Promotion code

Best Western Hotel Las Mercedes Leon, Leon

4.0/5  - basé sur 217 notations.
50 Metros Norte Catedral, 00000, Leon, Nicaragua - See map
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon - Facade Best Western Las Mercedes Leon The Best Western Las Mercedes Leon is ideally located in the center of Leon. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

Located in the heart of the colonial city of Leon, the Best Western Las Mercedes Leon offers you commodity and professional service with authentic human warmth. The hotel is surrounded by the main economical area where you will find banks, restaurants, bars, shopping centers, supermarkets and just 50 meters away the proud of Leon, La Basilica Cathedral de la Asuncion, recently named 'Patrimony of Humanity' by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization. In addition you can enjoy many activities in Leon, such as sandboarding, beautiful beaches to enjoy sun and surfing, and a lot to discover from the colonial history of this city. Our multilingual staff will assist you every single need in order to accomplish our goal: make you feel at home. Enjoy your stay.

Best Western

Hotel Las Mercedes Leon




Hotel advantages

  • Air conditioning
    Air conditioning
  • Free parking
    Free parking
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
  • Safe deposit box
    Safe deposit box
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
Certificate of Excellence 2018
based on 217 guest reviews
Very Good
Business Business
Couples Couples
Family Family
Friends getaway Friends getaway
Solo travel Solo travel
Sleep Quality

"Excellent location"


It was a last minute booking for us. We chose this hotel due to it's central location and excellent price. Hotel staff was very responses to our needs and extremely friendly. This hotel is just steps from the city center, Cathedral and all the things Leon has to offer. I would recommend this hotel for value and location. This is a basic but clean hotel with an onsite Coffee shop for good baked goods and Cappuccino. If you are looking for a full service Marriott kind of property then this hotel is not for you but if you are looking for good value and central location then this is the property.

"Central location but…"


First the good;great location on side street from main square;the female lobby staff are lovely and helpful.Bedroom surprisingly well decorated.Now for the bad:I got the infamous windowless room (no window,just poky skylight);room scent-eau de sewage;no safe in the room.;breakfast is barely tolerable with synthetic orange juice.That's such a shame In a town where tangerines/oranges are sold everywhere.Maybe the other rooms are fine but for me the windowless room is only ok for 1 night or 2 max.After that it could get quite depressing.

"Good for a couple of nights"


I stayed here for a couple of nights when I first arrived in Nicaragua. The location is great. It's very close to the cathedral which makes it easy to find when you are wandering around the city. The room I stayed in also had working air con, fast wifi and a safe which was great. However, as mentioned in some other reviews it was very noisy and I found it hard to sleep. The room I stayed in was right above the eating area and at 5 am I was woken up by the staff getting breakfast ready. Then all day there was a band playing on the street right outside the hotel so I got little rest. The room itself is also just ok - kind of dark and very basic. Again, it's handy for a couple of nights but if I were going back I might try to find something with a bit more character and privacy.



Although the rooms are big some of the essentials are missing: larger desk, no shampoo, a/c remote and safe not working. Worst of all is the breakfast time when the noise is unbearable. Good location . Value ok.

"Great location & service"


We spent three nights in Leon at the Best Western. Our biggest problem was finding it the first time. I used the GPS in my phone and it lead us down the walking street which we had to back out of. Then after driving around corners and the wrong way down one-way streets to a location that was a few blocks from downtown we abandoned the GPS and went by the address on our booking of "50 meters North of the cathedral" After circling like vultures for a while I pulled over to ask at the Pizza Hut and they told me it was just in front of where I parked, just beyond the fence blocking the road. So I walked up and asked where I could park, they told me the parking lot was just around the corner. I drove ahead and saw a Very narrow entrance and decided that we couldn't fit the car through that small opening and there must be another entrance. Once again we circled like vultures before realizing that we needed to find a way to fit down the small alley. Well with a bit of back and forth we fit through and were able to get to their parking lot. The check on service was great and we were shown to our room overlooking the dining area. The room was nice and had both hot and cold running water, a luxury in Nica. We had breakfast each day which is a bit sparse but they will make you an omelet to your specs which will fill you up for your day ahead. I had the girl at the front counter spend some time booking me a ferry to Ometepe and although it was a lot of work for both of us she went well beyond her call of duty. The service is way above average, as is the location. It was so nice being able to walk out our front door and be at the center of the city within 30 seconds. There is shopping, restaurants and attractions all within a very short walk. We did have one other problem with this hotel. One night just before bed we were watching TV and my wife heard "a smoke detector with a low battery beeping" I told her it was a cricket but she insisted I go down and have them fix the problem. As I walked by the fireplace in the courtyard I could tell for sure it was a cricket. I asked the girl on the counter if she could "turn the cricket off" but she told me that was beyond her control so I went back to the room. Luckily she was able to figure out how to turn the cricket off by the time we were ready to go to sleep. If you are going to be staying in Leon I would highly recommend this hotel. The location can't be beat and the service is fantastic.

