ROOM 1
ROOM 2
ROOM 3
Promotion code

Best Western Plus Celtique Hotel & Spa, Carnac

4.0/5  - basé sur 913 notations.
17 Avenue De Kermario Cd, 56340, Carnac, France - See map

The Best Western Plus Celtique Hotel & Spa is a comfortable hotel in celtic and modern style. During all the year, enjoy our indoor and heated swimming pool, our steamroom and our Wellness Centre. We are located only 50 meters from the beach in a quiet location. On foot or by bicycle, get out and discover all the wonders of the beauty spot.

Best Western Plus

Celtique Hotel & Spa

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Hotel advantages

  • Restaurant
    Restaurant
  • Indoor pool
    Indoor pool
  • Free parking
    Free parking
  • Sauna
    Sauna
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
GreenLeader Platinum
 
based on 912 guest reviews
NOTE ISSUED
Excellent
275
Very Good
426
Average
137
Poor
56
Terrible
18
REFER TO NOTICE
Business Business
33
Couples Couples
578
Family Family
162
Friends getaway Friends getaway
66
Solo travel Solo travel
24
SUMMARY NOTES
Cleanliness
Location
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Value

"Holiday - Carnac La Plage"

5
30/08/2018

We have stayed at the Celtique on four occasions and have always been impressed by the service, cleanliness and amenities. Accommodation is excellent, the pool is a lovely facility and the staff always welcoming and helpful.

"Lovely hotel near beach and shops"

4
10/08/2018

Excellent location for this medium size hotel near beach. Also within walking distance of the town centre with the museum of prehistory and interesting old church. Friendly staff in hotel, nice big room which was completely quiet with the double glazing. Excellent breakfast. It was very hot being so high up but we were provided with a fan. The main downside is that not all the rooms have air con which is unfortunate in a heat wave.

Celtique56, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Celtique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear clients, I thank you for your recent stay at Celtique Hotel & SPA and I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay. Indeed, all our rooms are not air-conditioned. For your next reservation, do not hesitate to ask us for a room with air conditioning. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon, I wish you a great day. Best regards, Eve Le Rouzic Chargée de Relation Clients Celtique Hôtel & SPA

"Carnac BW Celtique 2018"

5
06/08/2018

Another enjoyable stay at this hotel were we have stopped a number of times over the last 10 years. Lovely superior room with large balcony. Great breakfast. Only drawback is a very small car park at the hotel and can be difficult to find a space sometimes, although there are a small number of spaces for rent at 10 euros per day. There is howeverarely plenty of public parking around/near to the hotel.

Celtique56, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Celtique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear clients, I thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay at Celtique Hotel & SPA and I am delighted that you had a pleasant stay. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon, I wish you a great day. Best regards, Eve Le Rouzic Chargée de Relation Clients Celtique Hôtel & SPA

"Excellent hotel for the visit to Carnac standing stones"

4
03/07/2018

Very good service at reception. Free small, and very tightly spaced car park, but there is also on street parking around the hotel. Free wifi, warm pool with water jet etc. There is a steam room but it's chargeable . Room with balcony was nice and spacious but weirdly the wash basin and shower were in the bedroom not with the loo in a separate bathroom. TV had BBC World in English. An easy walk to the beach, but a short drive to the standing stones which were astonishing.

Celtique56, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Celtique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay at the Celtique Hotel & Spa. The whole team is glad you enjoyed this moment in Carnac. For your next stay, do not hesitate to ask us about our different room categories: it is with pleasure that our teams will inform you. Looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon, I wish you a great day. Sincerely, Eve Le Rouzic Customer Relationship Manager Celtique Hotel & Spa

"Well maintained, friendly and near to the beach"

4
29/04/2018

We stayed for three nights and enjoyed using the hotel as a base for exploring the area. The hotel is clean and the staff very welcoming and helpful: Buffet breakfasts are generous and offer a lot of choice across the European range. The pool is clean and warm with bath robes provided in rooms (Useful to take flipflops for the pool area). WiFi connection is excellent and speedy. On-site parking is limited, but the streets around offer spaces. We had a 'Comfort' room which was well-equipped with fridge and safe - it was, however, very cramped for two people - good hanging space but no drawers and very limited space for luggage. I recommend anyone staying for more than one night to pay more for a larger room. Our room was above the main entrance where smokers gather and as the window was our only ventilation, we had to accept the smell of smoke from below. Suprisingly quite for a hotel in this location - enjoyable.

