ROOM 1
ROOM 2
ROOM 3
Promotion code

SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Coquitlam, Coquitlam

725 Brunette Avenue, V3K 1C3, Coquitlam, Canada - See on a map
SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Coquitlam - Welcome to the SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Coquitlam! The SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Coquitlam is ideally located in the center of Coquitlam. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

Welcome to the SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Coquitlam. Our family would like to welcome you and your family to enjoy your time in the Greater Vancouver region. We are within 25 minutes to downtown Vancouver, where you can visit Stanley Park, Granville Island, Capilano Suspension Bridge and other Vancouver attractions. We are a family oriented hotel minutes away from many tourist attractions, hospitals, arenas, pools, parks, and the Skytrain. We hope you enjoy your stay in one of our freshly renovated rooms.

SureStay Plus

Hotel by Best Western Coquitlam

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Hotel advantages

  • Complimentary full american breakfast
    Complimentary full american breakfast
  • Outdoor pool
    Outdoor pool
  • Free parking
    Free parking
  • Outdoor parking
    Outdoor parking
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
  • Steam bath
    Steam bath
  • Multilingual staff
    Multilingual staff
  • Onsite laundry
    Onsite laundry
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
based on 487 guest reviews
NOTE ISSUED
Excellent
146
Very Good
151
Average
93
Poor
34
Terrible
63
REFER TO NOTICE
Business Business
86
Couples Couples
103
Family Family
195
Friends getaway Friends getaway
43
Solo travel Solo travel
32
SUMMARY NOTES
Cleanliness
Location
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Value

"Good stay at a reasonable price."

4
Cakemaster2017, Seattle, Washington 14/11/2019

My family (and pets) enjoyed staying at this hotel. It was clean, everyone was kind and helpful. We stayed in a pet friendly room and it was pretty clean because I had no allergies at all. On the down side it looks a bit dated.

Nasir Z, General Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel By Best Western Coquitlam, responded to this review
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 604-525-7777. Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

"Awful night's sleep, and the toilets don't work"

1
User 13/11/2019

The bedding did not fit the bed ( the fitted sheet was too small for the mattress) making for a very uncomfortable sleep. The toilet was not operational, repeated plugging and it took more than 8 hours for it to be addressed.

Nasir Z, General Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel By Best Western Coquitlam, responded to this review
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

"First stay"

4
tsgtret, washington 12/11/2019

First time at sure stay. Reservation staff was professional and cheerful. Elevator was filthy and smelly. Room was adequate and bed was super comfortable! Bathroom was clean and shower was great with plenty of hot water! Unfortunately hairdryer did not work and had seen better days. Room was dusty and floor had not been cleaned in a long time having stains and huge dust bunnies on it! . Overall the room was adequate and served its purpose. When we described the faults to clerk at checkout he seemed disinterested, but made notes on a small piece of paper which he put in his pocket.... we would stay again due to location. Breakfast was very good and had a great variety to choose from.

Nasir Z, General Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel By Best Western Coquitlam, responded to this review
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 604-525-7777. Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

"The Slam Family"

1
Julie H, Duncan, British Columbia, Canada 24/10/2019

I have never heard so many slamming doors in my life. A group of people were talking loudly in the hall and slamming doors every couple of minutes. The manager and his wife finally came up at midnight and had to stand in the hall to make sure they were quiet.

Nasir Z, General Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel By Best Western Coquitlam, responded to this review
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

"Don't stay here!"

1
User 19/10/2019

Carpets haven't seen a vacuum since 2016, at least, hardwood floors not even swept, sheets looked like feces stains on them (NOT KIDDING), puddle of something on floor cannot even tell you, thought we were going to get stuck in the elevator. Housekeeping staff needs to be taught how to clean a room that's for sure! Location was absolutely all this had going for it.

Guide828699, General Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel By Best Western Coquitlam, responded to this review
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 604-525-7777.

"Charming and well appointed"

5
User 11/10/2019

Parking is incredibly convenient, which is important in this holiday town. The hotel is situated in front of the ocean, with beautiful views from the rooms. The room was beautifully appointed with a fireplace, deck off the room, coffee nook, and comfortable easy chairs. The only thing missing was a roll-in shower for one of our party in a wheelchair. I would have liked that too. We will be back.

