Best Western Hotel Starlite Village, Fort Dodge

3.5/5  - basé sur 155 notations.
1518 3rd Avenue NW, 50501-2202, Fort Dodge, United States - Karte ansehen
Best Western Starlite Village - Außenansicht Das Best Western Starlite Village ist ideal in Fort Dodge Stadtzentrum zu finden. Erleben Sie ein schöner Aufenthalt in der Nähe von alle Sehenswurdigkeiten. Bestpreisgarantie und exklusive Angebote.

Dieses Hotel mit vollem Serviceangebot in Fort Dodge, Iowa, ist günstig gelegen an der Kreuzung von Highway 169 und Highway 7, nur wenige Minuten entfernt von allen Attraktionen in Fort Dodge und der näheren Umgebung. Dazu gehören das Fort Museum, das Iowa Central Community College, Air Choice One und der Harlan Rodgers Sports Complex. Ob Sie geschäftlich oder zum Vergnügen unterwegs sind – Sie werden sich im Best Western Starlite Village wie zu Hause fühlen. Das Best Western Starlite Village verfügt über gut ausgestattete Zimmer jeweils mit Kabelfernsehen und High-Speed-Internetzugang. Unsere Gästen erhalten jeden Morgen ein kostenloses komplettes warmes Frühstück. Dazu bieten wir drahtloses High-Speed-Internet, reichlich kostenlose Parkplätze für Autos, Lkws und Sattelschlepper, Kühlschrank im Zimmer, Mikrowelle, ein großes beheiztes Hallenbad mit Whirlpool, ein Business Center und ein Fitnessstudio. Unser angrenzendes Restaurant mit vollem Serviceangebot, Buford's Steak House & BBQ, wurde kürzlich renoviert und steht Ihnen zur Verfügung. Golfbegeisterte Gäste des Best Western Starlite Village werden die Nähe (weniger als fünf Minuten Weg) mehrerer schöner Golfplätze schätzen, darunter der städtische Golfplatz Lake Side, Willow Ridge und Fort Dodge Country Club. In Fort Dodge finden das ganze Jahr über verschiedene Veranstaltungen statt. Dazu gehören die Dragon Boat Races, Frontier Days, das Dayton Rodeo, die Greater Crater Days und das Iowa State High School Girls Softball-Turnier. Das Best Western Starlite Village ist seit langem ein legendäre Anlage in der Gegend und steht schon seit mehreren Generationen Unternehmen und Familien zur Verfügung. Sie können sich darauf verlassen, dass unser freundliches und professionelles Personal dafür sorgt,dass jeder Gast einen idealen Aufenthalt genießt.

Best Western

Hotel Starlite Village




Vorteile des Hotels

  • Gastronomie
  • Beheizter Pool
    Beheizter Pool
  • Klimaanlage
  • Bar-Lounge
  • Kostenlose Parkplätze
    Kostenlose Parkplätze
  • Parkplatz im Freien
    Parkplatz im Freien
  • 24 Stunden Rezeption 24
    24 Stunden Rezeption 24
  • Spielzimmer
mehr sehen weniger sehen

Bewertung unserer Kunden

in Partnerschaft mit tripadvisor fr
Gebildet aus de 155 Gästebewertungen
Sehr gut
Allein/Single Allein/Single
Alleinreisende Alleinreisende
Familie Familie
Geschäftlich Geschäftlich
Geschäfts-<br>reisende Geschäfts-
Geschäftsleute Geschäftsleute
Geschäftsreisende Geschäftsreisende
Paare Paare
Reisen mit Freunden Reisen mit Freunden

"One of the better ones"


My family and I used to live in the area and moved away, this is definitely one of the better hotels in Fort Dodge. We always book our hotel here when we are in town visiting family. It is normally pretty reasonably priced and very clean. I would recommend staying here for sure!

"Older Motel. Not to Bad."


We had a room by the pool and the girls liked it. You can tell its an older hotel they remodeled. Room was clean enough. It surely is not near being a 5-star establishment. Had a bar restaurant didn't eat but did have a couple cocktails. The staff was really nice and helpful. I would recommend if you need a night or two to stay. I guess I'm comparing to the 5 Star Bloomington Hilton we stayed in the next night... no comparison.