Celtique56, Responsable relations clients at Best Western Plus Celtique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear Bill, On behalf of the entire team, I thank you for this comment. We are sincerely pleased that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel. Regarding the size of the room, I am sorry it was not large enought. Indeed, we offer more spacious rooms and I am sure they will be more appreciated on your next stay. Looking forward to welcoming you soon again, I wish you a very good day. Regards, Eve Le Rouzic Guest Relation Manager Celtique Hotel & Spa

"Great time but take care in the bath"

3
30/10/2017

I know we are elderly and maybe should admit to being old, but to have an in- bath shower with nothing to hold on to, and a slippery surface in the bath was a little daunting. We are lucky in that there is no problem getting in or out, but having recently broken my wrist in a fall during fancy footsteps in the gym I would have appreciated a little more security in the shower. I can't remember when we last stayed in a hotel without a grab handle and we missed it sorely. I have removed a star because of that. The hotel is wonderfully situated and we were always exceptionally well looked after by the afternoon receptionist, Marie. She told us that everything In the restaurant was home made - even the bread, and I have to say that was exceptional, both in the evening and at breakfast. We enjoyed the food, but dining was marred by the length of time it took to have our order taken when we took our seats . Another star deducted. I should add that we found everyone pleasant and helpful, and despite speaking English fluently were tolerant of my attempts to practise my French! Our room was on the top floor, with slanting roofs, but extremely comfortable, including the pillows, which was a big plus. The swimming pool was fine but I would have preferred to have changed out of my wet costume there rather than have to wear it under an increasingly wet dressing gown until we got back to our room. Despite my reservations we hope to come back, but I shall check about the shower before booking any room.

Celtique56, Responsable relations clients at Best Western Plus Celtique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear clients, Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay with us. Regarding the shower, I am sorry that your bathroom did not satisfy you. On your next reservation, do not hesitate to contact our receptionists to clarify your desires. Thus, they can assign you a room with walk-in shower. I am delighted that you enjoyed the location of the hotel located just few meters away from the beaches. Regarding the waiting time at the restaurant, I am sorry you found it too long. However, you have enjoyed the dishes and I invite you to make a comment on the TripAdvisor page dedicated to our restaurant "Restaurant Le Celtique", if you wish. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon to offer you a better experience, I wish you a beautiful day. Best regards, Eve Le Rouzic Customer Relationship Manager Celtique Hotel & Spa

"Effluent waste on the sheet ...."

1
25/09/2017

Friendly enough staff ... but I went to get into the bed and saw this mess on the sheet, I called the receptionist and she said it was an iron Mark!! Untill the smell came apparent ... then she change the sheets. The manager in the morning offered 30% discount I said it was a twin room and offered 50% she refused, as she had my credit card details I said I was not happy and will put this complaint on the internet where her response was 'do what you want' ... even after I mentioned that the bathroom was dirty with a long hair in the basin. Beware of the hygiene at this hotel.

DANIEL R, Responsable relations clients at Best Western Plus Celtique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear Mister PEACOCK, We are very sorry about the fact your stay did not pleased you. In fact, I heard about what happened with you. I can assure that the sheets are changed at each new arrival. Moreover, you asked for twin beds and not classic double room, so our cleaning ladies made your room the day you arrived meaning that the sheets were very fresh. On your departure, you did not want to pay. We agreed to make a 30% discount but not a 50% : I am sure you can understand that we do not make discount as a way to avoid you to make bad feedbacks on TripAdvisor. We gave you this discount but we wish we should have not done so. In fact, the cleaning ladies thank you a lot for urinate in the bin and on the wall of your room . . . Regards, Eve Le Rouzic Customer Relation Manager Celtique Hôtel & Spa

"Very restful"

5
19/09/2017

This modern and well-equipped hotel offered excellent comfort in an ideal location near the beach and village centre. On-site parking was real plus. The restaurant menu cas short and not very inspiring, but the special events - seafood buffet, pool-side seafood barbecue - were excellent. The pool and spa facilities were especially welcome. Above all, the staff were uniformly delightful; permanently friendly and helpful, they made a great difference to our holiday. The only downside was the very steep stairs in our duplex room, but the staff moved us without any problem.

