ZIMMER  1
ZIMMER  2
ZIMMER  3
Vorteilscode

Hallgarth Manor House, Signature Collection, Durham

4.0/5  - basé sur 181 notations.
Pittington, DH6 1AB, Durham, Great Britain - Karte ansehen
Hallgarth Manor House, Signature Collection - Außenansicht Das Hallgarth Manor House, Signature Collection ist ideal in Durham Stadtzentrum zu finden. Erleben Sie ein schöner Aufenthalt in der Nähe von alle Sehenswurdigkeiten. Bestpreisgarantie und exklusive Angebote.

Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection befindet sich auf einem wunderschönen privaten Anwesen am Stadtrand von Durham. Das Hotel strahlt traditionellen Charme und Charakter aus. Viele der ursprünglichen Merkmale aus dem 16. Jahrhundert sind erhalten geblieben. Das Haus wurde liebevoll renoviert und bietet nun Unterkünfte höchster Qualität mit zahlreichen modernen Stilelementen. Das Restaurant bezaubert mit außergewöhnlicher Eleganz und erstklassiger Küche. Jedes unserer 24 Zimmer ist geschmackvoll eingerichtet, von unseren gemütlichen Doppelzimmern bis zur verführerischen Sanctuary Suite. Alle Zimmer sind ausgestattet mit Nespresso-Kaffeemaschine, Smart-TV und kostenlosem drahtlosen Internet (WiFi). Zudem erwartet Sie eine spektakuläre Aussicht, entweder auf die angrenzende Natur oder die umliegenden Gärten. Unser Haus ist weniger als 8 km von Durham entfernt, einer der schönsten Städte in Großbritannien. Hier herrscht kein Mangel an historischen Sehenswürdigkeiten während Ihres Aufenthalts. Verpassen Sie nicht die prächtige Durham Cathedral und den wunderschönen botanischen Garten der Durham University. Nur eine 20-minütige Autofahrt trennt Sie vom fantastischen Freilichtmuseum Beamish.

Best Western Plus

Hallgarth Manor House, Signature Collection

LABEL_ITINERAIRE

LABEL_DEPART:

LABEL_ARRIVEE:

Vorteile des Hotels

  • Café-Restaurant
    Café-Restaurant
  • 24 Stunden Rezeption 24
    24 Stunden Rezeption 24
mehr sehen weniger sehen

Bewertung unserer Kunden

in Partnerschaft mit tripadvisor fr
Certificate of Excellence 2018
Gebildet aus de 181 Gästebewertungen
ABGEGEBENE BEWERTUNG
Ausgezeichnet
97
Sehr gut
42
Befriedigend
22
Mangelhaft
8
Ungenügend
12
MEINUNGEN ANSEHEN
Alleinreisende Alleinreisende
3
Familie Familie
66
Geschäfts-<br>reisende Geschäfts-
reisende
13
Paare Paare
77
Reisen mit Freunden Reisen mit Freunden
14
ZUSAMMENFASSUNG DER BEWERTUNGEN
Sauberkeit
Lage
Zimmer
Service
Schlafqualität
Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis

"Married Feb 19 - best day of our lives"

5
05/02/2019

We have just got married at the hotel and I can honestly say I couldn't have imagined a better day! The staff were completely gorgeous, helpful, friendly and accommodating. At times it felt like they were part of our guests which is exactly the type of people we wanted helping make our day! Cassie, Luke and Claire were a few of the amazing members of the team and without them and the others we wouldn't have had such a great day! The venue it's self is beautiful and the food was out of this world! I'd 100% recommend this venue!! Beth & Matt 2.2.19

leightaylor1, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thank you for your great feedback. It was a pleasure to be a part of your special day. Hope to see you soon!

"Very nice stay. Lovely staff"

4
03/02/2019

We stayed here on the coldest night of the year, but the warmth of the staff more than compensated. The room was good although very short of hanging places for clothes. Nice comfy bed. Reasonable shower, but no bath. Main staircase carpet was a little grubby but snow outside didn't help. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast superb, dinner great and wine very good. Excellent value for money. The log burner in the lounge is lovely when its cold outside, makes it really cosy.

leightaylor1, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thank you for your great feedback

"Very Satisfied"

5
01/02/2019

Really enjoyed my stay despite the severe weather! Place was really nice, food was very very good and the staff were incredibly warm and friendly, even providing soapy water for my windscreen as the snow and grit had exhausted my screenwash on the way there, would definitely recommend staying.

