Room 1
Room 2
Room 3
Promotion code

Derby Midland Hotel, BW Signature Collection, Derby

Midland Road, DE1 2SQ, Derby, Great Britain - See on a map
Derby Midland Hotel, BW Signature Collection - Derby Midland Hotel, BW Signature Collection The Derby Midland Hotel, BW Signature Collection is ideally located in the center of Derby. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

In a prime spot opposite Derby's main railway station, Derby Midland Station, the Derby Midland Hotel, BW Signature Collection has been welcoming guests since the first train passengers arrived more than 170 years ago. We've played host to some pretty impressive guests over the years, from pioneering entrepreneurs to none other than Queen Victoria, who stayed at the hotel during her reign in 1849. Follow in the footsteps of royalty when you make yourself at home in one of our 102 guest rooms. Sporting rich earthy tones, our well-dressed rooms each come with a comfortable mattress, super fast Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV and working desk. This Grade II-listed Victorian hotel is just a 10-minute walk from Intu Derby shopping center, and very handy for train journeys to Nottingham and some of the charming towns of the Peak District National Park, such as Bakewell and Buxton. If you've brought your car, enjoy romantic walks in the grounds at Chatsworth House, family fun at Alton Towers or an afternoon at the races in Uttoxeter. When you return from a busy day of activities, get comfortable in our lounge and order your favorite tipple from the bar.

BW Signature Collection

Derby Midland Hotel

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Hotel advantages

  • Catering Services
    Catering Services
  • Lounges/bars
    Lounges/bars
  • Outdoor parking
    Outdoor parking
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
  • Safe deposit box
    Safe deposit box
  • Multilingual staff
    Multilingual staff
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
Certificate of Excellence 2019
based on 1676 guest reviews
NOTE ISSUED
Excellent
597
Very Good
563
Average
281
Poor
141
Terrible
94
REFER TO NOTICE
Business Business
337
Couples Couples
707
Family Family
204
Friends getaway Friends getaway
215
Solo travel Solo travel
95
SUMMARY NOTES
Cleanliness
Location
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Value

"Don't go."

1
590juliea, Wilmslow, United Kingdom 08/09/2020

Having stayed at the Midland many times when owned by Hallmark Hotels, I tried to book for last weekend. Not only is the hotel now owned by Best Western, I discovered that all rooms were occupied, not only for last weekend but for several months. By visiting the hotel (hopefully for dinner, having booked a room elsewhere) I discovered that the rooms have all been given to asylum seekers.

"Great"

4
Farce510, Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom 29/08/2020

Arrived here from Calais last week. Nice room, TV, Wifi. three meals a day. Now I am also being paid £40 a week. I've had my teeth fixed by the dentist and seen the doctor - all for free. England is a truly amazing place. To all my friends in Syria please join me as soon as you can.

"Unable to book"

1
andrewgrainger, Derbyshire, United Kingdom 25/08/2020

One of Derby's most historic hotels and a superb building which used to have a grand piano in the foyer. However according to local press it is currently home to 230 asylum seekers so not possible to book.

"Easy commute from kent"

1
mockneyg, London, United Kingdom 24/08/2020

You cannot book a room at present as its closed to the public. I wonder why? If you go and have a look, you'll see that it's full of people. There's staff there too walking around saying no comment, no comment! Lol

"The best location and friendly staff"

5
User 26/06/2020

This property is right next the train station, there are anfew parks in the area to spend time with kids and 5 minutes walk to the city centre, i really liked the staff cuz they were super polite; we wanted to visit the area and they guided us a lot ! And i can tell this is a clean hotel; hope to comeback soon

"Amazing place to stay"

5
User 26/06/2020

Great hotel to stay Perfect location Near to the malls,Train station, bus station Clean rooms Lovely staff and all amenities are excellent and the best prices I will definitely stay in this hotel again.

"James"

5
User 26/06/2020

I recently stayed at this hotel where I had a very pleasent stay whilst I was working in the local area as a key worker. The hotel staff were nothing but exceptional during these unprecedented times and made sure I was comfortable during my stay. My stay was complimented by a clean and tidy room which matched the rest of of the hotel and made my visit here very enjoyable. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

"Simon"

5
User 26/06/2020

I stayed here recently and thoroughly enjoyed my time here. As a key worker i needed a clean, comfortable room to rest between shifts which is exactly what this hotel was able to offer along with very friendly staff who were very helpful, even during unsociable hours. Overall i found the hotel enviroment rather pleasent especially in the private walled garden area where i tended to relax during my time off. If you need a relaxing enviroment coupled with friendly staff and guests i would strongly recommend this hotel.

