ROOM 1
ROOM 2
ROOM 3
Promotion code

SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Bakersfield North, Bakersfield

3.0/5  - basé sur 701 notations.
2620 Buck Owens Boulevard, 93308-6310, Bakersfield, United States - See map
SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Bakersfield North - Welcome to the SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Bakersfield North! The SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Bakersfield North is ideally located in the center of Bakersfield. Come and experience our hotel near the major tourist attractions. Best price guaranteed and exclusive deals.

Come enjoy our warm family atmosphere at the SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Bakersfield North. This hotel is ideally located off 99 North and 99 South. Take advantage of our Junction Restaurant and Bar on premises with Karaoke. We have Stay-N-Fly options with complimentary shuttle service to the Meadows Field Airport, Greyhound Bus Station & Amtrak Station. You can also enjoy being less than 10 minutes from the Convention Center, the Historical Fox Theater, many businesses and shopping centers. Located just outside Bakersfield the Auto Club Famoso Raceway is a quarter mile asphalt drag strip that regularly hosts NHRA sanctioned events and is home of the Bakersfield March Meet. We are located next to Buck Owens Crystal Palace.

SureStay Plus

Hotel by Best Western Bakersfield North

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Hotel advantages

  • Air conditioning
    Air conditioning
  • Free parking
    Free parking
  • Massage services
    Massage services
Show More Show Less

Guest reviews

In partnership with tripadvisor fr
based on 704 guest reviews
NOTE ISSUED
Excellent
152
Very Good
180
Average
149
Poor
104
Terrible
119
REFER TO NOTICE
Business Business
109
Couples Couples
221
Family Family
218
Friends getaway Friends getaway
69
Solo travel Solo travel
47
SUMMARY NOTES
Cleanliness
Location
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Value

"Customer service was great"

5
14/02/2019

Stayed here when my semi truck broke down for 3 days the staff was all super nice and helpful i want to thank rose and anna for helping make a stressful time less stressful. Rooms were nice breakfast was small but well cooked.

"Be Sure Not to Stay"

1
13/02/2019

It is a shame that this old, but previously unique motel has been allowed to deteriorate. It needs major upgrades in maintenance and housekeeping. Currently it is an embarrassment to the Best Western brand and the company should give it a 6 month timeout to get things in order. After that Best Western can decide whether to re-affiliate or drop this property entirely. We checked in to a ground floor room. It had not been vacuumed. Repairs to a water-stained wall had been done in an amateur manner and the area behind the bedside table had not been cleaned in months. There was a broken electric outlet cover (possible Fire Code violation?) and debris left over from a previous guest. This is an older motel from the days of big rooms and that could be a plus. But the room looked weird with 3 tables and only one chair. The bathroom sink drained painfully slowly. Oddly enough the courtyard garden is attractive and appears to be well maintained. If the motel put the same effort and attention into the rooms, this would be a really good place to stay. To add insult to injury, at breakfast the coffee cup had not been washed and had lipstick smears on it. Disgusting! Bottom line: the owners have a choice, clean it up or blow it up.

"My Stay on 2/12/2019"

4
13/02/2019

Very clean, employees very helpful , and the price was Reasonable ! BUT out of the 6 pillows on the bed they all were like sleeping on Boulder's . Maybe they could have 3 Hard pillows and 3 soft ones. also shower never really got Hot

"Awesome service"

5
12/02/2019

I come to visit Bakersfield quite often for my family. I was really sceptical of the area but I took my chances and I'm glad I did. When arriving I was automatically greeted by an amazing and welcoming woman named Michelle. She made me feel like I was at home and I'm so glad I made that decision to stay here. I will definatly be coming back

"Friendly and Helpful"

5
08/02/2019

I am a truck driver that has been broken down. Our stay here took the hurt out of our bad situation. Many thanks to Carla, Michelle and the other front desk girl. All of the staff from Housekeeping on up had a smile on their faces everyday.

"Cold Cold Showers!!"

2
04/02/2019

The hotel had barely any hot water the whole time then no hot water for three days maintenance never did come. Half the staff are very friendly the other half should find different jobs if they don't like what they do, very rude and not helpful at all.

