Room 1
Room 2
Room 3
Promotion code

Best Western Plus Hotel Stofella, Guatemala City

2 Avenida 12-28 Zona 10, 01010, Guatemala City, Guatemala - See on a map
The Best Western Plus Hotel Stofella is ideally located in the center of Guatemala City. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

The Best Western Plus Hotel Stofella is conveniently located just 15 minutes from La Aurora International Airport. It is in an exclusive business, financial and convention center, surrounded by the most exclusive shops, malls, variety of prestigious restaurants and nightclubs in the city. The hotel has 82 rooms of which six have no elevator service. Luggage assistance available 24 hours. Enjoy your stay. Eco-friendly.

Best Western Plus

Hotel Stofella




Hotel advantages

  • Restaurant
  • Complimentary full american breakfast
    Complimentary full american breakfast
  • Lounges/bars
  • Outdoor parking
    Outdoor parking
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
  • Safe deposit box
    Safe deposit box
  • Multilingual staff
    Multilingual staff
  • Onsite laundry
    Onsite laundry
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
based on 360 guest reviews
Very Good
Business Business
Couples Couples
Family Family
Friends getaway Friends getaway
Solo travel Solo travel
Sleep Quality

"Very accomodating"

User 11/03/2020

I like this hotel. It is convenient and close to everything I need. Rooms are always clean. They even helped me to sort out an issue with an online travel company, Ex***** whom did everything they could to not give me my money back for a (mistake) double booking. I tried immediately to correct it but finally boxed them into a corner enough to have them finally agree to cancel after countless phone calls over 17 days. Upon check in, I found they didn't even bother to cancel the double booking which made them look even more disingenuous. Thank you Hotel Stofella . Sorry for the double booking

"Cozy Old-Style Hotel"

Carlos J, San Salvador, El Salvador 31/12/2019

The hotel is located in Zona 10, close to restaurants (there is a McDonals next door and a San Martin a block away), shopping centers and the Avenida Reforma street. They let us check in early, the front desk was really nice to accommodate us, we were tired from a long trip and had our baby with us. Room Service and breakfast is not the best, I recommend you get a room without breakfast included and eat outside. The hotel is very cozy, very comfortable beds and the rooms are very cozy. They also let you print bus or flight tickets at no charge, I printed like 10 pages and they did not charge me. I recommend this hotel.

"One of the worst nights of my life"

arturdacunha, Recife, PE 15/12/2019

When we arrived at the hotel we were very well received. Check in was quick and the front desk staff was very attentive, giving directions on where we wanted to go. Our beautiful colonial-style room was clean, comfortable, but on the first floor and had no lift. I've been thinking: when we made the reservation we were not asked if we had limitations to climb stairs. When I asked if we could have a room without climbing stairs, they said yes, but it would cost 10 US dollars. The night was horrible, because the hotel is on the route of planes that arrive and leave the airport, and fly very low. In addition there was the noise of a party with very loud sound and explosions of fireworks, until 4:00 in the morning. Breakfast is reasonable, but there was a group playing very loud local music, not allowing conversation. The restaurant staff are also friendly and attentive.

"Repeat visit"

LMRah, San Jose, California 27/11/2019

I have stayed here many times passing through Guatemala City. The location is good and I feel safe here. This time some of the staff was accommodating, but others were a little icy and put off by questions. My room was a little bit overlooked. I had no coffee for the coffeemaker. I also stepped on somebody's fake nail that was left on the floor. The breakfast has always been good, but the guy making cook to order eggs repeatedly shook the tip can at me and the other guests, which was extremely obnoxious and off-putting. Rooms can be a bit noisy depending on where you end up.

"I would never stay here again"

User 31/10/2019

We booked a triple room for 6 people on but when we got there they said that they only had a double room for us, but would not refund us the difference. Their customer service was awful. We paid a lot more for a triple but they would not compensate us at all, put us in a double, and told us to take up our concerns with We called and they called the hotel to verify, but the hotel lied and said they gave us a triple so now we cannot get any of our money back. We will never stay at Best Western Stofella again.

"Meh, Good Location Though"

Javier D, Panama City, Panama 09/10/2019

Dated hotel, limited parking space. I advised that I needed parking for a rental car and they didnt do anything about it so ended up having to park the car on the sidewalks during my whole stay. Rooms are OKish, noisy ceiling fans, hard matresses, dining area is good though. The location is good but there are better options too.

"One night stay"

Road19913687873, Denver, Colorado 21/06/2019

It was good overall I just found it sad and dark for my taste. I thought the bathrooms were a bit outdated but I did only spend one night there before heading out of Guatemala it was fine but I am not sure if I would enjoy my stay any longer than that. It felt gloomy and sad but that is my personal thought.

