Room 1
Room 2
Room 3
Promotion code

The Queen at Chester Hotel, BW Premier Collection, Chester

City Road, CH1 3AH, Chester, Great Britain - See on a map
The Queen at Chester Hotel, BW Premier Collection - The Queen at Chester Hotel, BW Premier Collection - Exterior The The Queen at Chester Hotel, BW Premier Collection is ideally located in the center of Chester. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

Please note: Due to Government Guidelines some hotel services may be limited during your visit. Built opposite Chester station to serve first-class rail passengers, The Queen Hotel Chester, BW Premier Collection has an illustrious past. This magnificent brick and stucco Italianate building was said to be the first skyscraper of its time, and you'll be following in the footsteps of some rather famous guests with a stay here. Since opening in 1860, it's hosted none other than Charles Dickens, Cecil Rhodes and Lillie Langtry, to name but a few. The hotel is a 10-minute walk from the center of Chester. Here you can browse the boutiques of The Rows, a unique two-tiered shopping gallery, tour the magnificent medieval cathedral or see the ruins of the largest Roman Amphitheatre in Britain. Families can have a fun day out at Chester Zoo, 4 miles from the hotel, while racegoers can try their luck at Chester Racecourse, the oldest in the world. Whether you're here for the Roman history, excellent shopping or business facilities, we're sure to have a room that fits your needs. Each floor is dedicated to a country, with every suite named after a king of that nation. All our 221 bedrooms have superfast fiber optic Wi-Fi, satellite TV and 24-hour room service. Some of our most luxurious rooms have Tencel mattress toppers, roll-top baths, Nespresso coffee machines and four-poster beds fit for royalty. When you're not relaxing in your room, enjoy a drink in one of our exquisite Victorian lounges or take arty photos on our sweeping four-story staircase.

BW Premier Collection

The Queen at Chester Hotel

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Hotel advantages

  • Restaurant
    Restaurant
  • Lounges/bars
    Lounges/bars
  • Outdoor parking
    Outdoor parking
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
  • Safe deposit box
    Safe deposit box
  • Multilingual staff
    Multilingual staff
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
Certificate of Excellence 2020
based on 3443 guest reviews
NOTE ISSUED
Excellent
1801
Very Good
966
Average
333
Poor
199
Terrible
144
REFER TO NOTICE
Business Business
313
Couples Couples
2049
Family Family
409
Friends getaway Friends getaway
392
Solo travel Solo travel
53
SUMMARY NOTES
Cleanliness
Location
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Value

"Need to improve Covid-19 "

2
Charliestreet, Bristol, United Kingdom 16/09/2020

When we checked in the receptionist was miserable, but the one who took over at 2pm was really pleasant. We had to choose a time we wanted our breakfast from a list of suggested times. The room we were given was in the annex and was clean and very comfortable. We went down for breakfast at our time and there were quite a number of people queuing. There were only 2 staff to serve us. The second morning the same again, people queuing. When we entered the restaurant there were many tables that had not been cleared and it looked a mess. We were shown to our table, I noticed milk the shape of the milk bottle that the milk was served in on the table. Obviously the table had not been sanitized properly. There were only 2 staff again trying to cater for 20+ people. I think the hotel got it wrong allocating time slots. Just let people come to the restaurant when they want, it works in the Premier Inn as I have experienced on many occasions with my job. The staff in the restaurant done their best and it were not to blame.

Nadine Rees, Other at The Queen at Chester, Premier Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear Charliestreet, Thank you for taking the time to share you feedback from your recent stay. It is so important, especially in these times that we receive guest feedback and ways in which we can improve. I was delighted to read that your room was clean and comfortable. Something that is very important in these unprecedented times. Our hotel has recently introduced a hot breakfast option and whilst there have been a few challenges, we have received very positive feedback. The reason for allocated times for breakfast is intended for less queuing for our guests and also allowing the team to successfully sanitise the table for the allocated time before allowing another guest to sit. Each table is then laid up with fresh cutlery and crockery in anticipation for our next guest. I am sorry that you felt that this did not meet your expectations. I can assure you that we have designed a process that allows limited restaurant capacity, limited team member to guest touch points and the relevant time pockets to allow our team to safety serve breakfast. Thank you once again for your feedback and I do hope that you will visit us again in the future. Kind Regards Nadine General Manager

