in our courtyard. Kind regards from Mannheim Your Isabel Lagatie & Team

"Hotel with challenges"

3
Hendrik_NL, Rotterdam, The Netherlands 05/07/2017

Looking at the web-site of Best Western Hotel Mannheim City it seems an attractive hotel to combine a stopover with a visit to Mannheim center. The hotel looks modern, is on walking distance to Mannheim center. (A 7 minute walk) and a parking garage (for a fee) is available. Furthermore, prices are moderate. However, things are not so simple. You have to make a close turn into a small archway onto a steep decline, and if you didn't spot the intercom at the top of the decline, you are in trouble at the bottom, stuck at the gate. When you have gained access to the garage, it appears that the parking places are in two levels. A metal contraption can be lifted with the parked car to free up another parking place. As all the metal contraptions were down, we had to park the car on the sharp incline of the contraption, hoping the hand brake was in good working order. Furthermore, car doors can't barely be opened, so if you have luggage in the passengers compartment, it stays there. No luggage trolleys are available in this hotel. Rooms differ in size and amenities. We were assigned a room on the street side. This room was small and lacked some amenities promised on the web site. As the stay was for one night, we would have been satisfied with the room, but for the fact that we preferred a room at the back side of the hotel. Staff at the reception were willing to grant our request. We were amazed that the room assigned to us at the back of the hotel was more conform the web site. Spacious with all amenities. Furthermore, the hotel attracts a certain amount of backpacker tourists; the cluster I ran into was, mildly said, impertinent and uncivilized. But to sum up the positive points: Helpful and polite staff. A spacious room. A good walk to Mannheim center for dinner, and we were able to liberate our car the next morning without problem for the final stretch home.

Sven B, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel Mannheim City, responded to this review
Dear Guest, thanks for your Review. Kind regards Best Western Hotel Mannheim City

"Will never stay here again"

1
User 30/06/2017

I have stayed in hotels all over the world and this was by far the worst customer service I have every received. The front desk staff shout at their customers in front of numerous other customers. They do not serve their customers they laugh at their faces and mock them or just tell you to go to sleep. Front desk staff refused to give me the managers email or tell me when he would be in next. no solutions to any problems they just say there is nothing they can do about it. Was told I would have a kitchenette yes did not get one. Wifi cuts out constantly

Sven B, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel Mannheim City, responded to this review
Dear Deanna, thank you very much for your review, which we now very much surprised. After you have made a room change the next day after your departure, you once again to the colleagues of the front desk unsd have thanked a lot for the service. We hope that you have a pleasant stay in our house. Kind regards Best Western Hotel Mannheim City

"Worst Best Western I've stayed in so far"

2
Christopher W, Berlin, Germany 09/06/2017

This was one of the worst Best Western hotels I've stayed in so far. Let's start with the positive: Rooms are clean, and the noise level is quite low if you have a room towards the back with a balcony. Now the part that I did not like: (1) There was an air-conditioning machine, which is great, but there is no power plug where to plug the cable of the machine. It's already crazy to design this but I thought the reception would have an extension cord. However, they were out of extension cords and suggested I could buy my own. (2) Wifi did not work at all. It was possible to connect, but it seems quite obvious that the underlying infrastructure is very old and therefore not able to cope with multiple guests connecting at the same time. I was told this was just an issue during my stay, but you can see from past reviews, that this is a general issue which is not being fixed. (3) Iron and iron board: An iron is available which is great, but no iron board at all. (4) My lamp next to my desk was broken with the mount coming out of the wall. It was leaning against the wall in order to not fall out. (5) No invoice available after payment. I was told they had an outage with the IT system and therefore they could not provide me an invoice. However to be fair, the invoice was sent one day later. (6) Shoe polishing machine did not work. Nobody seems to be noticing that the machine does not work. It starts spinning but as soon as the show touches it stops. The machine is only there to have a certain star rating. (7) The hallways are generally not very clean/nicely looking with many stains on the floor. Overall I was quite disappointed and I would not recommend this hotel if there are other options available.