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Delighted you had a great stay

"Relaxing and friendly stay"

5
28/01/2019

We visited Durham for the day and the Halgarth was an ideal spot .Lovely country air and a beautiful location. The staff were friendly and helpful, they made the stay more enjoyable. The room was immaculate and the bed was extremely comfortable.The drinks and food were good value for money.

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thank you for your great feedback

"Lovely country side stay"

5
24/01/2019

Great hotel, quirky and petite, lovely decor and the food is gorgeous. Rooms are spacious and plenty of sitting areas. Would defo stay again especially if another winter sale offer came about, very cheap for how lovely the hotel is.

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Delighted that you had a great time.

"Well recommended staff make this a pleasure "

5
13/01/2019

My wife and I have just had a fantastic weekend here. Great food great staff and very friendly We are booking again next month Facilities are great and a lovely scenic position Evening meals are fantastic and breakfast is great value

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Delighted you had a great visit. See you next month.

"Best hotel stay in England"

5
12/01/2019

We have stayed at this hotel multiple times due to the how fantastic and luxiourious it is. A friendly warm welcome awaits you from the staff, where nothing is to much trouble. The building is full of character, the decor is opulent luxurious spacious with lots of natural sunlight flooding through. They have successfully incorporated modern aspects without loosing any of the originality The rooms are gorgeous well designed and impeccable clean. There is everything you will need within your room, including a coffee maker. The beds and bedding are of the highest quality ensuring a good night's sleep. The rooms that we have stayed in have fantastic scenic views. An excellent choice for breakfast both continental and cooked. They use the finest ingredients and it was cooked to perfection. They also provide food throughout the day as well as evening meals. It is a really romantic place perfect for those weekends away. Where you have your every need attended to. We have stayed at so many different hotels as we are frequent travellers, yet this one is the best by far hence why we keep returning. A must place to visit.

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thank you for your terrific feedback. Come back soon

"Disappointed in our stay."

2
07/01/2019

After I booked my stay I contacted the hotel and asked for my room to receive an extra pillow and to book a reservation for 7 PM in the hotel restaurant, which I Received a message back from the hotel (Emma) confirming these are all set in place for my arrival. When I checked in we were not explained the WiFi correctly and I asked to check my reservation for the next day but she couldn't find the book to check so It got left. I was then told my check out was the next day at 11am but if they took the time to check they would have seen my stay was for two nights. When I got to my bedroom they was no light in the actual room only side bed lamps, the room was very dark even in the day time so we had to keep both side lamps on at all times. My extra pillow wasn't even added to my room so I had to walk all the way back downstairs to ask for a pillow then follow the lady and wait for my pillow and then take the pillow back up to my room. We went to breakfast the next day and they had no fruit on like they were meant too and when I ordered my breakfast I was far from impressed. The bacon and sausage you only Received one Of and the beans well they might of well of not even bothered they must have been less then a tea spoon full on. The next morning breakfast I asked for extra beans and might of well of not even asked but they was a bowl of bitter unfrozen Berries this time. My reservation for 7 PM in the hotel restaurant wasn't even added to the book but I wasn't informed of this I actually had to go and find out myself so who ever messaged me back basically lied and hadn't done a thing I requested. After everything that had went on we decided to get out of the hotel for the night and I'm so glad we did they was a beautiful Indian restaurant called amaani the food was out of this world but I would recommend booking I was lucky enough they made a space of us. The bedrooms are so small and I was in the Double deluxe room I dread to think how small the cheaper rooms where like. The bed had mud mark at the bottom of the blanket and they was a big cobwebs above our bed you couldn't miss it. The toilet started to leak on the last night after a few flushers too. I think towards the end of our stay we had given up any Expectations on this hotel unfortunately as to many small things Just kept coming our way and it all just built up in the end.

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
We would have appreciated the opportunity to resolve prior to resorting to numerous social media sites. I do thank you for your feedback ,which will be reviewed

"Comfortable room with good service and foo."

5
06/01/2019

Very friendly staff, good evening meal and breakfast. Slightly off the beaten track but easy access to/ from A1. Room was smallish but comfortable with all facilities available. Well recommended. Will definitely use again.