"Wedding Fair"

1
User 17/06/2020

We visited this venue last year for a wedding fair, we were told it was free parking when we entered but now we have a £175 parking fine as we didn't enter our registration into the system which we were not advised on the day to do so ,you would think if you signed in at one desk it would cover this but apparently not

derbymidland, General Manager at Derby Midland,BW Signature collection by Best Western, responded to this review
I am sorry to read that you have had to bear the cost of a parking fine. Unfortunately this is beyond the control of the hotel staff. The wedding fayres are booked by third party organisers so I am really unsure who you may have spoken to on the day. The hotel staff would certainly have asked you to pay at the car park terminal or input your registration at the hotel reception terminal. The advice would always be to pay the fine without delay and challenge later. Refusing to pay increases the fine dramatically because the debt goes to a recovery service and eventually court proceedings follow and generally if it goes this far you are in a no win situation. I am sure the readers of your review will understand your frustration of receiving a car parking fine, we have all been there, but to score the hotel with one bubble is grossly unfair when it is your actions that have caused your misfortune in the first instance.

"Birthday weekend away"

3
coxy197626, Grantham, United Kingdom 15/03/2020

This could be a great hotel we arrived by train and straight outside the station is the hotel. In good location about 15 mins walk into Derby city centre.It's a lovely old building but it is undergoing alot repair work,stairs upto the upstairs rooms large repair work on going,bare brick and plaster work .We had to move from our first room as it was dusty and had large stains over the curtains and the 2nd our window didn't open and there was large water marks on carpet from a once leaking radiator! In general just needs a update black tape on carpets, wallpaper coming off,cracks in ceilings and walls and badly marked doors etc all easily fixed but quite disappointing to find! We had a good stay in all though breakfast was ok plenty to choose from and evening meal was good but on the inclusive meal deal not a massive menu to choose from. In general hotel is ok but not what we expected to find quite dated rooms and furniture and hotel needs major revamping to make it more modern.

HallmarkOPS, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland, responded to this review
Thank you very much for your positive review we very much appreciate you taking the time to leave comments about our hotel and facilities. We do hope we will have the pleasure of your company again soon.

"Disappointed again "

2
hellokittysleeps, England 13/03/2020

This was my 2nd stay at this hotel and whilst there were a few things that I was ok with, overall the whole thing is just disappointing. My room had clean sheets, bathroom and towels, which is the very least you would expect and I thought the breakfast was ok, but honestly for the price you would getter much higher standards at somewhere like the premier inn. It was let down with attention to detail in areas like the windows being dirty, under the desk looked like it's never cleaned. I feel a bit sorry for the staff, this building clearly needs a lot of investment. Think bathrooms from the 80s. If you have any choice over where to book my advice would be to book elsewhere.

HallmarkOPS, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland, responded to this review
Thank you for your comments. Sorry we have not met your expectations. The competitor you mention is a different product offering a different experience and is not a full service hotel and price paid in our industry is generally driven by supply and demand. We like our quirky bathrooms which have stood the test of time and whilst it may not be apparent, there is a programme of investment happening in the background all year long. Please do not feel sorry for us. Many of the team here have spent over 30 years looking after guests at the hotel and are proud to provide hospitality and whilst they may not be working in a clinical modern environment, it is a reason why many of our guests choose to stay with us and can overlook some of our period pieces in our bedrooms and public spaces Disappointed to read about cleanliness issues which I will address with our cleaning staff. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

"Oh dear!"

2
discodarling, Glasgow, United Kingdom 11/03/2020

I was part of a large party at the hotel last weekend. My room was OK but there were dirty marks in my bedding. The heat in the whole hotel was ridiculously too warm. I found the fan under the desk in my room but when I turned it on was sprayed with a mouthful if dust. When I arrived at 7ish on the Friday, there was an alarm going off right outside my room. I know that lots of our party enquired about this alarm only for reception staff to be very rude. The alarm only stopped after lunch at approximately 4pm on the Saturday. Talking of lunch, it was a chaotic mess. I've worked in the hospitality industry for a long time and this lunch service was painful to watch. The man in charge didn't seem to know what was going on at all. One of my table waited approximately 30 mins after everyone else foe her main course. When she asked about it, the man in charge was really rude to her. The food itself wasn't great, even for a banqueting event it was very poor. The avocado in the salad starter was so sparse, the beetroot tart tatin was basically a bought in vol au vent with an undercooked half beetroot shoved on top. My Choc torte dessert didn't get finished either. Our buffet at night also left a lot to be desired. Apart from the fact that it was left in the room the entire evening (Environmental health would have had lots to say) the standard was yet again poor. I'm sure if you check your training records, it goes against many many laws to leave fish goujons in ambient room temperature for 4 plus hours. I know for a fact that many of the party with dietary requirements were ill after the event and from what I witnessed, I'm not surprised. There was no customer service given to our party, who for the second year took over most of the hotel and its sister hotel across the way. There was a huge mix up with rooms, resulting in people having to sleep on z beds in other rooms. It was a huge mess, that would have been a bit easier to swallow had the staff given any kind of f*** at all!

