Room 1
Room 2
Room 3
Promotion code

Best Western Plus Golden Lakes Hotel, Boussu-Lez-Walcourt

Route de la Plate Taille 51 bis, 6440, Boussu-lez-walcourt, Belgium - See on a map
Best Western Plus Golden Lakes Hotel - Best Western Plus Golden Lakes Village Hotel The Best Western Plus Golden Lakes Hotel is ideally located in the center of Boussu-Lez-Walcourt. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

Set in outstanding unique natural scenery, by the banks of Platte Taille Lake amid the Eau d’Heure lakes, the Best Western Plus Golden Lakes Hotel is a Best Western certified 4 Star establishment. The hotel forms part of the Golden Lakes Village, a holiday village of 200 homes built by the banks of the lake. It has 79 prestige rooms, studios and apartments enjoying an extraordinary panoramic view over the lakes and the beauty of the site. A Seminar Centre with fully equipped flexible spaces that complete the hotel's offer, making the Golden Lakes a consummately 4 Star hotel. The Best Western Plus Golden Lakes Hotel aims to be a place of well-being, with an emphasis on nature, the green spaces and bodies of water. In the Golden Lakes Village Estate the roads are replaced by picturesque pedestrian paths. The noise of the city gives way to the trickling of fountains and jets of water. The stretches of water give a unique sense of freedom and tranquility. Recently designated European Destination of Excellence, the Eau d’Heure Lakes region is situated less than an hour from Brussels and the big cities of Wallonia (Charleroi-Mons-Namur) but also at the gates to the Ardennes (Dinant), very near the Hauts de France. an ideal place to escape to for the weekend, or longer should the fancy take you. The Best Western Plus Golden Lakes Hotel welcomes you all year round to enjoy nature in all its glory.

Best Western Plus

Golden Lakes Hotel




Hotel advantages

  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Indoor pool
    Indoor pool
  • Air conditioning
    Air conditioning
  • Free parking
    Free parking
  • Outdoor parking
    Outdoor parking
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
  • Safe deposit box
    Safe deposit box
  • Steam bath
    Steam bath
  • Multilingual staff
    Multilingual staff
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
based on 91 guest reviews
Very Good
Business Business
Couples Couples
Family Family
Friends getaway Friends getaway
Solo travel Solo travel
Sleep Quality

"Wonderful lake view"

User 02/05/2021

Wonderful lake view, chosen spaceful studio with garden terrace. Obviously COVID situation forced us to eat in-house (good quality simple food from jars or food truck). A bit disappointed by low quality toilet paper, lack of coffee machine in room (Nescafé and yellow Lipton is not what you expect from four stars) and charmless living-room.

Michaël Visée, General Manager at Best Western Plus Golden Lakes Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Sophie, And thank you for your comments which allow us to improve our services. I am quite surprised by your remark concerning the quality of the toilet paper which is the one imposed on us by the Best Western brand, double ply. All rooms have a kettle for making yourself a coffee as well as three types of Lipton tea: yellow, red and purple. Nespresso coffee machines are available in suites and VIP suites I hope to have answered your questions and it is with pleasure that we welcome you for a future stay. Cordially.

"Loud noises from constuction workers in the same hotel from 08am all day long"

673beppez, Brussels, Belgium 09/04/2021

Despite having a nice, spacious room, we were disappointed with 3 full days from 08am until 6.30pm. The noises were unbearable waking us up before 8am. We didn't expect this, going to this place for some quiet time was not worse than staying in the city. We couldn't enjoy the view with 5 construction workers in front of our window and balcony. The staff were incredibly not helpful. They didn't even bother to change our room nor to express any apologies.

Michaël Visée, General Manager at Best Western Plus Golden Lakes Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Mr Beppe, Thank you for your comments which allow us to improve our services. First of all, I wanted to apologize, on behalf of the entire team, if your stay did not meet your expectations. We are in fact carrying out expansion work on the hotel restaurant with a view to its reopening in May, but we are careful with noise so that it does not disturb the stay of our customers. The hotel being full during all the Easter holidays, it is indeed not easy for us to find another quieter room. May I ask you to contact me again at the reception address:, by sending this message to the management, so that I can chat directly with you. Thank you in advance for your answer and again apologize for the inconvenience caused. Cordially.