"Super Convenient"


This is a good hotel to stay at if your flight gets in late, or leaves early in the am. Staff are super helpful Room, beds are comfortable good breakfast is included Ensure that you do not get a room near the smoking area - I think its room 38 - super noisy and smells of smoke

"Night by the Cathedral"


This is an excellent location, as literally, out the door you are by the largest cathedral in Central America. Centrally located near the market, coffee shops, and bars, this is the best thing! There is free WiFi and breakfast (beans, eggs, some fruit). The staff were as friendly as anywhere. The only thing is that we didn't get washcloths or small towels in our room. Also, the shower head (room 18) was a little whacky. The room was clean. There was a safe, and again, the price was right. Definitely good for a night or two.

"Fantastic Customer Service!"


I cannot say enough about Octavio and his staff's service. After I had checked out and was about to leave the hotel, I discovered that the battery in my car was dead. Octavio's team immediately set about to help us out and despite numerous attempts to jump the battery with increasingly robust cables, there was no success. Finally, Octavio took the battery out of his own car and replaced my battery with his own in order to get the engine started. Once that was done, the original battery was replaced and we were on our way. Thank you so much - your service was above and beyond anything I've experienced before.

"Excellent Staff"


Staying here was very comfortable. The room was exactly want we needed since we only stayed to shower and sleep. The staff was amazing. Everything is walking distance from the hotel, the cathedral, restaurants, shops. I would stay here again.

"Good location, average property but excellent staff"


The location is quite central and the front desk personnel were very welcoming, helpful and professional. The other staff (security, breakfast staff, car attendant) provided excellent service and always with smiles. Such hospitality made me ignore the fact that the property is quite average with the rooms accessed through a catwalk (and the only window opening into the catwalk). Also, the bathroom is quite small but clean. Just because of the hospitality, I would stay here again.

"Run by Incompetent Staff"


Booked this property online, flew into Managua, got in late, drove to Leon approximately two hours and was looking so forward to staying at a decent hotel. Got to the Best Western in Leon and gave the clerk my name and he stated he had no reservation. I had printed copies of my confirmation. He called the hotel manager who was very nice, brought us a beer while he looked into it. Bottom line is the Manager apparently only occasionally checked his email and had not done so for several weeks and never saw our registration. We were turned away even though we had two rooms reserved. They sent us to a nearby hotel which was clearly not the same standard. Manager said he would email me the next day with more information and some options I never received that email. So my warning to travelers is avoid this place until they figure out that booking a room is Hotel101 and find the right people to work there.

"Warm thorough Care!"


A big group of people and I were staying at this hotel for 2 weeks. The staff from janitor to manager are all so caring and they really care about the comfort of the guests. The lobby area is partially open to the outside, so it really feels like a balance of nature and indoors. Great room service daily, they even took care to fold my fold neatly on the neatly made bed, instead of just tossing it onto the side. I cannot express how kind the staff was. Every breakfast, they have a station where they make fresh omelets right in front of you. And there's a cafe right next door, which you can access from inside the hotel as well. Also the plaza of the cathedral is literally a few steps away from the entrance of the hotel. It is a prime location for tourists. When we were there, there was a music, art festival thing going on, so at night we just walked a few steps and enjoyed the dance and music they performed at the plaza. All around, the experience staying here was very comfortable and great.

"Best Western staff very great!"


The reception housekeeping & kitchen staff are wonderful. The hotel is basic in its accommodations but clean & functional. I missed having natural sunlight because rooms face a covered patio. Very good location.

"A comfy environment in a proud city"


We rolled in after a long day of travel (group of 37) and Don Octavio showed us the type of hospitality that he likely shows his 93 year old grandmother when she visits. We're a school group and the incessant, inevitable whining of teenagers was dealt with in a professional manner. The rooms are cleaned to a high standard the the super efficient air-con keeps you cool in the humid air. Breakfast was served in the semi-open courtyard and featured local favourites along with a few specialties to keep the North Americans happy. I highly recommend making a bacon sandwich, storing it in your bag for a few hours then munching it when you get to the top of the Cathedral (see my other review of the Cathedral). Our 4 night stay was delightful and I would highly recommend this hotel to someone travelling to Central America for the first time as it is a good bridge between worlds.