"OK, but not as clean as expected and "breakfast" very dissapointing"

3
J5933UHjuliej, London, United Kingdom 10/09/2020

Stayed 3rd and 4th September 2020. I am giving a 3 star rating (could have been lower) as the staff were excellent and did what they could to make our stay great. Outside of the staff, the "breakfast" was make your own sachet coffee, porridge in a pot (like pot noodles), Alpen bar, orange in a carton and a bun of sorts - delivered in a paper bag - uninspiring. The first room had cigarette butts and ash on the windowsill. We asked to be moved and this was managed without question, which was a plus. However the second room had a dust and cobweb laden fan in the bathroom and dirty shower tray - I could pick off the old dirty "glue" with my nails. The rooms are meant to be forensically COVID cleaned arn't they? Anyway, we didn't ask to move again as we wanted to see Chester. It was quite an odd experience when compared to the other hotels we were staying in on our mini UK tour. No breakfast room, lounge or bar we could frequent as far as we were aware - just lobby, hallways, stairs and room. I know we are in COVID times, but compared to the other hotels we visited, this appeared almost closed. Otherwise, a lovely building, decent location and great staff.

Nadine Rees, Other at The Queen at Chester, Premier Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear J5933UHjuliej, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am sorry that you found cleanliness issues within your rooms. I agree that cleanliness is vitally important to us at The Queen, but specifically in the current climate. I will be following this up internally for investigation. Regrading your breakfast, we appreciate that the grab and go bags are very different to the normal guest expectation of a hotel breakfast. Myself and the team have been working very hard to launch a hot breakfast which we have done successfully at the beginning of the month. I hope that the next time you visit, you will enjoyed the improved offerings. I was delighted to read that the team at The Queen were excellent and did what they could for you to enjoy your stay. I will certainly be passing your feedback onto the team. I do hope that we can welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards Nadine General Manager

"Well be back soon"

5
User 09/09/2020

We booked our stay away as we were due to be married last Friday and still wanted to celebrate that we would have been married. Upon booking I requested a bath and I was not disappointed. The room was beautiful and we both had one of the best nights sleep we've had in a long time. Arrival was done on my phone before hand and was quick and easy and I thought the hand sanitiser station and the social distancing markers throughout was a great idea. We had everything we needed in the room but could have filled in a slip for more items which you hand to reception. There was also a takeaway menu for the room to order drinks and food that we did not use but it seemed varied and good to us. You had to request items through their WhatsApp business platform but I don't think that is a bad thing at all as i would not expect a cleaner to touch a phone I had used to order room service in these current Covid conditions. I understand some have complained about the breakfast but we both have never got up early for breakfast so to have a bag dropped off at your door was great for us. I understand it could have been varied - maybe a different pastry or a portion of honey to make the porridge a bit different on one of our days but on the whole we could not fault it. The bar and restaurant were closed but we absolutely understood that decision and assumed this when we booked. (This is also reflected on the high street as some shops were also closed till the 9th). There are a few bars open around the town that you can walk and wait for a seat but we had booked meals in restaurants before we checked in so we came prepared. To anyone who is thinking of booking a stay here, I would recommend it I think the price we had for three nights was reasonable and all the staff are a credit to best western. We will be returning soon before we are married August next year!

Nadine Rees, Other at The Queen at Chester, Premier Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear Judy G, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely, detailed review of your recent stay. I am sorry that the pandemic had spoilt your wedding plans and I am sure that another year to plan and prepare will just add to the already special event. As we evolve daily and weekly into our new world of operating, more and more of our facilities are being opened in the hope that we can return to normal . This will shortly include the restaurant and bar for casual drinking and dining. I hope that we are able to welcome you back to experience more of the delightful offers the Queen can give. Let me wish you and your future husband an amazing day for August next year and thank you again. Kind Regards Nadine General Manager

"nice enough but will not be returning"

3
manterfield1, Barnsley, United Kingdom 09/09/2020

Beautiful hotel full of fabulous history. breakfast poor, very basic I think a hot breakfast sandwich and fresh coffee could have been offered and delivered to your door or a bag with more luxury items to make up for the lack of buffet hot breakfast, I know Covid has meant disruption of normal services, but i think this is a cop out now. I paid more than i would for a lovely hotel and breakfast, so not to receive a decent breakfast made it feel a waste of money. No phone in room and had to whatsapp for towels loo roll etc a disappointing experience that i am sure would have been better before or post covid. However, in my opinion, more could be done to ensure guests still feel like they are getting a great service, breakfast and value for money. would not return also was told our wedding anniversary would be acknowledged by a token gesture but none recieved