"Pleasant Stay with a Few Downfalls"

mrstraveller1, York, United Kingdom 28/03/2021

We were staying at the hotel due to its proximity (20 minute drive) to the Mariembourg Race Track where we were participating in a competition. The area is quiet & rural. In addition to the hotel, there are various villas to rent within the resort. The lakeside setting is pleasant, & there are numerous activities if you're here on vacation, such as cycling, golf, sailing & zip-lining. The hotel & villas are a modular construction & not finished to a particularly high standard, but they're stylishly decorated & provided a good base for our needs. Beds were comfortable, the shower excellent & the environment tranquil. Our premium 2 bed apartment was lake facing & had a kitchenette (tiny microwave & 2 ring hob) plus a fulsome supply of crockery & cutlery. These facilities were useful as the restaurant was closed due to Covid during our visit. (In normal times there is an on-site brasserie, plus other restaurants within a short drive). A food truck was operational on a weekend, & the dishes we tried were ok. Breakfast was a decent spread, served in a covid compliant takeaway box. Reception staff were always helpful & efficient in our experience, & pre-stay emails answered swiftly. Less positively, WiFi was literally none existent in our room. Conversely, friends staying in a villa received mega WiFi speeds. Another let down was housekeeping. On our first day I had to enquire (around 5pm) if we were going to get a room service. Thereafter we did, but it's a very cursory swish round, & bizarrely, items of cutlery disappeared never to be returned! Our villa friends reported a similarly disappointing housekeeping service. Overall then, a pleasant stay, but a few areas to improve upon.

Michaël Visée, General Manager at Best Western Plus Golden Lakes Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Mrs Traveler, Thank you for your comments which describe in detail our various services both in the hotel and in the village. Please note that we take your comments into account and that the various services (technical and cleaning) have been informed and will do their utmost to improve the dysfunctions observed. Thank you for your stay and hope to welcome you again.


User 09/11/2020

Nice rooms and new, good beds and pillows. The kitchen dishes were NOT clean, bathroom with NOT toilet paper, not kleenex, NO towels.., I had to go to the reception and to make the big line just to ask for that. They dont clean the room, the cleaning lady arrived just to pick up the garbage bags from the kitchen and toilet, she said, they dont clean, only pick up the garbage bags.

"Very nice stay eith family"

720amelia720, Delft, The Netherlands 22/01/2020

The hotel is quite new, so some things are stil unfinished by the time we were there. But the important things are done and plenty available like the room, the kitchenette, the restaurant. Breakfast is good enough for the price, they even give discounts for children. Swimming pool is a bit far for toddler/little children to walk, especially after a couple of hours swimming. Too bad we did not really find the Wellness, not sure it it was open anyway. We were nicely surprised when entering the room because the website is not very clear about which room you exactly get. I booked for family room with dining area, without kitchenette but got one at the end. Clean kitchenette, clean room. The make up the room were done after 14u so when we got back in the afternoon the room was not yet cleaned. They dis not fill in the amenities everyday maybe if you ask they would. Rooms are not vacuumed everyday maybe if you ask they will? There was a small spider web in the bathroom. But overal it was clean enough and neat. Sheets were good, coffee facilities were not much and not everyday added. Not all the staff speak English but some speak Dutch as well. Tips: staying in this hotel would be great in summer. 7 out of 10 activities in the Crocodile Rouge are closed, only open from April - Okt or Nov.