reception56, Responsable relations clients at Best Western Plus Celtique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear Bernard, Thank you so much for your feedback. We are very glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcoming you very soon again. Best Regards, Eve Le Rouzic Chargée de relation clients Celtique Hôtel & Spa

"Pleasant start to holidays"

4
13/09/2017

This is a pleasant hotel, very close to the beautiful beach and handy for bars, cafes and restaurants in Carnac (all about 5 minutes walk). Parking is limited, but there is on street parking close by. A plus here was having an interconnecting room, as we were travelling with our teenage daughters. The rooms we had which overlooked the back of the hotel were on the small side, but they were quiet. Beds were very comfortable and wifi worked ok, (mostly). Breakfast was typically French, and unless you needed to ask for hot items like eggs etc. it was limited to cold items with the normal industry standard toaster, although the reasonably priced deal we got included the cost of breakfast. The pool isn't huge, but when we stayed there just before 'the grand depart' it wasn't very busy (5-6 other people were using it). Pleasant for a few days, although I think the noise from other rooms and floors, with chairs being pulled back on the floor or the heavy hotel doors banging might annoy me if I was there for a week or more.

Celtique56, Responsable relations clients at Best Western Plus Celtique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear Adele, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Usually there are hot items at the breakfast. I am surprised you did not find them and I am sorry for that. If you have any suggestion to suggest, please do not hesistate to contact me back. I wish you a good day Regards Eve Le Rouzic Guest relation manager Celtique Hôtel & Spa

"Best as B & B"

4
10/09/2017

The hotel is well situated near the sea and a good number of shops and restaurants but outside the centre of Carnac. We were part of a large group staying 5 nights. We had an upgrade room at an extra cost of Euro30 per night. As air conditioning was not required (weather a bit iffy) and time did not allow much use of the balcony i'm not so sure the additional cost was justified. However the rooms were nicely fitted out - the walk in shower excellent and all very clean. We were not impressed with the high bar prices - even thought a bit of a ripoff. eg 2 large beers and 2 gins and a shared tonic costing euro 38. Buffet breakfasts good with plenty of variety and regularly replenished. Evening meals were poor and not recommended by many in our party. Avoid the Langoustines at all costs.

Celtique56, Responsable relations clients at Best Western Plus Celtique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear Adele, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. Even if you did not use the balcony, the extra cost is justified because the room is better than the classic one (not only for its balcony). I really thank you for underlining the fact that all was very clean. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Best Regards Eve Le Rouzic Guest relation manager Celtique Hotel & Spa

"Very nice place"

4
18/08/2017

Excellent dining room with excellent food and superior service, curved balconies off the rooms, nicely designed rooms with a large and modern shower, basement swimming pool with an exercise bike, located in a nice neighborhood. Only defect is not enough parking in front of hotel, but easy to find on-street parking.

reception56, Responsable relations clients at Best Western Plus Celtique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Good morning, Thank you for your comment about your stay in our hotel. Thanks for your comments, we are happy that you had a pleasant stay. We are aware that in high season, the parking is complicated. Indeed, we have 15 free. During your next visit, remember to book a private parkig (paying € 10 per night). Hope to see you next time. Sincerely, Laure

"Lovely smart hotel "

5
09/08/2017

Booked an upgraded room here at this hotel in Carnac . The duplex room was very nice with a sea view from the upstairs bedroom . The swimming pool was very good with extra features . Didn't have breakfast as were able to join our family on a nearby camp site . Did think it sounded quite expensive though .

Celtique56, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Celtique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear Kathleen, All the Celtique Hôtel & Spa staff thank you a lot for your comment. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stayed with us. According to the breakfast, I really advice you to taste it on your next stay since it is really good : there are many homemade things. I hope to see you again soon and I wish you a very good day. Best Regards Eve Le Rouzic Guest Relation Manager Celtique Hôtel & Spa

"A bit basic for a Four Star but still nice"