Nadine Rees, Other at The Queen at Chester, Premier Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear manterfield1, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay. Please accept my apologies that you felt so disappointed regarding your breakfast. It is appreciated that the grab and go style breakfast is different to a guests normal expectation of a hotel breakfast and myself and the team have been working hard to implement a hot breakfast option that is available to our guests. I am sorry that it seems you have just missed this option. Our covid control measures are in place to ensure that we limit touch points and unfortunately, we have had to remove our bedroom telephones. I appreciate that this can be frustrating and again, not our normal standards however, we are keen on ensuring that covid remains under control within our property as we try to rebuild the business. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful history of the hotel and its character. I do hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future where you can experience more of what The Queen has to offer. Kind Regards Nadine General Manager

"Good Hotel"

4
flowerbasket, Liverpool, United Kingdom 03/09/2020

The Queens at Chester is across the road from the railway station. Also across the road is a pretty decent pub that serves really good quality meals at reasonable prices. They also do breakfasts which start at 10am. The hotel itself is clean and tidy. Bathroom was spotless with a good supply of toiletries. The beds comfortable and tea and coffee in plentiful supply. We booked breakfast but on check in we discovered it wasn't a sit down breakfast but a grab and go which basically is porridge and a cereal bar which is not what we wanted so they refunded the cost of the breakfast. The only minus point about the hotel is we had to wait quite a time for someone to attend to us at reception on check out. There was no bell to summon anyone. After shouting a couple of times, someone did arrive. There is a city link bus that you can get outside the station which run pretty often. it takes you right into the town centre. The service ends at around 5pm. I would stay at this hotel again.

"1st wedding anniversary"

4
kathy36s, Manchester, United Kingdom 02/09/2020

We booked here as our 1st anniversary holiday to Vienna was cancelled. We travelled by train, so great location. Room was good, directions to the room not clear enough though. Sink in room was difficult to use, wash face and fill the kettle up. Breakfast delivered in bag outside room, fabulous and lovely items provided. Will definitely stay again

"Very disappointing not 4 star"

2
User 31/08/2020

Stayed here as was moved from sure hotel due to not being open currently. Staff friendly Nice hallway / foyer thats it Horrid bedroom very musty, dated, small, dark, lots faulty facilities or shower being boiling hot no way to change to cooler tempeeture - no where near 4 star at all or even 3 star. Extremely disappointing. Location is 10 min walk to centre. Not worth money paid even though I believe reduced. Overheard 4 complaints due to faulty facilities etc. One person issued refund. NCP car par 8 pounds per 24 hours compared to 15 per 24 hours at hotel. People were informed of this still paid 15 anyway? Car parks are next to each other. Shame as chester and chester zoo are lovely and worth visits

Nadine Rees, Other at The Queen at Chester, Premier Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear 19482, Thank you for taking he time to review the hotel. I am sorry that you weren't happy with your room and found the room to be hot. Within the hotel, our rooms all have a different feel and unfortunately, not all of our rooms have air conditioning. Thank you for the note regarding our car parking prices. The NCP along with other local car parks are always highlighted to our guests upon arrival and our prices are also displayed on all third party booking websites for clarity. Really glad to hear that you enjoyed Chester and Chester Zoo. Kind Regards Nadine Rees General Manager

"Very disappointing"

1
User 31/08/2020

We stayed for a family party excellent location for exploring Chester. The room itself was very dated with wallpaper coming away from the walls. The cleanliness of the room was shocking and we had to inform the helpdesk as we found that the duvet had infact got a blood splatter on. A TV that didn't work was a very disappointing visit.