DirectionGLV, Manager at Best Western Plus Golden Lakes Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Amelia, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Thank you again for taking the time to comment your stay. We appreciate your feed back Yours sincerely,

"Friends weekend "

Ms_Madmax, Brussels, Belgium 02/11/2019

This is an amazing hotel at a mesmerizing spot hidden in Belgium. This new hotel has everything you need to have a memorable stay The service and facilities are just great wow ! Also it's a great location for business events

DirectionGLV, Directeur général at Best Western Plus Golden Lakes Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Mr. Madmax, Thank you for sharing your opinion and for your excellent comments, I will not fail to share with our entire team. It is with pleasure that we welcome you for a next stay. Yours Sincerely. The Management.

"A bit isolated "

RafaeloA, Wilmington, Delaware 15/10/2019

The best western Golden Lakes hotel is located about 1.5 hours driving from Brussels airport. It serves our plans perfectly well on our way south to France. The hotel is new and the rooms were big enough, comfortable, clean, and well equipped. Rather than been a bit isolated, the hotel is a good option for travelers in this area.

DirectionGLV, Directeur général at Best Western Plus Golden Lakes Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Rafaelo, Thank you for you nice comments and your follow up. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. As you can imagine, the fact we are isolated (but about 30 minutes from a major City) is exactly what our customers are looking for (nature, water,...) We hope you will come back and see us again soon. Yours sincerely,

"Distinctly Below Average"

LondonFamily88, London, United Kingdom 21/09/2019

The hotel is well situated on the lake, and the view from my relatively spacious rooms was great. The building is new and so the room was well equipped. The service was wanting, across almost all areas. While the check was satisfactory, when I asked a question at the tourist information desk I effectively was tossed a pamphlet by a woman who could not or would not even look me in the eye; it was actually insulting. Rarely have I come across someone less suited to public interactions. The service in the restaurant was barely acceptable, it was certainly not attentive and apparently they don't want to sell more red wine, I practically had to tackle the wait staff to get a second glass. I don't know if it is Belgium or this establishment, but I will not be returning.

DirectionGLV, Directeur général at Best Western Plus Golden Lakes Hotel, responded to this review
Dear, Thank you for your comments and to help us improving our services. Unfortunately, the tourist information is public and not under our management but I won't miss to let them know our disappointment. Concerning the restaurant, We are sorry to read you have not been fully satisfied. We usually have great feedback. We hope you enjoyed the food. Despite your strong decision not to come again, we would love to be seeing you again and making things up. We can ensure you that Belgium and our place are both usually considered very welcoming :-). Yours Sincerely.

"Great hotel, unfriendly staff at restaurant"

reizigerhollanda, netherlands 17/09/2019

The hotel is great. The rooms are clean, big enough, the breakfastbuffet is great, lots to choose from (although i do not eat breakfast). The people at the reception and the cleaners etc are helpfull and friendly But we also tried to eat diner in the restaurant and the staff unfortunately was not really helpful or friendly. We were the first ones in there and first had a drink (and already really had to do our best to get the staffs attention, because they were preparing for dinner or just chatting). Afterwards, after more than an hour they told us that there was no place for dinner (fully booked) and asked us to leave to make room, although we were hotel guests. In the evening we went back for drinks, but they were really trying to look us away, they even put on their coat as a signal that we had to hurry. Thats just bad hospitality.

DirectionGLV, Directeur général at Best Western Plus Golden Lakes Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Madam Reiziger, We thank you for your feedback and your nice coments concerning the hote, the breakfast and staff and we are sorry to read you were not pleased with the service of our restaurant. They did everything in their power to satisfy you: • They served you a drink at 5:30 PM even though they were still closed and needed your table to prep the restaurant; • They tried to find a table for you. However, as it is usually the case on Saturday night, our restaurant was fully booked. Considering the fact that you were 10, unfortunately, it was impossible to fit all of you in. Therefore, they kindly recommended other restaurants in the area to you; • The waitress you saw putting up her coat was actually starting the next day at 6 AM and therefore left the service earlier to get a bit of sleep. Client satisfaction is always our priority. So again, we are sorry we did not meet your requirements and would love to be able to serve your group in the future. Hoping we have the pleasure to see you again, we would highly recommend that for your next stay you book a table in advance. Yours sincerely,

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.