Promotion code

Best Western Plus Hotel Norge, Kristiansand

3.5/5  - basé sur 301 notations.
Dronningensgate 5, 4666, Kristiansand, Norway - See map
Best Western Plus Hotel Norge - Best Western Plus® Hotel Norge The Best Western Plus Hotel Norge is ideally located in the center of Kristiansand. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

In the heart of Kristiansand city center lays the Best Western Plus® Hotel Norge, a charming hotel with great traditions. The Best Western Plus® Hotel Norge offers 172 hotel rooms of high quality, including two suites. All rooms have air-conditioning and extra comfortable beds from Jensen Ambassador. Enjoy homemade fresh bread and pastry for breakfast, made by the hotels own bakery. Stop by the hotels famous and popular Cafe Dronningen, which serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The Best Western Plus® Hotel Norge has 20 meeting rooms and the largest room can cater up to 150 people. The guest rooms and common areas are nicely decorated with 1300 original artworks from famous Norwegian artists such as Nupen, Per Fronth, Ferdinand Finne, Nicolai Widerberg and more. Enjoy stunning views over the city at the hotels top floor. Gym, sauna and a relax room are also located here. The relax room, Reflektoriet, is beautifully decorated personally by artist Kjell Nupen. Attractions such as Fiskebrygga (the fish wharf), Bystranda (city beach), and Kilden Performing Arts Center, are within walking distance from the hotel. A short 10- 15 minute drive away, lays Kristiansand Zoo, a perfect place to spend the day with the kids.

Best Western Plus

Hotel Norge




Hotel advantages

  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
  • Sauna
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
based on 301 guest reviews
Very Good
Business Business
Couples Couples
Family Family
Friends getaway Friends getaway
Solo travel Solo travel
Sleep Quality

"Extra special"


We were very surprised but pleased that there were not so many guests for the 31st of December. All was still and everyone was very congenial. The only problem was that the restaurant was closed but we understood.

"Another visit and re-evaluation"


I like this hotel. Repeated visits remind me of the very good breakfast buffet and all hotel basics done right, including personable even friendly people working the front desk. This is good value done right, but I requested and received an extra blanket to make it work.

"Service oriented staff, great location, large family rooms"


I have stayed at Hotel Norge several times with my swim team during swim meets in Kristiansand. We enjoy the friendly staff. They are service oriented and communicate well with us regarding booking, parking, room-type etc. I can recommend this hotel if you are sick of small Norwegian hotel rooms. Make sure you book the family room type if you can even if you're just one or two people. The price difference is minimal. Aloha.

"Late night stopover"


We stayed here on our journey to the fjords for a short stop over. We only checked in at 11.30pm and were welcomed by very friendly staff. The room was a decent size, but quite dated in decor. The bathroom was tiny but functional. The downside of the room was that it was facing the club across the road. With the summer temperatures that did not allow us to open the windows. Breakfast was good and had really nice selection of local and international food, but the atmosphere around the buffett and across the restaurant was a bit chaotic. Again very friendly staff on check out, who allowed for our luggage to be stored for a few hours.

"Saved by breakfast"


Generally a decent hotel, if in need of a bit of a facelift. Comfortable room, friendly, helpful staff and excellent breakfast choices. Good central location but onsite parking at NK180 per 24 hours rather detracted from an otherwise pleasant stay.

"Friendly Hotel"


Friendly and helpful staff throughout create a good atmosphere. My room was comfortable although I do find the Norwegian style beds rather uncomfortable (two singles together with a gap between the mattresses). The sheet is wrapped over a small mattress and this came undone and rode up each night. Not a new refurb but laminate floor and opening windows, powerful shower, kettle with tea and coffee, proper coat hangers, power sockets, good TV and very good internet. Staff didn't disturb me which was a bonus. What did disturb though was noise (and fumes) from the front street, mainly from a truck that was unloading early with its engine running making noise and a causing nasty diesel fumes smell. Unpleasant. Also there is a night club opposite that was rockingly loud on a Saturday night. Some strong positives though: A good restaurant with good salad bar. Good breakfast selection. Washing machines available (70KR for a token and some washing liquid sachets). There's also a dryer. Free bike loan...a lovely touch, thanks. Overall a good place to stay but perhaps for quiet sleep, I would recommend a rear-facing room.