"Comfortable Quiet Hotel In Zona 10"

missionink, Oneonta, New York 15/06/2019

I am very pleased with the Best Western Stofella - the staff is very courteous, rooms are quiet and large and the breakfast is very good! The closeness tot he airport was very handy - and with my late arrival, Uber was a simple way to get there.

"A safe option"

User 29/03/2019

As the title suggests, a safe option. The section up the ramp is probably quieter than the section behind the desk. I have stayed in both. The section behind the desk, you can hear the garbage being dumped at 5:00 AM. There is also an open concept gym at the end where you can here the treadmill going. Otherwise, the staff is very very helpful and courteous. The food in the hotel is less than stellar. There are so many good dining options all around as the hotel is very centrally located

"Comfortable hotel close to the airport"

Patrice_VDD, Ghent, Belgium 15/02/2019

The room are large and comfortable and well equipped. I can't judge the breakfast since we had to leave very early. We found the staff at the desk for the checking not very friendly just polite. It is close to many restaurants and bars.

"Good value hotel with very friendly and helpful staff."

bertyv, Maidstone, United Kingdom 12/02/2019

The hotel is situated in district ten close to many restaurants. It is close to the airport and within walking distance of the Pullmantur bus terminal. Breakfast is excellent. Rooms are large and clean. Front desk staff will arrange taxis and can also arrange to collect people from the airport. I have stayed five times and will definitely return. The hotel is good value in this part of town.

"Lovely hotel but beds a bit hard"

evanses5, Miami, Florida 24/01/2019

This hotel is owned by Italians and livTed in a good part of town ( zone 10). The Libby is lively. Breakfast was good. Only downside were hard beds and pillows. We felt totally safe in the hotel and local neighborhood

"Very warm and welcoming"

respectthespoon, Arkansas 28/11/2018

This hotel is in a convenient location. The staff is warm and welcoming. You are close to shopping and restaurants. The A/C is not what we think of as A/C, but we managed to stay cool enough. I'd suggest bringing a small travel fan for air movement. Wifi works wonderfully. This was our second stay. We will stay there on future trips, if given the opportunity.

"Everything I wanted"

Cool_Breeze323, Antigua, Guatemala 19/09/2018

The place is clean and comfortable with helpful staff. It's convenient to the airport and in a neighborhood with plenty of restaurants. I even got a good haircut nearby. They have a comfortable lobby with inexpensive snacks, too. I'll be back. The a/c actually works and you can control it, unlike seemingly every US hotel now. Nice, hot showers.

"Reasonably priced, centrally located"

texaschic987, Hot Springs, Arkansas 10/07/2018

We go to Guatemala a lot, and this was our first stay in the Zona Viva. The Hotel Stofella provides a nice blend of charm, comfort, and convenience at a reasonable price. Our room was in the original part of the hotel, and was quite large and very comfortable. I loved the historic elements of the original hotel, but the newer grand addition has been seamlessly incorporated and blends very well. We enjoyed a generous breakfast each morning, and had a good lunch at the Italian themed restaurant.

"Convenient location"

LBenavente, Herndon, Virginia 26/05/2018

Stofella is a ten minute ride from/to the airport, unless you arrive at Guatemala's infamous rush hour. Staff is courteous and attentive, can arrange taxis ($10 to/from airport), and assist getting room upgrades and the like. Breakfast is good, excellent coffee can be had for around $1/cup, plus quality coffee being available at reception and rooms. Neighborhood is quaint and there are plenty of safe and leafy walkways nearby. The neighborhood has plenty of eateries, clubs, some quite elegant. Central Market is 15 min away with good traffic, you can get there fine silver jewelry and handicrafts at affordable prices.

"Much better options nearby"

eldisplicente, Panama City, Panama 23/05/2018

Rooms are ample and clean. Bed is comfortable and there are plenty of good support pillows. That's it for the good part. Wifi is probably the worst I've experienced; painfully slow, intermittent and almost non existent in the rooms (at least the one I got). Although I didn't hear much noise from the street, I got an earful of the surrounding rooms. Split A/C works, but is rather noisy; thankfully is not too loud and noise is constant. Showering will certainly wake you up in the morning, because you'll get surprising and intermittent bursts of scalding hot and ice cold water. Working desk is very small. Restaurant food is acceptable, but menu is very limited.

Julio G, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Stofella, responded to this review
Thanks for your comments they help us to improve. We are very sorry you were uncomfortable with our service and we are Shure that can provide a better experience in the future hope you comeback soon and let us take care of all your needs.

"A good stay in a good part of town."

TomaSchultz, Santiago de Puriscal, Costa Rica 23/04/2018

We stayed at the Hotel Stofella as part of a trip of 13 people through Guatemala . The hotel is quite nice, the rooms well appointed ( actually better than I expected!) , with free water bottles in the rooms ( do not drink the water in Guatemala) , Very well situated in Zona 10 , or Zona Viva, there are plenty of nice restaurants nearby and we were able to get a Uber ride from there in minutes. 24 hour security, nice, but we never felt uncomfortable in the general area. The place does lack a bar/cocktail lounge, and for the restaurant - you are better served in the other really good places within a 5 minute walk. But overall, a good stay.

