Guests staying at this 3. 5 Star motel can choose from a range of well-presented rooms to satisfy their travelling needs. Each spacious room features comfortable beds, large bathrooms with hairdryer and complimentary toiletries, complimentary high-speed reliable wireless Internet access, direct dial telephones, reverse cycle split system air conditioning, 32-inch flat screen high definition LCD televisions featuring Foxtel cable with three movie channels, clock radios, iron and full size ironing board, refrigerators and tea/coffee making facilities and more. The Best Western Ambassador Motor Lodge also offers undercover off street parking, a laundry and dry-cleaning service, a fully-equipped self-service laundry, plunge pool and BBQ area. BBQ packs and picnic platters can be ordered from reception. A delicious continental or cooked breakfast can be delivered to your room with a choice of breads, cereals and juices on offer, our recently renovated on-site licensed restaurant is open Monday to Thursday for dinner and is available as a small conference or private function venue. If on-site dining is not your style, then no problem! The Best Western Ambassador Motor Lodge is located within walking distance to many restaurants and cafes many of which can charge back to your room. The Best Western Ambassador Motor Lodge is ideally located on the Esplanade opposite a lovely sandy beach, ocean walk and bike path. Enjoy one of our BBQ packs or picnic platters at a choice of pristine family friendly beaches and parks located close by. We are also only 200 meters walk from the major shopping and business district and within close proximity to several tourist attractions like WetSide® Water Education Park. The Best Western Ambassador Motor Lodge makes a wonderful base for exploring all of Hervey Bay. Front Desk Hours: Weekends & Public Holidays: 8am–12pm & 2–6pm.
1st night no power from 9pm till 11am the following morning. During this time no hot water for a shower either. We held concerns to the responses we were given "I'm the caretaker , not my fault" . "The power came back on at 1130 last night" . We welcomed her in the room to show her there was no power alerting her I fell over in the darkness walking to the toilet. We were booked into a disabled room. I have bruising from the fall. I personally feel violated from our stay. I wondered why my asthma started to muck up during my stay, noticed in the mould in the bathroom on the ceiling. I have been a Best Western customer holding a card for over 30years, and feel totally devastated. 1stly this motel needs to have a thorough clean up, vinegar costs no more than $2.00 depending upon where you live, wash the mould off the roof and around tile grout grooves, repaint with antimould paint. Surely exhaust Fans would accommodate shower steam, prevent further medical complications and privacy instead of leaving the window open. The bed was not made , the bottom sheet not even fitting the bed not abled to be tucked in. Unable to fill the kettle properly to make a cup of tea. The bed was uncomfortable causing further pain and discomfort. For the price of this motel it is not true to value.
Nice enough motel, friendly staff, had everything we need. Room was quite roomy and clean. Room wasn't serviced on the day in between our two nights which I wasn't expecting. Not quite in the main area of town but close enough. Overall a pretty good choice of motel in Hervey Bay.
We spent two nights here and the room was comfortable and clean. It was a quiet weekend and all occupied rooms were at one end which caused parking confusion because some of us were told to park anywhere. We were happy with the room and the bed was supportive. The staff were friendly and helpful.
After a long drive from Brisbane this was a welcome stay for one night. Its a really nice motel. Close to the beach, great service, clean rooms, good wifi, nice beds. the undercover parking was nice as a storm came through late in the afternoon.
The couple who run this motel are so helpful and friendly that they made the stay so pleasurable . Had a few minor problems but they address them immediately which was a change from other motels when you can wait all day....such a relaxing stay.
After a long drive this was a welcome stay for one night. The lady at reception was very professional and friendly advising us re nearby eating places (China Pearl just 2 minutes walk!). The room was comfortable, very clean and we had a good night's sleep.
Needs to be updated - very tired looking - clean and tidy though - beds are old and worn - no thrills - but has a short walk to the beach which is an advantage. The pool is very small and can be mistaken for a big spa. The motel that is alongside it is so close that you can hear people talking on their balcony. The room is very spacious and lots of space. Overall I would give it a 6/10.