"Great location and service!"


The hotel is located right next to the central park and the cathedral. You can go out at night and it's very safe, the rooms are clean and comfortable, the only thing I didn´t like is that my room didn´t have a window looking outside. Breakfast is complementary and it's pretty good (Nicaraguan or continental). Service was great, they were super helpful and gave us all the directions we needed. The hotel also lets you use their bikes which is pretty cool!

"A Mission Trip / Eyeglass /Dental trip team from USA"


Wow -- Our mission team --MOST Ministries from Ann Arbor , MI and Immanuel Lutheran, Alpena, MI --- was warmly greeted by this hotel ---all things were taken care of --- rooms and food were great ---security was super

"Clean Rooms and Friendly Staff; Central Location!"


Located right beside the cathedral and felt very safe with security 24/7. Some rooms don't have windows, but not a big deal. Free breakfast was good. There is a big firehall type alarm at 7am, and some people complain about it, but the city is already bustling so just wake up! Front desk very helpful with organizing things as well.

"Excellent Staff and Management"


I stayed at this hotel for multiple nights. The rooms and the beds were always clean. The breakfast was always good. The staff were all very courteous and helpful. The hotel has free WiFi and this made it easy to stay connected with my family and friends. The hotel is near the center of the city and this made it very easy and convenient for everything that I needed and wanted to do. Thanks to all the Staff and Management @ Best Western Las Mercedes Leon!!!

"Very good hotel!!"


Me and my boyfriend spent one night in this hotel. The staff was amazing and very nice. Maria and violeta were lovely and the reception staff was very helpful. The room nice and clean. The breakfast delicious. Nothing to say. A great hotel.

"Clean hotel, great kitchen but small dark rooms"


Great breakfast service and great taste. clean hotel and clean rooms. price average for the area. great location. I will not stay at this hotel again because rooms are clean, but very dark. small windows and very cheap furniture

"The best place to stay in town"


Because of my Job I have normally stayed in many hotels around the world, but everytime I have the opportunity to visit Nicaragua and specifically Leon, staying at Best Western is a must! The location just next to the Catedral, the staff 100% well trained, the amenities, the excellent service and the xtra effort all of them put to make me fell at home far away from home is really unique! Octavio the manager is a great person, always very attentive and with a contagious smile! If you have the chance to visit Leon I will definely recommend this hotel!

"Volleyball trip with club team"


Clean nice hotel with good breakfast and very courteous and professional staff. Everyone enjoyed the omelette station and fresh fruit for breakfast. Nice location near the square with many vendors for food and merchandise. Many bars and restaurants nearby.

GerenciaBW1, Gerente at Best Western Las Mercedes Leon, responded to this review
Dear Mr. John, We want to thank you for your kindness, we appreciate your opinion and your comments, which means a lot for us to continue making are work the best in the city. We hope see you again in Leon, and serve you even better than the last time, B/R, GM

"excellent hospitality"


excellent service, and amazing breakfast. highly recommend this hotel. very welcoming receptionist and kitchen staff. breakfast was the best part of our stay. Violeta and Mariela cooked an amazing breakfast with fresh fruits and pancakes, eggs and bacon.

GerenciaBW1, Gerente at Best Western Las Mercedes Leon, responded to this review
Dear Ms. Jackie, Your opinion for us is the most important in our daily basis, which is what it make us happy and motivate to improve our service. We are very happy to see you felt like in your own house with us, and if you have planes to comeback, please let us know to serve you in the best way possible. B/R, GM

"Great hotel in the heart of Leon!"


The hotel is centrally located, the staff is friendly, the free breakfast was excellent and the hotel offered free parking and free WiFi as well. The rooms were comfortable with hot water, AC and were very clean. When we arrived there was a mini festival going on just outside of the hotel. We asked why and were told "just for fun!". It was a great welcome! Leon is tiny so everything is walking distance. Do not hesitate to book this hotel!

"Great breakfast, great value"


We compared about 10 hotels around the area, and this was the one that had the most bang for the buck. Breakfast was included and delicious, the employees were friendly, and the room was clean and nice, not to mention bigger than the ones we saw at other hotels in the area. Very central and a great base for exploring the city.