"Almost good"

Sierrita, Guatemala 16/04/2018

Well this opportunity we went with business partners and the time was good. We had a lunch in the restaurant, is small but good one. the service was great. The table was set good, but not fantastic, had a little mistakes in the settings. The food was really nice, good flavor and great taste . I liked it. And will return.

"Good value hotel with modern amenities in Zone 10"

Dan02554, Playa del Carmen, Mexico 13/04/2018

This was my last hotel to stay in after a month long trip to Guatemala. The price was reasonable and the beds were comfortable. Housekeeping was great...the place was spotless. They were having a little trouble with the internet (many places do in Guatemala..) but it worked albeit slow.

"What a treat ! And surprise."

Sandy N, Seattle, Washington 09/04/2018

I never expected this Best Western Hotel to turn out to be a little boutique hotel. It is just so well done and charming! The hotel is well kept up, looks like it was built with old stately architecture and the staff is beyond courteous, helpful and friendly. The location is good and so were the breakfasts. The only thing that was on the marginal side was the work out room, which had some equipment that either didn't work at all or didn't work that well. Otherwise, a little gem.

Julio G, Gerente at Best Western Plus Hotel Stofella, responded to this review
Thanks for your comments they are very important to improve our services. hope you come back soon.

"A Nice Hotel in Prague"

clfoley1, Casper, Wyoming 05/02/2018

The hotel is located in a good part of the city. The breakfast has a nice selection of food. They do not provide a map of the city. I had done some homework before arriving and I just wanted to make sure that I was headed in the right direction. The desk clerk did print a map off for us, but it was hard to follow. We appreciated him trying to help us. The hotel is a few blocks from the Oakland Mall, which is a very fancy mall.

"Great hotel"

DonNeneMaiden, Santa Tecla, La Libertad, El Salvador 02/01/2018

It was very nice place, is not too big but the double room with 1 bed was enough for me and my girlfriend. Very clean, excellent place for a fair price. The breakfast buffet is good, several options and no limit. Is located in a great area, you can go to nearby restaurants, bars, there is an applebee's across the street. Oakland Mall is very close too, using Uber you can get there and from just for $2 - $4. I will go back definitely.

"Stofella Guatemala City"

437kimberlyi, ottawa, Canada 30/11/2017

Great value, attentive staff, comfortable room, and close to many restaurants in Zona Viva. I enjoyed the restaurant and lounge to meet with colleagues over food or drinks. The fitness area has limited equipment but sufficient for a basic workout. Good wifi signal throughout the hotel.

"Comfortable hotel, excellent breakfast, great service"

User 16/11/2017

Rooms are small but comfortable. The shower was very small, but it's super clean, staff is great, super polite and always there if you need them. Breakfast was included and every day they had something different which was a plus. It also has a small gym with stationary bikes and treadmills.

"Beautiful hotel with amazing breakfast and friendly staff"

Jeannyna, San Jose, Costa Rica 29/10/2017

Since we arrived, the beautiful plants that Don Fidel carefully looks after made it clear that it was a special hotel. The decoration, the atmosphere, the staff´s friendliness was amazing. Rooms are spacious, well decorated, in excellent condition and very clean. Breakfast is spectacular, and we loved having Guatemalan typical food there. Very well located, you can safely walk in this area, even at night time. Many and different restaurants nearby. I highly recommend this hotel.

"Old dame in the city center"

weberwest, Bellingham, Washington 14/10/2017

Situatated in central location in zone 10 with plenty of restaurants in the easy and safe to walk in neighborhood. Somewhat old-fashioned lobby and general interior design, but quite well maintained. Medium sized rooms with 2 queen size beds, inexpensive-looking laminate wood floor, good and plentiful lighting, good dresser and wardrobe space and well-sized glass-topped desk with convenient electrical outlets, good central air conditioning unit. Good sized tiled bathroom with large general and close-up mirrors, hair dryer, plenty of towels. Curtained bathtub shower with a very worn base, but good shower. Breakfast: standard hotel buffet breakfast served in their Trattoria Veneziana: Unimpressive array of cold meats and cheese, watery orange juice, plenty of unidentifyables in the hot section, including a good spicy sausage; and an omelet station that prepared a very good omelet. I rated service a 2 because a- no local cash was available for exchange at my first try (did managed to get on the second try the next day) b- they could not provide me with key to the in-room safe, because apparently the previous guest walked away with it c- at 22:00 a guest-family tried to enter my room with a functioning key card, apparently reception issued a key card to my room to a new guest (and then I found out the next day that my own key no longer worked). My preferred overall rating would be 3.5 - Good.

