The Best Western Saphir Lyon is located in the business part of Lyon, only one metro station away from the historic old city center and two stations from the shopping area. Easily reachable from the motorways, it only takes ten minutes to drive to the train station Perrache. Discover and enjoy our spacious rooms, all equipped with a comfortable bedding, air-conditioning, satellite television, WIFI (free), with bathrooms and hairdryers. All the rooms are in a quiet area or on the hotel's courtyard. All our rooms will be fully renovated at the end of 2014 !! The Best Western Saphir Lyon provides five large meeting rooms for up to 150 people, fully equipped and air-conditioned, most meeting rooms have daylight. The best address to make your meeting unforgettable! An American buffet breakfast is served at the restaurant les Tournesols from 6. 30 a. m. to 10:00 a. m. Our restaurant Les Tournesols welcomes you in a warm and friendly atmosphere. Our chef proposes a fine traditional French cuisine In the bar Les Iris you can enjoy your drink in a comfortable atmosphere.
The Best Western Saphyr Lyon is a very nice, clean and comfortable hotel at the upper part of the City of Lyon. The metro station is quite close. I would recommend it for everyone who is travelling alone or as a couple.
We only stayed here for a short time after arriving late at night, but we were really impressed. The member of staff at reception was extremely helpful in allowing us to park our large van outside the hotel, and we loved the cat bowls and treats that they left for our furry friend. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable, and the beds are amazing. Great place to stay for travellers driving through France!
Fab service. Staff great and friendly. Room perfectly clean. Has everything you need. Convenient location - one stop on the metro for old town. Quiet area. Breakfast the full one is 15€ but well worth it. It had everything from salmon to pancakes. Fruit etc. we would definitely come back!
The property is very well maintained with clean rooms and all the basic amenities. The best thing we liked about the room was the comfortable bed. The location of the hotel is perfect, very close to Gorge de Loup which is like a direct train to Old City and Downtown. Would definitely recommend this hotel.
BWSAPHIR, Responsable relations clients at Best Western Saphir Lyon, responded to this review
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand. Sincerely, Marie
The hotel puts a promotion price on the website and some times after we made a booking they emailed us to say that the price was a mistake and whether we agreed to the real price. We didn't, they refunded us in the end but you know, the currency charge from the bank was of course couldn't be refunded and we lost some money although not much. And we need to find another place last minute, for a high season! How could you imagine that?Terrible. Best western, if you made a mistake, deal with that don't make the customers paid for it. I stayed with Best Western around the world many times but never had to deal with such an unprofessional attitude handling their own mistakes. The worst. Please be careful to book this place.
BWSAPHIR, Directeur général at Best Western Saphir Lyon, responded to this review
Madam, I'm deeply sorry but you have made your reservation by BOOKING.com not with us. The price's mistake isn't our guilty but depending of their system. Next time, don't hesitate to contact us directly to avoid this problem. Kind regards Carlos ANTONANZAS
I spent a night in this hotel. Rooms were clean, the breakfast good and the staff polite. Two main points to highlight: 1) The hotel is not close to the city centre, thus no problem to go out from the city avoiding the traffic jam but it also means that the taxi from the airport is going to take a little bit more time. 2) Rooms smell like someone smoked in it.
BWSAPHIR, Responsable relations clients at Best Western Saphir Lyon, responded to this review
Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel . My team and I are very grateful for your remarks , they encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we bring you best meet your expectations. Waiting for your visit , please accept, Madam , Sir, the best expression of our feelings.
This hotel is situated just a five-minute walk from the subway. The room was a good size, very clean and included one complimentary bottle of water, and a kettle with coffee/tea (even stevia, which I haven't seen in a hotel before!). The complimentary breakfast was amazing - something for everyone, including plant-based milk, granola, and lots of fruit. My only complaint was the the air conditioning in our room wasn't working so the room got very hot. Fortunately, we were able to open a window for some fresh air.