Nadine Rees, Other at The Queen at Chester, Premier Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear Simon P, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your views of your recent stay at the hotel. Please accept my personal apologies for the disappointments you experienced, in particular surrounding the room cleanliness. I can assure you that your feedback has had my personal attention and have also shared it with the housekeeping team. Regarding the TV, we unfortunately had an issue with an amplifier that impacted a number of rooms on Saturday evening. An engineer was called immediately and it was repaired within 24 hours. This was out of the control of the hotel and I am sorry this impacted your stay. I believe you dealt with Sandra, one our team on the day and your feedback was acted upon. Thank you again for your feedback and I am pleased to note that you found the location to be excellent. Kind Regards Nadine Rees General Manager

"Good location, average rooms"

3
CraigBunx, Leeds, United Kingdom 30/08/2020

Stayed here for my anniversary in a king room. It's in a great spot for exploring Chester but we didn't like the room at all. The king sized bed is just two mattresses stuck together so you fall down the middle... We did end up booking on a 3 for 2 offer so value was OK. I wouldn't pay full price for this place though. Oh and don't pay extra for breakfast until their COVID policy changes. As it's basically a paper bag with a pot of instant porridge and a banana left on your door step.

Nadine Rees, Other at The Queen at Chester, Premier Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear CraigBunx, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. Please accept my apologies for the disappointments with the room and in particular the bed. Some of our rooms do have King Size beds that have the ability to separate for flexibility however, they have very secure zips between the mattresses that allow the bed to feel like a complete bed. I am sorry that it seems the zips were not fastened during your visit. Our breakfast offering is currently necessary due to the COVID restrictions as it limits interaction. This is being constantly reviewed with the hope of introducing an offering similar to pre covid times. I hope that we are able to welcome you back in the near future to experience it. I am glad you feel that your stay was value for money and the location of the hotel suited your needs. Kind Regards Nadine Rees General Manager

"Dissapointing!"

2
mark_30w25d56, Preston, United Kingdom 24/08/2020

The hotel itself is very nice in display and decoration and conveniently located close to the train station. There is some quirky decor in the rooms, corridors and reception area which are nice. However, there are many improvements needed the room had stains on the chairs, curtains and bedding, my wife also left covered in bites from bed bugs. At one point walking through the lobby we were greeted by a man screaming in a ladys face that she had got him sent to prison and behaving very threateningly not a nice experience but the manager seemed to be handling the situation well. Finally we had paid for a full cooked breakfast and received only a bag outside our door containing a croissant, banana and porridge pot. We were not informed of this at the time of check in, nor was it mentioned in the Covid precautions note left in our room. We mentioned this to the hotel and were not offered any form of refund or compensation. All in all,a pretty disappointing experience.

Nadine Rees, Other at The Queen at Chester, Premier Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear mark_30w25d56, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. Please accept my apologies for the disappointments noted around the cleanliness of your room. As this moment in time, myself and the team are working extremely hard to ensure every area of the hotel is fully sanitised and clean as this is unprecedented time. Our current breakfast situation is to ensure that we limit the touch points between ourselves and our guests for safety measures. I appreciate that a continental breakfast is not to everyone's liking and a cooked English is usually a treat when you are away which is why we are working on a process for us to be able to offer a hot breakfast option whilst upholding the safety measures. I would very much like to speak with you directly regarding your wife's experience. I would appreciate if you could contact me on nadine.rees@thequeenatchesterhotel.co.uk. I would like to thank you for staying with us and also your understanding as we try to rebuild the business that has been so dramatically effected. Look forward to hearing from you. Kind Regards Nadine Rees General Manager

"Convenient hotel"

4
BrendaV384, London, United Kingdom 21/08/2020

My daughter and I stayed here for 2 nights. The main reason for visiting Chester was to visit the zoo. This hotel was very convent for the train station (the entrance is literally opposite the station) and the bus stop to the zoo. The hotel was very clean. Because of COVID restrictions we knew the restaurants and bars would not be open. The hotel is only a 15 minute walk from the town centre so we enjoyed eating and drinking out. We booked a twin room and stayed on the Chinese kings floor. There were 2 beds but the gap between them was very small so we rearranged the furniture to allow for more space. I do think that a twin room should have space between the beds. Our room was very clean and we were told when we checked in that there would be no housekeeping because of the COVID restrictions but if we needed anything we were given a mobile number. However we found a station where we could collect clean towels and anything else that we may need so we didn't need to use this service. The staff were very welcoming and reassuring. The decor of the hotel is very quirky and I would be interested in staying again once the bars and restaurants were open.