Guide828699, General Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel By Best Western Coquitlam, responded to this review
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 604-525-7777. Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

"Excellent value"

4
Karen S, Calgary, Canada 04/10/2019

This hotel is excellent value for the price. The room was clean and quiet. Breakfast options were great - especially enjoyed the waffles. The hotel was close to all amenities with easy access to major roads. Will definitely stay there again when in the area.

Guide828699, General Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel By Best Western Coquitlam, responded to this review
Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 604-525-7777. Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

"Front desk employee tried to hit me"

1
User 30/09/2019

The worst experience I ever had in my life, the front desk guy yell at me and insulted me with very rude words, he tried to hit me unless his colleagues stopped him. I called hotel manager to escalate my complaint and tried to let him check his recorded video at CCTV camera but he didn't accept to do and ended the call. I started using lawyer to escalate my issue and will not stop until I get my legal rights. Simply, it was the worst experience I had in my life and not recommended at all.

Nasir Z, General Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel By Best Western Coquitlam, responded to this review
We have 4 witnesses that have a different version of what transpired, and are willing to go on record that you were the instigator and you threatened our employee. You are not welcome at our hotel.

"Filthy unpresentable and did I mention dirty"

1
Stampede1988, Calgary, Canada 15/09/2019

Friendly front desk reception and check in and that's where the food went bad... elevator was dirty with etched graffiti everywhere...room was simple with a 1950s stove? Upon looking around one could see the filth.... I only needed a bed so whatever and went out for the day.... being on a motorcycle trip I decided to do laundry of the few clothes I had at 9pm.... I had to search the hotel to find front desk attendant for change... was directed to the laundry room... it was a war zone down in the basement ... dead appliances...caretaker baskets filled with dirty laundry plugged the halls... coin laundry room was filled with filth and spiderwebs and falling ceiling tiles...hallway emergency signs scratched and bent ... vending machines empty... in the morning moved bed accidentally to find a pen and a used condom hiding beneath... I carried on with my life and left...when filling out online feedback email I received the manager Nasir Zubair I was told my subjective opinion was off base? Due to this my allegiance to best western has ended. To recap ... this place is right out of a seedy district in a movie!

"Disappointing!"

2
434bettyh, Alberta, Canada 05/09/2019

We have stayed at this hotel 3 times before and it was great. We were assigned a room that was already occupied, once we got a room, TV and microwave were not even plugged in, housekeeping was terrible - bed not make up, garbage not taken out, no clean towels. Parking garage was filled with old dirty mattresses, halls were grungy and very poor lighting. We won't be staying here again.

Nasir Z, General Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel By Best Western Coquitlam, responded to this review
Thank you for your feedback. I qould like to apologize on behalf of our entire team as this is dedinately not the norm at our hotel. Please call or email me directly if you would like to discuss this further. I can be reached at 604-525-7777.

"Pet Friendly"

5
hop4pen, Comox, Canada 19/08/2019

Very pet friendly, there for a family reunion, centrally located. Breakfast included, good variety of food. Staff friendly and efficient. Clean room, love the wood floor. Upgrades to hotel done well. Was a great stay!

"Was good."

4
jz9852019, Kelowna, Canada 18/08/2019

The room looked nice and the breakfast was really amazing. I did not sleep that great, but it was only for 1 night and I usually take a couple nights to adjust to a new bed. The staff was friendly and helpful.

"Not Safe and Not Clean!"

1
Pickymom8, Victoria, Canada 11/08/2019

We booked this place for our minor hockey team playing at a Christmas tournament - never again! All the reviews about the smell of smoke and not being a safe place are true! There was no hot water for the first day and a half! Apparently the boiler broke before we showed up but no one bothered to tell our team before we arrived - in this day and age even a quick call to our team manager is not impossible. We had families with children aged 11 and 12 playing games and unable to shower. Other guests - possibly regulars from the rail company, were smoking in their rooms and the hallways which stunk up the entire floor. Had to complain multiple times. One family found a rat trap under their bed. One child was approached by another hotel patron in an unsafe way - police had to be called. Management was pretty slack about the whole episode. Take a look at google maps before booking this place: It is right on the access ramp of two busy highways and the rail road tracks! Not a safe place for families. Only good thing was that the staff were very kind and polite. They allowed us the use of the breakfast room / lounge to have team dinners. Gave us our entire team a very small discount for going over 24 hours without hot water. Never, never again.