"Comfy weekend for wedding"


Room was beautiful and bed was so comfortable. Girls loved the cabin feel. Some staff was amazing while 1 was not very accommodating. There is usually always 1, right? Still waiting for bill and checked out yesterday morning. Would stay again but definite clarification would be done

"Could have been better"


Broken toilet and dirty shower. Room was comfortable but the pool side room was loud into the wee hours. No shampoo in room, but plenty of towels. Staff was friendly. Very busy place on weekends with weddings and at Buford's restaurant.

Scott G, General Manager at Best Western Starlite Village, responded to this review
Hi - Sounds like we were not at our best during your visit! I apologize that things didn't meet your expectations and hope that you will give us another chance to show you what we do to be an Award Winning Property! Please keep us in mind during your travels! I hope to see you again soon!

"Avoid this run down hotel and get out of dodge."


Got to hotel around 5pm on June 15th 2018. I was tired of driving and wanted to settle in for the night with my friends. Upon check in, the front desk women were unable to find my reservation booked on hotel dot com site. Eventually they found it. I upgraded to a cabin like room that was huge and had fridge and sink. As we entered I noticed a few flies buzzing around. Not acceptable. Went to front desk to change rooms and was told all of them are going to have flies due to them being outside and maids going in and out. No apology and they seemed disturbed by my presence of wanting something decent. They said there is a fly swatter in every room and that they'ed switch my room. Next room had less flies but had fly swatter.Furniture was very worn and carpets looked grungy. Had to sleep with light on thinking there might be bed bugs. My friends and I decided to use the hot tub and pool inside. Hot tub was luke warm and I cannot believe they allowed this. Health department should shut down the hottub and pool area. The restaurant on hotel property had zero people at 6pm and that seemed very sketchy to me. When a restaurant is that dead at that time of day it means you should not eat there. The whole lobby and inside of the hotel looks like the 90's never left this place. Woke up and checked out, never ever to return. Drive to the Ames and skip fort dodge all together. Nothing much to do there or see.

Scott G, General Manager at Best Western Starlite Village, responded to this review
Dear Rye - I was sorry to learn that you had such a poor experience during your stay! As you mention in your profile - and as seen by your other reviews - you are a tough customer when it comes to hotels, but I am confident we are up to the challenge and appreciate those like yourself that hold us to a higher level! To that measure - we have recently remodeled the property from top to bottom, including public areas for events, our restaurant, and guest rooms, too! The Business Class King is often a requested favorite among our guests! One of the nice things that happened here recently in May 2018, is that we were awarded the Director's Award for Quality Assurance from Best Western International - placing us in the top 20% of all their properties! We take great pride in our hotel and services and do hope that you will provide us with another opportunity to show you why our locally-owned, award winning property has proudly served the Fort Dodge Community for well over 50 years! Safe travels and please come visit us again so as we can provide you with a better experience! PS: Almost forgot - I did go and double-check our records of our state regulated pool and everything seems to be in perfect order! Thanks again! - Scott



My disappointments for the hotel relate to house keeping and the front desk regarding a 4-day stay: —My room wasn't cleaned on the first day, even though I was out of the room for the day at 9am —Amenities like shampoo and towels would be plentiful one day in the room and then only conditioner and one towel the next day —The WiFi password resets on Sunday at 3am (I learned) but they fail to tell you when you check in or the day that happens

Scott G, General Manager at Best Western Starlite Village, responded to this review
Dear Doug - Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us! You were a long way from home and I am disappointed that your visit was not more comfortable. We have spoken with those departments you mentioned regarding the confusion surrounding your stay so as they can improve upon it going forward! I hope that you will provide us with another opportunity in the future!

"Very friendly."


The hotel is very clean and the people were very friendly. Our group had three different rooms and we did not request to be next to each other which was our fault so it was quite a distance between rooms. One was next to the pool, one was in a different section and the third was in one of the little cabin rooms across the parking lot. So make sure to request rooms together if in a group. The morning breakfast choices were excellent. I would stay here again.

Scott G, General Manager at Best Western Starlite Village, responded to this review
Thank you for sharing such a nice review with us! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon - just a little closer together! :) Thanks again!

