ROOM 1
ROOM 2
ROOM 3
Promotion code

Norfolk Royale Hotel, BW Signature Collection, Bournemouth

Richmond Hill, BH2 6EN, Bournemouth, Great Britain - See on a map
Norfolk Royale Hotel, BW Signature Collection - Norfolk Royale Hotel, BW Signature Collection The Norfolk Royale Hotel, BW Signature Collection is ideally located in the center of Bournemouth. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

Timeless luxury on the south coast. A former summer home of the Duke of Norfolk, the Norfolk Royale Hotel, BW Signature Collection is a well-heeled 4 Star Edwardian hotel right in the center of Bournemouth. It is only a short stroll from the resort’s major attractions, including its award-winning gardens and Blue Flag Beaches. You will never be short of things to do in Bournemouth, but if you do want to venture further afield, there is the New Forest and the world-famous Jurassic Coast to explore. A stay with us means you can relax in elegant surroundings, and we have an impressive array of facilities to enjoy. Our 95 spacious bedrooms include deluxe rooms, suites and family rooms with bunk beds. All come with Molton Brown® toiletries, free Wi-Fi and satellite television with in-house movies. We have a glass-roofed heated indoor pool and sauna where you can steam your troubles away, and in summer why not make the most of the good weather with al fresco dining on the Veranda?

Best Western Plus

Norfolk Royale Hotel, BW Signature Collection

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Hotel advantages

  • Restaurant
    Restaurant
  • Spa
    Spa
  • Heated pool
    Heated pool
  • Cocktail lounge
    Cocktail lounge
  • 24-hour front desk
    24-hour front desk
  • Safe deposit box
    Safe deposit box
  • Sauna
    Sauna
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
based on 2415 guest reviews
NOTE ISSUED
Excellent
881
Very Good
856
Average
407
Poor
162
Terrible
110
REFER TO NOTICE
Business Business
206
Couples Couples
1113
Family Family
582
Friends getaway Friends getaway
320
Solo travel Solo travel
55
SUMMARY NOTES
Cleanliness
Location
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Value

"Worth the trip!"

4
377Jan, London, United Kingdom 19/04/2019

Just finishing up our 2 night stay here at the Norfolk and for a last minute break away, it's been worth it! I traveled with my husband and 2 children under 5. The hotel is very close to town, the beach and lots of restaurants, great to be able to walk to places. The hotel itself is old and dated in some areas but it's clean and spacious; we upgraded to a premier room which was more than big enough for the kids, (sofa bed provided by hotel and we brought our own travel cot), nice big bathroom although the room was quite warm. Our room was facing the main road so a lot of noisy traffic,(motorbikes mainly), therefore could not leave the window open - ask for a room at the back if you can. (I would have asked to swap rooms if we stayed for longer) Breakfast was simple but ok, pool is smaller than it shows on photo but sufficient enough and nice and warm for the kids. Car park is underground, expensive for £16 a night but no other choice. All in all, would visit Bournemouth again but might try another hotel / apartment as I think it may be cheaper if we were to stay for longer.

"Would not go back"

2
stevekarenj, Manchester, United Kingdom 16/04/2019

Usually stay at the Best Western Royale at Bournemouth but was booked up so tried the Norfolk. First issue £16 for 24 hour parking, the Royale charges £4 and nothing for Best Western Platinum members. I booked the executive queen room, which was large but head room was a problem in places due to the roof. The room was very tired, the light shades looked as if they have been there for 20 years without cleaning, the windows inside and out was filthy. The bathroom was relatively new but was not particularly clean full of grime. Bed was lumpy and did not have a particular good night. Now the beakfast, I travel a lot through work so I know a good beakfast when I see one. This was not one of them! It was self service and the food had been stud around for a long period, the sausages being like bullets. The juices was all empty had to late for them to be filled (had nearly finished by the time this had been done) complained to reception about the experience, she said she would tell the manager, also complained about the parking again to be told it was nothing to do with the hotel even though the car park sits in the hotel basement. If you want a Best Western in Bournemouth book the Royale, much better parking, breakfast and the rooms are clean.