The motor lodge was better than we expected. We were on the second story and our view was of some people's backyard. The balcony is shared with everyone. The location was great and Fraser Island tours pick up right at the hotel. There was a little confusion regarding beach towels. I didn't see anything where it said we had to rent/hire them so when I asked if we could have extra towels the lady at the front desk was very confused. It was fine that we had to rent/hire them but at a fee of $10AUD that we would get back once returned. The problem was we would be returning after office hours. She seemed very confused by this and didn't really know what to do; she too cash and said she would return it to our room and then she also took a credit card number just in case we didn't return the towels and then took the $10. It all worked out in the end. They do serve breakfast but we had our do not disturb sign up so we did not get any.
For an extra $9 you can stay at the Ramada or $22 for the Mantra On the boat harbour which are 1000 times better. Pool is just a large spa. There is nowhere to sit outside your room. A 1960s hotel with a 2020 price. Not worth it
Clean and comfortable with friendly and helpful staff. Everything in the room worked properly. I found the bed very comfortable and slept well. Location is perfect for my needs and is walking distance to restaurants, RSL Club, supermarkets and other shops.
Convenient and quiet location on Charlton Esplanade with a few restaurants and the RSL and Beach House Hotel within walking distance. Room is adequate but certainly not luxurious. Had issues with the TV remote and WiFi was hopeless even with reception help.
Well situated - near shopping centre, RSL, a couple of other eateries are in walking distance also. reception was not open until 2pm but we just had lunch and a drive along the esplanade. Reception - Karen - was very friendly and helped with some brochures; letting us know we could book there if there was anything. The room was fine, clean, parking right outside and undercover as we were on the ground floor. We booked the whale watching with reception - very easy, even arranged the pick up for the next morning. Usual amenities in room, but had to request crockery etc. all but the tea making items. The bathroom could probably do with some sort of extractor, unless you open the window - but towels did not dry very well. Toiletries are good.
Pros- good location, reasonably quiet, electrical system, running water, color tv, curtains and AC Cons- no plates or cutlery, old towels, REALLY uncomfortable beds, ANCIENT pillows, smell in the room, if you are on the ground level and leave the bathroom window open while in the shower- you can wave to passersby's, TV remote doesn't work and did I mention REALLY uncomfortable beds!
We had a fantastic room with walk in shower, had rails and plenty of space for a wheel chair and walker. Couldn't have been better for my husband. Also lovely walks from there on great pathways. Lots of shops and restaurants within walking distance.
We had the room for a person with a disability and it filled the bill. Accesurs for everything was good and I felt safe in the shower. Quite often the floor in the shower can be slppery but this one wasn't which was relaxing for me. We had our dinner in our room and I was happy to find the grill fish was fresh and beautifully cooked - not dried out. We would be quite happy to go there again . Kristy makes a great mangeress, although very busy she was always cheerful and coped well.. There was only one flaw, I had the single bed and it really needs a new mattress.
This is a smart motel on the beach front, but don't expect a sea view. Christy gives us a warm welcome when we book in. There is covered parking for our car. The room is neat, clean, attractive and large with an unusual study extension with a large desk. The suite comes with queen bed, comfortable chairs, microwave, kettle and tea and coffee supplies. There is carpet on the floor and pictures on the walls - just like home! Crockery and cutlery are available on request, and also a toaster, but there is no stove or hot top. The ensuite is also large and attractive with toilet, shower and vanity. The shower is a delight to use. There is free wifi which I found rather slow. It is an easy walk across to the beach, we find a colony of bats, and we also walked to the local fish and chip shop. A supermarket is also reasonably close by. This is a nice motel.
jasecheshire, Manager at Best Western Ambassador Motor Lodge, responded to this review
Hi Paul, Thank you for taking the time to review The Ambassador Motor Lodge, I'm happy to hear you had a good experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Had a very comfortable stay. I see hygiene of a motel as my highest priority and I gave this facility 10/10. The outdoor area is always daily kept clean and so is the small pool even in the winter months. water pressure is better in the upstairs rooms than down stairs especially if you have very young kids who need a quick bath. Food services are breakfast and dinner to you're room which is different for a motel like this one. Most areas of this motel are easily.