4
03/07/2017

My husband and I stayed here with friends last week in rooms 315 and 316. We were greeted by the Head Receptionist on our arrival and she was very welcoming and full of fun, I asked if we could have a balcony room (we booked through Brittany Ferries) but unfortunately the hotel was full, but she said we had lovely rooms anyway. Actually they were quite small and very basic but spotlessly clean and quite comfortable. The lady who did the cleaning was very helpful, she was English and helped us find places to go each day as we did not know the area well. She was absolutely lovely and changed the bed linen in the middle of the week and the towels every day, some days she was late doing the rooms but hey - this is France, you are on holiday - who cares!!! The breakfast was really nice, usual buffet sort of french breakfast but, again, the staff were superb and the service was great, although we did find it odd that the milk and tea was on the other side of the room from the coffee and sugar but - so what!! The only downfall really was that there was not really any lounge area, there was a bar with a few tables and (uncomfortable) chairs (apart from four red ones!!!) and you could sit outside if it wasnt raining, but apart from that there were no communal areas (apart from the pool which we didnt use). There was a pool table there but sometimes it was used as a coffee and snacks table for seminars, so you couldnt use it. We actually went to the Hotel Diana on the sea front in the evenings which had a lovely lounge area overlooking the sea and, again, the staff there were superb. All in all, the Celtique was ok, we wouldnt stay there again because Carnac itself has become so commercialised and touristy and has definitely lost its charm. The beach is beautiful but there is hardly anything open and the main drag reminded me of Kavos -- a shanty town!!!! However, I can find no fault with the Celtique Hotel it was really nice.

Celtique56, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Celtique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear Lalli, Thank you for your feedback since it is important for us to know what our clients like or dislike in order to improve our services. You booked classic rooms that are between 12 and 15 square meters. I am sorry to hear it was too small to you. We generally advice our clients to book our superior confort rooms since there are larger and have a modern decoration with balcony and italian shower in a opened bathroom. I have noted your comments on Natacha and I will make her read your comment with pleasure. Thank you for her. However, I have to underlines that the cleaning staff makes the rooms that are on arrival before doing the rooms in which people already leave. It allows us to give you the room you have book the sooner once you arrive at the hotel. I am sorry to hear you thought there were no communal areas enough but with have many chairs that you can sit in. In fact we sometines use our pool table for seminars : I hope this did not prevent you to play. Finally, I am really sorry about the fact you think carnac losts is charm. Why do you note it? Our beaches and cultural heritage are still the same and the shops not only serves for visitors but also for the local inhabitants. I wish you a very good day Regards Eve Le Rouzic Celtique Hôtel & Spa

"Fine Dining it is not!"

2
30/06/2017

Very welcoming reception staff and dining staff But .... the bar does not serve wine!!! In the restaurant, my main course and dessert were both served while my husband was eating his starter !!! Therefore, my main was cold when I ate it, and the mousse type dessert had turned to liquid. The table cloths are plastic but for the prices charged they should at the very least be crisp white linen. Fingers crossed for a better experience at breakfast which costs €16 per person.

Celtique56, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Celtique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear Eileen, Thank you for sharing your experience. I spoke with my colleague from the restaurant about your comment, in order to find an explication. She was the one who served you. She explained you that it was imposible carry our bottles of wine in our bar since it was to small. However, it is absolutely possible to order the glass of wine you want, and my colleague served you one. According to the courses, you had a "plancha", meaning that all your courses were served at the same time. The breakfast costs €16 because it proposes you savoury and sweet meals, there are homemade and, cold and hot, in a buffet. I really wish my explenation would satisfy you and that we would have the pleasure to welcome you again soon. I wish you a wonderful day Best regards, Eve LE ROUZIC

"WERE WE UNLUCKY?"

3
09/06/2017

We stayed 3 nights in room 113. First night there was no hot water and they had no idea why. So no shower. Second and third nights, the chamber-maid simply pulled back the top sheets on the pillows and that was it. The cleaning was almost inexistant. A competent receptionist came to do our beds upon our call on the third night. The hotel mentions a billiard table (a pool) but they used it as a side table to display coffee break for management seminar. They put it back as a billiard table the first two nights but on the third night given all the cups and saucers , etc displayed. we just gave up and didn't bother to ask. So remember to ask if they are going to host a seminar group before you book. They won't provide you with towels at the swimming pool (""because the guests use more than one and it gets very expensive""). The young deputy head listened to us with a charming smile and assured us that things will be OK on our next stay. But we won't come back. We would have appreciated a small goodwill gesture. The staff is friendly.