"Standard Hotel in a Convenient Location"


Stayed in February as part of group . The Hotel is a typical standard Best Western establishment with a prime location immediately next to the main square in Leon city centre . An ideal base for walking around all the main sights . Our check-in was delayed until mid afternoon so went next door to a good restaurant for lunch. Rooms are of a good size with comfortable beds , functional furnishing and a perfectly good bathroom . Some rooms (mine included) can be a little noisy as they overlook an atrium containing the reception and breakfast areas.

"Really felt like a Best Western "


Centrally based in a very central location which couldn't be faulted. Very friendly staff. However room was very small with 3 single beds shoved on one another. The bathroom was of a decent size with an acceptable shower. The breakfast was very greasy but included. Worth staying in for convenience

"Hotel hosting loud concert"


I ended up staying at this hotel for about 2 hours. When I checked in at 16:00 on a Friday afternoon, I learned that in the evening the hotel was going to host a concert in the little square right in front of it and some sort of event in the lobby. They were already testing the audio equipment and, even in one of the rooms further away from the entrance and with the door closed, the music was deafening - sound-proofing is completely lacking. The event was supposed to go on all evening, so I called the travel agent and was re-booked in a different hotel. I am not sure how often the hotel hosts similar events. The fact remains that hotel guests should be informed at the time of reservation. Otherwise the room was reasonably spacious and clean. Complimentary Wifi, although you have to go through several screen before getting connected.

"Better options available"


US prices for Nicaraguan Standards. We paid about $110 usd plus tax each for two small rooms with a windows and lots of mosquitoes. Nothing fancy about the rooms, hotel or the continental breakfast to justify the price. I think they figure they can charge the high prices because people feel safe staying in a US chain. There are much nicer and cheaper hotels one and two blocks down the same street. Hotel Cacique Adiact has indoor parking and a pool for much less and much nicer rooms. The best western is a nice enough place, just not for the price.

"Great Location but rude staff and cold showers let it down"


This hotel is located on the main square in Leon so location is great especially in the evenings if you want a drink or a meal on the square. The hotel itself is fine, pretty standard rooms (ours was quite small), nothing special. We did have an issue with noise (I notice someone else commented on this) since the walls are very thin so from 6am onwards (once people get up for breakfast) you can hear doors and voices, plus the Leon siren sounds at 7am every morning so it is very loud. Our shower was cold, but apparently that is very common in Nicaragua. The real issue we had was with the receptionist, we tried to extend our stay for a night as we were not very well and she told us there were no rooms left. We went online and found rooms advertised so we booked one, then went back downstairs to explain and she was very rude to us, telling us we should have listened and basically throwing us out! I wouldn't stay here again, there are much better hotels.

"Unimpressive. Ear plugs are a necessity."


Our room had drywall from the ceiling all over both of the beds. They got a second room for us - the A/C was broke. So we got a 3rd room - no problem there but.... Open air design (at least the front), which means it's hot everywhere except in your room. You will hear an excessively loud air raid siren at 7AM and possibly some other time - it's ridiculous and I don't see how anyone could sleep through it. We also heard what we thought were 2 rounds of gunshots at 4AM and 4:30 AM. Given that every bank had an armed guard outside (some with shotguns), we didn't think this was an unreasonable guess. We heard a few different reasons - everything from "Nicas love fireworks and next week is the country's Independency Day" to something about cannonballs. In either case, this hotel provides little to no ear protection. How are people supposed to be able to sleep? Sort of ridiculous. Lastly, I came back one night, fairly early, and needed to get my key re-magnetized. No one was at the front desk, so the security guard from across the street came in but he wasn't able to do anything. My friends ended up coming a few minutes later, but probably wishful thinking to think someone is there the entire night. I contacted Best Western and they never called back. Not at all impressed.

"Classic Best Western service"


Had the pleasure of staying at BW Leon last week during a trip to Leon. Fast check-in and friendly staff meant that we were able to get in and crash quickly after a long drive from San Juan Del Sur, much to our appreciation. The rooms were comfortable, and consistently stocked with bottles of water. The wifi was great, and available in all areas of the hotel. 10/10 would stay again.

"Excellent stay!"


Very pleased with Las Mercedes, Leon for accommodating our large mission trip team for the week of July 10th! The rooms were clean and comfortable and the hotel staff did an amazing job with preparing our breakfast and dinner each day. Plus, the coffee shop next door was a surprising bonus!