"A pleasant surprise in Fort Dodge"


We had a very interesting stay at this Best Western. We have been elite members for awhile and have generally had very good stays with Best Western all across the country. The staff was pleasant and gave us a great room. Unfortunately, the noise level coming from the neighbours was quite significant...like wow - it was not good. We absolutely hate to have to complain about such things, but we knew we would not be having a good night with the way things were shaping up. I mentioned the noise issues to Brittney at the front desk, and she promptly moved us to a beautiful quiet suite. It was one of the best nights we had! We wished that we could somehow take that suite with us on our travels! Thank you so much Brittney - you made our hotel stay go from a 3 star to a perfect 5 star with a recommendation to come to this hotel. Congrats!

Scott G, General Manager at Best Western Starlite Village, responded to this review
Thank you for your business and nice review. Look forward to you coming back.

"Great stay"


Great Rooms, clean, nice décor, and spacious. Bed was really comfortable, and Shower was sharp. Location was in a great area as it was easy to get anywhere in town with no issues whatsoever. It was very quiet in the area and the parking lot was well lit.

Scott G, General Manager at Best Western Starlite Village, responded to this review
Thank you for allowing us to host you. Come back soon,

"Would stay again!"


We spent the night while traveling for business. We booked online and the very pleasant lady at the front desk already had us upgraded as Rewards members when we arrived. We stayed in a room in a separate building. It was spacious, nicely decorated and very clean. The bed and pillows were comfy. We had drinks and a bite to eat at Buford's, the onsite restaurant. We weren't very hungry so just had appetizers, but they were very good. We would definitely stay again if we pass through that area!

Scott G, General Manager at Best Western Starlite Village, responded to this review
Thanks for your business and nice review. Come back soon.

"Fort Dodge Stay"


The king suite was very well apportioned, roomy, and comfortable. Dogs are welcome. There is ample room for parking and two access/exit points. The restaurant, Buford's, served great BBQ. Hotel staff were VERY helpful.

Scott G, General Manager at Best Western Starlite Village, responded to this review
Thank you. Come back soon.

"Wost visit ever! "


I was so upset and never been so disappointed in my life and hopefully they make it right w me stayed there alot and have never had a problem thil this last time there was a big party going on in pool area kids cussing and throwing things and food all over around and in pool just nasty and they were bullying my daughter also and no respect at all also i found a bug on my pillow not sure was it was they gave me new pillow. Also found a water bottle on floor next to night stand and bed that was from previous ppl and in open. Spome w hotel manager then next day when checking out and he really didnt say much besides o sorry and picture of bug not in focus so cant tell u what is was also even said ya u stay here cuz ive seen u few times so ud think hed make it right w me but nope just a sorry thats all like i said hope they make it rught w me or might not go bk and was nit cuz of staff at all vuz they were very helpful and tried to take care of those kids and all but parents wudnt do anything either no adult supervision which shud have been cuz thats pool rules.

Scott G, General Manager at Best Western Starlite Village, responded to this review
Hi Jennifer - I am surprised and perhaps - somewhat disappointed - to see your review. After our conversation I gathered you were comfortable with the actions we were taking due to the challenges you had encountered with some guests the evening before. Perhaps you have since had a change of heart. If so, please feel free to reach out to us again, but in the meantime - as we discussed, it is never fair when other guests spoil an evening for both guests and hotel staff! As I mentioned, I am apparently getting to "that age" where I am beginning more and more conversations with "I just don't understand some of these kids these days....". Again, Jennifer, our apologies for any challenges you or your children experienced. While we can and often "encourage" the direction and tone of such matters, it is difficult for us to assist or intervene in the parenting or coaching of our guests' children. As you observed and mentioned above, we do what we can based on the rules we have in place, but it certainly is helpful when parents and family help navigate and engage in the process. I do hope that you will come visit us again, and I would welcome any additional questions or suggestions to those topics that we previously discussed in person. Kind regards - Scott

"staying in hell"


the rules stated no pool parties allowed, there was a pool party and it was hell for the other guests and my self. There was food in the pool and hot tub, I couldn't be in the hot tub due to the kids in there. There was alot of cursing going on and parents not watching the kids. The staff was amazing with myself and other guests. The staff is the only reason I would come back to this hotel.

Scott G, General Manager at Best Western Starlite Village, responded to this review
Hi Lucas - Thank you for your kind words regarding the staff! I mentioned this to another guest that it always seems to be the few that can spoil an evening for the rest of us - staff included! The pool was definitely a busy place that night, and our apologies that some guests did not adhere to the policies that we have in place. As you might already be aware - we removed that dynamic to allow the rest of the weekend to go a little easier. Thank you again for your kind words regarding the staff and their efforts! I believe they are a 5-star team even when - and perhaps especially when - they are dealing with 1-star moments! Kind regards - Scott

"Visit great granddaughter"


We have stayed at this hotel before and have really ejoyed our stay.The staff here have been very helpful and courteous.The hotel has a very good continentel breakfast and a pool and whirlpool.This hotel has suites which are very nice.

