Promotion code

Best Western Plus Waterfront Hotel, Gothenburg

Klippan 1, 414 51, Gothenburg, Sweden - See on a map
Best Western Plus Waterfront Hotel - Best Western Plus® Waterfront Hotel The Best Western Plus Waterfront Hotel is ideally located in the center of Gothenburg. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

Located in a former brewery by the Waterfront, our building today holds 151 spacious guestrooms, a restaurant & bar and top-class conference facilities. From our restaurant, where we serve our generous breakfast as well as our international á la carte, you have magnificent views over the river and Älvsborg bridge. As a guest you have free access to our Wellness-area with spa and saunas as well as the mini-gym, open around the clock. Located in one of Gothenburg's most historical and genuine area, you are sure to find great local, high-class hang-outs suitable for group of friends, couples or families. A few minutes walk away you will find the tram stop, reaching the city centre in less than 15 minutes. In front of the hotel there is a public parking, where you can park your car during your stay.

Best Western Plus

Waterfront Hotel




Hotel advantages

  • Air conditioning
    Air conditioning
  • Cocktail lounge
    Cocktail lounge
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
  • Safe deposit box
    Safe deposit box
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
Certificate of Excellence 2018
based on 604 guest reviews
Very Good
Business Business
Couples Couples
Family Family
Friends getaway Friends getaway
Solo travel Solo travel
Sleep Quality

"Character hotel (its in a converted brewery) by the waterfront"

Mark G, Dubai, United Arab Emirates 11/10/2018

Very large but interesting hotel near the waterfront in Gothenburg. Close to the tram to the city centre and elsewhere. Try to get a view of the water if possible. Breakfast was good but note the times as it finishes at 11:00 weekend but 09:30 weekdays.

"Nice stay"

User 10/10/2018

We were here only one night, but had a really nice stay with two children and in a family room. We payed a bit extra to get a room with a view and think it was worth it. The size of the room was ok, but not more than needed for a family of four. The breakfast buffet was good and the receptionist very friendly.

J-Dellblad, Hotelldirektör at Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg, responded to this review
Thanks for a nice review!

"Pleasant Visit"

Dan B, Gothenburg, Sweden 06/10/2018

Comfy enough bed. Breakfast was decent. The hotel mentions that it has a jacuzzi and sauna. One thing you should know, however, is that it's basically always full of people. Very loud, crass people judging from our visit. So a no-go if you were hoping for a relaxing soak with your spouse. Staff were friendly though, so the place gets a 4. Nice view too!

"Beautiful hotel inside and out in a lovely location. Brilliant staff."

Chalton J, Portsmouth, United Kingdom 03/10/2018

A lovely Hotel. The staff are very friendly and inviting and always paying compliments when you enter the hotel. The room was outstanding. The decor was really impressive and I loved the wood flooring. Well stocked mini bar, absolutely huge TV and bathroom was a good size. The bathroom even had a speaker for the TV! Breakfast was impressive and varied too. The location of the hotel is second to none. My room looked out onto the river which was perfect. I really can't fault this hotel.

"Wonderful Place!"

cheapoyromantico, Cupertino, California, USA 23/09/2018

Other than the fact that this hotel is toward the outskirts of town, this hotel is wonderful. On the river, the view is beautiful. To get to town, you have 3 choices: A 1- block walk to the tram, the water taxi (ferry) or a cab. The hotel restaurant is very good, AND there's another restaurant ( The Porter) literally out the front door. The hotel breakfast was a huge buffet - very good. There is a (Free!) laundry room, but you need to reserve it as there is only one washer and dryer, with all controls in Swedish. I took my best guess and and all worked out well. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Get this: upon departure, we took a cab to the train station. My wife couldn't find her iPad. We called the hotel to see if we'd left it; they said they'd check and call us back. Five minutes later we got the call - and the manager (?) offered to bring the ipad to the train station! She was so sweet! I think we'd return to Gothenberg just to stay here!