"Excellent Business Stay"

User 06/10/2017

I have stayed here for two times already. Had to take other choices a few times because these guys were full. Very nice, clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff. They also offer free buffet breakfast. There is a good choice of restaurants close by as well.

"Beware using your credit card - Cuidado con usar su tarjeta de credito"

Danilo K, Los Angeles, California 28/09/2017

I want to initiate my review with the location, the location of hotel is not bad, it is located in a safe business type area, close to the airport, i think 10 mins away. The room was not bad, i got a single bed one, it was not spacious as I imagined but it was ok for me. I want to bring two issues i have with the hotel.. 1) The condition of the bathroom, it had a smelly odor. 2) Never do the city tout with them! - At first the receptionist told me that the tour would cost me $35 dollars, however when she slides my credit card they were charging me $40.85, my app sent me a notification. So I questioned her why she was charging me $5.85 ? she got a little nervous and told me that fee was the international fee. However, i explained her my card don't charge international fees...When I said that, she later told me my card was declined and therefore they can't provide me the city tour....I laughed in front of her because my app was telling my card charged. However, after a week I dispute the charge with my credit card company, I am having hassles right now but at the end I hope to get my credit back. Solo tengan cuidado cuando hagan pagos con sus tarjetas de credito. Aparentemente cobran mas de lo que ofrecen. Falta de etica.

Julio G, Gerente at Best Western Plus Hotel Stofella, responded to this review
Thanks for your comments. just to clarify the situation about the tours we are only an intermediate and our customers can choose from several tour options and prices and about your credit card charge we need a statement to follow up and review with the bank about that our company never overcharge and if there is a dispute and the charges are wrong we are open to help you and solve the situation immediately. Please contact us.

"Surprisingly intimate"

Timtam49, Vancouver WA USA 07/09/2017

This is a small hotel in the heart of Guatemala city. The building at one time was a private residence. It is very well appointed and comfortable. The rooms are very nice and luxurious beds. Staff is very attentive, and friendly. The included breakfast was delicious.

"Great stay"

Eva C, Torrance, California 16/08/2017

Our stay at this hotel was great. The breakfast was so pleasant. The service and people were excellent! We would definitely stay here again the future. The hotel is near by mall and restaurants it's in a great walking distance to many shops and restaurants which makes it convenient. The only thing that was somewhat an issue was that there is not enough light in the room, however in the future I will make sure to ask for a room with windows. Thanks again for making our stay pleasant.

"Great hotel for the money in great location"

clbatres, Guatemala City, Guatemala 07/08/2017

We have been bringing missionary groups to this hotel for 9 years. We have shopped the surrounding hotels and this is the best value for a comfortable hotel available in a very good area of Guatemala. The staff is friendly and the rooms are very nice. The included breakfast is the best we have ever seen in hotels in the US or Europe. Not only is the food way beyond anything that you will find elsewhere, but it is staffed by hardworking men and women who are waiting on you as if it were a restaurant - not a self-serve breakfast. At times, when so many guests come to breakfast at the same time that their 72 seats are all full, sure the line to the made-to-order omelettes may be long, and the staff may be overwhelmed, but they are working hard, doing the best they can. This can be the only reason I can imagine for any negative reviews on the breakfast!! This is a popular hotel because it is such a nice hotel for the money. We feel at home here, and appreciate employees such as Brenda Perez and Abel Sanchez in the restaurant, as well as Lucia Figueroa in the offices. People who complain need to remember the price they paid and that sometimes things don't cater to them only!

"Average Stay"

Mochilero22, Miami, Florida 11/07/2017

Hotel is well located just steps from cafes, restaurants, shops and lots of nice hotels. Breakfast which is incuded is only average and breakfast service was only passable. Front desk was uninspiring and just adequate. Front desk person gave incorrect information telling us to take a taxi when the destination was certainly walking diatance - quite unprofessional.


jessica_steed, Springdale, Arkansas 01/06/2017

We got in late and only spent the night before going early to the airport so I can't comment on breakfast, etc., but it was a very nice, clean hotel; safe and gated with airport transportation at average taxi price. Hot water and good air conditioning.

"Love the wood"

Edgar M, Valinda, CA USA 31/05/2017

The facility is great clean and is mostly all wood. Staff helpful and friendly. Location is great close to shops, malls, restaurants are all in walking distance. Parking is an additional fee per day. Only set back they are working around the hotel or at the hotel lots of loud noise at night from 11pm to on forth. Unable to sleep.