Sven B, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel Mannheim City, responded to this review
Dear Christopher , thank you for your review. We apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. We will check our wiring and fix the fault as soon as possible. Best regards Best Western Hotel Mannheim City

"Not entirely comfy as expected"

3
Korgan7, Valletta 29/05/2017

Overrall, this hotel was pretty much okay however there were three big faults which made the stay a bit uncomfy: (i) the wifi internet speed was extremely slow. I could barely access 1 website, let alone surf at decent speeds; (ii) even though the hotel was asked to provide a double bed, they still offered two twin beds and; (iii) if you intend to park your car in the garage provided by the hotel (€10 per night), be prepared to do some manoeuvres, especially in order to mount the metal ramp situated in each parking spot, which could be quite a feat for inexperienced drivers.

Sven B, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel Mannheim City, responded to this review
Dear guest, thank you for your review. We are very sorry that during your stay, there have been inconveniences about the WIFI. We will check our wiring and fix the fault as soon as possible. Best regards Best Western Hotel Mannheim City

"Couple nights on a worktrip"

3
Tuukka K, Turku, Finland 20/05/2017

Staff was very friendly and breakfast was good. Location is excellent. I had room in third floor. Wifi was non accessible most of the time. I left my phone on to upload nine fotos during night - none was uploaded, just error message. Wifi worked on restaurant but not in room. There was some disturbing noise, in the evening when i started to sleep. I think it was from some machine in property. Noise was there both evenings and nights and it came in regular intervals.

Sven B, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel Mannheim City, responded to this review
Dear guest, thank you for your review. We are very sorry that during your stay, there have been inconveniences about the WIFI. We will check our wiring and fix the fault as soon as possible. Best regards Best Western Hotel Mannheim City

"Fair price and quality"

3
Zandia16, Melbourne, Australia 29/04/2017

This hotel was comfortable at the price we got it. Bathroom was comfortable. Luggage storage room was great. VERY close to shops, restaurants and main streets, took us about 10 mins walk at a slow pace. Only downside it didn't have a small fridge to store food, shower was very close to toilet and restaurant was closed each time we wanted a meal. Would stay here again for close proximity centre, price and comfort.

"An okay hotel"

3
paul a, London, United Kingdom 25/04/2017

The hotel was pretty much a standard Best Western hotel./ The staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were kept clean. The food at the hotel was of an ok quality. I only stayed for one night and would return.

Sven B, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel Mannheim City, responded to this review
Dear Guest, thanks for your Review. Kind regards Best Western Hotel Mannheim City

"Average"

3
Keerthiee, Ginigathena, Sri Lanka 28/12/2016

WIFI was poor. Could not be connected at all. Located at the city center and easily accessible to Subways. Around 1km to the Central Railway station. Breakfast was quite good but expensive compared to the close by restaurants.

Sven B, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel Mannheim City, responded to this review
Dear guest, thank you very much for your time. We will check our connection again. We wish you a happy New Year. Kind regards Best Western Hotel Mannheim City

"Mixed experience"

2
Hesindepilger, Vancouver, Kanada 20/11/2016

I had a mixed experience at this hotel. After checking in, I recieved a room on the fourth floor. It had a very modern and new interior but after I had closed the window, I soon noticed an increasingly strong smell. The smell got so strong that I reported it to the front desk but staff couldn't give me a different room that late at night although promised to tell it to housekeeping on the next day. However, I felt during the night that my asthma (I'm allergic to mould) got much worse and I had to take my emergency spray. Thank goodness, the new staff in the morning was most helpful and considerate and gave me a different room on a different floor. Apparently, there had been water damage on the 4th floor and I think that caused the smell and my asthma - which is triggered by mould. From now on, my stay was pleasant, breakfast was excellent and the location of the hotel very good.

Sven B, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel Mannheim City, responded to this review
Dear guest, thank you for your review. We apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. We will discuss this with the relevant departments and resolve the problem as soon as possible. Best regards Best Western Hotel Mannheim City

"Good shower, decent breakfast"