Clear and comfortable room (air condition, TV, rain showers), nice and willing staff, communication in Spanish and English, too, good and rich breakfast, excelent place in centre of Leon near the cathedral and university

"An Excellent Stay"


A large group stayed at Las Mercedes the week of July 10, 2016 for a mission trip. This hotel is by far the nicest hotel I have stayed in while in Nicaragua. The room was clean, the hot water was ample, the 3 single beds in our room were comfortable enough, and the hotel staff was very accomidating. When I return to Leon, this will be the 1st choice for me.



Our room was very clean. LOVED the colors chosen!! The employees were very nice and spoke better English than I spoke Spanish! Loved sitting outside in the evening.... Did not disappoint!! I was part of a large mission group from my church, and we were all very well taken care of! Loved the fact that we could walk to the park and shop, tour the gorgeous cathedral ....

GerenciaBW1, Gerente at BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes Leon, responded to this review
Dear guest, your opinion is very value for us. We realy appreciate your comments about the quality of our hotel because it give us more motivation to keep improving our service. We thank you for let us be part of all the good memories you have of our beautiful city. Always grateful, The Manager.

"Welcoming & comfortable hotel in the heart of Leon"


We stayed 3 nights at Best Western & thoroughly enjoyed it. Our room was spacious, with a large bathroom & great air conditioning (a must in Leon's hot weather!). The breakfast was lovely with lots of variety & the staff were really friendly. The hotel is in a great location, just metres from the central square and stunning Leon Cathedral (you must visit the roof!) Be mindful that there is a nearby church that sounds a loud siren at 7am & 12pm every day - it can be heard all over Leon, but it is over within 1 minute.

"Summer of 2016 at BW"


Management is very accommodating, rooms are clean, great new breakfast, and is the best location in Leon. Right next to Central Park and the cathedral. Pizza Hut and Chicken places to eat close by. Coffee shop right next to hotel great place for cheese cake and 3 milk cake, coffee, and snacks.

GerenciaBW1, Gerente at BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes Leon, responded to this review
Dear guest, we are realy happy for your comment. We work for your satisfaction. Hope see you again in our beautiful city. The Manager.

"Excellent "


Best Western in North America is one of the biggest hotel chains around. Hotel Las Mercedes does not fail to give you the Nicaragua experience with the comforts of home. Complimentary Breakfast, Air Conditioning, Tvs, Rain showers and the beautiful Centre of León, Nicaragua. Also and amazing staff who speak both English and Spanish are available within the blink of an eye. Octavio the manager is always there to help. Thank you too all of the Best Western staff.

GerenciaBW1, Manager at BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes Leon, responded to this review
Dear guest, we apreciate the time you take to write us this wonderful review. We would like to thank you to let us be part of your experience in Nicaragua, we feel really happy that our services was beyond your expectations. We hope see you again in Nicaragua, our hotels is from now your place in Leon. Best regards, The Manager.

"Loved our stay here!"


One of my best friends and I were in Leon in late April 2016, basically the hottest time of the year, right before rainy season. It did actually rain a few times before we left - which instantly cooled things off! We were originally booked a place nearby, which wasn't going well due to mosquitos and that particular place's water fountain in the middle of their colonial style B&B. So there was basically standing water in the middle of the house - very bad for mosquitos in Central America, that's where they breed. After a few nights of difficulty, I ventured out to find us a better place, and happened upon this Best Western where I had the delight of speaking with Odón - who runs this hotel. His English is perfect, which made things a good bit easier. He immediately showed me around the hotel, the rooms, helped me login to wifi to check the internet speed, showed me the free water, breakfast, coffee that came with the room. He explained how they help with laundry, how the maids can come every day (or whenever needed), how the keys worked, etc. Odón answered all of my questions politely and efficiently, with a warm smile. He is one of the friendliest people I met while in Leon (and I met quite a few amazing people!). The room is impeccably clean. His staff is very helpful and kind. Many of them speak English, at least enough to counter my small amount of Spanish, so getting help was always very easy. There are guards out front day and night, and honestly the area feels very safe regardless. The beautiful Cathedral and park are right outside, and the mercado is right down the street. (If you like mangoes and coconut water, look for Rita near the front center of the mercado!) The hotel was peaceful, beautiful, and quiet. The entire stay was very relaxing. They have the best internet I've come across in Leon, and if you have any trouble with it whatsoever - or if you just want to get out of your room - there is a cafe which is connected, where they use a different internet and offer things such as green smoothies, coffee, tea, cake, etc. They even have soy milk there! My friend and I are vegan, and due to a medical condition I pretty much never eat out. I eat lots of fruits, some raw vegetables, occasional almond milk, etc. I had mentioned this to Odón when we arrived, and he set us up with using the hotel kitchen's fridge. It is kept locked, but the front desk attendant will gladly open it for you whenever needed, 24-7. They even let us borrow a knife during our stay to cut our fruit in the room. We also appreciated having a coffee maker in the room, so we could make coffee or tea whenever we wanted. The beds are extremely comfy, and the AC is super quiet and works very well. The water in the shower gets nice and hot (only if you want it to - Nicaragua is a warm place after all!). There were no issues with running water or anything, which can be an issue in the city at times from what I understand. I have heard most hotels have backup water for that reason. It was very easy to take day trips to the beach, and the staff helped us find odd specialty products (like coconut oil) and helped my friend find a place to book her volcano boarding adventure. I cannot praise this hotel, its staff, location, cleanliness, etc. highly enough. I have seen another review somewhere where a person described this hotel as having all of the mainstream conveniences of standard hotels in the U.S., but having a much more beautiful boutique experience. I believe this is due to how wonderful the staff is and how great of a job Odón is doing with running the place. I hope to see Odón again soon, and would gladly stay in this hotel again! If you're planning on a trip to Leon, be it one night or several weeks, book this place - you will love it! :)