"Great staff"

4
brittbakk, Sorrento, Canada 10/08/2019

My sister forgot something of value in room when we left, manager was more than helpful with getting it back to us even after we thought someone had stolen it. Very accommodating!Thank you, made the worst part of our trip easy to navigate.

"Sure Stay is Just Okay"

3
138duchess64, Edmonton, Canada 06/08/2019

Recently spent four nights at this hotel. It is being renovated bit by bit so our room had new laminate flooring, the walls were half-painted and the bathroom wallpaper was lifting. A/C unit was old but worked. The hotel allows pets and a dog was barking much of the time across the hall from us -- very annoying. Also, the internet was not strong -- kept cutting out. The breakfast was mediocre -- some days there was yogurt, some days not, some days fruit, some days not. The location is okay if you are visiting someone in Coquitlam, as we were, and convenient to the highway system. Not a great location if you want to be close to downtown Vancouver.

"Internet unusable"

1
Devin1234567, Vancouver, Canada 02/08/2019

Tried to stay here for a week for work, the wifi in the room is so unusable that I had to move to the Ramada down the street mid-week. It is also located right on a busy highway with lots of loud traffic. Do not recommend.

Nasir Z, General Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel By Best Western Coquitlam, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your recent stay, and we are sorry to hear that it did not exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we hope you will give us another chance and stay with us again.

"Room Broken Into - Very Unsafe"

1
User 27/07/2019

I would highly recommend AVOIDING this hotel if at all possible. We stayed here and an unknown man (presumably homeless or otherwise mentally unwell) broke into our locked hotel room while my pregnant wife and infant son were inside alone. The police were called after the man left, and he returned later that same day, attempting to again gain access to the suite. My family could have been seriously injured or worse by this individual. The hotel was shockingly unconcerned by this issue, simply replying they don't know how he managed to enter the unit even though my family was inside the locked room at the time of the break in. They did absolutely nothing to try and make this situation ok. Unbelievable that a hotel whose only job is to give people and their possessions a safe place to stay could have this level of a security problem. If you stay here, exercise extreme caution as their rooms are not secure.

Nasir Z, General Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel By Best Western Coquitlam, responded to this review
This was a police matter and we cannot comment any fiurther. Sorry we will not be giving you any compensation. Have a nice day.

"Nice little hotel"

4
margie232019, Kamloops, Canada 22/07/2019

Although an older hotel which could use some updating, was very clean. Breakfast was good variety and the waffles were tye best! I reccomend cause of the staff. They go out of their way to help you out when you require it

Nasir Z, General Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel By Best Western Coquitlam, responded to this review
Thanks for the review Margie! We hope to see you again on your next visit to Vancouver.

"My visit"

2
User 21/07/2019

First room was very hot. The front desk guy was fantastic. He moved me quickly to another room but I lost my king bed. Breakfast was great. There's even a small clean pool. Hotel has a bit of an old smell that needs to be dealt with. The wifi was next to useless. Location was good. Close to restaurants. However google maps was continually confused as to the final instruction on where the hotel was.

Nasir Z, General Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel By Best Western Coquitlam, responded to this review
Sorry that the AC unit was not functioning properly. I have spoken on numerous occassions with Google to fix the address and entrance issues and they hope to resolve them shortly. They have advised us to ask customers to point this out on google as it helps expediate the process.

"Only stay here if you have to"

1
User 19/07/2019

There were 3 fridges an old stove and old pots and pans 3 plates no cutlery. for $200 a night this place was a joke. The free breakfast hot meal was disgusting. over salted eggs under cooked and raw home fries and the sausage was indescribably and disgustingly a inedible. There were wires hanging out of the wall, the sink dripped all night. The parking lot was full of construction garbage. I could go on but what is the point, nothing ever gets fixed.

BestWesternHotels, Corporate at SureStay Plus Hotel By Best Western Coquitlam, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your recent stay, and we are sorry to hear that it did not exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we hope you will give us another chance and stay with us again. -Best Western Hotels & Resorts

"Terrible room with bad odor"

1
Vamsee K, United States 14/07/2019

horrible mattress, bad odor in the hall way and rooms, i guess the less occupancy rations resulted in rooms being closed for longer periods without any ventilation. won't recommend this. the location is next to freeway and that is only the benefit

"convenient location and friendly staff"

4
SanghaBean, Revelstoke, Canada 09/07/2019

The hotel is dated but the staff are fantastic! Vancouver area is busy in the summer and Surestay was packed. The staff were efficient and friendly. It was easy to access major areas of Vancouver from this hotel.

