Room 1
Room 2
Room 3
Promotion code

Best Western Plus Executive Residency Hotel Franklin, Franklin

835 Upper Union Street, 02038-2583, Franklin, United States - See on a map
Best Western Plus Executive Residency Franklin - Welcome to the Best Western Plus Executive Residency Franklin! The Best Western Plus Executive Residency Franklin is ideally located in the center of Franklin. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

Experience the comforts of home during your extended stay at our Best Western Plus Executive Residency Franklin hotel. Perfect for business travel, a weekend getaway, or a longer stay, our location is right off I-495, making it easy to reach the area's best shopping, dining, and attractions.

Executive Residency

Best Western Plus Hotel Franklin

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Hotel advantages

  • Catering Services
    Catering Services
  • Complimentary full american breakfast
    Complimentary full american breakfast
  • Air conditioning
    Air conditioning
  • Free parking
    Free parking
  • Outdoor parking
    Outdoor parking
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
  • Safe deposit box
    Safe deposit box
  • Multilingual staff
    Multilingual staff
  • Onsite laundry
    Onsite laundry
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
GreenLeader Partner
 
based on 1190 guest reviews
NOTE ISSUED
Excellent
471
Very Good
375
Average
181
Poor
90
Terrible
73
REFER TO NOTICE
Business Business
230
Couples Couples
217
Family Family
526
Friends getaway Friends getaway
113
Solo travel Solo travel
63
SUMMARY NOTES
Cleanliness
Location
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Value

"Worst stay ever"

1
User 06/05/2022

Where to begin. I arrived to find garbage from the previous person still in the room. Also old discarded contacts on the floor. So clearly the room was not cleaned prior to my arrival. Coffee maker had missing parts. Cold showers was a nice addition to the stay as well. Breakfast was subpar and mostly inedible, ie pancakes you can't cut with a knife Zero attention paid to quality. Avoid!

"Great hotel for business travelers"

5
dfreeman4, New York City, New York 14/04/2022

Excellent room set up for business use (desk for computers, etc.). Clean room, well maintained, good value. Friendly staff, easy to get to, comfortable bed, microwave and a sink if you need it. Very nice TV.

"BW good not great"

3
Old Man with Go... C, Paris, France 08/04/2022

Breakfast needs improvement. Only have microwave omletes and a potato sausage mixture. Internet connection was a little difficult. Had to ask front desk on how to get to the login page. All else good. Room was nice and big and bed was comfortable.

"Improvements are needed"

2
User 27/03/2022

staff are excellant! overall appearance and cleanliness good. other- not up to Best Western standards or my past experiences. low quality bed linens. small tvs; maintenance issues with heater working in first room and when room changed hot water not working; bathroom fan very noisy; no room service; was told at checkout that you need to request it. they should have shared this and that pool and exercise room closed. breakfast nice assortment and very clean.

"Great Hotel"

5
User 24/02/2022

Hotel was great. Check-in was fast and painless. The hotel was in great condition and appeared to be recently renovated. I was highly impressed with my room and the room was very clean. I highly recommend this hotel.

"Affordable and Convenient"

5
User 24/01/2022

I stayed here for a wedding in October and it was great! The staff was friendly and helpful! I arrived on a Friday and stayed the whole weekend. They seemed really busy and although the hot breakfast was closed due to covid, they were accommodating with pre-packaged food.

"Wonderful property & staff"

5
Travelsapassion, Lake Havasu City, Arizona 01/01/2022

Reserved this property for our son & his family from South Carolina over the Christmas holiday - the hotel staff was extremely helpful & thoughtful - and everyone they/we met went above & beyond to be helpful and make their stay a pleasure. A+ overall experience and will be back

"Best Western"

4
gfarring2n, Nantucket, Massachusetts 11/12/2021

As expected for Best Western where I've stayed many times across the USA. Reasonable price. Clean. Service was above average for sure. Well lit on exterior. Ample parking. Near highway for convenience.

"Great time"

5
User 10/12/2021

This was an incredible place to stay. The people here are so nice and accomodating. And very respectful of privacy. The ammenities are very good and the breakfast is very good. The room was much more than I expected and so comfortable.