"Tenth visit. excellent as always"

5
User 15/04/2019

Good service, excellent meals, old hotel but rooms always well maintained. Head waitress, Inmaculada, was very efficient and also very friendly and helpful. We have always had a good experience after many out of season visits. Perfect place for good close access to the town, beach and other amenities.

Norfolk_GM, Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your wonderful feedback, the staff do pride themselves on the service they offer to all our guests and enjoy reading feedback such as yours. We look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel for your 11th stay. Kind Regards Paul James Deputy General Manager

"Central Location "

5
aic04, Desborough, United Kingdom 14/04/2019

Lovely centrally located hotel, all the staff we encountered were friendly and professional. Stayed in a family room, the room was spacious and suited our needs for 3 of us. We enjoyed the use of the heated swimming pool, which very few of the other guests used. Our booking included breakfast, there was plenty of variety of hot and cold food. The car park provided ample parking, whilst pricy this is comparable to car parks in the area. The only negative is the dated decor, however everything was clean, tidy and functional.

Norfolk_GM, Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your wonderful feedback, the staff do pride themselves on the service they offer to all our guests and enjoy reading feedback such as yours. We look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel in the future. Kind Regards Paul James Deputy General Manager

"Great afternoon tea"

5
d_shute, Bournemouth, United Kingdom 12/04/2019

Came here for afternoon tea recently, courtesy of a Christmas gift. All coming with a glass of champagne each, sandwiches excellent cakes lovely and scones with a generous amount of jam and cream. Tea nice too, we had 'breakfast tea' from their range. Not busy but with people coming and going all the time.

Norfolk_GM, Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your wonderful feedback, the staff do pride themselves on the service they offer to all our guests and enjoy reading feedback such as yours. We look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel in the future. Kind Regards Paul James Deputy General Manager

"Amazing stay as part of Atlantis Lodges"

5
viresh-patel-ashton, London, United Kingdom 09/04/2019

Had an amazing stay at Norfolk Royale hotel in bournemouth with my entire group. Nice and friendly staff, amazing atmosphere. The food was great especially the chicken !!! Will surely consider holding more events here in future. Thanks Mehroz, Sherrell, Inma and everyone else at the Norfolk Royale for amazing hospitality. Pass our compliments to the bar staff as well as chef.

Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review
Dear viresh-pate-ashton Thank you for your wonderful feedback, the staff do pride themselves on the service they offer to all our guests and enjoy reading feedback such as yours. It was a pleasure to hold your event here at the Hotel and do hope we will see you all again! Kind Regards Rachel Painter-Scott General Manager

"Sad to see the changes "

3
Michael L, Icklesham, United Kingdom 06/04/2019

Went on the recommend as four star hotel carpet in some public areas very worn, one bottle of gin only in bar after three days still not available No hot water one morning The hotel is sadly going down hill from its hey day

Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your feedback, I am so very sorry that we did not exceed your expectations, your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future, so that we have the chance to show the improvements we have made. Kind Regards Rachel Painter-Scott General Manager

"WOW!"

5
User 26/03/2019

My husband surprised me by booking a night in the honeymoon suite at this hotel. The outside of the hotel doesn't do it justice at all; the inside is beautiful! When I walked in, I felt like I had just stepped into a Disney palace. The reception area wonderfully decorated with a big staircase. The lifts aren't the best and are slow. (Dont go in them if you have a phobia of lifts as they are very small). As soon as we stepped into the honeymoon suite I couldn't believe my eyes. It is basically your own apartment. There is a hallway, with a spacious bathroom on the left. In there is a large shower, large sink, toilet and a huge jacuzzi bath with a tv in the wall! There are Molton brown toiletries that smell incredible and heated towel rails. The bedroom is beautiful decorated with a giant bed!! It is very modern, with a sofa, seating area and even a walk in wardrobe. The wardrobe has everything you need - hairdryer, safe, iron & ironing board. The tv was quite hard to use as it was motion activated & we couldn't find a menu on the tv to see what was on and when. We ordered room service as we really wanted the feel of luxury and it didn't disappoint. The staff were so helpful and their food is delicious. Definitely recommend the pizza, it was unreal. I've seen some reviews about the noise from the town. We could only hear people from the bars if we had the window open in the wardrobe. When it was shut we didn't hear anything. This hotel is just amazing, and we will 100% be returning!

Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review
Dear CourtBrett Thank you for your fantastic review! The staff do pride themselves on the service they offer to all our guests and enjoy reading feedback such as yours. We look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel in the future. Kind Regards Rachel Painter-Scott General Manager

"An enjoyable four night stay"

5
User 25/03/2019

The hotel is very comfortable, serves good food and is yards from the centre of Bournemouth town with its shops, leisure facilities and and very pretty parks. The hotel serves enjoyable food and has the additional attraction of being a short distance through pretty gardens to the beach.

Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review
Dear James W Thank you for your wonderful feedback, the staff do pride themselves on the service they offer to all our guests and enjoy reading feedback such as yours. We look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel in the future. Kind Regards Rachel Painter-Scott General Manager

"Excellent afternoon tea!"

5
DorsetHubby, Dorset, United Kingdom 24/03/2019

Had afternoon tea, courtesy of a Groupon voucher. Made to feel very welcome, sandwiches were excellent and fresh, cakes were also very good. Scones were wonderful, much better than some we have had for afternoon tea elsewhere. Oh, and also a glass of decent champagne ( not cheap stuff that some try to fob you off with.) All round a very pleasant hour for myself and my wife.

Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review
Dear DorsetHubby Thank you for your wonderful feedback, the staff do pride themselves on the service they offer to all our guests and enjoy reading feedback such as yours. We look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel in the future. Kind Regards Rachel Painter-Scott General Manager

"Really tired - not 4 star"

1
User 18/03/2019

We stayed on Saturday night for an event that we were attending, and stayed in room 226 on the second floor. As we were running late for the event, I didn't really have time to complain or ask to get moved. The hotel: The hotel isn't just tired - its exhausted and it definitely isn't 4 star. It needs a complete overhaul. The room: The room was quite large but very dark and it hadn't been thoroughly cleaned. The bath panel was broken so hanging off, there was dirt and hair in the corners of the bathroom, the tiles were cracked. The towels that were provided were torn and frayed. And the surfaces were dusty. I was looking for a pen and opened the drawer next to the bed which was full of dirty tissues and old kids activity packs. The event that we attended went reasonably well - the food was OK considering that it was cooked en masse. For one night it was bearable - would be pretty peeved if I was here for longer.

Norfolk_GM, Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your feedback, I am so very sorry that we did not exceed your expectations, your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future, so that we have the chance to show the improvements we have made. Kind Regards Paul James Deputy General Manager

"Not 4 star!"

1
Scenic32836724139, Exeter, United Kingdom 11/03/2019

Lots of maintenance issues, cleanliness of the room was not up the scratch (stains, dirt and holes in furniture and bath panel was coming off). Not what we were expecting from a four star hotel. The hotel is also very dated- definitely not as advertised.

Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your feedback, I am so very sorry that we did not exceed your expectations, your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future, so that we have the chance to show the improvements we have made. Kind Regards Rachel Painter-Scott General Manager

"Disappointing Return but still great"

3
billybluehat, Blandford Forum, United Kingdom 01/03/2019

We have been here many times and always enjoy our stay. This visit was very disappointing. The check in was not good. We always arrive early and understand that the rooms will not be ready until 3 pm, but normally do the paper work to save time for everyone arriving at 3 pm. The receptionist was very insistent that she would do nothing until that time. I returned at 2 pm to read the paper and a very helpful lady member of staff said that it was no problem and our room was ready. The food here never disappoints which was true until Saturday night when the service was very very slow. There was an additional party in another room obviously stretching the kitchen and staff. I received the wrong order as did an adjacent table. We were addressed by a waitress as “guys”. This maybe picky, but in a lovely English Hotel you don't want Americanisms creeping in. We did not get our tea and coffee order at breakfast. The lift really does need repairing. The door is sluggish and the lift is very slow. However. We love this Hotel, the staff are brilliant, with one exception! It is clean cosy, lovely. It is great value for money, But a bit more staff trading on the front desk may be prudent. But al in all no real complaints but thank you for the stay. I hope my comment on the first receptionist is addressed. She is the Hotels face

Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review
Dear billybluehat Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am very sorry that you experienced some dissapointment during this stay, I will be taking these issues up dierctly with the staff involved and ensure corrective training takes place as this is not what I expect from my staff. I do hope you will visit us again in the future. Kind Regards Rachel Painter-Scott General Manager

"4 day break."