J-Dellblad, Hotelldirektör at Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg, responded to this review
Thank you for your nice review! We certainly have to translate the instructions for the washer, we have a lot of international guests and guessing is not always easy. I am glad everything worked out fine with your Ipad!

"Surprisingly good!"

Leudi2016, Balingen, Germany 07/09/2018

We booked a supreme room at the Waterfront Hotel for 4 nights, and were very pleased with cleanness, room size and service. Breakfast was great, the view from the room onto the river was great. We had a parking spot right in front of our room. The staff was very helpful. Advisable!

"Comfortable, clean, great breakfast selection. "

User 27/08/2018

Loved this hotel, away from the busy main town, fantastic breakfast selection with a lovely view of the water. You can see the locals enjoy the tranquility of this waterside location. Staff did everything they could possibly do to provide the best service. A special thank you to Kim who made us feel very welcome and taken care of. If you like to read you can chill out in the reception area to the relaxing sound of the beautiful water feature. This is my favourite hotel in Gothenburg

"Wonderful waterfront"

LaohuPenang, Penang Island, Malaysia 10/07/2018

Away from the busy CBD, the location is convenient and offers superb views. Don't miss the panorama restaurant, either for breakfast or dinner! The cheerful reception staff have everything prepared for your stay. Parking very reasonable!

"Comfortable hotel in a nice environment"

Henri S, Lieto, Finland 26/05/2018

We stayed one night on the go and this hotel was best suited to it. Breakfast was good and varied. The staff was really friendly. The hotel also had a convenient short distance to the Stena Line terminal and it has good parking lot area.

J-Dellblad, Hotelldirektör at Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg, responded to this review
Thank you Henri for your nice review. Welcome back!

"Good choice"

RDY_Raffie, Skoczow, Poland 17/05/2018

Hotel is located in beautiful place in front of water where You can rest after work. It has friendly and helpful personel, meaning You could arrange many attractions from hotel directly. It has also fitness, sauna, meeting rooms, restaurant, bar and meeting places in lobby and terrace.

J-Dellblad, Hotelldirektör at Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg, responded to this review
Thank you for your review and welcome back!

"Convinient overnight business stay"

Marcin L, Roskilde, Denmark 10/05/2018

Very well located, close to the main roads. Personnel is very friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable with large TV screen. Clean and quiet. Nice view from the restaurant - you may enjoy breakfast with the view on the river and the bridge. Breakfast was great and one may choose among many different foods offered. Nice inner terrace if you need a short rest. Would reccomend for the overnight stay.

J-Dellblad, Hotelldirektör at Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg, responded to this review
Thank you Marcin for your nice review and welcome back!

"Very comfortable and clean hotel "

Cheese_n_Chutney, Ayr, United Kingdom 17/04/2018

Stayed two nights at this hotel. Located on the outskirts of the city but with a tram stop nearby, this hotel is blessed with a coastal setting and a view of the stunning Alvsborg Bridge. The rooms were very comfortable and well equipped. The staff, as with everyone in Sweden, were all very friendly and couldn't be more helpful The bar was a nice place to relax at the end of a busy day, watching the ships sail by as you sup on some Carnegie Porter - the hotel is built on the site of a former brewery, brewing this fine baltic porter. The only reason I don't give five stars is the breakfast was mediocre. For most English palates, it would be wise to stick to cereals or toast.

J-Dellblad, Hotelldirektör at Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg, responded to this review
Thank you for your comments on your stay, I am glad you liked it! For breakfast we serve scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon and baked beans, among a lot of other things. We do not have black pudding and hash browns yet, but with more English guests that can be easily done. If you would like to comment on the breakfast, you will find my e-mail on Hotel Waterfronts web page. Welcome back!


daf_advisory, Gothenburg, Sweden 17/04/2018

The hotel is located directly at the harbor entrance to Gothenburg. It is a quiet area with beautiful views and possibilities to walk. Good for a weekend with your wife/husband. The rooms are good and the breakfast is great. There is a small sauna area with Jacuzzi. It is easy to get rid of your car if needed. There are some restaurants in the neighborhood and the restaurant at the hotel is also a good choice. I have visited the hotel twice and will probably be back.