"Not what it used to be"

3
GRNMTNBOY777, Milton, Florida 27/10/2021

Made reservation well in advance and got to hotel and was changed to a different room for more money because of lack of inventory. Seems like several people living here and hallways where dirty. Property is close to local attractions which was nice. Hotel used to be a different chain and seemed to be much nicer then.

Kevin C, Owner at Best Western Plus Executive Residency Franklin, responded to this review
I'm sorry to hear about the issue with your room type. This is not common at our hotel. We will certainly address with our front desk team.

"Poor attitude"

1
tbritton1235, Manalapan, New Jersey 12/10/2021

Male at the front desk was rude to all of the guests. Looks like he hates his job and is overworked. Room and bed smelled like cigarettes and they have full time residents living there for months. Would never go back.

Shawn Costa, General Manager at Best Western Plus Executive Residency Franklin, responded to this review
I'm sorry to hear your stay was unsatisfactory. We hope you give use another opportunity in the future.

"Getting better every day"

5
Thunderbolt213, Plainville, Massachusetts 04/10/2021

I've stayed here for 3 months I must admit Shawn, the manager, has done an exceptional job. He is turning the corner and making this one of the best in the area. He has hired the right people. Sorry to leave because the other place is outstanding

Kevin C, Owner at Best Western Plus Executive Residency Franklin, responded to this review
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again!

"Nightmare hotel"

1
mersegum, Pepperell, Massachusetts 26/09/2021

This was a wedding trip. I was the best man and this place treated me like garbage for no reason. The staff were all incredibly unfriendly AND unhelpful. This was unacceptable. I will not be revisiting this place and you should save yourself the trouble by booking somewhere else.

Kevin C, Owner at Best Western Plus Executive Residency Franklin, responded to this review
I'm sorry to hear about your experience. We will certainly follow up with the staff.

"A dump"

1
Traveler22197800, Bridgeport, Connecticut 06/09/2021

Worst hotel I have stayed in. Stained rugs. Paint peeling off door. Mold in bathroom. Room telephone disconnected. Failed to put out breakfast. Rude staff. Cleaning service banging and vacuuming at 11pm. This was and expensive nightmare.

Shawn Costa, General Manager at Best Western Plus Executive Residency Franklin, responded to this review
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

"Poor quality rooms"

1
User 31/08/2021

The bed springs were hard, the tv reception was poor, the channel lineup did not line up with actual channel, the tv did not work the next morning altogether, the room was hot and too over the course of the night to even get it to livable conditions. I asked to change rooms and was put in another warm room where the thermostat did not work. I went back to front desk and the manager argued with me that it was working. I asked to check out and confirmed that I would not be charged the additional days. Not only was I charged the additional days but it was more than my confirmation stated it would be.

Shawn Costa, General Manager at Best Western Plus Executive Residency Franklin, responded to this review
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I will verify your reservation and check the charges you mentioned and have that resolved. Sincerely, Shawn Costa General Manager Best Western Plus Executive Residency Franklin

"Horrible"

1
User 28/08/2021

One of the worst stats of my life. We are staying in our camper mist if the summer, and we're displaced by the threat of Hurricane Henri. Just to be safe, I decided to splurge on a nice suite to weather the storm in. This hotel was FILTHY. The decor was nice, the online pictures looked nice, but it was awful. Our room reeked of Weed. Our garbage disposal and kitchen sink smelled even worse. I asked maintenance to come ‘fix' the sink smell, but they never came. I ended up going to Walmart to buy Clorox wipes, Febreze, and garbage disposal tablets. Maintenance was fixing a plumbing problem just outside our room which gave us lovely brown water in our toilet for the next several hours and we were asked not to use the water for a while. Then during the night, the room above us moved furniture from 1:00-3:00am, it was so loud that our entire family woke up for the duration. Absolutely Horrible stay and I was charged $460 for 2 nights if this!!!! The hotel is definitely UNDERSTAFFED, so they are cutting every corner possible. The rooms are basically getting a quick sheet change in between guests. NEVER AGAIN!!!