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thank you for your kind words

"Very nice Sunday Lunch"

4
06/01/2019

Visited here for Sunday Lunch, we arrived quite late and got a table straight away, bar service was great and all the staff, whilst being young were very good. I ordered black pudding for starter, my partner ordered goats cheese, both meals were very tasty and generous sized portions. Main courses duly arrived, one pork and one beef. We both commented on how good the meat was and she also had loads of crackling, some of which I managed to pinch for myself!! Two courses was a very reasonable £13.95 per person and i think it was great value and deserves a lot more custom.

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thank you for your positive feedback

"A lovely break"

4
03/01/2019

Stayed for 3 nights in what was a great wee hotel in the countryside but so handy for Durham city if you use the nearby Belmont Park & Ride (£2 per person return). Seaham is worth a trip (10 miles) The staff were friendly and helpful and the restaurant and bar were good value. There was much going on whilst we were there - a wedding when we arrived, a Christening celebration the next afternoon and the Hogmanay dinner and disco on our last night. None of these affected us apart from perhaps the Christening as the restaurant was set up for that so the previous evening we had to dine in the conservatory which was a bit bleak on our own and a bit chilly. Whilst the hotel did make the effort on Hogmanay we felt the disco actually spoiled it for many who dined, had a drink in the lounge/conservatory and then left! The disco (in the Tavern) was way too loud for comfort and I am no stranger to rock concerts! Breakfasts were above average with a good selection and choice of cooked options. Only complaint was the sausage which was billed as Cumberland. Believe me, I grew up with Cumberland sausage as my mum was from Cumbria and this wasn't even approaching the real thing. Why not just call it what it was - a pork sausage? Dinner was also above average and the Hogmanay dinner was better than the normal dinner in the conservatory. The fillet steak was cooked perfectly. I had the cheeseboard and it might have been a nice point to showcase what the cheeses were. I had no idea if they were local or just normal cheddar and brie. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and would have given it a 5 were it not for the size of the room. We had a deluxe one which was meant to be larger than the standard ones complained about in earlier reviews but as I am tall the sloped ceiling (2nd floor room) was a constant headache for me. The bathroom door only opened halfway and so you had to manoevre yourself in - tricky in the middle of the night! Two other slightly annoying aspects: with the Nespresso machine came 2 cups - fine for espresso coffee but hopeless for trying to make tea with a tea bag and my wife pointed out that the only mirror in the room was 10 feet away from the nearest plug socket - fatal! But that aside we'd return but maybe ask for a 1st floor room the next time to avoid the headaches and bring an extension cable for the straighteners! Thanks to Claire and Margaret in particular for making our stay so successful.

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Delighted to hear you had a great stay. Hope to see you soon

"Xmas Day dinner"

5
27/12/2018

Being local we decided to book the hotel for Xmas Day. Originally it was for five of us, but they managed to fit in my Brother-in-Law at the last minute, after he got stuck in the UK due to his passport being stolen. The staff were friendly and attentive from the minute we arrived. The atmosphere was great and so was the food. After a Prosecco reception, we had a range of starters, mains and desserts. To be slightly critical, the only fault was a fairly tasteless venison terrine starter. The other starters of salmon & broth were superb. The mains arrived with more than enough vegetables and gravy. The staff even respected our wishes to wait a while before they served the desserts. Again the Xmas pudding and orange treacle tart were excellent. Finished of with coffee and mint chocolates. Drinks were brought to the table upon request and "Santa" turned up on several occasions to give presents to any young children present. We all thought that this was excellent value and will definitely book for Xmas day again......Nobody has to prepare the food, cook it and wash up after, make the day even more special. Thanks to all the staff in Hallgarth Manor.

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thrilled to hear see you had a grate day. We look forward to your return soon

"Beautiful decor"

4
26/12/2018

We Booked then read the reviews then wanted to cancel. I am so pleased we did not cancel. From friendly helpful staff to a beautifully decorated lounge and sitting area this place is a find. The entrance is grand and immaculate, no smells of damp as previous comments suggested. The sitting area has been decorated in stunning blues and aged pink colours, on the evening with the candles lit this is exquisit. We stayed in a deluxe double, I did find the room smaller then I would have expected f a deluxe and was saddened by no bath, however brilliant value for money. PROS- staff, entrance, decor, good portion food, bar area, excellent value for money CONS- hard to find, room smaller then expected Will return and recommend highly