"Enjoyable stay!!"


The staff is very caring, from the front desk to maintenance. Always offering assistance. The room was good sized with king bed, frig and microwave ,chair to watch shows on a 32 inch TV with cable. Updated furniture. large bathroom with oversized walk tile shower.

"Great relaxing accommodation"


Working 12 hour days on this trip. The rooms were reasonably priced with many poolside. Very clean and great water pressure in the shower. Very nice hot breakfast with several options, such as, scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy, etc. As my crew had to leave very early each morning, the breakfast attendant started serving a bit earlier so we could be accommodated. There is also a very good restaurant adjoining the hotel. I highly recommend staying here.

"Tired after a long day of traveling and the service really helped"


Room was great clean well done near the hot tub. Best western always accommodate for a bike so that we can have them in sight. Great pool and a hot tub, not that lukewarm crap. After a hard day of biking we need 103° to work out the kinks. The restaurant Buford's is right there. Excellent steakhouse good service. You can ask for more when you're traveling five stars

"Starlite Village Stay"


Of the several places to stay in Fort Dodge, this has to be one of the best! The staff is great and the room offerings are outstanding. There are upgrades at reasonable prices when you ask. The breakfast offering is one of the best as we have found in many of the Best Westerns where we have stayed over the years. We find the quality to be continuously getting better.

"A Nice Weekend!"


A large number of rooms face the pool area from the both the first and second levels. The hot tub and the pool area were very pleasant. Our room had easy access from the handicap parking area, plus it was clean with a comfy bed. Great Dinner & Staff!

"Best western in fort dodge. Iowa"


Good place to stay. Great breakfast and pool area and area to relax. Conference rooms are very accommodating. We had no problems except for the wifi connection that we could not get to keep us logged in the internet

"Air conditioner in one of rooms was not working and when told front desk all they said is will let maintance know."


Was not offered any discount on room price for air not working. Horrible night of sleep! Pool was cold but very sallow. Went to restaurant for dinner with a group of 7 of us and the waiter was so unprofessional! Every time we asked for something he would make a noise as to it was a bother to him. Food took forever to get to us. Breakfast was okay just average

"So Glad We Stayed Here"


First time we've had an opportunity to stay at Best Western Starlite Village in Fort Dodge, and SO glad we did. The entire facility is well kept, and staff is friendly and helpful. We stayed in one of the Timberland Suites, and it was well worth the money. Clean, plenty of room to spend time with friends, comfortable king bed, lovely decor. Will definitely stay here again.

"Hotel Stay"


Best Western Ft Dodge, Iowa was comfortable with nice accomodations, hot tub and swimming pool. If you want a good breakfast, go to a restaurant - you can certainly do better. Staff was very helpful. Business Center had problems with printing off my boarding passes - needed to forward the e-mail to the front desk and they printed them off - printer wasn't set up to print anything containing ads.

"One of Fort Dodges best"


We stayed one night for a wedding. Great room location off the pool with easy access from outside doors. Large room with refrigerator and microwave. Very clean and comfortable. My only suggestion would be they get wider curtains for the Windows that overlook the pool. There is a space that lets in light all night from the pool area and the space is just wide enough you can see people sitting on their rooms if they're at the table or by mirrors. Get dressed back by the bathroom--you don't know what people walking down halls may see!

"Great hotel for business or leisure"


Great facilities and exceptional staff. Comfortable and clean guestrooms. Restaurant and lounge has great food and service. Large pool area for families to gather. Banquet and meeting space is spacious and modern.

"Treated like honored guests"


I was especially impressed with the housekeeping staff. They were very attentive to all of our needs. The housekeeping staff went above and beyond "the call of duty", even to the point of asking about specific items that we might need.

"Family friendly"


Very clean rooms, great beds, excellent, caring staff. Large indoor pool & jacuzzi . It had a free very nice large breakfast with many thing to chose from! We were on the right side of building and could hear the cars as they drove on the rumble strips to the stop - recommend the other side of building or ear plugs. I would recommend this motel !