"Robert F"

Robert F, Knoxville 31/05/2017

I stayed here two nights on an organized tour. The hotel is well locate in a safe area with numerous restaurants nearby. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and clean. The breakfast was very good. Should I return to Guatemala City in the future, I would certainly stay here again

"Poor hotel"

grsapir, Israel 15/04/2017

We spent there for 2 nights. One night eith friends and the second nighr with a group travelling in Guatemala. Very low kevel hotel with very poor service. Almost no english. Small room on the 3rd floor in the new wing. No windows and an impossible a/c. Service in breakfast was very slow and very in effective. Choose a different hotel - there are so many others.

"Great Accomodations on a Quiet Street"

Doug K, Denver, Colorado 21/03/2017

Although we spent only one evening here, we were pleasantly surprised at the accommodations. The room and lobby are attractive and they have a great breakfast buffet and coffee is available 24/7. There are several other restaurants in the area and the area is safe to stroll around.

"Good hotel, can't complain!"

Gerona12, NEW YORK 16/03/2017

Stayed in this hotel with OAT TOUR. Usually I try to stay in better Hotels than BW. Everything was good, I can't believe this is Best Western! Safe area to walk, hot water, decent breakfast, etc. If room would have a view, I will give 5 star

"Centrally Located"

User 14/03/2017

I stayed here on an official trip, I wasn't particularly impressed with the amenities within the room or the general housekeeping. Yet it was clean enough and good for short stay. the best part was that its so centrally located that its an easy walk to any restaurant or good places so to stay. so its just for the location and nearby places that i would rate it somewhere between good and very good.

"ripped off at checkout"

tim c, littleton 12/03/2017

i dont normally pay in advance. this time i did through orbitz and expedia. went to check out they had no notice of my payment. after an hour and a half the smug and impolite carlos at the desk contacted orbitz found the payment and said sorry. i got home and he had charged me that day also. i called best western and they wanted so much paper work i just hung up and 5 minutes with chase bank i had a refund in 24 hours. horrible

Julio G, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hotel Stofella, responded to this review
We are very sorry for the inconveniences. Unfortunately the hotel never receive the payment or instructions from Orbitz and you need to ask them to address the situation as you reserve through them.

"Horrible customer service. Employees lie to clients."

User 07/03/2017

Please consider this a formal complaint on this hotel. I will also be contacting the better business bureau on the parent company, Best Western International. I had modified my reservation with on 2/22. I received an email confirmation from booking with an approval from the hotel of the date change for my reservation from 3/3 to 3/4 on 2/22. At check-in, the hotel had no info in regards to my hotel date change. As a result, I was charged a no-show for 3/3 & I had no reservation for 3/4. I had to make a new reservation and pay for another night at the hotel. The front desk stated that reservations office was closed until Monday. The person that Booking had spoken to at the hotel, Dinora, that confirmed the modification was on vacation and no one at the hotel would help in this matter. I went back to hotel on Monday 3/6th, the person at the hotel that confirmed the change at the hotel that booking spoke to, Dinora, denied approving the change. When booking called the property, I heard the call at the front desk and that it was transferred to Dinora, she then told me she did not talk to Booking. Worst customer experience I have received with any property I have booked with booking. I have an email confirmation from stating that the hotel authorized the change in date for my reservation on 2/22 but the hotel will not accept this. I was charged for a no-show and had no reservation for the date they had approved previously. Dinora, blatantly lied to me in this case! I will never stay at a Best Western ever again. I suggest you don't either, unless you want a hotel that does not value their clients

Julio G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella, responded to this review
Dear Mr. Andre, we are very sorry about your inconveniences unfortunately the hotel was a third party in your reservation process and according to international policies the only one that can do changes in the reservation is you through the online reservation system that you reserve. As you states if the reservation changes were made through Booking you should talk to them about the NO SHOW and the reservation date change. Our hotel never receive a written change through our reservation system and all the information is process automatically. None of our employees can do changes in to the system as the reservation comes direct and is automatic load by Booking. If you have a written confirmation of the reservation change provided by Booking you need to ask them to fix the situation as the hotel is not responsible because Booking never did the changes on your reservation. The hotel has proof of the reservation made by you thorugh booking and there are no changes. Best regardsm

"Ask for a room away from the street: "

Jaime L, Toronto, Canada 25/11/2016

Hotel is nice, Upside: Clean, nice beds, comfy and good quality service for a reasonable price, one block away from bigger hotels and good plazas. Downside: Some of the rooms facing the street are just too noisy, there's a karaoke restaurant nearby and believe me, there's not talent hanging around that place... lol, unless you enjoying pretending you are at American Idol... LOL Other than that, the place is Ok.

"Interesting Stay"

Jean-Wilner, West Orange, New Jersey 24/11/2016

Stayed there on mission trip and it was great experience. I would come back there anytime. It has a very interesting look inside with woods everywhere. It is located in a very safe area la Zona 10 where you will feel very safe to walk anytime.