HallmarkOPS, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland, responded to this review
I am sorry to read about your bad experience. We're normally known for our exceptional attention to detail and great hospitable service and we regret that we missed the mark for you. I apologise that we did not exceed the standard you received during a previous stay. I understand that this was especially upsetting for some of your colleagues who had been declined entry to the hotel due to not being registered with the organiser to attend. Having had a credit card declined twice for a booking of four rooms for the card holder it was clearly embarrassing. For all of you who have decided to criticise the hotel staff for their efforts in trying to resolve this debacle it was really good to see all of you rally round and help these unfortunate extra guests with accommodation. Your comments have been discussed at length with the responsible team managers to ensure the hotel maintains its high standards. I wish you a better experience at your next prom.

"Overpriced and over starred"

1
User 11/03/2020

Attended an event here for the second year running. The staff were rude, had a serious attitude problem, and acted like we were an inconvenience rather than a very large party of paying guests. The rooms were far from 4*. There were holes in the skirting boards where they weren't properly fitted, splatters of paint on the walls that shows lack of care for decorating. One of our party was sick, we ended up mopping it up ourselves after getting the equipment from staff. After other guests (not from our party) saw what we were doing, a blonde haired member of staff asked if we needed help! Absolutely outrageous! We tidied up the side roomy we were using, it took over 2 hours for the trolley of dirty plates and cutlery to be taken away! The hotel seemed in way over their head, unable to properly cater to our party size, we seemed to be a major inconvenience (despite we pretty much booked out both the hotel, and the 3* sister hotel over the road). I think in future we will be taking our business elsewhere.

HallmarkOPS, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland, responded to this review
I am sorry to read about your bad experience. We're normally known for our exceptional attention to detail and great hospitable service and we regret that we missed the mark for you. I apologise that we did not exceed the standard you received during a previous stay. I understand that this was especially upsetting for some of your colleagues who had been declined entry to the hotel due to not being registered with the organiser to attend. Having had a credit card declined twice for a booking of four rooms for the card holder it was clearly embarrassing. For all of you who have decided to criticise the hotel staff for their efforts in trying to resolve this debacle it was really good to see all of you rally round and help these unfortunate extra guests with accommodation. Your comments have been discussed at length with the responsible team managers to ensure the hotel maintains its high standards. I wish you a better experience at your next prom.

"Definitely not worth a 4* - few gems of staff"

1
lahlk, Exmouth, United Kingdom 10/03/2020

Attended for an event for the second year running. We were lucky our room was relatively ok except the beds which were awful- one far too hard one far too soft ( nothing to do with preference these were appallingly hard and soft) we literally had to take painkillers in the middle of the night. Our shower plug hole was dirty and mouldy but the horrors friends had ( rooms they booked not actually existing, dirty water, bags of dog food in the room, dirty sheets) meant we felt we had got off lightly. We went back to pick something up from reception 36 hours after everyone involved in the event- public areas including toilets clearly hadn't been cleaned there were bits of food rubbish and sequins all over the floor. Sheryl in the bar was fantastic friendly and helpful. Reception staff generally were not friendly didn't make you feel welcome ( I had booked directly and not through the event) and unhelpful when asking for basics such as toilet roll. I generally stay in 4 or 5 star hotels regularly for work and leisure, this sadly doesn't fit the criteria either amenity, service or cleanliness wise, in fact the 3* hotels I've previously stayed in have been way better and this is NOTHING to do with the age and quirkiness of the building as per managements previous replies to negative comments I've stayed in plenty of old buildings that are hotels before and none have been like this- very disappointing.

HallmarkOPS, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Derby Midland, responded to this review
I am sorry to read about your bad experience. We're normally known for our exceptional attention to detail and great hospitable service and we regret that we missed the mark for you. I apologise that we did not exceed the standard you received during a previous stay. I understand that this was especially upsetting for some of your colleagues who had been declined entry to the hotel due to not being registered with the organiser to attend. Having had a credit card declined twice for a booking of four rooms for the card holder it was clearly embarrassing. For all of you who have decided to criticise the hotel staff for their efforts in trying to resolve this debacle it was really good to see all of you rally round and help these unfortunate extra guests with accommodation. Your comments have been discussed at length with the responsible team managers to ensure the hotel maintains its high standards. I wish you a better experience at your next prom.

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.