GerenciaBW1, Manager at BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes Leon, responded to this review
Dear Amanda, we feel really glad because you take a while writing this amazing review. First we want to tell you, was an honor to have you in our hotel, our experience serving you and your friend make us very happy. We promises you keep working very hard to continue providing high quality service. If you are planing coming back to Nicaragua don't forget we are here to help you in every need or concern you have. Best regards, The Manager.

"Clean, good location, wonderful customer service!"


My friend and I had a wonderful stay here. We stayed for almost 2 weeks, which is a lot longer than most stay. The staff always greeted us with smiling faces, even if we had a ridiculous request. The hotel manager Odón took us under his wing and ensured that anything we needed, we got instantly. He always asked if there was a way he could improve our service.. to which we answered no because it was flawless! Would definitely recommend. There's only ONE issue, and that's that the hotel is located right next to a church that has a siren at 7am and 12pm. You can definitely hear it from inside the hotel. Apart from that, sleep is great because the beds are comfortable and the rooms all have free AC.

GerenciaBW1, Manager at BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes Leon, responded to this review
Dear guest, we apreciate the time you take writing this wonderful review. Your opinion is very value for us to improve our service. As you say the only issue in our Hotel is the siren, that's the cost of being in the best location in town. I would like to thank you for your delicate mention of my effort to make you feel in home, I have to say this is the best part of my job, receive the THANKS from all our guests. I definitely hope see you again in our hotel, now also yours. Best regards, The Manager .

"Do not order the buffet lunch"


OK clean and comfortable. How. Ever be careful when ordering wine our of normal hours. As everything is locked up. The art work on the walls is unusual as well . Also. Serve after noon drinks . Breakfast is OK

"Nicest hotel in town"


They offered a cheap but decent daily breakfast. The hotel fits with the colonial image of the rest of the town. The room and bed were comfortable and fairly cheap [about $45USD/night]. Id stay here again.

GerenciaBW1, Manager at BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes Leon, responded to this review
Dear guest, we want to thank you for help other travelers find a good and friendly Hotel. We would like to see you again in our hotel and give you the service you deserve. Best regards, The Manager.

"Wonderful stay and staff!"


We had the greatest stay at the Best Western in Leon. Centrally located in the city with a restaurant right next door and an adorable (and tasty) coffee shop connected to the hotel. The staff were nothing but nice, and so accommodating. They let us look at a few rooms before choosing which we preferred, they helped us out by storing a few of our groceries, and they went out of their way to help us open a bottle of wine. They have parking, a delicious free breakfast, and the hotel itself is lovely and well lit. Overall, we had such a wonderful time- if you choose this hotel as your one night to splurge in the midst of some long travels, you won't be disappointed. Thank you so much!

"Great boutique hotel!"


Don't let the name "Best Western" fool you - this chain of hotels has combined the amenities of a large hotel with the boutique feel of a small, locally owned one. Eric (on the front desk) and the hotel manager were the best! Both very professional and helpful with all our questions (and even accompanied my husband to a nearby pharmacy). Highly recommend for your stay in Leon!