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Unfortunately many negative reviews tend to have ulterior motives and tend not to reflect the real experience. Delighted that you had a great stay and will return

"Horrific experience"

1
18/12/2018

Having booked the Sanctuary Suite as a surprise night away with my partner I was told 1 hour before we were due to check in that the room had been double booked. I had made the booking weeks ago. If this wasn't bad enough, I happened to have already spoken to the hotel earlier in the morning but nothing was mentioned. I told them we were only 15 minutes away and whilst apologetic all they offered us was a standard room with a complimentary bottle of wine. This doesn't even begin to make up for the upset and embarrassment that such a huge error on their part caused. I asked who made the booking first to which they advised it wasn't myself however I dispute this as when I booked the room I was looking on both their own website and Best Westerns website for the best rate. There was no offer of re-scheduling the booking either to another date (why not?). Since we were only 15 minutes away and had travelled for almost 2 hours we did arrive at the hotel to be shown some of the standard rooms in case we did want to take up their offer. We didn't. They were small, cold and smelt mouldy and overall unwelcoming. The foyer and bar area looked nice. My advice to you would be to call them up to double check your booking, and double check it again before you set off! It seems they prefer bookings direct on their website rather than via Best Western which offered me a discount which is perhaps why my booking wasn't taken/accepted.

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
We apologise for the genuine computer error which occurred. We attempted to resolve with a number of options which were not to your liking,including the executive rooms which you were shown. We do not have any mouldy rooms.

"Mixed trip"

3
05/12/2018

The room I was first put in did not contain what it showed on the picture or what it said on the website. No desk or seating, no coffee machine and no water. The second room was the same even though it was an upgrade no additional seating . It was not the staff fault the rooms are not all as per website description staff did try and rectify. My issue is The room should reflect the description. There would be no issue if people know what they are getting and they get it . The restaurant staff tried their best but one night people were complaining as there was only on staff on the trying their best but there was a run of customers so they struggled. One meal was good the other was ok. This was the ribeye it was not the best. Breakfast ok nice selection of fruit. Staff friendly at breakfast in fact they tried their best to help during the stay. Just another small thing the shower get was not replaced for the second night so had to get some emergency out of my bag. I'm sure they would have given me some but inconvenient when I realised early morning. Overall it did not reach the grade of good.

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thank you for your feedback

"Tiny Room"

3
04/12/2018

I have to say that I really enjoyed the stay at Hallgarth Manor House. We ate in the restaurant in the evening. The food was lovely, however apart from one other party, we were the only ones eating in there. The "conservatory" dining area felt cold although it wasn't. This room was fine for breakfast in the morning, but maybe using one of the other cosier rooms as the dining room in the evening would be better. The standard of furnishings in the room was high and the bed was very comfortable. The big let down was the size of the room. Potential guests should beware that a basic double room is tiny. We stayed in room 3. There is no desk / dresser or work space for anyone who is using the hotel for business. The bedside tables are tiny and 3/4 of the space is taken up by the lamps. We had to put the kettle and cups on the floor to make a hot drink. The wardrobe is extremely narrow so you have to fit clothes / coats in at an angle to be able to close the door. The Bathroom is probably the worst part. It is beautifully appointed and decorated. The shower is probably the best power shower I have used in any hotel. The big issue is the size and space provided in the bathroom. The shower cubicle in my opinion is not fit for purpose do to size. Guest literally have to squeeze into the cubicle and it is not possible to bend once in the shower or raise hands above shoulder level. This was the aspect that disappointed me most about my stay. Other than the size of the room and especially the bathroom / shower, it was a pleasant stay. I would stay again but would pay extra for a larger room and bigger bathroom.

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thank you for your feedback

"Fabulous stay in a charming hotel"