"Just ok."


I stayed here one night because of work. So i didn't check out all of the hotel. The lobby and restaurant looked nice and gave a good first impression. I took the elevator up to the 6th floor. The hall leading to my room was really worn. The floor and walls need an upgrade. The same with the room. They are old and worn with old interior. The Room had refridgerator and eletric waterheater. No minibar. I had a single Room, but got a double bed wich was nice. The bathroom was the nicest thing about the room. It looked newer than the rest off the room. The breakfast was really good. I loved the homemade eggsalad and prawnsalad. This is not a hotel I would use for vacation, but its okay for work.

"Expected more"


The hotel were to old and the rooms need a upgrade - especially the ventilation really need to be updated. Some of the rooms are really small. The positive is quick and effective check inn, and the breakfast is great

"Outdated - noisy - dark - expensive"


Cannot recommend this hotel, as it is old, outdated, dark, expensive and worst of all: Very noisy. Stayed at a room towards the street, and a nightclub kept the party going until 2.30 am. After that, their guests screamed up the street for a couple of hours. Something positive: Friendly staff and OK breakfast. 2 stars is given for that.

"Good location. "


I got upgraded to a more spacious room than I had booked but I got 2 single beds in stead of the queen size I ordered. It was really difficult to try to talk to the receptionist to ask if a similar room was available with a larger bed. I think she could talk when breathing both inn and out. It was stressful to talk to her so I just stayed in this room. The bed was comfortable even it was a normal size one. The shower was not good. It took way too long before the hot water came and the shower head was extreamly noicy. The water beam was also not good. I tried to change to another beam but they were all unconfortable. Breakfast was very good with a wide range of different things to eat. The rooms was ok but the TV was weird to operate but I can stay here again.

"Business trip in Kristiansand"


I have stayed in the hotel couple of times when on a business trip in Kristiansand and now I decided from now on I will select other hotel. The rooms are really from the 90's and the facilities are not that good. There is no minibar, no complimentary products (on a business trip I appreciate these as then I do not need to carry them from home). My room was facing to the street and it was really loud during the night, so ask room from the other side if possible. My room has been really cold in both times (have been here in the winter time). And as on a business trip I want to do my training in the morning, the gym opened only at 6 which was too late for me. Also the gym is not that well equipped.

"Nice hotel"


When we arrrived, we got the information that they have upgraded us. We got a king-size room. The room was really big and clean. It had fridge, safe, iron. They offered glutenfree options at breakfast, and you could make your own waffles. If you come by motorbike, there are free parking just outside the hotel. Take right and then left, it's just outside the cinema. The hotell only offered parking you have to pay for. If there is one thing that was negative, the king-size bed was to separate beds pushed together. The location is in the midle of the city and the staff is helpful and nice. You also get discount in the hotel restaurant.

"Good location, nothing more"


First of all: welcome to the nineties. The hotel is in seriously need of some renovation, and staying here is basically like time travelling back to days I do not desire to relive. Got a single room, which normally never tends to be a problem, because, in 2017 single rooms usually have a quite large bed. I'm 6'3 (190cm) tall and I was basically longer than the bed. It was also quite narrow, so when I turned around during night I found myself waking up on the floor. The room was so small that it felt like a bad cabin of a cruise liner. It was not particularly clean either compared to other hotels in the same city. Breakfast was nothing more than average, however, still the closest thing to a highlight for the stay. On the positive note: the hotel is located in the middle of the city and there's free wifi, although not the fastest wifi.

"Extremely impolite and unprofessional staff"


Visited Norge back in August. Accommodation was quite ok but it was denied to park a motor-scooter in their parking. We checked the parking and their was plenty of room in the bike area but the receptionists proved to be extremely impolite and unreasonable. For me this hotel is a BIG no-go.