"Small hotel on the corner by the cathedral"


We booked by and reserved a parking place. The gate to the parking lot is opposite Iglesia de La Merced. When we arrived the gate was open. Reserving is needed because there are only a few parking places. The small hotel has a lot ambiance. Our room was not large but was in good condition. The quiet AC did work perfectly. By check in they told me that breakfast was from 6:30, but the next morning it was 7:00. They did manage to get the food earlier because we needed to leave at 6:55. The breakfast offered was good. In front of the hotel, a car free road, there is a coffee terrace (no other drinks). Just around the corner is the cathedral. Check out is on 12:00. We did pay 66$, a good price for a good hotel.

GerenciaBW1, Gerente at BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes Leon, responded to this review
Hello dear guest We apreciate your feedback and we feel realy glad for your visit in our city. We are going to work very hard to improve the the service in the breakfast time. Please contact us in any case you would like to return to our country and we gonna make sure your stay will exceed your expectations. Best Regards, The management

"Delightful, Memorable 3 night Stay Feb, 2016"


Enjoyed 3 blessed nights @ this grand location right smack dab in the centre of Leon. Starting with Eric, in reservations who replied promptly to all our queries. We were swiftly checked in by Doris, Front Desk who escorted us directly to our room and made sure we were comfortably checked in. Room was clean, spacious with AC, WIFI, coffee, water provided for anytime of the day. There is a delish, plentiful, varied breakfast in the courtyard each morning including fresh seasonal fruit, Gallo pinto (rice/beans) eggs, pancakes...etc. Also attached to the hotel is Casa del Cafe for that extra jolt of Java!! We we pleasantly greeted by the manager, Octavio who made sure we felt welcomed. He is well informed and suggested heaps of grand resto's and places to visit. We truly felt appreciated as guests and enjoyed the fine service of all the staff. Congratulations to Octavio and his ever attentive team. This is certainly why they received the Winners Certificate of Excellence, 2015 on Trip Advisor. I surely recommend the Best Western in Leon. We do hope to return next year! Marah & Norbert Toronto, Canada

GerenciaBW1, Gerente at BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes Leon, responded to this review
Dear Marah and Norbert, We realy appreciate your kindness for this remarkable comment, our job requires dedication and effort but at the end of the day the satisfaction of our guest is the best payment for us. Read this review make us love what we do even more. We hope see you again in our safety and lovely city Best Regards, The management

"Do not be fooled by "Best Western" name."


It may be the best hotel in Leon, but it is still very mediocre place, especially consider that it is relatively expensive by the Nicaragua standards. The room was rather small with no closets, so you cannot hang your clothes. There was an air conditioner that worked adequately, but dripped water on the floor, so the staff keep a towel under it. Our room had no windows, so we could not stay there but for the night. The staff was friendly, but spoke very little English and could not give us any helpful advises. However, the room was clean and location of the hotel is very good. There was no lobby to sit, There was a nice cafe next to the lobby, but it closes at 7 or so. WiFi barely works, you need to find a spot or, preferably to be in the lobby to use it.

"Miniscule Standard Room"


Barely room to get past your bags! Upgrade rooms a must. Room window opens onto passageway. Breakfast poor with no choice. Super friendly staff. Basically very over priced for the region and quality. Centrally located but the town is small so plenty of other choices.

"Great location, clean rooms, great staff!"


The location of this hotel is 1/2 block from the Cathedral making it a superb place to stay when there's not a holiday, otherwise it would be very noisy. The rooms are clean, not large but very comfortable. They have hot showers which is a joy! Breakfast was good. We enjoyed using the breakfast area for a meeting outside of hours which was nice to have.

GerenciaBW1, Gerente at BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes Leon, responded to this review
Buenos días Srta. Ingrid muchas gracias por su comentario, nos sentimos complacidos de haberle servido como usted se lo merece saludos y le esperamos nuevamente

"Central location, very good value."


Very well located hotel close to the central plaza and many restaurants. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and functional, and though it does not have a restaurant, the breakfast served was very good. I would recommend this hotel.

GerenciaBW1, Gerente at BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes Leon, responded to this review
buenos días Sra. Denise muchas gracias por sus buenos comentarios, estamos siempre a la orden, esperando regrese muy pronto a nuestras instalaciones

"Small size, great value, superb location"


This is a small hotel adjacent to the Cathedral. It does not have a restaurant but many good ones are a short walk away. A good, hot breakfast is provided. There is parking on the premises which is secured. The staff was terrific--friendly and helpful. The Manager, Octavio, which especially helpful and enthusiastic about his job. Rooms are clean, everything works properly, and we would stay there again.