People push to excel so they can provide good service. But I would say that it makes zero difference to me, tonally, due to the sound of someone's voice (lamentation-based or apologetic), if they are unable to seize upon why they should not misconstrue the facts of what we agreed prior to my leaving. It was not anything upsetting to me, but not a good way to speak to a customer.
We stayed just one night, and the room was amazing. The bed was large and comfortable, the room was huge, and the bathroom clean with an amazing shower. The staff were friendly but not overly so, and the neighborhood was a bit sketchy, but there is a metro just up the road, I would recommend not coming back after dark. All in all highly recommend staying here over the dearer hotels closer to the city center.
We arrived at the hotel, which is down a small road in the suburbs of the city, and we were greeted in English by a nice receptionist. The hotel is modern and sleek inside, whilst also being clean and having many facilities. Our room was reasonably priced and had all we wanted. The hotel has a great restaurant and is near a rail station and a 10 min walk from the centre of Lyon. A great stay - although there was not enough milks or spoons in the room for our needs.
...for a stopover, easy access from the highway, secure parking, walkable distance to the metro station (and then one stop away from the old Lyon). Our room was of a good size with a quality matress. The breakfast offers quite a few choices and a special mention to the very sweet receptionist. Overall this hotel is an excellent choice and we would certainly go back.
The hotel is located in a quiet neighbourhood a little outside the centre of Lyon within walking distance to the Basilica of Notre-Dame the Fourviere and from there to the city centre. If you dont fancy to walk the hotel is situated right next to a metro station (1 stop from the old town). The room and bathroom is "huge" compared to the stamp-like size rooms which France are infamous of. The location, room and with a rate of 52,5 Euro/night this hotel is really value for money
Stafelloedd da iawn; brecwast ardderchog; staff oedd yn barod iawn i helpu. Yn ogystal, roedd modd i ni gael dwy ystafell yn y gwesty yma sydd wedi'u cysylltu gan ddrws mewnol - cyfleus iawn efo dau o blant, ac yn dal i gystadlu o ran pris gyda gwestai oedd yn cynnig un ystafell i'r pedwar ohonom. Mae fan hyn hefyd yn dafliad careg o'r metro - felly'n gyfleus i fynd i weld mwy o Lyon. Mae parcio tanddaearol ar gael yn y gwesty ond mae'r uchder yn gyfyng. Ond mae modd parcio ar y stryd tu allan - am ddim ym mis Awst. Very good rooms; excellent breakfast; helpful staff too. Also we were able to get two rooms connected by an interconnecting door - very convenient with two kids and still competitively priced compared to hotels offering one room for all four of us. This place is very close to a Metro station - so great for exploring Lyon. Underground parking is available at this hotel but headroom is limited. But you can park on the street outside too - which is free during August.
This hotel is perfect for a overnight on our way to the south of France. We had interconnecting rooms that were perfect for 2 adults and 3 children. The beds were huge and really comfy and the showers were excellent. The room was modern and clearly had just been redecorated. All staff were really helpful and polite, nothing was too much trouble from borrowing adaptor plug to car parking. Breakfast was excellent and they even give you a extra children's variety to take with you. Overall feeling refreshed and ready to continue our holiday what a perfect start to the next two weeks
The rooms were very nice and clean, new shower and bathroom. Huge pillows and very comfortable bed. Windows open so you can get fresh, cool air in the evenings. The buffet breakfast was excellent: Large selection of breads and pastries. Eggs, hash browns, ham, cheese, yogurts and cereals to choice from. Juices, coffees, teas and milk. Quite neighbourhood on the backside of the main hill with the Basilique Notre Dame de Fourviere. To get to the city its a short (5min) walk from the metro station (Gorge de Loup Stn). Through the hill it is only 1 stop away from the the city center. It only cost 180 euros to use the subway
We enjoyd our stay in this hotel very much. The rooms are comfortable, very good bathroom with rainshower and handshower, everything very clean. Staff are always very friendly en helpfull and make you feel welcome. For breakfast you have three choices, you can have only a warm drink and a viennoisserie, or a small buffet or a large buffet. The hotel also serves lunch and dinner, we can recommend both. The subway to the towncenter is less than 10 minutes walk and in a very short drive you are already in the towncenter. If ever we visit Lyon again, we will again choose this hotel.