5
03/12/2018

Hallgarth Manor We had a most fabulous stay at the Hallgarth Manor recently. We first visited the hotel 6 years ago but didn't stay for the night due to our tight schedule. This time, we made it a point to stay a night in this beautiful hotel, just for the experience. The hotel used to be a country home before it was sold to developers which turned it into the hotel it is today. It was recently refurbished - the rooms have been given a fresh, modern look, yet much of the charm of the house remains. The hotel is only about 15 minutes away by car from Durham City Centre, situated within walking distance to the historic Church of St Laurence. Ideal for a weekend getaway or for tourists who prefer a hotel situated in a idyllic, quiet setting instead of one in the bustling city. Although we stayed only for a night, the staff at the hotel made us feel so welcomed that we felt we had been there for days. Although we arrived earlier than planned (at around 11 in the morning), Margaret, the receptionist kindly allowed us to check in to one of the rooms first. This helped greatly as we were travelling with our uncle and aunt in their late 60s, and 3 young children (not forgetting a whole load of luggage). Another staff member, Ian, kindly helped us carry the heavier bags upstairs. (There isn't a lift installed in the premises, possibly to retain the charm of the original house). Another friendly staff, Christine, who was on afternoon shift at the reception, shared with us about the history of the house which we appreciated greatly. Rooms - We love the rooms! I had expected a small, old-lookiing room with simple amenities (afterall, the house was built in the 16th century). Instead, we were greeted with a warm, cosy and inviting room. The beds were very comfortable; the bathroom was clean, well maintained, and even equipped with heated towel rails. (I was particularly impressed with this feature, and especially so in winter!) There was even a mini Nespresso coffee making machine in the room to make the coffee drinker happy. Food - We had a fabulous lunch at the hotel's restaurant, The Tavern. We ordered the ribeye steak which was juicy and succulent, the best we had tasted in a long time. The slow-roasted pork belly, traditional fish and chips and margarita pizza were delicious too. The portions were huge, with interesting and tasty sides. Kudos to the chef, Tom, for the amazing food; and thanks to Amanda, the restaurant manager, for her superb recommendations and warm hospitality. Afternoon tea was a delightful assortment of beautiful desserts served on a 3-tier platter. They looked almost too good to eat! (I especially love the orange flavoured cake.) For the kids, there is a huge garden by the side of the house (just beside the dining room) where they could run around freely and be wild. Though the weather was chilly, our kids had loads of fun playing in the garden while we sipped on our afternoon tea. We enjoyed our stay and experience at Hallgarth Manor very much and will definitely return again. Thanks to the warm hospitality of the crew, we have wonderful memories of this very lovely hotel.

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Delighted you gad a great stay and look forward to your next visit.

"Brief Holiday"

1
30/11/2018

No wardrobes in hotel: 6 hangers, 2 small drawers, 1 small high shelf for 2 people for 3 days! No tissues, no bottled water. Remainder of a bottle of red wine stored in fridge overnight. Restaurant advertised but not available. Had to eat either in cold orangery or dingy "pub". Sunday morning hotplate not plugged in so food not hot. Had to plug toaster in for DIY toast. Staff mostly very friendly and helpful but needed training. Even at dinner, the paper napkins were tiny and one ply. At breakfast we had to ask for side knives for spreading butter. By Tuesday morning, had run out of marmalade and natural yoghurt. Waitress stood by table while my husband pulled a long hair out of his breakfast and her only words were: "The chef's a man". No apology, no offer to bring a fresh meal. The shower was great and there was a shelf in the bathroom.

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thank you for your comments

"Night away for our retirement."

5
06/11/2018

I'd called earlier to arrange a bottle of prosecco in the room and left some rose petals to scatter in the room - which was no problem for them. We had the Lancaster Suite - a large room with roll top bath in the room, in addition to the spacious en-suite with a double shower. Large bed with provided an excellent nights sleep in Egyptian cotton sheets. Breakfast was cooked to order and was excellent with good quality ingredients, attentive staff.

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Delighted to see you had a lovely time

"First Class Service"

5
22/10/2018

We live locally and have been visiting Hallgarth Manor since last year for food and drinks in the bar and restaurant areas. I was not impressed with the staff who all seemed miserable initially but having recently seen a new wave of polite, happy and helpful employees, the service levels have risen exponentially. The food from the bar menu is excellent and always served with a smile. We recently took our new born son down and the staff were lovely with him. The venue itself is great but it is the people that make this place somewhere to enjoy, relax and keeps us coming back. Keep up the good work guys.

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thanks for your great feedback

"Our Evening wedding reception!"

5
20/10/2018

We chose this lovely hotel about 18 month ago to have our home wedding party as married in Cyprus! We and all our guests loved it (apart from the hangover! Lol) we were all so impressed with the function room, the bar, the hotel rooms were lovely and actually quite spacious compared to other hotels! The mirror ball looked absolutley amazing!! We have since been back for a bite to eat and the food is tremendous! A big thank you to all the staff who helped organise this and an extra thank you for the bar staff for putting up with us! We loved it all! Looking forward to tryin Sunday lunch as spied one on our way out last week and it looked delicious! Would highly recommend this for a wedding or any type of large function! Or even a cozy night away :) Very welcoming and very accomodating!