Nadine Rees, Other at The Queen at Chester, Premier Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear BrendaV384, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I hope that you and your daughter enjoyed your visit to Chester Zoo also and I am so glad that you found the hotel to be so convenient for your trips planned in Chester. We are slowly beginning to open up our bar on weekends and hopefully adding a hot breakfast to our offerings in September so you are welcome back anytime to experience it. Thank you for staying with us during uncertain times and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Nadine Rees General Manager

"Absolutely Amazing"

5
nicoleE3000EQ, Manchester, United Kingdom 20/08/2020

Fantastic location, close city centre, close to river cruises. A short walk to city centre, great for royal enthusiasts, walking around the hotel and courtyard was fun, caters for wedding functions and you are sure to take some great photos here.

Nadine Rees, Other at The Queen at Chester, Premier Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear nicoleE3000EQ, Thank you so much for the 5 star review! This means a great deal to myself and the team at this time. Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Nadine Rees General Manager

"Comfortable Kings rooms"

4
chattypops, North Wales, United Kingdom 10/08/2020

The King's suites are much nicer than the older part of the hotel. We were relocated after complaining that the executive room we had booked smelled of smoking ! Should have detectors.... Happy to say that we were extremely comfortable after moving. Disappointed that there was no bar available when we returned from our meal out and no breakfast provided in the restaurant. Simply, this is not good enough ! Hospitality means you should be looking after your guests and not cutting services, even during the pandemic. There really is no excuse ! Restaurants and bars are open and a large hotel chain like Best Western should be providing these services with the correct systems in place.

Nadine Rees, Other at The Queen at Chester, Premier Collection by Best Western, responded to this review
Dear chattypops, Thank you so much for your four star review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. As the original part of the hotel dates back to the 18th century, our bedrooms are blended in the Queen section of the hotel with many of the rooms paying tribute to the long history of Chester and the hotel itself. Each of these bedrooms are fitted with smoke detectors however, unfortunately, we do have guests that manage to find ways around our internal fire system. I am sorry that other guests behavior impacted your stay. Regarding the bar and restaurant, our bar is open during the weekend and a small selection of food offerings available to order also. Everyone of our team, myself included are looking forward to a time where we are able to return to our normal ways of working however, a pandemic does unfortunately play a huge part in the way the hotel is currently operating. I do hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future. Kind Regards Nadine Rees General Manager

"Average "

3
Darcylilac, Whitefield, United Kingdom 07/08/2020

Stayed for one night, found the room to be quite small and stuffy. Walls quite thin, was woken at midnight by the couple in the next room arguing. Staff were very friendly but probably wouldn't return.

"Late check in "

1
TheClash1977, NORTH WALES 06/08/2020

We arrived just before 3pm only to be told our room wasn't ready. Many others were checking in before us? Finally got room just before 5pm with no apology. Reception team really poor re communication.

"Had a great stay"

5
User 05/08/2020

Stayed for 1 night with my partner and young daughter. First time we've stayed anywhere since the pandemic started so we were a little nervous, but we quickly realised had nothing to be nervous about. We parked out front when we arrived, and the lady at reception told us about the car park to the side of the hotel (through the arch) which is usually £15 for 24 hours but £10 if you are staying at the hotel, so I paid £10 and moved my car to there once I had bought my bags in ect. We stayed in room 229, or 'Queen Mary I'. The room was huge and had a new Samsung smart TV on the wall, a small sitting area with a table, a double bed and a sofa/fold out bed, which was great for our young daughter. The bathroom was also very modern and nice, and we could tell it had all been cleaned well. Very nice room in all, only thing we were unsure about is the huge painting of Queen Mary I on the wall right next to the bed (see photo), it was a little scary! We booked our stay before the pandemic started via a Groupon voucher which included a drinks voucher for me and my partner on arrival, and breakfast in the morning. However, due to the pandemic, the bar and resturant were both closed, but the lady on the desk told me to let them know what drinks I would like and they would bring them upto the room for me, which they did! The breakfast was also dropped upto the room in the morning, which consisted of a croisant with jam and butter, an orange, a cerial bar, an instant porridge pot and a carten of orange juice each. Not quite the breakfast I thought I was paying for when I booked, but I do understand the situation. The lady who checked us out said she was new, but was very clued up and friendly, as was the lady who checked us in. All in all, we had a great stay and a great nights sleep!

"Do not visit it is a waste of money!!"