Stayed here July 2016 as a family with 3 kids in 2 interconnecting rooms. Fantastic setup with one room set up with 3 singles and 3 complimentary goody bags and then other room with a double. Staff very friendly and our little one enjoyed the play area while we had a nightcap after a meal out in the evening. Buffet breakfast was included and the kids went to town - kept them going for a good few hours as we continued the drive south to the sun. We will definitely stay again and maybe stop an extra night to see a bit more of Lyon. Thanks to all at Hotel Saphir for making our brief stay so enjoyable!
Location: ok, but neighborhood looked dangerous... do not go for a stroll in the night. Staff: friendly, helpful and experienced Breakfast: nothing fancy, classic "western" stuff, quality of food was OK Rooms: refurbished, not properly ventilated, air-conditioning not working, humidity all over the place, ... Building: from the 70's? 80's? the lift is old... haven't tried the bar or restaurant as the menu showed some pricey items... Wifi: OK
The room and bathroom were clean, tidy, well equipped and quiet. Breakfast left a little to be desired but the choice of various foods was more than adequate. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Parking was a slight issue. Street parking is available, however the hotel is equipped with an underground car park with although a little tight when in a 4x4. Access to the metro was a short 5 minute walk away and there are a number of local restaurants for evening meals. Overall, I booked this hotel as a 4 star, however I would rate it as as a comfortable 3 star which is slightly over priced but this could have been due to the UEFA Cup competition being held in the City
We checked in at this hotel 15th of June 2016. The receptionist was really friendly and helped us with all our questions. We was staying for 5 nights so it was really good to have a room towards the backyard. The room was clean, normal sized, nice bathroom and good WiFi. We were going to try the restaurant but that is not open before 7pm, but the hotel has a snack menu until the restaurants open. We also needed to clean our clothes, but the hotel isnt providing any lundby service. Luckily it is a laundryservice just down the road. One day we was out at night we was attacked by a neighboorhood gang with out any provocation. We came back to the hotel and the night receptionist was very helpful by getting us an ambulance. When we came back we asked if this was a normal problem for them and he said that it happends every second or third months in the neighboorhood. So if you are going to stay here, beware of them at night specially after drinking alcohol and take taxi to the hoteldoor.
I stayed here recently as it was recommended by the conference arranger. It's not situated close to any of the major tourist environments in Lyon, but the Gorge de Loup metro station is a 5-minute walk away. This Best Western hotel is average in every respect, but I slept very well as the hotel is in a quiet back street. If you like pizza, the pizzeria on the next corner is supposed to be very good.
Very convenient location, either one or two stops on the metro to the centre of Lyon, very easy to negotiate and great value. We had dinner in the restaurant on the first night which was lovely and breakfast was fabulous with everything you could want...very enjoyable stay.
Close to gate de loud and a short strenuous uphill walk from a great view over the city . Room clean food good . Would stay again ?? Liked the breakfast had so many choices to make. Staff very helpful
We enjoyed our three nights in this hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the staff were pleasant, the breakfast was delicious. The location is very close to the metro. Would definitely stay again.
Some good and bad :) we loved the shower and breakfast, personnel was friendly and location is ok (not in centre but was quiet area). Some bad.. - smell I the room, wt - Slippers - would be a nice to have addition - More tea please :) - Some Russian tv channels would be nice
We stayed in this hotel 2 nights. The rooms were clean and confortable but never is 4 star hotel. May be 2,5 star. There is no fridge on the rooms. And the rooms smell very bad. The area of the hotel is strang and only one pizzeria restaurant just on the corner of the hotel. The breakfast was ok. The staff helpfull. The price of the rooms are high. The elevators are dangerous and noisy. For going to the center you have to get the metro and for going to the opera you have to change the second line.
I had a fantastic stay here - the staff were absolutely superb and extremely friendly, particularly given that I had issues with credit card checking in! The room was spotlessly clean and really nicely decorated. Disagree 100% with anyone saying it was sub par it was lovely! Breakfast was excellent with a wide range of options - would recommend and would stay again.