5
Derek H, Leeds, United Kingdom 28/02/2019

Arrived in Bournemouth by rail, taxi from the station approx. 5 mins only. Easy check in with reception staff polite and efficient. We stayed in an executive room on the third floor, easy to get to as there is 2 lifts, very clean and tidy, everywhere in the hotel. We were also on a DBB basis, food first class and plenty of choices, and so was the service in the restaurant. There is a swimming pool, which we did not use, and car parking is available at £16 a day. Very close to Bournemouth square where yo can get buses to just about anywhere in the area,( and lovely gardens to walk thru) and the town centre is also close by. The pier and beach is about a 7/10 minute walk from the hotel and we were so lucky with the spring type weather in February.

Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Derek H Thank you for your wonderful feedback, the staff do pride themselves on the service they offer to all our guests and enjoy reading feedback such as yours. It was lovely to read that you found the food to be first class along side the service. We look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel in the future. Kind Regards Rachel Painter-Scott General Manager

"Luxury treat"

5
Gibgal, Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom 24/02/2019

Stayed in twin room as treat to myself. Was upgraded to a beautiful room on top floor. Comfortable bed, huge tv, shower lovely. Toiletries in bathroom very welcome. Ate in lounge one evening. Good value in a relaxed setting. Breakfast was plentiful with lots of choice. Didnt use the pool. As i was mostly on my own, i felt safe in the hotel. An incident with my room and another guest was dealt with swiftly and to my satisfaction. It's the second time I've stayed here. Will definitely stay again. Love the decor in the hotel.

Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Glbgal Thank you for your wonderful feedback, the staff do pride themselves on the service they offer to all our guests and enjoy reading feedback such as yours. We look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel in the future. Kind Regards Rachel Painter-Scott General Manager

"gold voucher 2 day break jan 2019"

5
larrygee464, Essex, United Kingdom 21/02/2019

stayed here many times over the years . hotel has fabulous location for central bournemouth , cinemas and shops . we have booked again for march . had dbb package for 2 night and its very good value . food was great , staff were great .

Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your wonderful feedback, the staff do pride themselves on the service they offer to all our guests and enjoy reading feedback such as yours. We look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel in the future. Kind Regards Rachel Painter-Scott General Manager

"High quality lunch"

5
Julian M, Dorset, United Kingdom 12/02/2019

We wanted to go somewhere a bit special for lunch and so went to the Norfolk-Royale Hotel on Richmond Hill. It is not "trendy" just traditional high standard. Good quality cutlery and table linen gave a good first impression and the food was excellent: calm, unfussy service.

Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Julian M Thank you for your wonderful feedback, the staff do pride themselves on the service they offer to all our guests and enjoy reading feedback such as yours. We look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel in the future. Kind Regards Rachel Painter-Scott General Manager

"Short break with Friends"

5
LouLouTS67, Rayleigh, United Kingdom 12/02/2019

We stayed at the Norfolk for three nights. On arrival we were advised that the standard twin room we'd booked had been upgraded to a deluxe for no extra charge, which was nice. We chose the Norfolk following a friends recommendation as we wanted a hotel with a pool and a nice lounge area. Our room was very nice, comfy beds, lots of pillows, tasteful decor. Only minor issue was that it was very warm, even with the radiator turned off, we had to have the windows wide open all day and night (in February). The lounge area was nice, with plenty of comfy seats, the enclosed veranda area was cooler and also had comfy seating. We requested seats on the veranda for our afternoon tea, which was delicious. The breakfasts, bar food and afternoon tea were all lovely and good portions. One of our group has a food allergy and this was catered for with no issues. Staff were excellent, very friendly and hard working. Rooms were very clean, girls on reception were very efficient and the restaurant and bar staff were all very good too. Lewis in particular was superb - loved his attention to detail when setting out the afternoon tea! Would definitely recommend.

Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review
Dear LouLouTS67 Thank you for your wonderful feedback, the staff do pride themselves on the service they offer to all our guests and enjoy reading feedback such as yours. We look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel in the future. Kind Regards Rachel Painter-Scott General Manager

"Average Hotel"

3
strontiumdog66, Bristol, United Kingdom 11/02/2019

Stayed in family room with wife and 2 children. Hotel was way too hot. Think this is because a lot of elderly stay here and maybe they need the temperature at 30 degrees. Staff were friendly. Room was clean and spacious. Pros: Hotel was clean. Friendly staff. Good size family room. Cons: WAY too hot. Smelt like an old peoples home. Dated decor.

Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review
Dear strontiumdog66 Thank you for your feedback, I am so very sorry that we did not exceed your expectations, your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future, so that we have the chance to show the improvements we have made. Kind Regards Rachel Painter-Scott General Manager

"Great Staff"

4
Kairah1111, Isleworth, United Kingdom 01/02/2019

Stayed for one night during a trip to Bournemouth. The breakfast was lovely, great selection and attentive staff. We did not use the pool facilities but they looked good too. The hotel is good for what we paid and the room was big and kept very clean.

Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review
Dear Kalrah1111 Thank you for your wonderful feedback, the staff do pride themselves on the service they offer to all our guests and enjoy reading feedback such as yours. We look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel in the future. Kind Regards Rachel Painter-Scott General Manager

"Family weekend to celebrate an 80th Birthday"

5
User 31/01/2019

Family of 20 enjoyed a weekend together at this hotel. The food and service was excellent and the staff showed a constant willingness to provide everything that was required. The rooms were very comfortable and well appointed. The spa facilities were of a high standard and enjoyed by all members of the family.

Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review
Dear minister24 Thank you for your wonderful feedback, the staff do pride themselves on the service they offer to all our guests and enjoy reading feedback such as yours. We look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel in the future. Kind Regards Rachel Painter-Scott General Manager

"Lovely Hotel and Excellent Customer Service"

5
SomersetJoppie, Somerset 29/01/2019

We booked a special weekend deal and also took our dog. Reception arranged for our luggage to be taken to our room - it was a big room, very comfortable and very clean, with two arm chairs and a mini bar. We had intended to leave our dog in the car when we had dinner as we knew in advance he wasn't allowed in the restaurant. In the event that wasn't a good option so we asked if we could have dinner in the bar but from the restaurant menu. Nothing was too much trouble for the wonderful staff and they looked after us superbly in the bar - for both breakfasts and dinners. The food was superb - a different menu each evening. My husband and I had different things but they were all lovely. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and we cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. A big thank you to all the staff!

Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review
Dear SimersetJoppie Thank you for your wonderful feedback, the staff do pride themselves on the service they offer to all our guests and enjoy reading feedback such as yours. We look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel in the future. Kind Regards Rachel Painter-Scott General Manager

"Excellent Champagne Afternoon Tea for Two"

5
kirstyw618, Bournemouth, United Kingdom 24/01/2019

Wonderful cakes, beautiful big fruity scones, lovely fresh sandwiches. Champagne was great. Service was attentive. A lovely experience for sure! Clean establishment, receptionist phoned the day before to remind you. All good.

Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review
Dear kirstyw618 Thank you for your wonderful feedback, the staff do pride themselves on the service they offer to all our guests and enjoy reading feedback such as yours. We look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel in the future. Kind Regards Rachel Painter-Scott General Manager

"Best afternoon tea"

5
sultanofswerve, Zhuhai, China 23/01/2019

Superb champagne. Lovely fresh sandwiches. Great cakes, best selection I've had. Lovely scones, few too many raisins for my liking though. Cream was good. Jam wasn't the best quality and portion was about half what it could be. Lovely tea. Good friendly staff, but could have been a bit more attentive. For the money though, easily the best afternoon tea.

Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review
Dear sultanofswerve Thank you for your feedback and rating our afternoon tea the "Best". I would also like to thank you for your constructive comments and will pass these to the Kitchen Team and Bar Staff. We do hope you will visit us again in the future Kind Regards Rachel Painter-Scott General Manager

"A charming Edwardian hotel. And the Art Nouveau staircase window is stunning!"