J-Dellblad, Hotelldirektör at Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg, responded to this review
Thank you for your review and welcome back!

"The worst! "

User 04/04/2018

I chipsen to write my review in English so everyone can read. We chose this hotel because it was close to water and it was one of few with rooms for five people. We have three kids and couldn't separate the family. The hotel in clean and breakfast is ok, therefore two stars. The worst experience happened here therefore not more than two stars. First day we checked in and there were no soap, we called and asked for it. Half an hour later the cleaning lady brought us soap. Second day we left the room at 10 and hung make our room sign. We came back at 15 the room was not cleaned. We called reception and they said it's strange that the room was not cleaned. The third day in the morning we called and said that because they didn't clean they didn't replace paper and we asked them to bring us toilet paper. Five people one roll, just saying. Forty minutes later two women appeared at our door. One was saying with a rude tone in Swedish: you know you must hand the sign if you want cleaning. I said we did from 10-15. She screamed: “No, the sign was not there! We passed by your room and you didn't hang the sign!” I disagreed as we travel a lot both for work and pleasure and we know the routines. My husband started to speak English and she screamed: “only Swedish here!” I choked when I've heard that and my husband was chocked. I said it's not ok, we are paying guests and we expect a good service not screaming people at our door. I asked for her name and she said it didn't matter. I started to become angry and asked for toilet paper that she refused to give me. I thought what is that? I thought I was dreaming. But she stood there continued to argue and said I was not nice and very rude. Then I finally convinced the other girl to give us toilet paper and they left. I went to reception where the guy said he will write it in his rapport, nothing else. As we checked out no one apologized, we paid the bill and left. This was the first time I had a bad experience in a hotel in Gothenburg. I don't recommend this hotel to anyone as you now can easily book three room apartment in Majorna (hotels area) for under the price of what we paid.

J-Dellblad, Hotelldirektör at Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg, responded to this review
Dear Katarina, I am glad that you found our hotel clean and that you enjoyed our breakfast. We are well known for our large family rooms that can accommodate five people, which makes it affordable, when two children stay free of charge, with breakfast. As a four-star hotel we provide our guests with both soap and toilet paper, but we also respect our guests need for privacy. I was told that you had your "do-not-disturb" sign hanging on the door-knob when you were out. Of course there will be no cleaning then. If you change your mind, you and your family are more than welcome back to us!

"Waterfront truly"

User 15/03/2018

Spent one night at the Best Western Plus Waterfront during a business trip. Room was nice with a spacious bathroom and a large shower. Personnel was very friendly and also the quality of the room service was good. Location overall is nice and directly at the water, yet quite off from the town center really - too far for a walk into town I feel.

J-Dellblad, Hotelldirektör at Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg, responded to this review
Thank you Marcus for letting us know your opinion. A walk to Avenyn is a distance of 4,4 km, the tram could be more convenient and stops close to the hotel. An alternative to get to the city is by boat. Every 30 minute you can jump on the boat "Älvsnabben" and have a beautiful trip in the harbour, to the same price as the tram!

"2 Days at Gothenburg by the riverq"