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thank you for your great review and I was delighted to see you had a fantastic time. It was our pleasure to look after you. See you soon!

"Wonderful Traditional Country House Hotel with Exceptional Service."

5
16/10/2018

This 16th. Century Manor House has recently been very tastefully refurbished to a high standard whilst retaining its character. Its location is very peaceful, away from the hustle and bustle but within easy access of Durham. We stayed in October for two nights. The welcome at Reception was warm and friendly. Throughout our stay all the staff from Reception, Bar, Restaurant and Cleaning were exceptional for their service and attention to detail. The room on the first floor was lovely, clean and spacious with a very comfortable bed, excellent modern bathroom and a view over the gardens. The food was excellent value. We had both breakfast and dinner in the Orangery Restaurant over the two night stay and the quality and presentation was excellent, as was the service. This hotel is a hidden gem and the Management must have a formula for selecting fantastic staff! They all deserve huge credit. For us Margaret's personal input made our stay a very special one. Christine on Reception and Amanda at Breakfast looked after us so well. We just can't fault this hotel. This is not our first visit, we have returned to it over many years and it just keeps getting better! We would highly recommend it, it's really worth a visit.

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thank you for your kind comments. The team are thrilled

"Highs and Lows"

3
16/10/2018

This has real potential to become a 4* hotel but at the moment I can understand why it's sticking at a 3*, we booked the Sanctuary Suit for 2 nights, the rate we got for this and breakfast both mornings was more than reasonable. The room 6/10 - so for me the shower was amazing, partly the sole reason I booked this room was because of the shower pics shown, I wasn't disappointed. The bed was comfortable and a super king I believe. The down sides - the room could do with a lick of paint, many scuff marks which makes it a little tired looking, to add to this, small things that could be rectified like the blind working and handles on taps, a hairdryer in the room etc. Breakfast 6/10 - nice, enough choice, catered for veggies. The vicinity it was held within was very in keeping with the country manor theme, we were able to sit looking out over the garden with little squirrels running about. Staff - 10/10 all staff we dealt with were very friendly and no problems at all. Unfortunately whilst there on the 2nd night we had to nip down to reception as the hotel had been playing ABBA music pretty much non stop all night - it would appear our room was above the bar where the music was playing and the speakers were in the ceiling therefore it was as if we were at an ABBA concert, we just dealt with this but once it got to 10pm and had switched to rap music this we could stand no longer - abba was bad enough! We were up early the next day and needed sleep so my husband had to make x2 trips down to reception to get this situation sorted. Overall a nice hotel, would recommend the sanctuary suit but the music parts really did put a dampener on things for us.

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thank you for your feedback

"Excellent"

5
15/10/2018

A wonderful property, close to Durham and the A1. Recently refurbished to a high standard. Warm friendly welcome. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent value, and good size portions. Breakfast, cooked to order was very good as well. The room was spacious, with a superking bed. Bathroom, shower etc very clean and well equipped. Checkout simple, and again staff were just lovely. Highly recommended. Would return any time I am in the area, very enjoyable

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Delighted to see you had a great visit

"We stayed for one night as part of a bed and breakfast trip"

4
06/10/2018

We found this hotel very comfortable and friendly. The room was good with a very comfortable four poster bed and, although the room where we had dinner was rather dim the food was very good. The staff were very welcoming and friendly and I would happily stay there again.

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Delighted you had a great stay

"Wedding venue"

4
03/10/2018

Arrived for the wedding fare for one last look as we have booked up our 2020 wedding, having visited many times we know the staff so it makes it more relaxing. On arrival we tried to book in and it appears when I booked forgot to put my surname down. I was known as Lee with nosurname. Very amusing with the reception staff and manager. The room was really nice. With parts of the building been listed the shower was quite small and a tight squeeze. The wooden beams inside the room gathered a lot of cobwebs. The bed was so comfy. We decided to eat in the tavern. The food was really nice. The atmosphere was relaxing. We also had breakfast booked. The presentation of food was really nice. Overall a very nice experience. The staff are really great. Always smiling and very professional. The staff have a good sense of humour and join in our conversation. One big happy family. Great weekend. Thank you all.