5
BobblenoseWarwicks, Banbury, United Kingdom 23/01/2019

Impressive exterior, well-furnished public rooms, a large, warm, comfortable bedroom with plenty of lights to read by (a rarity in many "modern" hotels) & a large bathroom with a REAL plug in the washbasin (not one of the trendy mechanisms that don't keep the water in the basin). Like another reviewer we could hear music coming up from the restaurant, but when we mentioned it to the Duty Manager he offered to turn it down. We found ALL the staff to be friendly, efficient & obliging. In particular we found the 3 receptionists to be delightful! We can't understand the negative comments made about them by other reviewers. The breakfasts & dinners were excellent & thanks to the Gold Bar offer we felt that our 2-day stay was very good value. Drinks, however, were on the expensive side, as was the £16 per day charge n the hotel's underground car park.We noticed that the nearby NCP car park had similar charges - I suppose it's what you expect in a city like Bournemouth which is full of office-blocks.

Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review
Dear BobblenoseWarwicks Thank you for your wonderful feedback, the staff do pride themselves on the service they offer to all our guests and enjoy reading feedback such as yours. We look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel in the future. Kind Regards Rachel Painter-Scott General Manager

"Not the worst hotel I've ever stayed at, but probably the most disappointing"

1
User 22/01/2019

The hotel looked nice enough from the outside, kind of 19thC charm. The lobby seemed similar. But from there, it was all downhill.Staff at check-in weren't good. Not actively bad, but kind of indifferent. Service was slow, and when I finally got to check in, they wanted to take payment despite the fact I had prepaid in full. (Not anything that would normally be an issue, but the first of a long string of things they got wrong.) This stayed the same throughout my stay.The biggest issue was noise in the room. Music leaked through the floor from the bar below. I asked for another room. They said that other rooms weren't very nice, and they didn't want me to move, just to be unhappy with the new room. Not much of a choice. As they said the music would stop at 10:30, I decided to stay. (It came back on at 8am. Not a problem for sleep, but annoying when I wanted to work or relax in the room.)Next, they charged someone else's room to my card. At first, they said they couldn't find the charge. Eventually, they figured out where the charge had come from and said it wasn't their fault. They did reverse it, but given their record, I didn't have much faith in them doing it right. If not for the fact my phone alerted me to the charge, I don't know if I would have ever even noticed it.There were a number of other small issues that I probably would have let pass if not for the bigger problems. The room wasn't cleaned well. (OK when I arrived, but not well tidied during the stay.) The tub didn't drain. The sheets and towels weren't very nice. The mattress was springy. And the keycard for the room failed if it went anywhere near a phone or another card, so basically in any of my pockets.I'm not comparing this to some five-star hotel. My usual hotel is quiet, comfortable, and slightly cheaper (if a bit modern and lacking in character). It just happened to be fully booked on this occasion. If that ever happens again, I'm going to a different Plan B.

Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry that we clearly did not meet your expectations and that you will not be returning. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvement to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. All feedback is taken on board and we appreciate your personal opinion. Regards Rachel Painter-Scott General Manager

"Afternoon tea"

3
Bn1611, Bournemouth, United Kingdom 21/01/2019

We came here for afternoon tea after it was gifted by some friends. When we were sat down we were given a glass of prosecco each followed by tea or coffee. There was only one option for tea. The afternoon tea stand was then brought out. The sandwiches was were quite standard, the cakes were very dry. It was unfortunate we found a hair in one of the cakes but eventually we were given a plate of complimentary cake to make up for it. The afternoon tea is really basic and standard nothing special. I was glad I hadn't paid for it myself.

Norfolk_GM, General Manager at Norfolk Royale Hotel, responded to this review
Thank you for your feedback, on behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. We have many wonderful comments about our Afternoon Tea's and I am so very sorry it did not happen for yourselves. I do hope you will visit us again to see the improvements made. Regards Rachel Painter-Scott General Manager

"Outstanding. This is the real deal!"