Shawn Costa, General Manager at Best Western Plus Executive Residency Franklin, responded to this review
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I will look into why maintenance never responded to your request as well verify your reservation and check the charges you mentioned and have that resolved. Sincerely, Shawn Costa General Manager Best Western Plus Executive Residency Franklin

"Please stay elsewhere"

1
Parrothead25, Bass Harbor, Maine 17/08/2021

Staying at the best western plus executive residency this weekend was a terrible experience. I would be embarrassed to have my name on it. The hotel was full of disgusting garbage and smells terrible. People that are stating there as supplemental homes hang out dressed in dirty pajamas smoking cigarettes all over the property. The stair case hallways are filled with garbage. In one case a discarded baby playpen covered in human waste. The shower didn't drain so you had to stand in water backing up through the pipes. Very unsanitary. The room was barely passable for clean. I have stayed at this hotel for years on this same weekend. It is disturbing. It really stressed me and turned my stomach. We had a full itinerary or I would have found different arrangements. We actually tried but everything in the area was booked with a preseason football game and big concert in town. I realize that covid has changed things but we paid 600+ for accommodations that were supposed to include breakfast. I went to get mine.. I had the choice of 3 pieces of bread for toast, an English muffin or lucky charms... the website did say breakfast was grab and go.. im guessing the full time residents got to it first. My weekend was ruined.

Kevin C, Owner at Best Western Plus Executive Residency Franklin, responded to this review
I'm sorry to hear about your experience. This is not common for our hotel. We will certainly follow up with housekeeping and maintenance departments.

"Don't stay here"

1
User 02/08/2021

Room needed cleaning when we checked in, didn't have hot water the first day, room key kept disabling, pool wasn't opened. They said it was due to covid then said they hadn't renewed their pool license and we're waiting on that.

Kevin C, Owner at Best Western Plus Executive Residency Franklin, responded to this review
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

"BEWARE!"

1
658cl2021, Providence, Rhode Island 02/08/2021

If you are thinking of staying here I would recommend you save yourself a lot of money and aggravation and just spend the night car. Stayed in a group with 10) rooms booked for a wedding and the issues began right at check in. The bride and groom room was not ready until 7pm the night of check in and could not be put in a different room because "they were all booked" another guest did not have hot water in their room, pool and Jacuzzi were closed sighting COVID reasons, but I have been to other hotels and once the mask mandate was lifted, they were open. Even if we let that slide, it just gets worse. I had a room with a pullout couch so we could sleep a total of 3 people in the room and it was broken. Would not open, then when we finally muscled it open couldn't get it back closed again. The closet door fell off when I opened it and the shower was moldy and gross. A third guest had issues with their room key having to get programmed EVERY single time they entered their room. Around 1am when they were trying to go to bed, their key did not work AGAIN for I believe the 4th time of the day and even reprogramming did not work and they would have to wait till the morning when the manager came in to get back into their room. This guest was told there was no "master" or "housekeeping" key to be able to get them in. After some shuffling around to find space for our locked out guests decided it was time for bed, only to find out we were now locked out of our room at 2am. Tried to program the key 3) times and it still wouldn't open so we had to wait out in the hall way for approximately an hour while maintenance was called to get back into our room. Outdoor trash cans over flowing, broken bathrooms, etc. all around disgusted with this hotel.

Kevin C, Owner at Best Western Plus Executive Residency Franklin, responded to this review
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

"Happy visitor"

5
jfl0wers, Franklin, Massachusetts 23/07/2021

The staff is very friendly and attentive. The area feels safe to walk with kids. The gym has great space to get the energy out. The breakfast is setup is convenient. There is a basketball court near the veranda.

Kevin C, Owner at Best Western Plus Executive Residency Franklin, responded to this review
Thank you for your review.

"Best hotel and exceptional staff!!!!"

5
dinaosman87, Franklin, Massachusetts 22/07/2021

The staff here are the absolute best. They are very understanding, caring and respectful to any and every situation!!! I would absolutely recommend this hotel to any and everyone!!! I want to thank them for making my stay as comfortable as possible!!!!

Kevin C, Owner at Best Western Plus Executive Residency Franklin, responded to this review
Thank you for your review.

"disgusting room"

1
User 10/06/2021

Worst hotel I have ever stayed in. There was stuff that looked like blood on the walls, pubic hairs on the floor in the bathroom, stepped on an earring on floor in room, dirty bed, dirty table, dirty common areas, halls and elevator, smelled like smoke. Still fighting for refund, paid full 4 nights in advance and didn't stay one night because it was so disgusting. Stayed at Hampton Inn instead.