"Most enjoyable and relaxing visit."


To anyone visiting the Fort Dodge area, we highly recommend staying at the Best Western in Fort Dodge. Very clean rooms, excellent, caring staff, wonderful, free breakfast to their guests. I believe you will find their room rates to be very competitive. My family and I have been guests at this particular motel over 20 different visits and we highly recommend this beautiful motel to anyone.

"June 2017"


Very nice place and worth the price. Pool area is nice and Bufords steak house was excellent. The staff was very friendly. The rooms were very spacious and clean. I only have positives about this experience.

"Nice Hotel"


Stayed at the Best Western Starlite while in Ft Dodge for a Baseball tournament nice hotel staff very friendly no issues with room. Would stay in hotel again if in Ft.Dodge. Family enjoyed a dinner at restaurant.

"A Good Nights stay at the starlight"


Very nice and friendly. Great free breakfast,. room with nice accommodations. No complaints. Price was good. Staff was friendly and eager to help. Easy parking. We were there on a Thursday night and it was not very busy, for us that was great.



I have been disappointed by the extreme noise level of this hotel. Most rooms surround a pool where parties went on until 11 p.m. Screaming children were loud and make this stay extremely unpleasant. I complained to the staff but was told that no room available that meet my needs (two queen size beds). The only room available in a quiet area had one bed and one sleeper. Although I was told that I can call back if I change my mind, the staff sounded defensive about my complaints. I don't feel the staff were forth coming about the noise level in this hotel and put us in area that was next door to the party room. This experience will prevent me from staying at another Best Western in the future.

"famliy friendly hotel"


This Best Western is a nice, clean hotel. They've done a wonderful job updating the decor and facility for as old as the hotel is. I would recommend this to families. The pool is perfect for children/families and parties.



Bathrooms need updating. Drains didn't drain, water pressure too high, no ventilation. Roomed smelled like a swimming pool. Some noises could be heard from outside, but quite for the most part. Kids enjoyed the pool. Rooms need updating for sure.

"Great bang for your buck"


I've stayed almost exclusively with Best Western for work anyways... I think I have received a good value everytime. And the Starlite didn't disappoint. If, and when I work out of state I always look for a Best Western!

"Good stay"


efficient and friendly staff at check in. Location in Ft Dodge was good with our next day travels. Good value. Stayed at this Best Western few yrs back and would stay again. Breakfast room has plenty of room and menu choices were good



Decided to stay here for the night because our other hotel was booked. was unsure about the stay because of the reviews but it was a very good stay!! manager and other staff were very friendly. the breakfast room was clean and had a lot of good food offered. room was clean and had no problems, kids enjoyed swimming in the pool. It was nice eating at the restaurant they had there, the food was amazing. Overall experience was the best. Will definitely be staying here next time I'm in town

"Great quality, helpful staff, clean"


Very happy overall. Staff was friendly and helpful, room was clean, breakfast was yummy, pool is very nice and clean. Great choice of you travel with a dog. Good value for the price. It's a little bit outside of town but that's ok, the drive is short.

"Nice stop with friendly staff"


This hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The on site restaurant was very good. The food was good and the portions were large. We asked for a quiet room and was accommodated.

"Friendly service "


Spent the night here 9/18/2016. We had 2 rooms, poolside. Rooms were good, beds were comfortable and showers were hot. The pool is only 3 1/2 ft deep but my girls (17 - 20 years old) said the water was semi warm. We had a good time. I am giving it 5 stars as I am not really particular about the room not having a trash can or some of the lights not working. All that matters is I have a clean, quiet, comfortable place to sleep in.

"Bed Bugs! Meth Head Maids"


Where do I begin? Bed bugs in the beds! Had a maid proposition me for meth! (Sorry, drugs are for losers) The room was very outdated and overall the hotel has really gone downhill in the last year. BBQ restaurant on grounds is average at best. Will not be back!

"Fort Dodge Starlite"


Stayed at the Starlite Village 1 night for a business meeting. This is a property with some age but the property is well kept and staffed. I arrived midweek the evening before my meeting, and there were very few people staying at the property, was wondering if I was at the correct property. By morning the place had come to life. Turned out that the facility did a wonderful job of hosting the business meeting (of about 75) which was an all day affair with breakfast and lunch catered by the Starlite. Was pleasantly surprised, good job Starlite and good job Hertz Farm Mgt.