rohitd, Bombay 11/03/2018

Location & views: Around 20 minutes from the city-center (i.e. The Central train & bus stations and The Nordstan Mall); a 15-minute tram ride and 5-minute walk subsequently. Situated in the quaint locality of Klipan and the hotel has wonderful views of the bridge, the Göta Älv River, the harbour and the skyline on the other side of the banks; the ships passing by, are a mere 100-150 metres away from the hotel. Albeit there are not too many restaurants, cafes, bars or shopping areas in the whereabouts. Property & Rooms: the hotel's structure is a landmark by itself and housed in a 150+ year old brewery (BTW: the beer brand, Carnegie is still in existence, but brewed somewhere else).The rooms are well-sized rooms with spacious baths, are clean, bright and well appointed with good views of the waterfront. Food & Beverages: Their restaurant serves-up an excellent breakfast spread, complete with breads, spreads, fruits, confectionary, juices, nuts & seeds and the works. The à la carte dining options, for main meals, can be a tad limited for vegetarians and vegans - hence some more vegetarian options would be welcome, especially considering it's in the ‘green-friendly' city of Gothenburg. They also have a very well stocked bar. Service & Amenities: very helpful, courteous & warm front-desk & restaurant staff. They will be more than happy to help you in finding your way into the city or any other local attractions. The restaurant staff was very accommodating and whipped up an excellent vegetarian version of their regular Thai curry. Perfectly representing the efficient & helpful Scandinavian hospitality. BTW: they also have a warm-water jacuzzi, a sauna & a steam room. Overall: All-in-all, a great value for money with good location & views, clean & spacious rooms, sumptuous breakfast and excellent service

J-Dellblad, Hotelldirektör at Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg, responded to this review
I am glad that you liked your stay with us! Your remark about vegetarian food is noted, we will try to make the menu "greener". Best regards

"Outside is more impressive than the inside"

Yuri H, Bruselas, Bélgica 28/12/2017

Fantastic location of this hotel and some serious history to the place. I can imagine how nice it is to walk/jog outside when it is a nice summer day. It is rather gloomy in winter, but hardly the hotel's fault. The parking is convenient, plentiful and very cheap - good start. The reception area is very nicely arranged. Very cozy, actually, though we did not spend time there. Pleasant and helpful reception staff. We took the upgrade to a superior room facing the water. Again, probably nice in summer, but hardly made a difference in December - grey and foggy. The good things about the room - really good beds and nice shower and toilet. Clean. However, the size and equipment are hardly “superior”. Too small for one and just one chair, not even an armchair. The biggest criticism is, however, reserved for the restaurant on the 2nd floor. Really a shame for a 4* hotel, even though the ratings are quite good. Firstly, the lunch on the arrival date was mostly burned: partially the product itself (meat and potatoes) and partially the oil used for cooking, which one could easily taste. Kudos to the hotel for dropping the cost, but hardly an acceptable situation. It appeared to be due to the less than capable temp staff that was hired for the holiday period, but again, hardly a great excuse. As for breakfast, the food itself was quite alright. The only minus was fruit, which was of a rather poor selection. The juices was good, though, as well as other items. The problem was the clientele, if I may use that term. Even though it is a holiday season and one wants to feel relaxed, a 4* hotel has got to keep some standards. It is not too difficult to enforce a bit of a dress code (info during check-in or on arrival to breakfast). As it was, there were tables with people in pajamas. Some were kids - ok, but many adults. And on the 2nd day there was a ‘princess' in a white bathrobe and white slippers. Just amazing (!) .... not. Maybe it is just me, but it is not pleasant to be having breakfast in such an environment of weirdos. In summary, some big pluses to the place and some big minuses. Hard for me to say if I would stay there again.

"Great "

Erik H, Lorrach, Germany 04/12/2017

Good sized rooms, clean ultra-friendly staff, good restaurant and bar. What now can I say? It also has a nice riverside view. Add to that a good breakfast buffet and all the elements are there for a great hotel stay.

J-Dellblad, Hotelldirektör at Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg, responded to this review
Thank you Erik for a great review!

"Nice and tidy"

Classe W, Kirkkonummi, Finland 27/11/2017

Nice view with the room towards the ocean. Clean and tidy. Good breakfest and very nice and comfortable bed and pillows. Quite expensive, but good value for the money. A normal basic and fresh gym. Good tramconnection to the city center.

J-Dellblad, Hotelldirektör at Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg, responded to this review
Thank you Classe for the review, and welcome back!