Awesome weekend away with the family, our room and the service was great. Will be staying there again when we travel to the Bay. We were treated with a smile and into our room with no hassle, close to all areas of the Bay with the water park with in easy walking distance to take the kids for a splash.
Location is great being across the road from the beach. However the bed was just too firm for me. Large room with average facilities and room needs refurbishment. Quiet location near to supermarket. Will not be returning.
Great location with an easy walk to both the beach and the shopping centres. The RSL Club is close by. We had a good size room which slept three, the refurbished bathroom was bright and clean. Had plenty of room to move around and relax with a table and chairs as well as the long desk/bench top under a large mirror to do any business work on. Have stayed here previously and would definitely stay again.
Stayed for one night on way back to Brisbabe. Slightly away from the main commercial district of the Esplanade, but perfectly fine. We had the 2 bedroom family room which was excellent. Very spacious and comfortable beds. Friendly host too.
Basic accomodation when you just want overnight accomodation. Rooms are average for a motor inn. The rooms need some refurbishment but our room was clean. The staff were very professional and helpful with our requests.
My partner and I stayed here for about 5 days and found our whole stay wonderful. The room was spacious with a comfy bed and nothing was too much trouble for Darlene, the owner. Even though the motel is undergoing some minor renovations it certainly didn't detract from our wonderful time. Thank you so much Darlene and staff. We will definitely be back.
I have been staying here regularly for work over the past 3 years and I keep coming back. The staff here are definitely the friendliest and always remember me and ask how things have been. The food is good old fashioned home cooked meals which I just love after a week on the road. Yes the rooms are dated and the place could probably use a facelift but for the price you really can't complain. The rooms are a good size, ammenities are good and most importantly to me they are dark which makes for a great night sleep. See you guys in January ??
I will start with what was good, the lady that checked us in was nice and the bed was clean and comfortable. There is a microwave and small fridge. The restaurant was closed, apparently cook decided not to come in. The pool was closed for maintenance, pool pump broken. I had work to do when we arrived around 4pm and was happy to hear they had free wifi. Sadly it dropped out continuously so I gave up. We then went to find some takeaway (closed restaurant) got back to our room to find there was no crockery or cutlery. Tried to find someone to see if we could borrow some but there was no one to be found. After a messy half eaten dinner (Chinese) I decided to have a nice hot shower. Water eventually became hot but the shower head is the original from the 70's I am sure and was useless. Not to mention that it was an over the spa shower that you had to climb into. Definitely not for the frail or elderly or anyone that doesn't like climbing. It was way to high to be safe. The room would not survive a white glove test! Please understand that I stayed in two other motels over the previous nights and was very happy. A lot of motels could do with a lick of paint and a change of decor but Best Western the Ambassador needs bringing into to 2000's desperately.
Stayed in a apartment the bed was very old and needs to be updated, the step up shower is a accident waiting to happen but apart from that the place was clean close to Shopping Centre and the staff were very friendly
My family and I were very happy with the service from staff and the cleanliness of the room. Very spacious room. In a great spot.. walking distance to supermarkets/shops and rsl. We have now stayed here twice for our short stay ..due to lovely staff and rooms. Thankyou!!!
Just overnighting for business training. The room was clean and comfortable and the location of the motel is close to both the CBD and the Esplanade. Probably rate the lady at reception as giving the friendliest welcome to any accommodation we have ever stayed at.
When I travel I don't ask too much from a Motel or Hotel. I need a comfortable bed, a fridge and to be close to amenities and the site to be clean and accessible. This Motel ticked all the boxes. Across the road is the board walk so its easy for that morning or afternoon walk along the Bay. The restaurant was closed (out of season) but no worries just 2 streets back are the shopping malls and RSL Club so meals were not a problem. I had a quiet room and slept well. I am happy to return. Oh and it was not expensive
Our stay was over the Christmas period as we were at Harvey Bay to spend Christmas with Family. Two rooms were booked for this period, The rooms were immaculate, well prepared for our arrival. As we were past our anticipate arrival time the Manager of the complex phone us to confirm all was well and our arrival time.As it was past business hours,arrangements were made to have the keys placed in safety box for our arrival, on opening the units the lights and ceiling had been turned on for cool easy access. Yes, the arranged shower chair was ready for a elderly mother. The following morning, we had a brief visit from the Manager confirming all went well with our arrival. Christmas morning, an unexpected surprise as each room had a lovely little Christmas gift delivered. The Motel has a Wonderful Manager who is extremely helpful. This complex is just across the road to the beach while only a couple of minutes flat walking to a large shopping complex. Very convenient location.