"This hotel has it all..."


There is not anything this hotel won't do for you, and the amenities are all there! Fitness center, business center with a printer, several meeting rooms, a ballroom, setup for a full service buffet, big indoor pool, decent hot tub, Buford's Steakhouse has a fair priced menu with delicious wood fire BBQ. They will deliver right to your hotel door.

"No pet free rooms available"


When we booked the room we requested a pet free room. When we arrived at the hotel we were informed that all rooms were pet friendly and they did not have pet free rooms. The desk clerk said that there had been no pets in our room recently. We stayed but will not stay in this hotel again.



The room was very overpriced for the overall condition: outdated, cleanliness, disrepair. It was imperative that we had the use of wifi and cell service so that we were able to work while in the hotel. It was not working and we had a very weak cellular carrier signal as well which did not allow for internet usage nor text or phone calls. We checked out early and reserved another hotel.

"Quality in the Mid West"


The rooms are spectacular and the hotel staff is beyond reproach. I always enjoy my stays and any issues are handled immediately and professionally. This is one of the absolutely best hotels. Everyone is friendly, it is not far to food places. Rooms are so quiet that you do not hear others in adjoining rooms.

"Family Reunion"


My parents live in Fort Dodge so we planned our Family Reunion around them. My siblings and Family all traveled in and stay at the Best Western Starlite Village. What an excellent venue. We had comfortable, clean & affordable lodging, plus the pool area was a big hit with the kids. So much room to visit. Their complimentary Hot Breakfast is wonderful. Everything we needed in one spot. We highly recommend this hotel for your Family get togethers.

"Needs a Bit of Help -- Weird upon arrival"


We arrived to check in and there was a wedding reception in the lobby -- made us uncomfortable to be checking in right in the middle of a private reception. The room was okay -- it needed some maintenance and definitely needed to be cleaned better. The bed was not bad. The location was difficult to find way on the outskirts of town -- not much out there.

"Comforts of home"


I'm always greeted with courteous and professional staff members at every hotel that I stay at. Since I stay mostly at certain ones, they have become more like family than just personnel staff members. The pet fee is very reasonable. I really enjoy the hot breakfast bar in the mornings. If a guest leaves hungry, they are either too picky or in a rush to get to their next destination. They're very good about notifying me of up-coming rewards specials. i find the shower/bath always clean so that I can take a long relaxing bath if I choose to. My thanks to hotel owners and all their staff members for making mine and my pet Rudy stay comfortable as possible.

"Won't Stay Again"


upon 3 pm check in-- the room was not ready-several rooms were not and many people were waiting in the lobby area. The sunrise breakfast was from 6:30-9:30. We arrived @ 7:30 and not much food was out. Slim pickings. Noisy and fights in the hotel that the police had to be called.

"Needs lots of help"


I came for a conference. The staff i encountered were friendly enough. The facility is very dated. There were plumbing issues, cleanliness issues in bathroom and bed. A traveling companion found what appeared to be a bed bug in her bed.

"Some Place to Stay"


Stayed at the Starlite Village because of a meeting that was heard there. Basic room, bed was on the soft side. The room & bathroom appeared to be clean. Took awhile for the heater to kick in and warm up the room.

"Great stay!"


I was pleased with our stay. The pool was nice, the breakfast was substantial, the workers were helpful. The room was clean. My only complaint was that the room was very tight, especially the bathroom.

"Large Family Friendly Pool"


We enjoyed the very large family friendly pool. Lots of space for adults to lounge while kids are swimming. We really enjoyed our room as well. It was a very large suite with a beautiful bathroom. It was a dog friendly hotel too.

"my stay"


this was my first stay in fort dodge so I didnt know what or where to get lodging I am pretty confident that best westerns are all pretty nice places. I was afford an up grade room being a rewards member. the bar/restaurant was newly remodeled and the steak I had was probably one of the best.

"Would not recommend to anyone."


The staff is not very friendly. I stood at the front desk for over 20 minutes waiting to check in because there was only one person there and he was on the phone. He didn't even look at me until others walked up. Then he put the person on the phone on hold and said he would get his manager and came back alone. I was finally checked in 25 minutes later. The room was freezing cold. There was rabbit poop on the floor, the shower wasn't draining, the shower curtain was discussing, the doors were dirty were people had touched them, not enough towels for two people, the bed was not comfortable at all and the pillows were half the size of a regular pillow. There was also paint missing from different areas and the paint on the walls was several different colors. Then to top it off they are telling people that are clearly drunk that they can charge their drinks to their room after the spouses had asked them not to serve them anymore.