"Nice stay"

4
User 24/05/2021

Stayed here one night and the room was quite comfortable. The staff was all very nice and accommodating. Would definitely stay again. Upon request was quickly provided with extra pillows and blankets and had a good nights sleep.

"Amazing staff!!!"

5
dinaosman09, Franklin, Massachusetts 13/05/2021

Great hotel. Staff are above amazing and very understanding. They are great at making it work in a tough time!!! I would absolutely recommend this hotel!!!! Hopefully the pool and breakfast bar open up soon but other than that this a nice place!!!

"Smells Marijuana!!!"

1
W9933GAmariaR, Columbia, South Carolina 04/03/2021

I'm feeling sick! I can't get enough sleep! Dirty!!!! Dirty!!! It smells marijuana all over. I just don't understand the management doesn't do anything. Very Rude woman at the front desk “ Olivia”!!! Nothing nice to say about this hotel! It's a drug or crack hotel!

"DRUGS and HOOKERS"

1
rmutschler2021, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 17/02/2021

There was a drug bust and I wasn't there 1 night. The room next to me must have been a hooker taking people in all night. Outside my window I saw and heard a pimp slap his girl around and drugs being sold. I stayed 1 night and got the Hell out of there.

"Disappointing even given the low price"

3
HamCol1812, Hanover, New Hampshire 02/08/2020

Double queen room is very small for an "executive residency" style hotel. Shower squirts out water in a tepid stream. Really disappointing to not even have good water pressure. Recently renovated, so furniture etc. is nice, but very poor attention to detail in the reno. Loose grout in the bathroom and walls are banged up. Mattress is extremely soft, and I'm not usually picky about beds. Also, closet is like 1/3 height, so cloths (pants, coats) drag on ground. The really problem, though, is the lack of noise isolation. Can hear every word on Cartoon Network from the kids listening in the next room, and all night could hear doors slamming and people talking all night on the floor above.

"Sad to see the rebranding/remodeling"

3
575janicec, Franklin 26/12/2019

This hotel has been a family favorite for years. The room we stayed in had a shower with a drafty glass door, no shelf for soap/shampoo, and no tub for children. Since families often swim in hotel pools I am not sure why one would remove tubs in a remodel. The pool/hot tub floor had a lot of cement chips and chunks at the bottom that made me wonder how often it had been cared for. Although the hotel had new furniture, a fresh coat of paint, and a new name overall it was not as pleasant a stay as in past years and I am not sure if we would choose it again. The breakfast continues to be above average but as I reflect on spacious, comfortable rooms from our first few stays I am just not sure this hotel is making improvements in the right direction.

ThomasW5873, General Manager at Best Western Plus Executive Residency Franklin, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with y.our stay. We are striving to make our hotel better with our re-branding and full hotel renovation. I will have someone address your concern for our pool and spa. I am sorry that you did not like the new walk-in showers we have put in our guest rooms. We are finding that more of our guests would prefer this over the option of a tub. I hope you will choose to use our hotel again in the future.

"FRIENDLY"

5
User 13/12/2019

Hawthorn suites was located in a great place to go see the Patriots game. It is close to Boston as well to go and see the sites. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable . The hotel was very clean,. They have a good breakfast with lots of choices. They also have a hot tub and indoor pool that was very nice to use after a long day.

"very poor"

1
User 20/11/2019

I would not recomment this hotel to anyone. The accomodations were not what was reserved and then the accomodations could not be met as agreed upon during the reservation process. I had the original confirmation and still could not accomodate our party of 6.

"A must stay"

5
boots_10, Wells, Maine 06/11/2019

The staff here is always friendly, very efficient but most of all make everyone feel like family. Though they were undergoing a remodel..the floor I was on was fine and I couldn't hear any of the work being done on the floor below me. I was called to see if I found everything ok..thank you For this type of employee.

"Wonderful pet friendly hotel & breakfast !"

5
AnnetteS634, Spring Hill, Florida 06/11/2019

We stayed at the Hawthorn Suites for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was delicious and always clean and supplied. Cookies we always a yummy bonus! I was pleasantly surprised at the beautiful back area to take my dog and/or just sit out back. Very lovely. Staff was accommodating to all our needs and did so with a smile. The cleaning staff showed great enthusiasm and compliments to my niece ( Bride) when she had her wedding party there to get ready in the morning

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.