"Suite was too small, and very smoky."

1
Arlene E, Logan, United States 05/07/2019

The good: The hotel is right off the BC 1 exit, so very convenient. They refunded our money without much complaint. This would probably be a good place to stay if you are a smoker. The bad: The Best Western reservation website said that the room was a kitchen/balcony suite that slept 8. We had trouble booking, and ended up calling to book. The clerk confirmed it was the same room as their website. When we got into the room, it was a small 2 queen room with no extra room. No way possible way to sleep 8 without putting people on the balcony and in the bathtub. Probably not their fault the information was wrong, but it was a disaster for us. The beds seemed hard, but we didn't end up sleeping on them. The worst: The room smelled like a chain smoker had lived in the room for a month, and had just stepped out to get another pack. The clerk came up and agreed, but said his manager was not immediately available, and that there was probably someone smoking in the room below. He did not offer to ask them to stop smoking, though it is a 100% non smoking hotel. We asked if he could find us a different room (or two). He checked the computer, and called his manager, but after a couple of hours his manager hadn't arrived, and he said there were only a couple of rooms available which were in the same area of the hotel and would probably smell the same. Though he was trying, it felt like a shrug of the shoulders and a "that's just how it is" attitude. We managed to find a different hotel an hour away, and got our money back. We probably won't risk a SureStay again.

Nasir Z, General Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel By Best Western Coquitlam, responded to this review
Dear madam, I apologize for the smoking smell in the room, unfortunately we cannot control if people are smoking in a room other than to ask them to stop as it is a non smoking facility. The clerk had asked all close by rooms to stop smoking and they all said they were not. As for your reservation, you were assigned the room you had booked. We have only one suite and that was not available. I am not sure whom you had spoken to at Best Western but the suite that sleeps 8 was already booked and the booking you had was the balcony room with 2 queen beds, which was assigned to you. Thanks for your feedback and have a great day!

"So-so"

3
Jasmine039, Victoria, BC 19/06/2019

On the up side: We chose this hotel for its location, as it was close to friends living in Coquitlam and very close to Highway 1 for a quick departure the next morning. Our room was clean and comfortable and the noise from busy Brunette Street didn't bother us. The complimentary breakfast was typical of hotels of this type — a decent variety of breakfast items including scrambled eggs and hash browns. (Unfortunately, typical throwaway plastic cutlery and plates.) Pleasant and helpful staff in the dining room. On the down side: a loose connection hanging out of the wall in our room looked tacky, given the price of the room. It should be covered up. The “hot” breakfast items were cold, even though we were there at the opening time. The staff at reception, both when we checked in and especially when we checked out, was not at all friendly or welcoming. We had a large and awkward item that needed to be brought in and no effort was made to help hold open the door. The two guys in the morning were glued to the computer for some reason and didn't look up or make eye contact, in spite of the fact that we'd said we wanted to check out. No smile or apology when they did look up, no friendly comments, no “have a nice trip” or “did you enjoy your stay?” Very disappointing after reading the positive reviews on Trip Advisor about friendly staff. We were treated more as an annoyance than as hotel guests. We won't be returning.

"great value"

5
roxanes524, calgary, Canada 10/06/2019

The General Manager of the hotel - Nas and all the front desk staff I encounter were friendly, helpful and welcoming. The breakfast in the morning was just right to start the day and the breakfast area was always clean.

"Excellent brecky but hard pillows"

4
CanadaBill1950, Surrey, Canada 03/06/2019

The room was decent and clean. Every thing seemed to work except the clock was blinking. Access to the hotel should have a sign near the road stating---If you miss the entrance, you are going for a ride ( about 5-10 minutes) back because . You miss--you're on the freeway to Vancouver. Breakfast was excellent, sausages, eggs, waffles, toast and buns coffee, juices, yogurt, bagels and fresh fruits and cereals. Shower and sink were good as was the bed but the pillows too hard. Staff was courteous and knowledgeable.