Pros: Close to beach, Fairly clean, Helpful staff. Cons: Room well past use by date, Restaurant closed, Bath-sized pool, Parking apparently first come, first served, Generally run down, Badly in need of some TLC, Cannot recommend.
We had a one night stay & were very surprised! Very clean, tidy & comfortable. Check in & check out were easy and the staff were welcoming. Close to the beach, pubs, restaurants & the beach. Free parking. Definitely stay again as it was reasonably priced & clean.
We were on enroute to Fraser Island so only needed overnight in Hervey Bay. This motel was well located as near a shopping centre and several restaurants. Our room was clean and large, and the bed was a king and comfortable. The décor was dated but in good condition. We would happily stay there again.
3 adults spent 2 nights at this motel. We struggled to get the jug under the bathroom sink to fill up and there was only one teaspoon for a room that sleeps 4 and we found an opened packed of biscuits in the cupboard with the tea/coffee/sugar. The Wifi was extremely slow and I gave up trying to do what I was doing because of this. Hot water takes a long time to come through even after being a 30degree day. This was for all 3 showers. Breakfast is only available after 8am on weekends and they have limited office hours. The whole motel needs some TLC with lots of little things that can be fixed in the rooms. The 2 other people staying with me have previously stayed here and experienced similar issues. The positives include being close to food places and waters edge, plenty of parking, back street exit.
I am in the music business and have been for 20 years and my band had a show locally in Hervey Bay for the locals and bringing a few out of town people to Hervey Bay as well to boost some tourism and money for the area. So we were excited to stay in Hervey Bay and play our show. At first, it seemed like a great affordable motel and spacious rooms until we started seeing a few problems. Very dated building and interior, The tv remote did not work properly. Dusty in places, chipped tiles and dirty mirrors with child hand prints on it. We also accidentally dropped some money under our bed, we had to lift the bed up to get it and what we found under there was disturbing. Used condom and lube packaging yep that's right. We didn't complain about this and thought we would make them aware at check out. We return back from our show at about 10pm. Which was great and successful There were 5 of us, we shared two rooms.And decided to have a couple of quiet beers on the porch. We were only out there for 30mins and a guest came out and very forcefully said can you keep the noise down and that he will be thinking of us at 5am (keeping in mind he was very rude first time round) so we decided to retreat to one of our rooms to finish our beers. We ended up all going to bed by 12am after all of us consuming only 2 beers each which is not partyinggggg haha. Ok fast forward to check out, we were going to mention the previous mentioned problems, my wife went to return the keys and basically the staff member said that they received reports we were yahoooooing and partying till the early hours of the morning on 2 quiet beers each yeahhh right! And was very rude to my wife saying that were no longer welcome to come back...we were definitely not partying or yelling or yahooooing until all hours of the night. It's ok thou, there are far better, affordable places to stay (which we will) in the beautiful Hervey Bay. Any other musicians I know will be made aware not to stay here and there are a lot of them out there. Try out the gold chain hotel next door it looks good and our friends stayed there the same night, and raved about it.
Stayed for 2 nights in early December. Had a family room, very spacious and clean. Queen bed a little hard for my taste. Huge bathroom. Close to shops behind and the foreshore to the front. Staff very friendly and helpful.
The room was huge , the service was excellent , but ... the shower was in a bath which required us to step up into it ..a little difficult and maybe dangerous for us older folk . Very close to shopping centres and attractions and a walk across the road to the beach .