AraceliP191, Director of Sales at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Bakersfield North, responded to this review
Dear , Guest Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience. If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 661 800 0009. Sincerely, Araceli P Sales Manager

"Vacation"

5
30/01/2019

We went to see a friend play at the crystal palace, we enjoyed the hotel and staff so much we stayed an extra day. Free breakfast was awesome, I enjoyed the waitress and waiters. We just enjoyed staying in our room relaxing and looking out our slider at the beautiful grounds, flowers, pool.

AraceliP191, Director of Sales at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Bakersfield North, responded to this review
Dear Trail, Thank you for taking your time to write a review for our hotel. I am happy that you had a pleasant stay in our property and enjoyed the beautiful grounds and flowers. Hope to see you soon. Thank you again for reviewing our hotel!

"Good - not the best Best Western, more middle of the road, but had qualities and price was right"

4
27/01/2019

Room was clean, breakfast was at a neighboring restaurant, breakfast was smallish - but quality and wait staff was great. Rooms were nice, our bathroom was a bit 2nd world, but not unpleasant to use. Towels were great, bed was great, The price was good and I would stay there again.

"Great staff and hotel"

5
19/01/2019

The staff was incredible! They were accommodating, helpful, knowledgeable, and kind. The rooms were large and the beds were very comfortable and the grounds were absolutely beautiful. I would recommend to everyone to stay here.

AraceliP191, Director of Sales at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Bakersfield North, responded to this review
Dear, Guest We appreciate your positive feedback! One of our greatest points of pride here at the SureStay Plus Hotel in Bakersfield is our phenomenal staff and their wealth of knowledge on Bakersfield! If there's a place you'd like to go or something you want to see, staff will help you get to where you need to go! We're ecstatic to hear that they made your stay delightful, and we hope to see you again soon! Thank you, Araceli P Sales & Marketing Manager

"Decent cheap stay close to main routes"

4
16/01/2019

Easily located off main routes and short distance to restaurants such as hooters etc. Pool areas looked good and breakfast nice a la carte in next door diner . Room a little dated but had everything you needed . Would stay again if passing through . Very Good value for money, next to a gas station and I hop .

"Very disappointed"

2
08/01/2019

My TV did not work there was roaches in my room I trapped them under the garbage can went to the front desk told the lady there she was uncaring ask to speak to the manager she was unavailable left my number still have not received a call I just hope I did not carry any roaches home with me

AraceliP191, Director of Sales at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Bakersfield North, responded to this review
Dear Guest, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 661 800 0009. Sincerely, Araceli P. Director of Sales

"Great property"

5
06/01/2019

This property is an excellent value for those of us traveling through. Above all, it is CLEAN, unlike other chains where I have stayed. This property has a restaurant attached where you can get a great breakfast "on the house." The staff is friendly and helpful.

"Absolutely adored"

5
09/12/2018

Just in love with this hotel. The staff , Ann, she's a doll. She went out of her way to make us feel at home. The room was spacious and very clean. The breakfast was amazing. The courtyard was beautiful, the lobby was as well. The Christmas tree was huge with beautiful decorations. I give this now my favorite hotel 100%. See you guys soon.xoxo

"Staff was amazing"

5
29/11/2018

Front desk staff was beyond helpful and welcoming, particularly Mary. They helped us with every single concern and request. Overall, it was a 5 star experience because of them! Breakfast was very good!

"Nice Hotel"

3
09/11/2018

I like the hotel and stayed there many times when it was a BW, now that it is a part of BW I stayed there again and still like the hotel but the wireless is no good, when I went to the front desk to ask about it another person said it didn't work work a week, This is not OK and it is expected when staying with you, at check out I brought it up to the front desk and they did not seem to care. so on this trip I will stay in town at Hill house, I like your place better but not if the WIFI doesn't work.

"Great Bakersfield Value"

5
23/10/2018

Older property but updated recently, great helpful staff (Thank You Karla), large clean rooms with new large flat screen TVs, restaurant onsite with breakfast included, central location right off of Hiway 99, next to Buck Owens Crystal Palace which you should see whether you're a country music fan or not. Did experience problems with the TV remotes on the new TV/ Cable system but the staff worked hard to correct the issues including offering to switch rooms. Overall money well spent.

RoseR2526, General Manager at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Bakersfield North, responded to this review
Thank you for your recent stay at our property. We at SureStay Bakersfield, take pride in our property. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.