"Comfortable Hotel That Will Not Break The Bank"

OccasionalTraveler40, Denver, Colorado 06/11/2016

My family of 5 stayed here this past June. We spent one night because we did not want to have to get to Guatemala City, from Antigua, to catch a morning bus to Rio Dulce Town. The rooms are comfortable and clean, breakfast is included, and the staff are friendly. The hotel is located in a good area, with easy access to good restaurants, a zoo, museums, and a high end shopping mall. Avenida La Reforma, a tree lined, pedestrian friendly avenue, is only two blocks down the street.

Julio G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella, responded to this review
Thanks for your comments our staff is working hard to make your stay an enjoyable one. we expect to have you back in the near future.

"Would stay here again!"

emr1234, Auckland, New Zealand 06/11/2016

This hotel was clean and comfortable. Large rooms and great water pressure!! Wifi dropped out a few times while we were there but was ok in general. Walls quite thin - could hear man snoring next door! Breakfast was ok, great to have the omelette service. Free bottled water in rooms. Staff very helpful and friendly. Good safe location.

Julio G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella, responded to this review
Thanks for your comments we are improving our services to make you feel welcome and confortable. expect to have you back in the near future.

"Not a good experience"

Oscar F, San Pedro Sula, Honduras 16/10/2016

Visited GUA on business trip from 10-14 oct. As HI and Inter were packed, travel decided to book me at Stofelle. First time this year was decent, so I agreed. Stayed at room 305, room was not clean and dark. There is no elevator to access the third floor, so you have to walked 3 flights of stairs. Air conditioner extremely noisy, same as construction neighbors (drilling until midnight) and arriving flights into Aurora Airport. At least hotel should consider doing improvements to make rooms sound proof. Breakfast, that is another story. I was only able to make it twice. Seems you have to be there extremely early to grab a bite. I did go to the lobby and complain once. Internet, barely worked the first two nights. Bet my roaming charges will come up sweet! Did walk to the lobby and spoke with Mr. Carlos Garcia. While I was doing so, he was very kind to answer a call and left me there standing. So rather than taking another approach, I just walked away. Some people seem not to understand that price is important, yet SERVICE is the driver of excellence. Sorry, Best Western Stofella but you guys do a poor service.

Julio G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella, responded to this review
Thank you for your comments we are very sorry for the inconveniences during your stay we are in the process to renew all our services to provide all our guest with a superior customer care. In our property we have two sections one colonial and one modern some of our guests love the colonial section and others like you prefer the modern one unfortunately during your stay the hotel was 100% occupied and we did not have option to change your room in to the modern side. we really would like to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future and provide you with the professional service level that you deserve.

"a little old , need some care, but still good. great employees."

perrogaruao, Florida 11/10/2016

employees are great, as most of Guatemala guys. breakfast is very good. Not extraordinary, but very good. (they have hot chocolate !!) safe box (my room) not working !! neither fridge. That is why I gave a 4 star. it is not expensive . excellent location. it is clean and nice. free good wifi. It is not a 5star one, but you get what you pay for ... it is a little outdated. I don't like bad hotels, and this one is NOT a bad one. will come again for sure. Again, the employees are very nice people. difficult find nowadays ...!

"Most moderately priced in Zone 10, Guatemala's "Zona Viva.""

carrots2curecancer, Panajachel, Guatemala 25/08/2016

Rooms are wood-paneled and quiet. The included breakfast has with lots of options. For night dining, the restaurant is excellent. There's no pool, so this hotel is better for business travel than travel with family. A taxi stand is right in front of the hotel, convenient. The Panaderia San Martín, a block away, is a big favorite with Guatemalans, serves pizzas, salads, desserts and tropical fruit drinks. If you are given a room with no view or facing an interior courtyard, ask for one with windows to the street and folliage.

"Very clean hotel, spacious room"

Pajomo, Toronto, Canada 03/08/2016

This is an extremely well kept, super clean hotel. Breakfast was good, and staff were very friendly. Only complaint I have is that the shower went from comfortable to searing hot to cold which seemed to be based on who else was using the water...didn't like having to do the two-step in the shower.

Julio G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella, responded to this review
Thanks for your comments our entire team is at your service we hope you come back soon.

"Not an enjoyable experience"

Mario M, Fort Myers, Florida 10/06/2016

The lady at reception was acting as if she was doing me a favor, not very pleasant. There was no hot water in my room. I was giving a very tiny room with a widow with a view on small meeting room and adjacent to the administration office. Therefore no piece. Will not stay there again.

"Beautiful but....."

ntflady, San Marcos, California 02/06/2016

This was a very nice looking hotel but room was small for two people and morning breakfast was just adequate. The first morning the coffee was terrible, which was shocking since this was our first day in Guatemala and I was looking forward to a good cup of coffee. The second day the coffee was okay but breakfast just okay. The hotel is very clean and the staff is very nice.