Celtique56, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Celtique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear client, Thank you for giving you a feedback according to your stay with us. I am sorry to hear that the cleaning were not fine : I told the head housekeeper about your comment to let her speak with her team. I am sincerely sorry that you had such bad experience. Indeed, we sometimes use the billard table as a side table to display coffee break for seminar. However, on the third night you should have mentionned it so we would have made the necessary to move out the things from the billard table. According to the towels for the swimming pool : didn't you find bathrobe in your bedroom? If not, did you ask our team to bring you one? You normally have some in your room. Do not hesistate to answer me, I wish you a wonderful day Best Regards Eve

"Good Hotel"

4
29/05/2017

The Celtique Hotel is situated in the centre of Carnac Plage. The beach, restaurants, bars and shops are within a few minutes walk. The hotel is modern, very clean and well maintained. Staff were friendly and the majority spoke reasonable levels of English. Although we did not use the spa and indoor swimming pool, they seemed compressive and were well frequented by other guest. We paid an extra 30 Euros per night for a ‘superior comfort room' (see photo) and were glad that we did, when we glanced into other rooms, many were very small. Our room consisted of a medium/small bedroom area. There was no actual bathroom; the facility was an alcove within the bedroom containing a shower and wash basin (see photo). This meant that when the light was turned on the whole bedroom was also bathed with light. The only advantage was the separate WC. On one occasion our room was not made up when we returned at 16:00. The TV provided the standard French limited range of English speaking cannels i.e. BBC News & CNN. There was a good-sized sun catching balcony which was unfortunately overlooked by buildings across the street. Breakfast was very much a DIY exercise. The range of food was reasonable with boiled/scrambled eggs and bacon being the only hot options. I am surprised that there have been few comments about the parking facilities. The French do not design public or private car parks, instead they randomly construct claustrophobic obstacle courses. The hotel's free option is very narrow, within which it is virtually impossible to turn and so reversing onto the main road is often the only option. The secure 10 Euros a night option is equally difficult with the added obstacles of a card operated garage door which did not always work, combined with a sturdy iron post and an array of scattered laundry baskets. The Celtique is a hotel where there needs to be just a little effort in ensuring the advantages out way the disadvantages. During our stay we visited Baignoire de Josephine, a bar around the corner from the hotel and also restaurants : - La Plage, Baobat and La Potiniere; all well worth a visit (see reviews).

"Great location and pool."

5
16/05/2017

We have been staying here for over 10 years, on a regular basis.The location is spot on for a young family only one block back from the beach (which is vast) and a couple of blocks from 'downtown' The staff are friendly, attentive and with good spoken English. The rooms are very clean and tidy, almost minimalist, but a little small, unless you opt for a family room - we've had a couple, one that shared a wet-room which was top fun if a little slippy, and one with a mezzanine upstairs room, which our 5 year old absolutely loved (even if the stairs were a little narrow) Even though the hotel is on the main road, it is quite quiet, but a room facing the back is really lovely and quiet - so try for one of those. Parking in high season is always an issue in Carnac, but if its not August, then you should be able to find a spot out the back on the road (for free), but if you are concerned about your car then they do have under cover garages. Don't know how much they are but worth knowing. One block out of the back of the hotel is the beach - incredible, soft sand, gently slopping, great sandcastles, great for a stroll at low tide, great for beach-combing, and paddling with a toddler or infant. Along the beachfront are numerous bars, cafes and restaurants - nothing too posh, nothing too tacky either, but just right. Staying in Carnac (Plage) as opposed to Carnac Town, there are many more eateries, and bars, all vying for your Euro's, and all varying from super-cool bars to very very good restaurants. Booking isn't essential except in August. And if you have little ones, there's a mini funfair too. One of the hotels highlights is the pool - heated, and with a retractable roof, and a dazzling array of Jacuzzi/water jets - its the only thing our son remembers! The hotel restaurant is great for breakfast - light and airy - and the staff worked tirelessly restocking the various dishes - and the coffee is pretty decent too! Not eaten here in the evening so can't comment. Around and about there's loads to do, the beach is always there, but then a stroll into Carnac town is great for market day, and jump on the 'train' for a tour of the "Menhirs" - the standing stones for which Carnac is famous. you can hop on and hop off and make a day of it, or do the whole tour in about an hour. La Trinite sur Mer down the road is a delight to visit too, a small fishing/sailing port with links to the Vendee race. Finally the Spa is really rather good - had a full body massage and fell asleep - par for the course really! Love this place, its not budget, but its not cheap either, but Carnac is such a top place, we'll definitely be back.