"Not a great first impression ... but all in all a decent stay."

caledoniasepost, Eastern Norway, Norway 25/11/2017

We booked a family room. When we arrived there was a thick layer of dust on everything, used shampoo lid/soap lids in the shower and an item of rubbish under the spare bed (which incidentally the kids fell out of several times due to the slightly scary metal construction - we had to pad it out with cushions). The room had obviously not been cleaned well after the previous guests, and had presumably been vacant for a while. The day after our arrival it was cleaned to a good standard, thankfully. Chaotic breakfast room as the Gothia cup week progressed. Fairly noisy A/C. Otherwise a lovely riverside location, handy for the trams.

J-Dellblad, Hotelldirektör at Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg, responded to this review
Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear that your room was not in order when you arrived. We know how important it is to present a clean room for our guests, and have improved our routines since you visited us in July. Best regards

"It's always a pleasure to come back"

bigpeter66, Bocholt, Germany 30/09/2017

This Hotel has been always updated to keep the good standard in all areas. Outstanding location under the bridge. A Hotel the traveller feels like at home and wants to come back. A pleasure to stay there.

J-Dellblad, Hotelldirektör at Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg, responded to this review
Thank you Peter, You are always welcome!

"Rusty Rally"

manstondrive, bishops stortford 16/09/2017

Parking was easy . Checking was quick. The rooms were generous- I had a sofa in mine - clean tidy and excellent service with free bikes that give to access to the city. Easy to find as the classic suspension bridge is very close by.

J-Dellblad, Hotelldirektör at Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg, responded to this review
Thank you for a nice review, welcome back!

"Stolen cap"

Pat F, Bologna, Italy 09/09/2017

Everything went perfect until I forgot my Stetson flat cap in the restaurant during the dinner and it desappeared...I have checked the morning after and even the late afternoon with the reception, but no track of my preciois cap. It's a pity. Sometimes I have forgotten gloves or caps at restaurant but I've always found them. By the way the room, the food and the hotel staff were pretty ok. Nothing to blame.

"A Lovely Hotel but Terrible Parking"

nnielsen1, Austin, Texas 28/08/2017

We enjoyed the hotel but parking was difficult. The hotel provided free parking which is one reason we selected the hotel. The garage was located away from the hotel. The garage was difficult to manage with luggage and there was no assistance provided with luggage at check in or checkout.

J-Dellblad, Hotelldirektör at Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg, responded to this review
Thank you for useful information. I am sorry that you had difficulties with the parking. We have to improve the information to our parking guests that it is better to unload the car at the front before driving to the garage. I hope to see you again!

"Great for families great view"

Porly R, Zurich, Switzerland 27/08/2017

Lovely hotel and location. It is a charming area with plenty of restaurants. We paid for an update to have the view and it was worth it. There are 2 areas to play for kids. One can take the boat to go to the city

"Good all round"

Christina B, Stockholm, Sweden 16/08/2017

Friendly staff, clean and good size room, great location, beautiful waterfront, perfect with car parking is cheap and easy. I can highly recommend this hotel. Breakfast was ok, view in the restaurant was fantastic.

J-Dellblad, Hotelldirektör at Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg, responded to this review
Thank you Christina for your review, it is so encouraging for us to have positive feedback!

"Nice hotel with good location"

Bass63, Helsingborg, Sweden 08/08/2017

Hotel Waterfront has changed from being in the Novotel chain to the Best Western chain, but the hotel looks exactly the same. The rooms are large and very nice, however somewhat hot during the night. The included breakfast buffet is also great and the view over the harbour is stunning at sunset. The hotel is perfect if you don't want to hassle with the traffic in the centre of Gothenburg and try to find a parking lot, and the tram station is only a few hundred meters from the hotel.

"Great location & friendly staff"

User 07/08/2017

Nice hotel right at the harbor. Very friendly staff and great breakfast buffet. Beautiful harbor views and access to restaurants. Family friendly. Hotel is right o a bike path and offers free bikes for you to bike all the way to the end along the water's edge.

"Nice hotel, great waterfront view "

Drag0nF1y_70, Berlin, Germany 07/08/2017

This hotel offers a great waterfront view, from the restaurant or if you booked a superior room. We are traveling as party of four (family) and booked a room with a kings and a sofa bed. The kids use the sofa bed, all sleeping facilities are comfortable. The room‘s size are good for a family. There is a small fridge and water boiler. The breakfast is great. There is a gym and a sauna (haben‘t tried, because of lacking time).