"Terrific stays"

5
12/10/2018

I stay at this hotel when I'm in Bakersfield due to the fact that it's located in central Bakersfield, the staff is wonderful , it's clean, walking distance to restaurants and if have an issue they take care of it immediately. I also like the value/ price and the amenities.

"Terrible hotel"

1
23/09/2018

The staff were extremely friendly. After that, it's over everything else sucks. The room had a strong mold/musty smell; large water stains on the ceilings; patio door lock broken; Front door has clear evidence that it's been kicked in at least once; bathtub looked nasty. We went to Wal Mart and purchased a wax heater that heats scented wax just to endure the smell. Very sketchy people around the hotel. We'll never go back. Ever!

"Truck driver"

5
17/09/2018

This is a wonderful place the people are awesome room great very relaxing courtyard love everything about it many thanks great food and again I can't say enough about how wonderful the folks that work here are

"Find another property to stay at"

1
10/09/2018

When you enter the lobby you think it may be a pretty decent establishment because there's Aston Martin in the lobby on display. If they only spent that money on maintenance and upkeep of this property they would be way better off. The halls reeked of old cigarettes and animals. Once we entered our dark, dingy, stuffy, stinky room we wanted to leave immediately. Unfortunately we had prepaid & it was after midnight and it was not safe for us to be on the road so tired, so we tried to not over think it and stayed. The refrigerator looked like it had been drug across a gravel parking lot. The mattresses were old , had a valley in the center and both beds squeaked every time you moved at all. There were random brown & red stains on the walls, large black stains in the carpet and stains on the shower curtain. The mold in the shower was nothing short of a biology experiment. We were awoken in the middle of the night with loud, strange cat crying noises. After a couple hours of rest (not sleep but rest) we were ready to get out of that room and back on the road. We had reserved a room for this same property on our return trip but thankfully did not prepay. I cancelled that room when I checked out because we surely were not going to stay here twice. It took 10 minutes wait to have someone show up to the front desk for me to check out & cancel the other stay I had booked. I was questioned by the man at the front desk as to why I would cancel. It was quite uncomfortable as he made me feel as though I had done something wrong. If you have read this far and are still considering booking a stay at this property, you may want to reconsider.

"Yuck...just yuck."

1
28/08/2018

A group of us are staying here for a business trip, and I can't wait to go home. Dirty old carpets, tired 1970's bedding, no microwave in the room as listed on the confirmation. My room smells like smoke and makes me want to gag; my throat is sore. The hallways are musty. No elevator. Bathroom in lobby is out of service. Long hair in sheet. Stains on wall. Toilet wasn't clean. No Kleenex in room. Stain on towel. I didn't call the front desk because everyone else in my group was calling for similar problems and they just couldn't fix much. Untrained staff. Items crossed off the menu at the hotel restaurant. The breakfast is very limited, especially gluten-free options. It was noisy in my room...seemed like the whole building was shaking when someone used the shower next door! Might have better luck at Motel 6. This is not really a Best Western, not really a Red Lion.. they need to raze it and start all over.

"Decent"

4
06/08/2018

Nice hotel. Great big room. Only disappointment was the remote for the tv would not work, and I called the desk 3 times about it. Nobody was ever sent to fix the problem. Luckily, I had my laptop with me, so I watched Netflix on the wifi

"Name change."

4
20/07/2018

My one night at SureStay by Best Western in Bakersfield was very pleasant.The room was huge - had a desk, an arm chair, and a table with chairs. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was great. The staff at reception was friendly and helpful. My one complaint is that between the time I booked at the Red Lion hotel and the time I arrived the motel had changed ownership and signage so it was difficult to find. It would have been helpful to receive a notice about the change - or at least a sign on the motel "formerly Red Lion". Breakfast was served at the adjacent restaurant and was fine.

"Refused to cancel / refund a reservation within 10 minutes of booking."

1
18/07/2018

I booked a room at this hotel on my iPhone as we pulled in to the parking lot thinking it was a pet friendly hotel, as it had appeared in our search results for pet friendly hotels in Bakersfield. We walked into the lobby within 10 minutes of booking the room only to find out we were mistaken about their pet policy. They then refused to let us cancel and refund the reservation we just made minutes earlier, claiming it was a non-refundable reservation so we were just out of luck; they would be keeping our money and we would not be allowed to stay. Truly sickening business practices in place here, have a little human decency!