"Good location."

4
25/04/2017

We paid extra for 'sea-views', which turned out to be from a duplex suite, i.e. the bed was up some stairs from the main bedroom, with not really what we expected as a sea-view, as the hotel is a few streets back from the sea-front so you only had a glimpse of the sea in between the buildings opposite. Apart from that the room was well-furnished and very comfortable. There was a nice balcony off the room with seating, which was good for sitting outside in what is a relatively quiet area. The hotel itself was modern, clean, and the staff very friendly speaking excellent English. Breakfast was buffet-style with an amazing choice, the scrambled eggs were particularly delicious! We dined here one evening, and the food was equally good. We would stay here again, but would choose a different room!

Celtique56, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Celtique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear client, We are sorry to hear that you have been disappointed with your room. We usually warn our clients about the seaview expression since as you wrote there are buildings in front of our hotel. For your next reservation I advice you to call us so that we would be able to advice you as well as we can about your room type. We are glad to know you had a great stay with us and we sincerely look for welcoming you again soon. We wish you a beautiful day, Best Regards, Eve Le Rouzic

"Clean/ Helpful staff/Great pool"

4
25/02/2017

Stayed for three nights mid week in February.Very welcoming staff. Room was not huge but certainly adequate for 3 night stay. I agree with one or two posts that the bathroom/shower/toilet are not very large but we managed. Our room had a spacious balcony. The breakfasts were superb with a huge range of very good food including bacon and scrambled egg. We ate in the restaurant in the evening on two nights and food was excellent. Pool was excellent jacuzzi was within the pool itself. lovely and warm 31 C. Don,t know about summer may be quite manic.in Carnac

"Busy efficient hotel, quite basic."

4
10/12/2016

This hotel is very popular and busy and for good reasons; it is clean, convenient, offers good continental breakfast and is not too expensive. It is quite basic however with small rooms and very tight bathrooms but not inconveniently small if you organise yourself.

"So Close to the beach and the amenities of the resort"

5
14/09/2016

Not our first visit but a very welcome return. A very pleasant hotel which is kept very clean & tidy. Rooms are very comfortable and roomy. We had a good sized balcony overlooking the front of the hotel. The room was well furnished. We had a safe at our disposal which is handy for securing valuables. Towel's and robes and flip flops provided for use in the Indoor pool and spa. A lift took you from our 1st floor room down to either the reception area or lower to the car park. Breakfast is served in the restaurant downstairs. Breakfast was superb with a good selection of cereals, eggs, bacon, cheeses, cake's, jams, toast. (complimentary to Brittany Ferry bookings). We will come again that's for sure. Carnac being a favourite location. Richard & Kay

"Really mixed feelings about this hotel "

3
07/08/2016

We stayed in this hotel for two nights in early August. Stayed in a family room which slept four people. To get to the room you had to go up to the first floor and then down some external stairs which led to two rooms in the back garden. No lift so carrying luggage up and down the stairs was not great. Whereas the rooms in the main hotel are small but smart, our room was big but featureless. It was literally a big room with beds, a small TV and not much else. A safe would have been nice for storing valuables when going out as would have been some more sockets for charging phones and tablets (room had only two). The toilet had no window or anything else to get fresh air in and had a bad smell that would not go away. We reported this to the hotel but nothing was done about it. The room felt like it was previously a storage room that had been lazily converted into a bedroom. Being on the ground floor at the back of the hotel there was no view of course. Now, given that we paid 440€ for two nights (with no breakfast and booked two months in advance!) we expected better. I appreciate that August is a busy time in Carnac but this was really poor value for money. I have stayed in many hotels all over Europe, the US and Japan and this was by far the worst value for money I ever got. On the good side, the hotel is located 5 minutes' walk from the beach and all the cafes, restaurants and shops. Carnac village is a 20 minute walk away. The swimming pool was great fun for the kids and the hotel has free parking (if you can call it free after what we paid for the room!). Overall we had a great time in Carnac but our room provided poor value for money.