"Okay hotel "


For short stay hotel is ok. My view from the room was was not really nice. Rooms are simple not that big but with free wifi. Breakfast was good as well hotel is located in city center so many restaurants around.

"Unprofessional staff"


Stayed here one night. Made an online booking and called up the hotel to secure a parking space with possibility to charge an electric car. The staff at check in blatantly denied me parking space. I had to drive around the city to find a parking place with charging facilities. The staff behaved quite unprofessional and rude.

"Take me back to the 90's"


It was a jump back in time, the hotel has had no renovation since the 90's accept from the technical things. Looked really bad with a way to expensive price for this look. Advertisement on the mirror in bathroom for food and tacky things like that. The good thing was the breakfast but that was the only thing.

"Worn out and badly maintained "


This hotel is in serious need of a total renovation. Guess the rooms were fitted in the early 90's, and apart from fitting a flatscreen, not much has been done. Cleanliness below average. Some serious safety issues, such as the window in my room which was not possible to close, and can be opened fully - not ideal for a hotel that markets towards families. Breakfast is average.

"An amazing stay with equally amazing experience"


The stay was amazing experience, the staff was cooperative and the food was great. All in all it was excellant. All the places are accessible and include Gym with sauna. And the view from the roof is one of the best i have seen.

"Throwback Tuesday."


Friendly and polite check inn staff. She told us about the restaurant. What's on the the menu for today. Breakfast etc. And gave instruction to where to park the car. Elevator gave us a glimpse of what to expect in the rooms. This was propably refurbished in the early 90. Good size rooms and madresess was just firm enough and there was a lot of pillows. Old fashion work desk..and a 2 seater sofa and table was also part of the room Big screen TV and bathroom was ok. No Minibar or refreshment in the room. There is water boiler for instant tea and coffee. Centrally located near Markens Gate

"Couple of nights in Kristiansand "


Traveled to Kristiansand this week and decided to try the Best Western hotel in the town. I arrived early Wednesday evening and was welcomed by a nice receptionist and the check in even really smooth. The I got was bigger than ordered which fit me perfect since I need space for evening studies. The give was clean as expected of such hotel. This hotel can absolutely be recommended. NB. The breakfast at the hotel kept a high quality.

"Breakfast buffet"


My girlfriend and I was trying out the breakfast buffet and were very satisfied with it. Even the coffee from the machine tasted good. Home maid waffles and a good buffet over all. Nice atmosphere, good service and a nice quiet morning breakfast. Just how I like it.

"Good Hotel"


Hotel is centrally located in downtown Kristiansand. Clean rooms friendly staff and good breakfast. Breakfast is included in the room price. Not really expensive for Norway. Close to the harbor and lots of good restaurants.

"Affordable option "


We stayed here while attending the Troll Cup of handball where my son participated. This was the affordable option without going really cheap. The hotel is old but well kept, clean and reception people gave us good service. The breakfast was plentiful and varied. No complains for our short stay.

"Don't book the single room, very small bed."


I stayed here one night for business, but had booked a single room and the bed was tiny. That a side, it was a comfortable room with a huge tv, which was nice. Ice machine on each floor. Free parking on the street, couldn't find a space and had to pay 180 NOK for overnight parking, but in the hotels own secure parking lot, which was fine. Great location, close to everything in Kristiansand downtown. Breakfast was nice and offered lots of warm food.

"Nice hotel, but no WIFI and urine in the toilette"


+ Nice room + Almost quiet room ++ Good breakfast + Price is okay (for Norway) - WLAN only for Telenor customers. -- Urine in the toilette, when we arrived (and the room was smelling of it) (Except of that, everything was very clean!)

Ina R, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Norge, responded to this review
Dear Thomas, Thank you for your feedback. Regarding the dirty toilet we take this very serious and I will make sure to take this up with the Housekeeping staff. This is not the standard we pursue to have in our rooms. We do however offer free Wifi to all of our guests, the network is called "Telenor" so maybe that was a mix- up. If you visit us again, we will be more then happy to help you with that. We hope to welcome you back to Kristiansand and Hotel Norge. Best regards Ina Rismyhr

"Central location, good breakfast, sometimes noisy and crowded"


Stayed here for three nights on a business trip. The rooms towards the street can be noisy at times. Breakfast buffet is quite good but can be very crowded. Very convenient location in central downtown right at the airport bus stop and close to the ferry terminal.