Araceli P, Director of Sales at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Bakersfield North, responded to this review
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. At SureStay we strive every day to provide superior customer service. I am sorry we were not able to do that for you. We will use the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we provide a better experience in the future. Because of the pet policy , I have authorized an immediate credit to your credit card. If I can provide any further assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 661 800 0009. Sincerely, Aracely P Manager SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Bakersfield North

"Updates really needed"

2
14/07/2018

Ok,so this property was recently purchased from the Red Lion chain. It is extremely outdated. First room they put me in had a faulty a/c unit and a dime sized burn hole through the center of the top sheet on the bed, fully disable when the bed was made. (Nonsmoking room) So. They moved me. The a/c unit is either on or it is off so the room is roasting or frigid. The tv randomly "freezes" and will not change channels. Asked for a maintenance guy and he never showed up. This place is affordable and the desk staff is super nice.

Araceli P, Director of Sales at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Bakersfield North, responded to this review
Dear Lilcarlover, Thank you for the comments regarding your stay with us. We hope you'll accept our sincerest apologies for falling short on our high service standards.We just converted from Red Lion to SureStay Plus by Best Western. While we are in the process of remodeling we will do our best to always deliver a smooth experience during your visit. I hope you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with better exceptional service. We also thank you for recognizing the friendly Staff. If I can provide any further assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 661 800 0009. Sincerely, Araceli P. Manager

"Red Lion"

5
11/06/2018

My friend and I stayed one night at the Red Lion Hotel! It was very inviting and clean , nicely decorated rooms. We had 2 queen beds in our room. Lots of pillows and comfortable bed, made for a good night's sleep! Centrally located near Hwy 99.

Araceli P, Director of Sales at SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Bakersfield North, responded to this review
Dear Pam Ql, Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon. If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 661 800 0009. Thank you again for taking the time to complete the Review. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand. Sincerely, Araceli P. Manager SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Bakersfield North

"Average but Fine"

3
25/05/2018

The room was a decent size. The bed despite having a broken base was comfortable. The room was clean, the TV was large, and there was a microwave oven. The fridge seemed to have an intermittant on/off problem. The shower had one of those plastic curtains with the shower over the bath, and we do not like them. No hotel should be using these. The tap fittings were very old and were very difficult to use. Access to the pool was easy through the garden facing ranch slider doors. The room was fitted with aircon, which was old and very noisey. The walls were thin so noise from the adjoining rooms was very easily heard, but the noise from the floor above was even worse. Buck Owens Crystal Palace was next door, and what an amazing place that was.

"3 strikes your OUT!!"

1
23/05/2018

Third time staying here in 2018 for a local venue. The rooms are desperately outdated and uncomfortable. The staff isn't helpful, charged us twice which I had to spend a lot of time fixing. The room keys never work, even after the first time. We gave it a second try, gave us a key to a room that was a storage unit. Shame on us for giving it a third try, no cable TV what so ever for 3 days. Im all about you get what you pay for. I have no problem spending 300.00 a night but even at this rate its not worth it. Other moderately priced hotels in the area that I would rather try.

"If Bakersfield then here!"

5
13/04/2018

Very spacious, fully equipped & comfortable room, hotel itself is a kind of high level motel. We stayed 1 night on the way from Arizona to SF & were satisfied, nice garden, swimming pool (not used in winter), free parking & great breakfast included - you can order from 6 item menu, you pay just drinks (coffee, tea - 1$ each), we were really satisfied.

"Good rate, needs remodel"

3
25/03/2018

I appreciated the special rate I was given and the 2 free breakfasts. Don't expect anything other than basic here. Our neighbors were noisy. Hotel needs an upgrade. It was close to our event at the venue next door.

"Drive through"

1
14/03/2018

Not worth Your money. Staff didn't really seem to care for their job, not at all for customers. Big size on the room, and that's about all the positive there was. Free wi-fi, I understand why; there was no wi-fi at all. Noticed the front desk twice without any respons at all. Breakfast boring, new staff but still not interesting in the customers. Save Your money,drive through Bakersfield.