4
Stavapalooza, Glasgow 08/11/2016

The food selection and coffee at breakfast are particularly good for the standard of hotel. Warm scrambled eggs, plenty of fresh unprocessed meats and a brilliant coffee machine for making freshly ground cappuccino or café creme. The shower was powerful and held its temperature well, I find this to be a rare occurrence in German 3* Hotels. The bathroom (Room 337) was very small however I wasn't struggling for space when using the toilet or shower. The bed was comfy and firm enough for a great sleep. The radiators work very well and the TV has a good signal with the obligatory BBC World. One of the best things about the room was the sheer number of power outlets. I counted 8 free sockets, there were more still, these were used for the TV and lamp and such but 8 FREE for charging my laptop, tablet, phone, portable charger and portable speaker. ABSOLUTELY MAGNIFICENT!! One thing which was a bit of let down was the lack of bar/ice/drinks facilities when I arrived at the hotel. Granted it was after 11pm, but still before midnight. The night porter provided me with great directions (and a free map) to the nearest gas station and some advice on where I might be able to go and drink a beer at a local bar but I was unsuccessful. He said he didn't have access to the bar/restaurant to even fetch me some ice so I could have a drink in my room. This however, was a minor setback in an otherwise satisfying visit. I'd definitely stay here again.

Sven B, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel Mannheim City, responded to this review
Dear Stavapalooza, thanks for your Review. Kind regards Best Western Hotel Mannheim City

"Comfy for long stays"

4
User 01/08/2016

I was "put up" in this hotel as part of a week-long conference. The building was undergoing renovations during my stayed. I was gone most of the daytime, but when I was in the hotel and the construction crew was working they did a good job of keeping the mess contained and staying quiet. This hotel is very close to the city center, campus, and the train station. This means that the streets can get a bit loud. I had a room that faced a parking lot in the back of the building so my room was very quiet. The hotel it self was very quiet my entire stay. Others in my group, however, had rooms facing the street and had to deal with loud soccer fans into the wee hours of the morning. So I would recommend avoiding rooms with a street view. I stayed in one of their recently updated rooms. It was very modern (think Ikea) and clean. The bed was firm, but comfortable, which I love. My room had a small balcony and an entry way that separated the bathroom and the main room. There were no chairs or hooks or anything in the entryway, so I am not sure how I was intended to utilize this space. The bathroom was functional, but extremely small. I am an average sized adult and I had difficulty getting in and out of the shower because there wasn't a lot of room for the shower doors AND my body. Breakfast was excellent. I think you have to pay extra to add the breakfast buffet to your stay and while I don't know the price I would highly recommend it simply based on the quality. There is a huge selection of food, coffee on every table, and a large dining room that can accommodate big groups. The staff was very nice and spoke very good English, which was helpful because my German is terrible. The biggest downside was that some of the external features did not match the updated room. The elevator looked and felt like it might give out at any moment. The hallways were a bit dingy and there was a large construction dumpster right outside the main entrance. I imagine these issues will be short lived. The hotel has WiFi, but it is terrible during high traffic times. If you are traveling internationally and relying on the WiFi for communication you may be disappointed. I often had to wait until around 11pm or midnight to get a decent connection. Another thing to be aware of is that there are smoking and non-smoking sections to this hotel. However, you can smell the cigarette smoke in the non-smoking sections as well. My room did not smell, but my hallway did. Finally I would highly recommend getting a cab from the train station. I chose to walk to save money (I was told cab fare was high), but I think it might have ended up being worth it. The hotel is about a 25-30 minute walk from the train station, but it is cobblestone sidewalks the entire way and the sidewalks are pretty dirty (it is a city after all). If you are pulling rolling luggage behind you this is a major pain in the rear. It is especially daunting after a whole day of plane and train travel. But if you really want to save on the cab fare it is totally walkable.

Sven B, Manager at BEST WESTERN Hotel Mannheim City, responded to this review
Dear Guest, thanks allot for your really helpful and informativ Review. We took it in our weekly Meeting to look after Problems and to see what you have liked. We hope to see you again in our Hotel. Best regards Sven Beek

"Decent Place, centrally located and nice people"

4
Travel_Louver, Pune 28/04/2010

HI, I was on a business trip to Mannheim and stayed at this hotel for 85 days. Following are the great things about this hotel: 1. Centrally located near Paradeplatz and hence the central market 2. Nice rooms with cooking facilities suiting business travellers like me 3. Very good and cheerful staff always ready to help 4. Good dining area and awesome breakfast(lots to choose from) 5. Value for money when compared with other 3 star hotels in Mannheim Following are a few areas which are of concern: 1. Narrow lobbies leading to the rooms 2. smaller windows on rooms on the top floor. Rest all is fine.

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.