5
Jane S, Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom 18/01/2019

This is our 4th visit to the Norfolk Royale in Bournemouth. We come every January when they offer a special rate for Dinner, bed and breakfast. It's a 4 star hotel with swimming pool, sauna and steam room & has very pleasant public areas. The location couldn't be more central. Comfortable, well appointed rooms;ours had a bath with shower over, which we prefer. And all this for only £40 per person per night! Incredibly good value,I'm sure you'll agree. The previous head chef left last year but has been enticed back I'm pleased to report & the dinners are truly superb. I was very impressed with the well-balanced menus, the quality of the meat and the freshness of the vegetables. A rarity these days! The wine list was sensibly written and prices fair. Don't miss the opportunity to book your minimum 2-night stay.You won't be disappointed. Jane & Stephen Skinner Bishop's Stortford Hertfordshire 18th January 2019

"Average!"

3
darrenah, Banbury, United Kingdom 15/01/2019

I've stayed in many of Bournemouth's hotels over the years and have to say that i wasn't overly impressed with the Norfolk Royale. The room was a little tired and dated, along with the rest of the place! On the plus side, the breakfast was very good.

"Good position .... but"

3
mitchell39j, Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom 13/01/2019

I would not rate this Hotel as 4*. Yes, the position is good for accessibility into the town but that is as far as it goes. We upgraded over New Year at a cost of £40.00 per night, definitely not worth it. We had a large comfortable bed, the bathroom was certainly not luxurious, in fact you could see and hear the outside from the bathroom window frame! If you have any mobility problems then I would seriously suggest you book a room near the ‘front' lift. Neither of the lifts are reliable and in fact the rear one became out of use during our stay which caused a serious problem for my Husband. The staff worked hard but the reception area definitely needs improvement, from dress, manner and knowledge of what is actually going on. The Hotel comes into the ‘was lovely once' category. I have read other reviews and many people have enjoyed their stay but this review is a true reflection of our stay.

"Good break"

4
pesue1, Nuneaton, United Kingdom 07/01/2019

Came with friends for 2 night, 3 day break. Staff were very friendly and helpful, a nice touch to have parking for our less able friends at the front of the hotel reserved, parking otherwise is under the hotel with steps up to the hotel no lift. And as is the way now a payment to park your car. Our room was large, well equipped, comfortable bed, the food choice was good and tasty. As with a lot of hotels now it is getting tired, but well worth a visit on the deal we got. The position is also close to the town centre. Definitely coming again.

"Great location"

4
denise247, Northampton, United Kingdom 07/01/2019

Our second visit to this hotel. Food is excellent. However, we found on this trip that housekeeping left a little to be desired. Not overtly bad but lack of attention to detail e.g. no spoons with the tea and coffee, toiler roll not replaced, tissue box not replenished. We also found the reception staff rather brusque

"Good in parts."

3
gadabout70, Colchester, United Kingdom 06/01/2019

Paid to be upgraded to "garden view" room on a deal. No garden just roof of pool and roof of dining room, both very tired, dirty glass. Whole building in need of love and attention. At least our sash widow opened!! Need to as radiator VERY hot and had to be attended to by a charming maintenance man---who appeared very quickly after we complained to reception. Large bedroom but miniscule bathroom--knees nearly touched wall when sitting on toilet! Tape hot water scalding hot--and NO WARNING NOTICE. Think this should be noted by management. Management should also look into allocated parking at front of hotel. Prepaid, our name on a notice on arrival but on returning from Portsmouth someone in our space. Reception did not seem to know how to cope--as car was there presumably driver in hotel? Told to park in someone else's space, surely a recipe for disaster. Compared with reception staff in dining room great, although seemed to be short staffed at times. Breakfast a bit dreary. Sad dried out bacon and sausages. Only bread cut brown/white, suitable for toasting but no rolls, surely these could easily be baked on the day (as we do at home!). Croissants however fresh even on Sunday! Main course at dinner--huge portions. Safer choice was fish. Nice puddings. Just to mention pool. It is really just a large plunge pool not suitable for real swimming. Full of children anyway as it was still school holidays. This was a real disappointment. Would not stay unless a very good deal, which is what we started with but do not think our upgrade of an extra £25.00 per day for a "superior, garden view" room for our 3 day stay was worth the extra, hence low rating.

"Christmas Break"

5
SheilaE47, Treorchy, United Kingdom 02/01/2019

Customer service here is second to none. The staff, housekeeping, reception and restaurant, could not have been more attentive. We had a lovely room overlooking the garden which was spotlessly clean. We enjoyed this hotel so much that we are considering rebooking very soon.