Nasir Z, General Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel By Best Western Coquitlam, responded to this review
Thanks so much for the review! Your feedback helps us so much to ensure better stays for future stays. We hope to see you again and if you ever need to contact us please feel free to call me directly at 604-525-7777.

"Family trip"

5
Merlin330, Vancouver, Canada 28/05/2019

The room was very clean, well set up for a family of 5. Staff very nice and the overall hotel very clean. I would definitely stay here again with my family. Perfect for short term stays or long term stays

Nasir Z, General Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel By Best Western Coquitlam, responded to this review
Thanks so much for the review and we hope to see you again on your next visit to the lower mainland!

"Excellent!"

5
User 27/05/2019

Lovely clean newly renovated room, super comfortable beds. The staff was very lovely and helpful. Very quiet surroundings and easy access to surrounding areas. Ample parking as well! We would absolutely stay here again.

"Lacrosse Tournament"

5
User 27/05/2019

Manager and staff were very accommodating, friendly and ensured everyone had fun. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Other areas of the hotel need some renovation (carpet on hallways needs replacement). Overall great experience.

"Good place to stay"

4
FSCBosses, Grand View, Idaho 26/05/2019

The hotel is right off the highway, although the entrance is beyond from a side road, don't u-turn like my GPS said. Check in was a quick, the lobby and halls clean and lighted. Our king room was good size for 2, but lacked an outlet and table on both bed sides. It was clean, with a high velocity shower!! Yes, there were some covered wires sticking from the wall, from maybe an old jack, but not dangerous, my husband didn't notice them until the next morning. Yes the walls are thin, so there's a good amount of highway noise, but our fridge vibrated in its wood shelf and that was our noise issue. The breakfast was good, with eggs and meats, cereal and breads, yogurt and fruit. All of the staff was friendly and check out fast.

Nasir Z, General Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel By Best Western Coquitlam, responded to this review
Thanks so much for the review! It really helps us to better prepare for future guests with the feedback you have given us. We hope too see you again and will try to ensure a smooth stay. Please do not hesitate to call me if you would like to discuss any aspects of your stay at 604-525-7777.

"Worst ever Hotel"

1
Operas, Kaslo, Canada 22/05/2019

This Hotel has to be the dirtiest and most disgusting hotel I've ever walked into. The room was at first glance okay, but soon I noticed the underlying filth that was everywhere. They had one of those out dated kitchenette fridge sink things which has never seen a wash cloth ever. The inside was stained and and rusty. Their were ants everywhere and ant trap close by. The walls had stains and there was no way I was staying there. I promptly left the room and checked out. I give this hotel a 1 out of 10. The 1 is merely that it was located in a convenient location and that's it. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone. Best Western should not have their name on this Hotel. I always stay at best western and love it. This on the other hand was a big disappointment.

Nasir Z, General Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel By Best Western Coquitlam, responded to this review
Thanks for the review. If you would like to discuss this or anything else please do not hesitate to call me directly. This sounds out if the ordinary for the hotel and please accept my apologies for any problems. I can be reached at 604-525-7777. Thanks

"extended stay at SureStay Plus"

4
DayTrip51463017369, Winnipeg, Canada 19/05/2019

room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. front desk staff was friendly and helpful. breakfast staff was friendly and pleasant. hotel and grounds were clean and safe. location was close to restaurants and shopping. no surprises. will stay again soon.

"Comfortable Stay"

4
User 13/05/2019

The Hotel has a very comfortable feeling. Staff are willing to help. You don't feel that you can't ask for help if you need it. Of course treating staff with respect means that they do the same to you.

Nasir Z, General Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel By Best Western Coquitlam, responded to this review
Thanks for your review! Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

"Sure Stay"

4
Quest41977114719, Port Alberni, Canada 09/05/2019

The Sure Stay is a Best Western … It was very easy to get too from the freeway... There are good resturant's around and very friendly people .. The staff was easy to talk to ..The room was quiet and clean .

"Stank of stale cigarettes and exposed wires"

1
Connector15458836959, Armstrong, Canada 06/05/2019

The hotel should charge by the hour, that's the level of quality. The room stank of stale cigarettes, had exposed wires in lights, mold on balcony door. A total dump. I will never stay at a Surestay again if this is the level of quality I can expect

BestWesternHotels, Corporate at SureStay Plus Hotel By Best Western Coquitlam, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your recent stay, and we are sorry to hear that it did not exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we hope you will give us another chance and stay with us again. -Best Western Hotels & Resorts

"Avoid this Hotel"

1
Connector56413533033, Edmonton, Canada 05/05/2019

Bare wires sticking out of the wall, internet that went off and on, no sound proofing between floors, wake up calls when you never booked them and staff who don't care. They couldn't even print me a final invoice because the front desk computer didn't work. The front desk staff took a phone call in the middle of serving me, because the phone was more important.