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thanks for your great feedback. See you soon

"Return visit"

4
03/10/2018

Thought we would give Hallgarth a return visit after last year's meal problem at hotel. What l find with this hotel is the staff are one of its greatest assets, found most to be very friendly and very helpful, credit to them. Had a slight issue with room when arriving, and this was dealt with quickly and efficiently by lady on reception and operations manager to our satisfaction. Food was very nice, good quality, and presentation of it was excellent, with a high standard of service in what l think it was in a new dining area from last visit. Found room to be very peaceful overlooking gardens, so nice to relax and enjoy the quietness and fresh air.

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Great to see you had a lovely stay.

"Visiting Durham"

3
01/10/2018

Was visiting Durham and looking for a nice Hotel to stay and come upon this Hotel so i looked on there website and showed dinner,bed and breakfast offer on the Sunday 23 September so i telephone and booked, when i arrived i was very pleased . the lady on reception made us very welcome then to our room which was large with shower room,very nice. later on we went down for dinner, a young lady showed us to our table and give the set menu which was set at £16,95 for three courses. When we booked we had a £ 25 pound each so i asked Clare the waitress about this so she said we could make this up in drink which i said this was unsatisfactory . we went along with the menu which had Goats cheese tartlet for starter which i believe had been made some were else come in frozen, the Roast Beef dinner come next with two roast potatoes and vegetables, on the menu it had said creamy potatoes which we never got, the Yorkshire pudding which must have been made in the morning and reheated in the microwave was to hard we could not cut it never mind eat it ( very disappointing), we had dessert and went up stair to bed, we had a good nights sleep. Next morning we come down for breakfast and greeted by another nice lady who looked after us ,the breakfast was fantastic. the room was nicely presented with every thing you would want. It's a shame we didn't get this the night before.When checking out the receptionist had not been told about the night before so she sorted this out for us , many thanks to her and the breakfast waitress for looking after us again. I blame the manager for not checking the menu and the chef who made our visit to Durham very disappointing again,

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thank you for your feedback

"Nice room, mixed experience at dinner"

3
22/09/2018

We stayed for a night in the cosy double which was still a nice size (if low ceilinged!) We'd been downgraded from the deluxe double so were offered a complementary meal. My partner had the steak she enjoyed, I had the veggie burger which was poor. Overall our stay was ok but for what we paid I hoped for a bit more.

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Many thanks for your feedback

"No frills"

3
21/09/2018

Visited recently for a one night stay while in the area. Room was cheap and included breakfast. Lady on reception polite and helpful. Bedroom was clean as was ensure although very small. Not much soundproofing so could hear other guests. Food mediocre and restaurant could of been cleaner. Despite all being very pleasant, staff lacked service skills. Overall, ok for the price I paid but wouldn't want to stay again.

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, BW Signature Collection, responded to this review
Thank you for your feedback

"A lovely country house hotel"

5
20/09/2018

My wife and I stayed for two nights to allow a first time visit to Durham after watching our daughter in the Great North Run. It was lovely to enjoy a break in a quaint hotel far from the madding crowd yet only a couple of miles from the Park and Ride ( highly recommended for getting into Durham ). The room ( number 8) was very comfortable as were the beds and with lovely, creaky floorboards! Breakfast was fine as were the evening meals we had, although we were aware that on one night (Sunday), a number of guests were not happy with their meals. The staff were very friendly. We very much enjoyed our stay there.

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, responded to this review
Delighted to see you had a lovely stay

"Excellent service fantastic food"

5
15/09/2018

Held the British Association of Removers Northern area meeting at Hallgarth Manor on 13th of September. Thanks to all the staff who were brilliant as always. Food was fantastic service was very good members and guest speakers who stayed the night said facilities service and breakfast were fantastic. Thanks again to all for making this another fantastic meeting. Kind regards Alan Hoggin of Britannia George Bernard Shaw Removals and Northern area Secretary BAR

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, responded to this review
Delighted you had a great time. See you again soon

"Lovely hotel"

4
15/09/2018

We booked this hotel as a last minute break and were not disappointed! Close to Durham, nice, clean rooms (ours was overlooking the gardens to the back) comfy beds and I recommend the breakfast, lots of choice of fruit, cereal pastries etc as well as various cooked options!

Hallgarth07, Manager at Hallgarth Manor House, responded to this review
Thank you for your great feedback