This motel has a good features but also not so good ones. Good: Spacious and clean rooms. Central location, near the beach, close to eateries (within 1km). There is a shopping centre a couple of streets away with Woolworths, Coles, bottle shop, etc. The motel is very quiet and unaffected by traffic other than noisy flying foxes very active early in the morning (but they did not bother me too much). Not-so-good: The staff at reception seems very stacked to their own ways and rigid. I arrived early than the normal check-in time and was told to come back at the time stipulated on their website (in other hotels I have been to, they had made the effort to accommodate me even though they were not ready to receive me, not on this place). There is a restaurant in this place which opens at some particular hours. I inquired about the opening hours and the reply was something along the lines of "as advertised on our webpage the restaurant only opens on....." After this I went to check their webpage and noticed that it is badly set up and couldn't find it anywhere. When I requested the wifi password it came with the warning words: "oh but if you use more than 1Gb you will need to come back to give you another one and we will charge you for it". Also the reception does not seem to be manned around midday as I discovered on a particular day that I went to ask for something. Normally I am someone who give good marks to the service provided by the staff or not complain about it if not good but this place really needs to improve on their customer service.
My recent stay at this establishment was for one night only as part of a business trip. I will start by saying that it's in a good location in regards to eateries, restaurants and shops, being within a 10-15 minute walk. It is also situated on the esplanade opposite the ocean. The lady that checked me in was really kind and friendly, and an asset to the hotel. The room itself was clean and a good size, however it was definitely showing it's age and I would suggest an update is needed. There is a small pool which looked clean and inviting. There was also a BBQ in the pool area for guests to use. I would stay again for a work trip, but would not choose this hotel if I were vacationing with my family as I prefer a more modern hotel.
the room was clean and spacious, 3 guests 2 towels no teaspoon, coffee mugs were not clean, broken showerhead, used toiletries, we overlooked this. there was relief managers there at the time of our stay I got the distinct impression when I had to request something or ask a question that I was "bothering him" I went to get the spare pillow from the cupboard apparently someone in housekeeping thought it would be funny to put the iron on top of the pillow, I am just thankful no child was standing near me when it crashed to the floor. its a shame as I am sure the managers take pride in running their motel, maybe I just stayed at the wrong time. we will not return there as I felt unwelcome.
My husband and I stopped here for a two night stay as part of our honeymoon road trip down the east coast to visit Fraser Island. Darlene was very helpful and accommodating- she booked us on the best trip we've ever been on. The rooms are clean and quiet with a 10-15 minute walk down to the restaurants and shops. The pool is small but the sea is literally on your door step.
This hotel offers good sized rooms at a value price for the area. The rooms are quite large and the hotel is pretty clean. Bathroom has a bath & shower. The management is very friendly and prepared to offer local advice to travelers. It is just across the road from the beach, and just a short walk to Woolworths and a BWS for any supplies. The views are not great and there are a huge amount of flying foxes that live just across the road and are very vocal each morning. They should not advertise having a pool, as it is more like a koi pond. It is a pleasant walk from this hotel to most spots in Hervey Bay. OK for a short stay on a budget.
The fact that there are 10,000 flying foxes living across the road that wake you up shortly after 5am each morning, is enough to not want to go back. Plus the fact that the host would not convert at $25US travel card into US money and only offered $25AU convinced me this is not a place to stay.
Great clean motel with all amenities that you could want for a stay, pool for cooling off too, Pialba beach is located across the road and Water Park a few mins walk to get to. Staff could not be more helpful and beds were comfortable with good air conditioning and tea & coffee making facilities plus breakfast can be purchased for mornings which was very tasty and ample. I stayed for 2 nights in room 9 which was on the ground floor up the back of motel, You can exit from the back as well and only a short walk to Woolworths and BWS stores plus Kebabs, butcher, newsagent and the reject shop. Ample places to eat which are only a few minutes drive away. Would stay there again if I get down that way again.
Friendly receptionist. Huge room with a bath as well as a shower and big towels. Plus unlimited wi-fi. We had no transport and the best food was 15 mins walk away. OK in good weather. Not much fun in the rain.
pretty average hotel. The restaurant was closed for Christmas. the bar fridge was empty and the wi-fi will not connect to any mobile devices. service could be improved. it is in a good location and has a good value for money
The facilities Were Ok, Toilet Did Not Flush Very Well, Decor Was A Little Dated. Parking Was Good, Staff Helpful, Not Bad For The Price Paid. Close To Shops And Waterfront. Most Facilities Were In Walking Distance.