GerenciaBW1, Gerente at BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes Leon, responded to this review
Buenos días Sr. Boogie todo el Staff de Hotel las Mercedes León le saluda y agradece su comentario en tripadvisor, Esperamos nuevamente nos visite

"Super central location"


Nice clean rooms that were small but functional. Also, very good a/c and comfortable beds. The bathroom was also very nice and to N. A. standards. Also, enjoyed the breakfast in the lobby, however the butter and eggs did not seem quite fresh.

GerenciaBW1, Gerente at BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes Leon, responded to this review
Buen día Sr. o Sra. Katín nos sentimos muy alagados con sus buenas recomendaciones, esperamos que pronto nos visite de nuevo Saludos

"Clean comfortable hotel half block from central square"


The hotel manager Odon was super nice and helpful from sending driver to pick us up at Managua Airport to answering questions about changing money and tours. The staff was great, helpful and attentive. The location was the best. It's literally on the same block as Parque Central. The rooms were basic but comfortable. Quiet AC, loud AC is kind of my pet peeve. The only issue was that the room key cards for some reason quit working afternoon and we had to get them re-programmed. The included breakfast was typical local fare. Nice stay overall.

GerenciaBW1, Gerente at BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes Leon, responded to this review
Estimado Whc227 Reciba de nuestro equipo de trabajo un caluroso y fraterno saludo y nuestro agradecimiento por tomar de su tiempo y enviarnos su opinión, nos sentimos contentos de que Best Western Hotel Las Mercedes León haya cumplido con sus expectativas. En Best Western Hotel Las Mercedes León queremos atender sus opiniones para darle respuesta inmediata, nuestro equipo de mantenimiento ha mejorado el funcionamiento de nuestros A/C. Le invitamos a ser protagonista de esta nueva y mejor etapa de Best Western Hotel Las Mercedes León como nuestro huésped premiun. Quedamos atentos a sus futuras reservas.

"Pleasent suprise"


Me and my wife traveled to Leon in june of 2015 and had a great time. The Las Mercedes hotel was full of central american charm. The property was beautiful, we especially enjoyed eating breakfast in the mini courtyard. The hotel is right in the center of downtown Leon and close to many point of interest and restaurants/bars. Breakfast was amazing, you will be very full to start your day in Leon. The rooms are small but cozy. We had read that hot water was scare in Leon but not at this hotel the showers were burning hot! The staff is very friendly though many don't speak english (which is most of the city) so be prepared with at least some good basic Spanish. The manager is fluent in Spanish. Henry at the front desk is amazing! Very knowledgable of the area and made great recommendations for places to eat. We really enjoyed our stay and would stay again in a heartbeat!

GerenciaBW1, Gerente at BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes Leon, responded to this review
Dear Humbleme Dayly Best Western Las Mercedes Leon thanks very much your comment, is so important to know that your stay with us was as pleasant, all the staff works hard every day to improve service and provide a pleasant stay. You will always be welcome, I invite you to stay with us again.

"Local to downtown Leon"


This place is relatively new to me, I have been going to Leon for 8 or 9 years now and these last few months I am now staying at the Best Western. It is cleaner than some of the more recommended hotels and has just as nice amenities. They have blow dryers in your room, along with a TV that has satellite and a coffee maker. The breakfast is a great way to start your day.

GerenciaBW1, Gerente at BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes Leon, responded to this review
Dear B C Thank you very much for writing this review, It will be very helpful to us and our fellow travelers, here we will always feel at home, we appreciate your loyalty at this time to have stayed at house that is also your home. Thanking finesse again we say goodbye leaving all our Management and Service team at your service.

"Very good hotel!"


I recently stayed at Best Western Las Mercedes and enjoyed very much my stay there. Rooms are impeccable, a/c runs perfect, comfortable beds, appliances work perfect too. Lots of people say this can be a noisy hotel due its location (minutes away from main plaza and the Cathedral of Leon); however I was not disturbed by any noise and really had a good sleep there and the location is unbeatable. The staff (Henry especially) were absolutely caring and great. I recommend it a lot!

GerenciaBW1, Gerente at BEST WESTERN Las Mercedes Leon, responded to this review
Estimado Sr. Mikenica. Apreciamos mucho su amabilidad al expresar su experiencia con nosotros, nos motiva a mejorar cada día para brindarle el servicio que usted merece. Esperamos tenerle con nosotros nuevamente.

"Best location in Leon"


A perfect bed and breakfast hotel if want to be steps away from the cathedral, Leon's main tourists site, the staff is well informed about the area and they always trying their best to make your stay better. The rooms are clean and their ac is good enough to fight the very very hot weather that you will find in this part of Nicaragua.