"Sunny balcony"

4
26/07/2016

A friendly staff made for an easy check in. We had a small balcony and asked if they had anything bigger and we were quickly moved to a room with a bigger and sunny balcony, 08:00 to 19:45 was all sun. A really nice breakfast with good choices. There was also, usually a selection of freebies such as biscuits, fruit, local cake and cold drinks by the reception area. The hotel is only a few yards from the beach, promenade and plenty of good restaurants and bars nearby. We had a suite which was comfortable although the stairs to the bed/sleeping area were quite steep. We would like to have seen the restaurant's dinner menu on display but never asked and never ate there. The pool area got the sun after lunch and looked quite pleasant although we didn't use it or the Spa. All in all a nice clean hotel, we'll run and in a good location, we would quite happily go back. Oh, and plenty easy parking at the hotel or nearby.

"coach trip holiday"

4
12/07/2016

we travelled from Glasgow. we stayed 6 nights. lovely hotel, very clean and great friendly staff. we had a room with a balcony at the front. we had a good sized room with plenty storage. tea/coffee making facilities. breakfast was fantastic. 11 different breads etc. fresh fruit, cereals, dried fruit, cakes, cold meats, cheeses, 6 assorted jams, fruit juices and tea and coffee. evening meals were good. we got a starter, main and sweet. we were given a starter but if you did not like it we got lettuce and melon. main courses were either meat or fish with some veg. the puddings were lovely. prices in the bar were not too bad for wines and beers. you could walk to the shops and bars within a few minutes. the tourist train is good to see round the town and goes up to see all the famous carnac stones. we were impressed with the hotel. when we were there there were 2 coaches plus other guests some with children but we found the hotel nice and quiet.

"Nice location"

4
09/07/2016

We stayed here for one night and were pleasantly surprised. The location is central, room was spacious and the pool was pleasant. The only criticism I could come up with is that the parking spaces are tight and it is not easy to move your car around. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

"Pleasant stay"

5
26/06/2016

We booked this hotel as part of an itinerary through Brittany Ferries and we were very pleasantly surprised by the quality, cleanliness and reception that we received. The breakfast was more than sufficient with both hot and cold choices available. We did not have a balcony room but it was still very acceptable. It is only a short walk to the beach and surrounding restaurants and bars with a good choice of food. It is a 20 minute walk to Carnac centre where the market is held on Wednesday and Saturday. All in all a good choice for our 2 day break in Carnac

"Great hotel in a good position"

5
22/06/2016

I stayed here for one night after travelling down from St Malo before going on to Bordeux. The staff are friendly and welcoming and the price is reasonable. I had a great room with a balcony and the room had tea and coffee making facilities. There is a restaurant and bar area and also a swimming pool. I would definitely stay here again.

"perfect location"

5
04/06/2016

Lovely hotel in a great location. Its just a few minutes walk from the beach and also had a lovely swimming pool. We paid a bit extra and got a room with a balcony which was a great place to sit at the end of the day. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance to suit all tastes. Carnac is a great place to visit and we have been many times.

"Not keen on the food"

3
15/05/2016

If you like raw meat, fish and eggs this hotel won't disappoint. I didn't like the beer much either. The room was fine though. It is very close to the beach and the Neolithic monuments which is why I was there but I wouldn't stay there again.q

"Wonderful stay"

5
15/05/2016

I came here for the 4th time; always with a group. Professional reception; nice bar; moderate prices; some rooms are great, a few with a steep staircase up to a maisonette bed only for people with good health ;-) Laure, Lauranne, M Richard and the whole crew is really trying to help - with taxis, information, etc. Too bad that the French system for boiling eggs also here demands either good luck or several tries ... the indoor pool is nice; massage also available (a bit expensive I found, but nice); the dinner was great: good quality, interesting meals, fair price; good wines etc. Very close to the beach and to the main shopping street in Carnac!!!

"The best way to relax "

4
11/05/2016

If you are looking a peaceful hotel to spend some days to relax and rest so the Celtique hotel is your place. Me and my wife we spend nearly 2 days to celebrate our 2 years anniversary in the hotel and we have so good time! Excellent food and breakfast! The spa was awesome make our body's to rest and refresh! Friendly staff and always smiling for sure we will come back..

"Easter break"

5
04/04/2016

Hard to fault this hotel. We had a lovely time over 4 days there. Maybe the dinner menu is a little limited but what they had was excellent. Highly recommended. The room was large, well equipped and very clean. We would be happy to return any time.