Julio G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella, responded to this review
Thank you for the comments we are working hard to provide a superb service experience we know you can have a better experience of our hotel as we have many room options unfortunately during your stay the hotel was full.


pghs67, California 06/05/2016

I gave this hotel a higher rating because I like vintage decor and solid hard wood furniture. My room was quite large because I had two queens. The only negative is the breakfast dining area being opened on time but not all the food being brought out for another 15 - 20 minutes. It appears that there was only one cook who also made the omelets, she was very accommodating.

Julio G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella, responded to this review
Thank you for your comments we appreciate them and we will work harder to provide a superior service level in the future.

"Good location"

Pam T, Mount Vernon, Washington 26/03/2016

This old hotel is in a good location and maintained okay. The breakfast was find. There are many restaurants nearby, so plenty of places to eat. Rooms are on the small side and there is some airplane noise.

Julio G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella, responded to this review
thank you for your comments in our hotel we have two sections one colonial style and other modern the two of them have the comfort and the clean lines of the best hotels in the city when reserving a room with us you can choose from them.

"Old hotel, good location"

hrmatsui, Brazil 22/03/2016

The hotel looks like very old, like its furniture. Rooms are not so big, but overall it is very clean. There are some maintenance/renew needs, specially the bathroom, but nothing that messed up my stay. Breakfast is average, nothing special. Location is a plus. For the rate, I think it has its value.

"Small rooms, no view and a 2.5 rating"

VA B, Churchville, Virginia 28/01/2016

The rooms are very small. Ours had the view of a potted plant and the hall beside us while other rooms had the view of pipes. Mostly no staff. The food was average. I would surely recommend staying somewhere else - there are many choices.

Julio G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella, responded to this review
Thank you for your comments about your stay in our hotel. we have many room´s options and we are Shure we can provide an accommodation that fit your needs. we would like to have you back in the near future please contact for a personal and professional assistance.

"Local flavor"

Dean M, Orlando, Florida 26/01/2016

Part of the Best Western chain, Hotel Stofella is an older well-maintained edifice in Zone 10 conveniently located near restaurants and shops. Our 12-member Overseas Adventure Travel (OAT) tour group received a warm welcome for our two-night stay. The room I occupied on the first level was clean and comfortable. The floor covering is tile, something this Floridian prefers to dust-collecting carpet. Unfortunately, the a/c did not function on that warm November evening, but hotel management immediately situated me in another comparable room. Stofella offers a bountiful buffet breakfast that features an ample fresh fruits. Yum! I found that Stofella offers superior service, comfortable and clean rooms, and an ambiance not found in chain hotels. When I saw the Best Western sign upon arrival, I had expected less. Stofella offered more.? Highly recommended.

Julio G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella, responded to this review
Thank you for your time and comments about your recent stay at Best Western Plus Stofella. We have two room areas one colonial style and other modern both of them are comfortable and with the same standards and clean lines you can choose from them where do you prefer to stay. We hope you come back soon.

"Great starting place to Guatemala- Traveling"

Forrest001, Las Vegas, Nevada 24/01/2016

The location is great- Within Zona 10- Room was very clean with the bathroom. The front desk was very friendly and understood English. The breakfast was very good They helped me get a shuttle to Antigua - Cost was in the $80's with free breakfast. The breakfast was wonderful! I read some negative reviews but I think it may have been due to miscommunication - The waiters and cook did not speak much English .. The cook will make any type of eggs you want and ask you want do you want in your home let.. They had several type of local cheese/ bread .. Sweet breads and Guatemala pastries.. On the far side they set up A table with 2-3 different type of fruit juices. And on the other end they had a huge bowl of fresh cut fruit, this time it was strawberries and there was a side of yogurt. Remember you are in Central America .. This location did not have cereal or pancakes. I suppose you can always ask if they have any in the back...

Julio G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time for your comments they are very important for us. when visiting us in the near future you can ask for waffles, cereal or hot cakes for breakfast at the restaurant we have several options you can choose from or you can ask also if you have a special request. at Best Western Plus Stofella our goal is to provide a superb service.

"Great Stay"

Julio G, Lac La Biche 04/01/2016

Hotel is location is central and close to the live zone, great restaurants , entretaiment and business area. Staf is profetional and helpfull. The restaurant attached to the hotel has good food quality. I did enjoyed may stay of three nights.

Julio G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella, responded to this review
Thank you for your comments we expect to serve you in the near future.