Rooms (and bathrooms) are renovated; however lobby is not (and not very nice). Otherwise it is just another typical mid-range French hotel... nothing to rave or complain about. Front desk staff is correct and friendly. Location is a bit off the centre (however it was very convenient for me). Even if it is not in a touristy area, it is safe and it is only (M Gorge du Loup) 1 metro stop to Vieux Lyon and 2 to Presqu'Ile. So for a tourist willing to use the metro, it would be very convenient. It is further away from the train station and airport though. Also since it is not that central, probably easy to park.
Modern new rooms. Very good in every respect. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English. The location does not appear to be close to good eating places or right in the historic centre. The trade off however is that it is very close to the train station. The service there is excellent and one can easliy get to the historic centre in just a few minutes + restaurants etc. Would definitely recommend the hotel
As most of the Best Western this hotel needs a complete makeover. They have started to repaint on some places. Curtains were so dirty in my room. The bed was good. Checking out in the morning took 26 minutes, the receptionnist was alone and not well trained.
BWSAPHIR, Responsable relations clients at BEST WESTERN Saphir Lyon, responded to this review
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. The room you occupied was renovated there are less than three months. In addition we checked the curtain of the room, it was spotless. Is it possible that you've leave this message to the wrong hotel ? We already had the problem, that's why I 'm asking you this question. Our satisfaction scores on booking, expedia are quite good ... so please get back to me so we can discuss. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly. Sincerely, Marie CHANIN ROOMS DIVISION MANAGER BEST WESTERN Saphir Lyon
Great reception staff. Helpful, kind and English speaking. Nothing was too much trouble. Modern well equipped bathroom and bedroom. Effective air conditioning. Brilliant shower. Pleasant buffet breakfast. We liked the location, out of town but very close to Metro station for getting onto the transport system. Felt perfectly safe walking to and from station at night.
Just checked in and can't really complain. The reception area is nice and modern, with a little play area for kids, a bar, tourist info and (obviously) the reception desk. The receptionist was really nice and friendly, even had a little banter with her about stereotypes and other guests. Free wifi and loads of space, not to mention the really nice bathrooms means that it's a great place to stay, depending on the price you get. I booked on the day, around 2 hours before arrival, and got a room for £45. Can't complain with that. ?.
you will have too go a long way to find a better team to look after you when you check in to the team who were on the day we arrived brilliant ! lovely hotel 2min to metro 1 stop away from center of town a lovely surprise the old town was fantastic
Friendly and helpful staff, good breakfast. In a residential area away from the centre. Quiet rooms even at the front. Recently refurbished and very clean. Room was a little too warm but comfortable. Good for a business trip.
Unfortunately i had to spend a night there for a school trip...not only some of my friends found hair and WORMS (I promise it's true) but they also wouldn't let us eat the regular breakfast like the other guests. The staff is unkind and the place is dirty. Three words WORST HOTEL EVER!!!!
BWSAPHIR, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Saphir Lyon, responded to this review
Dear Sir, I read with interest your comment that caught my attention. Indeed, we have planned to fully renovated hotel in two years and today it remains 10 rooms that are not dirty but old. We have already renovated our rooms two times: carpet, paint, furniture etc. Current work includes new bathrooms and more modern rooms. Products that you had for breakfast are the same as for the individual customer but considering the rates charged by your agency we agreed with them on the service. To this end we offer a small fee for accessing at the full buffet but your tour operator did not want to booked it. You notice that you find worms and hair, could you return me by e-mail your room number to check immediately. The housekeeper controlled every room of your group but did not see anything, could you be more specific? Know that in June the hotel will be completely renovated. It is with pleasure that we welcome you again and you will get access to all our services that gives great satisfaction to our customers as you can see on the previous comments. I remain at your disposal. Sincerely, C.Antonanzas
Wherever Life Takes You, Best Western Is There®
Each Best Western® branded hotel is independently owned and operated.