"Surestay!"

5
Tour45401274200, Vancouver Island, Canada 05/05/2019

The hotel is dated however the housekeeping staff does a wonderful job of keeping it clean. Could use some TLC to get the hotel a higher rating but that is an issue for ownership. The location is very good as the skytrain station is within walking distance. The staff really cares and they all seem to have a smile on their face. I stayed here many times and is my location of choice when coming to Vancouver.

"If we didn't need a hotel that accepted pets we would NEVER have stayed here"

1
Camper68524496514, Fanny Bay, Canada 19/04/2019

We had a five hour drive with a small dog that was scheduled for eye surgery. This hotel was recommended by the clinic. Proximity to the clinic was important but in hindsight, we should have looked for a animal friendly hotel that was cleaner. Our room smelt like stale smoke, the room was not clean, I had the misfortune of having to look under the bed for a fallen item OMG. The hallway looked like it hadn't been vacuumed for days. The room lacked a smoke detector and the heating unit couldn't have been louder! The breakfast was the only thing that was up to Best Western Quality. I would not recommend this hotel.

Nasir Z, General Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel By Best Western Coquitlam, responded to this review
We apologize that your stay was not up to our standards. You can reach me directly at the hotel if you would further like to discuss this stay. I would like to make it better.

"Very friendly staff!"

5
User 14/04/2019

We stayed for 2 nights recently and had a great stay! Naz the General Manager and the night manager Illian(sp) were extremely hospitable and welcoming. The room was well appointed and the king size bed was comfortable. We didnt have the need for housekeeping, as I was working from the room while my wife was at her work, but still the two staff insisted on comiung in and taking the trash and replentishing the towels, both with big smiles on there faces! Continental breakfast was more than adequate, only paper plates and plastic utensils are not my favorite. It is all reflected in the price you are paying. If my wife ever has to go back to the area again for work, we will definately stay here again

Nasir Z, General Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel By Best Western Coquitlam, responded to this review
Thanks so much for the kind words and we will see you soon!

"Stay somewhere else"

1
User 21/03/2019

Housekeeping and desk staff were very polite. They do need to retrain their GM in customer service communication and interaction. Rude arrogant man. HINT to hotel...Finish reno's and Do not rent rooms when the power to that room is shut off and wires hanging from walls covered with black mold.

BestWesternHotels, Corporate at SureStay Plus Hotel By Best Western Coquitlam, responded to this review
We are sorry to hear that your recent stay with us did not exceed your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to make improvements to offer guests a better experience in the future. We hope you will give us another chance and stay with us again. -Best Western Hotels & Resorts

"Good location."

5
Arnold S, White Rock, Canada 17/03/2019

Free parking . Front desk staff are helpful and accommodating. Quire reasonably priced rooms. Clean and welcoming rooms. Free breakfast. Very easy check out. And close to the highway for easy connections.

Nasir Z, General Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel By Best Western Coquitlam, responded to this review
Thank you for the kind words and taking the time to review! We hope to see you again.

"Port Moody Business"

4
Stay56865038790, Victoria, Canada 14/03/2019

I recommend this hotel, which is in relatively close (15-20 min) proximity to Port Moody, with well above average complimentary hotel breakfast, with above average courteous and pleasant staff, with easy/close access to restaurants and shopping in New Westminster and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Nasir Z, General Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel By Best Western Coquitlam, responded to this review
Thanks so much for the review and we hope to see you again!

"go elsewhere"

1
User 03/03/2019

they have an online booking system for groups..which they completely ignore once you fill it out. Rooms smelled of smoke, one of our rooms has wires hanging out of the wall. Of our 5 rooms, one was a "suite" which was smaller than some of our regular rooms.