"Comming back"

Marija S, Vollen 01/08/2017

Excellent hotel, no complaints at all. Good service, great view when you have a room facing the water. Good buffet breakfast offers. We are returning to this hotel in November for the Porter-festival. Great hotel for families, couples, friends.

J-Dellblad, Hotelldirektör at Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg, responded to this review
Welcome back! The Porter Festival is always a fantastic happening that returns every other year. This year it is November the 18th, with more than hundred different porter and stouts!

"Excellent stylish hotel"

koendeschorpioen, Putte, Belgium 31/07/2017

Located at the waterfront with easy access to the center. Nice and big rooms with great facilities. Sauna, steam room and whirlpool available for free. Hotel used to be a brewery and still has the looks.

J-Dellblad, Hotelldirektör at Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg, responded to this review
Thank you for a great review, it is encouraging!

"Great and neat hotel"

Sveos, Vasteras, Sweden 26/07/2017

I have no complaints whatsoever about this hotel (or any of the three Best Western Plus hotels I've stayed at). The building is very nice and the room (Superior) was nicely furnished with an excellent bathroom. Unfortunately we were in a hurry in the morning and only had about 10-15 minutes to spend at breakfast, but what we saw and had time for was really good. Also, we were served a quite nice "early breakfast" in the lobby. Staff was friendly and the view was nice. For us, who had a ferry to Denmark to catch it was a perfect stay. If you're visiting Gothenburg for other reasons you may find it a bit far away from downtown. Also, I think parking ought to be free, especially if it's not in a garage.

J-Dellblad, Hotelldirektör at Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you liked your stay with us! Unfortunately is the parking not on our land, but we have managed to keep a low price, 30 SEK (appr. 3 €) per 24 hours.

"Mostly happy with our choice."

olexygm, Bergen, Norway 01/07/2017

An overall very good impression, clean, firendly staff, good service and one of the better buffet breakfast offers. We had a choice of room with a bathtub or shower, we chose the shower option. This resulted in a room with a view onto the courtyard and not the view we have expected from the photos on the website. I keep thinking that I should've taken the bathtub after all.. although there is no rule to this , I believe.. ;) Anyway, after a long car trip we were too tired to care about the view too much, so we left it at that. This and the fact that the hotel is quite far away from the main city centre, is the reason for not giving the full 5-star score.

"Excellent hotel in Gothenburg"

Breiva, Oslo, Norway 26/06/2017

The hotel is located a little out of the city centre literally at the Waterfront in a very nice part of the city. You can reach downtown Gothenburg in a few minutes by a tram service (or by boat). Ample parking facilities with low cost. I was very well received by front desk staff. My room was large and very clean. Excellent wifi free or charge. Excellent breakfast as well. The room rates were very high, but this was probably a special situation as Coldplay were in Gothenburg and demand for hotel rooms was extraordinarily high,

J-Dellblad, Hotelldirektör at Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront Goteborg, responded to this review
Thank you for your nice review, I am glad you liked your stay with us! You were right about the Coldplay concert, but we try to keep a moderate price level compared to other four star hotels in the city. You can always find the best offers visiting our web page!

"Perfect place to stay with kids"

User 05/06/2017

We just stayed at the Best Western Plus Hotel Waterfront for one night with our children. We have been coming to Goteborg for years and have stayed all over the city, however this was our first time staying outside of the city center. What a gem of a hotel. We loved the location, right next to the water, and our room had a water view. This location was a lot more relaxed than downtown locations and we thought it was perfect place to stay with our children. We loved walking along the water and the neighborhood was very charming with beautiful, old brick buildings. We took the water taxi into the center of town and we really enjoyed the boat ride and thought that we were seeing Goteborg in a whole new light. The room itself was typical of most hotel rooms, certainly big enough and providing all of the amenities one would expect. The floors and furniture was starting to show a little wear, but with two young children, we were okay with that. I did appreciate the complimentary bottle water that was provided and also a nice little package for kids upon arrival. We took advantage of the spa area and that was very nice, with a hot tub, sauna and steam room. Breakfast was also a cut above what we normally find in hotels in Goteborg and definitely better than some of the more posh hotels in the area. The water view at breakfast was also special. Staff was friendly and helped us with restaurant recommendations in the area and also the water taxi. Overall a very enjoyable visit! We rarely stay at the same hotel twice, but perhaps we might change our minds after our stay here.