"nice big hotel"


The pillows are small and no rollaway bed for added guests in a king size room. Great breakfast, clean room, nice helpful staff. The hot tub by pool is very small for such a big hotel, the smallest we have been in. Maybe should have 2 hot tubs like some hotels! The pool is nice maybe could be a little warmer. The room with a hot tub is very nice and big! The rooms are nice with big fridges and microwaves.

"Breakfast Bar to beat all Breakfast Bars"


Don't eat dinner the night before, you will have all you will be able to eat at the morning breakfast bar that goes with a great price for the motel room. Great place! Restaurant on property offered a great dinner for the price, Had the Rib dinner and more than I could handle but I did anyway.

"Who turned out the lights? "


First, I really enjoyed this hotel. I was in town for a wedding and really enjoyed the newly updated room. However, staff was very unhelpful when trying to locate our room. He pointed in an arbitrary direction and gave us a map. My boyfriend and I felt like we were on a treasure hunt. Once we finally found our room, we were able to relax and take a nice long nap after a long trip. When we got up later in the afternoon to get ready for the rehearsal dinner, we were surprised to find that the newer part of the hotel did not have very much lighting. It was difficult to get ready in the room while one of us was using the bathroom because of the lack of lighting. I would stay here again, but will definitely bring a flash light! ;)

"Stay in Ft. Dodge"


Room was fine...restaurant was great...food was outstanding! If looking for an economical option in Ft. Dodge, this would fit the bill well. It was very convenient to have the restaurant attached to the motel.

"Off the beaten path."


On a car show event in central Iowa there is a show called drive to the woods. We reserved a room at Starlite Village arriving a day esrlier grest room good parking good resturaunt and good pool area. Room was large and cabin theme. Nice and clean Fridge microwabe large walkin shower. Free wifi

"Lazy staff doesn't cut it.."


Arriving to attend the funeral of a family member, the check-in process was mostly smooth (except for a non working key card), but the room clearly displayed worn bedding, and 3or4 smallish pillows which we knew would prove insufficient to ensure a night of comfortable sleep. Upon asking for additional pillows, we were informed that management doesn't allow extra pillows, but we could have a blanket instead..?? The young lady sitting so comfortably behind the counter was intent on staying there until I said OK to the blanket, requiring her to actually deliver said blanket. BTW, out of maybe 100 rooms, I'd say about 20 were occupied. The property has a large enclosed pool area, which is great for families, but the room amenities leave much to be desired.

"Not staying there again"


They don't put on the customer hat. Lack of hotel professionalism. Dress and appearance of front desk staff was pathetic. Three times I approached the desk and no one was there. Hollered and no one appeared. You won't get the service your paying for. Stayed there several times in the past and it has gone way down hill.



I stay at this location whenever I go to Fort Dodge. It's prices are competitive and it is very comfortable. It is currently being remodeled making it even more competitive with some of the new hotels in the area.

"Be careful of what you are charged, and for what"


I went in without a reservation and the rate was $94. Strange, because I checked availability while in the parking lot and the rate was $76. Apparently, if you book on line instead of walk in, the rate is lower, even if you do it while standing at the desk. So I went back to my car, made a reservation for $76, and returned to the lobby a few minutes later. They had the reservation I made moments ago, and for the $76 amount, yet their system would not let them charge me for that, but only for the $94. The clerk did what she could, was apologetic for the glitch, and asked that I speak to the Manager in the morning. In the morning, the issue was quickly resolved. While reading the booklet in the room, it mentioned a $1 "safe fee". On no you don't! If there is a "safe" (or any other) fee, you will tell me UP FRONT AND BEFORE I BOOK, not afterwards and certainly not off to the side in the information book in the room. As it turns out, there was no "safe fee", so maybe they've met a lot of resistance for being - bluntly put - dishonest. I call hotels out on this nonsense each and every time. (What next? A bed fee, a shower fee?) The Best Western Starlite is modeled after motels made in the 70s, I'll guess, when having rooms around the pool area was considered the thing. Those rooms can tend to be noisy, smelly, and very humid. Using the air conditioning (never my personal first choice) was necessary, as the windows opened up to the chlorine soaked humid air.