BestWesternHotels, Corporate at SureStay Plus Hotel By Best Western Coquitlam, responded to this review
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your recent stay, and we are sorry to hear that it did not exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we hope you will give us another chance and stay with us again. -Best Western Hotels & Resorts

"The location is the only plus"

2
Alexis F, Windsor, Canada 28/02/2019

Probably the worst mattress I ever encountered in a hotel. And that includes my days in the college when I was traveling on a small budget. The reception staff was totally unprofessional and clearly not properly trained. From their attitude to their attire, everything was improper. The odor in the hallways (penetrating in the room as well) was like of a cheap truck-stop restaurant.

BestWesternHotels, Corporate at SureStay Plus Hotel By Best Western Coquitlam, responded to this review
We are sorry to hear that your recent stay with us did not exceed your expectations. We hope you will give us another chance and stay with us again. -Best Western Hotels & Resorts

"Invasion of privacy"

1
Diane E, Calgary 19/02/2019

I stayed at this hotel due to its proximity to the hospital where my husband had been admitted. After 5 days, I asked to extend my stay by a few days and they assuring me I'd have the same room near the elevator, I came back from the hospital with my husband (who just had open heart surgery) and couldn't get into my room. I went downstairs only to find that while I was gone, they went into my room, packed up my belongings and put them behind the desk. ALL WITHOUT MY KNOWLEDGE. And knowing he had been in the hospital, I was given a room all the way down the hall. I had to get a chair out of the room to let him rest half way. When I complained to the front desk the next day, the girl told me that she didn't know why I was moved. The previous person at the front desk told me I should never have had that room extended to me as it was blocked. She however, didn't have a clue. You can be sure I will make my feelings known to Best Western head office.

BestWesternHotels, Corporate at SureStay Plus Hotel By Best Western Coquitlam, responded to this review
We are sorry to hear that your recent stay with us did not exceed your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to make improvements to offer guests a better experience in the future. We hope you will give us another chance and stay with us again. -Best Western Hotels & Resorts

"Never again"

1
User 19/01/2019

My husband and I stayed at the SureStay Best Western Hotel in Coquitlam, upon checking in to our room we noticed it was very unclean and there was sticky stuff on the dressers, TV, table and the comforter was dirty. The headboard had dried blood on it and there was rotten fruit under th bed. The carpet was stained and very grungy and we didn't want to take my shoes off. We should have switched rooms but my husband's company was paying for our stay and we didn't want to cause issues. So I personally wipe down all of the services then complained and asked for a maid to come clean the room. After a visit from the very colourful maid I was told if I had any issues to tell her not complain to the boss. The atmosphere was very uncomfortable and unfriendly and there seem to be a lot of shady situations happening that we noticed. We checked out a day early because neither of us felt comfortable in that hotel. We will never ever recommend it or stay there again.

Nasir Z, General Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel By Best Western Coquitlam, responded to this review
I am sorry you had such a bad experience at the hotel. I agree on the carpets and unfortunately they should have been replaced years ago. We are currently changing them over and in the last week we have replaced 13 rooms with new flooring with the remainder being done over the next 4 weeks! I am unsure about any of the conversations you may have had with the staff but you are more than welcome to speak directly with me at 604-525-7777 if you have any further concerns.

"Great staff"

4
freemorning3, Coquitlam, Canada 17/01/2019

The staff genuinely care, and often go beyond standard service to provide assistance. Even though parts of the hotel may appear dated, the staff provide exemplary service in comparison to other Best Western hotels, and other hotel chains. Whether you are dressed in office attire, or casual, you will feel welcome in this hotel. The free breakfast has multiple options for a full and satisfying meal.

Nasir Z, General Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel By Best Western Coquitlam, responded to this review
Thanks so much for the kind words for our staff! It is greatly appreciated. If I can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly at 604-525-7777. We hope to see you again soon.

"Was excellent"

5
Passport55647145369, Lillooet, Canada 16/01/2019

Great place helpful people make you feel welcome the free breakfast is a real plus and the rooms are very clean. The location is great the bus right outside and sky train just 3 blocks away. It was very quiet place with laundry facilities

Nasir Z, General Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel By Best Western Coquitlam, responded to this review
Thanks so much for the positive review. I am happy always to hear that our staff were helpful. We hope to see you again!

"Close to Royal Columbia Hospital"

2
User 13/01/2019

Close to Royal Columbia Hospital. Carpets were awful. Depressing, stained and not vacuumed everyday. The rest of the services were great. Very polite kind staff.Helpful. Direct line to taxis. It wasn't a ‘happy trip' though.