1
570jeanetteg, Burscough, United Kingdom 02/08/2020

Charge the same for a cooked breakfast but received a brown paper bag with a croissant and porridge to eat in your room. No bar service. No air conditioning. Very dated hotel. Recommend Hotel Indigo in Chester far superior.

"Nice hotel grounds finishing touches need work"

3
1DreamVisitor, Manchester, United Kingdom 24/07/2020

I stayed for 3 nights in room 228. Firstly I will say I am a fair reviewer and base all my reviews on facts without being overwhelmed by personal experiences. We booked the Hallmark inn across the road, when we arrived the door greeted us with 'sorry we are closed go over to the Queen if you have made a booking'. This put us in initial concern as we didn't know what would happen from there. At the reception they made me aware that the Queen was taking the Hallmarks bookings but could not find my booking with the other hotel, as no facilities were open due to covid-19 the children were stood about in the lobby getting frustrated, a real shame the garden was not open to get fresh air; that did not make any sense as it is outside, so is a well ventilated area. The receptionist told me I would have to wait further as a room was not ready, which was not acceptable to me as we arrived after usual check in time, considering they were prepared to take the hotels bookings things should have been ready. However on a call to the housekeeper she was informed there was another room available! I was dubious about her attempt to make us wait for a room after hearing that! That said I would say the service is not as friendly as the hallmark across the road where we have stayed before and they treated us with the upmost respect, additionally we were given no info how to stay safe inside the hotel or assurance of their cleaning standards. There was sanitiser everywhere though. The room itself was presentable clean and big. There were no heirs & graces though & the bathroom was basic, but the shower floor was thick with dirt from peoples feet. We were not offered room service & there was no telephone available in the room, I have come to find out other guests were offered r.service, for our own sense of safety we used our own towels and pillowcases during our stay, and would anywhere during this time. All in all It was an average experience. Our stay was ok, mostly because I didn't bother to make any issue & spent most of my time out & about. The hotel itself has a nice traditional character, the rooms are spacious & when the facilities are functioning has a nice outdoor space and a lovely breakfast room which would have pushed the experience up a little.

"Great place to stay, at a great price!"

5
Owlhollyx, Preston, United Kingdom 23/07/2020

Gorgeous place to stay, great decor, great service, cleanliness of our room was great, great price. Located right next to the train station, lots of pubs and places to eat near by. Would definitely stay here again

"please aviod and book elsewhere"

1
Hasbro H, Worcester, England, United Kingdom 23/07/2020

when we arrived the new book in system through my phones camera didn't work, we were hit by a carpark charge we didn't know about. The light in the corridor outside our room didnt work we had to use a torch from our phone in order to find our room. On entrance to our room, it smelt badly of damp, we were placed right next to a fire exit where it seemed everyone on the floor used to go out for a smoke. the uht milk was out of date. We lasted an hour and a half then left. Still trying to fight and get a refund.

" Brilliant , definitely stay again"

5
SAWithamFamily, Witham, United Kingdom 22/07/2020

Staying until Saturday. Everything so far is great. Surroundings, venue, facilities, staff, cleanliness all great. Comfortable and charming and a real find. Nice to have a hotel with charm for a change

"Excellent customer service"

5
User 20/07/2020

Our stay was enjoyable. I would highly recommend anyone to stay there. The staff were lovely and very professional considering these troublesome times. Excellent customer service and a great position in Chester

"Magic of Chester"

5
User 12/04/2020

Hotel is in a perfect location to visit Chester, we have stayed there numerous times. Love the character of the building, staff and restaurant serves delicious food. Easily accessed a wide variety of shops. Full of history and one can have a lazy boat ride down the river. Something for everyone.

"Very nice but, definitely haunted"

4
User 03/04/2020

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here a few weeks ago we had a good evening as we were sent out of the pub after the partial lockdown, we came back to the room which was lovely, however there is no doubt this hotel is haunted we were in the back room on the 2nd floor I swapped sides of the bed with my girlfriend as she said that Side of the bed was too cold. I awoke fully and was shivering I've been out in winter to put the bins out in my underwear and I have never been this cold, added to that we could hear shouting and a girl laughing in the room behind us. We left the room in the morning to see there was in fact no room behind us. I myself am very skeptical so I didn't bother with this. Only now I have sat down to watch an episode of most haunted and wondered if this hotel was haunted. Turns out it is. Lovely place though you can't knock it.

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.