Ina R, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Norge, responded to this review
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. We hope to be able to welcome you again if you visit Kristiansand. Best regards Ina Rismyhr

"A hotel right on the spot!"


The hotel is situated on Dronningens gate right in the city so you have walking distance to everything in town, for exampel "Fiskebrygga"the fishmarket and also other restaurants and bars och Marknadsgate.The rooms are ordinary but the carpet has to be exchange. It smells old in the room. We had a nice view towards the sea. The receptionists were serviceminded and check in and out was fast. You will find a parkingplace at a gasoline station 150 meters from the hotel. On the 6th floor there is a nice livingroom. We played cards there in the evening. Suddenly 25 members of the Hells Angels from Sweden came in and had a party on the balcony outside.At midnight they came and asked us if we liked Norway lobsters. Of course we said and then they gived us 25 lobsters, bread and aiole. Quite an experience!! At midnight they came in and asked us if we liked

Ina R, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Norge, responded to this review
Dear Storberg, Thank you for your feedback. You had quiet the experience with us, and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. If you visit Kristiansand again, we hope to welcome you back. Best regards Ina Rismyhr



I slept here for one night as a layover during travel. Arrived late friday night and checked in. There was so much noise from the drinking joint right outside my window and I involuntarily had to listen to an entire concert by a bad cover band. Even if I closed the windows, the bass and music could be heard very clearly. The noise kept going until 3AM. Outside the window, there was a lot of balconies from other hotel rooms. There were afterparties on the one above and below my room with cigarette smoke and yelling coming through my window. The next morning at checkout I wanted to ask some questions, but as I paid, a security guard interrupted the receptionist for a couple of minutes. As the security guad was done asking questions, the receptionist went straight for the next customer in line without letting me ask my questions. Overall also a old and outdated hotel. Not worth the money compared to the alternatives.

Ina R, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Norge, responded to this review
Dear Daniel, Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately located in the city center there can sometimes be noisy, especially in the weekends. However this does not excuse the noise from the hotel. The staff working at night are very aware of noise, and if anyone complaints they usually handle it. So I recommend to let the staff know so they can put a stop to it. If you decide to visit us again you can ask for a room facing the back, so you wont have any noise. We hope to be able to welcome you again. I wish you a great weekend. Best regards Ina Rismyhr

"Good location, decent hotel"


This hotel is located very centrally in Kristiansand, and it's a good choice for any traveler looking for a decent place to stay without any frills. A big plus is the breakfast buffet: excellent choice of many baked and fresh products.

Ina R, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Norge, responded to this review
Dear guest, Thank you for your positive response. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Best regards Ina Rismyhr

"Nothing wrong, just not exactly my taste however the shower was amazing!"


I have been to Kristiansand 4 times and the people and place never fails to ensure I have a great time. This time we were in Kristiansand for Palmesus Festival and were being treated, and rather spoilt, by a friend. We had an amazing weekend in Kristiansand as alway, but this time was rather special. With regard to the hotel; the location is excellent, near a car park, very close to a couple of great restaurants (Kick and Food Asylum) and very close to the town centre. The service was polite and fast, the entrance is understated but full of quality. However, the rooms are rather old fashioned in style, but that is the only thing wrong with this hotel. The rooms were warm comfortable and clean. The free internet was quick, however with regard to other facilities, we didnt use any. The room we had overlooked the parking lot on the back of the building, so the view was, er ugly! However this was a base for a festival and party and for us its location and facilities were ideal. thanks for the sweet dreams!

Ina R, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Norge, responded to this review
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in Kristiansand, and had a great time at Palmesus. We constantly work on renewing our hotel, and we hope to modernize the rooms more in the future. If you visit Kristiansad in the future, we hope to welcome you back. Best regards Ina Rismyhr

"Very good service"


The hotel is located in the centre of the city. The hotel is not the newest nor the fanciest in town but the standard is acceptable and the service and hospitality is impeccable. This hotel is a safe choice.