The only positive i have is that it is at the end of the esplanade and you can walk down to food and beaches. Our room was not clean, there was dust on the windowsills and shelves in the whole room including the bathroom. The bathroom had old soap/ semen on the shower walls, the shower itself was tiny (i was touching either side of the shower with my shoulders). There was dust on the curtains in the room. There were flat batteries in the A/C remote and the batteries didn't sit in the TV remote properly. The most horrible part was lamps beside the bed. One was crackling and flickering, it was shorting out somewhere. The other's switch case was apart which exposed the terminals inside. My partner is an electrician and was beside himself and explained that there was a serious danger of electrocution. On bringing this up with the staff, i did not receive a refund or discount. I definately DO NOT recommend this stay as they seem to have no regard for other's health, safety and wellbeing.
We arrived late in Hervey Bay, however the Best Western motel found us a room and were very friendly. Good value for money. The room was clean and spacious and had everything you needed for a short stay. Motel was away from all the noise, so guaranteed a good nights sleep. Very short drive to the shops and cafes worth a stay.
Advertises internet, but it did not work in our room. Breakfast was delivered the night before, but only consisted of a bottle of juice, two sliced of bread and box of corn flakes. If you are a Best Western Rewards member, expect no recognition (we are DIAMOND reward members and received none).
sbm1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Ambassador Motor Lodge, responded to this review
Dear Dennis L, I am sorry to receive your review and would like to clarify some points. In Australia the welcome gift for an elite Best Western Rewards member is a complimentary bottle of spring water and I am sorry this was not acceptable to you. Our internet is fast and free and we give an access code on check in. I wish you had reported that you were having difficulties as I would have been more than happy to help you to get onto the network; we are always available to assist our valued guests. Regards, Darlene Owner
While travelling back from far north Queensland we wanted quite place off highway. Greeted by friendly staff, room large older style but had had some updating. Close to RSL and beach across the road. Communal balcony along upstairs with people talking can be heard in rooms adjoining although it did not go on for too long. Nice place for overnight only.
room was neat and tidy. I had been working on building sites for 12 hours. The shower took a while to get hot at 5.30 in the afternoon but after that I collapsed in bed at 8pm and left at 7 the following morning. not much more to say really
Recommend the Best Western Ambassador Motor Lodge, Hervey Bay, to anyone wanting accommodation in Hervey Bay, great staff, great location everything within walking distance. Beach just across the road, great for families.
I was at a disadvantage staying here without a car but the manageress was very helpful and booked a taxi for me. The room was clean, quiet, well equipped and comfortable. Breakfast was delivered to my room at the time I requested. Very friendly.
Stayed here for 2 nights with my partner and grandson,check in was quick and very friendly,was given real milk made a good change. Told about places to eat,Enzos on the beach is awesome for breakfast,that review coming soon. Room was basic and clean,bath was nice and deep witch my OH loved being from the UK. Plenty of parking,beds were comfy,some new pillows needed but slept well. Location was good,quick drive to what ever you want,beach across the road for a walk. Felt to me like a throw back to the 80's when I travelled up and down the coast staying in motels for the night wich is not a bad thing. I don't think I could do longer than a couple of days though I would need a bigger room. We had room 6. Overall a good base to go out and enjoy what Hervey Bay has to offer for a few days,would I stay again,probably not but the 2 nights we stayed was fine.
Stayed in a queen room. Was very clean, good location, very friendly staff. Plenty of parking, pillows were a bit thin, but not a big deal. My only real complaint is that the shower was a little small, I felt very cramped.
Rooms are large and comfortable with good amenities in room for making light breakfast. Good undercover parking. Bed very comfortable and room clean - with that said, our only problem was a smelly cushion on lounge chair to which we alerted management who offered to spray area, but we just placed the offending cushion in the ironing board cupboard. unfortunately the dining room was closed on the one night that we stayed.
On speck walk in, friendly accommodating reception. The rooms were clean and well presented with all the creature comforts supplied. On suite shower a little dated but functional with one of the best shower pressures we encountered. Beach walk across the road with stunning views. A little out of the city centre but quiet and pleasant
Wherever Life Takes You, Best Western Is There®
Each Best Western® branded hotel is independently owned and operated.