"Quality hotel in good location"

4
22/02/2016

Nice hotel for a 1 night stay in Carnac. Hotel was clean and comfortable with friendly staff. Perfect location for exploring the local area and within walking distance to restaurants if you don't want to eat in the hotel itself. Breakfast included a good selection of food, including some local specialties. We had a lovely room that had a mezzanine despite staying just as a couple. Would definitely recommend for short stays in this area.

"very nice holidays in Carnac"

5
16/09/2015

very nice place. Very good reception, many people to help and you are kindly received. Good organization of lunch, very good and quality meals spa is a plus with very qualified people to help and give services Very nice room

"One night in Carnac"

5
16/09/2015

When arriving 2 marvellous smile where receiving me. Awesome employees attitude very friendly and helpful, a good surprise when I discover a large terrace in my room, with coffee and biscuit The piscine and the Spa are perfect and clean. So globally a great experience at very reasonable cost, do not hesitate to select it

"Excellent for its category!"

4
15/09/2015

We came to the hotel in a large group to visit the Carnac megaliths. In the same time other groups were present or coming. The service was excellent and prompt. Breakfasts and dinners were outstanding and service quite good. A note for the quality of food! It seems that the master chef award was given for good reasons.

"Good stay and nice spot !"

4
18/07/2015

Enjoyable stay. Had air-conditioned rooms with safe deposit boxes and hand held hairdryers. Staff very friendly and helpful. Hotel car park available at 24-hour rate. Spa and swimming pool (not very big) in hotel. Restaurant food was good and served with a smile, however the waiting time between courses was a bit too long for my taste. Pet and children friendly hotel. Hotel situated in a great location.

"great spot"

4
13/07/2015

super room - 4 bedded room with the twin being on a mezzanine level - kids delighted with same. small but really well appointed. well positioned within the town - close to central part of town. didn't get a chance to avail of pool etc - but looked great

"An enjoyable expierience"

5
09/07/2015

Ideally situated within throwing distance of the beach we were a little wary of this hotel as it was a Best Western and in the past we have had bad experiences with them. We need not have worried Brittany Ferries who booked it on our behalf had done there homework. The rooms were spotless and the staff helpful and accommodating. We dined in and the food was well up to standard. Free wifi - of course. Any compalints - non.

DANIEL R, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN PLUS Celtique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
merci merci

"GOOD RECEPTION STAFF BUT SMALL ROOMS"

3
25/06/2015

We recently stayed on a package via Brittany Ferries and found the reception staff excellent but suggest the room was very small and given the weather warm difficult to cool room .Not too sure if in the height of Summer if the room would have been suitable ? The hotel a good basic hotel no frills but does offer good service with limited car park space

DANIEL R, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Celtique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 02 97 52 14 15 . Sincerely, Daniel Richard BEST WESTERN PLUS Celtique Hotel & Spa

"Used as golfing base"

4
26/05/2015

Nice hotel with good breakfast, clean, compact rooms and nice spa and swimming pool for relaxing. Location is close to the promenade and beach. On site parking is limited but during quiet periods street parking is available at both front and rear of hotel. Minor points were that our room had twin beds pushed together and with no space to separate them; that the bathroom sink, unusually has no facility for holding water in it and the tap is too close to the basin edge! Who designs these hotel rooms?

"Short Break"

4
30/07/2014

Just returned from a short break in Carnac Plage. The hotel met all our needs. Ideally located it is only 2 minutes from the beach and a 5 minutes stroll to the nearby 'main street' and its restaurants/shops. The hotel is modern, clean and the staff were always polite and friendly. The kids enjoyed the pool during a cloudy spell that forced us off the beach. We didnt use the spa facilities but it looked a nice facility. The breakfast was leisurely, continental and enjoyable. Overall we enjoyed our first visit to Carnac and would return to the hotel again. The car park was limited, we were lucky, parked our car and left it for the 5 days. However there are residential streets around the hotel that could be used. Rather than use our car we opted to hire bicycles from the shop 2 minutes away...a fun way to explore the area. Would recommend the hotel

reception56, Responsable relations clients at BEST WESTERN PLUS Celtique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review
Dear Madam/Sir, Thank you very much for letting us know how was your stay with us. We are really pleased to see that everything met your expectations. Be sure that all staff will be informed. We look forward to hosting you again! Best regards, Camille/reception department