Nasir Z, General Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel By Best Western Coquitlam, responded to this review
Thanks so much for the feedback. I do apologize about the carpets. We will be upgrading the hotel with renovations and the carpets have beem targeted. As of today we have changed 8 rooms carpets and the remaing rooms will be done over the next 6 weeks.

"Average"

3
User 05/12/2018

3 star at best, its seen better days, outdated, and loud. Shower acted as a bath while using as well, what a treat. Staff were helpful/attentive at least and the breakfast offering was similiar to other Best Westerns'. WIFI, was non existent, ridiculously bad.

"Basic three star hotel"

3
wingirl6, Canada 17/11/2018

Best Western standard customer service and great location. Adequate for a nights stay while traveling. Cleanliness was below my standards. There were odors of cigarette smoke etc and a burn mark in the carpet. Bed is not comfortable and the room felt dated and tired. Decent value for what is is but I'd probably stay at the Abbotsford location next time.

"Never staying here again"

1
User 26/10/2018

Drove past the entrance once, not very good signage. When We got to our room it had a very strange smell so we opened the windows and turned on the air for circulation. Toilet seat was not clean, ice bucket lid was also dirty... wondering what else might be.

"Lost items"

1
User 25/09/2018

If you leave anything behind don't expect to get it back. Went with a youth group and some items got left behind so I called the hotel and kept being told that no one knew anything, finally talked to the manager and he only told me the same thing! Each time I called they said they would call back that evening or next day but I never got a call back. I tried emailing and got no information there either. Six times I tried to get information about the items we left behind but nothing ever happened. Definitely not recommending this place to anyone.

"Just Gross"

1
5Canadiantravelers, Campbell River, Canada 03/09/2018

All I can say is wow - and yuck. If I could rate it a zero I would. The last time we stayed at something so nasty was 23 years ago! This is right along side that memory. Dirty, musty, mouldy, unsanitary, stained and disgusting. This hotel is not even close to the standards as any Best Western. How it's called one I dont know. The websites say The Best Western Plus Chelsea Inn. The Signage says Surestay. Total bait and switch. It's not what you think you are getting. In fact we were thinking it looks and smells and most certainly feels like the rooms should be rented out by the hour. You could hear every step the people above us took. The remote was sticky, alarm clock had some gross stuff all over it and the pillows seemed to have gone through the wash creating nothing but lumps. The marks on the floor make you want to vomit. Gum- Cigarettes ? Who knows. Our clothing (even the ones we didn't wear) and our hair still smell like the hotel's musty smell even after we are home. It's time to shut down for awhile and renovate instead of piggy backing on the Best Western name to make a buck each night. All this does is make me never recommend this location. We've stayed at many Best Western hotels (gold members) to know that this was a rotten deal. This hotel in its current condition is doing nothing for the hotel chain name. If we could have changed hotels we would have but we arrived in the later afternoon and it was also a long weekend. Everything else was booked. Furthermore if the Best Western chain Is aware of this nasty hotel running in this manner and continues to stand by and allow it then we will t be staying with them any longer. We have to be back at the Justice Institute (in New Westminister) many times this next year and we won't be choosing this hotel ever again. The breakfast was the ONLY thing that resembled the chain. Pictures added. First is behind the entrance door. Next is at the end of the bed. Third nasty alarm clock.

"Not impressed"

1
User 14/06/2018

My family stayed at the Chelsea inn and when we got to our room I was not impressed. Our remote for the tv was under the bed as well as ladies underwater. The bed was not made properly and there was food and garbage behind the night stand and white powder in the air conditioning also ashes on the window sill. To me this is unexceptional for a best western.

"Good stay"

3
User 11/05/2018

Spacious room and bathroom. Carpet in room and hall should be renewed or cleaned. Near a busy road. Friendly staff at front desk. Basic continental breakfast. Fresh fruit. Pubs in the neighborhood. Good for one night stay.

"Night clerk actually offered to get an ice pack for my knee because he noticed I was limping"

4
rbgsal, Castlegar, Canada 30/04/2018

Decent place central to hwy and other amenities Special rates for people visiting Hospitals and Casino. Above average breakfast great location. Night staff offered an ice pack because he noticed my limp

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.