"New Years Eve"

4
318tonyg318, Cricklade, United Kingdom 01/01/2019

Stayed for 2 nights, New Years Eve and Day using a standard room on a room only rate. This cost £216 and is significantly higher than normal due to the bank holiday. The reception staff were helpful. The room was a decent size with tv , mini bar, iron & board. The bathroom whilst small had basin toilet bath & separate shower and was nice and warm. Room Tip. Leave the central heating on low or turn off as the room gets incredibly hot. Bought breakfast on the first morning. Reasonable choice but nothing special. We were out most of the time but I noted there was entertainment in the lounge in the evening and there was the possibility of using their swimming pool. Would return but only when normal rates available.

"Unsatisfactory"

1
User 31/12/2018

Stayed here after our wedding with many friends and family. The people on reception seemed inexperienced many of my family had charges to their rooms that they didn't use. There was also a lost booking. We were in the honeymoon suite and the shower didn't work and there were barking dogs next door. The lift didn't stop on our floor and seemed unsafe. Outside there was a rat which I informed reception about. The location is good but hotel very over priced . My complaints were met with scowls and a hurried apology. Def not value for money

"A nice old fashioned hotel"

4
123Jacquie123, Gloucester, United Kingdom 30/12/2018

This is the 4th time we have stayed here and normally I can't say enough how much I love it here, however this time I was left a little disappointed. We ordered a premium room which we always do and having stayed in room 123 last time we were excited about our stay. This time however we were put into room 121 which was nice but didn't give that wow factor you hope for when paying for a premium room. It was smaller and darker than expected and I couldn't help feeling like it was more like an overflow room. We used the pool as normal, no complaints however the ladies changing room wasn't very clean and upon returning the following morning was in exactly the same state so obviously hadn't been cleaned overnight either. Breakfast was good. All in all, I love this hotel, it's classy and has a lovely feeling to it, however for the money we spent, I can't help wondering if this time we got value for money.

"Great hotel, with excellent staff."

5
Risky20, Staffordshire 30/12/2018

We have stayed here three times this year, for three nights each time. It has a great central location, and convenient parking facilities. The staff (from the managers down) provide an excellent service. The food (both breakfast and dinner) are a very good standard. There was an occasional queue at the very busy breakfast times; but it was evident that the staff were working efficiently to get people to a table quickly. A special mention to Demitri and Max (both super-efficient and friendly) always prepared to go the extra mile.

"Great Central Location"

5
Global58019010042, Devizes, United Kingdom 06/12/2018

Booked this hotel for an overnight stay and visit to the Christmas Tree Wonderland. The hotel had a great central location right on the doorstep of all the action! The welcome at reception was friendly & helpful.We had a superior room which was spacious and tastefully decorated.We only stayed overnight and didn't have breakfast so can't comment on the restaurant or bar area, although it all looked comfortable and inviting. I would definitely recommend and come back again.

"Great Location"

5
Jonathan W, York, United Kingdom 01/12/2018

This is a great hotel near the town centre so not at all noisy. Great food and staff with superb amenities. Highly recommended. The room was large and very comfortable. We walked to the beach through the Christmas lights and went shopping.

"lovely hotel"

5
Meander31951430572, Oxford, United Kingdom 30/11/2018

Stayed here for concert at BIC. location is brilliant just 3 minutes walk to town centre and gardens. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. Both the room and bathroom were large in size and immaculate. Would definitely stay here again.

"You will not be disappointed"

5
mike108uk, Horley, United Kingdom 28/11/2018

If the price is right for you then you will not be disappointed. Friendly helpful staff. Clean room. Good breakfast. Good location. Good parking facilities. Even as a pool. What more do you want from a hotel?

"Champagne afternoon tea"

5
barrye147, Poole, United Kingdom 28/11/2018

What a great afternoon tea . Well chilled champagne excellent efficient service from Max the bar / lounge waiter . The hotel is decorated for Xmas and looks great the lounge was really warm and cosy on a very wet windy afternoon. Max was polite and attentive asked when we wanted tea straight away or after the Champagne and food service and then delivered perfectly what we had asked for even to the return to check we were ok and again to offer a top up for the tea.

These reviews are the subjective opinions of individual travelers and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.