Ina R, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Norge, responded to this review
Dear Christopher, Thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future. Best regards Ina Rismyhr

"Very good hotel"


Very modern room. Comfortable hotel in the city centre of Kristiansand. Good breakfast. Free Wifi in the whole hotel complex. Good and friendly service by all hotel staff. Very comfortable bed and room service. Well equipped hotel with all facilities.

Ina R, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Norge, responded to this review
Dear Pierre, Thank you for your positive feedback. We really appreciate it. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. Best regards Ina Rismyhr

"A very good normal hotel"


Excellent beds, very nice with sofa in the room. Typical Norwegian hotel breakfast with very good bread and various types of food. Only problem was a very noisy bathroom door, but I guess they give it a few drops of oil. Hotel in the city centre and room 614 faced the street, so some noise, but not that much.

Ina R, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Norge, responded to this review
Dear Einarse, Thank you for your positive feedback. We have also noted that we need to fix the bathroom door in the room you stayed in. If you visit Kristiansand again, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again. Best regards Ina Rismyhr

"Convenient Hotel in Kristiansand"


We stayed for a night in June. We called the hotel in advance and ordered a parking spot for NOK 180 in their backyard. The hotel is centrally situated and is close to all major atractions in Kristiansand. Check in/out was smooth. The room we got was on the 4th floor facing a night club, so during the night we could hear loud music, but it is how it is when you stay in the centre of city. The room was clean and spacious enough. Bathroom and the room interier was a bit dated, but completely fine. The breakfast starting on Sunday at 8 am was in somer room, not covering capacity of the coming guests. Maybe if the breakfast started a bit earlier, it would not be problem with guests waiting to be seated. All in all, the hotel was fine, but nothing special where I would return.

"Located in the city center"


Nice and clean room. Some traffic and "city" noice outside hotell. We had a special arranged breakfast 4.30 in the morning which was ok. Service was good although there was som issues with our groups booking as the hotel had not used the updated room list we sent. Looked to be some reconstruction work going on at the time of our visit.

Ina R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Norge, responded to this review
Dear Truls, Thank you for your positive feedback. I am happy to inform your that the reconstruction that took place when you visited us is our restaurant that is being fully upgraded. We hope to welcome you back in the future, and also to our new restaurant. Best regards, Ina Rismyhr

"Nice hotel at a perfect location"


A nice hotel perfect located in the beautifull town Kristiansand. The staff I was in contact with, vere friendly and helpfull. The roms are clean and bed is nice. Not the newest interior, but nice kept. Breakfast is average, but have all you need for a good start. Would I stay here again? Yes I would :)

Ina R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Norge, responded to this review
Dear Werner, Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future. Best regards, Ina Rismyhr

"Good hotel and location"


Stayed at Hotel Norge for 1 week due to business. The hotel is ok, but it looks it age and should be refurbished. At the moment they refurbished the restaurant, so I guess they have a project going on. The rooms was clean and tidy and the bed was great, but you can hear your neighbours. The view was not the greatest, but I didn't stay at the room for the view. There was no kettle and instant coffee in the room, so you need to go down to the restaurant to get your coffee. The breakfast is the best one in the city, with several hot and cold dishes. The location is in the middle of the city and it is short way down to the keyside and the fantastic location with the old houses. Can highly recommend the hotel and the only thing giving it a lower rating, is the worn rooms.

Ina R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Norge, responded to this review
Dear Kai, Thank you for your positive feedback. I am happy to inform you that we are doing some upgrades in the room. This includes among some other things a kettle in every room. We look forward to welcoming you again, and hope that you also will visit our new upgraded restaurant witch will be ready this June. Best regards, Ina Rismyhr

"Worth every penny&minutt"


One of the best Hotels i have been to. In the heart of Norway's Summer City nr . 1. The hotel is in perfect location middle of the city. Short distance to everything. The breakfast meny is better imagined. The staff is realy proffesional. Try it. You wont regret it;)