"What a beautiful Hotel - STRONGLY recommend it"

Carl R, St. Petersburg, Florida 01/12/2015

The Best Western Hotel Stofella is a refurbished home or collection of homes all cobbled together to form a hotel. It has all hardwood floors, large wooden vaulted ceilings, wood paneling, thick hard wood doors. The entire feel of the building is that it is older, has been immaculately refurbished and feels rich. Rooms are good, not huge, but nice. Good bathroom with a shower. Positives: Price! Great price for what you get and where you are. Location! It's 2 blocks from Zona Viva, and is surrounded by bars and restaurants within walking distance, but the hotel itself is on kind of a side street, so it's real quiet at night. The staff was great, the hotel itself was beautiful. Free WiFi throughout the hotel. Worked well day and night. Good buffet breakfast with an omelet station. Nothing elaborate, but food was good and it was included. Negatives: They could use better pillows. And if you are looking for a view? Forget about it. I was in room 216 and my view was literally a brick wall. It would have been nice to have a bar in the hotel, but like I said, it was surrounded by them, so that's kind of picking nits. All in all I strongly suggest this hotel.

Julio G, Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella, responded to this review
Thanks for your time and comment our staff also work hard to provide all our guest a superior experience. we have bar and in room minibar service. Hope you come back soon.

"Nothing extra - good value "

User 24/10/2015

A very average hotel with poor Internet, no gym and a quite frankly dreadful breakfast buffet. Professional and friendly staff, great location and good rates make up for most of it, making this a favourite for group tours and development workers. Do skip breakfast and ask to change rooms if you are not picking up a good Internet signal.

Julio G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella, responded to this review
Thank you for your time and Comments we know that on your next visit you will find a difference in our service because we are improving every day and expect to have you back in the near future.

"Small but Comfortable"

Tess S, Abbotsford, Canada 13/10/2015

This hotel is not your typical Best Western: it's a charming older building with dark wood panelling and furnishings. Our room was comfortable, clean and faced onto a roof garden; every unit is different. Staff friendly and helpful. Excellent down town location (lots of restaurants and shopping within a short, safe walk).

Julio G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella, responded to this review
Thank you for your comments our hotel has different type of units in two sections one modern building and other colonial both of them with high level of comfort and clean lines you can choose from them when your come back. We expect to serve you in the near future.

"Welcoming personnel, strategic position"

User 03/10/2015

I've been in this hotel for a 3 night business trip. Close to the airport - in strategic position for bars, restaurants. Extremely welcoming and professional personnel. The style isn't renewed, goes back a while, and style and accessory-wise there isn't a big attention paid to details - however these points did not influence my positive experience. Attractive price I believe i will be back.

Julio G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella, responded to this review
Thank you for your comments and time. we are working hard to provide you a superior service. we would like to know in which area did you stay we have two areas one colonial style and the other modern. In your next trip you can choose from them we expect to serve you in the near future. You can contact me when reserving your next visit and ask for the room Julio Galindo General Manager


Daniel W, Wilton Manors, Florida 02/08/2015

Clean very nice hotel. Downtown Zone 10. Good rates and very pleasant people. Many restaurants nearby within walking distance as well as an outdoor mall that is 4 blocks away. No complaints! The ride from the airport is only about 10 minutes so it's very close.

Julio G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella, responded to this review
Thank you for your comments about your stay at our hotel we expect you come back soon our team is at your service to make your stay an enjoyable one.

"Good Location"

travel1948, Ohio 20/07/2015

The hotel is in the good part of the city with lots of restaurants close by. Many of the restaurants are American brands. The included breakfast buffet is all right but below average by American standards. The hotel is not a high rise like many of the others in the area. My room on the 1st floor (116) had absolutely no view. There is free WiFi, but my computer keeps getting a security problem notice with it. For whatever reason it works better with Explorer (over ride the security message) than Google Chrome. My room did not have a safe, but was very quiet. Appears to be a clean and well kept hotel.

Julio G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella, responded to this review
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are implementing many improvements and expect on your next visit you find the hotel more comfortable. We expect you come back soon.

"Very decent room and bathroom in the 'Zona Rosa' of Guatemala City. A bit noisy however..."

Lo1108, Brussels, Belgium 10/07/2015

Rooms are OK, with the comfort you need to rest. Bathroom are more than OK! Very clean hotel Good location, in the middle of an area full of restaurants (classic American Food and other restaurants more 'typical') Hotel is however very noisy. Buffet breakfast helps you to start a good day!

Julio G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella, responded to this review
Thank you for your comments our team is at your service to make your stay an enjoyable one.

"So many problems prompt this review"

Martha T, Antigua, Guatemala 01/06/2015

From bad reservation procedures to freezing cold showers to unedible meals. The best employees here are the bell boys and the worst the reception clerks. Dont count on having decent internet. Dont recommend it at all. Wont come back to this hotel if I can avoid it.

Julio G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Stofella, responded to this review
Muchas gracias por sus comentarios estamos trabajando en mejorar todos lo servicios del hotel estamos seguros que en su proxima visita usted notara los cambios y mejoras tanto en servicios como infraestructura. Me gustaria atenderle personalmente en su proxima visita.

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.