"A bit disappointed"

WJKCG, Oslo 26/05/2017

Further from the city than we thought, and not at all an idyllic area by the waterfront, the hotel was not what we hoped for. Backyardview instead of river view from the room did not help. On the upside: The best part is the public riverboat going to the city center from a stop bry close to the hotel. Great way to combine transport and sightseeing. The rooms are big and nicely furnished and the breakfeast is generous. There is also a very good kids menu in the restaurant. On the downside, the service in the restaurant was so slow that one of the kids fell asleep before we were finished. We did also experience that they were out of several of the courses on the menu, so we could not get what we wanted. My husband ordered a steak which was gone bad. When he informed the waiter he came back and was really embarrassed by it, remove it from our bill and told us that this dish was of the menu for the rest of the evening. So they handeled it well, but it was not a good experience.

"Perfect hotel"

User 01/05/2017

This hotel has a perfect location with sights on the fjord and close to the center. It has spacious and clean bedrooms with good beds, and offers a very nice breakfast. The only downside is the public (payed) parking.

"Business trip"

werner_vandorpe, Ronse, Belgium 20/04/2017

Nice place, lovely view from the room. Room clean and peaceful. Nice staff and helpful. 30 min away from the airport and at the waterside you have nice little restaurant with live band playing great music.

"One of the best locations in Gothenburg"

User 13/04/2017

It is à very good hotel, located at the Gøta kanal banks. Easy acsess to public transportation to the hard of the city. Familie hotel. Lots of rom in the restaurant to sit. And a very nice breakfast. The rom are big en clean. Good beds. It is very quit at night, so no problems getting to sleep.

"Great Location"

User 23/02/2017

This hotel was a surprise to me. It is located on the waterfront with a nice walking/jogging path along the river. Hotel is nice and will fit most people's needs. Breakfast was a traditional buffet style with the typical choices. Enjoy!

"Best location in Gothenburg"

User 11/02/2017

It's not central, but still located in the nicest place in the city "Klippan". You can reach the city center in about 20 min with the tram. The rooms are newly renovated and nice. The breakfast is fab!

"Cosy and very nice stay"

Tasleem S, New Delhi, India 14/01/2017

this hotel is very good the services are excellent. every one is very nice at restaurant and very calm and nice. ilove to stay here again and again my friend and i love to visit this place again good price for the services they are providing and worth spending. nice view from the hotel room

"Nice and relaxing stay in Göteborg"

mark w, Oslo, Norway 29/12/2016

Just back from a sleepover in Göteborg. We, family of five, spent the night at Novotel. Had a relaxing stay and enjoyed the excellent service provided by the friendly staff. On request we got two adjacent rooms looking out over the canal. The hotell is easy to reach as long as you get the right exit from the highway, which we obviously did not.. Located right at the waterfront in what used to be the D. Carnegie brewery with produces a really good stout by the way. Good parking possibilities for a small fee. The rooms are spacious, clean and nicely decorated. The hotell has a quite good restaurant, not cheap but worth your money. Breakfast is good and served in the restaurant with a great view of the canal.

"Good Value"

Robert T, Brisbane, Australia 31/10/2016

Hotel has a good location overlooking the river, but you need to catch the tram (300meters) to get to the city centre. You can purchase tram tickets at reception. Easy parking out front. A bonus was that the hotel had a laundry that guests good use. You had to book a time through reception, and get the key. Rooms were large and clean.

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.